
PUNISHMENT FOR MISDEMEANANTS 

REPORT OF THE 

MISDEMEANOR STUDY COMMISSION 

TO 

THE GOVERNOR AND 

THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF VIRGINIA 

Senate Document No. 4 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

Department of Purchases and Supply 

Richmond 

1973 





MEMBERS OF COMMISSION 

WILLIAM F. PARKERSON, JR., Chairman 

WILLIAM F. STONE 

RUSSELL M. CARNEAL 

GEORGE E. ALLEN, JR. 
A. L. PHILPOTT

STANLEY A. OWENS
ANDREW P. MILLER

RENO S. HARP, III, Secretary

STAFF 

VANN H. LEFCOE 

LINWOOD T. WELLS, JR. 





MISDEMEANOR STUDY COMMISSION 

Report to the Governor and the General Assembly-1972 

This Commission was created by Senate Joint Resolution No. 71, 
prepared by the Office of Attorney General, in anticipation of the deci­
sion of the Supreme Court of the United States in Argersinger v. Hamlin,
407 U.S. 25 (1972). 

The Commission first met on April 18, 1972, at which time Senator 
Parkerson was elected Chairman and Deputy Attorney General of Vir­
ginia, Reno S. Harp, III, was elected Secretary. The Commission asked 
the Attorney General's Office to prepare an analysis of those statutes of 
the Code imposing a misdemeanor penalty. The initial review of the Code 
of Virginia by members of the staff of the Attorney General revealed that 
there were some 1156 statutes imposing misdemeanor penalties contained 
in the Code of Virginia and an analysis of the same was furnished the 
Commission on June 1, 1972, by the Secretary. 

On June 12, 1972, the Supreme Court of the United States decided 
Argersinger v. Hamlin, 407 U.S. 25 (1972), which held that an individual 
may not be deprived of his liberty as a result of any prosecution for a 
misdemeanor at which he was denied the assistance of counsel. This par­
ticular case involved an indigent who was tried for an offense punishable 
by imprisonment up to six months and a $1000 fine, or both, and given 
a 90 day jail sentence. The Supreme Court concluded that failure to ap­
point counsel constitutes reversible error. 

Copies of this decision were immediately furnished to members of 
this Commission by the Secretary and a meeting was held on June 15, . 
1972, at which time the Commission reviewed all of the misdemeanor 
penalties imposed by law. in effort to determine what should be the aP­
propriate range of punishment. A tentative report was prepared in July 
and ";he Commission met again on October 18, 1972, to prepare its final 
report. The Commission decided to adopt five categories of misdemeanor 
penalties which are set forth in the table below: 

Grade A Not to exceed 12 months jail and/or 
Grade B Not to exceed 6 months jail and/or 
Grade C Not to exceed 1 month jail and/or 
Grade D Not to exceed XXXXXXXXXXXXXX 
Grade E Not to exceed XXXXXXXXXXXXXX 

$1000 

500 
100 

1000 
500 

It was felt after careful consideration that, inasmuch as the Vir­
ginia Code Commission had decided in principle to adopt a similar type 
of categorization, this approach should be taken in order to obviate fur­
ther revision by the Code Commission in its recodification of Titles 18.1 
and 19.1. 

Attached hereto is a compilation of each misdemeanor statute con­
tained in the Code of Virginia with its present penalty and the cate­
gory recommended by the Commission. The bills to carry out the recom­
mendations of this Commission will be introduced at the 1973 Session of 
the General Assembly. It should be noted that the recommended categories 
represent the consensus of the majority of the Commission, and do not 
necessarily reflect the opinion of each member in every instance. 

In addition the Commission felt it necessary that the Code be amended 
to provide for the appointment and payment of counsel appointed to rep­
resent indigents charged with a misdemeanor offense. It is well settled, 
of �ourse, that the court has the inherent power to appoint counsel, but 
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no statutory power now exists to provide for the payment of counsel ap­
pointed to represent misdemeanants except in juvenile cases pursuant to 
§ 16.1-178. The Commonwealth would be responsible for their payment
only when she institutes the prosecution, while the localities would bear
these costs in cases where municipal ordinances are involved. A bill to
carry out this recommendation of the Commission is filed with this re­
port.

The Commission wishes to express its particular appreciation to its 
Secretary, Deputy Attorney General, Reno S. Harp, III, Assistant Attor­
ney General Vann H. Lefcoe, Assistant Attorney General, Linwood T. 
Wells, Jr. and John B. Boatwright, Jr., Director, Division of Statutory 
Research and .Drafting, for their assistance in this most difficult project. 

Respectfully submitted, 

William F. Parkerson, Jr., Chairman 
William F. Stone 
Russell M. Carneal 
George E. Allen, Jr. 
A. L. Philpott
Stanley A. Owens
Andrew P. Miller
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A BILL 

To amend the Code of Virginia by adding sections numbered 
14.1-184.1 and 19.1-241.7 through 19.1-241.12, so as to 
provide for the appointment of counsel for indigent per­
sons charged with certain offenses; procedures for each 
appointment; how such counsel shall be compensated ; 
penalties. 

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia: 

1. That the Code of Virginia be amended by adding sections numbered
14.1-184.1 and 19.1-241. 7 through 19.1-241.12 as follows:

§ 14.1-184.1. When the judge of the circuit court. of a county or city
or a corporation or hustings court of a city appoints an attorney to de­
f end a poor person charged with an offense that may be punishable by 
confinement in jail, he may direct that a sum not to exceed one hundred. 
dollars shall be paid out by the Commonwealth, if the Commonwealth 
has initiated the prosecution, or by the county, city or town, if a county, 
city or town has initiated the prosecution, to the attorney so appointed 
to def end such person as compensation for such defense. The court shall 
direct the payment of such reasonable expenses incurred by such court 
appointed attorney as it deems appropriate under the circumstances of 
the case. When such directive is entered upon the order book of the court, 
the Commonwealth, county, city or town, as the case may be, shall pro­
vide for the payment out of its treasury of the sum of money so specified. 
If the defendant is convicted, the amount allowed by the court to the 
attorney appointed to def end him shall be taxed against the defendant as 
a part of the costs of prosecution and, if collected, the same shall be paid 
to the Commonwealth, or the county, city or town, as the case may be. 
An abstract of such costs shall be docketed in the judgment docket and 
execution lien book maintained by such court. 

In addition to the foregoing provisions, the judge of a court of rec­
ord who has appointed counsel to defend a poor person charged with an 
offense punishable by confinement in jail between June 12, 1972, and the 
effective date of this section, both inclusive, may direct that a sum not 
to exceed one· hundred dollars shall· be paid out by the Commonwealth or 
by the county, city or town which initiated the prosecution to the attor­
ney so appointed as compensation for such defense. 

§ 19.1-241.7. In any case in which a person is charged with an of­
fense, the penalty for which may constitute confinement in jail, and ap­
pears for any hearing before any court without being represented by 
counsel, such court shall, before proceeding with the hearing, appoint 
an attorney at law to represent him and provide such person legal repre­
sentation throughout every stage of proceeding against him, except as 
may otherwise be provided in § 16.1-173. 

The order of appointment of counsel shall be filed with and become 
a part of the record of such proceeding. The attorney so. appointed shall· 
represent the defendant at all stages of the proceeding, including an ap­
peal, if any, until relieved or replaced in the manner provided by law. 

§ 19.1-241.8. Every person charged with the commission of an of­
fense punishable by confinement in jail, except as may otherwise be pro­
vided in § 16.1-173, not free on bail or otherwise shall be brought before 
the judge of a court not of record on the first day on which such court 
sits after the person is charged, at which time the jijdge shall inform 
the accused of the amount of his bail, and shall inform him of his right 
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to counsel. The accused shall be allowed a reascmable opportunity to em­
ploy counsel of his own choice or, if appropriate, the statement of in­
digence provided for in § 19.1-241.9 may be executed. In no case in which 
the accused has not been advised of his right to counsel shall he be sen­
tenced to confinement in jail. 

§ 19.1-241.9. At the first appearance of any person charged with an
offense punishable by confinement in jail before a court, except as may. 
otherwise be provided in § 16.1-173, the judge thereof shall as�ertain 
before such hearing whether or not the defendant is represented by 
counsel. If the defendant is not represented by counsel, the court shall 
ascertain by oral examination of the defendant whether or not the defen­
dant desires to waive his right to counsel, and whether such waiver is 
voluntary and intelligently made. In the absence of such waiver, the 
court then shall ascertain by competent evidence whether the defendant 
is indigent within the contemplation of law; and if the court thereby 
determines that such defendant is indigent as contemplated by law, the 
court shall provide the defendant with a statement which shall contain 
the following: 

"I have been advised this ............ day of ............ : ....... , 19 ........ , 
by the (name of court) court of my rights to representation by 

. counsel in the trial of the charge pending against me; I certify 
that I am without means to employ counsel of my own choosing 
and I hereby request the court to appoint counsel for me." 

(signature of accused) 

The defendant shall execute such statement under oath and the 
court shall appoint competent counsel to represent the defendant in the 
proceeding against him. If the court determines that such defendant is 
not indigent, such fact shall be noted on the record. 

In the event the defendant desires to waive his right to counsel, and 
the court ascertains that such waiver is voluntary and intelligently made, 
then the court shall provide the defendant with a statement which shall 
contain the following: 

"I have been advised this ............ day of .................... , 19 ........ , 
by the (name of court) court of my rights to representation by 
counsel in the trial of the charge pending against me. I . have 
been further advised that, if I am unable to afford counsel, one 
will be appointed for me free of charge. 

"Understanding my right to have counsel appointed for me 
free of charge, I wish to waive that right and have the court pro­
ceed with my case without an attorney being appointed for me. 

"I hereby waive my right to have counsel appointed for me, 
voluntarily and of my own free will, without any threats, prom­
ises, force or undue influence." 

(signature of accused) 

Any executed statement herein provided for shall be filed with and 
become a part of the record of such proceeding. 

Should the defendant refuse or otherwise fail to· sign either of the 
statements herein described, the court shall note such refusal on the 
record. Such refusal shall be deemed to be a waiver of the right to coun­
sel, and the court, after so advising the defendant and offering him the 
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opportunity to rescind his refusal shall, if such refusal is not rescinded 
and the defendant's signature given, proceed to hear and decide the case. 

§ 19.1-241.10. The court not of record before which a hearing is
pending. on a charge upon which the accused may be sentenced to con­
finement in jail shall afford such continuance and take such other action 
as is necessary to protect the interests of the accused. 

§ 19.1-241.11. Counsel appointed to represent the defendant upon
such charge shall be compensated in an amount fixed by each of the courts 
in which he appears, except in no event shall the payment for services 
rendered in the proceedings before a court not of record exceed the sum 
of seventy-five dollars. This provision shall apply to counsel appointed 
under the provisions of this chapter, and to all counsel appointed to rep­
resent indigents on misdemeanor charges or ordinance violations between 
June 12, 1972, and the effective date of this section, both inclusive. 

§ 19.1-241.12. Any person who shall falsely swear or who shall exe­
cute the first statement provided for in § 19.1-241.9 knowing such state­
ment to be false shall be guilty of a Grade A misdemeanor. 

2. An emergency exists and this act is in force from its passage.
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2.1-80 .................... Illegal use of club insignia 
2.1-94 . ....... .. . . .. . . . ... Parking in Capitol Square 
2.1-95 

.
.................... Trespass on grass in Capitol 

Square 
2.1-96 . ... . . . . . .. . . . . .. . .. Loose dog in Capitol Square 
2.1-161 ... ... .. . .. .. ..... Failure of state official to keep 

books available 
2.1-284 .. .. .. ... . .. . . .. . . Purchasing materials for State 

buildings from architect 
2.1-285 .. .. .. . .. . . . .. . .. . Failure to purchase from Com­

mission of Visually Handi­
capped 

2.1-81.3 ................ Use of recorded motto or slogan 
3.1-62 (1)" ............ Violation of Farm product 

marketing rules 
3.1-83 . . . .. ... . .. . . . . . . . . . Selling or receiving unregis­

tered fertilizer 
3.1-117 . . .. . . .. . . .. .. .. . Manufacturing or selling unreg­

istered Liming material 
8.1-140 . .. . .. . . . .. .. .. . . . Violation of Board rules for 

eradication and control of 
plant pests 

3.1-150 ... . ... .. ........ Commissioner's demand to in­
spect 

8.1-153 . . .. . . .. ..... .. ... Violation of statutes §§3.1-143, 
145, 148, 150 controling plant 
pests 

3.1-158 . .. ...... .. ... ... Keeping red cedar trees 
8.1-161 .... ... . . ... ...... Failure to treat trees for cedar 

rust disease on direction 
of Commissioner 

3.1-166 ... ... ... ........ Hindering persons trying to con-
trol cedar rust 

3.1-170 ....... .. ... . ..... Allowing tree affected with 
Dutch Elm to grow 

3.1-175 ........... .. ..... Hindering officers 

8.1-176 ... .. .. .. . . .. ... .. Dutch Elm disease-failure to 
obey officers 

8.1-185 . . .. . . . . . .. ....... Obstructing commissioner at-
tempting to control musk 
thistle or curl thistle 

8.1-244 .................. Pesticide. laws violation 3.1-233-
8.1-239 (Selling, labeling, rec-
ords) 

8.1-253 .... .. . . .. ........ Hazardous household substances 
violation 3.1-252 or Rules & 
Regulations 

8.1-273 .................. (Virginia Seed Law) Violation 
§3.1-265 Selling untested or
mislabeled seed, records im­
proper

8.1-283 . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . Improper use of word "Certified" 
in seed sales 

8.1-295 . . . ... .......... .. Sale of non-approved Irish po-
tato seed (3.1-288) or violation 
8.1-289 (Rules & Regulations 
for Irish potato seed) 
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$100/60 days E 
$1-$25 E 

$5 E 
$1-10 E 

M A 

M A 

M D 
$1,000 D 

M A 

$25-$200 E 

$100 E 

$10-$100 E 

M A 

$10-$100 E 

M A 

$5-$50 E 

$5-$50 E 

M A 

$25-$100/ 
10-30 days C 
$5 per day/ 
10-30 days C 

$5-$50 E 

M A 

M A 

1st $100 E 
2nd $250 D 

$500 E 

$500/12 mos. A 



3.1-296.8 ... .. ... .. . . .. Sale mislabeled sod, hindering 
commissioner (3.1-296.3) 

3.1-296.18 ... ......... Bringing noxious weed into 
state w /out permit 

3.1-306 ... .............. Dark cured tobacco (labeling in-
spection fees, identification by 
grade). 3.1-302-3.1-305 

3.1-317 .. . .. . .. . .. .. . .. . . Violation of 3.1-312, 3.1-313 
(Fail to pay promotional tax, 
k e e p i n g records) Virginia 
Dark-Fired Tobacco . Commis­
sion 

3.1-334 .. . .. .. .. .. .. .. .. . Bright Flue-cured tobacco §3.1-
329, 3.1-330 (Fail to pay pro­
motional tax, keeping records) 

3.1-347 . .... .... ...... Improper marking of grades, 
marks, brands (3.1-343, 3.1-
846) 

3.1-348.6 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Grain handlers violation regis­
tration, rules, regulations 3.1-
348.3-3.1-348.5 

3.1-857 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Misuse Virginia Quality 'Label 
3.1-360.8 .............. Charcoal, misbranding, register-

ing, adulterating 
3.1-381 .................. General Sanitary requirements 

in manufacture, storing, sale 
of food or drink 3.1-366-3.1-381 

3.1-382 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. . .. . Sterilization of bottles & con­
tainers 

3.1-388 .. .... .. .. . .. . .. .. Sale of unfit food 
3.1-384 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Sale of diseased food 

3.1-385 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Transportation under unsani­
tary conditions 

3.1-390 .................. Adulterating, misbranding, false 
advertising, refusal of in­
spection, false guaranty in 
sale of food 

3.1-407 .................. Failure to obey notice as to un-
sanitary conditions 

3.1-416 .................. Hind�ring of Commissioner in 
his seizures, prosecutions and 
an enforcement of food law 

3.1-418 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Hindering officers or Failure to 
comply w/§3.1-361 et seq. 
(Dairy & Food Commissioner) 
§3.1-420, (Duty to Foster
dairy industry); 3.1-846 et seq.
(Meat product sanitation) 3.1-
907 .(Sale of Meal ground from
Indian corn)

3.1-421 Selling of impure milk 

3.1-422 .................. Unsanitary skimming station 
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M 

M 

$5-$500 

M 

M 

$5-$500 

M 
$10-$500 

M 

$25-$300 

M 
$10-$100 
$100 and/or 
6 mo. 
$5-$100/ 
90 days 

M 

M 
$10-$100 
and/or 
10-90 days

$10-$100 
and/or 
100 days 

$10-$50 
and/or 
90 days 

$25-$300 
and/or 
90 days 

A 

A 

E 

A 

A 

E 

A 

E 

A 

E 

A 

E 

B 

B 

A 

A 

B 

E 

B 

B 



3.1-424 .................. Failure to properly . sterilize 
milk vessels 

3.1-438 .................. Milk Commission buying milk at 

lower grade than to be used 
for or refusal to use required 
accounting methods 

3.1-444 .................. Unlawful to buy milk from or 
sell to one not licensed or 
handle such milk 

3.1-451 .................. Failure to comply w/subpoena 
of commission 

3.1-459 .................. Violation any provision Milk 
Commission Law (licensing, 
price fixing, etc.) 

