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PREFACE

The Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission (JLARC) has
responsibility for opcrational and performance revicws of Statc agencies .and
programs. Under the Legislative Program Review and Evaluation Act, some of
those reviews arc sclected from among one of the seven functional areas of
Statc government according to a schedule adopted by the General Assembly.

This cvaluation is the first of two reports being prepared on occupational
and professional regulation which is encompassed within the Commerce and
Resources function. The scries was scheduled by Senate Joint Resolution 50
cnacted by the 1980 General Assembly. Subcommittees of the House of
Dclegates and Scnatc committeces on General Laws are cooperating in the
cvaluation process.

Occupational and professional regulation is one method used by the
Commonwecalth to protect the public from incompetent or unscrupulous
practitioncrs. This report addresses performance characteristics of each of the 28
rcgulatory boards organized within the Department of Commerce and the
Dcpartment of Health Regulatory Boards. More than 220,000 persons and 70
professions arc rcgulated by these boards.

Bascline data is provided for cach board and arcas of special legislative
interest have been highlighted. In some cases, recommendations have been
made to improve the performance of a particular board or to achieve
compliance with statutory statcments of policy regarding the degrec or purpose
of rcgulation.

On bchalf of the Commission staff, I wish to acknowledge the help
provided by thc officials and staff of the individual regulatory boards, the
Dcpartment of Commerce, and the Department of Health Regulatory Boards.

A, 8 sl

Ray D. Pethtel
March 15, 1982 Director
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OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL

REGULATION IN VIRGINIA: AN OVERVIEW

Occupational and professional regula-
tion in Virginia is intended, in part, to
protect the public from incompetent or
unscrupulous practitioners. Regulation
generally takes the form of establishing
minimum qualifications for entry into a
profession or placing restrictions on the
practice of a profession.

More than 70 professions are currently
regulated by one of Virginia's 29 occupa-
tional and professional boards located within
the Department of Commerce or the Depart-
ment of Health Regulatory Boards. (Some
other professionals, including attorneys, insur-
ance agents, and public school teachers are
regulated by other independent boards or
agencies.)

Costs associated with occupational and
professional regulation are covered by fees
paid by regulated professionals. During the
1978-80 biennium, over $8.5 million in regu-
latory fees was generated by the boards.
Expenditures for the same period exceeded
$7.9 million.

Under provisions of Section 30-77, Code
of Virginia, performance reviews of the
State’s regulatory boards are mandated from
time to time. Several factors suggest that
periodic review of the State’s delegation of
police power to boards is appropriate:

e the growing public concern that

increased regulation has unnecessarily
- burdened our society and has

- —frequently benefited special interests
more than the public;

e the increasing number of professions
requesting new regulation in recent
years; and

e the high volume of statutory proposals
pertaining to regulated professions and

occupations introduced during each
legislative session.

Legislative Intent

In 1974, the General Assembly estab-
lished guidelines for determining when regu-
lation of a profession would be appropriate
and how to determine which method of
regulation should be wused. According to
Section 54-1.17, Code of Virginia, it is the
Commonwealth’s declared policy that occupa-
tions should be regulated only for the exclu-
sive purpose of protecting the public interest
when

1. their unregulated practice can harm or
endanger the health, safety, and
welfare of the public and when the
potential for such harm is recognizable
and not remote or dependent upon
tenuous argument;

2. their practice has inherent within it
qualities peculiar to it that distinguish
it from ordinary work and labor;

3. their practice requires specialized skill
or training and the public needs, and
will benefit by, assurances of initial
and continuing professional and occu-
pational ability; and

4. the public is not effectively protected
by other means.

Not all situations of potential harm
warrant use of the State’s regulatory powers.
Occupational regulation is justified when the
profession clearly endangers the public’s
health, safety, and welfare and when no
other means of protection exists. Potential
risks to the public in the absence of regula-
tion include physical, mental, or economic
damage.

The primary segment of the public being
protected from potential harm is the consum-
ers of services provided by the regulated
profession. Direct purchasers of services,
however, are not the only group requiring
protection. Frequently, a third party is depen-
dent on the services of a profession and is



therefore also entitled to protection. For
example, a CPA prepares a financial state-
ment for a client. But the accuracy of the
financial statement may be relied upon by
investors and lending institutions to make
financial decisions concerning the client. In
this case, the client, the investor, and the
lending institution receive protection by the
regulation of the professional. '

Legislation makes clear that protection
should focus on the public interest, not
solely on the regulated profession or occupa-
tion. This distinction should not be blurred
by regulations that make entry requirements
extremely stringent in order to “protect the
public from incompetent practitioners” while
at the same time limiting professional
competition.

It is specified in the Code that profes-
sions which are highly technical or which
involve special skills may require regulation.
This language recognizes that the public does
not always possess the knowledge necessary
to determine the competency of practitioners
or the quality of services provided. In these
instances, occupational regulation appears jus-
tified in order to assure the public that prac-
titioners meet minimum competency levels.

Occupational regulation by means of a
practitioner board may not always be the
most appropriate form of protecting the pub-
lic. Instead, the State may wuse alternative
means of protection, such as providing for
private civil actions, prohibiting certain busi-
ness practices, inspecting facilities, offering
consumer education, or establishing direct
regulation by a State agency.

Methods of Regulation

Once it has been determined that a
profession should bc regulated, a decision
must bc made as to the proper degree of
rcgulation. There arc five methods of regula-
tion in Virginia:

e Privatc civil actions and criminal prose-

cutions. Whenever the State finds that
—__cxisting laws are not sufficient to eradi-
~"cate -existing harm or prevent potential
harm, it may provide by statute for
.morec stringent causes for civil action
and criminal prosecution.
® Inspection. The activities and premises
of pcrsons in certain occupations are
subject to periodic inspections to ensure

that the public’s health, safety, and
welfare are protected. An injunction
can be issued to prevent persons who
do not meet the standards from engag-
ing in the occupation. However, anyone
is allowed to practice the occupation.
Restaurant regulation is an example of
this type of regulation.

® Rcgistration. Under this type of regula-
tion, any may engage in an occupation
but he or shc is required to submit
information concerning the location, -
nature, and operation of the practice.
Political lobbyists, for example, must
register.

e Ccrtification. As a form of regulation,
certification recognizes persons who
have met certain educational and exper-
ience standards to engage in an occupa-
tion. Although anyone may practice the
occupation, only those who have been
issued certificatecs may use the occupa-
tional title. The certification of lands-
cape architects exemplifies this type of
regulation.

® Licensure. Under this method of regula-
tion, it is for anyone to engage in an
occupation without a license, and only
persons who possess certain qualifica-
tions arc licensed. Physicians constitute
onc of over 50 occupational groups
rcgulated by licensure in Virginia.

Statute requires that the degrees of regu-
lation be considered in the above order. The.
implication of this provision is that the least
restrictive form of regulation necessary to
protect the public should be employed when
it is deemed appropriate to regulate a profes-
sion.

Licensure has been the most common
form of regulation chosen for those profes-
sions and occupations regulated in the
Commonwealth. It is also the most restrictive
method.

Virginia’s Occupational Regulatory
System

Responsibilities for regulating Virginia’s
occupations and professions are divided
among three groups: 29 occupational and
professional boards, two administrative agen-
cies, and two review boards (Figure 1). Boards
carry out rulemaking, judicial, and adminis-
trative functions. Their primary responsibili-
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ties include establishing entry requirements,
screening applicants, credentialing qualified
individuals, receiving complaints, and disci-
plining regulants. :

~— The regulatory boards are located within
two administrative agencies: the Department
of Commerce (DOC) and the Department of
Health Regulatory Boards (DHRB). These two
agencies are assigned to the secretaries of
Commerce and Resources and Human
Resources respectively.

Most of the boards within DOC regulate
commercial occupations or professions while
those within DHRB regulate health-related
professions. This alignment is not followed
strictly, however. The realignment of boards
has been considered from time to time by
the General Assembly, various boards, cabi-
net secretaries, and professional associations.
Interest has been expressed most recently in
the boards regulating hairdressers, barbers,
and funeral directors.



Some boards regulate several professions.
For example, the Board of Behavioral Science,
which was created in 1976, oversees the
regulatory activities of three professions
which were once independently regulated:
psychology, professional counseling, and social
work.

A few professions are regulated by two
boards. The regulatory activities governing
clinical psychologists are shared between the
Board of Psychology and the Board of Medi-
cine. Also, the Board of Nursing and the
Board of Medicine jointly promulgate regula-
tions for certifying nurse practitioners.

Several professions whose scopes of prac-
tice are closely or partially related are regu-
lated by separate boards. These include
barbers and hairdressers; audiologists, hearing
aid dealers, and otolaryngologists; engineers
and geologists; and opticians, optometrists,
and ophthalmologists.

For employment agencies, private security
businesses, and polygraph examiners, boards
or committees serve an advisory rather than
a direct regulatory function. Their purpose is
to advise the director of DOC on matters
relating to the department’s regulation of
their respective occupations.

Each board is administered by an execu-
tive director. Directors in DOC typically

. serve more than one board. Directors in
DHRB generally serve a single board.

The responsibilities of board staff vary
according to the delegation of authority
granted by the board. Typical staff responsi-
bilities include

e handling board correspondence;

- ® arranging board meetings;

e receiving complaints;

® proctoring exams;

e processing applications; and

e preparing statistical information.

The Departments of Commerce and
Health Regulatory Boards have statutory
responsibility for such administrative matters
as making inspections, investigating com-
—_plaints, collecting fees, budgeting, data proces-
§ing, and—personnel management. Departmen-
tal organization and management are
discussed further in a separate JLARC report
on the State’s regulatory network.

Virginia's regulatory system also includes
two review boards, the Board of Commerce

and the Commission of Health Regulatory
Boards. The Board of Commerce is composed
of nine citizen members appointed by the
Governor. The Commission of Health Regula-
tory Boards is composed of 11 members: one
member from each of the seven health
boards and four members from the State at
large.

The review boards have broad advisory
functions in the area of regulatory policy.
Their functions include

e evaluating the need for regulating addi-
tional professions and making recom-
mendations to the General Assembly;

e monitoring the activities of their respec-
tive administrative agencies; and

e advising the Governor and the
appropriate cabinet secretary on regula-
tory matters.

Virginia is recognized by observers of
occupational and professional regulation as a
leader in the field. The Commonwealth was
one of the first states to organize its regula-
tory boards into administrative agencies. This
began in 1948 with the creation of a Depart-
ment of Occupational and Professional Regis-
tration, which became DOC, and continued
with creation of DHRB.

Virginia was also the first state to regu-
late a profession when the colonial legislature
passed a law regulating the practice of medi-
cine in 1639. In addition, Virginia was one
of the first states to regulate harbor pilots,
nurses, dentists, pharmacists and funeral
directors.

JLARC REVIEW

The General Assembly has given JLARC
a dual legislative charge to conduct studies of
Virginia’s regulatory boards. Senate Joint
Resolution 50, passed in 1980, directs JLARC
to review the programs, activities, and agen-
cies concerned with the regulation of profes-
sions and occupations.

In addition, Section 30-77, Code of
Virginia, requires JLARC to conduct a perfor-
mance review of specific regulatory boards
“from time to time.” These reviews are to
be conducted in accordance with the provi-
sions of the Legislative Program Review and
Evaluation Act.



Legislative Program Review and
Evaluation Act

The Legislative Program Review and Eval-
uation Act was passed in 1978 as Virginia's
response to a national trend in legislative
oversight popularly described as “sunset.”
Although the act resembles “sunset” legisla-
tion in many ways, important characteristics
also distinguish it from that form of legisla-
tive oversight.

“Sunset” reviews were first begun in the
1970s as an attempt to make state govern-
ment more efficient and effective. “Sunset”
attempts to accomplish its oversight goals by
requiring a systematic review of agencies and
programs to determine if they are fulfilling
their legislative intent, operating efficiently,
or duplicating any other governmental activi-
ty. A program or agency may be modified,
continued, or terminated as a result of the
review. In fact, the unique feature of ‘“sun-
set” is the scheduled automatic termination
of existing programs unless reauthorized by
legislative action.

Regulatory boards have been the primary
focus of ‘“sunset” studies in most states.
According to a 1981 report by the Council of
State Governments, factors which account for
this focus include

o the feeling that it was unreasonable to
expect termination of a corrections,
health or transportation department;

o the desire to use untested sunset meth-
odologies on agencies with less compre-
hensive, more easily defined missions;
and

e the recognition that occupational regula-
tory boards often escape other state
oversight mechanisms. A

Virginia's Legislative Program Review and
Evaluation Act similarly provides for a
periodic review of programs, agencies, and
activities of State government and the
reviews occur according to a legislatively
adopted schedule. Topics under review,
however, are not limited to regulatory
boards:- Instead, programs for review are
selected from among the seven functions of
State government: (1) Individual and Family
Services; (2) Education; (3) Transportation; (4)
Resource and Economic Development; (5)
Administration of Justice; (6) Enterprises; and
(7) General Government. JLARC is responsi-

ble for conducting the reviews and for
reporting them to the standing legislative
committees having jurisdiction over the
subject matter.

The Evaluation Act has several character-
istics which distinguish it from the typical
“sunset” legislation.

1. It sets no termination dates for State

programs or agencies;

2. It provides for participation by the
Virginia legislature in the selection of
specific review topics;

3. It provides for coordination with the
appropriate standing committees of
both houses of the General Assembly;
and

4. It provides that all reports conducted
under the Act be exposed to public
hearings.

Periodic Performance Reviews

The performance reviews called for by
statute are intended to offer periodic assess-
ments of the accomplishment of legislative
intent, but they may serve a variety of other
legislative needs. This study, for example,
provides a comprehensive overview of the
regulatory boards listed in Section 30-74,
Code of Virginia, excepting the Board of
Examiners in the Division of Mines which
was transferred out of the Department of
Commerce subsequent to adoption of the
review provision. And information is not
included on the Board of Geology since it
only recently began operation in July 1981.

Since this is the first study carried out
under Section 30-74, a systematic review was
made of each board’s regulatory responsibili-
ties, and the board’s performance was
assessed in selected areas using criteria speci-
fied in the Evaluation Act or in the Code
provisions relating to regulatory authority. A
number of areas of special legislative interest
relating to a specific board or profession were
addressed. These topics generally speak to
proposals currently confronting the legisla-
ture, concerns which the General Assembly
will soon face, or areas of controversy. Obvi-
ously, in an evaluation of this scope, not all
areas of performance or controversy common
to boards or professions could be included.
Future performance reviews can address addi-
tional areas.

This report serves several functions:

1. It provides basic descriptive informa-



tion concerning each board;

2. It addresses specific issues of legislative
interest;

3. It can be used by legislative commit-
tees for hearings or other committee
purposes;

4.'It identifies areas in which the
General Assembly may wish to
request more in-depth information; and

5. It will serve as a baseline for future
reviews.

Methods

During the course of this review, staff
collected and analyzed data from numerous
sources. Interviews were held with more
than 70 board members, staff, and profes-
sional association representatives. Fiscal and
enforcement data were reviewed. Regulations
were compared with legislative criteria. Test-
ing procedures were observed. Application
records were reviewed. Board meetings and
public hearings were attended. And a ques-
tionnaire was sent to all board members and
to professional associations which represent
regulated practitioners.

SCOPE OF REGULATORY

BOARD ACTIVITIES

The U. S. Supreme Court has ruled in
several cases that the right of individuals to
engage in a profession of their own choosing
is constitutionally guaranteed. The Court has
also upheld the use of state police power to
protect the public in occupational matters.
The State has occasionally found it necessary
to regulate certain professions and occupa-
tions in order to protect the public’s health,
safety, or welfare. Professions have also been
regulated for other reasons, including federal
requirements, State funding requirements, and
recognition of accomplishment. As of May
1981, more than 220,000 persons and 14,500
businesses or training schools were regulated
in Virginia.

~— Practitioners working for governmental
agencies or institutions, non-profit organiza-
tions, or as employees engaged in a profes-
sion strictly for the internal benefit of a
private business are typically exempt from
regulation. The underlying rationale of these
exemptions appears to be that the State or
other exempted entity assumes full responsi-

bility for the activities of its own employees.

Some professions are regulated in Virginia
that are not typically regulated in other
states. Virginia is the only state, for example,
to regulate all types of professional counse-
lors, private security couriers, and armored
car personnel. And the Commonwealth is
one of about 20 states that regulate social
workers, collection agencies, contractors, libra-
rians, opticians, and polygraph examiners.
Figure 2 shows the occupations and profes-
sions regulated by each of the boards.

Board Composition and Authority

Boards range in size from three to 14
members. The Board of Behavioral Science,
with its three subordinate boards and two
certification committees, has a total of 28
members. All newly created boards are
required by statute to have at least five
members of whom two must be citizen
members. All members must be citizens of
the United States and residents of Virginia.

Board members are generally appointed
by the Governor. The director of DOC
appoints persons to serve on the three advi-
sory bodies. The Criminal Justice Services
Commission appoints some members to the
Private Security Services Advisory Committee,
and members of the Board of Commissioners
to Examine Pilots are appointed by the
circuit courts in Newport News/Hampton,
Norfolk, and Portsmouth.

Most individuals serving on boards are
members of the regulated profession. Ten
boards are required by statute to have at
least one non-practitioner, or ‘“citizen” repre-
sentative. Because the total composition of
four other boards is not specified in the
Code, these boards are also able to appoint
citizen members: Barber Examiners, Hairdres-
sers, Commercial Driver Training Schools,
and Harbor Pilots. Some boards have ex-offi-
cio members, representatives of other State
agencies, and members who represent related
professions. For example, licensed physicians
who specialize in treatment of either ear or
eye disorders serve as board members on the
Board of Examiners for Audiology and
Speech Pathology, the Board of Hearing Aid
Dealers and Fitters, and the Board of Opti-
cians.

Board member terms are staggered to
provide continuity. Terms of individual



members range from three to seven years
with over half serving five years. A limit of
two consecutive terms for each board
member was established by the General
Assembly in 1981. Harbor pilot commission-
ers, private security services advisory commit-
tee members, and certification committee
members for drug and alcoholism counselors
are appointed for unspecified terms.

Statutory Authority. The statutory author-
ity granted to boards establishes the boundar-
ies within which the board can promulgate
regulations. The enabling legislation for
many boards is by design very general and
deals only with such items as board composi-
tion, terms, basic powers, definitions, and
degree of regulation. In such cases, individual
regulations are left to be promulgated by the
boards. Some boards, on the other hand—in
particular, those governing the health-related
professions—have a large number of regula-
tory requirements detailed in the Code.

Board Duties. Section 54-1.28, Code of
Virginia, specifies powers and duties for each
regulatory board within the Department of
Commerce. Boards may

e establish entry qualifications for appli-
cants;

e examine applicants, including prepara-
tion, administration, and grading of
exams;

e issue written credentials to qualified
individuals;

e levy and collect fees;

e promulgate rules and regulations to
assure continued competency, and to
prevent deceptive or misleading prac-
tices by regulated practitioners;

e ensure that inspections are conducted
relating to the practice of each regu-
lant; “

e revoke, suspend, or fail to renew the
license or certificate of persons violating
board rules;

e receive and dispose of complaints; and

e promulgate canons of ethics relating to
the activities of regulated professionals.

"7+ _ Boards-within the Department of Health

Regulatory Boards have similar types of
duties specified in the enabling legislation of
each board. All boards must adhere to the
requirements of the Administrative Process
Act when promulgating regulations and
carrying out disciplinary actions.

Some boards have special duties or
responsibilities in addition to basic regulatory
functions, as with the following examples:

e The Board of Behavioral Science is
responsible for making recommendations
to the Board of Commerce on the regu-
lation of new categories of behavioral
scientists.

e The Real Estate Commission adminis-
ters the Virginia Fair Housing Act, the
Subdivided Land Act, the Condominium
Act, the Real Estate Transaction Recov-
ery Fund, and the Real Estate Time -
Share Act.

e The Board for Contractors is responsible
for management of the Contractors
Transaction Recovery Fund.

e The Virginia Athletic Commission has
authority to collect a tax on all boxing
and wrestling contests.

e The Board of Pharmacy is responsible
for administering the Drug Control Act.

Other Agencies Involved in Regula-
tory Matters

Several other State and local governmen-
tal entities are involved in helping to regu-
late the occupations and professions which
are included in this report. For example:

e The State Water Control Board develops
the licensure examination for wastewa-
ter works operators.

e The circuit courts in some jurisdictions
appoint members to the board govern-
ing harbor pilots.

e Local health department officials in
several jurisdictions inspect the sanitary
conditions in barber shops and beauty
shops.

e The Attorney General's office provides
legal advice and reviews regulations for
all boards.

e The Department of Labor and Industry
approves apprenticeship programs for
several boards.

e The State Council of Higher Education
authorizes the establishment of new
nursing degree programs.

e The Department of Education approves
public school training programs for
professions such as hairdressing, nurs-
ing, and driver training.



Figure 2
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REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

Each regulatory board, or the Department
of Commerce in the case of employment
agencies, private security businesses, and
polygraph examiners, is responsible for devel-
oping the qualifications for becoming
licensed, certified, or registered in its respec-
tive profession. This includes establishing
entry criteria, determining examination
requirements, reviewing out-of-state applicants
and setting regulatory fees. Figure 3 summar-
izes the activities of the regulatory boards.

Entry Criteria

Entry criteria are established by statute or
regulation to ensure that an applicant for
licensure or certification meets a standardized
level of personal and professional qualifica-
tion. As specified in the Code of Virginia,
only entry qualifications ‘‘necessary to ensure
either competence or integrity to engage in
such profession or occupation’’ shall be adopt-
ed.

Typical entry requirements specify age,
moral character, education, and experience
qualifications. In addition, applicants must
usually pass an examination and pay a fee.
Applicants may not be denied credentials
solely on the basis of a prior conviction of a
crime unless the conviction relates directly to
the occupation for which the credential is
sought. The specific entry criteria vary
considerably across professions.

About half of the regulatory boards have
no age requirement while the remainder
require an applicant to be at least 18 or 21
years old. Accountants, architects, and real
estate brokers are examples of professions
where the minimum age requirement is
established to ensure that the applicant is
legally eligible to enter into contracts.

Examinations

7= Applicants for licensure or certification in
most professions are required to pass a
board-sanctioned or developed examination.
Examinations are intended to measure an
individual’s knowledge of professional infor-
mation and skills and also serve to standard-
ize the various educational backgrounds of
applicants. National exams, developed by test-
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ing services, are available for most profes-
sions. Several boards develop their own
overall or supplementary examinations. The
decision to use a national exam is often
based on cost, efficiency, and applicability to
State needs.

Examinations can take several forms: oral,
written multiple-choice, written essay, or
practical. Several boards require passing a
combination of the various types of exams.
For example, prospective dentists must pass
three exams: a written regional dentistry
exam, the Board’s exam on Virginia dental
laws and regulations, and a clinical exam
testing the applicant’s ability to perform
dental procedures.

Passing the exam is wusually the last
major hurdle to becoming licensed or certi-
fied. Applicants are generally given ample
opportunity to retake exams if necessary.

Out-of-state Applicants

In accordance with statute or regulation,
regulatory boards may waive all or part of
the entry requirements or examinations for
out-of-state applicants provided that the appli-
cant currently holds a license from another
state. This function is performed through
either reciprocity or endorsement procedures.

Reciprocity involves a formal agreement
between Virginia and another state to mutu-
ally accept for licensure all applicants that
are duly licensed in the other state. Endorse-
ment, on the other hand, involves a case-by -
case review of each out-of-state applicant’s
credentials to determine equivalency to
Virginia's licensure requirements. Seven
boards have reciprocity agreements with at
least one state, while the rest use endorse-
ment.

Reciprocal agreements and endorsement
procedures provide for the movement of
licensed practitioners between the states
involved. Endorsement provides a thorough
review of each applicant’s credentials before
permission to practice in Virginia is granted,
but the process can be restrictive when a
board is unwilling to accept an applicant’s
credentials as meeting those of the board.
Reciprocal agreements establish specific crite-
ria. These agreements are difficult to
conclude and maintain, however, and they
can result in the adoption of other states’
restrictive provisions.



Fees and Expenditures

In order to become credentialed and to
retain licensure, certification, or registration,
individuals are required to pay fees. Typical
fees include payments for initial applications,
examinations, and renewals. Some boards also
have established separate credentialing fees
for professional instructors, business firms,
and out-of-state applicants.

Fees are supposed to be set at a level
sufficient to generate revenues to cover the
expenses of the board and the administrative
structure. The amounts of fees vary dramati-
cally among boards. In 1981, fees ranged
from a one-dollar lifetime charge for licensed
librarians to $550 or more for the initial
licensure of private security businesses.

Individual boards have not always oper-
ated on a self-sufficient basis. During the
1978-80 biennium, expenditures of several
DOC boards exceeded revenues. However,
total revenues were sufficient to cover all
board and departmental expenses during that
period because some boards’ revenues greatly
exceeded their own expenditures.

Fees collected for boards within the
Department of Commerce are deposited into
a dedicated special fund, and the legislature
makes a single appropriation to the agency
from the fund. During the 1978-80 bienni-
um, DOC collected $5,774,388 in board fees.
Expenditures incurred by the boards, the
agency, and -the Board of Commerce totaled
$5,010,599 during the same period.

Revenues from the seven boards in
DHRB are paid into the State’s general fund.
DHRB receives appropriations designated for
each health regulatory board and for techni-
cal assistance provided by the agency. Reve-
nues collected during the 1978-80 biennium
totaled $2,716,637 while expenditures were
$2,922 464. Appropriations to the health regu-
latory boards and the department totaled
$3,011,625 during the same period.

ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Once licensure or certification is obtained,
individuals may retain their credentials for
life. Renewal is generally subject only to the
payment of periodic renewal fees. The boards
attempt to ensure regulants’ continued
competency and compliance with State laws

and regulations by authorizing periodic
inspections in some cases, and by handling
complaints and disciplining regulants when
necessary.

Renewal Criteria

Most boards issue licenses or certificates
for a two-year period. At the end of the
licensing period, individuals are typically
required to pay a renewal fee in order to
retain licensure. This is true in all cases
except for librarians who pay only a one-dol-
lar lifetime licensure fee and private security
business employees who pay cnly additional
registration fees when transferring from one
employer to another.

Only a few boards place additional renew-
al criteria on their licensees, and no board
requires that regulants be reexamined. The
additional requirements take different forms:

e The Board for Commercial Driver
Training Schools requires that proof of
an active insurance policy be filed
along with the renewal fee.

e Contractors engaged in a single contract
exceeding $40,000 or an annual total of
$300,000 are required to submit a
financial statement along with annual
renewal fees.

e Hearing aid dealers must submit a
certified statement showing that calibra-
tion of an electronic instrument used to
detect hearing loss has occurred during
the past 12 months.

e Behavioral science professionals
complete an ‘“inspection of practices”
form detailing the ‘“‘boundaries of their
practice.”

® Individuals engaged in the practice of
optometry, alcoholism counseling, and
social work must show evidence of
having attended continuing education
courses.

Inspections

Although all boards may authorize
inspections, only 11 boards require periodic

-inspections to be conducted of regulated

places of business to ensure continued
compliance with relevant laws and regula-
tions (Table 1). These inspections are
conducted by DOC and DHRB enforcement
personnel.

Inspection activities vary from checking
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Figure 3
SCOPE OF REGULATORY BOARD ACTIVITY

NUMBER BOARD
REGULATED COMPOSITION ENTRY EXAM FEES (DOLLARS)

Board/Commission

Commerce Boards

Accountancy

APELSC.LA."" lvaries

Athletic Commission 3
lAudiology & Speech Pathology 7 $25
Barbers 5 l $25
Behavioral Sciences 91315
Professional Counselors 7 4 Joioe/e l $50 | $150
Psychology 194s| (323) 5] [5felele $50 | $75
Social Workers 1966"1.206) 5 5 oo $50 | $75
Collection Agencies 3 3 $325
Contractors 9 5Qe
‘%g'l"'vue’lrergglining Schools 5 3
Employment Agencies 5 3
Geology' 5 3
Hairdressers 7 4 ° ° A
Harbor Pilots 9 [ ] o|leo|e A
Hearing Aid Dealers & Fitters | 7120 4] e o A
Librarians 5e A
Nursing Home Administrators 4 [ N} A
Opticians . 5 ° ° $85 A
Polygraph Examiners 3 e o/ o8 $100 | $25
Private Security Services [ ] $550
Real Estate 5 o o Jorerinl $14.50
Sanitarians 4 ° $25 A
Water & Wastewater Oper. 48 IR t $50 A

Heaith Regulatory Boards

Dentistry 1886'5.358 |7 5 o Tole A
Funeral Directors & Embalmerdl894|1.502 476 | 7] 2| 7fe $70 | $150
Medicine 1884}16.703 14 5 ° o RSI7TS5| A
Nuzsing 1903fa3814) 92 §7| |s5] |e 34 IV §
Optometry - 11916 719 ;! 5 o |o $125 | A
Pharmacy 1836017964 1199 [ 51 | 5] e ofsw| A
Veterinary Medicine 1896] 1.312| 326 5| |s]e lolsis | A

*As of May 1981 for DOC boards; as of June 30, 1980 for DHRB boards.

**Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors and Certified Landsnpe Architects.
A Exam fee included in initial fee

W Unspecified term



Board/Commission

FISCAL DATA
(FY 7879 & FY 79-80)

RENEWAL CRITERIA

OUT-OFSTATE ENFORCEMENT

Commerce Boards

Accountancy $ 442,583 | $ 442,483 . even year| $30
APELSCLA.* $436,427 | §470574 § o o L | 850
.Athletic Commission $232,710 | $125,852 Jan. 1
Audiology & Speech Pathology |$ 20.901 |$ 27,473 Jan. 30 | $40
Barbers $ 95379 [$91049] o dan | 815
Behavioral Sciences $ 174,429 | $285,386
Professional Counselors ° ot vear | $60
Psychology ° oﬁ';‘yy;r $60
Social Workers ° oj:";e’a, $60 °
Collection Agencies $ 24629 | $ 48,500 Jan. 1 | $50
Contractors $530.281 | $530.458 | @ . | 08 . | ke G n ey
o Fraaning Schools $ 12742 |$ 12691 Dec. 31
Employment Agencies $ 41,100 | $ 38,973 Jan. 1 | $50
Geology
Hairdressers $568,144 | $454814 | o odd year| $15
Harbor Pilots $ 56658 4387 Dec. 31 | $55
Hearing Aid Dealers & Fitters | $ 11,759 | $ 17,928 Jan. 31| $60
Librarians $§ 273|8 419 none
Nursing Home Administrators | § 45,312| $ 30841 ] e v | 850
Opticians $ 40,305 | $ 46,729 Dec. 31 | $40
Polygraph Examiners $ 18,035 $ 21.106 ) mvﬁ, $100
Private Security Services $237,061 | $366.024 Oct. 31 | $300
Real Estate $2.720.967|$1.817.572] oy || et
Sanitarians $ 8287| 8% 15249 Jan. 1 | $15
Water & Wastewater Oper.| $109.686| $128,234 Jan. 1| $15
Health Regulatory Boards
Dentistry $220656 |$151.748 | © B i
Funeral Directors & Embalmers| $ 154,575 | $147.784 § @ s vear| 870
_|Medicine $854,228 | $681,025 June 30 | $15
| Nursing $829.037 | $664.911 D |85
Optometry $ 79993 |$ 70915 e ot venr | $100 | @
Pharmacy $ 475,553 | $792.776 Dec. 31 | $20
Veterinary Medicine $ 935958 67.079| . ox:'w:, $70
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Table 1

BOARD INSPECTIONS

Board and
Inspection Activities
Barbers

Check licenses

Collection Agency

Check licenses, review bond
and audit trust accounts

Employment Agency
Check licenses, verify adver-
tising books, verify job
orders, review applications

Hairdressers
Check licenses

Opticians
Check licenses

Private Security Services

Check registration of
employees

Real Estate Commission

Check licenses, audit escrow
accounts, check business office

Dentistry

Carry out drug audits, review
sanitation and activities of
dental auxiliary personnel

Funeral Directors

Check contracts, embalming
room, casket room

Pharmacy

Carry out drug audits and
sanitation inspections for
pharmacies, hospitals,
manufacturers

Veterinary Medicine

Review animal hospitals for
sanitation, equipment, drug
audits

Source: DOC and DHRB Annual

Number of
Periodic
Inspections

(FY 1980)
849

22

13

2,347

86

252

166

103

981

82

Reports.
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to see that current licenses are properly
displayed to auditing escrow funds. Reported
violations include failure to post current
licenses and incomplete record keeping. In
many instances no violations are found or
reported.

Complaints

The primary enforcement tool in the
regulation of occupations and professions is
the investigation and resolution of complaints
registered against licensees. Complaints are
often made by cohsumers, and many are
filed by other licensed practitioners. Most
complaints are filed with the board adminis-
trator, who typically determines whether the
complaint is within the board’s jurisdiction
and needs an investigation. Some complaints
come to the board through individual board
members or the Office of Consumer Affairs
of the Department of Agriculture and
Consumer Services.

A large number of complaints received
by boards involve activities other than client
services. These include violations of profes-
sional conduct, such as alcoholism or drug
addiction, unlicensed practitioners, and viola-
tions of business practice restrictions, such as
the use of trade names and misleading adver-
tising. In general, boards do not become
involved in mediating controversies between
licensees and their employees or in judging
the fairness of charges for services rendered
to clients.

Many complaints involve unlicensed prac-
titioners. These complaints are investigated
by departmental enforcement staff and refer-
red to the local Commonwealth’s attorney
for prosecution unless the practitioner agrees
to either cease operation or become licensed.
The Department of Commerce also has statu-
tory authority to file through the State
Attorney General’s office for civil injunction
with the circuit court to stop any unlawful
act.

Disciplinary Actions

Once a complaint has been investigated
and found valid, it is referred back to the
board for hearing and action. The hearings
and appeals of disciplinary actions must
adhere to the requirements of the Adminis-
trative Process Act. Boards generally have
several alternative sanctions available, includ-



ing rzvocation, suspension, probation, or
fines.

All fines collected for violations of board
regulations or statute are deposited into the
State’s Literary Fund. In 1980, for example,
DOC collected $15,C00 in fines against regu-
lants.

Many boards have guidelines in their
statute or regulations for taking disciplinary
actions. Board disciplinary guidelines prohibit
such things as

e obtaining credentials by fraud or misre-

presentation;

e practicing incompetently or negligently;

e having been convicted of a felony or

misdemeanor involving moral turpitude;
® deceptive or misleading advertising;

e practicing in a. commercial establish-

ment;

e using trade names; and

e violating laws or regulations governing

the profession.

Penalties are generally applied on a case-by -
case basis. However, the Board of Behavioral
Science specifies minimum and maximum
penalties for each violation. For example, a
psychologist found to be mentally, physically,
or emotionally incompetent could receive a
maximum penalty of license revocation or, at
the minimum, a suspension.

In general, the boards are cautious about
taking away someone’s livelihood and there-
fore attempt to resolve the matter through
other means, such as a consent agreement
between the licensee and the board. Accord-
ing to 1980 annual reports, 182 disciplinary
actions and consent orders were reported for
the seven health regulatory boards and 48
for DOC boards.

Assessing Board Functions

During the course of this review, JLARC
focused its evaluation on three broad areas of
special legislative interest relating to Virgin-
ia’s occupational regulatory boards:

1. Performance areas, which include a

board’s ability to carry out .its regula-
.tory functions of screening applicants,
issuing credentials, and ensuring
continued competency;

2. Regulatory scope, which involves the
appropriate level of regulation, duplica-
tion of effort, and controversies
between regulated professions; and

3. Trends and informational topics, which
include areas of gencral interest to the
legislature and areas that the General
Assembly may be requested to deal
with sometime in the near future.

PERFORMANCE AREAS
Entry Requirements

For entry criteria to be appropriate, they
must relate directly to protecting the public
interest by establishing minimum qualifica-
tions of the professional or by regulating
aspects of business or professional practice.
Entry criteria should be developed within the
prescribed statutory framework. They should
not be ambiguous or unduly restrictive, and
they should not prevent competent individu-
als from engaging in the profession.

JLARC's review indicates that entry
requirements prescribed by some boards need
further consideration and adjustment or clari-
fication.

Board for Contractors. This board has not
established specific entry qualifications for
licensing Class A contractors (that is, those
who undetake work in which a single
contract exceeds $40,000 or total contracts
exceed $300,000 annually). Instead, the Board
relies on the ‘‘expertise of its members” to
make case-by-case judgments on applicants. In
the absence of written guidelines, contractor
applicants do not know the standards against
which they are being measured.

Recommendation (1). The State Board for
Contractors should develop written -criteria
for Class A licensees These would inform
applicants and Board members of the criteria
to be applied and help ensure comsistency in
Board decisions.

Board of Examiners of Professional Hair-
dressers. This board has controversial training
requirements. Applicants must complete 2,000
hours of training before taking the licensure
examination. The required number of hours
exceeds the national average and those of all
neighboring states except West Virginia.
Nevertheless, several applicants from neigh-
boring states are licensed in Virginia each
year under reciprocity agreements even
though out-of-state applicants have only
completed 1,500 hours of training.



Controversy has arisen between the Board
of Hairdressers and the State Department of
Education over the amount of training neces-
sary to sit for the hairdressers licensure
examination. A Department of Education
pilot program for high school cosmetology
students has been proposed. The DOE
program would provide for 1,080 hours in
cosmetology plus 500 hours in related
subjects. The Board has declined to allow the
DOE students to sit for the licensing exam
because the pilot program does not meet the
training requirements.

Recommendation (2). Since the number of
hours of school-based training mneeded to
adequately train cosmetologists has not been
conclusively established, it appears that a
methodolegically sound pilot preject could be
useful in establishing an empirical basis for
the number of required training hours. The
Board and DOE should work together to
develop such a pilot program.

Board of Commissioners to Examine
Pilots. To be eligible for State licensure as a
harbor pilot, an applicant must first serve as
an apprentice to a pilot for five vyears.
Apprenticeship programs are operated by the
Virginia Pilot Association and apprentices are
selected and trained by the association. In
essence, this selection determines who even-
tually become licensed pilots. Very few indi-
viduals are chosen by the association as
apprentices each year. Often, those chosen
are relatives or friends of pilots.

It is not inconsistent with practices in
other states or with existing case law for
selection of pilot apprentices to be delegated
by a state to a pilots association or for
preference to be given to friends or relatives.
However, recent rulings in cases relating to
the equal employment opportunity clauses in
the 1964 Civil Rights Act have objected to
both the form and results of some appren-
ticeship programs.

Recommendation (3). In light of recent
_federal civil rights and equal employment
decisions, the Board of Commissioners to
Examine Pllots might wish to consider estab-
lishing criteria for the selection of apprentices
in its regulations to ensure equal opportunity
to applicants.

16

Examination Concerns

Passage of licensure or certification exams
is typically the last major hurdle to becom-
ing credentialed. As such, exams are
supposed to measure an applicant’s skills and
serve to standardize the various educational
backgrounds of candidates. Therefore, an
exam'’s construction must strike a delicate
balance between measuring an applicant’s
competency to perform an occupation and
being so rigorous that capable individuals
cannot pass tests that exceed job-related stan-
dards. In addition, exams must be uniformly
administered and objectively scored.

JLARC found that at least some of the
examinations used by State boards are not
validated to determine job-relatedness, they
have excessively high failure rates, or some-
times they involve undue subjectivity in test
procedures.

Board of Barber Examiners. Fifty-seven
percent of the barber candidates during FY
1979 and 1980 passed both the written and
practical licensing exam; 42 percent failed
the written test. Of the 895 persons who
failed at least one part of the exam, 80 did
not pass the written, two failed the practical,
and three failed both. There seem to be
problems with the written exam since test
results reveal that most of the individuals
who fail the written exam demonstrate suffi-
cient skill to pass the practical licensing
exam on the same day.

Several explanations have been suggested
by Board officials for the high failure rate,

-including poor exam construction and a six -

month lag between the time a candidate
completes barber school and the date the
exam is taken. Although the Board has
attempted to address the examination prob-
lems, it is still concerned about the high
failure rates.

Recommendation (4). The Board of Barber
Examiners should take steps to ensure that
the written exam is an appropriate screening
mechanism. Sinee barbering is a skill-oriented
professien,—a practical exam alone might be
an adequate procedure. If a written exam is
retained, the test should coentinue to be evalu-
ated to ensure its job-relatedness. Considera-
tion might also be given to administering the
exam upen completion eof the traiming in
barber school instead of after the subsequent
six-month apprenticeship.



Board for the Certification of Water and
Wastewater Works Operators. For some
classes of operators, the failure rate on writ-
ten tests was as high as 65 percent as
recently as February 1981. The overall
failure rate for examinees of all classes was
49 percent in 1980. Since most examinees
have been working as operators for at least
five years prior to taking the licensure exam,
it is not clear whether the problem is the
inadequate training and practical experience
of applicants or the content and structure of
the exams. The Board is concerned about the
failure rate but several steps taken by the
Board to correct the situation have not
worked.

An assessment of the exam by a national
association highlighted a major problem. The
association found that the Board has not vali-
dated its educational or experience require-
ments or the cut-off scores of the exam rela-
tive to the job requirement of applicants.

Recommendation (5). The Board for the
Certification of Water and Wastewater Works
Operators should take steps to (1) ensure that
-the exam measures the actval skills and
knowledge needed to serve as an operator,
and (2) assems the characteristics of appli-
cants who pass and fail the exam to detect
possible reasons for fallure. In addition, the
Beard should consider limiting the number of
times an applicant may retake the exam

without attending Board-sponsored or equiva-
lent training. The Board should also advise

examinees who fail én subject areas in which
they score low.

Boara of Medicine. Most occupational
boards use independent examiners or a panel
of examiners to administer exams. Objectivity
is always a concern in instances where
exams are developed, given, and scored by a
single person. Such is the case with the
chiropractic exam which is developed, admin-
istered, and scored by the one member of
the Board of Medicine who is a chiropractor.
As ‘a2 result, the examination process for
chiropractors is open to questions of bias.
The Board of Medicine’s podiatric exam was
discontinued in 1976 for similar reasons. The
Board indicates that the National Board of
Chiropractic Examiners is presently develop-
ing a chiropractic examination.

Recommendation (6). In the interim, the
Board of Medicine should obtain the assis-
tance of other chiropractors to help develop,
grade, or score the exam. In general, boards
should ensure objectivity by not placing total
responsibility for examinations in a single
individuoal

Oral examinations can also result in prob-
lems for boards, because they often lack
objective measures for evaluating applicants.
Oral exams are required for licensure as
professional counselors, social workers,
psychologists, harbor pilots, and nursing
home administrators. The Board of Funeral
Directors and Embalmers previously used oral
exams, but the practice was discontinued in
1980 because of several concerns including
lack of objectivity.

Observation of the oral exam procedures
of one board revealed that some questions
were asked that did not relate to the appli-
cant’s qualifications or professional integrity,
and that some duplicated other exam require-
ments. Several questions asked during the
oral exam, for example, related to personal
career objectives, willingness to accept future
employment in the State, and personal char-
acter. These types of questions may be irrele-
vant to establishing minimum competence
for licensure and may more appropriately fall
within the purview of the individual's
employer. According to that board’s chairper-
son, some applicants have been denied licen-
sure initially because of answers given during
the oral exam.

Recommendation (7). Boards should give
careful consideration to the need for oral
examinations. If orals are deemed necessary
to determine an applicant’s competency or
integrity, then individual bias should be rigor-
ously avoided. Questions should be job-re-
lated and should come from a predetermined
list.

Temporary Permits |

The General Assembly has established in
law that an individual must meet all entry
requirements, including passage of any licens-
ing exams, before practicing a regulated
profession. Several boards, such as those regu-
lating dentistry, psychology, contractors, and
private security services, have received statu-
tory authority to issue temporary permits to
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individuals prior to completing all licensure
requirements. The temporary permits are
used for such reasons as permitting the appli-
cant to practice while awaiting exam results,
regulating persons during required training,
and for emergency situations.

The Board of Hearing Aid Dealers and
Fitters. This Board appears to be using
temporary permits in a manner inconsistent
with the intent expressed in the Code. A
temporary permit is defined in the Board’s
statutes as being issued to an applicant who
is in training to become a licensed hearing
aid dealer and fitter. However, the linkage
between the temporary permit and licensure
is not established in the Board’s regulations.

Moreover, most holders of permits do not
appear serious about becoming licensed. Since
1975, only 35 of the 227 persons who have
been issued temporary permits have even
bothered to take the licensure exam. The
permit system, in effect, allows persons who
do not meet the Board’s regular entry criteria

to be employed as dealers and fitters for as

long as two years.

Recommendation (8). The Board of Hear-
ing Aid Dealers and Fitters should reassess
the temporary permit procedure. Current
practice does not comply with the purpose
stated in the Ceode to train applicants for
licensure. Regulations should be adopted that
establish a clear linkage between a bona fide,
on-the-job training program and qualifications
for licensure. Temporary permits should be
‘issued only to persons who are in boma fide
training.

Fees and Expenditures

Several boards have recently increased the
fees paid by practitioners of regulated profes-
sions. Fees are paid initially for entry into
the profession and periodically in order to
retain credentials. Fees collected are supposed
to cover the boards’ operating expenses,
including a share of the overhead for the
agency and the review board.

—--In_ the past, expenditures have greatly
exceeded revenues for several boards. This
situation has resulted from a reluctance to
raise fees, from unanticipated workloads,
from the expenses of frequent board meet-
ings, and from departmental allocations of
costs to the boards. The expenses of 13
boards exceeded fees collected during the
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1978-80 biennium. Overexpenditures reported
by DOC and DHRB ranged from $146,634
for the Board of Pharmacy and $128,963 for
Private Security Services to $146 for the
Board for the Certification of Librarians and
8177 for the Board for Contractors. These
overexpenditures were covered by surpluses
from other regulatory boards within the
administrative agency.

In 1981, the General Assembly amended
the general statutes relating to occupations
and professions (Section 54-1.28:1), to require
each regulatory board to adjust its fees to
within * 10 percent of the amount of its last
biennial expenses. Because of the placement
of the law in the Code and the wording
used, this law does not appear to apply to
the boards under the Department of Health
Regulatory Boards nor to the three DOC
advisory committees for employment agen-
cies, polygraph examiners, and private secur-
ity services.

Recommendation (9). The General Assem-
bly may wish to amend Section 54-1.28:1 to
include all boards

Expenditures associated with the regula-
tory activities of boards were identified by
JLARC as needing attention.

Private Security Services. Regulation of
private security personnel is one of the
highest cost activities carried out by the
Department of Commerce. New fees were
established after consideration of various
options. However, fees are considerably
higher than in previous years and are far
greater than those for other boards. For
example, initial licensure of a business offer-
ing two categories of private security services
increased from $150 in FY 1980 to $750 in
FY 1981. In addition, many firms also pay
the $15 registration fee for each of their
registered personnel.

During the 1978-80 biennium, expendi-
tures exceeded revenues by $128,963 or 54
percent. The high costs are attributable to
réimbursements to the Criminal Justice
Services Commission for regulating training
programs, costs directly associated with
processing over 1,500 applications a month,
and the portion of DOC administrative over-
head allocated to regulating this profession.

Recommendation (10). Although some



steps have been taken to reduce overall
expenditures, DOC should consider additional
options to maximize resources, reduce unne-
cessary tasks or costs, or distribute costs
equitably among these regulated. It is incum-
bent upon regulated occupations, however, to
bear the necessary costs of regulation.

Board of Behavioral Science. During the

1978-80 biennium, regulation of all beha-
vioral scientists generated $174,429 in reven-

ue. Expenditures for the same period
exceeded revenues by $110,957.

One reason for the large overexpenditure
is the frequency with which the various
boards meet during the year. For example, 79
board meetings were conducted during FY
1980. The costs associated with those meet-
ings equaled $37,779 or 26 percent of the
year’s total expenditures.

Recommendation (11). The Board of Beha-
vioral Science and the Department of
Commerce should work together to determine
ways to reduce the number of meetings and
thereby bring Board expenditures more in
line with revenues.

Athletic Commission. The Virginia
Athletic Commission is responsible for
collecting and distributing the tax revenues
. generated from gate receipts at athletic
events. JLARC found, however, that net tax
revenues were not properly distributed to the
general fund and localities during the
1978-80 biennium.

The problem occurred because the
Department of Commerce did not provide
the Athletic Commission with information
about overhead expenses before tax revenues
were distributed. Therefore, the Commission
was not able to accurately deduct all
expenses from total revenues before allocating
the remainder to the general fund and the
localities at the close of the fiscal year as
required by statute.

DOC has taken steps to develop an
accounting system that will accrue costs on a
timely basis throughout the year. This sytem
“~will- enable the department to allocate over-
head costs to the Commission (and to other
boards) promptly at the close of the fiscal
year. DOC and the Athletic Commission also
intend to reconcile amounts distributed for
1979, 1980, and 1981 to ensure that proper
distributions have been made.

Mandatory Continuing Education

Much controversy surrounds mandatory
continuing education for license renewal in
Virginia and the rest of the nation. It is
generally proposed as a means for ensuring
that practitioners remain knowledgeable in
the profession. Sometimes continuing educa-
tion is required by professional associations.
However, concerns have been raised about (1)
the lack of conclusive evidence that manda-
tory continuing education relates directly to a
practitioner’s continued competency, (2)
administrative problems such as deciding
which courses will count toward the hours
needed, and (3) the prospect of denying reli-
censure of an otherwise capable practitioner
who did not meet the required course hours.
Moreover, it is argued that many practition-
ers make voluntary use of professional semi-
nars and journals.

Several boards in Virginia, including the
Board of Nursing and the Board of Dentistry,
have gone on record in opposition to manda-
tory . continuing education courses and in
favor of voluntary coursework instead. Some
boards are attempting to ensure continued
competency by methods other than manda-
tory continuing education. For example, the
Board of Accountancy has recently adopted
regulations which will require periodic qual-
ity reviews of licensed accounting firms.

Three groups of professionals are
currently required to attend approved contin-
uing education courses:

e Board of Optometry regulations effective
October 31, 1981 change the required
number of hours optometrists must
take every two years from 16 to 24.

e The Certification Committee for Alco-
holism Counselors requires completion
of at least 60 clock hours (or six
continuing education units) every two
years.

® Board of Social Work regulations
require licensees to show evidence of
keeping abreast of new developments in
the profession through continuing
education. The number of hours
required is not specified.

Although not currently implemented, the
certification committee for drug counselors
also has provisions in its regulations which
require continuing education courses.

In addition, some boards require individu-
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als who wish to upgrade their credentials or
renew a lapsed license or certificate to
complete a specified number of hours of
professional education courses. For example,
the State Board of Accountancy requires a
certificate holder who passed the CPA exami-
nation four or more years ago to complete at
least 40 hours of continuing education prior
to becoming licensed.

Recommendation (12). It is generally
advisable for regulatory beoards to promulgate
regulations that are of proven benefit and are
administratively feasible. Boards should care-
fully weigh the apparent problems associated
with continuing education requirements.

Inspection Activities

According to Section 54-1.28, periodic
inspections conducted by occupational regula-
tory boards are to relate to the practice of
each licensee ‘“to ensure that such practi-
tioner is conducting his practice in a compe-
tent manner and within the lawful rules and
regulations” of the board. Eleven boards have
chosen to authorize inspections.

The current inspection activities of the
boards for barbers, hairdressers, and opticians
are not related to the competence of a licen-
see’s practice. Instead, these inspections are
concerned with whether current licenses are
properly displayed. No assessment of a practi-

" tioner's performance or competency is made.
During FY 1980, more than 3,000 inspections
of this nature were conducted.

Recommendation (13). These routine
inspection activities should be discontinued in
faver of inspecting upon receiving a com-
piaint or by using sampling techniques.

Board of Veterinary Medicine. To be
effective, inspections must be able to identify
violations that may exist. This is generally
accomplished by visiting the practitioner’s
office unannounced. The Board of Veterinary
Medicine recently adopted a regulation
which requires three days’ advance notice of
an inspection be given to the owner or oper-
ator of an animal facility. The Board’s action
““Yeflected -a- desire to ensure that the licensee
will be present during the inspection, that
mobile units will be available for inspection,
and that the surgery suite will not be in
use. However, announced inspections also
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permit a licensee to temporarily correct any
deficiencies that exist and do not ensure an
accurate view of existing conditions.

Recommendation (14). If periodic inspec-
tions are deemed necessary, they should be
conducted on an unannounced basis in order
to provide the Board with an accurate view
of the licensee’s compliance record.

Board of Barber Examiners and Board of
Examiners of Professional Hairdressers. State-
wide inspections of the sanitary conditions of
barber shops and beauty shops were
conducted by the State Departinent of Health
until 1979. The health inspections have been
discontinued except where required by local
ordinance. The State Commissioner of Health
indicated that it was his belief that the State
health department had lost the authority to
inspect those shops when statutory language
relating to such inspections was repealed.

However, statutory provisions requiring
health department inspections of barber shops
remain in the Barber Act. The statutory
authority for continued inspections of beauty
shops by the health department may be less
clear. :

Recommendation (15). The Board of
Barder Examiners, the Board of Examiners of
Professional Hairdressers, the Board of
Commerce, and the Department of Health
should cooperatively develop inspection
options to present to the General Assembly.

Options could-include the following: (1) termi-
nation of all statewide inspectioms in the
sbsence of serious known hazards; (2) aszign-
ment of responsibility for compliance and

sanitary inspections to the Department of
Commerce; or (3) relnstatement of sanitary

inspections by the State Department of
Health.

Complaint Handling

Most occupational regulatory boards use
the complaint process as the primary means
for ensuring continued competency and
compliance with State standards. Thus, it is
important that boards act on appropriate

" complaints.

Each board establishes the type of viola-
tions on which it will act. These typically
include allegations of incompetent or unscru-
pulous practice, misrepresentation in obtain-



ing licensure or certification, substance abuse,
employment of unlicensed personnel, and
violations of State law or regulations. Com-
plaints against unlicensed practitioners are
turned over to the local commonwealth attor-
ney if found valid.

JLARC found that some boards have
excluded complaint areas that seem to be
necessary for the public’s protection. For
example, complaints involving standards of
practice of hairdiessers and private security
guards are not acted upon by their respective
regulatory body. Two recent cases involving
these professions suggest that standards of
practice should be included among complaint
areas.

During the summer of 1981, it was
alleged that a private security guard
working for a convenience store shot and
killed an unarmed shoplifter. The suspect
was in the process of running away from
the store with approximately $15 worth
of stolen food when he was shot.

It was determined by Board officials
that this type of incident was outside the
control of occupational regulation until
the courts had acted. Therefore, no action
was taken.

x % %

A woman lost her hair after receiving
a second application of a permanent in
1979. Although the licensed beautician
. denied any impropriety, a circuit court
jury awarded the woman $20,000 in
damages in September 1981.
This complaint was considered by the
Board of Examiners of Professional Hair-
dressers to be outside its purview since
incompetent practice is not an area
included in Board regulations. Therefore,
no regulatory action was taken against
the beautician and none is expected.
Although it may be difficult to assess
such things as faulty applications of hair
treatments or improper use of a firearm, it
appears appropriate for boards to exercise
--their regulatory powers to protect the public
“by investigating complaints that involve
actual physical, emotional, or financial harm
that are alleged to have resulted from
improper practice. In the absence of such
action, incompetent practitioners may
continue to practice their professions.

Recommendation (16). The General
Assembly may wish to address the authority
of regulatory boards to investigate allegations
of incompetent practice to ensure they
adequately protect the public.

Boards vary in the method by which
complaints can be registered. Some boards
will act on phone complaints. Several require
a complainant to file the complaint in writ-
ing before action will be taken on it. Others,
such as the Real Estate Commission, the
Board of Dentistry, the Board for Commercial
Driver Training Schools, and the Board of
Architects, Professional Engineers, Land
Surveyors and Certified Landscape Architects,
also require that the written complaint be
notarized.

The boards appear to favor written com-
plaints to avoid frivolous allegations and to
ensure that complainants will support their
contentions. Only the investigation stage of
complaint processing is protected under the
Freedom of Information Act. All allegations
are public information, nevertheless.

Concern has been expressed in occupa-
tional and professional regulation literature
that requiring complaints to be submitted in
writing reduces the number of legitimate
complaints filed. This occurs for several
reasons:

e a lack of confidence among some
people in their ability to affect political
processes;

e the inability to write intelligibly; and

o the loss of anonymity of the complain-
ant once the complaint is rendered in
writing.

Recommendation (17). Recognizing these
concerns, Virginia’s boards should eliminate
notarization requirements for imitial filing of
complaints, and they should develop proce-
dures for dealing with telephone complaints.

REGULATORY SCOPE

Degree of Regulation

The General Assembly has established in
statute different degrees of regulation for
occupations and professions. These degrees
are to be considered whenever recommenda-
tions are made to the General Assembly
“that a particular profession or occupation
should be regulated, or that a different
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degree of regulation should be imposed on
such profession or occupation not otherwise
regulated by law.” The prescribed degrees of
regulation are to be considered in the follow-
ing order:

1. Stricter private civil actions and crimi-
nal prosecutions are to be considered
first whenever it is determined that
existing penalties are not sufficient to
cradicate existing harm or prevent
potential harm.

2. Inspection and injunction may be
utilized when it is recognized that
current procedures are not sufficient to
cradicatc harm.

3. Registration may be implemented
whenever it is found ‘‘necessary to
determine the impact sustained by the
public from the operation of a profes-
sion or occupation.”

4. Certification may be utilized to grant
“a designation of professional compe-
tence in order that persons may have
a substantial basis for relying on the
services of a practitioner.”

5. Licensing is appropriate when it is
apparent ‘‘that adequate regulation
cannot be achieved by other means.”

The most recent statutes enacted by the

General Assembly relating to occupations and
professions establish criteria to be used to
 determine the proper degree of regulation.
The criteria enumerated in Section 54-1.26(b),
Code of Virginia, are listed below:

1. Whether the practitiorier performs a
service for individuals involving a
hazard to the public health, safety or
welfare, if unregulated.

2. The view of a substantial portion of
the people who do not practice the
particular profession, trade or occupa-
tion.

3. The number of states which have
regulatory provisions similar to those
proposed.

4. Whether there is sufficient demand for
the service for which there is no
substitute not likewise regulated and
this service is required by a substan-
tial"portion of the population.

5. Whether the profession, trade or occu-
pation requires high standards of
public responsibility, character and
performance of each individual
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engaged in the profession, trade or
occupation, as evidenced by established
and published codes of ethics.

6. Whether the profession, trade or occu-
pation requires such skill that the
public generally is not qualified to
select a competent practitioner without
some assurance that he (or she) has
the minimum qualifications.

7. Whether the professional, trade or
occupational associations do not
adequately protect the public from
incompetent, unscrupulous or irrespon-
sible members of the profession, trade
or occupation.

8. Whether current laws which pertain
to public health, safety and welfare
generally are ineffective or inadequate.

9. Whether the characteristics of the
profession, trade or occupation make it
impractical or impossible to prohibit
those practices of the profession, trade
or occupation which are detrimental to
the public health, safety and welfare.

10. Whether the practitioner performs a
service for others which may have a
detrimental effect on third parties-
relying on the expert knowledge of
the practitioner.

The amount of regulation needed to
protect the public interest may also change
from time to time because of technological
advances, increased federal or other State
controls, or a reduction of potential harm
associated with the occupation. The method
used to regulate certain professions may need
to be occasionally reevaluated to determine if
the degree of regulation is still appropriate.

It is apparent that some professions are
regulated in a manner which is inconsistent
with statutory requirements relating to the
degree of regulation. For example, some prac-
titioners are only required to meet registra-
tion requirements when they are explicitly
required by statute to be licensed. While
agencies must comply with requirements in
the Code, authority to use alternative levels
of regulation may be requested from the
General Assembly. It is also difficult to tell
from confusing occupational and board titles
whether a profession is licensed, certified, or
registered.

During the course of this review, JLARC
applied the criteria in the Code to each regu-



lated group and concluded that the current
method of regulating certain professionals
may not be consistent with the criteria.
These should be reviewed by the legislature.

Sanitarians. Persons who meet the
requirements of the State Board of Sanitarian
Examiners may be voluntarily certified. Certi-
fication permits individuals to use the title
‘“registered sanitarian,” which is also used in
other states.

The regulation of sanitarians is somewhat
unusual in that most sanitarians are public
employees who are subject to State and local
personnel policies. Certification is not a
condition of employment or promotion in
public agencies.

Certification of sanitarians actually serves
only to recognize a sanitarian’s professional
credentials on a voluntary basis. The same
“recognition could be accomplished if sanitari-
ans were certified by a professional associa-
tion.

Recommendation (18). The General
Assembly may wish to consider certification
of sanitarians by a professional association as
the credentialing method.