3.1-530.9 .. ........... (Grade "A" milk) Violation 
§§3.1-580.8, 8.1-580.4, 8.1-580.6
(hindering officials, importing
raw milk w / o permit or vio­
lating rules for production and
manufacture

3.1-540 .................. False reading of milk test 
3.1-544 .................. Violation §§3.1-581.1, 3.1-588, 

3.1-540 ( obstructing Commis­
sioner, false Babcock test, cer­
tification of tester) 

3.1-562.10 ............ Violation of §8.1-562.6 (permits 
for manufacture) & Rules & 
Regulations for quality, label­
ing & identity of ice cream & 
similar products 

3.1-572 .................. Sending (8.1-572) or Receiving 
and 

8.1-580 
3.1-569 ................. . 

(3.1-580) Sweet Cream or Ice 
Cream Mix w / out permit 

Creamery Li�ense & Reports 

8.1-587 .................. Filled milk violation 

3.1-608.1 .............. Regulation Bee Industry 

3.1-617 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Movement improperly marked 
apples 

8.1-628 .................. Apple tax report failure to sub-
mit 

3.1-629 .. .. .. .. .. . .. .. .. . Apple tax false report or fail­
ure to keep records 

3.1-644 .................. Failure to submit reports or 
keep records under apple com­
mission article 

3.1-645 .. .. .. . .. .. .. .. .. . Apple Commission Reports 

3.1-664 ........ .... .. .... False peanut tax report 

3.1-665 .... .. ...... .. .... Failure to make peanut tax re-
port 

8.1-684 .. .. .. .. .. .. ... ... Sweet potato Report & Records 

8.1-684.19 .. .. .. .. .. .. Soy bean tax reports & records 

3.1-718 .. .. .. .. .......... Commission merchant violations 
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$5 per vessel 

M 

M 

$100/ 
90 days 
$25 to $100 
and/or 
80 days to 1 yr. 

M 

M 

$10-$50 
and/or 
90 days 

M 

M 

$10-100 
· and/or
60 days
$500/
and/or
60 mo.

M

$100-$500 

M 

M 

M 

M 

M 

M 

M 

M 

$25-$1000 /1 yr. 

E 

A 

A 

B 

A 

A 

B 

A 

A 

B 

B 

A 

E 

A 

A 

A 

A 

A 

A 

A 

A 

A 



3.1-722.11 ............ Dealers in agricultural product 
violations 

3.1-733 ... . ............. Livestock & poultry violations 
3.1-735 .................. Importing uninspected pets 
3.1-736 .................. Bringing in diseased animals 
3.1-737 .. .. .. .... .. .. .. .. Failure to keep sanitary stock-

yards 
3.1-748 .................. Poultry Disposal pit or incinera-

tor 
3.1-753- ........ .-......... Failure to submit cattle to test­

ing 
3.1-755 .................. Altering marking inspected cat-

tle 
3.1-763 ... .... ......... .. Feeding garbage to swine 
3.1-763.12 ............ False slaughtered hog tax re-

port 
3.1-770 .... ... .... ....... Hatchery violations 
3.1-773 ... ..... .......... Unlawful use "Certified" by 

hatchery 
3.1-795 ...... .... .... ... . Poultry tax violation 
3.1-796.11 ............ Egg marking violations 
3.1-796.27 .... .. .... .. Beef cattle commission tax re-

ports 
3.1-800 . .. .. ... .. .. .. .. .. Sale adulterated feed 

3.1-826 .................. Attaching feed labels with metal 
fasteners 

3.1-827 .. . .. . .. .. .. .. . .. . Commercial feed violations 
3.1-845 .. .. . .. . .. . .. .. .. . Animal Remedy violations 
3.1-871 .................. Using word "Smithfield" falsely 
3.1-884.31 ............ Unknowing distribution unin-

spected, etc. meats 
3.l-884.32(J) ...... Unauthorized release of infor­

mation 
( G) .. .. .. Refusal to testify

3.1-894 .. ............. ... Sale canned animal food 
3.1-906 .. .. .. .. . .. . .. .. . Sale of vinegar 

3.1-907 .. .. .. .. .. . .. . .. .. Use of "Indian Corn Meal" 

3.1-908 .................. Adulterating cereal grains 

3.1-914 .................. Oleomargarine Law 
3.1-915 .................. Use of Saccharine in Foods 
3.1-917 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. . .. . Adding sugar to artificially 

sweetened food 
3.1-918 ............. ... .. Removing serial number on 

farm equipment 
3.1-933 .................. Violation stop sale order 
3.1-963 .................. Weights & measu1·es obstruct-

ing commissioners 
3.1-964 .................. Weights and measures, imper-

sonating commissioner 
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lst-$100-$500/ 
6 mo. B 

2nd�$500-$1000/ 
1 yr. A 

$100-$500 E 
M A 

$100-$500 E 

$100-$500 E 

M A 

$100-$500 E 

$100-$500 E 
$100-$500 E 

M A 

M A 

$10-$500 E 
M A 

M A 

M A 

lst/$200 E 
2nd/300/ 
1 yr. A 

$25-$250 E 
M A 

M A 

$25-$300 E 

$500/1 yr. A 

$5,000/1 yr. A 

$1,000-$5,000 
1 yr. A 

M A 

1st $100-$500 E 
2nd $500-$1,000 D 
$10-$200/ 
6 mo. B 
$10-$200 
60 mo. B 
$200 E 
$25-$300 E 

M A 

$500/ 
30-180 days B 
M A 

M A 

M A 



3.1-965 . . . . .. . .. . . ... . ... Violations weights & measures 
laws 

3.1-988 .. .. .. .. .... .. .. .. Requesting False Weighing 

3.1-989 .................. Falsification by Weighmaster 

3.1-990 . .. . .. .. . .. .. .. .. . Weighmaster violations 
3.1-1007 .... ............ False advertising of apples 

Additions: 

3.1-152 .. .. .. .. .. .. . .. . .. Commissioner's right of entry 
3.1-569 .. .. . .. .. . .. .. . .. . Owners, etc. of creameries, etc. 

violation of provision 
3.1-757 .................. Violation of 3.1-756 
3.1-884.11 .. .. .. ...... Penalties for violation of 3.1-

884. 7, 884.8, 884.9
4-92 .. .. . .. . .. . .. . .. .. .. .. Violation of Chapter or Regula­

tions 
4-58 .. .. .. .. .. . .. .. . .. .. .. Illegal Sale of Alcoholic Bever­

ages 
4-60 .. .. .. .. .. . .. .. .. .. . .. Illegal Sale or Possession by Li­

censees 
4-61 .. .. .. . .. . .. .. . .. .. .. Possession w / o license upon

premises/ restaurant 
4-61.1 . .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. . Possession on premises of club
4-62 .. .. .. .. . .. .. . .. .. .. .. Sale to Minor
4-63 .. .. . .. .. . . .. .. .. . .. . Employment of Minor to sell al-

cohol 
4-64 . .. .. . .. .. .. .. .. . .. .. . Illegal sale of Wine
4-65 .. .. .. .. . .. . .. .. . .. . .. .. Failure to pay tax on Beer
4-66 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Violation of Contract to pur-

chase Beer from state licensee 
4-67 . .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. . .. Illegal use of crowns and stamps

68 ................... : .. · Mixing deleterio.ul!I substances 
with alcoholic beverages 

4-69 . .. . .. .. . .. . .. .. .. .. .. Illegal advertising
70 ...................... Disobeying subpoena; hindering; 

conduct of hearing 
71 .......... ............ Purchasing alcoholic beverage 

from one not authorized to sell 
4-41 .. .. .. . .. .. . .. .. .. .. .. Selling Beer without paying ex­

cise tax 
4-72 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. . .. . Illegal transportation of Alco­

holic beverages 
73 ...................... Purchasing alcoholic beverages 

for one not of legal age 
4-73.1 .. . .. .. .. .. . .. .. .. .. Misrepresentation of material

fact to obtain identification 
certificate 

4-73.2 . .. . .. .. .. .. . .. .. .. . Purchase or possession of alco­
holic beverage by minor 

4-74 ...................... Carrying alcoholic beverages in 
vehicle transporting passen­
gers for hire 

4-75 ....... .............. Possessing, transporting, etc., 
alcoholic beverages illegally 
acquired 
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M 

1st $50-$500 
2nd $100-$500 I
30-90
$50-$500/
30-90 days
$50-$100 
M 

$10-$100 
$10-$100/ 
60 days 
$100-$500 

$3,000 / 6 mos. 

$500/1 yr. 
$50-$500/ 
30-1 yr.

Same as above 

$500/1 yr. 
$500/1 yr. 
M 

$500/1 yr. 
M 
M 

$500/1 yr. 
M 

M 
M 

M 

M 
$100-$1,000 I 
1 yr. 

$500/1 yr. 

$500/1 yr. 

$500/1 yr. 

$500/1 yr. 

M 

$50-$500/ 
30-1 yr.

A 

E 

B 

B 

E 

A 

E 

B 
E 

B 

A 

A 

A 

A 

A 

A 

A 
A 

A 

A 
A 

A 
A 

A 

A 

A 

A 

A 

A 

A 

A 

A 



4-76 . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . .. . .. . Selling bay rum w / o prescrip­
tion 

4-77 ...................... Possessing still or distilling ap-
paratus w / o permit 

4-78 ...................... Drinking or tendering a drink 
in a public place 

4-78.1 .. ... .. . ......... ... Drinking or p o s s e s s i o n in 
public schools or on school 
grounds 

4-79 ...................... Manufacturer, etc. not to have 
interest in retail licensee's 
business 

4-80.1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Relatives representing distiller 
before board 

4-80.2 . . . .. . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . Coercion of beer or wine whole­
saler 

4-81 ...................... Maintaining Comm.on Nuisance 
4-82 ....... ........... .... Nuisance/ abatement 

4-93

4-98.10 ................. . 

Delivery of beverages to prison­
ers in jail 

Prohibited Acts; various of­
fenses defined regarding li­
censee 

4-98.16 .................. Solicitation of mixed beverages 
licensees by persons in manu­
facture, etc., of alcoholic bev­
erages 

4-108 .................... Violation of agreement with 
State Tax Commis�ioner to 
purchase 3.2 beverages 

4-109(i) ................ Any person selling 3.2 beverages 
to retailer or consumers w / o 
paying excise tax; and pur­
chases thereof 

4-109(m) .............. Retailer or wholesaler of 3.2 
beverages failing to produce 
invoices upon demand 

4-109 (n) ................ Violation of any other provi-
sion of 4-109 for which no spe­
cific penalty is provided, or of 
any regulation of State Tax 
Commissioner 

4-111 (b) .. .... .. .. .. .. .. Failure to keep invoices 
4-112.2 .. .. . .. .. .. .. .. . .. Material misrepresentation of

fact in applying for certificate 
of identification 

4-115 ..... ............... Manufacturers and wholesalers 
not to have interest in busi­
ness or retail licensee of 3.2 
beverages 

4-116 .................... Manufacturing, bottling or sell-
ing 3.2 beverages w / o license, 
a failure to pay taxes pro­
vided for, or to keep records 

4-117 .................... Sale by 8.2 licensee of alcoholic 
beverage not included w/in 
the term ''beverage" 
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M 

M 

$1.00-$10.00 

$10.00-$100.00 

$500/1 yr. 

M 

$500/1 yr. 
M 
$500/ 
1 yr./enjoin 

$10.00-$100.00 

$50.00-$500.00 I 
30-1 yr.

M 

M 

$100.00-$5,000 I
6 mos. 

$25-$100 

$100-$500/ 
6 mos. 
M 

M 

M 

M 

M 

A 

A 

E 

E 

A 

A 

A 
A 

A 

E 

A 

A 

A 

A 

E 

B 
A 

A 

A 

A 

A 



4-118.2 .................. Illegal transportation of 3.2 bev-
erages 

4-112 .................... Sale to intoxicated or minors 
4-112.1 .................. Minor falsely representing age 

or purchasing for a minor 
4-16.3 .................... Dispensing from bottle without 

stamp 
4-49 .. .. .. .. .. . .. . .. .. .. .. Sale without prescription
4-62 ...................... Illegal possession 
5.1-13 .................... Reckless Flying of Aircraft 
5.1-14 .................... Flying unlicensed aircraft 
5.1-15 .................... Operating aircraft without air-

man's certificate 
5.1-16 .................... Tampering with aircraft mark-

ers 
5.1-17 .................... Hunting wildlife by means of an 

airplane 
5.l-18(c) .............. Failure to answer summons 
5.1-22 ................ , ... Interfering with operation of 

aircraft 
5.1-146(b) ............ Obtain transportation for less 

than applicable rate 
5.1-24 .................... Illegal operation of airport 
6.1-111 .................. Unauthorized bank or trust com-

pany 
6.1-112 .................. Using word "Bank" "Banking'' 

in b�siness other than banking 
6.1-114 .................. Disclosure bank info by State 

officer 
6.1-5 ...................... Conducting banking business 

without authority 
6.1-116 .................. Issuing bad check in payment of 

wages 
6.1-119 .. .. .. .. .. . .. . .. .. Making derogatory statement 

concerning financial condition 
of bank 

6.1-120 .................. Wilfully certifying check when 
insufficient funds 

6.1-121 .................. Accepting fee for procuring loan 
from bank 

6.1-123 .................. Violation Chapter 2 when no 
other penalty is specified 

6.1-195.59 ............ Unauthorized use of "Savings 
& Loan" or "Building & Loan" 

6.1-195.60 ............ Refuse inspection of books 
6.1-195.61 Engaging in business of savings 

and loan without authority 
6.1-195.62 Making derogatory statements 

about financial condition of 
Savings & Loan Association 

6.1-224 .................. Unauthorized use of "Credit 
Union" 

6.1-278 ................. Unauthorized charges 

6.1-308 .. ............... Engaging in small loan business 
without a license 

6.1-76 .................... Unlawful issuance of certificate 
of deposit Banking Act 
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$500/1 yr. A 

M A 

M A 

lst-$500 E 

2nd-$5,000 D 

M A 

$500/1 yr. A 

$100/1 mo. C 

$100/1 mo. C 

$100/1 mo. C 

$100/1 mo. C 

$100/1 mo. C 

$100/1 mo. C 

$100/1 mo. C 

1st $500 E 

2nd $2000 D 

$100-$500 E 
$100-$500/ 
6 mo. B 

M A 

$100/1000 D 

M A 

M A 

$1000/1 yr. A 

M A 

$1000/1 yr. A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 
$10-$100/ 
day E 

$50-$500/ 
6 mo. B 

$50-$500/ 
6 mo. B 

M A 



6.1-113 . . . . . .. .. . .... . . . . Violation of Banking Act 6.1-39 
or 6.1-41 

6.1-114 . . . . . . . . . . . .... . .. Disclosing information concern­
ing banks by State Officer or 
employee 

6.1-115 ... . . . . .. . .. .. .... Issuing bad check, etc., larceny 
6.1-192 . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . False statement by Savings and 

Loan Association officer 
7.1-31.1 ................ Improper use of State seal 
8-194 .. . . . . . . . ... .. . . . . . . Failure to obey juror subpoena 
8-203 . . . .. . .. .. . .. . .. . .. Officer's neglect in summoning

jury 
8-302 ........ ...... .... .. Failure to obey summons 
8-382 . . .. .. . .. . .. .. . . . . .. Failure to release judgment 

when satisfied 
8-428 .................... 'Unlicensed auctioneer 
8-430 .................... Failure of officer receiving 

money to notify creditor 
8-441 . .. . . . .. . . .. .. . . .. .. False information by creditor in

garnishment 
8-577.1 .................. Unlawful change of name 

8-650 .................... Unauthorized use of name or 
picture of another 

8-661 .. .. . .. .. .. .. .. .. .. . False certificate by clerk in ju­
dicial sale 

Sale by commissioner without 
giving bond 

8-662 .................... Clerk's failure to give notice 
8-733 .................... Failure of duty of general re-

ceiver 
8-868.2 .................. Unlawful installation of electric 

fence 
8-885 .. .. .. . .. . .. .. .. .. .. Permitting animals on land un­

der quarantine 
8-898 .................... Same 
9-44 ...................... Violation of Athletic Commis-

sion laws 
10-12.1 .................... Rules & Regulations: other pow-

ers (Board of Conservation & 
Economic Development) 

10-17.29 ..... .. ... .. .... .. Penalties (Air pollution con­
trol) 

10-21.11 .................. Rules of Commission of Outdoor 
Recreation 

10-43 ........................ Violation of State reservation or 
park rules 

10-44 .......... : ........... Setting fires on, or damaging 
state forest 

10-59 .. .. .. .. . .. .. . . .. .. .. . Failure to aid forest warden
10-62 ...................... Open burning 

10-63 ........ :.: ............ Failure to extinguish open fire 

10-64 .. . .. .. .. .. . .. .. .. .. .. Failure to clean certain mills

10-64.1 .. .. .. .. .. .. . .. .. . .. Throwing burning things from
vehicles 

10-65 ...................... Operating engine in woods or 
brush without certain devices 
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$1,000 D 

$100-$1,000 D 
M A 

$100-$1,000 D 
$100/30 days C 
$20 E 

$20 E 
$20 E 

$20 E 
$100-500 E 

$5-20 E 

M A 
$10-100 
60 days B 

$50-500 E 

$50-500 E 

M A 
$10-100 E 

$100-1000 D 

M A 

$5-25 E 
$2-5 E 

M A 

$5-100 E 

$1000 D 

M A 

$5-50 E 

$500 .E 
$25 E 
$10-100 E 

$100 E 

.$10 E 

$10-10.0/ 
30 days C 

$10-100 E 



10-74 ...... .-............... Hunting or trapping in state 
forests 

10-79 ...................... Cutting seed trees 
10-83.3 . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . Purchasing dogwood trees of 

less than certain size 
10-89 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Removing forest fire & trespass 

notices 
10-98 ...................... Drilling wells; notice to be given 

to Div. of Geology 
10-117.1 . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . Stopping discharge from arte­

sian wells 
11-29 . . .. . . .. . . . . . . . .. . . . . . Violation of burial contracts 

laws 
13.1-135 .................. Unauthorized corporations 
13.1-296 .................. Unauthorized non stock corpo-

rations 
13.1-520 .................. Violation "Blue Skylaw" 

13.1-336 .................. Use of word "Co-operative" 
13.1-536 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. Take-Over Bid Disclosure Act 

13.1-569 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Violation of retail franchising 
act 

14.1-101 ... ...... ....... .. Commingling official funds with 
personal 

15.1-47 .................... Failure of clerk to transmit of-
ficer's bond 

15.1-73.2 .................. Conflict of interest in zoning 
case 

15.1-73.3 . ... .. ... ... . ... Conflict of interest by local of­
ficers 

15.1-73.4 ................ Nondisclosure of interest in 
zoning case 

15.1-79 .................... Failure to assist officer in exe-
cuting process 

15.1-96 ........... .... ... .. Failure of surveyor to keep rec-
ords 

15.1-112 .................. Violation of purchasing agent 
laws 

15.1-166 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . Treasurer's failure to file with 
Auditor 

15.1-282 .. .... ... ......... Unlawful dumping 

15.1-287 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Purchasing building m a t e r i a 1 
from architect 

15.1-316 . ... . ..... ........ Unlawful use of public streets 

15.1-332 . . ....... ...... ... Noncompliance with sewer con-
struction law 

15.1-348 . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . Noncompliance with water sys­
tem construction law 

15.1-444.1 .............. Conflict of interest by zoning 
commissioners 

15.1-473 .................. Violation of subdivision ordi-
nance 

15.1-491 . . . . . .. .. . . . . . . . . . Violation of zoning ordinance 

15.1-549 .. : ............... Improper issuance of warrant 
by supervisors 
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M A 

$10 per tree E 

$100 E 

$10 E 

M A 

$10-100/ 
10 days C 

M A 

M A 

M A 

$100-$5000/ 
30 days-1 yr. A 

$50 E 

$100-$5,000 / 
30 days-1 yr. A 

$100-$5,000/ 
30 days-1 yr. A 

M A 

$50-100 E 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

$50 E 

M A 

M A 

$5-50 E 

$25-500/6 mos. B 

$25-500 / 6 mos. B 

M A 

$100 E 

$10-250 E 

M A 



15.1-517.1 .............. Selling animal acquired from 
animal shelter within six 
months 

15.1-556 . .. .. ... . .. . . .. . . . Failure to obey summons of 
board of supervisors 

15.1-592 . . .. . . . . .. . . . . . . . . Failure to obey summons of 
board of supervisors 

15.1-619 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. Failure to collect fees or pay to 
county 

 15.1-627 ........... ....... Failure to obey summons of 
board 

15.1-657 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Failure to collect fees 
15.1-675 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . Interference by supervisor in 

personnel matters 
15.1-681 .................. Failure to obey summons of 

board 
15.1-701 ..... ...... ... .... Failure to obey summons of 

board 
15.1-762 .................. Failure to obey summons of 

board 
15.1-781 ................ .. Failure to collect fees 
15.1-811 . . : ................ Failure to obey summons of 

council 
15.1-1354 . .. ... ... . ...... Conflict of interest by transpor-. 

tation comm'r 
16.1-101 . ..... .... ... ..... Failure of officer to make return 

on execution 
16.1-191 .................. Interference with juvenile offi-

cer 
17-38 ...................... Failure of deputy clerks of Su-

preme Court to post bond 
17-54 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Failure of local clerks to send in 

list of officers 
17-58 ...................... Failure of local clerks to send in 

reports of business 
17-77 ...................... Failure of local clerks to verify 

his records 
18.1-14 .................... Contributing to delinquency of 

minor 
18.1-15.1 . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . Conspiracy to trespass 
18.1-19 .................... Attempt to commit misdemeanor 
18.1-31 . ..... ... ... . .. ..... Assault or battery by mob 
18.1-40 .................... Failure to give information 

about abduction 
18.1-50 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Transporting dangerous articles 

Transporting dangerous articles 
· 2nd offense

18.1-58 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Drunk driving 

Drunk driving-2nd offense 

18.1-60 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Driving on revoked license 

18.1-63 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. Advertising abortions 

18.1-69 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Discharging firearm in public 
place 

18.1-69.2 ................ Brandishing firearms 
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M 

M 

M 

M 

M 
M 

Forfeit office 

M 

M 

M 
M 

$100/30 da. 

M 

$5-20 

M 

$50-100 

$5-25 

$50 

$10-50 

M 
$1000/12 mo. 
$500/6 mos. 
M 
$5-500/10 da.-
6 mos. 
$10-50 / 60 da. 
$50-1000/ 

· 60 da.-6 mo.

$200-1000/
1-6 mo.
$200/1000/
1-12 mo.

$500/10 day.-
6 mo.

M

M 

M 

A 

A 

A 

A 

A 
A 

A 

A 

A 
A 

C 

A 

E 

A 

E 

E 

E 

E 

A 
A 
B 
A 

B 
B. 

B 

B 

A 

B 

A 

A 

A 



18.1-70.l(a) ... : ...... Inhaling drugs or chemicals 
. (glue) 

18.1-70.l(b) .......... Inducing others to inhale drugs 
18.1-71 .................... Hazing college students 
18.1-72 .................... Handling snakes dangerously 
18.1-73 .................... Leaving well or pit abandoned 
18.1-74 .................... Leaving well uncovered 
18.1-74.1:1 ............ Combining to injure reputation 

or business 
18.1-74.2 ................ Failure to get medical help for 

injured child 
18.1-78.2 ................ Bomb threat by child under 14 
18.1-78.4 ................ Bomb threat by child under 14 
18.1-84 .................... Carelessly damaging property 

by fire 
18.1-97 .................... Possession of less than ten 

forged bank notes 
18.1-98 .................... Making false entry in marriage 

register 
18.1-99 .................... Making false statement for 

marriage record 
18.1-101 .................. Petit larceny-1st conviction 
18.1-114 .................. Advance secured by false prom-

ise of agricultural labor 
18.1-115 .................. Removal of crop by tenant be-

fore advance satisfied 
18.1-119 .................. False statement to obtain credit 

-under $100
18.1-119.1:1 ............ Obtaining telephone s e rvi c e

fraudulently 
18.1-119.2 .............. False statement by purchaser 

as to use for residence 
18.1-119.3 .............. Overvaluation of property to 

procure loan 
18.1-120 .................. Defrauding hotel, etc. 
18.1-121 .................. Defrauding garagekeeper 
18.1-122 .................. Defrauding industrial sick bene-

fit company 
18.1-123 .................. Giving false pedigree of animal 
18.1-124 .................. Defrauding pay phone, parking 

meter, or vending machine 
18.1-125 .................. Manufacture of slugs 
18.1-125.1 .............. Tampering with pay phone, etc. 

1st offense 
18.1-125.6 .............. Credit card fraud-under $100 

18.1-125.8 .............. Receiving goods fraudulently 
obtained by card-under $100 

18.1-126.1 .............. Shoplifting - under $100 -
· first offense

18.1-126.1 .............. Shoplifting - under $100 - 2nd 
offense 

18.1-148 .................. Trespassing on railroad track 

18.1-149 .................. Trespassers jumping on or off 
trains 

18.1-150 .................. Trespassing on trains 

17 

M A 

$500/6 mo. B 
$50-500/1 yr. A 

$50-150/6 mo. B 
$500 E 

M D 

$1000/12 mo. A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

$10-100 E 

M A 

$100-500 E 

$50-100 E 

M B 

M A 

M A 

$100/3 mo. E 

$500/6 mo. E 

M D 

$500/6 mo. E 

$100/3 mos. B 
$100/3 mos. B 

M D 

M D 

M D 
M D 

M A 

M A 

M A 

Value-
$1000/5 day.-
12 mo. A 

30 days-1 yr. A 

$10-100 E 

$2.50-10/ 
15 days E 

$2.50-10/ 
15 days E 



18.1-153 .................. Unlawful injury to railroad sig-
nal 

18.1-154 . . . . .. . . . . . . . . .. . . Driving animal on tracks to re­
cover damages 

18.1-155 .. .. . . . .. ... . .. . . . Injuring fence or cattle stop 
18.1-156 .................. Unlawful use or interference 

with telephone lines 
18.1-157 .................. Unlawful use or interference 

with radio-TV equipment 
18.1-158 . . . . . . . . . . ... . .. .. Damage to property of utility-

under $100 
18.1-158.1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Tampering with meter 
18.1-159 .................. Unlawful wounding of animals 
18.1-160 .. . . .. .. . . .. .. . . . . Injuring homing pigeons 
18.1-161 .................. Injuring rented animal or vehi-

cle 
18.1-162 .................. Procuring rented animal or ve-

hicle fraudulently 
18.1-164 .................. Unauthorized use of animal or 

vehicle-under $100 
18.1-166 . . . . . . .. . . . .. .. . . . Tampering with operation of ve­

hicle or boat 
18.1-167 .................. Entering or setting in motion 

vehicle or boat 
18.1-170 .................. Wilfully destroying a vessel-

under $50 
18.1-172 .................. Injuring Civil War or boundary 

line monument 
18.1-173 .... .. . .. .. .. .. . .. Trespassing after being forbid­

den· 
18.1-173.1 .. .. . .. . .. .. .. Instigating such trespass by 

others 
18.1-173.2 ..... , ........ Failure to leave college campus 

on direction 
18.1-174 .................. Peeping Tom 
18.1-175 . .. .. .. .. .. .. .. ... Cutting timber from Blue Ridge 

Parkway 
18.1-175.1 .... .. .. .. .. .. Damaging caves or caverns 
18.1-176 .. .. . .. .. .. .. .. .. . Pulling down fences 
18.1-177 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Injury to public buildings or 

property 
18.1-178 ..... ... . .. .. . .. .. Destruction of trees and shrubs 
18.1-179 .................. Cutting trees; carrying axe 

while hunting 
18.1-180 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Injuring trees on public grounds 
18.1-181 . . .. . . .. .... .. .. .. Trespass in cemetery at night 
18.1-182 .. .. .. .. . .. . .... .. Trespass on church or school at 

night 
18.1-183 . . .... .. .. .. .. .. .. Entering property with intent to 

damage 
18.1-185 .. .. . . .. .. . . . .. ... Bringing unregistered bull into 

State 
18.1-186 .................. Using unregistered bull for 

breeding 
18.1-190 .. . .. . . .. .. . . . . . .. Adultery or fornication 
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$500/12 mo. 

M 
M 

M 

M 

M 
M 
M 
M 

M 

M 

M 

M 

M 

M 

M 

$1000/12 mo. 

$1000/12 mo. 