Librarians. Statutory provisions passed
nearly 40 vyears ago require that public
libraries fill professional librarian positions
with persons certified as holding a degree in
library science or its equivalent in order to
retain State aid. The Board for the Certifica-
tion of Librarians grants licenses to applicants
with appropriate degrees without examina-
tion, provides an opportunity for persons to
demonstrate equivalency for licensure by
State ervam, and grants licensure to out-of -
state applicants under certain circumstances.

In addition to the link with State fund-
ing, regulation of librarians is unique in
other ways: regulation focuses on public
sector employees; licensure certificates are
granted for a lifetime with no renewal
required; the one-time fee is one dollar; and
the Board does not have any regulations
relating to the practice of librarianship.

Librarians are regulated in 24 states. Five
states regulate head librarians only. States
which do not regulate librarians directly
often tie minimum professional standards to
state funding or to state personnel require-
ments.

Recommendation (19). The General
Assembly may wish to consider several
different options to achieve the objectives
intended in the regulation of librarians. These
might include the licensure or certification of
head librarians only; transterring the creden-
tialing function to the State Library Board; or
delegating to localities the responsibility to
ensure their personnel have the credentials
necessary to receive State aid.

Review of the appropriate level of regula-
tion of collection agency solicitors and
employment agency counselors is also neces-
sary. The current method used to regulate
these professions does not appear to comply
with statutory requirements.

When a board is created, the General
Assembly specifies the level of regulation for
the various professions or facilities within
the board’s jurisdiction. Boards must establish
requirements in accordance with the degree
of regulation. Although most boards do
comply, JLARC found two instances where
the intent stated in the Code has been inter-
preted to permit different levels from those
suggested.

Collection Agency Solicitors. Section
54-729.3 of the Code establishes licensure as
the appropriate level for regulating collection
agency solicitors. Under licensure, only those
individuals who meet specific qualifications
can legally engage in the occupation.

In contrast to this language in the Code,
the Collection Agency Board states in its
regulations that solicitors are to be certified.
This method of regulation allows anyone to
practice the profession but permits only
qualified persons to use a designated title
such as ‘certified solicitor.”” The Board'’s
procedures do not assure the public of the
degree of regulation that licensure is
intended to convey.

Recommendation (20). The Board should
regulate solicitors at the level specified in
the Code, but may recommend a statutory
change to the General Assembly.

While language in the Code requires
collection agency solicitors to be licensed,
registration, a less restrictive form of regula-
tion, might be recommended. To be regis-
tered, individual employees or firms would
need only to submit their names, locations,
and types of occupation to the Board.
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The Collection Agency Board might deter-
mine, however, that it is necessary to protect
the public through a higher level of regula-
tion. In that case, certification, as defined in
the Code, could be used to inform the public
of those individuals who meet minimum
requirements to be solicitors.

Employment Counselors. The degree of
regulation of employment counselors does not
comply with language in the Code. When
regulatory activity for employment agencies
was established for the Department of
Commerce, the exact level of regulation for
counselors was not specified in the statute.
However, the statute did require that the
Employment Agency Advisory Board ‘‘advise
and make recommendations to the Depart-
ment with respect to appropriate standards of
competence to be established with respect to
employment agency counselors and proce-
dures for certification or licensing of such
counselors.” No mention was made of Board
or agency discretion to select another option.
Nevertheless, DOC has established a proce-
dure which resembles registration for employ-
ment counselors instead of licensing or certi-
fying them.

The Employment Agency Advisory Board
determined that registration was sufficient for
counselors because of the very specific busi-
ness practices prescribed for licensed agencies
in regulation. The counselor is subordinate to
the licensed operator of the business who
must ensure that the entire business is in
compliance.

Recommendation (21). Regulation of
employment counselors needs to comply with
current statutory requirements. However,
consideration might be given to requesting
statutory authority for a less restrictive
method of regulation for this group. Statutory
authorization for use of registration could be
recommended to the General Assembly if
deemed appropriate.

-— In several cases, titles of some occupa-
tional groups and regulatory boards contri-
bute to the confusion as to whether a given
profession is licensed, certified, or registered.
The following examples illustrate the prob-
lem:

e "Registered barbers” and ‘registered

nurses’’ are actually licensed.
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e A ‘'registered sanitarian” is actually
certified.

e A “certified nurse practitioner”’ is both
licensed as a nurse and certified as
having special qualificztions.

e The Board for the Certification of
Water and Wastewater Works Operators
licenses rather than certifies its practi-
tioners.

Recommendation (22). Boards should
correct the confusion which may exist by the
use of misleading adjectives in occupational

titles. In some cases, popular usage may
dictate retention of an otherwise misleading

title, but the boards should correct titles
where possible. The General Assembly may
wish to amend relevant sections of the Code
to clarify confusing adjectives.

Composition of Regulatory Boards

Increasing citizen representation and
granting full representation to certain regu-
lated groups are two areas of controversy
regarding the composition of Virginia’s occu-
pational regulatory boards.

Citizen Members. Members of occupa-
tional boards are often faced with an internal
conflict of regulating a profession in which
they participate. Unlike members of most
other State governmental boards and commis-
sions, members of occupational regulatory
boards are typically practitioners in the regu-
lated profession. In fact, positions are
frequently filled from lists of nominees
submitted by professional associations. Some
individuals have even continued to serve as
association officials after appointment to an
occupational regulatory board even though
requested to resign their positions.

In an attempt to provide more public
involvement in occupational regulatory
matters, the General Assembly passed legisla-
tion in 1974 specifically mandating that two
citizen members be placed on each newly
created occupational regulatory board. Section
54-1.18:1, Code of Virginia, defines a citizen
member as someone who ‘(i) is not by train-
ing or experience a practitioner of the profes-
sion or occupation regulated by the board,
(ii) is not the spouse, parent, child, or sibling
of such a practitioner, and (iii) has no direct



or indirect financial interest, except as a
consumer, in the practice of the profession or
occupation regulated by the board.” Language
in the Code also states that citizen members
shall participate in all regulatory matters
except ‘‘decisions regarding the examination
of applicants for licensure or decisions regard-
" ing the professional competence of licensees.”
Ten boards are currently required by statute
to have citizen members.

Legislation has also been proposed in
recent years to place citizen members on
some existing boards. Following are some of
the concerns that have been expressed over
these proposals:

e whether to substitute citizens for some
practitioner members or increase overall
board size to include citizen members;

e whether some boards are being singled
out as needing public representation;
and

e whether citizen members can be effec-
tive on boards.

Recommendation (23). The General
Assembly may wish to develop cross-cutting
legislation which would place citizen
members on each professional and occupa-
tional regulatory board. This action would
serve to increase public representation on
existing as well as new boards and would not
single eut any particular beard In addition,
to aveid any potential cenflict of interests,
the legislature may also wish to require
board member appeintees to resign an official
post in a related professional association.

Board Representation. Board representation
is generally limited to groups whose practice
is explicitly regulated. Some additional groups
desire representation on existing boards; some
represented groups want more extensive
voting privileges for their representative on
boards.

Two professional groups have indicated a
* desire for legislative action which would
change their status regarding board represen-
tation.

Non-Certified accountants have some

concern -because they are not represented on_

the State Board of Accountancy. Non-certified
accountants and CPAs differ in the services
they may provide and in their qualifications.
A bill was considered by the General Assem-
bly in 1981 to require one Board member to

be a non-certified accountant. The bill gener-
ated a great deal of controversy and was not
passed.

Members of the state association of non -
certified accountants feel that representation
on the State Board of Accountancy is neces-
sary to ensure that regulations governing the
practice of CPAs do not unduly restrict the
practice of non-CPAs. It is the position of
the Accountants Society of Virginia that
board representation for non-CPAs would
provide for closer consideration of the effect
of Board rules and regulations on their
branch of the profession. They want to be
able to use the title public accountant and to
indicate on financial statements that they
have expert knowledge of accounting princi-
ples.

CPA association representatives oppose the
move to place a non-certified accountant on
the State Board of Accountancy. This group
feels that non-CPAs are not regulated and,
therefore, have no need for board member-
ship. They do not feel that non-CPAs should
be permitted to use titles and forms that
would inaccurately represent their level of
skill to the public.

The State Board of Accountancy’s position
is that there is no need for regulation of
persons not representing themselves as CPAs
or public accountants and who are not repre-
senting themselves as knowledgeable in
accounting and auditing matters. Further, the
Board feels that any representation to third
parties regarding generally accepted auditing
and accounting standards requires the proof
of current knowledge in the field which can
best be demonstrated by passing the uniform
CPA exam.

Dental hygienists favor more representa-
tion on the State Board of Dentistry. Grant-
ing increased representation would include
the lifting of current voting restrictions
placed on the hygienist board member and
removing the statutory provision limiting to
one the number of hygienists on the board.

The State dental hygienist association has
noted that 20 states grant full voting rights
to hygienists on dental boards. In Virginia,
the hygienist member may vote only on
matters related to the practice of dental
hygiene. The hygienist association states that
since the primary role of the Board of
Dentistry is the oversight of the practice of
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dentistry and dental hygiene, “there is no
rationale to deny one of the regulated
licensed professions full participation in the
regulatory process.”

Although the Virginia Dental Association
supported the addition of a dental hygienist
to the Board of Dentistry, it does not support
the hygienists’ current proposals to alter
board representation and voting requirements.

Both of these policy issues are likely to
be brought before the General Assembly in
future sessions. The extent of representation
of related professions on boards is a matter
of public policy which needs to be deter-
mined by the General Assembly.

Duplication of Effort

There does not appear to be widespread
duplication of effort between regulatory
boards or other State agencies. However,
some duplication does exist, primarily in the
regulation of clinical psychologists, commer-
cial driver training schools, other schools,
and nursing home administrators.

Clinical Psychologists. Duplication exists
because the regulation of clinical psycholo-
gists is split between two boards, the Board
of Psychology and the Board of Medicine. A
clinical psychologist is defined in Section
54-936, Code of Virginia, as “‘a psychologist
who is competent to apply principles and
techniques of psychological evaluation and
psychotherapy to individual clients for the
purpose of ameliorating or attenuating prob-
lems of behavioral and/or emotional malad-
justment.”’

In accordance with the Code, the Board

of Psychology evaluates and examines appli-
cants for licensure as clinical psychologists,
collects initial fees, and makes licensure
recommendations to the Board of Medicine.
The Board of Medicine issues the license and
is responsible for ‘““all instructions regarding
the administration of such license.” This
responsibility has included setting and collect-
ing renewal fees and dividing them with the
Board of Psychology.
B This split arrangement has existed since
"=1966 when all psychologists became licensed.
‘Several factors indicate that a review of the
current arrangement is necessary:

e Membership of both boards is required

to include a licensed clinical psycholo-
gist.
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e Responsibility for the investigation of
complaints has not been clearly estab-
lished in practice. Officials of the Board
of Medicine indicate that the Board
took disciplinary actions against one
clinical psychologist in 1975. The Board
of Psychology has investigated three
allegations of unlicensed practice of
clinical psychology since 1977.

e The Board of Psychology issues a
license in the specialty of “Psychology
(Clinical)” which, according to psychol-
ogy regulations, permits practitioners to
engage in the same range of practice as
persons licensed by the Board of Medi-
cine as clinical psychologists.

e Recent proposals by the Board of Medi-
cine to adopt their own examination
criteria for clinical psychologists would
be duplicative if adopted. The Board of
Medicine also proposed to stop sharing
renewal fees with the Board of Psychol-

ogy.

Recommendation (24). The General
Assembly may wish to review the sharing of
responsibilities for licensing clinical psycholo-
gists between the Boards of Psychology and
Medicine and assign sole responsibility to one
board

Training Schools. To secure federal high-
way funds which were dependent upon the
regulation of driver educasion, the Common-
wealth created the Board for Commercial
Driver Training Schools, and also assigned
supervision of driver training schools for
students between 16 and 18 years of age to
the State Department of Education. This
arrangement has resulted in some duplication
of responsibilities and little coordination
among the activities or requirements of the
Board, the Department of Education and
other State agencies such as the Division of
Motor Vehicles which licenses operators and
vehicles.

In addition to driver training schools,
several other training programs are regulated
by occupational boards. These include nurs-
ing programs, polygraphy schools, barber
schools, funeral services training programs,
and real estate schools. (Cosmetology schools
were regulated by the Board of Examiners of
Professional Hairdressers until recently when
the Attorney General advised it that such



regulation was outside its scope of authority.)
State agencies such as the Department of
Education, Council of Higher Education, and
the Criminal Justice Services Commission are
also responsible for approving and regulating
educational programs and training schools
relating to the Commonwealth’s regulated
professions and occupations.

Consolidation of the regulation of proprie-
tary schools under the Department of
"Commerce has been explored for some time.
Difficulties appear to include opposition from
some types of schools and the mixed funding
of regulatory activities through special or
general funds.

Recommendation (25). The General
Assembly may wish to require the Secretar-
ijes of Education and Commerce and
Resources to develop a recommendation for
legislative consideration to reduce duplica-
tive regulation of proprietary schools to the
extent possible.

Board of Nursing Home Administrators.
The Board of Nursing Home Administrators
holds the nursing home administrator respon-
sible for maintaining a valid license and for
operating the home in a competent manner.
But in the absence of formally defined proce-
dures and terms for the reporting of viola-
tions found by the Department of Health, it
is difficult for the Board to determine the
extent of problems caused by the negligence
and incompetence of administrators and to
discipline practitioners effectively.

All inspections are currently made by the
Department of Health. It is responsible for
licensing facilities and for enforcing compli-
ance with Medicaid and licensure standards.
Since the facility license is held by the
owner, it is the owner of the home that is
cited. If violations persist, the department
may revoke a license for the facility but not
the administrator’s license.

In 1981, the Department of Health
conducted 525 nursing home inspections.
Violations were handled in accord with the
- routine departmental procedure of citing
owners. However, no notice of violations by
administrators or notice of poorly adminis-
tered homes was made to the Board. Accord-
ing to a representative sample of nursing
home violations examined by JLARC in
1978, nearly half of all violations could be
attributed to administrative performance and

could have been addressed by an administra-
tor's action.

Recommendation (26). The Board of Nurs-
ing Home Administrators should arrange for
the Department of Health to provide it with
regular notification of nursing home viola-
tions attributable to the negligence or
incompetence of administrators. The Board,
on the other hand, should be certain it
communicates to the Department of Health
what constitutes reasonable scope of practice
and unprofessional conduct. Such sharing of
information has been discussed but not imple-
mented in the past. Given the importance of
protecting the elderly and infirm in nursing
homes, personnel in both agencies should
develop appropriate procedures for handling
and following up on reported violations.

Scope of Practice Controversies

Scope of practice controversies, or ‘“‘turf
battles,” exist between several related profes-
sions in the Commonwealth. These contro-
versies center on what constitutes the boun-
daries of practice of each of the professions
involved.

Scope of practice refers to the duties and
responsibilities of a particular profession and
the services which that particular group is
permitted to provide to the public as defined
by State law or regulations. In the absence cf
professional regulation, practice boundaries
are defined by the individual practitioner’s
training, personal desires and limitations, and
work environment.

The existing scope of practice for a parti-,
cular regulated profession is usually defined
ir the enabling legislation of its respective
board. The scope typically reflects the level
of training associated with the profession and
the historical definition of the profession’s
practice.

Frequently, professionals want to change
their areas of practice and prepare legislation
for review by the General Assembly.
Proposed changes often reflect changes in
education, training, and the needs of consum-
ers or practitioners. Legislative decisions on
proposed scope of practice changes are often
controversial because they are viewed as
directly affecting the livelihood and auton-
omy of all groups involved.

Controversies described in other sections
of the report are summarized below.
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Ophthalmologists, Optometrists, and Opti-
cians. Scope of practice controversies have
continued for the past several years between
the three professions providing vision care in
Virginia. ophthalmology, optometry, and opti-
cianry. These three groups are licensed by
separate boards under two different adminis-
trative agencies. The differences between the
three professions’ training, current scopes of
practice, and licensing boards are detailed in
Table 2.

Current areas of controversy relating to
the three professions’ scopes of practice
include the following:

e dispensing of contact lenses by opticians
without supervision by ophthalmologists
or optometrists;

e prohibition on the use of drugs by
optometrists;

o referral of patients with certain eye
symptoms to ophthalmologists; and

e supervision of unlicensed employees
working for eye care practitioners.

Dentists and Dental Hygienists. Virginia’'s
dentists and dental hygienists are both regu-
lated by the State Board of Dentistry.
However, a major area of conflict exists
between the two professions involving super-
vision of hygienist activities. Hygienists are
currently required by the Code to work

under the ‘‘direct supervision’” of dentists.
Direct supervision requires a dentist to
personally observe and evaluate the services
performed by the hygienist.

Hygienists favor statutory changes to
broaden their scope of practice by permitting
them to work under the ‘‘general supervi-
sion” of dentists. Under this method, dentists
would authorize all treatment to be
conducted on patients but would not rou-
tinely inspect each procedure performed by
hygienists. Supervision would not have to be
on-ssite. Dentists do not feel a change is
warranted because direct supervision is
believed to ensure quality of care and
immediate reaction in emergency situations.

Audiologists and Hearing Aid Dealers.
Audiologists and hearing aid dealers are part
of the health care delivery system for people
with hearing impairments. Audiologists hold
master’s degrees in audiology and provide
rehabilitative assistance to persons with hear-
ing problems. Hearing aid dealers and fitters
are high school graduates who have passed a
course teaching them to fit hearing aids and
engage in fitting and selling amplification
devices. The groups are licensed by separate
boards.

There is considerable controversy between
the groups because only licensed dealers are

Table 2
EYECARE PROFESSIONALS

Optometrists

* Non-physicians
(Doctors of Optometry)

o Perform visual exams

Ophthalmologists
¢ Physicians (M.D.’s)

e Diagnose and treat eye
disease

* Perform eye surgery e Cannot prescribe drugs;
may prescribe lenses,
other optical aids or

visual training
e Can fit and sell lenses

| e May prescribe drugs, lenses,
—=_other. forms of treatment

* Can fit and sell lenses

¢ Licensed by Board of Medicine » Licensed by Board of Optometry

Optician
¢ Non-physicians
(two-year training course)

e May not examine eyes or
prescribe treatment

e Cannot prescribe drugs, lenses,
other optical aids, or visual
training

* Adjust frames and fit
eyeglasses or contact lenses
according to prescriptions
by ophthalmologists and
optometrists

e Licensed by Board of Opticians
s
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permitted by law to fit and sell hearing aids.
Audiologists maintain that they are trained
to provide this service as part of their
comprehensive treatment of the client.

Resolving Scope of Practice Controversies.
To some extent, scope of practice controver-
sies can be reviewed as a matter of perfor-
mance of a regulatory board. However,
because the livelihood and occupational
autonomy of professionals are often seen to
be at stake, the resolution of scope of prac-
tice controversies involves policy decisions.

It is often very difficult for the General
Assembly to determine all of the relevant
facts necessary to reach a decision regarding
a turf battle between professions. Therefore,
it is very difficult for legislators to discern
whether a legislative change 1is being
proposed for legitimate concerns.

Recommendation (27). The General
Assembly might consider handling scope of
practice controversies by requiring the Board
of Commerce and the Commission of Health
Regulatory Boards to review and make
recommendations to the General Assembly
when scope of practice controversies will
require legislative changes involving more
than one board. This process would be similar
to that now used to review requests for reguv-
lating new professions.

The Board of Commerce and the Commis-
sion of Health Regulatory Boards could
specitically address such policy options as the
following: .

1. The advantages and disadvantages of
con.bining related professions into a single
board. For example, the Board of Behavioral
Science and the Board of Architects, Profes-
sional Engineers, Land Surveyors and Certi-
fied Landscape Architects were created to
encourage related professions to deal coopera-
tively with scope of practice concerna

2. The effect of lowering the degree of
regulation of the disputing prefessions. Licen-
sure, for example, exacerbates disputes by
strictly defining parameters of practice. In
contrast, certification assures consumers that
—-certified practitioners are qualified, but
allows others to practice.

3. Additional methods for handling scope
of practice controversies.

ADDITIONAL AREAS OF
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

During the course of this stud;, JLARC
identified a number of areas which the staff
believes will be of special interest to the
General Assembly. Such topics range from
recent regulatory decisions concerning new
types of athletic events to the regulation of
real estate franchise advertising and initiation
of quality reviews for accountancy firms.
These topics apply only to a single board
and are therefore discussed separately in the
following narratives on each individual board.
Additional recommendations may be found
in those narratives.

This report has addressed the general
performance of the regulatory boards within
the Department of Commerce and the
Department of Health Regulatory Boards.
Baseline data has been provided on each
board and specific areas of performance and
of special legislative interest have been high-
lighted. A number of recommendations have
been made to correct deficiencies in perfor-
mance or in compliance with statutory guide-
lines. Where a subject under review involves
solely a policy issue or scope of practice
dispute among professions, staff recommenda-
tions have not been made.

The Legislative Program Review and Eval-
uation Act was designed to ensure public
exposure of study findings and coordination
with the interests of standing committees. A
subcommittee composed of members of the
House and Senate General Laws Committees
has cooperated with JLARC during the
course of this study. These committees have
independent responsibility under Section
30-74, Code of Virginia for holding hearings
on complaints relative to board activities, and
under Section 30-76 to make further recom-
mendations for legislative action. Pursuant to
the Act and for the purposes specified above,
this report is directed to their attention.
L]
This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
- Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.
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STATE BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY

A certified public accountant (CPA) is
required to be skilled in systems of
recording and summarizing business and
financial transactions and in analyzing
and reporting the results. Regulation is
intended to ensure that licensed and
certified public accountants meet profes-
sional standards of ethics and are quali-
fied to perform specified accounting func-
tions.

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

Virginia was the twenty-first state to
regulate the accounting profession when the
first law regulating accountants was passed in
1910. The State Board of Accountancy was
established in 1928 to carry out the regula-
tory process.

Two levels of CPA regulation are carried
out in Virginia: certification and licensure. A
certified public accountant has met the
Board’s entry criteria and passed the appropri-
ate national exam. This accountant is permit-
ted to use the title “Certified Public Accoun-
tant” or the abbreviation “CPA.”

A license is also required of each legally
liable member of a practice unit engaged in
public accountancy. A practice unit could be
a sole proprietorship, a partnership, a profes-
sional corporation, or any combination ther-
eof. In addition to having each of its liable
__members licensed, a practice unit must also
~-obtain—a permit or license. Public accounting
includes services: involving the wuse of
accounting or auditing skills, management
advisory or consulting services, or the perfor-
mance of tax services.

Approximately 2,500 practitioners are
currently licensed to practice as public

accountants in Virginia. About 2,100 addi-
tional practitioners are certified but not
licensed. Licensed CPA practice units number
790.

Individual accountants who are employed
by licensed CPAs or who are not practicing
public accountancy need not be certified or
licensed nor do accountants working for State
and federal governments.

CPAs are regulated in all states. Most
states allow only persons regulated by the
state to attest to the accuracy of financial
data.

As of 1979, 15 states also regulated the
practice of non-certified accountants. Most of
these states continue to license accountants
grandfathered in and do not issue new certi-
ficates to non-certified accountants. Generally,
states permit non-regulated accountants to
provide most accounting services, except the
audit and attest functions, to the general
public. They may not, however, use certain
titles or otherwise hold themselves out in
such a way as to appear to be certified or
licensed.

The Board of Accountancy has seven
members: a lawyer, an educator, and five
practicing certified public accountants with at
least three vyears of experience. Board
members may serve two five-year terms. The
Board has regular quarterly meetings, with
other meetings occuring throughout the year.

The provisions in the Code of Virginia
which govern the State Board of Accoun-
tancy are Section 54-84 et seq.

REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

To be certified, an applicant must meet

the following criteria:

1. have earned passing grades in all parts
of the national CPA written examina-
tion and an examination on profes-
sional ethics;
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2. have “good moral character,” which is
defined as possessing fiscal integrity
and lacking any history of dishonesty
or non-compliance with Board regula-
tions;

3. have earned 120 semester hours of
credit from an accredited institution
that is judged by the Board to be
essentially equivalent to a baccalau-
reate (after December 31, 1981, a
baccalaureate or higher degree will be
required of all applicants);

4. have completed at least 27 semester
hours in accounting courses including
accounting principles, auditing, cost
accounting, and commercial law; and

5. have gained at least two years'
accounting experience with emphasis
on the attest function; or three years’
accounting experience in its broadest
sense; or four years of diversified
teaching experience in accounting
subjects plus five months’ experience
in a public accounting firm.

An applicant for licensure is not required
to meet any additional qualifications beyond
those prescribed for certification. To become
licensed, the CPA must file an application,
notify the Board of his or her business affili-
ation, and pay the required fee. An indivi-
dual not previously licensed within four
years of passing the CPA exam must also
show that 40 hours of continuing profes-
sional education have been completed during
the prior year. According to Board officials,
the purpose of this requirement is to bring
the individual up to current pronouncements
in accounting.

Successful applicants for certification must
pass a national competency examination and
an exam on professional ethics, both of
which are developed and scored by the
American Institute of Certified Public
Accountants (AICPA). The competency exam
for CPAs consists of four parts: auditing,
business law, theory of accounts, and
—accounting practice. This two-and-a-half day
€éxam is Offered simultaneously nationwide in
May and November. Virginia’s two test sites
are Norfolk and Roanoke.

Approximately one-fourth of the exami-
nees pass the CPA exam on a given testing
date. In November 1980, 1,067 persons took
the exam and 287 passed. Most persons take
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the exam at least twice, and all parts must
be passed within six successive, scheduled
examinations. The minimum passing score on
each part of the exam is 75.

The supplemental exam on professional
ethics in accounting is conducted on a home -
study basis and is not tailored to Virginia’s
laws or regulations. Thirty-five states require
their CPA applicants to pass this ethics
exam.

The State Board of Accountancy may
issue a certificate to a certificate holder from
another state provided the accountant meets
Virginia's requirements. An out-of-state appli-
cant who has passed the CPA examination in
another state is not required to retake it
since it is accepted nationally.

FEES AND EXPENDITURES

Licensure and certification fees were
recently increased to cover anticipated costs
resulting from changes in the regulations and
increased fees charged by the AICPA to
grade the exam. Original certification and
examination fees rose from $55 to $85. In
addition, a new biennial certificate mainte-
nance fee was instituted to help defray the
costs of a new record-keeping regulation to
identify where certified, unlicensed accoun-
tants are employed.

The Board of Accountancy assesses the
following applicable fees:

Examination and certification $85
Reexamination 75
Certification by endorsement 85
Biennial license (individual) 30
Biennial firm permits (fee depends 50 to
on size of firm) 2.500
Certificate maintenance 10

For the 1978-80 biennium, revenues
exceeded expenditures by $20,100 as shown
below.

L
r FY 1979 FY 1980 Total

Revenues $225,622 $217.,061 $442,583
Expenditures 180,474 232,009 422,483

Balance $ 35,048 ($ 14,948) $ 20,100

Source: Department of Commerce Annual
Reports, FY 1979 and FY 1980.




ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Biennial renewal is required of certificate
holders by October 1 of even-numbered
years. Fees must also be paid by certificate
holders who wish to remain registered as
non-practicing CPas or to become licensed
practitioners. Each practice unit will be
required to complete a self-assessment question-
naire for renewal in 1982. Also, as part of
its effort to ensure continued competency,
the Board will conduct quality reviews of a
sample of public accounting firms to ensure
that accounting and auditing procedures are
acceptable. This procedure will begin in May
1983.

According to Board data, 103 complaints
were filed against practitioners between
November 1977 and July 1981. Most com-
plaints involved alleged substandard practice.
Occasionally the Board receives allegations
about non-certified accountants who are
presenting themselves to the public as CPAs.

Investigations of complaints against CPAs
are carried out by the Department of
Commerce’s investigative unit. If a complaint
involves a technical aspect of substandard
practice, a CPA is sometimes employed as a
consultant.

Disciplinary actions may be taken against
a practitioner by the Board of Accountancy
for several reasons, among which are the
following:

e fraud or deceit in obtaining a certificate
Or permit;

e loss of license in another state;

e dishonesty, fraud, or gross negligence in
the practice of public accounting;

e non-compliance with Board regulations;

e conviction of a felony; or

e any other conduct reflecting adversely
upon the licensee’s fitness to practice
public accounting.

The majority of the actions taken result
in consent agreements between the Board and
the practitioner involved. The Board has also
suspended or revoked four certificates
between November 1977 and July 1981.

AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Board Representation of Non-Certified
Accountants

Concerns have been raised by some non -
certified accountants because they are not
represented on the State Board of Accountan-
cy. A bill was considered by the General
Assembly in 1981 to require one Board
member to be a non-certified accountant.
The bill generated a great deal of controversy
and was not passed.

Non-certified accountants and CPAs differ
in the services they provide and in their
qualifications. Non-certified accountants
provide such services as tax reports, payroll
reports, management services, preparation of
unaudited financial statements and bookkeep-
ing. CPAs, on the other hand, may provide
all of these services plus those reserved for
them by Board regulations. CPAs may

e review financial information, which
involves compiling the firm’s data and
independently assessing the accuracy of
a portion of the data;

e audit financial data, which involves a
complete determination of the audited
firm’s financial position according to
generally accepted accounting principles;
and

® attest to the accuracy of audited data
presented in a financial statement.

Qualifications of the CPA and the non -
certified accountant also differ. State regula-
tions establish minimum educational and
experience requirements for a CPA in addi-
tion to passage of the nationai CPA exam.
Non-certified accountants are not required to
meet these minimum qualifications nor to
pass a standardized exam in order to practice
their profession. Consequently, some non-cer-
tified accountants may have more education
and experience than CPAs while others have
less.

Members of the state association of non -
certified accountants feel that representation
on the State Board of Accountancy is neces-
sary to ensure that regulations governing the
practice of CPAs do not unduly restrict the
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practice of non-CPAs.It is the position of the
Accountants Society of Virginia that board
representation for non-CPAs would provide
for closer consideration of the effect of Board
rules and regulations on their branch of the
profession. They have gone to court in the
past to gain permission to use the title “ac-
countant,” and they oppose being restricted
by the Board of Accountancy from using the
title “public accountant.”” The non-certified
accountants also seek the freedom to indicate
on financial statements that they have expert
knowledge in accounting, as opposed to audit-
ing, and that they have used generally
accepted accounting principles. Officials of
the Accountants Society indicate that they do
not wish to be licensed by the Board.

Representatives of the Virginia Society of
CPAs oppose representation of non-certified
accountants on the State Board of Accountan-
cy. This group feels that the non-CPAs are
not regulated by the Board and, therefore,
have no need for Board membership. CPAs
prefer that a citizen member be appointed to
the Board if an additional member is deemed
necessary to represent both the public and
non-CPA interests. CPAs are also concerned
that this proposal is an attempt by the non-
certified accountants to become licensed-a
move which CPAs oppose for two reasons:
(1) they think that regulation of non-certified
. accountants would result in the creation of a
new title for the group and further confuse
the public; and (2) they do not believe that
non-CPAs have proven that.they can meet
minimum objective standards.

The State Board of Accountancy’s position
is that there is no need for regulation of
persons not representing themselves as CPAs
or public accountants and not representing
themselves as being knowledgeable in
accounting and auditing matters. Further, the
Board’s position is that any representation to
third parties regarding generally accepted
auditing and accounting standards requires
the proof of current knowledge in the field
which can best be met by the practitioner’s
passing the uniform CPA exam.

Quality Reviews

When the State Board of Accountancy
recently lowered the requirements for grant-
ing a CPA certificate, it also adopted a regu-
lation requiring a ‘“quality review” of a
sample of CPA firms. The Board’s position is
that in order to perform well CPAs must
remain current with developments in the
field. The quality reviews are intended to
ensure that current CPA practices adhere to
generally accepted accounting and auditing
standards. Although several accounting firms
periodically require these reviews, Virginia is
the first state to adopt quality reviews in its
regulations.

The reviews will begin in May 1983 and
be conducted by independent consultants. All
costs associated with the reviews will be
borne by the Board. Increased fees will help
defray these costs. Any CPA firm which has
contracted for its own independent quality
review within the last five years will
normally be exempted from the Board’s
review. Specific details of the quality review
are being worked out by a Board committee
in conjunction with representatives from the
Virginia Society of CPAs.

The Virginia Society of CPAs, a profes-
sional association with more than 3,000
members, favors the concept of quality
review but is opposed to placing the review
authority under the Board. The society is
concerned that the confidentiality of client
records examined during a Board quality
review might be compromised because of
public disclosure laws affecting public agen-
cies.

This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.



STATE BOARD OF ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS AND CERTIFIED

A

Architects, engineers, land surveyors,
and landscape architects engage in vari-
ous aspects of the design and develop-
ment of structures or projects such as
residential, commercial, industrial or
institutional buildings and transportation
or utility systems. Regulation is intended
to ensure that practitioners of each
profession have appropriate skills and
knowledge of applied mathematics and
science.

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

The Board of Architects, Professional
Engineers and Land Surveyors in Virginia
was created in 1920. In 1980, the name of
the Board and its responsibilities were
expanded to include landscape architects.

The Board of Architects, Professional
Engineers, Land Surveyors and Certified
Landscape Architects issues licenses to archi-
tects, engineers, and land surveyors and
issues certificates to landscape architects. The
scope of practice of each profession and the
number of persons regulated as of May 1981
are shown below:

Profession Number

Architects design and supervise 2,900
the construction of buildings,
structures, or projects.

Engineers design and supervise the 9,718
development of structures, machines,
products, systems, and processes.

Land surveyors 3(a) determine the 649
boundaries of land areas for convey-
ancing or for the establishment and

LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS

reestablishment of internal and
external land boundaries.

Land surveyors 3(b) provide all of 172
the services above plus preparation

of plats, plans, and profiles for

roads, drainage, and sewer extensions.

Landscape architects plan and supervise 2
projects related to the functional and
aesthetic use of land.

The Board also issues general or limited
certificates of authority to professional corpo-
rations. A general certificate of authority
entitles a corporation to practice all of the
regulated professions. A limited certificate of
authority permits a corporation to practice
only the profession(s) shown on its certifi-
cate.

Two-thirds of the board of directors of a
domestic corporation must be licensed or
certified in the profession(s) the corporation
is practicing. Capital stock ownership is
limited to professionals licensed in Virginia
and non-licensed employees. At least two-
thirds of the stock must be owned by
licensed professionals. Foreign corporations
must comply, except that stockholders need
not hold Virginia licenses. As of May 1981,
230 corporations were approved for practice.

Exemptions from regulatory provisions
include :

e owners building on their own property
when the public health and safety are
not involved;

e local, State, and federal employees who
do not engage in private practice;

e utilities, in projects for their own use;

e corporations involved in interstate
commerce whose facilities are subject to
regulation by the State Corporation
Commission;

e the practice of professional engineering
and land surveying by a licensed archi-
tect when the practice is incidental to
an architectural undertaking;
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e the practice of architecture and land
surveying by an engineer that is inci-
dental to engineering; and

o the practice of engineering, architecture,
land surveying, or landscape architec-
ture as an employee of a licensed engi-
neer, architect, land surveyor, or certi-
fied landscape architect, as long as that
person is not placed in responsible
charge of design or supervision.

All 50 states regulate architects, engi-
neers, and land surveyors in some way, and
36 states regulate landscape architects.

The Board is composed of three archi-
tects, three engineers, three land surveyors,
and two certified landscape architects. All
members are appointed for five years and
cannot serve more than two successive terms.
Board members must have actively practiced
their professions as principals or as instruc-
tors for at least ten vyears before being
appointed to the Board. In FY 1980, the
Board or its sections met 29 times.

The provisions in the Code of Virginia
which govern the Board are Section 54-17.1
et seq.

REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

To be licensed or certified as an archi-
tect, engineer, land surveyor, or landscape
architect in Virginia, an individual must

1. be at least 18 years of age;

2. be of good moral character;

3. have appropriate training and experi-
ence; and

4. pass an examination. .

In addition, each profession has specific
education, experience, and examination
requirements leading to licensure or certifica-
tion.

Architects. An individual seeking initial
licensure as an architect must pass the
National Council of Architectural Registra-
tion Boards (NCARB) professional examina-
-tion. There are two ways to qualify for the
professional exam:

1. have a five-year, professional degree in
architecture and three vyears of
approved experience in architecture; or

2. have a combination of education and
experience which is equivalent to five
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years of formal education and pass the:
equivalency exam.
Candidates for licensure must also pass a
design examination.

Architectural examinations are developed
by the NCARB and the Educational Testing
Service, and the Board purchases and admin-
isters the exam. The National Council grades
the exams and sets a recommended passing
score, which the Board has accepted.

Examinations include (1) the qualifying
test, which measures degree-equivalent know-
ledge of persons who have not graduated
from an accredited school; (2) the design
examination, a 12-hour examination which
tests a candidate’s ability to solve an architec-
tural problem using graphic techniques; and
(3) the professional examination, a written
test which requires a candidate to assume
the role of a professional who is responsible
for a project from planning through construc-
tion management.

Engineers. To be licensed as an engineer,
an individual must have specific education
and experience and pass one or two examina-
tions. There are five ways to qualify for
licensure:

1. graduate from an approved four-year
engineering program, have four years
of professional experience, and pass
two written examinations; or

2. graduate from a nonapproved four-year
engineering or related science program,
have six years of professional experi-
ence, and pass two written examina-
tions; or

3. have the equivalent of a four-year
program through selfstudy or other
means, have ten years of professional
experience, and pass two written
examinations; or

4. graduate from an approved four-year
engineering program, have 20 years of
experience, and pass one written
examination; or

5. graduate from an approved four-year
engineering program, have 30 years of
experience, and pass an oral examina-
tion given by the Board relating to
the experience, work, and professional
capabilities of the candidate.

Engineering examinations are developed
by the National Council of Engineering
Examiners and the Educational Testing



Service. There are two exams: an eight-hour
written exam on the fundamentals of engi-
neering, and an eight-hour written exam on
the principles and practice of engineering.

The examinations are administered by
the Department of Commerce under author-
ity from the Board. Exams are graded and
scored by the National Council and the
Educational Testing Service.

Engineer-in-Training. Persons seeking
certificates as engineers-in-training can qualify
in three ways: .

1. graduate from an approved engineering
program and pass the fundamentals of
engineering examination developed by
the National Council of Engineering
Examiners; or

2. graduate from a nonapproved engineer-
ing or related science program, have
two years of professional experience,
and pass the examination on the
fundamentals of engineering; or

3. graduate from an approved four-year
engineering technology curriculum,
have two years of experience, and pass
the fundamentals of engineering
examination.

Land Surveyor. To be licensed as a land
surveyor, an individual must meet one of
the following sets of criteria:

1. have six years of practical experience,
pass a national examination, gain two
years of additional experience, and
pass the Board examination; or

2. graduate with a BS. degree from a
Board-approved program specializing in
land surveying, gain one year of
experience, pass a national exam, have
two additional years of professional
experience, and pass the Board exam;
or

3. graduate with a BS. degree from a
Board-approved program specializing in
land surveying, have two or more
years of professional experience, pass a
national examination, gain two years
of additional experience, and pass the
Board exam.

Land surveyor examinations consist of
two parts. Part I, which is developed by the
National Council of Engineering Examiners,
covers the fundamentals of surveying. It is
purchased and administered by the Board and
DOC. The passing score on Part 1 is 70

percent. Part II is developed by the Board
and covers the practice of surveying in
Virginia. The passing score for the second
part of the examination is 75 percent with a
minimum of 70 percent on each of the two
parts.

A special eight-hour exam is given for
individuals who will be surveying as 3(b)
category surveyors. This exam is developed,
administered, and scored by the Board. The
minimum passing grade is 75 percent.

Certified Landscape Architect. A person
seeking certification as a landscape architect
can qualify in one of three ways:

1. graduate from an approved landscape
architecture program and pass a profes-
sional examination; or

2. have at least eight years of education
and experience in landscape architec-
ture and pass a professional examina-
tion; or

3. graduate from an approved program or
have a comparable degree, have prac-
ticed landscape architecture since July
1, 1977, and have presented oneself to
the public as a landscape architect.

The Board gives a four-part examination.
The fundamentals section of the examination
is developed by the Council of Landscape
Architectural Registration Boards. The princi-
ples and practices sections of the exam are
designed and developed by the landscape
architecture subcommittee of the Board.

During 1979 and 1980, 2,177 persons
were examined as architects, engineers, or
land surveyors. Over 60 percent of the exam-
inees passed the exams. The examination of
landscape architects will begin July 1982.

The Board has no formal reciprocal agree-
ments with other states. However, the Board
will accept out-of-state applicants for licen-
sure or certification provided that the appli-
cant holds a like, unexpired license issued by
a state which has similar requirements to the
Board’s and that the applicant has met exam
requirements equivalent to those of the

_Board.

FEES AND EXPENDITURES

The Board recently promulgated new fees
for examinations, licensure, and certification
which are shown below.
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APELSCLA BOARD FEES

Architects $40| Qualifying $100
Design 100
Professional 100
Engineers 40 | Fundamentals 40 50
Principals 40
Oral 100
Engineers-in- 20 | Fundamentals 40 N/A
Training
Land Surveyors 40 | Part | 40 50
Part Il 40
3b 40
Landscape 40 175 50
Architects
Certificate of 50 N/A | 50
Authority

Source: Board of APELSCLA Regulations.

During the 1978-80 biennium, the Board’s
expenditures exceeded revenues by $34,147.
Revenues and expenditures for the two-year
period are indicated below.

m

FY 1979 FY 1980 Total
Revenues $324,585 $111,842 $436,427
Expenditures 219,243 251,331 470,574
Balance $105,342 ($139,489) ($ 34,147)

Source: Department of Commerce Annual
Reports, FY 1979 and FY 1980.

|

—

"~ ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Licenses and certificates are renewed bien-
nially during January of each odd-numbered
year.

No requirements for routine inspections
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of licensees or their places of business have
been authorized by the Board.

Complaints against licensed practitioners
are reviewed by the executive director and
sometimes a Board member. If a complaint
appears justified, it is sent to the enforce-
ment division for investigation. After investi-
gation it is sent to a Board member for a
recommendation to the full Board for disposi-
tion.

Between FY 1976 and FY 1981, an aver-
age of 53 complaints was processed each
year. During the latest year most of the
complaints were filed by consumers or other
licensees. Thirty-four of the complaints
involved unlicensed practice, 28 were alleged
violations of Board regulations, and nine
were under investigation.

In responding to 30 complaints found
valid in 1981, the Board issued one consent
order, six cease and desist orders, and one
warning letter. Two formal hearings are
pending as well as an additional civil matter.
Compliance was obtained in 19 cases without
any formal disciplinary action.



AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Regulating Design-Build Services

A point of recurring controversy has been
the applicability of Board requirements to
contractors who design and build structures
ranging from home additions to office build-
ings or factories. At issue has been the legal-
ity of contractors’ practicing architecture or
engineering when they both designi and build
projects. Although the APELSCLA Board has
enforced its regulations on design-build
contractors engaged in large projects, it has
not taken action in cases involving unli-
censed activities in home construction and
smaller projects.

A subcommittee of the Board of
Commerce has studied the issue with the
assistance of APELSCLA Board members and
representatives of the architecture, engineer-
ing, and construction professions. A proposed
solution to the problem will be presented to
the General Assembly for adoption.

A number of revisions are proposed (i) to
acknowledge that local building officials may
require designs to be prepared by a licensed
architect or professional engineer; (2) to
exempt design-build contractors who employ
licensed architects or engineers from licen-
sure; and (3) to require registration of all
design-build contractors with the APELSCLA
Board.

In addition, provisions would exempt
from licensure as architects or engineers
persons who design and build specific types
and sizes of projects. The proposals would
permit exemptions for the following types of
projects:

1. single and multi-family dwellings not
exceeding two and a half stories and
40 feet high;
farm structures or storage buildings;
certain business and mercantile build-
ings not exceeding 5000 square feet,
_ three stories, or 40 feet in height;

4. factory and industrial buildings not
exceeding 15,000 square feet, three
stories, and 40 feet in height;

5. remodeling or interior design without
modifications to occupancy or struc-
tural system;

w2

6. electrical installations up to 800
amperes in size where work is
performed under direct supervision of
a master electrician;

7. plumbing and mechanical projects
using packaged mechanical systems;
and

8. buildings, structures, or electrical and
mechanical installations which are of
standard design sealed by a licensed
design professional.

Board Organization

The APELSCLA Board has established a
separate section for each regulated profession.
Each section functions as a separate regula-
tory board by drafting regulations, reviewing
applications, administering exams, and evalu-
ating complaints for their respective profes-
sions. Board regulations specify that the
qualifications of applicants are to be deter-
mined by a majority vote of the Board
members of each profession. The full Board
approves the actions of each section, but
approval is pro forma in many cases.

During interviews and in written
response to a JLARC survey, some
APELSCLA Board members suggested a need
for additional Board members. These
members would help to handle the large
number of applications and complaints
reviewed by each profession. High volume is
particularly evident for engineering and
architecture where the three board members
for each profession issued over 1400 and 370
new licenses respectively during the 1978-80
biennium. Board members point out that
several other regulatory boards deal with
fewer applicants yet have five members.

The workload of the individual sections
is undeniably high. However, it may not be
consistent with the General Assembly’s
intent in creating a combined board for each
section to carry a separate workload. More-
over, the procedures of the Board may unne-
cessarily burden the members.

- The multiple and complex criteria for

architects and engineers appear to make it
necessary for Board members to consider each
applicant individually. This process is time
consuming, frequent meetings make it costly,
and the process can lead to inconsistent deci-
sions on applicants’ qualifications.
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The Board should develop options for
more efficient handling of its workload. Such
options could include requesting additional
Board members from the General Assembly.
For example, an additional landscape architect
member should be considered to break a tie
between the two current members over an
applicant’s qualifications. However, the Board
should also consider developing objective
entry criteria that can be applied by profes-
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sional staff employed by the Department of
Commerce and act itself only on exceptional
cases.

L ]
This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 232189.



VIRGINIA ATHLETIC COMMISSION

A

Boxers and wrestlers participate in
athletic contests or exhibitions of endu-
rance and skill. Regulation is intended to
protect contestants from physical harm
and the public from fraud and deceit in
the promotion of events. In addition, the
Athletic Commission collects State taxes
on revenues generated from ticket sales
and telecasts.

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

Regulation of amateur and professional
boxing and wrestling in the Commonwealth
began in 1934. At that time, boxing and
wrestling were believed to be controlled by
many unscrupulous matchmakers, promoters,
and managers.

The Virginia Athletic Commission’s sanc-
tion is necessary to hold or telecast any exhi-
bition or match in the Commonwealth
where an admission fee is charged. The
Commission also licenses boxers ang wrestlers
and persons directly involved in the promo-
tion and management of these athletic
events. As of May 5, 1980, the Commission
had licensed 661 persons in one of nine cate-
gories.

High school and college students partici-
pating in intramural boxing and wrestling
contests are exempt from licensure. Boxing
“matches—between inmates of the Department
of Corrections were also exempted by action
of the 1981 General Assembly.

Thirty-nine states regulate boxing and 50
states regulate wrestling. All out-of-state
applicants must meet the same requirements
as Virginia applicants.

Number
Category Licensed
Boxers
Professional 181
Amateur 299
Wrestlers
Professional 103
Amateur 0
Managers 8
Seconds 2
Booking Agents o
Matchmakers 0
Promoters/Clubs 59
Referees 9
Physicians - 0
Total 661
The Athletic Commission consists of

three members appointed for five-year terms.
The Commission is unique among regulatory
boards because it is authorized by language
in the Code of Virginia to collect a five
percent tax on the gross receipts from boxing
and wrestling events, including live telecasts.
At the end of each fiscal year, tax revenues
are divided between the general fund and
the localities that generated the revenues. To
carry out its regulatory and fiscal roles, the
Commission employs 28 part-time inspectors
who supervise matches or telecasts in the
Commonwealth. Inspectors ensure that regu-
lations are adhered to during events and
supervise the sale of tickets and the counting
of gate receipts. The Commission meets at
least twice annually.

REQUIREMENTS FOR

: APPLICANTS

Boxers or wrestlers must meet the follow-
ing licensure requirements:
1. be of good moral character;
2. be generally skilled in or knowledgea-
ble about boxing and wrestling;
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3. be physically and mentally fit;

4. have not been convicted of a felony or
misdemeanor involving moral turpi-
tude; and

5. can provide two personal photographs,
fingerprints, and a recent certified
copy of a physician’s examination.

Applicants as managers, seconds, or
matchmakers may be granted licenses after
photographs and fingerprints have been
submitted and a criminal check. has been
conducted. Promoters may be licensed after a
criminal check has been conducted- and they
have posted bond and submitted proof of
medical insurance and copies of contracts
with contestants.

Language in the Code stipulates that
physicians must have been licensed to prac-
tice in Virginia for at least five years before
they may be licensed by the Athletic
Commission. In addition, referees must be
bona fide residents of the State, although
non-residents may officiate for single contests.

Boxers must be physically examined
before each match by a physician appointed
by the Athletic Commission. Wrestlers must
submit a form from a physician certifying
that a physical examination has been
conducted within 30 days of the annual
license renewal date.

FEES AND EXPENDITURES

Licensing fees for persohs regulated by
the Commission' are as follows:

Promoters

a sliding scale, based on $25 to

population of locality $175

Televised contests in

all localities 1
Boxers and Wrestlers

Professional 10

Amateur 1
Seconds 10
-Managers 15
Booking Agents 35
Referees 15
Examining Physiciahs 10
Matchmakers

in cities of more than 150,000 50

"in other localities 25
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A fee of five dollars is charged for sanc-
tion of an amateur contest.

During FY 1980, the Athletic Commls-
sion collected total revenues of $126,437. Tax
revenues and license fees are held in a
special fund from which the Commission’s
expenses are paid. After expenses are
deducted from revenues, the balance is
divided between the State’s general fund and
localities generating taxes over $400. In FY
1980, for example, the general fund received
$25,162 and the localities received $22,310.

FY 1979 FY 1980 Total

Revenues  $106,273 $126,437 $232,710
Expenditures 62,678 90,459 153,137

Balance $ 43595 ¢ 35,978 $ 79,573

Source: Department of Commerce Annual
Reports, FY 1979 and FY 1980.

ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Licenses are renewed one year from the
date of issuance upon payment of the appro-
priate fee. Wrestlers must also have their
physical condition certified by a Commis-
sion-approved physician.

Inspections are carried out by the 28
part-time inspectors and occasionally by the
executive secretary. At each athletic event
sanctioned by the Athletic Commission, a
team of inspectors monitors the weighing-in
of contestants, checks the equipment worn
by contestants and the structure of the ring,
counts gate receipts, and collects taxes.

Between 1976 and 1980, ten complaints
were received by the Commission against
licensees. Complaints involved incorrect ticket
manifests or promotion irregularities by

_managers and promoters and unprofessional

conduct by boxers or wrestlers. One com-
plaint was referred to the investigative unit of
the Department of Commerce, and two
complaints were referred to local Common-
wealth’s attorneys for criminal action. Other
complaints were handled by the Executive
Secretary.



The Commission has the authority to
reprimand, or suspend or revoke licenses if
the licensee

e has obtained a license by means of
misrepresentation;

® has been determined to be unfit or
incompetent by reason of negligence;

e has been convicted in any court of a
felony or misdemeanor involving moral
turpitude;

e has been disrespectful to any member
of the Commission;

e has been guilty of unprofessional or
unethical conduct;

e has by act or omission conducted
himself in a manner detrimental to the
best interest of boxing or wrestling, or
the public's interests;

e has failed to maintain the required
bond;

® is a habitual alcohol or drug user;

e has engaged within or outside the State
in restraints or monopolies to hinder,
interfere with, or prevent any athletic
event; or

e has failed to provide copies of all
contracts entered into.

The Commission also has the authority
to protect boxers or wrestlers from participat-
ing in events once they have been knocked
out or have sustained serious injuries. The
licenses of injured participants may be put
on probation, suspended, or revoked for
periods ranging from 28 to 90 days depend-
ing on the severity of the injury. Since 1976,
92 boxer’s licenses have been suspended. No
wrestler's licenses have been suspended
during this period.

AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Distribution of Tax Revenues

Tax revenues generated from gate receipts
_at athletic events were not properly distri-
buted to- the general fund and localities
during the 1978-80 biennium. Net tax reven-
ues were overstated by $16,065 in 1979 and
understated by $11,494 in 1980. The problem
occurred because the Department of
Commerce did not provide the Athletic
Commission with information about indirect

costs before funds were distributed. There-
fore, the Commission was not able to accu-
rately deduct all expenses from revenues
before allocating the remainder.

‘Before 1979, the Commission functioned
as an independent agency and accounted for
its own expenses. Since joining the Depart-
ment of Commerce, the Commission has
continued to maintain its own record of
direct expenditures, but the Department of
Commerce assessed indirect costs. The depart-
ment, however, did not allocate costs among
the boards for one fiscal year until well into
the next fiscal year.

The original accounting problem was
exacerbated by attempts to rectify it. In order
to recoup overhead costs for FY 1979 and
adjust the overpayment in tax revenues, the
department deducted $36,066 from the fund
before distributing revenues for FY 1980.
However, this figure included an inaccurate
estimate of 1980 indirect costs. As a result,
in 1980 the Commission underpaid the
general fund and localities but overpaid the
department. The department will review and
allocate indirect expenses to the Commission
for FY 1981 and make adjustments to correct
inaccuracies in FY 1979 and FY 1980.

The Department of Commerce has taken
steps to improve its accounting capabilities in
order that both direct and indirect costs for
each board would be accrued and reported
on a monthly basis throughout the fiscal
year. This practice will enable the depart-
ment to allocate overhead costs to the
Commission (and to the other boards)
promptly at the close of the fiscal year.
Since the distribution of gate receipts is a
statutory requirement, the Department of
Commerce and the Athletic Commission
should - reconcile amounts distributed for
1979, 1980, and 1981 to ensure that proper
distributions have been made.

Licensure of Felons

‘There is an inconsistency between the
Athletic Commission’s regulation that wres-
tling or boxing licenses be denied to felons
and a general provision of the Code that
licensure may not be denied to convicted
felons ‘‘unless such criminal conviction
directly relates to the trade, occupation or
profession for which the . . . licensure . . .
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is sought.” The Commission does not gener-
ally enforce the regulation in practice.

The Commission requires applicants to
submit photographs and fingerprints, and
sometimes conducts a background investiga-
tion before issuing a license to a boxer or
wrestler. Managers of amateur boxers are
usually screened because they are working
with young people.

The Commission should reassess the
extent to which conviction of a felony or
misdemeanor directly relates to each license
category. The relationship of certain convic-
tions to a promoter’s license may be clear
because of the financial responsibilities
involved; the relationship of a particular
felony to licensure as a boxer or wrestler
may be less clear.

The Commission should review and
appropriately amend its regulations regarding
the licensure of athletic personnel.

Licensure of Examining Physicians

The Commission also has difficulty
complying with language in the Code which
requires an examining physician to be
licensed and appointed by the Commission.
Since 1979, 102 amateur and professional
boxing matches have taken place in the
Commonwealth, but during that same period,
no physicians were licensed by the Commis-
sion. According to Commission officials,
physicians were present at each match, but
they served on an unlicensed basis.

The problem appears to be the reluctance
of physicians who are already licensed by
the Board of Medicine to pay to become
licensed by the Athletic Commission.
Although Commission regulations require a
physician to be present at each match for
safety purposes and although they are
compensated for each boxing event, they are
also asked to pay a $10 annual licensure fee.
Few physicians desire such licensure. Recent-
ly, the Commission increased the compensa-
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tion to $65 in order to recruit more physi-
cians for contests.

Additional compensation may not solve
the problem. It is not unusual for the
Commission to have great difficulty locating
a willing physician. The Board might resolve
some of its difficulty by requiring that each
promoter be responsible for finding a physi-
cian willing to attend the match (subject to
the Commission’s approval) before any match
is sanctioned.

Since physicians are already licensed to
practice in Virginia, Athletic Commission
licensure might better be complementary or
included as compensation for attending the
match.

New Types of Events

The Commission has recently been called
on to prevent certain new forms of athletic
events from taking place in the Common-
wealth. Such events include professional
female ‘‘mud wrestling,” ‘‘toughman”
contests, and bear wrestling. The Commission
has prevented these contests because the
participants and the events do not meet
established criteria for sanctioned events, and
some of the activities are dangerous to parti-
cipants. For example, “toughman” contests, in
which inexperienced and untrained contes-
tants box for prizes, have resulted in serious
injuries and death in other states.

In bear wrestling, contestants try to pin a
live animal. After a contestant was injured
in such a match in Virginia, the Commission
issued a cease and desist order and revoked
the promoter’'s privileges. According to the
Commission order, the bear did not meet

criteria required for wrestlers.
L]
This report is one in a series which reviews
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the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
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VIRGINIA BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR

AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH PATHOLOGY

Audiologists and speech pathologists
provide therapy and counseling to
persons with impaired hearing or speech.
Regulation is directed primarily at estab-
lishing educational and clinical qualifica-
tions for entry into the profession.

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

As a condition for third-party reimburse-
ment, federal regulations require audiologists
and speech pathologists to be certified by the
American Speech-Language-Hearing Associa-
tion and to meet any regulatory requirements
of the state in which they practice. The
Board of Examiners for Audiology and
Speech Pathology was created by the General
Assembly in 1972 to carry out State regula-
tion.

The Board licenses audiologists and
speech pathologists and issues temporary
permits to trainees receiving clinical experi-
ence. As of May 1981, there were 107
audiologists and 511 speech pathologists
licensed in Virginia. Nineteen temporary
permits were issued for speech pathology and
seven for audiology.

Licenses are not required by practitioners
holding Virginia licenses in related fields,
such as physicians, nurses, or their employ-
ees. Provided the client pays no fee for

_services and practitioners do not hold them-
selves out-to the public as licensees, exemp-
tion applies also to employees of federal,
State, municipal, or county governments,
employees of chartered educational institu-
tions, and supervised students and interns at
accredited colleges and recognized training
centers. Unlicensed assistants may also be

employed by licensed audiologists and speech
pathologists to perform closely supervised
tasks.

Virginia is one of 30 states that license
audiologists. Thirty-one states, including
Virginia, license speech pathologists; one state
certifies and another state registers them.

The Board is composed of seven
members. As required by statute, two
members are licensed audiologists, two are
licensed speech pathologists, one is a doctor
of otolaryngology, and two are citizen
members. Citizen members were added to
the Board in 1978. All practitioners must
have been licensed and teaching or doing
research in their fields for at least two years
prior to their appointment by the Governor.

Terms are of four years’ duration, and no
member may serve more than two terms in
succession. The Board meets at least three
times a year.

The provisions in the Code of Virginia
which govern the Board of Examiners for
Audiology and Speech Pathology are Section
54-83.1.5 et seq.

REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

All applicants for licensure as an audiolo-

gist or speech pathologist must

1. be of good moral character;

2. have completed 60 semester hours at
an accredited college or university in a
graduate course of study approved by
the Board,

3. have completed 300 hours of super-
vised clinical experience; and

4. have passed the Board’'s examination or
have received the American Speech -
Language-Hearing Association’s Certifi-
cate of Clinical Competence.

A temporary permit is issued to a person

who has completed the educational require-
ments and has applied to take the examina-
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tion. Temporary permits are issued for 24
months to enable applicants to meet the
requirement for clinical experience.

Applicants may take the Board’s examina-
tion or be certified by taking an examination
administered by the American Speech-Lan-
guage-Hearing Association. The Board has not
administered an examination in its nine
years of existence. All applicants have been
members of the American Speech-Language-
Hearing Association and have taken an
examination under the Association’s require-
ments for certification. When necessary, the
Board intends to obtain an examination from
a national testing service.

The Board will license an out-of-state
applicant who holds a Certificate of Clinical
Competence from the professional association
and is licensed in a state with standards at
least equal to the Board's. If the out-of-state
applicant is not certified, a temporary permit
is issued for 24 months.

FEES AND EXPENDITURES

The Board assesses the following fees:

Initial license $70
Examination 25
Temporary permit 70
License renewal 40

Expenditures exceeded revenues for the
first time during the 1978-80 biennium as
shown below. "

M

FY 1979 FY 1980 Total

Revenues $10,045 $10.856 $20,901
Expenditures 12,228 15,245 27,473

Balance ($ 2,183) ($ 4,389) ($ 6,572)

Source: Department of Commerce Annual
Reports, FY 1979 and FY 1980. '

- ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Licenses are renewable on or before Janu-
ary 30 of odd-numbered years. Permits are
not renewable.
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There are no Board requirements for
inspecting the practices of audiologists or
speech pathologists. For the 1978-80 -bienni-
um, no inspections were conducted.

. Eighteen complaints have been received
since the Board was established. The majority
of these complaints were made against unli-
censed persons practicing the profession.

The Board has the authority to repri-
mand practitioners, or to revoke or suspend
licenses if the licensee

e guarantees the results of any consulta-
tive or therapeutic procedure;

e provides diagnosis or treatment by
correspondence;

e provides confidential patient information
to persons without the patient’s
consent;

e provides continued patient treatment
where no benefit can be expected to
occur from such treatment;

e has been convicted in any court of
embezzlement or offenses directly
related to the profession;

® has been determined to be incompetent
due to excessive alcohol or drug use;

e has been determined to be negligent in
his or her practice;

e has treated patients not having been
examined by a physician within six
months without recommending that the
patient be examined by a physician; or

e has not provided direct supervision to
unlicensed personnel.