M 
M 

M 
$500/12 mo. 
$5-20 

M 
M 

M 
$300 
$25 

$5-25 

M 

M 

M 
$20-100 

A 

A 
D 

D 

D 

D 
D 
A 
A 

A 

A 

A 

A 

A 

D 

D 

A 

A 

D 
A 

A 
D 
E 

A 
D 

D 
E 
E 

E 

A 

A 

A 
E 



18.1-193 . .. .. ..... ...... .. Lewd and lascivious cohabita­
tion-1st offense 

Lewd and lascivious cohabitation 
-2nd offense

18.1-194 . . . . .. .. .. . . .. . . . . Prostitution 
18.1-195 . . . . . . . ... . . . ... .. Frequenting bawdy place 
18.1-196 . . . . . . .. . .. . .. . . .. Keeping bawdy place 
18.1-197 . .. . . . . .... .. . .. . . Aiding prostitution 
18.1-198 .................. Using vehicle to promote prosti-

tution 
18.1-203 .................. Unlawful sale of venereal dis-

ease preventatives 
18.1-216 . . . .. . . .. . .. . . . .. . Cruelty to animals 
18.1-216.1 .. .. .. .. .. .. . . Exhibiting sored horses 
18.1-228 . .. . .. . .. .. .. .. . . . Production, possession, etc. of 

obscene items 
18.1-230 . . . .. . . ..... . . .. . . Production of obscene exhibi­

tions 
18.1-231 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. . . Advertising obscene items or ex­

hibitions 
18.1-232 . . .. . .. . . . . . . . . . .. Same 
18.1-233 . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . Coercing acceptance of obscene 

publications 
18.1-234 . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . Hiring or permitting minor to 

violate above 
18.1-235 .................. Modeling or taking obscene pic-

tures 
18.1-236 .. . . .. .. .. .. .. ... Indecent exposure 
18.1-236. 7 .. . .. .. . . .. ... Selling pornography to juvenile 
18.1-237 .. .. . .. .. . . .. . .. .. Public drunkenness 

Public drunkenness-third con­
viction 

18.1-238 . ..... ..... ... .. Obscenic telephone calls 
18.1-238.1 .. .. . .. .. .. ... Giving false information of 

death over telephone 
18.1-238.2 . .. .. ... .. .. .. Ringing phone with intent to an-

noy 
18.i-238.3 ... .. . .. . ... .. Selling telephonic instruments
18.1-239 . .. .. ... .. .. .. . .. . Disturbing religious worship
18.1-240 .. .. ... .. .. .. . .... Disturbing schools 
18.1-241 ..... .... ... .. . . .. Carrying weapon to place of 

worship 
18.1-242 ............. ..... Cockfighting 
18.1-244 . .. . . .. . .. .. . .. .. . Injuring cemetery property 
18.1-245 .. .. . .. .. . .. . . . . .. Conducting physical endurance 

contests 
18.1-246 .. .. . .. .. . .. . . . . . . Shooting pigeons for amusement 
18.1-246.1 .. .. .. . .. . .. . . Showing X-rated previews to 

GP audience 
18.1-253.1 .. . .. . .. .. ... . Disorderly conduct in public 

conveyance 
18.1-253.2 .. .. .. .. . .. . .. Disorderly conduct in other pub­

lic places 
18.1-253.3 .............. Disorderly conduct at public 

meetings 
18.1-254.01 ............ Obstructing free passage of 

others 
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$50-500 E 

$50-$500/ 
6-12 mo. A 
M A 

M D 
M A 

M A 

M D 

M D 
M A 
$500/6 mo. B 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 
M A 

M A 
$1-25 E 

$50/6 mo. E 
M A 

M A 

M A 
M D 
M A 

M A 

$20 up E 
$100-500 E 
M D 

M D 

$5-50/30 day. D 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 



18.1-254.2 . . . .. .. . .. . .. . Participating in riot without 
weapon 

18.1-254.3 .. .. . .... . .. .. Participating in unlawful as­
sembly 

18.1-254.4 . .. . ... ..... .. Remaining at place of riot after 
warning 

18.1-254.6 .. . .. .. ...... . Obstructing execution of legal 
process 

18.1-254.7 .............. Refusal to obey Governor's or-
der to help suppress riot 

18.1-255 .................. Using abusive language to an-
other 

18.1-256 .. .. .. .. . .. .. .... . Slander or libel of woman's 
chaste character 

Using insulting language 
18.1-264 .. .. .... .. .. .. .. .. Improper record-keeping of ma­

chine-gun sales 
18.1-269 . .. . .. .. .. .... .. .. Carrying concealed weapons 
18.1-271 .. . . . .. . . . . .. .. . .. Selling or possessiQn of black­

jacks, brass knucks, etc. 
18.1-281 .. . .. . .. . .. .. . .. .. Receiving bribe to delay service 

of process 
18.1-283 .................. Unlawful lobbying with General 

Assembly 
18.1-284 .. ... .. .. .. .. .. . .. Aiding unsuccessful escape at­

tempt 
Aiding escape of misdemeanant 

18.1-285 . ................. Delivering unauthorized articles 
to prisoners 

18.1-287 . .. .. .. .. . .. .. . .. Officer negligently permitting 
escape 

18.1-288 .. .. . .. .. .. .. .. .. . Escape by jail prisoner 
18.1-289 .... .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Escape by unsentenced prisoner 
18.1-290 .. .. .. . .. .. ... .. .. Escape from jail without force 
18.1-296 . .. . .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Officer summoning juror to act 

partially 
18.1-297 .. .. .. .. . .. . .. . .. . Corruptly procuring juror to be 

summoned 
18.1-298 . .. .. .. . .. .... .. .. Fraud in drawing jurors 
18.1-300 ... .. .. .. .. .. .. .. . Officer refusing to execute pro­

cess for criminal 
18.1-301 . .. . .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Refusal to aid officer 
18.1-302 .. .. .... ..... .. ... Failure to obey order of con­

servator of peace 
18.1-303 .. .. . .. .. .. .. .. . .. Concealing or compounding mis-

demeanor 
18.1-304 .. . .. . .. .. . .. . .. .. Extortion by officer of extra fee 
18.1-305 . .... ... .......... Fraudulent issue of fee bills 
18.1-306 ... ...... .. ...... False entries or destruction of 

records by officers 

18.1-808 ...... ............ Theft or destruction of public 
records 

18.1-810 .. .. .... .... .. .. .. Obstructing justice by threat or 
force 

18.1-311 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Impersonating officer 

18.1-312 .................. Unlawful wearing of officer's 
uniform 
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M A 

M A 

M D 

$1000/1 yr. A 

M A 

· $2.50-500 D 
$25-500/
6 mo. D 
$5+/60 da. E 

$100-1000 D 
$20-500/12 mo. A 

$25-100 E 

$100/6 mo. B 

$5000 / 12 mo. A 

$500/6 mo. B 

$500/6 mo. B 

M A 

$50-500 / 6 mo. B 

12 mo. A 

1 yr. A 

$500/6 mo. B 

$500 E 

$500 E 

$5000/1 yr. A 

$500/6 mo. ·D
$100/6 mo. D

$100/6 mo. B. 

$100/6 mo. E 
$50 E 
$500 E 

$1000/1 yr. A 

$1000/1 yr. A 

M A 

M A 

$500/12 mo. A 



18.1-313 . . . . .. . . . . . . . . .. .. Simulation of warrants or pro-
cesses 

18.1-316 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Gambling 
18.1-317 .. .. .. .. .. .... .. .. Betting on election 
18.1-318 .. . .. ..... .... .. .. Winning by cheating 
18.1-319 . . .. . . .. . . . . . . . ... Betting on games, races, etc. 
18.1-320 .. . . . . . . . .. . . . .. .. Betting on races held outside 

State 
18.1-322 .. . . .. ... . .. . . .. . . Fraudulent entry of horse in 

race 
18.1-323 .. . . .. . . . . .. .. . . .. Keeping gaming equipment 

18.1-324 . .. . . . .. . .. .. .. .. . Occupant permitting above 
18.1-325 ............. -..... Acting as doorkeeper 
18.1-326 . . .. . . .. .. .. .. . . .. Betting at public place 
18.1-329 . . . .. .. .. .. . .. ... Keeping punch boards & slot 

machines 
18.1-332 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Manufacturing slot machines 

18.1-336 .. .. .. .. . .. .. .. .. . Conducting game for money or 
rakeoff' 

18.1-337 .. .. .. .. .. .. ...... Innkeeper permitting gaming 
18.1-340 . .. .. .. . .. . . . .. . .. Managing or participating in 

lottery 
18.1-344 .................. Furnishing weapons or tobacco 

to minors 
18.1-345 ... .............. Using drugs in cigarettes 

18.1-347 .................. Selling or giving toy firearms 

18.1-349 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Minors in poolrooms 
18.1.;352 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Operating dance hall without 

permit 
18.1-362 .... . ... .... .. .... Running trains on Sunday 
18.1-363 .. .. .. .. .. .. . .. .. . Loading steamships on Sunday 
18.1-367.1 .............. Picketing of dwelling places 
18.1-368 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Refusing to relinquish telephone 

line 
18.1-369 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. False request to relinquish line 
18.1-371 .. .. .. .... .. ...... Failur_e to describe above crimes 

in directory 
18.1-374 .................. Improper solicitation of funds 

for litigation 
18.1-376 .. . .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Agent of violator 
18.1-384 .. . .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Failure of racial organization to 

register with sec

18.1-390 ...... .... .... .. .. Barra try 
18.1-394 .. .... .... .. ...... Inducing suits against State 

18.1-400.4 .... .. .... .... Unlawful trafficking in petrol-
eum gas containers 

18.1-401 .. ... ...... .. ..... Giving false · reports to police 
officers 

18.1-404 .. . .. .. .. .. .. .. . .. Corrupting agent of another 

18.1-407 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Delivering false statement to 
newspaper 

18.1-408 ... . .. .. .. ........ Unlawful use of words "official 
Tourist Information" 
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$5-50 E 

$100/60 da. E 

Fine E 

Fine/1 yr. E 

M E 

$200 min./ 
30-90 da. E 

$50 min./
30-180 da. E 

$100-1000/
2-12 mo. A 

$100-1000/1 yr. A 
$1000/1 yr. A 
$30 E 

M A 

$50-1000/ 
1-12 mo. A 

6-12 mo. A 
$100 E 

$500/1 yr. A 

$2.50-100 E 

$100-1000/ 
6-12 mos. A 
$50-100/
30-90 da. B 

$5 min./6 mo. B 

$50-500 E 

$50-100 E 

$50-100 E 

$500/9 mo. A 

$25/10 da. E 

$25/10 da. E 

$25/10 da. E 

M D 
M D 

$10,000 D 
M A 

$1000/1 yr. D 

$300/90 da. D 

M A 

M D 

M D 

M D 



18.1-408.1 . . . . . . . .. . .. . . Possession of key to state build­
ing 

18.1-409 . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Stamping unauthorized words 
on newspaper 

18.1-410 .................. Unauthorized use of club in-
signia 

18.1-412 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Summoning ambulance or fire-
arm without cause 

18.1-413 . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . Gypsies telling fortunes 

18.1-414 .................. Unlawful hypnotism 
18.1-415 .. ,. .............. Abandoning iceboxes or other 

containers 
18.1-415.1 .............. Sale of plastic bags without 

warning 
18.1-416 ... .............. Using x-ray in fitting footwear 
18.1-417 . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . Importing convicts 
18.1-417 .1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Disclosing information about 

telephone customers 
18.1-420 .................. Attempting to establish usurped 

government 
18.1-427 ... .............. Violating Uniform Flag Act 
19.1-60 .................... Officer's violation of extradition 

laws 
19.1-88 .. .. .. .. . . . .. .. . . ... Search without warrant 
19.1-159 . . ... . .. ... ... .. .. Failure of officer to summon 

grand jury 
Failure of grand juror to attend 

19.1-205 . . ..... ... .. ...... Failure of petit juror to attend 
19.1-266 . .... ...... ....... Refusal of witness to testify af-

ter grant of immunity 
19.1-293 .............. .. .. Petit larceny-2nd conviction 
19.1-146 .................. Failure to answer Magistrate's 

20-5 ························ 

20-10

20-21

20-28

summons 
Failure to take treatment for 

syphilis 
Falsifying pre-marital .syphilis 

test 
Failure of clerk to report unre­

turned licenses 
Celebrating marriage without Ii-

cense 
20-33 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Clerk wrongfully issuing mar­

riage license 
20-37.2 .................... Disruption of a marital relation-

ship 
20-40 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Incestuous marriage 
20-46 . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Marriage of habitual criminals 

and mental defectives 
20-47 ....... .............. Marriage of insane or feeble-

minded 
20-61 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Desertion and nonsupport 
20-88 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Nonsupport of children 
20-122 .................... Advertising offer to obtain di-

vorces 
21-118.4 .................. Ordinances of Sanitary Districts, 

violation 
21-223 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Sanitation districts law violation 
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$100-200 

M 

M 
$500 min./ 
1-6 mo.
M 

M 

M 
M 
$100/3 mo. 

M 

$1000/12 mo. 
M 

M 
M 

$20 
$5 
$5-50 

$500/6 mo. 
30 da.-1 yr. 

M 
$50-300/ 
10-90 da.

$20 

$500/1 yr. 

$500/1 yr. 

M 
$500/6 mo. 

$100/90 da. 

$500/6 ;mos. 
$500/12 mos. 
$500/12 mos. 
$100/300/ 
disbar. 

$50 
M 

D 

E 

D 

A 

D 
D 

D 

D 
D 
E 

D 

A 
A 

A 
A 

A 
E 
E 

B 
A 

A 

A 

B 

E 

A 

A 

A 
B 

B 

B 
A 
A 

E 

E 
A 



21-290

21-864

Sanitation districts law (non­
tidal waters) 

Drainage project; injury to con­
struction 

21-388 .................... Drainage project; failure of 
treasurer to make prompt pay­
ment 

22-77 . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . Improper issuance of warrants 
by school board 

22-115.35 ................ Wrongfully obtaining scholar-
ship funds 

22-212 . . . . . . .. . . .. . . . . . .. . Improper purchase of warrants 
by State officer 

22-213 . . .. . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . Conflict of interest by school 
teacher or officer 

22-215 . . .. . .. .. .. .. .... . .. Violation of school laws by 
teacher or officer 

22-220 .. .. . .. . .. . . .. . .. . .. Permitting nonresident child to
fail to attend school 

22-285.1 . .. . .. .. . . . .. .. .. . Speeding in driver-ed zone
22-250 . . .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Violation of vaccination law
22-275. 7 .. . . .. .. .. .. . .. .. Violation of compulsory at-

tendance law 
22-275.12 ........ :-: ...... Encouraging blind or deaf child 

to be absent 
22-275.18 .... .. .. .. . .. .. . Making false statement about 

age of child 
22-275.19 . .. .. .. . .. .. .. . . Inducing children to absent

themselves from school 
22-277 .. . .. .. . .. .. .. . .. . .. Improper use of student toll

ticket 
22-330.31 . . .. .. .. .. .. . .. . Operating unlicensed school

22-312 . .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Supt. receiving compensation
for distributing books 

23-9 .. .. . . .. .. . .. .. .. .. .. .. Conferring college degrees with­
out license 

28-128 . .. .. .. .. . .. .. . .. .. Speeding on property of VPI
24.1-104 . . .. .. .. .. . .. .. . . Tampering with casting vote

24.1-182 .................. Divulging information 
24.1-259 . .. .. .. .. .. .... .. Failing to file report 
24.1-265 . ................ Interfering with registrar 
24.1-266 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Wilful neglect of duty 
24.1-267 .. .. .. . .. . .. .. .. . No assistance by public in vot-

ing after certain area 

24.1-268 . .. .. . .. .. .. .. . . . Voting if not qualified 

24.1-269 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Carrying away a ballot 

24.1-271 . . .............. Interfering with choice of voter 

24.1-272 .................. Soliciting or giving bribes to in-
fluence 

24.1-275 .................. Voting machine keys in posses-
sion of unauthorized person 
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M A 

Fine twice the 
amount of 
damages A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

$5-50 E 

M A 

$75 E 
M A 

M A 

$10 E 

M A 

M A 

$5-50 E 
$100-500/ 
6 mo. A 

M A 

$100-1000 E 
$10/5-30 da. E 
M-Not exceeding
24 hours-
Note this is
automatic-
w/o trial A 

1 to 12 mos. A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 



24.1-276 . .. . .. . . .. .. .. . . .. Receiving compensation for de-
feat or election of candidate 