To date the Board has not taken discipli-

nary action against any licensed practitioner.

AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Scope of Practice - Audiologists and
Hearing Aid Dealers

The health care delivery system for
people with hearing impairments consists of

- otolaryngologists, audiologists, and hearing aid

dealers.

Otolaryngologists are licensed physicians
who specialize in diseases and structural defi-
ciencies of the auditory system. They may
examine the inner ear and prescribe medica-
tion, surgical correction, therapy, or a hear-



ing aid. Audiologists hold master’s degrees in
audiology. They provide rehabilitative assis-
tance, such as measurement of hearing capac-
ity, lip reading, and counseling, to persons
with hearing problems. Hearing aid dealers
are high school graduates who have passed a
course on fitting hearing aids. They measure
hearing capacity and demonstrate, fit, and
sell amplification devices. Audiologists and
hearing aid dealers are restricted to examin-
ing only the outer ear.

Some overlap exists among -the three
practices. As licensed physicians, otolaryngolo-
gists are exempt from the regulations
imposed by other boards. There is considera-
ble controversy, however, between audiolo-
gists and hearing aid dealers, pecause only
licensed dealers are permitted by law to fit
and sell hearing aids. Audiologists maintain
that they are trained to provide this service
as part of their comprehensive treatment of
the client.

Scope of practice issues between boards
are difficult to resolve because the livelihood
and occupational autonomy of practitioners
are often seen to be at stake. While audiolo-
gists want the law changed to permit them
to sell hearing aids, it is important to recog-
nize that audiologists may become licensed as
dealers now and that existing regulations for
hearing aid dealers cover business practices as
well as scope of practice.

Although the Board has not taken an
official position, a Board member and a
professional association representative state
that becoming licensed as hearing aid dealers
is not the preferred option of audiologists,
because (1) audiologists feel their training is
not being recognized; (2) dual licensure
places additional restrictions on their practic-
es; and (3) practitioners with less education
are judging their qualifications.

Nevertheless, 28 audiologists have
obtained licenses from the Board of Hearing
Aid Dealers and Fitters. Since the majority of
audiologists work in public or private institu-
tions, hospitals, or schools, many may not

need to sell hearing aids, and no change in
current legislation may be needed.

Much of the regulation of hearing aid
dealers concerns proper business practices. If
audiologists were exempted from the hearing
aid law, they would not have to adhere to
such requirements as specifying the terms of
sale and the condition of hearing aids in the
sales contract, advising clients that dealers
cannot perform a medical examination, or
refusing to fit children without a medical
exam or adults without a signed waiver.
Such regulations might need to be adopted
by the Board of Examiners for Audiology
and Speech Pathology if audiologists were
exempted from regulations for hearing aid
dealers.

Another option has been pursued by the
Department of Commerce in an attempt to
reconcile scope of practice issues. The depart-
ment has suggested the creation of a
combined board of audiologists, speech
pathologists, and hearing aid dealers. A
combined board would address the need for
comprehensive non-medical care of people
with impaired hearing or communication
skills. But a major obstacle to combining the
boards is the concern of hearing aid dealers
that they would be outvoted by the other
occupations and would have lower status
because of differences in the required level
of education. The addition of citizen
members to the board might help to alleviate
this concern.

The department and the Board of
Commerce should continue to explore ways
to reduce conflict among related occupations
and recommend a course of action to the
General Assembly.

This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.
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BOARD OF BARBER EXAMINERS

AS

Barbers provide services to consumers
that include cutting, shampooing, and
dyeing of the hair or beard. Regulation
specifies qualifications for barbers and
standards for shops and schools.

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

Virginia was the last of the 50 states to
regulate barbers. According to a Board offi-
cial, regulation was initiated in 1962 to
prevent barbers unable to qualify for licen-
sure in other states from practicing in
Virginia and to protect the consumer from
unsanitary conditions.

The State Board of Barber Examiners
currently licenses 3,646 barbers and 40 teach-
ers. In addition, 1,288 barber shops and four
private barber schools are licensed. These
numbers have declined over the past decade
partially because of the shift from traditional
haircuts to more elaborate hairstyling.

Medical practitioners, registered nurses,
embalmers, and beauticians are exempt from
complying with the Barber Act. Persons
employed to provide barbering services in
State or local penal or mental institutions
and persons cutting hair in their own home
and not offering the service to the public are
also exempt from regulation.

The Board of Barber Examiners is
—composed of five -members appointed by the
Govérnor-=At least two of the members are
required to have been practicing barbers for
the last five years.

Board members serve three-year terms.
Present members may be reappointed an
unlimited number of times, but new
members will be limited to two successive

terms. During FY 1979 and FY 1980, the
Board met a total of 22 times.

The provisions in the Code of Virginia
which govern the Board of Barber Examiners
are Section 54-83.2 et seq.

REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

To be licensed as a barber, an applicant
must meet the following qualifications:

1. be at least 18 years of age;

2. be of good moral -character and

temperate habits;

3. have an eighth grade education or the

equivalent;

4. complete either 1,500 hours of barber
school plus a six month apprenticeship
or a 4,000-hour apprenticeship;
pass a written and practical exam; and
present a medical certificate stating
that the applicant is free from any
infectious disease including tuberculo-
sis.

A 1979 amendment to the Barber Act
prohibits the denial of licensure to an other-
wise qualified individual solely for failing to
produce a medical certificate. According to a
Board official, the regulatory requirement for
a certificate is not being enforced and will
be omitted when new regulations are
promulgated.

Once barbers have been licensed for three
years, they may also apply to become barber
teachers. To qualify the applicant must be at
least 21 years old, must be a high school
graduate, and must be free from infectious

A

disease. The applicant must also pass a

barber teacher examination.

In addition to regulating practitioners,
Board regulations specify licensure require-
ments for the operation of barber shops and
schools. Shops must keep barbering areas
separated from any other residential or busi-
ness uses; they must have hot and cold
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running water available; they must display a
barbershop sign; and they must post a copy
of the regulations governing barbershop
conditions in a conspicuous place.

Licensure requirements for barber schools
specify the equipment, conditions, work
space, and curriculum of each school. Newly
established schools must undergo two inspec-
tions by the Board or its designees before
obtaining a license.

Examinations for applicants to become
barbers or barber teachers are conducted by
Board members and independent examiners
at least four times a year in various parts of
the State. Applicants must pass both a writ-
ten and a practical exam with a minimum
score of 70 percent on each part. Examinees
usually take both parts on the same day.
Anyone who fails may retake the exam
within 60 days. Those who fail a second
time are required to re-enroll for 1,000 hours
of apprenticeship training before re-examina-
tion. In recent years more than one-third of
the applicants have failed the exam.

The written portion of the exam is a
multiple-choice test which covers subjects in
the barbering curriculum. The current exam
is a modified version of a test developed by
the Educational Testing Service. The Board
requested development of the original test in
the hope that a uniform national exam
would facilitate reciprocity among states and
alleviate problems with the construction and
content of the former exam. Between January
1978 and June 1979, however, only Virginia
and one other state used the test, and the
testing service discontinued the project. Copy-
right permission was granted to the Board to
adapt the exam for its purposes. The practi-
cal exam consists of a demonstration of
barbering techniques by applicants on their
own models. One Board member or examiner
evaluates the applicant's performance and
assigns a grade.

Examinations are waived for licensed
barbers moving to Virginia from states which
have established a reciprocity agreement with
~:the Board. As of February 1981, Virginia has
established reciprocity for barbers with
Tennessee, Delaware, South Carolina, Mary-
land, and Maine. In addition, agreements are
being discussed with Pennsylvania and Colo-
rado. Until these agreements were signed,
reciprocity for barbers did not exist in the
country.
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FEES AND EXPENDITURES

The Board’s current licensing fee struc-
ture includes the following:

Barber examination and initial license $ 50

Barber student/apprentice permit 10
Teacher examination and initial license 50
Barbershop permit 15
Barber school or college license 100
Renewal of a barber license 30
Renewal of a teacher license 50

Since July 1, 1981, barbers who are inmates
of penal institutions must pay licensing fees.
Previously, licenses were granted to inmates
without charge. :

During the 1978-80 biennium, Board
revenues exceeded expenditures by $4,330.
Revenues and expenditures for that period
are shown below.

m

FY 1979 FY 1980 Total

Revenues $85,253 $10,126 $95,379
Expenditures 61,334 29,715 91,049
Balance $23,919 ($19,589) $ 4,330
Source: Department of Commerce Annual

Reports, FY 1979 and FY 1980.
L ]

Renewal payments are received in the odd-
numbered year of a biennium. This practice
accounts for the considerable difference in
revenues between the two years of the bien-
nium.

ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Licenses are renewed by paying the appli-
cable fee by January 1 of each odd-numbered
year. The Department of Commerce employs
two persons who spend approximately 17
percent of their time routinely visiting
barber establishments to ensure that the facil-
ity and its employees are currently licensed.
Between July 1976 and June 1980 almost
4,000 inspections of barber shops were
conducted by DOC inspectors. According to
the Board’s data, relatively few barber shops
were found to be out of compliance with
requirements to post the shop’s license, a
copy of the regulations governing shops and
prohibited acts, and the licenses of each



barber. Some shops violated more than one
requirement.

Between July 1977 and June 1980, 18
complaints were filed with the Board. All
but two of these alleged that barbers or
shops were unlicensed.

The Board has the authority to revoke,
suspend, or refuse to issue or renew a license
for the following reasons:

e gross malpractice or gross incompetency;

e continued practice by a person who
knowingly works with a - dangerous
infection or contagious disease;

e false or deceptive advertising;

alcohol or drug addiction;

e obtaining a license by fraudulent
pretenses;

e practicing under fraudulent pretenses;

e using any room or place for barbering
and residential or business purposes
without a solid partition dividing the
two areas;

e operating a barbershop or school with-
out continuous hot and cold running
water;

e failing to indicate that barbering
performed at barber schools is
conducted by students; or v

e failing to display a sign indicating that
the business is a barbershop.

Board records indicate that no disciplinary
actions have been taken against any licensed
barber since 1977. Of the 18 complaints filed
since then, compliance was obtained in seven
cases, six were dismissed, and five were
found invalid.

AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Barber Examinations

Applicants for a barber license must pass
a written and a practical examination. The
written exam is intended to assess an exami-
nee’'s knowledge of barbering theory and
State laws and regulations pertaining to

—-barbering. The practical exam measures the

performance of barbering skills. High failure
rates on the written exam in recent years
have been of concern to the Board. While
current applicants may be less qualified or
less well trained in the areas covered on the
exam, there may also be problems with the
construction or content of the exam which

would call into question its value as a
screening mechanism.

Between 1970 and 1977 the overall
failure rate on the exams ranged from two
percent to 20 percent. In contrast, during the
last three years the overall rate has ranged
from one-third to one-half of all applicants.
As indicated below, the test results for 1979
and 1980 reveal that all but five candidates
demonstrated sufficient skill to pass the prac-
tical part of the exam, even though eighty
candidates failed the written exam.

1979 1980
Examined 98 99
Passed 54 58
Failed Written 42 38
Failed Practical 1 1
Failed Both 1 2

Board officials believe that the failure
rate is connected, in part, to the construction
of some questions. Board staff have identified
questions that were incorrectly answered by
about half of the persons recently examined.
Another reason considered by the Board is
the six-month lag between the time appli-
cants complete school and the time they take
the exam. Most training received by appli-
cants is focused on the attainment of perfor-
mance skills, not on theory or regulation.
These skills are then reinforced by a
required six-month apprenticeship before
taking the exam. And some other applicants
are trained primarily through a 4,000-hour
apprenticeship program. By the time the
exam is taken, therefore, applicants may be
competent in skills but inadequately prepared
to take a written exam on procedures, theo-
ry, and regulation.

The Board has taken some steps to
correct the examination problems. The writ-
ten examination was recently evaluated by a
testing specialist. Although the subsequent
passing rates were slightly higher, the Board
continues to be concerned about the exam.

The Board of Barber Examiners should

_take additional steps to ensure that the exam

is an appropriate screening mechanism. Since
barbering is a skill-oriented profession, a prac-
tical exam alone might be an adequate proce-
dure. If a written exam is retained, the test
should continue to be evaluated to ensure
that questions are clearly and unambiguously
constructed, that content is job-related, and
that the reading level is consistent with the
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eighth-grade educational requirement for
applicants. Consideration might also be given
to administering the exam upon completion
of the training in barber school instead of
after the subsequent  six-month apprentice-
ship.

Inspection of Barber Shops

The Board of Barber Examiners believes
that inspections of barber shops are necessary
to protect public health. The Board, however,
has encountered difficulties in maintaining
health-related inspections, and the need for
such inspections has been called into ques-
tion itself by the apparent absence of major
health hazards associated with the practice of
barbering.

Inspections conducted by the State

Department of Health prior to 1979 were
discontinued because of the department'’s
concerns about their statutory authority.
Inspections currently conducted at the
Board’s request by the Department of
Commerce are limited to ensuring that
licenses are properly displayed. Although a
Board “‘presence’” is provided in the shops by
the inspectors, they are not authorized to
address health matters through inspection of
sanitary conditions or practitioner perfor-
mance. '
Until the mid-1900s, many of the hair
dyes and treatments used by barbers were
thought to cause permanent scalp damage
and hair loss. There were also concern that
diseases such as lice, ringworm, and infec-
tious dandruff could be communicated
through the scalp. However, increasing regu-
lation by the U. S. Food and Drug Adminis-
tration of the chemicals in hair preparations
has greatly reduced the harm from their
correct application.

Also, officials of the State Department of
Health indicate that there is no record of
communicable diseases being transmitted by
barbering in the State. While a publication
of the U. S. Public Health Service states that
ringworm of the scalp can be transmitted by
unsterilized barber equipment, tracing the
- specific=source of this or other communicable
diseases would be difficult.

Inspections of barber shops by local
health departments were discontinued in
1979, except where required by local ordi-
nance. In a letter to the Director of the
Department of Commerce, the State Commis-
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sioner of Health indicated that authority for
the health department to promulgate regula-
tions for such inspections had been repealed
in a 1974 recodification of statutes relating to
occupations and professions. The Department
of Health apparently became aware of the
repeal during recodification of public health
statutes in 1979.

Inspection of barber shops may have been
erroneously discontinued by the State Depart-
ment of Health. Section 54-83.27 which
requires inspections by the health department
still remains in the Barber Act:

Inspectors and sanitarians of the State

Department of Health, or an affiliated

local health department, shall inspect

each barber shop in the State regularly.

Any infractions shall be immediately

reported to the Health Department and

the executive secretary of the Board of

Barber Examiners for disciplinary action.
Section 54-83.24 which authorizes promulga-
tion of regulations to govern inspections was
repealed. However, the authority for promul-
gating regulations had been assigned to the
Board of Barber Examiners, not to the
Department of Health. The Board still has
this authority:

The Board shall prescribe such rules,

regulations and sanitary requirements . . .

in aid or furtherance of the provisions of

this act as required by the State Board of

Health pursuant to Section 32-6 of the

Code of Virginia.

Language in the 1974 recodification act
authorized the regulatory boards to adopt the
repealed Code provisions as rules or regula-
tions. The Attorney General has since issued
an opinion that in accordance with this
directive a Board may perform specified regu-
latory functions to the same extent as before
repeal due to recodification.

It appears that the Department of Health
is still required to implement sanitary regula-
tions that the Board of Barber Examiners
chooses to promulgate. The issue is confused,
however, by the fact that the Board had not
exercised this right prior to 1979. The regu-
lations were in fact promulgated by the
Department of Health, although the health
department did not have authority under
Section 32-6 of the Code to promulgate regu-
lations at that time. Language in the recodifi-
cation of Title 32 now does permit the
department to promulgate regulations for



purposes other than those stated in Title 32.

To avoid unnecessary, costly, and poten-
tially duplicative inspections, it is necessary
to resolve two questions regarding sanitary
inspections of barber shops. The first
involves the need for such inspections given
the absence of reported health hazards, and
the second involves determination of the
proper agency to carry out any type of
necessary inspection. Currently the Depart-
ment of Commerce employs two inspectors to
review the posting of licenses- in barber
shops, beauty salons, and opticians’ offices. In
addition, the State Department of Health
appears to have continuing responsibility for
conducting sanitary - inspections and must
comply with Code unless other arrangements
are made.

Local health departments in seven juris-
dictions continue to conduct health inspec-
tions under local ordinances. Some localities
conduct inspections on a quarterly basis,
others not as frequently. Officials of these
departments report that few violations are
found during quarterly inspections. Reported
violations have included dirty equipment or
floors and equipment that had not been
properly sanitized. Inspection activities have
been terminated in Lynchburg and Staunton
by action of the local government. The City
of Richmond is considering eliminating
inspections because of staffing constraints and
the limited threat posed to public health.

Although the need for inspections in
order to prevent disease appears to be limit-
ed, public health and Board officials note
that customers are provided with some assur-
ance “that sanitary conditions in the shops
are monitored. Moreover, the absence of
reported incidents does not mean that none
occurs, and the Board believes that inspec-
tions act as a deterrent. It should be noted,
however, that it is clearly in the best inter-
est of barber shop owners to maintain clean
premises and to post licenses, because these
shops are heavily dependent upon return
-~ trade.
7~ The —Board of Barber Examiners, the
Board of Commerce, and the Department of
Health should cooperatively develop options
to present to the General Assembly. Options
could include the following:

1. Termination of all inspections in the

absence of serious known hazards.
Under this option, the General Assem-

bly would need to repeal Section
54-83.27, which requires health depart-
ment inspections, and make clear that
the Barber Board has no authority to
promulgate sanitary regulations.

2. Assignment of responsibility for
compliance and sanitary inspections to
the Department of Commerce in
accordance with regulations promul-
gated by the Board. Under this option
the Board would bear the expense for
inspections. The General Assembly
would need to repeal Section 54-83.27
and authorize the Board of Barber
Examiners to promulgate sanitary regu-
lations.

3. Reinstatement of sanitary inspections
by the State Department of Health.
Under this option the inspections
would be conducted at public expense
or by a transfer of funds from the
Department of Commerce to the State
Department of Health. The General
Assembly could assign responsibility
for promulgating regulations to the
Board of Barber Examiners or to the
Board of Health.

The General Assembly may also wish to
address the need for the inspections currently
carried out by the Department of Commerce
at the Board's request. These inspections do
not serve a useful purpose in protecting the
health or safety of the public. Two inspec-
tors visit barber shops, beauty shops, and
opticians’ offices to ensure that shop and
practitioner licenses are posted. Since the
major area in which the Board does receive
complaints is unlicensed activity, the purpose
of ensuring that licenses are valid could be
achieved more economically through investi-
gation- of complaints or visits to shops that
do not apply for renewal of licenses.
Although these inspections are carried out at
the Board’s expense, they do not appear to
be a justificable use of funds collected under
the authority of the State government, and
-authority for these inspections should be
abrogated.
L]
This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.
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VIRGINIA BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL

SCIENCE

A

Psychologists, social workers, and
counselors assist clients with problems
related to mental, emotional, social, and
behavioral adjustment. Regulation is
intended to ensure that practitioners are
sufficiently trained in their respective
disciplines and qualified to deal with
human situations and personalities.

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

The State Board of Behavioral Science is
an “umbrella” board which oversees and
approves the regulatory activities of the
Boards of Psychology, Social Work, and
Professional Counselors, and the Alcoholism
and Drug Counselor Certification Committees.
This organizational structure, which was the
first of its kind, has generated a great deal of
interest across the country.

The individual boards and committees
were created at various times, beginning with
the regulation of clinical psychologists in
1946. The initial voluntary registration of
psychologists was changed to licensure in
1966. Social workers and professional counse-
lors were licensed in 1976. Alcoholism and
drug counselor certification also became effec-
tive at the time.

As of May 1981, over 2,300 persons in
five professions were regulated by the Board
of Behavioral Science. Approximately 580 of

“—these individuals continue to renew their

credentials as either registered or associate
social workers. These credentials are volun-
tary, however, and are issued only to those
who were so credentialed before 1976. Regis-
tration does not permit an individual to
engage in the private practice of social work.

The first drug counselor certificates are
expected to be issued in late 1981.

. Number
Licensed Professions Regqulated

Professional counselors are trained 655
to assist individuals in achieving

more effective ﬁérsonal, social,

educational, and career development

and adjustment. Included are specialists

in marriage and the family, and in
educational, rehabilitation, pastoral,

substance abuse, career, and research
counseling.

Psychologists are trained to apply 323
established principles of learning,

motivation, perception, thinking, and
emotional relationships to individual

and group problems related to problems
of personality and behavior. Included are

school and clinical psychologists as
well as psychologists who do not render
direct services to individuals.

Social workers are trained to effect 1,206
changes in human behavior, emotional
responses, and social conditions by

the application of the values, principles,
methods, and procedures of the

profession of social work. Included are

case managers, group workers, and

clinical social workers.

Certified Professions

Alcholism counselors are certified to 125
provide alcoholism counseling in a State-
approved public or private alcoholism

program and/or facility.

Drug counselors are certified to provide
drug counseling in a State-approved

public or private drug program and/or
facility.
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The following are exempt from regula-

tion by the Board of Behavioral Science:

e persons providing psychological, social
work, or counseling services without
charge and without holding themselves
out as licensed or certified practitioners;

e students engaged in a study of the
regulated fields;

e clergy acting within the scope of their
regular duties;

e employees of governmental institutions
or private non-profit agencies funded or
sponsored in whole or part by a
community-based citizen group (includ-
ing community mental health agencies,
State mental health facilities, and State
colleges and universities); and

e personnel employed by private firms to
engage in employment counseling for
workers.

The Board of Behavioral Science consists
of nine members including two representa-
*tives from each professional board and three
citizen members appointed by the Governor.
The citizen members are appointed for five -
year terms, and the terms of other members
vary according to the professional board. No
member may serve more than two full terms
on the Board of Behavioral Science. There
are 28 members on the four boards and two
certification committees.

The Boards of Psychology and Social
Work each have five members appointed by
the Governor for five-year terms. Three of
the psychology board members are required
to be college psychology teachers who are
licensed or qualified to be licensed as
psychologists. One member must be a clini-
cal psychologist and the other a school
psychologist. All social work board members
~ must have been licensed and in active prac-
tice for at least five years prior to their
appointment to the Board.

The Board of Professional Counselors
consists of seven members, five appointed
directly by the Governor and one selected
from each certification committee. Language
-in the Code requires that the membership
represent each of the following specialties:
‘marriage-family, rehabilitation, pastoral,
educational, alcoholism, and drug counseling
and teaching. Members serve four-year terms
and each member must be licensed or certi-
fied.

-
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Two committees serve under the Board of
Professional Counselors for the purpose of
certifying alcoholism and drug counselors.
Each committee is composed of five members
appointed by the Governor for unspecified
terms. All committee members must be capa-
ble of being certified.

The responsibilities for regulanon of the
various professions are shared by the Board
of Behavioral Science and the professional
boards. The following responsibilities of the
Board of Behavioral Science are specified in
the Code:

1. promulgating qualifications for licen-
sure/certification developed by each
professional board;

2. licensing or certifying applicants
recommended to the Board by the
appropriate professional board;

3. levying and collecting initial and re-
newal fees;

4. promulgating regulations to carry out
its functions;

5. ensuring that inspections of practition-
ers are conducted by each professional
board relating to the practice of each
practitioner;

6. reviewing investigative actions taken
by the professional boards;

7. taking appropriate disciplinary actions;

8. recommending to the Board of
Commerce the creation of related
professional boards if deemed necessary
and in the best interest of the public;
and

9. promulgating a canon of ethics under
which the professional activities of
persons regulated shall be conducted.

The three professional boards for psychol-
ogy, social work, and professional counselors
function within the framework of the Board
of Behavioral Science. In practice, however,
the professional boards act autonomously on
matters pertaining to their own occupational
group.

Specific duties and powers of each profes-

_sional board include

1. promulgating regulations necessary to
administer its regulatory functions;

2. designating specialties within each
professional field;

3. developing qualifications for licensure
or certification of applicants and



forwarding them to the Board of Beha-
vioral Science for promulgation;

4. evaluating the qualifications of appli-
cants, including the preparation and
administration of exams;

5. hiring independent examiners and/or
establishing subcommittees to conduct
exams;

6. recommending qualified applicants to
the Board of Behavioral Science for
licensure/certification;

7. investigating complaints against licen-
sees;

8. holding hearings and recommending

disciplinary action;

9. establishing a canon of =thics consis-
tent with the canon established by the
Board of Behavioral Science;

10. appointing two of its members to
serve on the Board of Behavioral
Science; and

11. publishing a directory of licensees
every two years.

The provisions in the Code of Virginia

which govern the Virginia Board of Beha-
vioral Science are Section 54-923 et seq.

REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

~ Applicants must meet the criteria devel-
oped by the appropriate professional board

Education
Profession
Board of Psychology
Psychologist Ph.D.
Clinical Psychologist*® Ph.D.
School Psychologist Master's

Board of Social Work
Social Worker
Clinical Social Worker MSW

Board of Professional Counselors
. Professional Counselor
“ - "Certifred Drug Counselor

Master’s

G.E.D.

Certified Alcoholism.Counselor
G.E.D.

{or Equivalency)

Master’s or
Bachelor’s

High School Diploma or

High School Diploma or

and promulgated by the Board of Behavioral
Science. Each board requires letters of
personal reference, verification of education,
training, and experience, and supervisors’
assessments. A successful applicant must also
pass a discipline-specific written and oral
examination. The education and experience
requirements for each profession are shown
below.

All applicants are required to pass a writ-
ten exam that is administered by DOC as
well as an oral exam. The objective portion
of the written exam is developed for each
board by a national testing service, while the
essay portion is designed by board members.
The examinations cover areas of professional
competency, the applicant’s stated area(s) of
practice, knowledge of State laws and regula-
tions, and the code of ethics governing the
profession. Additional exams are typically
required for specialty designations within
each field. The passing grade on written
exams is based on a standard deviation from
the mean score of all persons taking the
exam. About 80 percent of the 559 appli-
cants who took written exams in FY 1979
and FY 1980 passed. This ranged from 77
percent of the social work examinees to 84
percent of the professional counselor candi-
dates.

The oral exam is conducted by Board
members and appointed examining commit-

Supervision or
Internship

Post-Graduate
Training

2 years 1 year
2 years 1 year
4 years 1 year

None Not Required
2 years 135 hours
3 years 200 hours

2 years
500-hour
drug training program

Not Required
Not Required

400-hour alcoholism
training program

Not Required

*Qualified applicants are recommended to the State Board of Medicine for licensure.




tees. Its purpose is to evaluate the applicant’s
areas of professional competence, ability to
apply the appropriate code of ethics to
professional practice, and his or her personal
and professional maturity. A work sample
submitted by the applicant is presented and
discussed. About 86 percent of those taking
the oral portion of the exam pass upon a
majority decision of the Board. The percent
passing ranged from 78 percent of the
psychology candidates to 92 percent of the
professional counselors.

The Board of Social Work has established
partial reciprocity agreements with New York
and Maryland. The other two professional
boards do not have formal reciprocity with
any state. Instead, they evaluate each out-of -
state applicant’s credentials individually.

FEES AND EXPENDITURES

The fees established by each board are
shown below:

Initial Biennial
Board Application Exam  Renewal
Psychology $75 $225 $75
Social Work 50 65 90
Professional 50 (plus 25 75 75
Counselor per specialty)
- Alcoholism 25 75 50
Counselor
- Drug - 25 75 50
Counselor

Persons registered as Associate Social Workers
(AS.W. and Registered Social Workers
(RS.W.) pay $25 to renew their registration
each biennium.

During the 1978-80 biennium, regulation
of all areas of behavioral science generated
$174,429 in revenue. Expenditures for the
same period exceeded revenues by $110,957.

FY 1979 FY 1980 Total

4 Revenues = $ 96,073 $ 78,356 $174,429
Expenditures 137,616 147,770 285,386

Balance ($ 41,543)($ 69,414) ($110,957)

Source: Department of Commerce Annual
Reports, FY 1979 and FY 1980.
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A high-cost item is the frequent meetings
of the various boards. Seventy-nine board
meetings were conducted during FY 1980 at
a cost of $37,779 (26 percent of the year’s
total expenditures).

ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Each board mails out a questionnaire
with a renewal notice to each licensee. The
returned questionnaires are reviewed by an
Inspections of Practices Committee of each
board. The committee determines by the
applicant’s responses whether the individual
is practicing within the bounds of his or her
license. If necessary, the committee will
either request more information, call a
person in for clarification, or issue a warning
to cease practicing outside the scope of licen-
sure.

The Board of Social Work and the certifi-
cation committee for alcoholism counselors
also require applicants for renewal to show
that they have remained current in their
profession by taking continuing education
courses. Alcoholism counselors must complete
60 clock hours of approved courses or six
continuing education units every two years
in order to retain certification. No specific
number of course hours is specified for social
workers. However, the social work board did
notify six social workers during FY 1979 that
their continuing education activities were
well below the average reported.

Persons certified as drug or alcoholism
counselors must also have been personally
free of substance abuse during the certifica-
tion period.

No routine on-site inspections are
conducted for the behavioral science boards,
but the boards do receive complaints. Most
complaints are filed by licensees and involve
unlicensed practitioners or licensees who are
practicing outside the boundaries of their
license. A few complaints involve allegations
of unethical conduct or incompetence. Since

July 1976, approximately 100 complaints in

the behavioral sciences have been investi-
gated by Department of Commerce investiga-
tors. Fifty-six of these involved psychologists,
22 involved professional counselors, and 20
involved social workers. Forty-two of the
cases were found valid.



To assure uniformity in disciplinary
cases, the Board of Behavioral Science
recently adopted guidelines for its own use
and for the use of the professional boards or
hearing officers in disciplinary cases. The
following guidelines provide minimum and
maximum penalties for various violations:

Offense Penalties
Maximum Minimum
Conviction Revocation Stayed revoc.
of felony with 3 years’
probation
Fradulent - Revocation
obtainment
of license
Substance Revocation Stayed revoc.
abuse with 3 years’
probation
Negligence in Revocation 1 year
practice or suspension,
violation of stayed, with
code of ethics 3 years’
probation
Performance of 1 vyear 1 year
functions beyond suspension suspension,
licensed with 3 years’ stayed, with
competence probation 3 years’
probation
Mental, physical, Revocation 1 year
or emotional suspension,
incompetence stayed, with
3 vyears’
probation
Violation of the Revocation Suspension

Code of Virginia
or regulations

According to Board officials, few discipli-

nary actions have been taken by the Board
of Behavioral Science. Many complaints are
_settled through voluntary compliance.
* - Betweenr July 1976 and June 1980, the
Boards of Psychology and Social Work have
denied 132 and 125 licenses respectively. In
addition, during 1979 these two boards issued
26 and 46 warnings to licensees respectively
as a result of information supplied on the
renewal survey.

AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Regulation within Professions

Coordination among the behavioral
sciences and the administration of regulatory
functions appear to have been long-standing
problems in the Commonwealth. A signifi-
cant effort to define the scope of counseling,
social work, and psychology disciplines was
made in the mid-1970s when licensure was
established as the method of regulation for
social workers and professional counselors as
well as for psychologists. In fact, the Board
of Behavioral Science was created by the
General Assembly with the specific purpose
of maintaining harmony among the three
professions. Section 54-923 of the Code of
Virginia states,

The Commonwealth . . . recognizes the
fact that the many professions offering
these services [in the behavioral sciences)
overlap and intertwine to a substantial
degree. This fact results in the need for
these professions to work in close
harmony with each other and to main-
tain quality service to the citizens and to
prevent infringement on the rights of
practitioners to engage in their lawful
professions, which infringements may
harm the public.

While a mechanism has been established
to lessen friction among the professions,
administration of individual board activities
and definition of the scope of practice within
professions appear to remain problems. Regu-
lations promulgated by the boards are some-
times unclear and subject to inconsistent
application. Moreover, few tasks can be effec-
tively delegated to executive assistants of the
boards because of the precise, individual
determinations that are required regarding
qualifications of applicants. Such specificity
necessitates frequent board meetings, which
greatly increase regulatory costs, and may, at

_times, constitute infringement on freedom of

practice within professions.

Problems of this nature are particularly
apparent in the activities of the Boards of
Psychology and Social Work. The following
are examples of regulations that have been
inconsistently interpreted because they lack
clarity or are imprecise in intent.



Until recently, psychology applicants
were charged the full $225 exam fee as
specified in regulations regardless of
whether the individual was taking the
three initial core exams (national written,
State essay, and orals) or sitting for exams
to obtain an additional specialty license.
This occurred because current regulations
break down re-examination costs but are
silent on the matter of specialty exams.
An applicant’s inquiry led to the discov-
ery by Board members that contrary to
what they intended, persons sitting for
additional specialty exams were charged
full fees because regulations were not
clearly stated.

* x %

Regulations concerning oral exams
require psychology applicants to submit a
“recent work sample (past six months)”
for review. The parenthetical phrase
“(past six months)” has caused some
inconsistency to occur in dealing with
applicants. The Board’s staff has required
all applicants submitting older work
samples to submit more recent ones.
When a question was recently raised,
however, Board members stated that the
time reference was supposed to serve as a
guideline for applicants and not as an
absolute requirement. Consequently, Board
members have allowed several applicants
to submit work samples completed prior
to the past six months.

* x %

The Board of Social Work requires a
licensee to submit upon renewal ‘evi-
dence of having kept abreast of new
developments in the licensee’s area of
specialization.” The requirement is
fulfilled by taking continuing education
courses in social work. Although accepta-
ble categories of continuing education are
listed, the regulations do not specify the
required number of hours. Nevertheless,
the Board has notified several licensees

—_. that their number of continuing educa-
“-tion “hours was below the average
reported by other licensees. The implica-
tion is that licensees must keep pace
with others to retain licensure.

Some boards may also have gone beyond
legislative intent by establishing limitations

60

on the scope of practice within specialities.
Boards that regulate the behavioral sciences
are authorized by language in the Code of
Virginia to provide for the designation of
‘‘specialties within their professional fields.”
A number of specialties are listed or defined
for each board such as clinical, school, or
industrial/organizational psychology, family
or alcohol counseling, and clinical or generic
social work. It is not clear if the boards are
limited to the designations in the Code, or if
they may create other board categories or
define sub-specialties within designated areas.

Nevertheless, a psychologist, for example,
receives a license to practice in a designated
specialty which is further restricted by the
type of population to be served (for example,
adolescents or the elderly) and the types of
diagnostic instruments and therapeutic tech -
niques that may be used. Psychologists who
practice beyond the specific boundaries for
which they were licensed are subject to
disciplinary action.

In addition, Board decisions on the quali-
fications of practitioners are not always
consistently based on regulation and may
establish unique criteria for individual appli-
cants. For example:

An applicant for licensure as a
psychologist was originally denied permis-
sion to sit for an examination as a clini-
cal psychologist because some of her post -
doctoral training had been supervised by
a psyciiatrist. The Board of Psychology’s
regulations state that ‘supervision will
normally be provided by a licensed
psychologist or clinical psychologist.
However, to obtain specialized training,
up to one-half of the required supervision
may be provided by a senior licensed
mental health professional. This type of
arrangement must be approved by the
Board in advance.” The Board stated in a
letter to the applicant that “while the
regulations do allow for supervision from

- a senior licensed mental health profes-
sional, the Board has consistently accepted
such an arrangment only in the case of
geographical hardship.” Considering that
the applicant was from the Tidewater
area where a number of psychologists
reside, the Board refused to grant permis-
sion to sit for the exam.



The applicant requested assistance
from the Governor's office. After the
Governor’s office had reviewed the case
and requested reconsideration, the Board
reversed its earlier decision.

A similar case involving partial super-
vision by a psychiatrist had also been
denied by the Board. This case and any
like it should be reconsidered in light of
the Board’s recent reversal.

* * =%

A foreign born and educated applicant
was denied licensure as a psychologist
because of “limited training relevant to
the practice of psychology in the United
States.” The Board of Psychology told the
applicant that she could continue pursu-
ing licensure after completing ‘“‘at least
six months of assessment experience
involving at least 25 comprehensive
psychodiagnostic batteries and an hour of
supervision for each assessment provided
by a licensed psychologist.” Records do
not show how the requisite number of
assessments was derived by the Board.

It is the expressed policy of the
Commonwealth to protect the health and
safety of persons who are in need of treat-
ment by professionals in the behavioral
sciences. Board members are working to
develop criteria for protecting a highly
vulnerable client group. However, there is no
consensus in the mental health field regard-
ing the best method or type of practitioner
to deal with mental or emotional disorders.
Therefore, unnecessarily cumbersome regula-
tions and procedures may actually restrict a
client’s access to care.

It appears that the individual boards, in
conjunction with the Board of Behavioral
Science, should carefully review existing
regulations and practices in order to simplify
criteria, reduce areas of subjectivity, and facil-
itate administrative consistency. The Depart-

“ment of Commerce has recently requested
assistance from the Department of Manage-
ment Analysis and Systems Development and
the office of the Attorney General to study
both finances and the legal and administra-
tive functions of the Boards of Psychology
and Social Work. This study might be
expanded to encompass the Board of Profes-

sional Counselors and the Board of Behavioral
Science.

Regulation of Clinical Psychologists

Clinical psychologists are regulated by the
Board of Psychology and the Board of Medi-
cine. This arrangment involves not only two
boards, but two departments, because the
Board of Medicine is housed within the
Department of Health Regulatory Boards and
the Board of Psychology within the Depart-
ment of Commerce. This duplicative scheme
for regulating clinical psychologists has
existed since 1966. Apparent reasons are that
clinical psychologists generally function in a
medical setting and obtain status from a
medical license. However, the responsibilities
of the two boards are not clearly defined;
recent legislative proposals of the Board of
Medicine raise questions about the continued
feasibility of the arrangement; and two cate-
gories of clinical psychologists are either
jointly or separately licensed in the Common-
wealth.

The Board of Psychology screens,
examines, and recommends individuals for
licensure to the Board of Medicine. These
licensees then become subject to the Board of
Medicine’s discipline. Nevertheless, responsi-
bility for the investigation of complaints has
not been clearly established in practice. Offi-
cials of the Board of Medicine indicate that
the Board has taken disciplinary action in
1975 against one clinical psychologist. The
Board of Psychology has investigated three
allegations of unlicensed practice of clinical
psychology since 1977.

The issue is further complicated because
83 clinical psychologists hold licenses issued
by both boards. Moreover, the Board of
Psychology issues a license in a sub-specialty
called ‘‘Psychologist (clinical).” According to
Board regulations, the scope of practice of
persons receiving this license is identical to
clinical psychologists licensed by the Board of
Medicine. Clinical psychologists, also, are
members of both boards. There is one repre-
sentative on the fourteen-member Board of
Medicine, and three of the five current
Board of Psychology members are clinical
psychologists by training.

Because of the dual responsibility, fees
are split between the two boards. By law,
the Board of Medicine must reimburse half
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of the renewal fee to the Board of Psycholo-
gy. In FY 1980, reimbursement of renewal
fees to the Board of Psychology amounted to
$3,430.

The Board of Medicine has recently
considered making two proposals for statutory
changes that highlight the duplicative nature
of regulation for clinical psychologists. The
Board has proposed elimination of shared
renewal fees and the assuming of authority
to develop examination criteria for clinical
psychologists. The latter move would poten-
tially increase duplication with the examina-
tion function of the Board of Psychology.
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The responsibilities of the two boards
should be clearly defined. Moreover, the
General Assembly may wish to assign full
responsibility to regulate clinical psychologists
to one board.

This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.



VIRGINIA COLLECTION AGENCY BOARD

A

Collection agencies are businesses
which are compensated for collecting
money due omn delinquent accounts or
other forms of indebtedness. The agency
generally receives from ten to 50 percent
of the amount collected depending on the
size and age of the account. The purpose
of regulation is to assure both creditors
and debtors that collection agencies are
financially stable and employ fair collec-
tion practices.

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

In 1965 the Federal Trade Commission
issued a national regulatory publication titled
Guide Against Debt Collection Deception.
The guide is used to enforce fair collection
practices among collectors involved in inters-
tate business. Regulation in the Common-
wealth, first begun in 1970, is intended to
supplement the federal guide and to promote
consistent State action.

The Collection Agency Board regulates
both collection agencies and persons who
solicit business for the agency. Agencies and
their principal agents are licensed and
include any person, firm, corporation, or asso-
ciation directly or indirectly engaged in the
business of soliciting from or collecting for
others any account, bill or indebtedness due
or owed for a fee, commission or other
“—compensation. Any branch office operated by
a collection agency must also be licensed.

Solicitors, on the other hand, are certi-
fied, not licensed, and include those persons
who are employed by or have contracts with
a collection agency to solicit debts for the
collection agency.

During 1980, 165 collection agencies and
17 branch offices were licensed. There were
318 certified solicitors.

Some persons who act as debt collectors
are exempt from these regulations: regular
employees of a single creditor; banks and
trust companies; building and savings and
loan associations; licensed real estate brokers
or agents (when the claims are in connection
with real estate); attorneys handling claims
and collection in their own names; or any
person or firm acting under the order of a
court.

Twenty-two states regulate collection
agencies. Six states require licensure: Virginia,
California, Colorado, Indiana, Nevada, and
Oregon. Sixteen states require registration.

Four states regulate solicitors: Colorado,
Oregon, Wisconsin, and Virginia.

The Collection Agency Board consists of
three members appointed by the Governor
for three-year terms. Each member is
required to have been a resident of Virginia
for at least three years prior to being
appointed and to have operated or have been
affiliated with the collection business for at
least five years as owner, partner, or manag-
er. Since 1971, the Board has met at least
twice a year.

The provisions in the Code of Virginia
which govern the Virginia Collection Agency
Board are Section 54-729.2 et seq.

REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

To protect the public from collection
abuses, regulations are directed toward assur-
ing that collection agencies are financially
stable and that they use proper procedures
and have qualified management. Licenses for
collection agencies or agents may be granted
to any applicant who

1. is of good moral character;

2. has not been convicted in any court of
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fraud, embezzlement, or a felony
involving moral turpitude;

3. has a regular office in Virginia;

4. has not previously violated or been
convicted of any provisions in the
Code of Virginia or the Board’s regula-
tions;

5. obtains a surety bond of $5,000;

6. submits collection notices, letters, and
forms which do not simulate any legal
process, threaten litigation, or misre-
present the amount of the debt;

7. furnishes the Board with an accurate
financial statement; and

8. obtains a trust/escrow account in
which to deposit client funds.

A collection agency must apply for a
certificate for any solicitor whom it employs.
The agency must submit to the Board a
notarized document accepting responsibility
for the training and actions of its solicitors.

An agency can receive as many solicitors’
certificates as needed for employees. Since
the certificate bears the name of the agency
rather than the solicitor, a new certificate
must be issued bearing the agency’s name
when a solicitor becomes employed at
another collection agency.

There are no examination requirements.

An out-of-state applicant must meet the
qualifications established for State applicants.
In addition, if an out-of-state agency seeks a
license for a branch office in Virginia, it
must appoint an attorney who is a member
of the Virginia Bar to act as its registered
agent.

FEES AND EXPENDITURES

Agency licenses are issued after payment
of the following applicable fees:

Background investigation $250
Initial license for each office 75
Annual renewal for each license 50

Certification fees are $25 a year for each
“solicitor employed in each office.

Agency fees were recently increased by
210 percent to bring revenues into line with
expenditures. For the 1978-80 biennium
expenditures exceeded revenues by $23,872.
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Revenues and expenditures for the 1978-80
biennium are shown below.

FY_1979 FY 1980 Total -
Revenues $11,768 $12,861 $24,629
Expenditures 20,141 28,359 48,500

Balance ($ 8,373) ($15,498) ($23,871)

I Reports, FY 1979 and FY 1980.

Source: Department of Commerce Annual

As a line item expenditure, the cost of
enforcement incurred by Department of
Commerce staff was more than the total
revenues received by the Board in FY 1980.
Costs allocated by the department to the
Board for enforcement activities were
$15,488.

ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Renewal of agency or solicitor credentials
requires payment of the fee on or before
December 31 of each year. If a renewal fee
for an agency is received after that date, the
licensee is considered a new applicant and all
fees required of a new licensee must then be
remitted.

Board regulations specify the type of
records and accounts that must be retained
by the agencies and made available to clients
for review. Licenses must be openly
displayed and agencies must maintain certain
trust accounts in accordance with Board regu-
lations.

There are no specific inspection require-
ments in the Board’s regulations. However,
the board may request inspections as needed
to ensure compliance with its requirements.
Since 1971, the Department of Commerce
has made 455 inspections. The number varies
significantly from one year to another. In
-1979, there were 144 inspections. In 1980,
there were 22.

The Board has recently established an
administrative policy for conducting inspec-
tions at least four times within the first year
for each newly licensed agency. Inspections
of other agencies are to be conducted at least
once every 18 months.



The majority of complaints received by
the Board concern agencies identified as
collecting debts for clients without being
licensed. The main sources of complaints are
licensed agencies and the Department of
Commerce’s own enforcement staff. About 30
complaints are received each year. If an
agency is found to be unlicensed, it generally
applies for a license and its application is
generally approved.

Board regulations require that all com-
plaints filed against a licensee or -certificate
holder must be submitted in affidavit form
within six months from the date of the
occurrence.

The Board has the authority to repri-
mand, revoke, or suspend licenses if the
licensee

e obtained a license by means of misre-
presentation;

e failed to maintain a $5,000 bond;

e failed to maintain a regular office or
current appointed registered agent;

e failed to maintain records or trust
accounts;

e failed to deposit client funds in a trust
account within five days;

e fajled to pay clients the proper proceeds
of collections within 30 days;

e commingled funds;

e has been convicted in any court of
fraud or embezzlement or had a judg-
ment for failure to account to a client
for funds collected;

e violated any federal guidelines relating
to collection agencies;

e used any trade name that created the
impression that the agency is connected
with an agency of the government; or

e failed to notify the Board of changes in
ownership, partnership, or location.

Board records indicate that one discipli-
nary action was taken against a licensed
agency in 1978.

- AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Scope of Regulation of Solicitors

The Board’s current method of certifying
solicitors is not consistent with the language
in Section 54-729.3 of the Code of Virginia

that requires licensure of solicitors. The
language reads, “No person, firm, corporation
or association shall conduct or operate a
collection agency . . . or act as a solicitor
until he shall have first secured a license.”

Licensing procedures generally require
each person who meets entry criteria to
apply for a license. Persons without valid
licenses issued in their names may not prac-
tice the occupation or profession.

In contrast to this standard licensing
procedure, Board regulations require that soli-
citors be certified and provides that only
persons certified by the Board may practice
as solicitors. The established procedure
requires the agency wishing to employ one
or more solicitors to pay a fee and to submit
an affidavit stating that those persons meet
Board requirements. A single affidavit may
contain information about many solicitors.

A certificate is then issued to the collec-
tion agency along with identification cards
for the number of persons named in the affi-
davit. The identification cards are issued in
the name of the agency, they are the
property of the agency, they do not bear the
name of the individual solicitor, and they
may be transferred among employees of the
agency.

The Board’s procedures do not assure the
public of the level of individual competence
that licensure is intended to convey. The
credentials are not routinely verified by the
Board, and the credentials are not issued in
the name of the individual solicitor. The
agency, not the solicitor, appears to be the
accountable party. Moreover, identification
cards that do not bear an individual’s name
may be inappropriately transferred.

The Virginia Collection Agency Board
should review its procedures for regulating
solicitors and adopt revisions to implement
the licensure requirement specified by
statute.

An Alternative Level of Regulation of

Solicitors .

Although the Board needs to comply
with the current requirement for licensure of
solicitors, an alternative level of regulation
might be recommended by the Board to the
General Assembly. In current practice,
employers or their agents are considered
responsible for the qualifications and actions
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of their solicitors. If this approach is thought
to provide a sufficient degree of regulation
by the Collection Agency Board, registration,
a less restrictive form of regulation, could be
recommended. To be registered, individual
employees or firms would need only to
submit their names, locations, and types of
occupation to the Board. ’

The Board might determine, however,
that it is necessary to protect the public
through a higher level of regulation than
registration. In that case, certification, as
defined in the Code, could be used to inform
the public of those individuals who meet
minimum requirements to be solicitors.

However the Board's current procedures
for certifying solicitors do not appear to be
consistent with general certification proce-
dures. As defined in the Code (Section 54-1.-
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18), a certificate may be issued to any person
who has the minimum skills and education
to properly engage in a profession or occupa-
tion. Anyone may practice the occupation,
but only those certified may represent them-
selves as being certified. In contrast to this
provision, the regulations of the Collection
Agency Board permit only persons certified
by the Board to be employed as solicitors.
This regulation conflicts with the statutory
definition of certification and should be
changed.

S

This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.



A

Contractors operate businesses that
engage in the construction, removal,
repair or improvement of real property
such as residences, commercial buildings,
and roads. Regulation is intended (1) to
ensure that businesses are financially
stable and are able to complete contracts
satisfactorily as well as (2) to protect the
public from certain improper or dishonest
acts by contractors.

C ]

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

The State Board for Contractors was
created in 1938 to deal with the proliferation
of financially unsound contractors during the
Depression. It continues to supplement the
efforts of local building officials to protect
the public from unqualified or financially
insolvent persons and firms. Until it was
located in the Department of Commetce in
1977, the Board functioned as an independent
regulatory agency with its own support and
enforcement staff.

The Board for Contractors is authorized
by statute to license two classes of contrac-
tors:

1. Class A contractors are individuals or
firms who undertake work in which a
single contract exceeds 40,000 or the
total annual value of contracts is
greater than $300,000.

=2 _ 2. Class B contractors are individuals or
firms who undertake work in which
the wvalue of a single contract is
between $1,500 and $40,000.

Class A contractors are licensed in each
type of specialty they perform. Specialties
include residential, plumbing, electrical work,

STATE BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS

highway construction, utilities, and home
improvement. Class A contractors are exempt
from local bonding and examination require-
ments. In addition, a Class A contractor may
engage in jobs under $40,000 without obtain-
ing a Class B license. Class B contractors
receive a license from the Board, but they
must also meet the requirements of any local
ordinances.

As of May 1981, the Board licensed 8,367
Class A and 12,717 Class B contractors. This
is a four-fold increase since 1970 when fewer
than 5,000 contractors were regulated on the
State level.

A major group of contractors exempt
from licensure are ‘‘owner-developers,” those
that build residential, commercial, or indus-
trial buildings on their own land. To main-
tain this exemption a contract for sale cannot
be entered into prior to completion if equita-
ble title is to pass from the seller to the
buyer when the value of work remaining is
at or exceeding the monetary limits that
require a license.

Individuals and firms who do work
valued at less than $1,500 per contract are
also free from regulation. Additional exemp-
tions include contractors providing certain
services to the federal government and to the
Virginia Department of Highways and Trans-
portation.

General contractors are licensed in 19
states and registered in three. However, some
other states regulate specialty contractors
such as electricians, plumbers, and home
improvement specialists.

The State Board for Contractors is
composed of nine members. Six members
represent construction specialties and three

~are citizens not contractors. The contractors

include a highway contractor, a utility
contractor, a commercial contractor, a residen-
tial contractor, a home improvement contrac-
tor, and a subcontractor. Also, one of the lay
members must be involved in the sale of
construction materials and supplies. Each
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member serves for a five-year term. The
Board holds quarterly meetings with special
meetings when necessary.

The provisions in the Code of Virginia
which govern the State Board for Contractors
are Section 54-113 et seq.

REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

Language in the Code specifies that to be
licensed as Class A contractors, firms must
have the ‘ability, character and financial
position” to pay bills and carry out contrac-
tual obligations. Board regulations require the
applicant to submit the following informa-
tion: )

1. a statement describing the applicant’s

contracting business;

2. names and addresses of all owners or

officers;

3. a complete record of all previous
construction experience;

4. licensure history, including discipli-
nary actions by other states;

5. the type of workman’s compensation
and/or liability coverage held by the
applicant; and

6. the most current financial statement.

The Code also specifies that Class B
applicants must submit their name, place of
business, place of residence, the registered
agent’s name, and evidence of meeting local
licensing requirements.

Although no licensure examination is
required of general contractors, Class A elec-
trical and plumbing contractors must pass
written examinations developed in conjunc-
tion with the trade associations and reviewed
by building officials. These exams are given
at least four times a year in Richmond. As
of October 1981, exams also became required
for heating, ventilating, air conditioning, and
refrigeration contractors. Anyone holding a
current Class A license in any of these fields

—prior to June 1981 is exempt from taking the
examination.

Although no State exam is given for
Class B licenses, many localities require these
contractors to pass examinations in order to
be licensed. The Virginia Department of
Housing and Community Development is
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working with local governments to develop a -
uniform examination that localities could use
on a voluntary basis.

The number of individuals taking and
passing the examination for plumbing and
electrical contractors has doubled since 1970.
However, the percentage of applicants passing
the exams has remained relatively stable at
about 70 percent. The passing score for each
exam is 70.

The Board for Contractors may also grant
a license to an out-of-state applicant currently
licensed in a state which has established a
reciprocity agreement with Virginia. The
Board has one reciprocal agreement with
North Carolina for electrical contractors and
is exploring other reciprocal licensing
arrangements with North Carolina, Maryland,
and Tennessee.

FEES AND EXPENDITURES

The fee schedule for contractors includes
the following:

Class A
Initial license $60
Renewal 35
Class B
Initial license 20
Renewal 10
Examination 25
Classification change 10

During the 1978-80 biennium, the Board
for Contractors had revenues of $530,281 and
expenses of $530,458 as shown below.

FY 1979 FY 1980 Total
$258,831 $271.450 $530,281

Revenues

Expenditures _210,354 320,104 530,458

Balance $ 48,477 ($ 48,654) ($ 177)

Source: Department of Commerce Annual
Reports, FY 1979 and FY 1980.

ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Class A applicants must renew licenses
annually by the end of January. In addition



to paying the appropriate fee, Class A
contractors are required to submit a financial
statement. The Department of Commerce
then reviews each statement and refers the
name of any contractor who does not meet
the Board’s financial guidelines to the Board.
Class B licenses are renewed biennially by
December 31 of each odd-numbered year.

Routine inspections are not currently
authorized by the Board for Contractors. But
local building officials routinely inspect
construction activities within their jurisdic-
tions and may notify the State Board for
Contractors of any violations found.

Complaints about contractors have
increased substantially in the past five years.
According to Board officials, 335 complaints
were received in 1980 in contrast to 36 in
1975. Most complaints are against new resi-
dential builders and home improvement
contractors. About 120 complaints each year
that involve structural defects or fraud are
sent to the department’s enforcement division
for investigation.

Guidelines for Board disciplinary actions
against contractors are specified in statute
and regulations. Among the causes for disci-
plinary action are

e failing to comply with contractor laws
and regulations;

e publishing false or misleading advertis-
Ing;

® being disciplined by any local, State, or
federal body;

e contracting incompetently or with gross
negligence;

e failing to comply with the Uniform
Statewide Building Code. or the Virginia
Fair Housing Law; and

® abandoning without legal excuse a
contract or construction project.

While most complaints are disposed of
administratively, four licenses have been
“vevoked _since 1978 because of bankruptcy,
dissolution, or liquidation of the contracting
firm. According to new regulations of the
Board, the procedure now used is to wvoid
licenses on these grounds.

Also, 369 renewal applications have been
denied since 1970, primarily because the

Board felt the contractor’s financial position
was unsound. Most applicants denied renewal
are later relicensed. Under new regulations,
any applicant refused renewal must be sent a
written notice explaining the reasons for
denial.

Under specific circumstances, the Board
may provide financial relief to victims of
improper or dishonest practices by contrac-
tors. In conjunction with the Department of
Commerce, the Board administers the
Contractor Transaction Recovery Fund, which
was created by the General Assembly in
1980. A person who is awarded a judgement
against a licensed contractor but is unable to
collect may file a claim with the fund
through the court. The maximum claim
against the fund is $10,000 per single trans-
action or an aggregate of claims of $20,000
against one contractor. Such a claim against
the fund may include reasonable attorney’s
fees and court costs.

The first two claims against the fund
were recently processed. Both were aimed at
recovering down payments from the same
Class B contractor in central Virginia for
home improvement work that was never
done. The two claims totalled $2,122. Four
additional claims totalling $22,440 are
currently pending.

Each Class A and B licensee pays $25
into the fund, which is maintained in a
separate account from the normal licensing
fees. Language in the Code requires that the
funds be deposited in one or more federally
insured financial institutions. The maximum
balance the fund may reach is $500,000 and
the minimum is $400,000. Reassessment is
possible if the fund falls below the mini-
mum.

Approximately 4,000 new licenses have
been issued since the fund reached its maxi-
mum. Board and Department of Commerce
officials indicate that those licensees who
have not contributed to the fund can and
will be identified through the department’s
computer system when the next assessment
“becomes necessary.

The interest earned on the deposits is
required by statute to be used to cover the
costs of administering the fund. Any remain-
ing interest may be used to provide educa-
tional programs on the Uniform Statewide
Building Code, or it shall accrue to the fund.
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AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Class A Licensing Requirements

The State Board for Contractors requires
applicants to submit data on their financial
condition, but the Board has not promulgated
specific fiscal criteria for licensure of Class A
contractors. According to a Board official, the
Board relies on the ‘expertise of its
members”’ to make case-by-case judgments. In
the absence of written guidelines, however,
contractor applicants are not aware of the
standards against which they are being
measured.

Under present law and regulations, Class
A contractors must submit information such
as a financial statement, credit references,
and extent of insurance. The Board evaluates
these documents against unwritten guidelines
that vary for corporations, partnerships, and
individuals, and for each type of contractor
specialty. The guidelines are understood to
include such items as $10,000 in quick work-
ing capital, $10,000 in paid-up stock, estab-
lished lines of credit, and criteria concerning
prior bankruptcies.

The State Board for Contractors should
develop written criteria for Class A licenses.
These would inform applicants and Board
members of the criteria to be applied and
help to ensure consistency in Board decisions.
Distinctions could be made among specialties
if necessary.

Owner-Developer Exemption

The exemption from licensure of owner -
developers has been a source of controversy
for several years. The exemption affects two
primary groups:

e property owners who construct or make
improvements to their own residences;
and

e speculative builders who intend to lease
-or-=sell residential or commercial build-
ings which they construct on their
own land.

There appears to be general acceptance of
the principle that individual property owners
may build their own homes. The Board for
Contractors and the Board of Commerce have
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expressed concern that some contractors who
build with the intent to lease or sell, howev-
er, are not subject to regulatory requirements
regarding financial stability and fair business
practices.

Two opinions issued by the Attorney
General in 1973 clarified the circumstances
under which speculative owner-developers
were required to obtain a license. The deter-
mining factors are the time at which the
building is sold and the value of the contract
to be performed. The builder is exempt from
licensure if the builder contracts to sell a
completed building. However, if equitable
title of the project passes from the developer
to the buyer before completion and the value
of the work remaining exceeds the licensure
threshold, the speculative owner-developer is
no longer exempt from being licensed.

As a result of these opinions, most
owner-developers are licensed. However, those
who build and sell completed projects, such
as speculative houses or shopping centers, can
operate without a license. Although the
number of exempted developers may not be
large, the impact of substandard unlicensed
activity on the public can be significant in
terms of protections foregone.

A 198081 study conducted by the
Department of Commerce and the Board of
Commerce at the request of the General
Assembly raised concerns about the owner-de-
veloper exemption. The study noted that the
exemption was inconsistent with the protec-
tion of the public interest because it ‘“denies
a person who buys a newly-constructed
house the same protection” afforded to
purchasers of houses constructed by licensed
contractors. Such protections include assur-
ance of the minimum qualifications of the
contractor as well as the ability to seek the
Board’s assistance in the resolution of any
complaints within the Board’s jurisdiction. In
addition, the Contractor Transaction Recovery
Act indemnifies certain judgement creditors
of contractors whose conduct is found to be
improper or dishonest. A further concern was
that the public was not fully aware of the
exemption.

The Board for Contractors may wish to
request the General Assembly to modify the
exemption to include only property owners
who construct or make improvements on
their own residences.



Enforcement of the Uniform Statewide
Building Code

The Board for Contractors and local
building inspectors seek to protect the public
from contractors who are unscrupulous or
inadequately informed about the provisions of
the Uniform Statewide Building Code. Both
require contractors to adhere to the building
code which was adopted by the State in
1973. However, local inspectors concentrate
on minimum compliance with the code,
while the Board concerns itself "also with
quality of work, contractual obligations, and
the financial solvency of contractors. This
overlap in responsibility requires cooperation
among State and local inspectors and a
uniform application of standards.