24.1-277 . ................ Not properly labeling writings 
24.1-280 ... ............... Blanket Violation 
26-13 . . . . .. .. . . .. . . . . . . . . . . Failure of fiduciary to answer 

summons 
27-62 ...................... Failure to comply with Article 

I, Chapter 6 
27-84 ...................... Failure to comply with Virginia 

Fire Hazards Law 
27-90 ., .................... Violation - liquified petroleum 

gases 
27-61 . . . . . . .. . .. . . . . . .. . .. Failure to comply with order 

under section. (Inspections) 
27-25.1 .. ................. Refusing to obey order of Fire 

Chief 
27-35 ...................... Failure of Fire Marshal to dis-

27-53
charge duty 

Owner of building violating §27-
51 

27-54.4 . . . . . . . .. .. . . . .. . . . . General provision for violation 
of Article when no other pen­
alty is provided 

27-61 ....... .............. Failure building owner to obey 
order Fire Chief 

27-15.1 . .................. Failure to obey Fire Chief at 
fire 

27-19 . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . .. Failure to obey Fire Chief at 
fire 

28.1-23 . . .. . . .. . . . . . . . . . .. Violation of Marine Resources 
regulations 

28.1-49.1 ... . .. .. . . . . . .. . Size of fish· that may be caught 
28.1-50 ... .. ............. Keeping more than two fish of 

certain size 
28.1-54 . . .. . . .. .. . . . . . . .. . . Concealing name of no. of ves­

sel: carrying patent tongs 
28.1-57 .. ................. Unlawful fishing by non-resi-

dents 
28.1-58 .. . . . . . . .. . . . . .. . . . Food fish not to be taken, 

bought or sold for meal & oil 
-Revocation of license on
boat or net

28.1-60 .................... Nonresidents generally 
28.1-64 ................... Penalty for violation of §§28.1-

61-28.1-63; forfeiture of vessel
28.1-65 ................... Nonresidents; closed season; 

forbidden nets 
28.1-71 .................... Prima facie evidence of trolling 

or trawling 
28.1-72 ... . ............ Failure to attach tag; permit-

ting removal 
28.1-77 ... . .. . . . .. . .. ... .. Duty to apply for new tag after 

loss 
28.1-79 ... ................ Fishing stakes; for identifica-

tion-failure to remove 
28.1-85.1 . .. . . . . . . . ...... Unlawful harvesting of oyster 

(28.1-85) 
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M 
M 

$500 

$5-$100 

12 mo./$500 
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$5-$100 

$10-$100 
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M 
M 

M 

M 

M 

M 
M 

M 

M 

M 

M 

M 

M 

M 
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A 
A 

E 

E 

A 

E 

E 

E 

E 

A -

E 

E 

E 

E 

D 
D 

D 

D 

D 

D 
D 

D 

D 

D 

D 

D 

D 

A 



28.i-95 .................... Violation of Provisions of Art. 2 
Collecting & failing to pay taxes 

-larceny
28.1-97 . .................. Permit to buy or carry seed oy-

sters 
28.1-99 .................... Taking seed oysters from the 

state 
28.1-105 .................. Larceny'Of oysters & shells 
28.1-119 .. ............... Tax on handling oysters 
28.1-120 .................. Taking oysters or clams 
28.1-122 . ................ Nonresidents not to take or 

plant oysters, etc. 
28.1-128 .................. Citizens not to be interested 

w /non residents 
28.1-124 .. ............... Oysters to be culled as taken 
28.1-186 .. ............... Oyster measures 
28.1-187 . ................ Theft of oysters, clams, f?hells, 

etc. 
28.1-141 .................. Oysters on crab dredging boat 
28.1-148 . ............... Use of rakes on ocean side of 

Eastern Shore 
28.1-160 .................. Illegal possession of oysters 
28.1-168 ................. Limiting the taking of crabs 
28.1-178 .................. Use of crab traps: violation of 

Chap. 6 
28.1-186 . ................ Failure to appear for trial 
28.1-187 .................. Violation of health provisions 
28.1-191 .................. Resisting officer 
28.1-192 . ............... Failure of officer to perform 

duty 
28.1-200 . ................ Destroying, removing, damaging 

or molesting property of Va. 
Marine Institute 

28.1-208 . ................ Potomac River Compact 

Title 29 [See 29-161, below] 
29-48 ...................... Game, fish & dogs: Penalty for 

violating laws 
29-49 . .. .. . .. . .. . .. .. .. .. . Trespass on licensed shooting

preserve 
29-75 Carrying & displaying licenses 

29-76 ...... ............... False statements, altering, bor-
rowing or lending license 

Hunting, fishing, trapping with­
out license 

29-77 ...................... Hunting, fishing, trapping when 
license revoked 

29-90 ...... ............... Violation of laws and regula-

29-101

tions applying to hunting wa­
ter fowl from blinds 

Dealing in furs, penalty for vi­
olations 

29-116 .................... Permits required, violations 

29-128 .................... Affixing special stamps to li-
censes 

29-129 .................... Violation of regulations of Game 
Commission 
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M A 

M A 

M D 

M D 

M A 

M D 

M D 

M D 

M D 

M D 

M D 

M A 

M D 

$10-$50 D 

M D 

M D 

M D 

M D 

M A 

M A 

M D 

M C 

M A 

$100/80 da. D 
$25-100/ 
60 da. D 

$10-200/ 
30 da. D 

$10-100 E 

$10-100 E 

$50-100 E 

$10-500/ 
12 mo. D 

$10-100/ 
6 mo. D 

$10-100 E 

$10-200/ 
30 da. D 

$10-100/ 
30 da. D 



29-140.1 ..... ...... ....... Hunting while under the influ-
ence 

29-144.2 . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . Killing deer or elk using lights, 
presumption 

29-144.4 .. ............... Using lights under other circum-
stances 

29-144.5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Prohibition by counties of hunt­
ing near roads 

29-147 . .... ............. Killing and capturing muskrats 

29-148 . .................. Unlawful taking, possession, 
selling of fish 

29-149 .................... Failure to release bass, perch, 
trout from traps 

29-151 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Duty to provide fish ladders at 
dams 

29-152 . . . . . . . . . .. . . ..... Fish wheels to be used only to 
restock ponds 

29-153 . .. ............. Prohibition on use of substances 
injurious to fish 

Same; use of explosives 

29-153 . .................. Reciprocal agreements w/other 
states-violation of joint reg­
ulations for common waters 

29-153.2 ... .............. Violation of Interstate Nontidal 
waters agreement 

29-154 ................... Violation of regulations relating 
to pheasants 

29-157 . . . . .. . . ......... .. Storage of game when sale pro-
hibited by law 

29-158.3 . .. . . ... .. . . .. . .. Sale, possession, importation. of 
live nutria 

29-161 . . ...... .. .... ... ... General Penalty-For violation 
of section in this title whe11 
penalty not otherwise specified 

29-161;1 . ................ T!apping, selling, purchasing 
migratory game birds 

29-162 . .... ............. Killing deer and elk illegally 
29-163 ................... Fishing in closed season or ex-

ceeding bag limit 
29-163.2 .. . .. ........ .... . Killing turkey out of season 
29-164 . . . . . .. . . . .. .. .. . .. Selling or buying game . 

29-165 ................. Hunting, fishing or trapping on 

29-165.1 ................ . 

lands of another without per­
mission 

Same; failing to identify one­
self to landowner at his re-
quest 

29-166 . ... .............. Hunting, fishing, trapping on 
posted property 

29-167 ..... ... ... ......... Removing posted signs or unau­
thorized posting 

29-171 .: .................. Violation of travel and water 
areas used for propagation 
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$25-250 E 
$50-250/ 
30-60 da. B 

$50-150/ 
30 da. C 
$10-200/ 
30 da. D 
$10-25/ 
30 da. D 
$10-200/ 
30 da. D 

$10-$100 E 

$1 per da. E 
$10-$200/ 
30 da. D 

$25-$250 E 
$200-$500/ 
90 da. B 

$10-$200/ 
30 da. C 

M A 

$25-$100 E 
$10-$200/ 
30 da. D 
$10-$200/ 
30 da. D 

$10-$200 
and/ or 30 da. D 

$500-$1000 / 
12 mo. A 

$25-$250 E 

$25-$250 E 
$200-$500 E 
$25-$250/ 
30 da. D 

$5-$250/ 
30 da. D 

$10-$100/ 
30 da. D 
$5-250 
30 da. D 

$10-250 E 

$25-100/ 
60 da. D 



29-172 .................... Unlawful hunting devices to be 
destroyed, penalty 

Traps, nets ................................... . 
Guns ............................................... . 

29-178 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. Officer failing to perform duty 
29-182 . . ................ If a person is convicted a 2nd 

time of any offense in this ti­
tle, then he must give bond in 
amount not less than $100, 
with surety, or go to jail for 
30 days unless he sooner gives 
bond. 

29-194 .................... Counties may prohibit dogs 
from.running at large 

29-201 ....... ............ Other unlawful acts relating to 
dogs 

29-213 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Penalties for violation of dog 
law, Chap. 9 

Penalties ranging up to 
for certain offenses 

Making false claim under §29-
202 

Any other violation of Chap. 9 
for which there is is no specific 
penalty 

30-28.8 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Violation of lobbying laws 
30-44 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Contempt of Committee on of­

fenses against Justice 
32-15 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Viol. of Rule of Board of Health 

(State Board) 
32-39 .... ................. Viol. of Rule or Reg. of local 

Board of Health 
32-48 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Reports by physicians on infec­

tious or contagious diseases 
32-49 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Reports by persons other than 

physicians. 
Re: Diseases 

32-50 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Infected persons excluded from 
public places 

32-51 ...... ............... Persons exposed to infection not 
to come into or haul in State 

32-53 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Procedure for removal of cases 
of communicable diseases 

82-57 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Penalty for viol. vaccination 
regulations 

32-59 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Public drinking cups 

32-60 ...................... Towels for Common Use Pro-
hibited 

32-62 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Regs. and supervision of public 
laundries 

32-63 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Service stations and other es­
tablishments 

32-63.1 . . . . . . .. .. . ....... Marinas and regulations 
32-68 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . -Penalty for viol. as to privies or. 

closets 
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$25-250, forf. 
$10-100 
$10-100 

30 da. 

$5-25 
$10-200/ 
80 da. 

$100/ 
$100/ 8 mos. 

$10-200/ 
30 days 
$5-500/12 mos. 

$1000/1 yr, 

M $1000/12 ·mos. 
1st $10-$50 
2nd $25-$100 · 

$1-$5 

$5-$50 ea. offense 

$10-$200 or 
both/3 mos. 

.$25-$200/ 
both 6 mos. 

$5-$50 

$100/6 mos. 
$1-10; each day 
new offense 

$5-$50 
$50-$100; 
each offense 

$10-$100 
M 
$5-$25; each 
weeks failure to 
comply, new 
offense 

E 
E 

C 

E 

D 

E 
D 

D 
A 

A 

A 
E 
D 

E 

E 

D 

D 

E 

D 

E 

E 

E 

E 
A 

E 



- 32-69 . .. . . .. . . .. . ... .. . . . .. Expectorating in public places

32-70 ...................... Burial or cremation of animals 

or fowl 
32-70.1 . .. . . ....... ....... Leaving disabled or dead animal 

in road 
32-73 ...................... Extent of regs.-notices, viola-

tions 
32-76 ................ : ..... Masters to deliver bills of 

health 
32-78 ...................... Quarantine of travelers by land 

32-83 Penalty for viol. of quarantine 
regs. 

32-85.4 .. ............... : . Failure to comply with order of 
quarantine (T.B.) 

32-86 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . .. Apartments of consumptives to 
· be disinfected

32-87 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . Letting apt. previously occupied 
consumptives 

32-88 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. Examination and treatment of 
persons in institutions 

32-89 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. Segregation of persons in insti­
tutions 

32-�5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . Failure or refusal to take or 
continue treatment 

32-99 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Spreading venereal disease 

32-102 . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Violations of article 
( General Article) 

32-103 . .. . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . Venereal disease, etc., advertise­
ments 

32-104.4 . ................ Examination and treatment of 
venereal disease by midwife, 
etc. 

32-111 . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Ophthalmia N eonatorum, failure 
to give 

32-116 ... ................ Penalty, Mercurial Carroting 
Solutions 

32-129 ...... ............. Interstate passenger trains, sec-
ondhand upholstered furn. 

32-158 .. . .. ........... .. . Penalty for operating maternity 
hospital without license 

32-167.5 .. ............... Practice midwifery without per-
mit 

32-195.18 .. ............. Violation Chapter 11 Hospitali-
zation Plans 

32-195.34 . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . Violation Chapter 11.1 (Dental 
Service Corporations) 

32-195.49 .. ..... ......... Optometric Service Corp. (Vio-
lation Chapter 11.2) 

32-310 ....... , ............ Operating hospital without a li-
cense 

32-310.7 .................. Duty of reg. owner of vehicle; 
rescue squads, etc. 
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$1-$5 and/or 5 
days jail D 

$20; each offense E 

$500 E 

$5-$500 E 

$500 max. E 

$100 
( exactly this) E 

$100 max./ 
6 mos./both D 
12 mos./Va. 
State Farm or Va. 
Indus. Farm A 

$25 max. fine/ 
each offense E 
$50 fine max./ 
each offense E 
$25 max./ 
each offense E 
$50 max./ 
each off�nse E 
$100 max./ 
60 days D 

$100 max./ 
6 mos. D 
$100 max./ 
60 days, either 
or both D 

$10-$100 E 

M D 

$10-$50 fine E 

$25-$500 E 
$25-$100/ 
6 mos. D 

$500-$1000 D 

M D 

$1000 D 

$1000 D 

$1000 D 

$25-$500 /12 mos. A 

M D 



32-358.81 .. . .... .. . . . .. .. Penalty for viol: of vital statis­
tics law; intent to deceive, etc. 

32-858.81 ................ Penalty for viol. Sec. (b) (3) of 
above 

82-361 . .. . . . . . . .. .. . . .. . . . Trafficking in dead bodies 
32-364 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Gen. penalty for viol. of Dead 

Body statutes 
82-390 .. . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . .. Health and Cancer sections 
32-410 . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . ... Viol. of regs. about plumbing 
32-414.18 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Penalties about Radiation Con-

trol 
32-422 . . . .. . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . Viol. of regs. on Migrant Labor 

Camps 
83.1-345 . . .. . . . . . .. . . . . . . . Injuring highways 
33.1-346 ........... ; ...... Dumping trash 
33.1-347 .................. Creating fire hazard to public 

bridge 
33.1-349 .................. Shooting along road 

33.1-350 . . .. . .. .. . . . . . . . . . Throwing certain substances on 
road 

33.1-380 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. Penalty violation of section 
34-32 . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . .. . . Illegal garnishment 
35-3 .. . . . ... . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Posting warnings and directions 

as to use of oxygen consuming 
fuels 

35-7 . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Punishment for obstructing in­
spector; hotel, rest. 

35-21 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Viol. of hotel; rest. & Comp. 
statutes and regs. 

35-41 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . .. . Viol. of rest. & eating places, 
laws & regs. 

35-42.8 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . Viol. of Hotel law about imita­
tion cream 

35-53 ... ... .. .. . . ....... ... Operate Summer Camp without 
permit 

35-55 . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . .. . . Tourist Camp-must be kept in 
clean, safe & sanitary condi­
tion 

35-58 .. ... . . .. .. . . .. .. . . . . . Permanent Register to be kept 
at Tourist Camp 

35-60 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . Use of false or fictitious names 
in hotels registers 

35-63 .. . . . ... . . . . . . . . .. .. .... Viol. of Regs. for trailer camps 
35-64.6 .. .. . . . . . .. .. ... . .. . Viol. of article or ordinances 

about trailer camps 

35-77 ...................... Viol. of provisions of article or 
rules of Bd. of Health 

37.1-155 .................. Penalty for one abusing mental 
patients 

87.1-189 .................. Operating mental hospital with-
out license 
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$1000/12 mos. 

$25-$1000/ 
30 days 
$200 or 12 mos. 

$100-$500 
M 
M 
$500/12 mos. 

M/each day 
a new viol. 
M 
M 

M 
Not less than 
$5 

M 
$10 
$10�100 

$10-$100 

$100 

$10-$100 
$10-$100/ 
each day 
separate offense 

M 
$10-$100 each 
da. after convic­
tion is separate 
offense 

M 

M 

M 

$50-$500 

$50-$500 

$10-$100 

$1000 / 12 mos. 

$500; each day or 
part is sepa�ate 
offense 

A 

C 
A 

E 
D 
D 
A 

A 
A 
A 

D 

E 

A 
.E 
E 

E 

E 

E 

E 

D 

E 

A 

A 

A 

E 

E 

E 

A 

E 



38.1-38 ... ................ Removal or transfer of company. 
property; reinsurance of busi­
ness 

38.1-281 . . . . . .. .. . . . . . . .. Acting as agent for unlicensed 
company 

38.1-548 ........ .......... Fraudulently procuring policy 
38.1-638.10 . .. .. . . . .. .. Fraudulently making applica­

tion to fraternal benefit soci­
ety. 

Assisting procurement of mem­
bership in unlicensed fraternal 
benefit society 

38.1-36 .. . . . . . ....... .... .. Violations §§38.1-33 or 38.1-34 
(Interests of Officers) 

38.1-40 .................... Violations under title having no 
other penalty 

39.1-18 ................... J.P. receiving claims for collec-
tion 

40.1-20 .. . . .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Employment Agency Violations 
40.1-28 . . .. . .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Employer Requiring Employee 

to pay cost of medical exami­
nation 

40.1-27 .. . .. .. .... .. ....... Employer interfering with sub­
sequent employment 

40.l-29(d) .............. Failure to pay employees 
40.1-30 . ............ ...... Failure nonresident employer to 

register 
40.1-34 .. .. . . .. .. .. . .. .. . Failure to provide suitable rest­

rooms for employees 
40.1-38 .. . . .. . .. .. .. .. .. . Failure to comply with hour 

regulations 
40.l-48(c) .............. Violation safety rules 
40.1-48(d) .............. Keep job site ordered closed 

open 
40.1-49 ( 4) .............. Violation machinery safety rules 
40.1-53 .. ... , ............. Interfering with right to work 
40.1-54 ...... ·............. Paying to place persons on ve-

hicles passing through · Com­
monwealth 

40.1-54.2 .. .. .. .. .. . .. .. . Strike at a hospital 

40.1-69 .................... Violation Right to Work law 

40.1-113 ........ , ......... Child Employment violation 

40.1-77 .. .. ...... .... . ..... Failure to register under 40.1-76 

40.1-103 .. . . .. .. . .. .. .. .. Cruelty and injuries to children 
by person employing 

42.1-72 .. . ......... .... ... Destroying library property 

42.1-73 ... .. .. ..... ... .. .. Larceny of library property 

42.1-74 .................... Failure to return library prop-
erty 

43-13 .. .. .... .. .. .. .. .. . .. .. Fraud by contractor 

45.1-25 .. .. ...... .......... Operating c o m  m e r  c i a 1 mine 
without license 

45.1-30 . .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. . Allowing person to work in 
mine 
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$100-$1,000/ 
1 yr. D 

$5-$1000/ 
1 yr. D 

M D 

$100-$500/ 
30 days D 

$50-$200 E 

$5-$1000/ 
1 yr. D 

$5-$1000 D 

M D 

$1,000/1 yr. A 

$100 E 

$100-$500 E 

M A 

$100-$500 E 

$25 E 

$25-$100 E 
$50-$500 E 

$1,000-$2,000 D 
$25-$100 day E 

M A 

$100-$1000 D 

M A 

$500 day E 

$25-$500/ 
30-90 days C 

$50-$500 E 

M A 

$5-1000/12 mos. A 

$5000/1 yr. A 

M D 

$500-2000/ 
30 da.-12 mo. A 

$25-$200 E 

$25-$200/ 
10-90 da. B 



45.1-33 . . . .. . .. . ... . ..... .. Violation of rules, regulations 
and orders of Div. of Mines re­
lating to protection of life or 
property 

45.1-105 . .. .. ... .... ..... Penalties 
(a) Required data, incorrect or

false
(b) Violation by any person,

wilfully of any provision of
Chapter 1-14 unless differ­
ent penalty expressed there­
in

45.1-143 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Violations of §§45.1-106-45.1-
144-A misdemeanor which
"shall be punished accord­
ingly". (Read in context of
title, seems to indicate Regu­
lar M penalty rather than that
of 45.1-105)

45.1-191 ................. Violation of provisions .of Chap. 
16, ·relating to reclamation of 
certain mined lands 

45.1-214 · . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . Violation of certain orders & 
. requirements relating to rec­

lamation of strip mines 
45.1-48 . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . Solid shooting in mine in viola­

tion of mine inspector's condi­
tion 

45.1-173 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Strip mining 
46.1-5 . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . Purchasing motor vehicle from 

vendor knowing vendor is 
without title 

46.1-7 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Failure to carry license or reg­
istration card 

46.1-14 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Records required of persons 
renting motor vehicles; in­
spection 

46.1-15.2 ................ Knowingly changing or tamper-
ing with odometer 

46.1-16 .................... General statute setting forth 
penalties for misdemeanors 

46.1-26 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Violating rules and regulations 
of Commissioner 
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$25-$200/ 
10-90 da.

$50-$200 

$25-$500/ 
10 da.-1 yr. 

M 

M 

$1000/1 yr. 

$25-$500/ 
10 da.-1 yr. 
$1000/1 yr. 
lst-$10-$100/ 

1-10 days
2nd-$20-$200 I

1-20 days
3rd-$50-$500 / 

10 days-6 mos. 

$1-$10 
lst-$10-$1000/ 

1-10 days
2nd-$20-$200 I

1-20 days
3rd-$50-$500/ 

10 days-6 mos. 
lst-$500/6 mos. 
2nd-$1,000/l yr. 
lst-$10-$1000 / 

1-10 days
2nd-$20-$200 I

1-20 days
3rd-$50-$500 / 

· 10 days-6 mos.
lst-$10-$100/ 

1-10 days
2nd-$20-$200 / 

1-20 days
3rd-$50-$500/ 

10 days-6 mos. 

B 

E 

A 

A 

A 

A 

A 

A 

46.1-16 

E 

46.1-16 
B 
A 

E 

D 

B 

46.1-16 



46.1-38 . . . . . . . . ..... .. . . . DMV police officer accepting fee 
46.1-62 . . . . . . ... . .. .. .. . .. Failure to surrender revoked 

card or plates 
46.1-64 .. . . . . . .. . . . . . . .. . . . Operating motor vehicle not 

registered, or in fictitious 
name 

46.1-64.1 ... ............ Unlawful to sell undisclosed 
taxicab or water damaged ve­
hicle 

46.1-65 . . ................ Unlawful to display expired li-
cense plate 

46.1-76 ... ................ Failure to surrender title when 
security interest paid 

46.1-77 ..... ............... Fraudulent assignment a f t  e r
levy and seizure 

46.1-80 .. . .. . .. .. .. .. .. .. . Illegally possessing title as­
signed to another 

46.1-82 .................... Removing, alteringt etc., serial 
or I.D. numbers 

46.1-83 . .... ............. Knowingly possess motor vehi-
cle with serial or I.D. numbers 
removed or altered 

46.1-88 . . . . . .. .. . . .. .. . . .. . Sale of motor vehicle without 
certificate of title 

46.1-89.1 . . . . ......... .. Unlawful to knowingly record 
incorrect odometer reading 

46.1-90.1 . . .. .. . . .. ... .. . Providing for temporary certifi­
cate of ownership 

46.1-98.1 . . . .. .. .. .. . . . . Surrender certificate of title for 
demolished motor vehicle 

46.1-116 .................. Use of dealers tags 
46.1-130 .................. Temporary license plates laws: 

( 46.1-121-46.1-129) 
46.1-138 . .. . . . . ... .. . . . .. Operating vehicle on foreign 

dealer's license 
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up to $100 E 
$100-$500/ 
30 days D 
lst-$10-$100 / 

1-10 days
2nd-$20-$200/ 

1-20 days
3rd-$50-$500 / 

10 days-6 mos. 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 

$20.00 E 
lst-$10-$100 / 

1-10 days
2nd-$20-$200/ 

1-20 days
3rd-$50-$500 / 

10 days-6 mos. A 
$25-$500/ 
10 days-6 mos. B 

lst-$10-$100 / 
1-10 days

2nd-$20-$200 / 
1-2o·days

3rd-$50-$500 / 
10 days-6 mos. 46.1-16 

same as above A 

same as above A 
lst-$10-$100 / 

1-10 days
2nd-$20-$200 / 

1-20 days
3rd-$50-$500 / 

10 days-6 mos. A 

$500/6 mos. A 

$25-$100 E 
lst-$10-$100 / 

1-10 days
2nd-$20-$200 / 

1-20 days
3rd-$50-$500 / 

10 days-6 mos. 46.1-16 
$25-$100 E 

·$500/12 mos. A 

lst-$10-$100 /
1-10 days

2nd-$20-$200 / 
1-20 days

3rd-$50-$500 / 
10 days-6 mos. 46.1-16 



46.1-152 ... .. .. .. . . . . . ... . Failure to pay fees of 46.1-149 
46.1-159 ... : .............. Operate vehicle without paying 

registration fee 

46.1-160 .................. Operating vehicle for hire with-
out paying fee 

46.1-167.2 .............. Failure to have rental vehicle 

46.1-167.3 
inspected 

Operating uninsured motor ve� 
hicle without paying $50.00 
($100.00) fee 

46.1-167.3 .............. Presenting fake certificate of 

46.1-167.5 

46.1-169.1 

insurance 

Failing to return suspended li­
cense to Commissioner 

Operating yellow bus unless 
used in transportation of 
school children 

46.1-169.2 .............. Improper routing of school 
buses 

46.1-170 .................. Person under eighteen operat-
ing public passenger vehicle 

46.1-171.1 .............. Violating prohibition of State 
Highway Commission on in­
terstate highways 

46.1-172 .................. Failing to use safety equipment 
on motorcycles 

46.1-172.01 Operating trail riding motorcy-
cle without equipment 

46.1-172.1 ....... � ..... Riding in towed trailer 

46.1-173 .................. Failure of driver to obey high-
way signs 

46.1-174 .................. Display of highway signs by 
unauthorized person 

46.1-175 . ................ Injuring legally posted high-
way signs 

46.1-177 .................. Violating 46.1-176 "hit and 
run"-Property damage 

-Less than $25 damage
to unattended vehicle 

46.1-178 .................. Written promise to appear in 
misdemeanor case 

46.1-180.2 .............. Local traffic regulations 

46.1-182 .................. Neglect to pay traffic fine 
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$50-$500 / 6 mos. B 

$10-$500/6 mos. D 

$100 E 

M D 

lst-$10-$100 
1-10 days

2nd-$20-$200 / 
1-20 days

3rd-$50-$500 I
10 days-6 mos. B 

same as above B 

same as above 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 

M D 

same as above 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 

M D 

lst-$10-$100 / 
1-10 days

2nd-$20-$200 / 
1-20 days 

3rd-$50-$500/ 
10 days-6 mos. 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 

same as abov.e 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 

M A 

$50 E 

lst-$10-$100/ 
1-10 days

2nd-$20-$200 / 
1-20 days

3rd-$50-$500/ 
10 days-6 mos. B 

$25.00 E 

$10-$50 C 



46.1-191.1 .............. One who aids or abets a JnOtor 
vehicle race 

46.1-192 . . . . . . ....... .... Reckless driving offenses 
(46.1-189, 190, 191) 

46.1-192.1 .............. Disregarding signal to stop by 
police officer 

46.1-192.2 . . .. . . . . . . . . . . Improper driving 
46.1-193 . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . Violating speed limit 

46.1-196 .................. Violating speed limit on bridges 
46.1-198.1 . . . . . ... . . . .. . Prohibiting devices used to de-

tect radar 
46.1-200 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. Traveling downgrade with vehi­

cle in neutral 

46.1-201 . . . . .. . . . . . . .. . . . . Driving more than 13 hours 
46.1-202 . . ......... ...... Equipping motor vehicle with 

television in view of operator 
46.1-203 . . . . . . . .. . .. . . . . . . Failure to drive on right side of 

highway 
46.1-204 . ................ Violating one-way signs and 

traffic islands 
46.1-205 . . . . ... .... ...... Failing to keep to right of in-

tersection 
46.1-206 . ................ Obeying traffic lanes 
46.1-207 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Driver must keep to right in 

passing oncoming vehicles 
46.1-208 . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . .. Driver overtaking shall pass at 

least two feet to left 
46.1-209 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Driver shall sound horn when 

safety requires 
46.1-211 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Driver to give way to overtak­

ing vehicle 
46.1-212 . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . Driver overtaking must keep to 

right of center; exception 
46.1-213 .. , ............... Following too closely 

46.1-214 ................. No U turns 

46.1-215 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Required road positions for mak­
ing turns 

46.1-216 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Failure to give signals 

46.1-218 . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . Changing course after giving 
signal 

46.1-2�3 . . . . .. .. . . . . . .. . .. Yield right of way 

46.1-225 . . .. .. . . . . . . . . . . . . Yield right of way to emergency 
vehicles 
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lst-$10-$100/ 
1-10 days E 

2nd-$20-$200 I 
1-20 days C 

3rd-$50-$500/ 
10 days-6 mos. B 

lst-M B 

2nd-$100-$1,000 I 
10 days/12 mos. A

$50-$1,000/ 
60 days-1 yr. A 

$500 E 

lst-$10-$100 / 
1-10 days

2nd-$20-$200 / 
1-20 days

3rd-$50-$500/ 
10 days-6 mos. 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 

$25-$100/10 days D 

lst-$10-$100/ 
1-10 days

2nd-$20-$200 I 
1-20 days

3rd-$50.;$500 / 
10 days-6 mos. 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 
same as above 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 
same as above 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 

· same as above 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 



46.1-227 . ....... ....... .. Following fire trucks or park-
ing at hydrant 

46.1-228 .......... .. . . . . .. Driving over unprotected fire 
hose 

46.1-229 . . .... .. .. . . . . . . . Driving on l?idewalk 
46.1-234 .................. No hitchhiking 

46.1-234.1 . .. .. ... . . .. .. Loitering on bridges 

46.1-236 .................. Violating 46.1-230 thru 46.1-235 
46.1-239 .. . . .. .. ... .. .. .. . Failure to stop at intersection 

when blind person crossing; 
faking blindness 

46.1-241 .................. Violating local ordinance 
46.1-254 . .. . ............. Parking on highway for com-

mercial purpose 

46.1-264.1 .... .. . . . . .. .. Failure to display slow-moving 
vehicle emblem 

46.1-267 .. . .. .... .. . . .. . . . Lighting on vehicles 
46.1-281.1 .. .. .. . . .. . . . . Selling or distributing brake 

fluid; not meeting require­
ments 

46.1-287 .. .. .. .. .. . . .. . .. . Warning equipment on school 
bus 

46.1-293.1 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Unlawful to operate vehicle 
without windshield 

46.1-295.2 .. .. .. .. .. . . .. Regrooved or recut tires 

46.1-296.1 .. ... . . . .. .. .. Sale of tires with cleats 

46.1-315 .................. Inspection requirements 

46.1-324 .. .. . .. .. .. .. .. .. . Violation of inspection under 
Article 10, Chapter 4 
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same as above 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 