A study released in 1981 by the Depart-
ment of Commerce indicates that contractors
are often not knowledgeable about the provi-
sions of the Uniform Statewide Building
Code and that local enforcement ranges from
“adequate to non-existent.” Problems are
attributed in part to inadequate training of
local building inspectors and insufficient
staffing. Officials of the Board for Contractors
also indicate that interpretations of code
provisions may vary among inspectors. In
some cases, Department of Commerce inspec-
tors who are investigating a consumer’s
complaint differ with local inspectors on the
nature and extent of violations committed by
contractors.

Steps should be taken to improve imple-
mentation of the Uniform Statewide Building
Code. The Board for Contractors is author-
ized to wuse interest accrued from the
Contractors Transaction Recovery Fund to
provide education about the building code.
An educational program for local building
inspectors is being developed. Both local
governments and the Department of Housing
and Community Development which is
responsible for administering the code, should
actively support such important training.

The Board for Contractors might also
consider (1) requiring new applicants for
contractor licenses to pass a written examina-
tion on the building code provisions to
ensure familiarity with basic requirements
and (2) providing training opportunities on
the building code for all licensees.

The Contractors Transaction Recovery
Fund

The Contractors Transaction Recovery
Fund was created by the General Assembly
in 1980 to provide financial compensation to
victims of improper or dishonest practices by
contractors. Claims against the fund are
considered by the courts in a summary hear-
ing. Claimants must provide evidence of an
unsatisfied judgment arising out of an
improper or dishonest act by the licensee
and must establish that the licensee has no
further assets remaining to apply against the
judgment. Recovery is limited to the amount
of the unsatisfied judgment, reasonable attor-
ney’s fees, and court costs up to $10,000 per
contract and $20,000 for aggregate claims.

The workings of the fund are currently
under review by a legislative subcommittee
pursuant to SJR 141 passed by the 1981
General Assembly. A primary concern of
critics of the fund is that under the present
system honest contractors are asked to pay
for the wrongdoing of dishonest contractors.
The fund is supported by a $25 mandatory
assessment on each contractor. The Commit-
tee is expected to report to the 1982 session
of the General Assembly.
L. ]

This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.

71



72



BOARD FOR

A

Commercial driver training schools
provide clients with instruction in the
operation of motor vehicles. Regulations
address business practices and require
operators of schools to comply with State
and local vehicle licensure and safety
standards.

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

In accordance with the Federal Highway
Safety Act of 1966, each state must have a
comprehensive highway safety program in
order to qualify for federal highway construc-
tion and maintenance funds. The act requires
that there be appropriate regulation of
commercial driver training schools, including
the licensing of schools and certification of
instructors. A State program for driver educa-
tion in the school system is also required.

In 1967, the Mann Commission in
Virginia recommended the creation of a
board to regulate commercial driver educa-
tion, and the Board for Commercial Driver
Training Schools was created by the General
Assembly in 1969. The commission also
emphasized the importance of training of 16
to 18 year olds in public school programs
certified by the Department of Education.
Formal training is now required of persons
under 18 before being licensed to operate a
motor vehicle.

~_ -Bath—commercial driver training schools
and instructors must be licensed. A Class A
license is issued to schools that provide train-
ing in vehicles over 20,000 pounds, while
Class B licenses are issued for training in
vehicles under that weight. Instructor’s
licenses are issued in the same classes based

COMMERCIAL DRIVER
TRAINING SCHOOLS

on the same vehicle weights as those of the
schools.

As of FY 1980, the Board had issued 65
driver school licenses and 153 driver instruc-
tor licenses. These include one Class A
school and eight Class A instructors.

Schools operated by the following groups
are excluded from licensure: colleges and
universities; local and State governments for
traffic violators; employers for their own
employees; religious institutions; public
schools; and associations approved by the
Department of Education.

Three State agencies have some control
over driver training schools and instructors.
The Division of Motor Vehicles licenses all
vehicles and vehicle operators in the State,
including training school vehicles and
instructors,and enforces State minimum insur-
ance requirements on vehicles. The Division
of Safety of the Virginia State Police is
responsible for semi-annual safety inspections
of vehicles.

The State Department of Education is
also responsible for certifying the curricula
and instructors of all public and commercial
schools that provide driver education to 16 to
18 year olds. The department is required by
law to submit the names of certified schools
to the Division of Motor Vehicles; an opera-
tor's license may only be issued to students
who have successfully completed driver
education courses at a certified school.

Commercial driver training schools are
regulated in all 50 states.

The Board for Commercial Driver Train-
ing Schools consists of five members
appointed by the Governor. Two members
are instructors, with at least five years of
experience at commercial driver training
schools. The other three members are driving
teachers at local public schools. Members
serve three-year terms and are not able to
succeed themselves. The Board meets about
twice a year.
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The provisions in the Code of Virginia
which govern the Board for Commercial
Driver Training Schools are Section 54-145.11
et seq.

REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

To be issued a driver training school
license, applicants must have an established
place of business in Virginia and must show
proof that their vehicles are licensed in the
State of Virginia or by the state where the
vehicle is principally garaged. All motor
vehicles to be used for driver instruction
must also have dual brakes, rearview mirrors,
and outside mirrors, and passenger vehicles
must carry a rooftop sign not less than 2 1/2
inches in height, with ‘‘Student Driver”
printed in bold lettering. The name of the
school must also appear on the outside of
the vehicle.

All vehicles must be insured with a
company licensed to do business in Virginia
in the minimum amounts required by law,
$25,000 and $10,000 for liability and personal
injury respectively. Finally, all vehicles must
have valid State inspection stickers.

Applicants for an instructor’s license must

1. be of good moral character;

2. be 21 years of age or older;

3. have a high school diploma or its
equivalent;

4. have at least four years driving experi-
ence;

5. have a valid State operator's license,
with no major violations for a period
of three years;

6. be in good physical and mental health
as stated by a physician licensed to
practice in the State of Virginia;

7. have a statement of reference from the
chief of police or sheriff of the city or
county in which the instructor resides;
and

8. have two recommendations from

--persons other than the driver training
school operator.

The Board does not require an examina-

tion for licensure.

The Board has no reciprocal agreements
with other states. A vehicle registered in
another state may have Virginia inspection
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requirements waived, however, if that state
has similar requirements.

FEES AND EXPENDITURES

Initial licensing fees for Class A and B
schools and instructors are $45 and $15
respectively. Annual renewal fees are the
same. The Board is, however, considering an
increase in both initial and renewal fees,
with increases expected to be promulgated
before the end of FY 1982.

As indicated below, Board revenues and
expenditures were balanced for the 1978-80
biennium.

FY 1979 FY 1980 Total

Revenues $6,435 $6,307 $12,742
Expenditures 5,705 6.986 12,691

$ (679) $ 51

Balance $ 730

Source: Department of Commerce Annual
Reports, FY 1979 and FY 1980.

sss—

Since 1971, the Board's expenditures grew
from $1,940 to $6,986, an increase of 260
percent, while revenues grew 50 percent
from $4,212 to $6,307.

ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Licenses are renewed annually upon
payment of the fee. Each school must also
submit proof of continued insurance coverage
on all vehicles used for driver training.

The Board has no written regulations
requiring regular inspection of facilities.
Board records indicate that since 1971,
however, 49 inspections have been conducted
by request, 31 of these in 1974 and 15 in
1977. DOC inspectors check facilities for
proper display of licenses, properly marked
vehicles, posted rate schedules, and current
driver's licenses. Inspectors are not required
to check vehicles for properly functioning
safety equipment.

Since 1971, 35 complaints have been
received by the Board. During the 1978-80
biennium the Board received one complaint.

According to the Board’s executive direc-
tor, most complaints are made against persons



practicing without licenses. Other complaints
come from students requesting refunds of
fees, either because they were not satisfied
with their training or because they stopped
training before completing the course.

The Board may refuse to license, refuse

to renew a license, or revoke or suspend a
license for the following reasons:

e furnishing false, misleading, or incom-
plete information to the Board;

e presenting false or misleading informa-
tion to prospective students; .

e failing to maintain premises or equip-
ment in safe and sanitary condition;

® paying a commission or giving
consideration to any person for service
in violation of the Code or Board regu-
lations;

e failing to provide actual instruction to a
student for the full period for which
payment has been received; or

e providing instruction in a vehicle
which the instructor is not licensed to
operate.

Since its creation in 1969, the Board has

not revoked or suspended a license.

AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Duplication in Regulating Commercial
Driver Training Schools

To secure federal highway funds which
were dependent upon the regulation of driver
education, the Commonwealth created the
Board for Commercial Driver Training
Schools and assigned supervision of public
school and other programs for students
between 16 and 18 years of age to the State
Department of Education. This arrangement
has been approved by the federal Department
of Transportation.

This assignment of responsibilities,
however, has resulted in considerable duplica-
tion and little coordination among the activi-
ties or requirements of the Board, the

Department of Education, the Division of
Motor Vehicles, and the State Police. The
Board has few requirements that do not
relate to the activities of other agencies. For
example, th e Division of Motor Vehicles
requires all automobiles and drivers to have
a valid license and minimum liability insu-
rance, as does the Board. The Virginia State
Police carry out safety inspections of vehicles
semi-annually, and the Board relies on the
police inspection. Moreover, of the 65
licensed schools, 39 (60 percent) are also
certified by the Department of Education in
order to serve students 16 to 18 years old.

The Board has few requirements concern-
ing a school’s curriculum or an instructor’s
qualifications. In contrast, the Department of
Education specifies curriculum components
and requires instructors to complete six
semester hours of driver education.

The regulatory activity of the Board has
also been minimal. The number of licensees
has remained relatively stable, and Board
records indicate that 35 complaints have been
handled since FY 1971, most of these dealing
with unlicensed activity. The Board does
regulate some business practices, however, by
prohibiting false or misleading advertising
and by providing that schools offer instruc-
tion for the time specified in the student’s
contract.

Although the Board’s activity is not
extensive and requirements are duplicative of
other agencies’ activities, there probably
would be little financial benefit from shifting
the Board’s function to another agency such
as the Department of Education. Since regula-
tion of commercial driver training schools is
federally required, some expenditure would
be necessary under any arrangement.

This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 232189.
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EMPLOYMENT AGENCY ADVISORY

BOARD

A

Employment agencies are businesses
that act as brokers for persons seeking
jobs and employers with positions to fill.
A fee or commission is charged for this
service. Regulation is intended primarily
to ensure that comtractual arrangements
and advertisements are clear, accurate,
and fair.

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

Employment agencies have been regulated
in the Commonwealth since 1962. In 1978
the responsibility for regulation was shifted
to the Department of Commerce (DOC) from
the Department of Labor and Industry. An
advisory board representing professional and
consumer interests works with DOC. Previ-
ously, all Board members were associated
with employment agencies.

All agencies in Virginia that advertise
through any means and charge a fee for the
pur- se of assigning, directing, or placing
persuns for employment must be licensed.
Agency employees whose responsibilities
include consulting, interviewing applicants, or
dealing directly with businesses in need of
employees must be registered as employment
counselors.

As of December 1980, 275 employment
agencies were licensed in Virginia. This is a
-considerable increase over prior years;
between 1972 and 1979, the number of
licenses was approximately 149. The total
number of registered employment counselors
as of February 1981 was 336.

Exempted from regulation are persons
engaged exclusively in the business of
providing part-time or temporary personnel,

businesses recruiting tor their own purposes,
and persons placing migratory farm labor.
Twenty-nine states regulate employment
agencies. Of these, 21 require that agencies
be registered, and eight states, including
Virginia, require licensure. The eight licens-
ing states are Alabama, Arkansas, Connecti-
cut, Georgia, Montana, Tennessee, Texas, and
Virginia. '
Eight states regulate employment counse-
lors. Four states, including Virginia, register

employment counselors, and four states
require that employment counselors be
licensed.

The Employment Agency Advisory Board
is composed of five members appointed by
the director of DOC. While all Board
members were previously associated with
employment agencies, language in the Code
as amended in 1978 requires the Board to
include two members representing the profes-
sion, two members from consumer protection
interest groups, and a State official familiar
with the regulation of employment agencies.
Terms are for three years. According to DOC
regulations, the Board shall meet not less
than quarterly each year. During FY 1980
the Board held ten meetings.

The Board is authorized to advise the
director of DOC on matters relating to
employment agency practices and procedures
and to conduct research on the operation and
conduct of such agencies. The Board has no
regulatory or disciplinary power, but the
director of DOC may refer a complaint to
the Board for recommended action.

DOC is responsible for all regulatory and
administrative functions related to employ-
-ment agencies. These duties include establish-
ing and reviewing the qualifications of appli-
cants, issuing licenses, levying and collecting
fees, initiating inspections and investigations,
and disciplining practitioners.

The provisions in the Code of Virginia
which govern the Employment Agency Advi-
sory Board are Section 54-872.16 et seq.
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REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

Applicants for employment agency
licenses must meet the following entry
requirements:

1. be of good moral character;

2. be at least 18 years of age;

3. submit to a criminal records check;

4. give evidence of an established place
to practice in Virginia;
provide a $5,000 surety bond for each
office operating under the agency
name; and

6. submit a copy of the agency contract

which applicants sign; a copy of the
agency fee schedule for both appli-
cants and employers; copies of all
advertisements; and a copy of the
State Corporation Commission charter
if the agency is a corporation, partner-
ship, or association.

In order to be employed in a licensed
agency as a registered employment counselor,
an applicant must be at least 18 years old
and of good moral character, must not have
been convicted of a felony, and must not
have had a prior application revoked for
fraud or other acts that constitute a violation
of the Code or DOC regulations.

There is no examination required for
entry to practice.

DOC has not established any reciprocal
agreements with other states. The require-
ments for out-of-state agencies are the same
as those for in-state agencies: a license must
be obtained before doing business in the
Commonwealth.

FEES AND EXPENDITURES

The following fees for employment agen-
cies are established in the Code:

o

Initial application $200
Fee for each controlling partner 200
-~ Annusi-renewal 50

~ Employment counselors are not assessed a
fee. The licensed agency is required to regis-
ter each employment counselor with the
department.

For the 1978-80 biennium, revenues
exceeded expenditures by $2,127.
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FY 1980 Total
$21,650 $41,100

FY 1979

Revenues $19,450
Expenditures 15,581 23,392 38,973

$ 3869 ($ 1,742) $ 2,127

Balance

Source: Department of Commerce Annual
Reports, FY 1979 and FY 1980.

ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Licenses are renewed upon payment of
the fee by January 1 of each year.

Agencies and branch offices must have
available for review the following records for
a three-year period:

1. originals or duplicates of all applica-

tions and contracts;

2. all employer job orders;

3. all advertisements identified by date
and publication;

4. the date of clients’ applications for
employment;

5. the name and address of every appli-
cant from whom a fee is received or
to whom a placement fee is charged;
and

6. the name, date, address, and amount
of refunds.

Twenty-two inspections have been
conducted since 1978. No violations of the
Code were found.

From 1975 to 1980, 22 complaints were
made against employment agencies (1979 data
are not in retrievable form). Disputes
between employment agencies and job appli-
cants over the amount of the agency fee
were the most frequent. Generally, the
complaints involved contract disputes between
employment agencies and job applicants over
fees; applicants leaving jobs without paying
agency fees; and employment agencies induc-
ing employees to leave one company for

“another company that the agency represents.
Most of the complaints filed with the depart-
ment to date have been unfounded.

DOC's disciplinary prerogatives enable it
to revoke or suspend a license or use other
disciplinary measures. Grounds for discipli-
nary actions include the following:

e committing fraud, misrepresentation, or



deception in contractual agreements;

e charging a fee for a position that is not
available;

e advertising a position when a contract
with the employer is not on file;

e inducing employees from one company
to another;

e changing locations or opening branch
offices without notifying the depart-
ment;

e employing non-registered employment
counselors;

e failing to post a surety bond; 'and

e failing to keep the department informed
of changes in fee schedules or
contracts.

Since 1978, only one consent order has been
issued.

AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Regulation of Employment Counselors

When regulatory authority for employ-
ment agencies was established for DOC, the
level of regulation for employment counselors
was not specified in the Code. However,
Section 54-872.23(D) requires the Employment
Agency Advisory Board to ‘“advise and make
recommendations to the Department with
respect to appropriate standards of
competence to be established with respect to
employment agency counselors and proce-
dures for certification or licensing of such
counselors.” No mention was made of Board
or agency discretion to select another option.
Still, DOC has implemented procedures for
registering employment counselors instead of
licensing or certifying them. -

Registration is the least restrictive form
of regulation for the individual practitioner.
An employment agency must supply DOC
with the name of each counselor it has
employed. The agency is then held responsi-
ble for hiring qualified counselors and for
—_ensuring their proper performance of duties.
In contrast, licensure permits only those who
meet all entry and performance criteria to
practice a profession. Certification permits
anyone to practice a profession, but it attests
that those holding certificates have achieved
specified levels of relevant education and
experience.

The Advisory Board has determined that
registration is sufficient for counselors
because of the very specific business practices
prescribed for licensed agencies in regulation.
The counselor is subordinate to the licensed
operator of the business who must ensure
that the entire business is in compliance.
Although registration of counselors does not
appear to be unreasonable, regulation needs
to comply with one of the alternative levels
specified in the Code. Authority may be
requested from the General Assembly to
regulate counselors by registration.

Clarification of Board’s Regulatory
Authority

Sections of the Code relating to the type
of regulatory authority of the Board are not
consistent, since the Board is referred to as
having both advisory and regulatory powers.
Section 54-872.23 of the Code, which establ-
ishes the advisory authority of the Board,
states, ‘It shall be the duty of the board to
advise and make recommendations to the
Department with respect to all matters relat-
ing to employment agencies.”” Section
54-872.18 of the Code, however, states, “The
Board may make such rules and regulations
as may be necessary to carry out the
purposes of this article.”

According to a department official,
Section 54-872.18 refers to the authority of
the Board of Commerce for promulgating
rules and regulations for employment agen-
cies as specified in the 1978 Acts of Assem-
bly, Chapter 840, Section 5. Although it
promulgates regulations for the other two
advisory boards, it is DOC's opinion that the
Board of Commerce rather than the depart-
ment should promulgate regulations.

The reference in the statute should be
clarified at the earliest opportunity. The
General Assembly may wish to specify the
responsibilities of the Board of Commerce in
the Code and define more clearly the role of
the Board of Commerce regarding all advi-

_sory boards.

]
This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Jjoint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.
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VIRGINIA STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS OF

A

Professional hairdressers provide
services to consumers including cosmetic
treatments and cutting, curling, or dress-
ing of hair. Regulations specify qualifica-
tions for hairdressers and standards for
beauty shops.

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

In 1962 Virginia became one of the last
states to license hairdressers. According to
Board officials, regulation in Virginia resulted
from concern by the State’s hairdressers that
individuals incapable of meeting licensure
requirements in other states were moving to
Virginia to practice. Hairdressers are now
licensed in all 50 states.

The Board of Hairdressers licenses 22,700
hairdressers and 4,880 beauty shops. Until
recently, the Board also licensed approxi-
mately 150 cosmetology schools and certified
1,300 teachers. An Attorney General’s opin-
ion issued in October 1980, however, stated
that the Board did not have the statutory
authority to approve beauty schools or to
prescribe standards for teachers.

Exempted from licensure as hairdressers

are licensed barbers, apprentices or students
of cosmetology, persons employed only as a
shampooer or a manicurist, and persons prac-
ticing hairdressing without pay.
"~ _ -Apprenticeship programs in cosmetology
are approved by the State Department of
Labor and Industry based on standards
approved by the Board. In addition, the
Department of Education approves the cosme-
tology curriculum in public schools.

The Board of Examiners of Professional
Hairdressers is composed of seven members

PROFESSIONAL HAIRDRESSERS

appointed for four-year terms. The Board
generally meets on a monthly basis.

The provisions in the Code of Virginia
which govern the Board of Examiners of
Professional Hairdressers are Section 54-112.1
et seq.

REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

To qualify for licensure as a professional
hairdresser in Virginia, a person must

1. be at least 17 years old and of good
moral character;

2. have an eighth grade education or its
equivalent;

3. present a medical certificate stating
that the applicant is free of infectious
communicable disease;

4. complete 2,000 hours of beauty school
training (1,500 hours of which will be
in cosmetology training and 500 in
related subjects) or a 4,000-hour
apprenticeship program; and

5. pass a written and a practical examina-
tion.

A 1979 amendment to the Code prohibits
the denial of licensure to an otherwise quali-
fied hairdresser solely for failing to produce a
medical certificate. According to a Board offi-
cial, the regulatory requirement for a certifi-
cate is not being enforced and will be omit-
ted when new regulations are promulgated.

Applicants for a beauty shop license must
obtain a local business permit, receive local
health department approval of the facilities,
provide at least 110 square feet of floor space
per operator, and have adequate ventilation.
No beauty shop is permitted to be used for
residential or sleeping purposes, although the
shop may be located in a residence.

Hairdresser examinations consist of writ-
ten and practical sections. The written exam
is required to cover all of the areas covered
in a beauty school’s curriculum. It is devel-
oped and scored by a national testing service.
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The practical exam measures the appli-
cant’s hairdressing competency. Applicants
are scored on their performance of a series of
Board-specified tests using live models or
mannequins. The Department of Commerce
employs a part-time chief examiner and 26
independent examiners to administer the
practical exam for the Board. The examiners
are all licensed practicing hairdressers. They
are trained by the chief examiner to conduct
and score the exam.

The number of applicants passing both
the written and practical exams has remained
around 1,300 annually since 1970. The pass-
ing score is 70 on each exam, and generally
more than three-quarters of the applicants
pass.

The examination requirement is waived
for a currently licensed cosmetologist or hair-
dresser in any state which has a reciprocity
agreement with Virginia. Virginia currently
has full reciprocity with 29 states plus the
District of Columbia and the Virgin Islands.
Partial reciprocity has been extended to 12
additional states.

FEES AND EXPENDITURES

The following fees are currently charged
by the Board of Examiners:

Examination and initial license $25
Reexamination 5
Licensure renewal 15
Salon license 25
Reciprocity and initial license 25

Because of the large number of licensees,
the Board generates the second highest
amount of total revenue of all boards within
the Department of Commerce. Nearly
$600,000 was collected from fees during the
1978-80 biennium.

Board revenues exceeded expenditures for
the same period by $113,330. Revenues and
expenditures for the 1978-80 biennium are
shown below.

FY 1979 FY 1980 Total
“fRevenues. $482,948 $ 85,196 $568,144
Expenditures 277,698 177,116 454,814

$205,250 ($ 91,920) $113,330

Balance

Source: Department of Commerce Annual
Reports, FY 1979 and FY 1980.
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Renewal fees are paid in the odd-numbered
year of the biennium. This practice accounts
for the difference in revenues between the
two years of the biennium.

ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Licenses are renewed by paying the bien-
nial fee by January 1 of each odd-numbered
year. Failure to renew a license within 30
days of the expiration date results in auto-
matic revocation of the license. Lapsed
licenses may be reinstated, however, within
five years of the expiration date by paying a
penalty fee of five dollars and the cost of
the license for those years not renewed.

Two Department of Commerce inspectors
spend about two-thirds of their time periodi-
cally visiting beauty shops to determine if
the shop and its employees are properly
displaying current licenses. Between July
1976 and June 1980, 10,597 inspections of
beauty shops were conducted. Board data
show that approximately 1,800 violations are
found each year. Common violations include
operating without licenses; failing to post
licenses, licensee photographs, and apprentice-
ship signs; and lacking mannequins for use
by apprentices.

Eighty-six complaints were filed with the
Board between 1977 and 1980. The majority
of complaints concerned unlicensed practition-
ers or shops. Licensed competitors are the
source of most complaints.

The Board of Hairdressers is required by
regulation to revoke or suspend the license
of a hairdresser who

e is incompetent through addiction to
drugs or alcohol;

e is guilty of fraud or deceit in the prac-
tice of hairdressing;

e practices while suffering from an infec-
tious or contagious communicable
disease;

e violates or causes others to violate the
requirements of the cosmetology section
in the Code of Virginia or regulations;
or

e violates any sanitation rule or regula-
tion of the State Department of Health
relating to hairdressing establishments.

Records indicate that no disciplinary
actions have been taken by the Board since



July 1976. Of the 86 complaints received
during this period, compliance was obtained
in 39 cases, no violation was found in 42
cases, one case was dismissed, and another
was withdrawn. Three cases were handled
through the legal system.

AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Training Requirements

The number of hours of school-based
training needed to adequately train cosmetolo-
gists has not been conclusively established.
The President of the Nationa)l Hairdressers
and Cosmetologists Association recently stated
that it is unknown whether ““a graduate with
1,800 is better qualified than a graduate with
1,500 hours.” Each state sets its own require-
ment. In Virginia considerable controversy
has arisen between the Board of Hairdressers
and the Department of Education regarding
the amount of training necessary to sit for
the hairdresser licensure examination.

The Board of Hairdressers currently
requires its cosmetology applicants to
complete 2,000 training hours in a beauty
school or 4,000 hours as an apprentice. In
contrast, most states require their cosmetology
students to complete 1,500 hours in beauty
school. Requirements range from 1,000 curri-
culum hours in Massachusetts to 2,500 hours
in Oregon.

Among states bordering Virginia=Mary-
land, North Carolina, Tennessee, and the
District of Columbia—each requires 1,500
hours. West Virginia’s educational require-
ments are identical to Virginia’s. Several
applicants from these neighboring states
become licensed in Virginia each year under
reciprocity agreements, and the Board accepts
each state’s educational requirement.

In contrast to its practice with out-of-state
applicants, the Board does not allow any
exceptions to the 2,000-training-hour prerequi-

“site for-taking the licensure exam in Virgin-
ia. In particular, the Board has stated that it
will not allow graduates of a pilot program
proposed by the Department of Education to
take the exam after completing a vocational
curriculum consisting of 1,080 hours in
cosmetology and 500 hours in related
subjects. The pilot project was to include six

specially selected high school students in
Russell County. All other students would
continue to take the regular 2,000-hour curri-
culum which corresponds to the requirement
in private schools of cosmetology.

Both the Secretary of Commerce and
Resources and the Board of Commerce
requested the Board of Hairdressers to recon-
sider allowing the students to sit for the
exam upon completion of the pilot project.
When the Board of Hairdressers reaffirmed
its earlier position, the Board of Commerce
went on record supporting legislation - that
would allow any person completing cosmetol-
ogy training under the auspices of the
Department of Education to sit for the licen-
sure exam regardless of the number of hours
of training received.

In this case, the Department of Education
and the Board of Hairdressers have come into
conflict over their shared responsibilities. The
Board of Hairdressers has clear statutory
responsibility for assuring the competence of
cosmetologists by establishing entry criteria
that include an examination. The Depart-
ment of Education is responsible for approv-
ing the curricula of public schools.

It appears that a sound pilot project could
be useful in determining an empirical basis
for the number of required training hours.
The present proposal of the Department of
Education does not appear to be sufficient,
however, because it involves six specially
selected students in one school. A pilot
should include a representative group of
students and be designed in accordance with
generally accepted research principles.

The Department of Education and the
Board of Hairdressers should jointly develop
such a pilot program. If the results show
that all students or students with specific
qualifications could benefit from a revised
curriculum, appropriate adjustments in entry
criteria could then be made by the Board of
Hairdressers.

Inspections of Beauty Shops

Before 1979, inspections of beauty shops
and barber shops were carried out by the
State Department of Health. The inspections
were discontinued as a result of the depart-
ment’s reinterpretation of its authority under
the Code for conducting such inspections.
Although the health department appears still
to be responsible for inspecting barber shops,
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the statutory authority for continued inspec-
tions of beauty shops by the department is
less clear. The Board of Hairdressers believes
that sanitary inspections of beauty shops are
necessary to protect public health. Therefore,
the Board intends to request authority from
the General Assembly to promulgate rules
and regulations regarding sanitation to be
enforced by the Department of Commerce.

Until the mid-1900s, many hair dyes and
treatments were considered to have the
potential for causing permanent scalp damage
and hair loss. There were also concerns that
diseases such as lice, ringworm, and infec-
tious dandruff could be communicated
through the scalp. Increasing regulation,
however, by the U. S. Food and Drug
Administration of the chemicals in hair
preparations has reduced the potential harm
when these products are applied correctly.
And officials of the State Department of
Health also indicate that there is no record
of communicable disease being transmitted
by hair dressing. While a U. S. Public
Health Service publication states that ring-
worm of the scalp can be transmitted by
unsterilized hairdressing equipment, as well
as through contact with contaminated cloth-
ing or upholstery, tracing the source of such
an occurrence would be difficult.

Local health departments in seven juris-
dictions have continued to conduct health
inspections of barber and beauty shops under
local ordinances. Some localities conduct
inspections on a quarterly basis, others not as
frequently. Although violations have been
reported which include dirty floors and
equipment that has not been properly sani-
tized, officials of these health departments
report that few violations are found during
inspections. Inspections have been terminated
in Lynchburg and Staunton by action of the
local government, and the City of Richmond
is considering eliminating inspections because
of staffing constraints and the belief that

—_ there is a limited threat posed to public

= health.—-

Although the need for inspections in
order to prevent disease appears to be limit-
ed, public health and Board officials indicate
that customers are provided with some assur-
ance that sanitary conditions in the shops
are monitored. Moreover, the absence of
reported incidents does not mean that none
occurs, and the Board believes that inspec-
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tions act as a deterrent to unsanitary condi-
tions. It should be noted, however, that it is
clearly in the best interest of beauty shop
owners to maintain clean premises and to
post licenses, because these shops are heavily
dependent upon return trade.

The Board of Hairdressers should join
with the Board of Barber Examiners, the
Board of Commerce, and the Department of
Health to develop options cooperatively to
present to the General Assembly. Options
could include the following:

1. Termination of all inspections in the
absence of serious known hazards.
Under this option, the Board of Hair-
dressers will not regain authority to
promulgate regulations for sanitary
inspections.

2. Assignment of responsibility for
compliance and sanitary inspections to
the Department of Commerce in
accordance with regulations promul-
gated by the Board of Hairdressers.
Under this option the Board would
bear the expense for inspections. The
General Assembly would need to
authorize the Board to promulgate
sanitary regulations.

3. Reinstatement of sanitary inspections
by the State Department of Health.
Under this option the inspections
would be conducted at public expense
or through a transfer of funds from
the Department of Commerce to the
State Department of Health. The
General Assembly may consider assign-
ing responsibility for promulgating
regulations to the Board of Hairdres-
sers or to the Board of Health.