$5-$25 E 

lst-$10-$100 I 
1-10 days

2nd-$20-$200 / 
1-20 days

3rd-$50-$500 / 
10 days-6 mos. 46.1-16 

lst-$10-$100/ 
1-10 days

2nd-$20-$200 / 
1-20 days

3rd-$50-$500 / 
10 days-6 mos. 46.1-16 

$2-$25 E 

$25/10 days D 

$5 E 

lst-$10-$100 / 
1-10 days 46.1-16 

2nd-$20-$200 / 
1-20 days 46.1-16 

3rd-$50-$500/ 
10 days-6 mos. 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 
same as above 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 

$5-$25 E 

lst-$10-$100 / 
1-10 days 46.1-16 

2nd-$20-$200 / 
1-20 days 46.1-16 

3rd-$50-$500/ 
10 days-6 mos. 46.1-16 

lst-$10-$100 / 
1-10 days

2nd-$20-$200/ 
1-20 days

3rd-$50-$500/ 
10 days-6 mos. 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 

lst-$10-$100 / 
1-10 days

2nd-$20-$200/ 
1-20 days

3rd-$50-$500 / 
10 days-6 mos. 46.1-16 

lst-$25-$500 E 

2nd-$100-$1,000 D 



46.1-325 . . .. ........... .. Illegal use of inspection stickers 

46.1-329 . . . .. . . .. .. .. .. . .. Failure to report collision with 

46.1-341 .................. Violatio·ns .of 46.1-339, 46.1-340 
46.1-343 . . .. . .. . . .. . . . . .. Violating terms of excessive 

weight or size permit 
46.1-343.1 .. .. . . . . . . . . .. Violating terms of special per­

mit 
46.1-345 .. .. .. . ... .. . . . . .. Reduction of limits by Highway 

Commission, etc.-violation 
46.1-347 .................. Failing to have vehicle weighed 

at station 
. 46.1-349 . . . . .. . . .. .. .. .. Driving without license 

46.1-350 .. .. .. . ... . .... .. . Driving while license suspended 

46.1-351 . .. ...... ......... Driving while restoration con­
tingent upon filing proof of 
financial responsibility 

46.1-373 ................. Operating motor vehicle for 
which license not endorsed 

46.1-378 .. ............... Operating motor vehicle in vio-
lation of restrictions 

46.1-383 .................. Knowingly giving false answer 
as to physical condition 

46.1-385 .. .... ............ False information on driver's 
application 

46.1-387 . . .......... .... Violation of Chapter 5, Title 
46.1, not otherwise provided 

46.1-398 . .. .. .. . .. .. .. .. .. General provision v i o l a t i o n 
Chapter 6 (Motor Vehicle 
Safety Responsibility Act) 

46.1-399 .. ............... Failure to give notice of acci-
dent causing death or injury 

46.1-400 . ................ Failure to make written report 
of certain accidents 

46.1-402 .. . . . .. .. .. .. .. .. . Failure of occupant to report 
certain accidents 

46.1-405 . .. .. . .. .. .. .. .. .. Failure to report an accident 

46.1-416 .................. Failure to send DMV record of 
conviction or judgment 

46.1-423.1 .............. Fourth conviction 
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lst-$25-$500 E 

2nd-$100-$1,000 D 

lst-$10-$100 / 
1-10 days 46.1-16 

2nd-$20-$200 I 
1-20 days 46.1-16 

3rd-$50-$500 / 
10 days-6 mos. 46.1-16 

Same as above 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 
$10-$500/1 day-
6 mos D 

$10-$100 E 

lst-$500/6 mos . D 

2nd-$100-$500/ 
10 days-6 mos. B 

lst-$100-$200 / 
10 days-6 mos. B 

2nd-$200-$1,000/ 
2 mos.-1 yr. A 

lst-$100-$500 / 
10 days-6 ·mos. B 

2nd-$200-$1,000 / 
2 mos.-1 yr. A

$500/6 mos. D 

$500/6 mos. D 

$500/6 mos. D 

$500/6 mos. B 

$500/6 mos. B 

$50-$1,000/ 
90 days B 
lst-$10-$100/ 

1-10 days C 
2nd-$20-$200 I 

1-20 days A 

3rd-$50-$500/ 
10 days-6 mos. A 

same as above 46.1-16 

same as above 46.1-16 

$50-$1,000/ 
90 days B 

$10-$50 E 

$100-$1,000/ 
3 mos.-1 yr. A 



46.1-495 . . . . ... . . . . .. ... .. Driving while registration de­
pendent on proof of financial 
responsibility 

46.1-496 .. .. .... .. .. .. .. .. Forging evidence of ability to

respond in damages 
46.1-522 .. .. .. .. . .. .... .. . Virginia Motor Vehicle Dealer 

Licensing Act-violation 
48-5 .. .. .. .... ... .. .. . .. .. .. Creation of public nuisance 
48-11 .. .. .... . .. .. .. .. .. .. . Contempt of injunction against 

house of prostitution 
49-10 . .... .. .. .. .. . . .. .. . Officer requiring witness to kiss 

Bible 
49-12 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Failure of clerk to file copy of

bond 
50-77 ...................... Violation of partnership certifi-

cate laws 
51-111.14 .. .. .... .. .. .. False statement to Supp. Re­

tirement System 
52-9.2 ...................... Wearing uniform identical to 

State Police 
52-10 .. .. .. .. .. . .. .. ... .. .. Acceptance of fee for arrest
53-74 ...................... Sale of goods manufactured by 

out of state convicts 
53-95 .. . .. .. .. .. .. .. .. . .. .. Escape of misdemeanants
53-115 .. . . .. .. .. . .. .. .. .. Escape of jail prisoners
58-150 . .................. Unauthorized communication 
58-161 .................... Jailer's failure of duty 
58-166 . . .. .. . .. .. .. .. .. . .. Sheriff's interest in property

where prison work performed 
54-1.2 ...................... Obtaining license by fraud 

54-89 ...................... Unlicensed architect, engineer, 
land surveyor 

54-44 .. .. . .. .. .. .. .. .. .. ... Practicing law without license
54-44.1 .................... Debt pooling plan 
54-52.1 .. .. .. . .. .. .. . .. ... . Operating legal aid
54-82 . .. . .. .. .. .. .. . .. .. . .. "Running or capping"
54-88.1 :8 .. . .. .. .. .. .. .. Attorney solicitation
54-83.1 :24 .. .. .. .. .. . ... Audiologist licensing
54-83.20 . .. .. .. .. .. . .. . .. . Barbering without license
54-100 . .. .. .. .. .. .. . .. .. .. Accounting without license
54-102.10 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Practicing psychology without

license 
54-112.24 .. .. .. .. .. .. . .. . Professional hairdressing with­

out a license 
54-142 . . .. .. .. .. .. .. .. . .. Unlicensed contractor
54-188 .................... Issuing building permit to unli-

censed contractor 
54-145.19 .. ............. Drivers Training School viola-

tion 
54-147.1 . ............... Dentist operating in mercantile 

establishment 
54-147.2 .................. Prosthetic denture violations 
54-182 . .. . .. . .. .. .. .. .. .. . Improper issuance of license
54-185 .. .. . .. . . .. .. .. .. .. Practicing dentistry as. a corpo-

ration 
54-195 ...................... Practicing dentistry without a 

license 
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$50-$500/2 days-

6 mos. B 

$1,000/80 days C 

$500/6 mos. B 

$5000 D 
$100-1000/ 
8-6 mos. B 

$100 E 

$10 E 

$1000/1 yr. A 

M A 

M A 

$100 E 

$500/1 yr. A 

M A 

30 days-12 mos. A 
$5-$50 E 
$50 E 

M A 
$50-$100/ 
30 days C 

M A 
M A 
M A 

$1,000/1 yr. A 
M A 
M A 
$500/6 mos. F 
M F 
$500/6 mos. B 

$500/6 mos. B 

M A 
M A 

··M A 

$100/80 days C 

M A 

M A 

$25-$150 E 

$600 D 
lst-$100-$500 E 
2nd-3-12 mos. A 



54-196 .................... Failure of dentist to fumish 

names of persons practicing 
in office 

54-197 . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . .. . Failure to post dental license 
54-198 . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . Allowing unlicensed person to 

practice dentistry 
54-199 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Fraudulently .obtaining dental 

license 
54-200.20 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Practicing dental hygiene with­

out license 
54-200.21 .. .. .. .......... Failure to give location of hy-

gienist 
54-215 . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . Operating dry cleaning estab-

lishment without license 
54-260. 75 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Violation funeral director laws 
54-276.8 . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . Violation Medical Practice Act 
54-276.10 ·................ Physician must report :firearm 

wounds 
54-278 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . Physician fee splitting 
54-278.1 . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . Physician practicing in mercan­

tile establishment 
54-315 .................... Registration provisions of Medi-

cal Practice Act 
54-315.1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . Failure of physician to register 

annually 
54-315.4 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . General penalty provision 
54-322 . . . . . .. . . . . .. . . . . . . . Practicing medicine without a 

license 
54-'367.35 ................ Practicing nursing without a li-

cense & nursing violations 
54-396 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Practicing optometry without a 

license 
54-397.1 ... .............. Optometrist practicing in mer-

cantile establishment 
54-398.26 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Practicing as an optician with-

out a license 
54-466 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . General penalty provision 
54-466.11 . .............. Drug Abuse Control Act 
54-455 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Manufacture of drugs without 

permit 
54-456.1 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Fraudulent use of trademarks 
54-474 .................. Manufacture or sale of adulte-

rated drug 
54-486 . . . . . . . . .. . . .. . . .. .. Sale of improperly labeled poi­

son 
54-516 .................... General penalty provision; :fill-

ing of prescription by apothe­
cary 

54-520 . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . Sale by medicine show 
54-521 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . Showing sample packages of 

medicine in yard, etc. 
54-524.107:1 .......... Witnesses not excused because 

of self-incrimination 
54-524.109 :3 .......... Failure to keep record of drug 

paraphernalia sale 
54-524.109 :4 . . . . . . . .. . Failure to exercise reasonable 

care in storing drug parapher­
nalia 
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$25 

$50 

$300 

$500/6 mos. 

$500/3-12 mos. 

$25-$100 

$100 
$1000/1 yr. 
M 

M 
M 

M 

$50 

$25-$50 
$25-$50 

$500/12 mos. 

M 
$25-$500/30 
days-6 mos. 

M 

M 
$500/6 mos. 
$1,000/1 yr, 

$50-$500 
$500/6 mos. 

$20-$100/6 mos. 

M 

$100 
$100/1 yr, 

$5-$50 

$500/6 mos. 

M 

$500 

E 

E 

E 

B 

A 

E 

E 

A 

A 

A 

A 

A 

E 

E 

E 

A 

A 

B 

A 

A 

B 

A 

E 

B 

B 

A 

E 

A 

E 

B 

A 

E 



54-524.109:5 .......... Attempting to or obtaining drug 
paraphernalia by fraud 

54-524.101:1 .......... (c) Pharmacist failing to get 
written prescription for con­
trolled substance 

(d) Manufacture, sell, etc. drugs
in Schedules IV, V or VI

54-524.101 :2 ... .. .. . .. Possession controlled drugs in
Schedule III or marijuana 

54-524.104:1 .......... Attempting to commit misde-
meanor under Drug Control 
Act 

54-561 . .. .. ... . .. .. .. .. .. . Operating vessel after license
suspended 

54-571 .. .. .. ... .. .. . ... . .. Unlicensed person piloting ves­
sel to or from Virginia port 

54-729.017 .............. Polygraph examiner violations 

54-735 .................... Real estate broker & salesmen 
· licensing violations

54-775.1 .................. Unregistered social worker 
54-791 ................. : .. Practicing veterinary medicine 

without a license 
54-808 ....... � ............ Violation of auctioneer registra-

tion rules 
54-812 . . . . . . .. . .. . .. . . .. .. Filing fraudulent affidavit with 

application to sell goods at 
auction 

54-816 .................... Failure of itinerant vendor or 
auctioneer to comply with 54-
808 

54-824 .. .. .. .. .... .. .. .. .. Violation of auctioneer & itin-
erant vendor regulations 

54-827 ........... : ........ Unlicensed junk dealer 
54-832 .. .. . .. .. .. .. .. .. .. . Records of junk dealers
54-841 .... ........ ... .... Unlicensed pawnbroker 
54-853 ... ............ .... Pawnbrokers reports 
54-857 . .. .. . .. .. . . .. .. .. . . Pawnbroker violations
54-858 ..................... Violation of Chapter 23 by 

pawnbroker 
54-859.14 ................ Unregistered sanitarian 
54-524.131 ... . .. .. . . . .. . Violation hearing aid dealer &

:fitter provisions 
54-573.16 ................ Violation provisions of licensure 

of waste water works opera­
tors 

54-729.3 .................. Collection agency violations 
54-524.106 .............. Violation Drug Control . Act 

when no other penalty speci­
fied 

54-900 .................... Unlicensed nursing home admin-
istrator 

55-66.6 .. .. .. . .. .. .. .. .. .. . Failure of clerk to make mar­
ginal release 

55-79.28 .................. Violation of horizontal property 
laws 

55-17 4 .. .. .. .. . . .. .. . .... . Nonattendance of escheat juror 
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M A 

$100 E 

M A 

$1,000/12 mos. A 

$500/6 mos. B 
$100 bond or 
imprisonment 
until given E 

$200/3 mos. C 
$100-$500/12 
mos. A 

$500/6 mos. B 
$50-$500 E 

$50-$500 E 

M A 

$500 /$1,000 I
1 yr. A 
$200 in addition 
to M penalty 
in 54-808 E 

$25-$500 / 6 mos. B 
$50 day E 

M A 
$50 day E 

$10-$500 E 

lst-$25 E 

$100 E 

M A 

$600/90 days B 

M A 

M A 

$2,000/6 mos. B 

$1,000/90 days B 

$25-100 E 

$1000/1 yr. A 

$50 E 



55-190 . ... ... . . . . ... .. .. . . Escheators' failure of duty 
55-210.26(a) .......... Failure of duty under unclaimed 

property laws 
55-210.26(b) .......... Refusal to deliver abandoned 

property 
56-8.1 .. . . . .. . . . ... . . . . . . . .. Free service by public service 

corporation to member of 
General Assembly 

56-73 ...................... Unlawful issuance of bonds and 
stock certificates 

56-74 ...................... Statement or representation of 
State guarantee of stocks or 
bonds 

56-85 ...................... Unlawful conduct of public ser-
vice companies 

56-95 ...................... Public service company, unjust 
discrimination re: transporta­
tion company 

56-105 .................... Falsification of rates 
56-106 .. . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . Falsification to obtain less than 

regular rates 
56-113 .. . . . . .. . .. . ... . . .. . .Trackage rules 
59-130 .................... Railroad failure to make neces-

56-132
56-139

56-140

sary repairs 
Contracts of surety 
Failure to furnish report to 

Commission 
General penalty provision when 

penalties not otherwise pro­
vided 

56-291.8 .................. Violation taxi regulations 

66-304.ll(a) .......... Driving vehicle unidentified by 
sec 

(b) . . . .. . . . . . Displaying false registration 
56-329 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Disorderly conduct on motor 

carrier 

56-335(b) .............. Carrying for less than applica-
ble rate 

( c) . . . . .. . ... .. . . Falsifying reports 

56-408 .. .. .. . . . . . . .. .. .. .. Erecting sign similar to railway 
crossing sign 

56-413 .. .. . .. . .. ... . . . .. .. Failure of railway carriers to
use electric lights 

56-419 ... . . .. . . .. .. .. . . ... Transferring duplicate key to
railway switch 

56-201 .. .. .. . .. .. . .. . . .. .. Rates and reports (b)
(c.) 

56-454 .................... Disorderly conduct on steamboat 

56-457.8 .................. Sight-seeing carrier by boat 

56-468 ... .. .. .. .. .. .. .. . .. Endangering life and limb by
stringing telephone/telegraph 
wires 

66-483 ...... .......... .... Telegraph/telephone companies, 
failure to report to commis­
sioner 
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$200 E 

$100 per day E 

$100/1 mo. E 

$1,000 D 

M A 

M A 

M A 

$100-$500 E 
$100-$500 E 

$100-$500 E 

$100-$1,000 D 

$100-$1,000 D 
$100-$1,000 D 

$500 E 

$500 E 
lst-$100 E 
2nd-$500 D 
$10-$200 E 

$25-$500 E 

$5-$25 E 

lst-$500 E 
2nd-$2,000 D 
$100-$5,000 E 

$5-$100 E 

$25-$100 E 

M E 

$500 ·E
$100-$5,000 D

$5-$50/30 days C

M A

$100-$500 E 

$500 E 



56-517 . . . .. . . . . .. .. .. . .. .. Interference with or obstruction 
of Governor, State representa­
tive 

56-174 .................... Failure to give security 
57-35.10 .............. .-... Violation of Endowment Trust 

laws 
57-46 . ..... .. . ..... ... ..... Failure to keep solicitation rec­

ords 
58-27 . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. Filing false return 
58-44.1 ·....... .. . . . . . . . . . . . Corpor.ate and partnership of-

fices failure to pay tax 
58-46 . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. Secrecy of information 
58-151.074 .............. Willful failure to :file return 
58-151.039 .............. False corporate return 
58-151.12 . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . Employee supplying fraudulent 

withholding information . 

58-151.15 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Willful failure by employer to· 
make withholding return 

58-151.27 ................ Willful failure to :file estimated 
income tax return 

58-151.30 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Willful signing of false income 
tax return 

58-244 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Refusal to answer interroga­
tories 

58-250 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Failure to obtain license 
58-251 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . Beginning business without li­

cense 
58-281 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Showing a circus, etc., without 

license 
58-283 . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. Showing sideshow without li­

cense 
58-284 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Carnivals during fairs without 

license tax 
58-345 . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. Peddling without license 
58-353. . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. Violating peddlers licensing laws 
58-360 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. Failure to get license for slot 

machine 
58-369 . . ... . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Violation of vending machines 

tax law 
58-377.1 .................. Practicing palmistry without 

license 
58-384 . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . Emigrant agent without license 

58-389 .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . False statement by merchant on 
trains 

58-392 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. Pawnbroker without license 
58-396 . . .. . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . Failure to pay billiard tax 
58-441.16(e) .......... Engaging as dealer without li-

cense for sales tax purposes 

58-441.18 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Failure to collect or pay sales 
tax 

58-441.19 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Advertising absorption of sales 
tax 

58-441.29 . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . Failure to keep records 

58-441.35 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Bad checks 

58-441.39 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Fraudulent sales tax returns 
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$10-$1,000/ 

1 yr. A 

$1,000 D 

M A 

$500 E 

M A 

A 

$500/6 mos. B 

$1,000/1 yr, A 
$1,000/1 yr. A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

$50-$100 E 

$5-$1,000 D 

$5-$1,000 D 

$50-$500 E 

$50-$500 E 

$2,000 

firm D 

$50-$500 E 

$50-$250 E 

$50-$500 E 

M A 

$50-$500 E 

$100-$5,000/ 
1 yr. A 

$25-$500 E 

$50-$500 E 

$50-$100 A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M (not less than 
$25.00) A 

M A 



58-485 . . . . .. . . .. . . . .. .. ... Failure to pay bank tax 
58-498 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. . ... .. Failure company to pay tax
58-510 . .. .. .. .. .... .. .. .. . Commissioner of revenue failing 

to furnish boundaries of school 
districts 

58-514 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. . .. . Failure of public service corpo­
ration to report 

58-539 .. . .. .. .. . .. .. . .. . . . Corporation failing to pay rail-
way tax 

58-555 .. .. .. . .. .. .. . . .. . .. Failure of company to report
58-625 .................... Failure of carrier to report 
58-629.2 .................. False statements on motor fuel 

tax 
58-757.3 ....... .... . ...... Mailing invoices 
58-757.4 .................. Failure to permit examination 

of records 
58-757.5 .................. Failure to allow inspection of 

premises 
58-757.6 .................. Failure to preserve records 

58-757.7 .................. Failure to file report of pur-
chase of tobacco products 

58-932 .. .. .. . .. . .. .. .. .. .. Violation of chapter regarding
treasurers 

58-959 .. . .. .. . . .. . . . .. .. .. Failure to deliver tax tickets

58-960 .. . . .. . . . . . . .. . .. . .. Failure of treasurer to mail bills 
58-1000 . . . ....... .. . . . ... Omission of taxes from delin­

quent lists 
58-1046 .................. Redeeming delinquent land for 

more than tax 
58-691 .................... Delivering motor fuel from tank 

truck 
58-692 .. .. . .. . .. .. . .. . .. . . Violation tax chapter

58-700 .. . .. . .. . . . .. . . .. ... Conveying motor fuel without
license card 

58-756 .................... Violation chapter when no other 
provisions 

58-757.2 .................. Failure to affix stamp 

68-757.9 .................. Sale of unstamped products 

58-757 .13 .. . .. . .. .. .. .. .. Transporting without license
58-757.16 ................ Refilling or reuse of containers 

58-757.17 ................ Evasion of tobacco tax 

58-757.22 ................ Failure to keep books as re-
gards tobacco transactions 

58-765 ......... : .......... Building permits 
58-766 .................... Building permits, other counties 

58-766.1 .................. Building permits, certain coun-
ties 
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$100-$500 E 

$50 day E 

$25-$100 E 

$25-$100 E 

$100-$250 E 

$100 day E 

$25-$50 E· 

M A 

$50/60 days B 

$100-$500 E 

$100-$200/ 
90 days B 
$50-$200/ 
90 days B 

$100-$500 E 

$20-$100/3 mos. B 
without .fraud-
$50 E 
with fraud-$50 / 
30 days C 
$5 E 

$100-$500 E 

$5-$100 E 

$50/30 days C 
lst-$500/6 mos. B 
2nd-$1000/1 yr. A 

$10-$100/ 
10-30 days C 
lst-$200/6 mos. B 
2nd-$200-$500 I

1 yr. A 

$500-$1,000/ 
6 mos. B 
$100-$500/ 
6 mos. B 
$1,000 D 
$100-$500/ 
6 mos. B 
Not less than 
$25/30-60 days B 

M A 

$5.00-$100 E 
(Not 'exceeding 
$25.00) E 
(Not exceeding 
$25.00) E 



58-838.11 ................ Failure to keep records for for:. 
est products tax 

58-838.12 ................ Willful failure to keep such rec-
ords 

58-838.20 ................ Failure to make transporter's 
report 

58-860 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Failure to exhibit property
58-863 .................... Failure to :file lists of tenants in 

trailer camps, etc. 
58-863.1 .................. Failure of marina owner to :file 

lists of boat owners 
58-867 .................... Information from owners of 

boats 
58-868 .................... Information from banks 
58-875 .................... Failure to furnish books of ac-

count 
58-877 .................... Destruction of returns 
58-912 .................... Failure to obey summons of 

board of assessment 
53-929 .................... Misuse of public money less 

than·$50.00 
58-930 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. . .. .. . Failure of treasurer to account

for interest 
58-115.1 .................. Failure to file return 
58-271 .. . .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. . Public performance without a

license 
59.1-15 .................... Unfair Sales Act 

( selling less than cost) 
59.1-31 .................... Anti-trust violation 
59.1-42 .................... Changing or removing trade-

marks 
59.1-41.6 ................ Manufacture or sale of unau-

thorized recordings 
59.1-43 .................... Removing identification numbers 

household appliances 
59.1-44 .................... Deceptive advertising . 
59.1-45 .................... Advertising with intent not to 

sell as advertised 
59.1-46 .................... Advertising without indicating 

goods are seconds or defective 
59.1-47 .................... Comparative price advertising 
59.1-48 ...... : ............. Use of Wholesale without sell-

ing at Wholesale 
59.1-49 ........ , ........... Advertising cars absent certain 

disclosures 
59.1-53 .................... Use of "Army" "Government" 

prohibited 
59.1-54 .................... Misrepresentation agricultural 

products 
59.1-61 .................... Fraud & misrepresentation in 

gasoline products 

59.1-62 .................... Marking sterling when not 

59.1-63 .................... Not enough silver in coins sold 
as silver coins 

59.1-64 .................... Standards Gold Merchandise 
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$10-$100 E 

$25-$100 E 

$50-$500 E 

$20.00-$100 E 

$5.00-$100 E 

$50-$300 E 

$10.00-$100 E 

$10.00-$25.00 E 

$10-$100 E 

M A 

$10-$100 E 

M A 

not more than 
$5,000 D 
$1,000/1 yr. A 

$50-$500 E 

M A 

$1,000 / 1 yr. -A

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

$5-$500 E 

lst/$25-$200 E 

2nd/$50-$500 / 
1 yr. A 

$25-$250/ 
10-60 days B 
$25-$250/
10-60 days B 
$25-$150/
10-60 days B 



59.1�65 .................... Falsely represent Kosher meats 
59.1-66 .................... Buying secondhand materials 

with intent to defraua 
59.1-67.1 ................ Pyramid promotion scheme 
59.1-68 .................... Accepting note for food sold at 

retail 
59.1-68.1 ................ General penalty provision 
59.1-68.01 .............. Use game for promotion certain 

products 
59.1-75 .... ............ .... Transacting business under as-

sumed name, failure to regis­
ter, etc. 

59.1-96 .................... Using marked containers of an-
other 

As to clean laundered items or 
soiled articles 

59.1-107 .. .. .. .... .. .. .. .. Fraudulent use timber trade­
mark 

59.1-110 .................. Use recorded timber brand with-
out authority 

59.1-112 ...... .... ... ..... Fraudulent placing of brand on 
timber 

59.1-115 .................. Failure to turn over unbranded 
timber 

59.1-116 .................. Removal of brand, etc. of logs 
:floating in Louisa River 

59.1-124 .................. Trading w/o permit in second-
hand articles 

59.1-127 .................. Unlawful purchase of railroad 
or telephone equipment 

59.1-135 .... . ..... ..... Selling secondhand watches as 
new 

59.1-141 .. .. .............. Explosive violations 
59.1-145 .................. Fireworks violation 
59.1-163 .. .. ... .... .. ..... Gasoline & Lubricating oil vio-

lations 
59.1-176 .................. Improper manufacture boiler & 

pressure plates 
59.i-184 ................... Virginia paint law 

59.1-191 .................. Improper labeling of storage 
batteries 

59.1-195 .... .............. Purchase by Dealer of Livestock 
from unknown person 

60.1-42 .................... Failure to obey subpoenas, or-

60.1-129 

60.1-130 

ders of court 

False statements to obtain or in­
crease benefits 

False statements, etc. by 
ploying units; failure to 
nish reports, etc. 
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em­
fur-

M A 

1-6 mo. B 
M A 

M A 
M A 

Min. of $50 E 

$1000/1 yr. A 

1st offense-10 
days-1 yr. or 
$5 plus $.50 
vessel A 

2nd off ense-20 
days-1 yr. or 
$50 plus $1.00 
vessel A 

lst-$25-$200 
2nd-$50-$400 
60 day to 
12 mo. A 

$20-$200 E 
$10-$100/ 
10-20 days A 

$10-$100 E 

M A 
lst-$50-$100 E 

2nd-$100-$500 / 
12 mo. A 

M A 

$500/90 days B 
M A 
$1000/12 mo. A 

$10-$1,000 D 

M A 
M A 

$250/6 mo. B 

$10-$100 E 

$1,000/1 yr. A 

M A 

M A 



60.1-131 . . . .. . ... . . . . ... .. Violations of title, or rule or 
· regulation

60.1-40 . . . .. .. .. . .. . . ... .. . Violation of Section by employee 

60.1-42 .. .... .. . .. .. . . . .. . . Failure to obey summons 
60.1-128 .................. Requiring Waiver of Rights by 

employer 
60.1-124 . . . . .. . ... .. ... . . . Charging fees for benefits 
61.1-1 .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . Issuance of warehouse receipt 

w / out receiving goods 
61.1-2 . . . . . . .. . . .. . . . . . . . . . . False statement in warehouse 

receipt 
61.1-8 ...................... Issuing duplicate warehouse re-

ceipt w /out indicating fact 
61.1-4 .. .. .. .. .. . . . . .. ... .. . Failure to state ownership of 

warehouse on receipt 
61.1-5 .. .. .. . .. .. .. .. . . . . . .. Warehouse transfer without ob­

taining negotiable warehouse 
receipt 

61.1-6 ...................... Warehouse-Fraudulent negoti-
ation for mortgaged goods 

61-1.19 .... .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. Failure to keep temperature 
records in cold storage ware­
house 

61.1-20 .................... False entry on temperature 
record 

61.1-21 ... . . .. ....... ... . . . Violation cold storage regula­
tions 

61.1-31 .................... Refrigerated Locker Plant viola-
tions 

61.1-89 .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. . .. . Failure to furnish statement to 
tobacco warehouse 

61.1-44 .. .. . . . .. .. .. .. .. .. . Mislabeling of tobacco by ware­
house 

61.1-45 .................... Mixing tobacco by warehouse 
with intent to defraud 

61.1-51 .................... Violation regulations for sale of 
tobacco by warehouse 

61.1-52 . .. .. .... .. .. .. .. .. . Violation sales regulations of 
sale of tobacco 

61.1-56 .................... Failure to charge fee for stor-
age burley 

61.1-61 .................... Violation rules handling burley 

68.1-112 ................. . 

68.1-124 ................. .. 

68.1-125 ................. . 
68.1-126 ................ .. 

68.1-181 ................. . 

tobacco 

Failure to report change in cir­
cumstances affecting right to 
receive welfare 

False representation to receive 
welfare 

Failure to answer summons 
Disclosing information concern­

ing public assistance recipients 
Recipient of public welfare dis­
. posing of real estate without 

permission 
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M A 

$20-$200/ 
90 days B 

$1000/1 yr. A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

$25-$100 E 

M A 

M A 

lst-$25-$100 E 

2nd-$50-$200 D 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

1st not less 
$50 E 

2nd not less 
$600/not less 80 
days C 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 

M A 



63.1-171 .................. Misrepresenting goods as being 
made by visually handicapped 

63.1-182 . . .. . . . . . . . .. . . . . . Operate Home For Aged without 
license or in violation of 
code 

-63.1-215 . .. . . . . .... ... . ... Operating Child Welfare Agency 
without license 

63.1-53 .................... Unlawful disclosure of informa-
tion obtained from Board of 
Public Welfare 

63.1-209 .................. Disclosure of information Wel-
fare Board placement of per­
sons 

64.1-48 . . .. . . . .. . . . . . . . . . .. Advertisement to draw wills 
65.1-106 .. .. . .... ... ...... Failure to report employees as 

covered by Workmen's Com­
pensation 

65.1-107 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. Deducting coverage for Work­
men's Compensation from em­
ployee's wages 

65.1-118 .................. Workmen's Compensation insur-
ance carrier violation 

65.1-127 .... ... .. . ........ Failure to make report under 
Workmen's Compensation Act 

65.1-118 .................. Acting as agent for insurance 

carrier whose authority to do 
business has been suspended 
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M A 

M A 

$100/12 mo. A. 

M A 

M A 

$500 E 
Not less than 
$10.00 per employee 
up to $250 

per day E 

$100 E 
$100-$1000/ 
90 days B 

$250 E 

$100-$1,000/ 

10-90 days B 