The General Assembly may also wish to
address the need for the inspections currently
carried out by the Department of Commerce
at the Board’s request. Two inspectors devote
approximately 84 percent of their time visit-
ing barber shops and beauty shops only to
ensure that shop and practitioner licenses are

~posted. Since the major area in which the

Board does receive complaints is unlicensed
activity, the purpose of ensuring that licenses
are valid could be achieved more economi-
cally through investigation of complaints or
visits to shops that do not apply for renewal
of licenses. Although these inspections are
carried out at the Board's expense, they do
not appear to be an economical use of funds



collected under the authority of the State
government.

Beauty Schools and Teachers

Pursuant to an Attorney General’s opin-
ion issued in October 1980, the Board of
Examiners of Professional Hairdressers has
ceased regulating proprietary schools of
cosmetology and teachers in these schools.
The Attorney General stated that the Board
did not appear to have statutory. authority to
conduct these activities. The Board of Hair-
dressers continues to favor State regulation of
cosmetology schools and teachers, however,
and is proposing an amendment to its
enabling legislation in order to gain the
authority required to conduct these regula-
tory activities.

Until the Board ceased regulating them,
cosmetology schools were required to meet
regulations governing physical plant, teaching
materials, student records, curriculum, and
staffing ratios. Instructors in these schools
had to meet certain training requirements or
pass a national teachers examination. Instruc-
tors also had to be licensed as hairdressers
because cosmetology schools offer hairstyling
services to the public.

It appears that Virginia's cosmetology
schools now exist with only limited over-
sight. The Department of Education is not
involved with private schools. According to
Board officials, only 13 of the approximately
150 cosmetology schools in Virginia have
received accreditation by the National Accre-
diting Commission of Cosmetology Arts and
Sciences. National accreditation is needed in
order for a school’s students to qualify for
federal loans. In order to be accredited, a
school must make application with the
national commission and demonstrate that it
meets requirements.

In recent months, Board officials have
received some complaints about schools, but
they can no longer carry out follow-up inves-
tigations. According to the Attorney General,
however, the Board still has the authority to
ensure that schools adhere to the standards
for beauty shops, since cosmetology services
are provided to the public by the schools.

L
This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.
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VIRGINIA BOARD OF HEARING AID

A

Hearing aid dealers fit and sell hear-
ing aids based on a physician’s referral
or their own audiometric measurement of
a client’s hearing capacity. Regulation
focuses primarily on the training and
business practices of dealers.

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

The regulation of hearing aid dealers and
fitters in Virginia began in 1970. Only
licensed dealers and holders of temporary
permits may engage in the fitting and sale of
hearing aids. Temporary permits are issued to
persons in training to become licensed dealers
and fitters. In FY 1980, the Virginia Board of
Hearing Aid Dealers and Fitters issued or
renewed 141 licenses and 31 temporary
permits.

Physicians licensed to practice in Virginia
are exempt from Board regulations. Other
practitioners, such as audiologists, may
measure hearing to determine the need for a
hearing aid, but they may not fit or sell the
instrument.

The Board's regulations on appropriate
business practices provide that dealers and
trainees shall

1. indicate at the beginning of testing

that the dealer is not licensed to do
medical examinations and that persons
under 18 years of age can not be
fitted unless they have been examined
by an otolaryngologist within the past
six months; _

2. require all fully informed adult clients

either to sign a waiver of an examina-
tion by a physician or to have a
medical examination before being
fitted for a hearing aid; and

DEALERS AND FITTERS

3. provide each purchaser of a hearing
aid with a receipt that includes the
licensee’s signature, business address,
and license number; the make and
model of the hearing aid; a notice
that the unit is used or reconditioned
if the hearing aid is not new; and the
full terms of the sale.

Virginia is one of 42 states that license
dealers and fitters. Virginia and seven other
states regulate trainees: one registers trainees,
six issue licenses, and Virginia issues a
permit.

The Board is composed of seven
members. Four members are licensed hearing
aid dealers and fitters, one is an otolaryngolo-
gist, and two are citizen members. One of
the citizen members is required to be a hear-
ing-aid user and the other is a family
member of a hearing-aid user. All profes-
sional members of the Board are required to
have five years’ experience in their profes-
sions before being appointed.

The terms of office are four years, and
two successive terms are permitted. The
Board generally meets three times a year.

The provisions in the Code of Virginia
which govern the Virginia Board for Hearing
Aid Dealers and Fitters are Section 54-524.110
et seq.

REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

An applicant for licensure as a hearing

aid dealer and fitter must

1. be at least 18 years of age;

2. be of good moral character;

3. have graduated from an accredited
high school or be able to show proof
of equivalency;

4. have successfully completed the
National Hearing Aid Society course
or a course at a recognized college or
university in hearing aid evaluation,
fitting, sales and service;
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5. be free of contagious or infectious

diseases; and

6. pass the Board-administered examina-

tion.

Applicants for temporary permits must be
at least 18 years of age and of good moral
character, must have graduated from high
school or its equivalent, must be free from
diseases, and must have obtained a notarized
statement from a licensed dealer and fitter
certifying that the licensee will supervise
training in the required subjects.

The Board’s licensure examination
consists of written and practical sections, and
it is drafted, administered, and scored by
Board members and staff. An applicant must
pass each section of the examination with a
minimum score of 75. Should an applicant
fail any section, he or she may be re-exa-
mined.

In FY 1980, the Board held two examina-
tions. Seventeen applicants were tested; of
these five passed and 12 failed the examina-
tion.

The Board has established formal reci-
procity agreements for licensing applicants
who hold licenses in Ohio and Tennessee. It
may issue ‘certificates of endorsement” to
applicants who are licensed in states with
standards comparable to Virginia’s, however.
Such states include Maryland, North Caroli-
na, South Carolina, Kentucky, and New
Jersey.

FEES AND EXPENDITURES

The Board assesses the following fees:

Initial application and examination $100
License renewal 60
Temporary permit 50
Temporary permit renewal 50
Certificate of endorsement 75

For the 1978-80 biennium, the Board’s
expenditures exceeded revenues by $6,169.

_ |
) FY 1979 FY 1980 Total
Revenues $5.871 ¢ 5,888 $11,759
Expenditures 7,321 10,607 17,928
Balance ($1,450) ($ 4,719) ($ 6,169)

Source: Department of Commerce Annual
Reports, FY 1979 and FY 1980.
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ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Licenses must be renewed on or before
January 31 each year by paying a renewal
fee and submitting a certified copy of an
electronic audiometer calibration made within
the licensure period.

Temporary permits are issued for 12
months. The Board may reissue a temporary
permit for an additional 12 months upon
request by the trainee and payment of the
renewal fee.

The Board has no established regulations
providing for the routine inspection of licen-
sees. Seven inspections have been conducted
at the Board’s request since 1970, with
inspectors checking especially the display of
licenses and calibrations of audiometers.

According to Board officials, complaints
commonly involve disputes between licensees
about advertising practices and the concerns
of audiologists that hearing aid dealers repre-
sent themselves as audiologists. The scopes of
practice of audiologists and hearing aid deal-
ers are closely related in some areas, such as
measurement of hearing capacity and exami-
nation of the client’s ear. In FY 1980, five
complaints were assigned to the enforcement
section of the Department of Commerce for
investigation. Forty-eight complaints were
investigated between 1971 and 1980.

The Board usually appoints a three-person
committee consisting of the chairman, an
assistant attorney general, and the executive
secretary to receive the department’s investi-
gative report and select appropriate Board
action. The range of penalties available to
the Board includes letters of reprimand, fines,
and suspension or revocation of licenses.

The Board also has the authority to
revoke,« deny, suspend, or refuse to renew
the license of a person who

e has been convicted of a felony, or a
misdemeanor involving moral turpitude;

e has knowingly employed an unli-
censed person to perform licensed func-
tions;

® has collected a fee by fraud or misre-
presentation;

e has advertised to the public information
that is misleading, deceptive, or
untruthful;

e has represented himself or herself to



the public as a physician or audiologist;

e has been determined to be a habitual
alcohol or drug user to the extent of
endangering the health, welfare or
safety of the public;

® has conducted business while suffering

from a contagious or infectious disease;

e has been determined to have sold hear-

ing aids to a person who has not been
given a medical examination, or signed
a waiver if over 18 years of age; or

e is incompetent or negligent in fitting

and selling hearing aids.

Board records indicate that two discipli-
nary actions have been handed down by the
Board, one each in 1973 and 1976. The
Board has requested the DOC investigator to
visit the licensees involved in these actions
more frequently.

AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Purpose of Temporary Permits

A temporary permit is defined in Section
54-524.110 of the Code as being issued to an
applicant who is in training to become a
licensed hearing aid dealer and fitter. Howev-
er, the purpose of the temporary permit as
an avenue to licensure is not established in
the Board’s regulations. Moreover, most hold-
ers of permits do not appear serious about
becoming licensed. The permit system, in
effect, allows persons who do not meet the
Board’s regular entry criteria to be employed
as dealers and fitters for as long as two
years. This practice is not consistent with
the purpose of temporary permits reflected in
the Code. .

In the first place, the Board's regulations
do not require a training period for licensure.
Nor do requirements for licensure of trainees
differ from those of other applicants who
receive no practical training. All applicants
must pass an examination after successfully
completing a correspondence course of the
“National Hearing Aid Society or a course at
a recognized college or university whether or
not they first held a temporary permit.

Board regulations also state that  trainees
should take the licensure examination within
one year of issuance of the permit unless it
is extended for another year. However, few
trainees ever take the examination. In fact,

since 1975, only 35 of the 227 persons who
have been issued temporary permits have
even bothered to take the examination. And
every trainee who did apply for licensure
also took the required course work and could
have qualified for the licensing exam on that

" basis alone.

Nine additional temporary permit holders
became licensed in Virginia through reciproc-
ity agreements after becoming licensed in
another state.

The limited use of the training program
by permit holders to secure licenses was
recognized as a national problem in hearings
held by the Federal Trade Commission in
1978. According to testimony received by the
Commission, many employers and permit
holders were only interested in expanding
the sales of hearing aids, not in training.
And the training provided to permit holders
was said to be minimal.

In Virginia, trainees are not required to
have any previous educational background in
fitting hearing aids and are not required to
demonstrate any intent to become licensed.
None of the 227 permit holders referred to
above had taken the coursework required for
licensure prior to employment. Even though
the Board specifies required training subjects,
it does not monitor the training provided by
a sponsoring dealer who employs the trainee.
The sponsoring employer is responsible for
the ethical conduct of the trainee who may
conduct business either on or off premises.
At least 20 hours per month is defined as
adequate on-premises formal training for the
trainee through personal contact with the
Sponsor.

The Virginia Board of Hearing Aid Deal-
ers and Fitters should reassess the temporary
permit - procedure. Current practice does not
comply with the purpose stated in the Code
to train applicants for licensure. Regulations
should be adopted that establish a clear link-
age between a bona fide on-the-job training
program and qualifications for licensure.

“Temporary permits should be issued only to

persons who are in bona fide training.
L _________________________________ ]
This report is one in a series which reviews

the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.
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STATE BOARD FOR THE CERTIFICATION

OF LIBRARIANS

A

A professional librarian engages in
such activities as selecting publications
and prescribing research strategies for
library users. Regulation is intended to
implement a provision of State law
requiring licensure of all full-time profes-
sional librarians who work in publicly
supported libraries.

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

The State Board for the Certification of
Librarians was created in 1936. Prior to that
time, many librarian positions were political
patronage jobs. Board members believe that
the beginning of State aid to libraries
resulted in licensure to ensure that localities
would hire librarians possessing at least a
minimum level of competency.

Since 1942, licenses have been issued to
2,630 librarians in Virginia. Although the
number of active professional librarians is not
known by the Board, 795 full-time positions
are currently required to be filled by
licensed librarians. The positions are estab-
lished by the Boards of Trustees of libraries
across the State or by the State Department
of Personnel and Training. Professional libra-
rians generally serve as head librarians or as
supervisors in the areas of cataloging, acquisi-

_tions, or reference.

“= - Since—public school libraries are certified
by the State Board of Education, their librar-
ies are exempt from licensure by the Board.
Also exempt are librarians in law libraries
and privately funded libraries. Neither does
licensure apply to employees performing cler-
ical duties.

Librarians are currently regulated in 24
states. Most states, like Virginia, have library
boards which license or certify professional
librarians in all public libraries. In five states
only the head librarians are regulated. Eight
states have voluntary certification programs
typically sponsored by a state library associa-
tion. States that do not regulate librarians
directly often tie minimum professional stan-
dards to state funding or to state personnel
requirements.

The State Board for the Certification of
Librarians has three members: two librarians
appointed by the Governor and the State
librarian, who serves ex-officio. Appointed
members serve for five years and are eligible
for two successive terms. Since 1971, the
Board has met an average of twice annually.

The provisions in the Code of Virginia
which govern the State Board for Certifica-
tion of Librarians are Section 54-261 et seq.

REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

A full-time professional librarian position
is defined in Section 54-271 of the Code of
Virginia as one that requires a knowledge of
books and of library techniques equivalent to
that required for graduation from an accre-
dited library school. The Board, therefore,
requires that applicants for licensure have
obtained a master’s degree from an accredited
school of library science, have been certified
in another state, or have passed a state equi-
valency exam.

During the past decade, almost all of the
librarian certificates issued were to persons
qualifying by degree. Since 1971, of the
1,203 persons who received licenses, 12 were
licensed on the basis of examination; 16 held
certificates from other states; and 1,135 held
master's degrees in library science.

Examinations for licensure are given
twice a year in Roanoke and Richmond. Any
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graduate of an accredited college or univer-
sity is eligible to take the exam. Those who
are not college graduates may become eligible
by making an acceptable score on the Gradu-
ate Record Examination.

The certification exam follows an essay
format and is developed and scored by the
Board. Areas covered by the exam are refer-
ence techniques and sources, administration,
cataloging, and bibliography and book selec-
tion. In the future, the Board intends to
have the exam developed by instructors at
accredited library schools.

Few persons who take the certification
exam actually pass. During the 1970s, only
12 of the 143 examinees passed. Those fail-
ing must retake the entire exam to be certi-
fied. Board members attribute the low pass-
ing rate to the high level of knowledge
required to pass an exam equivalent to a
master's degree in library science.

Virginia does not have reciprocity agree-
ments with other states; each out-of-state
applicant’s credentials are reviewed individu-
ally. Board regulations allow licensure to be
given without examination for out-of-state
applicants who meet one of the following
requirements:

1. have similar certification by another

state; or

2. have served for at least three years in
a full-time professional library position
outside of Virginia where no certifica-
tion law exists; or '

3. have served for at least one year in a
full-time library position outside of
Virginia where a certification law now
exists, but which did not exist at the
time of the service.

FEES AND EXPENDITURES

Licensees pay a lifetime fee of one dollar.

There is no renewal fee, but one dollar is
also charged for replacement or duplicate
licenses.
_ All expenditures are paid from funds
appropriated- by the General Assembly to the
State Library. Revenues and expenditures for
the 1978-80 biennium are shown below. In
contrast to most boards organized under the
Department of Commerce, the Board for the
Certification of Librarians is not assessed any
overhead costs by the department.
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FY 1979 FY 1980 Total

Revenues $138 $135 $273
Expenditures 270 149 419

Balance ($132) ($ 14) ($146)

Source: Department of Commerce Annual
Reports, FY 1979 and FY '1980.

ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Since certificates are granted for a life-
time, no renewal requirements exist. Howev-
er, the Stater Board annually surveys each
publicly supported library in the State,
requiring a list of all full-time librarians and
their certificate numbers. The Board then
crosschecks this list against the Board’s
records. In FY 1980, the survey indicated
that five unlicensed persons were employed
as librarians. The Board advised the libraries
to see that these librarians become licensed
or risk losing public funds.

Routine inspections are not authorized by
the Board.

No complaints against librarians were
filed with the Board and no disciplinary
actions were taken by the Board between
1971 and 1980.

AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Regulation of Librarians

The regulation of librarians has several
characteristics which make it unique within
Virginia’s occupational regulatory system. The
objective of librarian regulation is to ensure
that libraries receiving State funds have
qualified staff. Specifically, Virginia requires
that public libraries hire persons with a
master’s degree in library science or its equi-
valent in order to retain State aid.

The Board for the Certification of Librari-
ans plays a limited role in the regulatory
process. The Board automatically issues most
of its certificates to applicants who hold
master's degrees from accredited programs.
The Board’s primary function, then, is to
provide an opportunity each year for approxi-



mately 20 persons who did not graduate
from an accredited master's program to
become licensed by State exam. It also grants
licensure to out-of-state applicants wishing to
practice in Virginia.

Other characteristics which make the
regulation of librarians unique include the
following:

e In contrast to most other occupations or
professions, regulation of librarians
focuses on public, rather than private,
sector employees. ’

o Certificates are granted for a lifetime,
and no renewal is required.

e Certification fees of one dollar are the
lowest of any board and the fee level
is set by statute rather than in board
regulations.

e The Board does not have specific regu-
lations relating to the practice of libra-
rianship.

Although the Board's activities are limit-

ed, the functions performed by the Board are

currently necessitated by the link established
in State law between funding and the licen-
sure of professionals in publicly supported
libraries. These statutory provisions were
enacted nearly 40 years ago.

The General Assembly may now wish to
consider several different options to achieve
the objectives intended in the regulation of
librarians. These might include the licensure
or certification of head librarians only; trans-
ferring the credentialing function to the State
Library Board; or delegating to localities the
responsibility to ensure that their personnel
have the credentials necessary to receive
State aid.

L |

This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.
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STATE BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR

S

A nursing home administrator is
responsible for the overall operation of
facilities that provide room, board, and
medical care to persons who are elderly,
disabled, or infirm. Regulation is intended
to ensure that administrators are capable
of protecting the health and safety of
residents.

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF

REGULATION

The 1967 amendments to Title XIX of
the Social Security Act required all states to
regulate nursing home administrators as a
condition of Medicaid participation. U.S.
Senate hearings in the mid-1960s had
revealed that standards and enforcement for
nursing homes varied greatly among the
states. In many instances there were unsafe
conditions, poor management, and substan-
dard patient care. As a result of the federal
mandate, nursing home administrators are
licensed by each of the 50 states.

The State Department of Health is
responsible for licensing nursing home facili-
ties and ensuring their compliance with State
and federal standards. In Virginia, every
nursing home must be supervised by a
licensed administrator who has met all of
the requirements of the State Board of Exam-
iners for Nursing Home Administrators and
_of Title XIX of the Social Security Act. As
“of May 1981, there were 546 administrators
licensed by the State.

The Administrator-in-Training (AIT)
programs throughout the State are also regu-
lated by the Board. It reviews and approves
applicants entering the program as well as
the content of each program. In FY 1981,

NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS

the Board approved 23 AIT applicants and 14
AIT programs.

The Board of Examiners for Nursing
Home Administrators is composed of seven
members. As specified in the Code of Virgin-
ia, three members are licensed nursing home
administrators and four are from professions
and institutions concerned with the care and
treatment of aged patients who are chroni-
cally ill and infirm. Of the current Board,
three are administrators in proprietary nurs-
ing homes, and the other four Board
members include two doctors, a nursing
home owner, and an attorney affiliated with
the health care industry.

All appointments are for four years, and
members can not serve more than two terms
in succession. The Board has met at least six
times each year.

The provisions in the Code of Virginia
which govern the Board of Examiners for
Nursing Home Administrators are Section
54-899 et seq.

REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

Nursing home administrators are required
to know facility operating procedures, federal
and State regulations, and the ethics of treat-
ing long-term care residents.

Applicants for licensure as a nursing
home administrator or for admission to an
Administrator-in-Training program must meet
the following requirements:

1. be at least 18 years of age;

2. be of good moral character;

3. be in good health;

4. have completed high school or its

equivalent; and

5. have completed at least 60 semester

hours of postsecondary study in a
related curriculum approved by the
Board.
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Applicants for licensure must also have
completed an Administrator-in-Training
program. The AIT program consists of 12
months of work in a licensed nursing home
under the direct supervision of a licensed
nursing home administrator (preceptor) who
has been approved by the Board. The trainee
works 40 hours a week for 52 weeks and is
trained in areas based on the requirements
established in Title XIX of the Social Secur-
ity Act. Subject areas covered in the AIT
program include such topics as

® community resources;

e nursing home administration;

e environmental health and safety;

® local health and safety regulations;

e psychology of patient care;

e principles of Medicaid care;

e therapeutics and services in long-term

care; and

e personal and social care for patients.

Effective in 1982, all applicants will be
required to have at least a baccalaureate
degree. The Board may accept some in-ser-
vice training in health care management as
credit toward its postsecondary educational
requirement. One month of work-related
training may be substituted for one semester
hour, up to a maximum of 15 semester
"hours’ credit. The Board may also waive or
modify its AIT program requirement for
applicants who have been full-time hospital
administrators for two years 6r more, or for
persons who have been awarded a baccalau-
reate in nursing home administration or a
health administration discipline.

A licensure examination for nursing
home administrators consists of three parts.
The first is a written, multiple-choice test
developed by the National Association of
Boards of Examiners for Nursing Home
Administrators. This section tests applicants
on topics such as federal regulations and
principles of medical care. It is administered
by Department of Commerce staff and graded
-by the national association.

The second part of the examination is an
objective, open-book, take-home test on
Virginia's laws and regulations. This part of
the exam has been developed by the State
Board and is administered and graded by
department staff. The exam is revised period-
ically.
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The third part of the examination process
is oral. Each applicant is questioned by Board
members on regulations, professional practic-
es, career objectives, and training.

Examinations were conducted six times
during FY 1981. Thirty-six persons were
examined, and 29 applicants passed all three
parts of the exam.

The Board licenses by endorsement those
persons who have been licensed by other
states with standards comparable to Virginia's
and who have at least one year of licensed,
full-time experience. Those administrators are
licensed without examination. The Board has
licensed by endorsement administrators from
Maryland, Florida, North Carolina, South
Carolina, Tennessee, Pennsylvania, and New
Jersey.

FEES AND EXPENDITURES

The Board assesses the following fees:

Licensure $50
Biennial renewal 50
AIT program approval 50

During the 1978-80 biennium, the Board
had revenues of $45,312 and expenditures of
$30,841 as shown below.

FY 1979 FY 1980 Total

Revenues $16,750 $28,562 $45,312
Expenditures 13,527 17,314 30,841

Balance $ 3,223 $11,248 $14,471

Source: Department of Commerce Annual
Reports, FY 1979 and FY 1980.

ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Licenses expire December 31 of each
odd-numbered year, and renewal follows
payment of the fee.

Prior to 1980, the Board required inspec-
tions of nursing home facilities to ensure
that licenses were properly displayed. But
Board inspections were discontinued, because
inspections by the Department of Health



were considered sufficient. Department of
Health inspectors are supposed to notify the
Board's Executive Director of any violations
by nursing home administrators found during
inspections of facilities.

Complaints come from a variety of sourc-
es: patients, other licensees, health inspectors,
families of patients, and the general public.
Concerns range from improper care to
mismanagement of funds. Since 1971, Board
records indicate that 13 complaints have been
investigated by the Department of
Commerce.

The Board may suspend, revoke, or
refuse to renew a license for the following
reasons:

e mental or physical incompetency;

e performance of any willful or wanton
act that would discredit the profession
or amount to incompetency;

e conviction of a felony or misdemeanor
involving dishonesty, fraud, or deceit,
or any felony relating to the care of a
patient;

e illegal use of drugs; or

e negligence in the performance of
duties.

Since regulation of nursing home admin-
istrators began in 1970, no disciplinary
actions have been taken against a licensed
administrator.

AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Coordination with the Department of
Health

The Board holds the . nursing home
administrator responsible for maintaining a
valid license and for operating the home in a
competent manner. But in the absence of
formally defined procedures and terms for
the reporting of violations found by the
Department of Health, it is difficult for the
__Board to determine the extent of problems

caused -by~the negligence and incompetence

of administrators and to discipline practition-
ers effectively.

All inspections are currently made by the
Department of Health. It is responsible for
licensing facilities and for enforcing compli-
ance with Medicaid and licensure standards.
Since the facility license is held by the
owner, it is the owner of the home that is
cited. If violations persist, the department
may revoke a license for the facility but not
the administrator’s license.

In 1981, the Department of Health
conducted 525 nursing home inspections.
Violations were handled in accord with the
routine departmental procedure of citing
owners. However, no notice of violations by
administrators or notice of poorly adminis-
tered homes was made to the Board. Accord-
ing to a representative sample of nursing
home violations examined by JLARC in
1978, nearly half of all violations could be
attributed to administrative performance and
could have been addressed by an administra-
tor's action.

The Board of Nursing Home Administra-
tors should arrange for the Department of
Health to provide it with regular notification
of nursing home violations attributable to the
negligence or incompetence of administrators.
The Board, on the other hand, should be
certain it communicates to the Department
of Health what constitutes reasonable scope
of practice and unprofessional conduct. Such
sharing of information has been discussed
but not implemented in the past. Given the
importance of protecting the elderly and
infirm in nursing homes, personnel in both
agencies should develop appropriate proce-
dures for handling and following up on
reported violations.

This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
_Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.
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VIRGINIA STATE BOARD OF OPTICIANS

AS

An opticlan may prepare, fit, and
dispense eyeglasses or contact lenses
prescribed by a physician or an optome-
trist. Regulation is intended to ensure
that opticians are qualified to fulfill this
responsibility.

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

The Board of Opticians, which was
created in 1954, regulates opticians by licen-
sure. In doing so, Virginia is one of 22 states
that regulate opticians. Licensed opticians
who fit contact lenses may apply voluntarily
to the Board for certification in that field.
Effective July 1, 1982, however, certification
to fit contact lenses will become mandatory
in Virginia.

The number of licensed opticians in
Virginia has more than doubled since 1970.
Of the 916 opticians that were licensed as of
May 1981, 158 were also certified to fit
contact lenses.

Exempted from opticianry licensure are
licensed physicians or optometrists, suppliers
of ophthalmic prescriptions and supplies, and
sellers of preassembled eye merchandise such
as sunglasses, binoculars, and magnifying
glasses. Also exempt are persons working
under the direct control and supervision of a
_ licensed ophthalmologist, optometrist, or opti-
“cian, so-dong as they do not hold themselves
out to the public as opticians.

The State Board of Opticians is composed
of five members appointed by the Governor:
three opticians, one ophthalmologist, and one
public member. Each member is appointed
for a five-year term and is eligible for reap-

pointment to a second term. The Board
meets approximately five times annually.

The provisions in the Code of Virginia
which govern the Board of Opticians are
Section 54-398.1 et seq.

REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

In order to be licensed as an optician in
Virginia, a person must

1. be at least 18 years of age;

2. be of good moral character;

3. have completed high school or its

equivalent;

4. have completed a two-year approved

course in opticianry or have completed
a three-year apprenticeship; and

5. pass both a written and practical

examination.

Virginia is one of eight states that use a
written licensure examination developed by
the American Board of Opticians. The exam
is purchased from the Educational Testing
Service which supervises its administration
with the assistance of DOC and grades the
exam. A practical examination is developed,
administered, and graded by the Board of
Opticians.

The contact lens certification exam is
developed by the National Committee of
Contact Lens Examiners. It is a written exam
without a practical component and is sold
and administered by the Educational Testing
Service.

The passing score for each exam is set at
70. During the period between 1970 and
1980, more persons failed than passed the
exam, as indicated in the accompanying
table. In hopes of increasing passing rates,
the Board of Opticians established prerequi-
sites for taking the test. Since November
1980, applicants must first complete a two-
year opticianry course or a three-year appren-
ticeship program. Apprenticeship programs
are approved and administered by the State
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Department of Labor and Industry in accor-
dance with criteria developed by the Board.

Licensing Exam Contact Lens Exam
Number Number Number Number
Passing Failing Passing Failing

1970 16 21 - -
1971 15 17 - -
1972 20 36 - -
1973 34 60 - -
1974 67 80 - -
1975 65 130 - -
1976 73 89 - -
1977 67 167 - -
1978 131 103 - -
1979 109 77 107 48
1980 52 61 15 20

The Board of Opticians collects the
following license and certification fees:

Initial licensure (includes exam) $85
Annual renewal 40
Contact lens certification 35

In 1981, the optician’s renewal fee was
changed from $40 biennially to $40 annually
in order to generate enough fees to cover
Board-related expenses.

Revenues and expenditures for the bien-
nium are shown below.

FY 1979 FY 1980 Total

Revenues  $20,661 $19.644 $40,305
Expenditures 18,084 28,645 46,729

Balance $ 2,577 ($ 9,001) ($ 6.424)

Source: Department of Commerce Annual
Reports, FY 1979 and FY 1980.

ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Annual payment of the licensing fee by
December--31 is required for renewal, and
inspections of opticians’ offices began in 1981
to ensure that a current optician’s license is
properly displayed. Between April and
September 1981, Board data indicates that 47
inspections were conducted. No violations
were reported.
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The Board of Opticians also receives
complaints about practitioners. From. July
1976 to June 1980, the Board received 29
complaints. Included were 12 complaints
about unlicensed practice, 11 about profes-
sional incompetence, four about false or
misleading advertising, and two about profes-
sional ethics. Most of the complaints were
filed by licensees or consumers.

The Board may take disciplinary action
against licensees who

e are convicted of a crime related to
practicing opticianry;

e use alcohol or drugs which adversely
affect their professional competence;

e display professional incompetence or
negligence which endangers the public
health, safety, or welfare;

e fraudulently certify that an applicant
possesses the required qualifications for
licensure;

e violate any law or regulation pertaining
to the regulation of professions; or

e engage in false, deceptive, or misleading
advertising.

Since 1976, Board records indicate that no
formal disciplinary actions have been taken
by the Board. Of the ten valid complaints
filed during that period, compliance was
obtained in four cases, four cases were refer-
red to the Board of Optometry for action,
and two cases involving unlicensed activity
were referred to a commonwealth’s attorney.

AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Scope of Practice Controversy

Opticians across the country have been
engaged in controversy for several years with
two other professions providing eyecare:
ophthalmologists and optometrists. An
ophthalmologist is a physician licensed by
the Board of Medicine who specializes in the
diagnosis and treatment of eye conditions and

“who may perform eye surgery, prescribe

drugs or lenses, and use other types of treat-
ment. An optometrist is licensed by the
Board of Optometry to perform visual exams
without the use of drugs and may prescribe
lenses, other optical aids, or visual training.
In Virginia, the first area of controversy



involves conditions for the dispensing of
contact lenses by opticians under the supervi-
sion of ophthalmologists and optometrists. A
second issue is the definition of ‘direct
supervision” of unlicensed personnel who fit
glasses in the offices of ophthalmologists and
optometrists.

Section 54-398.27, Code of Virginia, prohi-
bits opticians from ‘“[fitting] contact lenses
except on prescription of an ophthalmologist
or optometrist and under his direction.” A
1977 opinion issued by the Attorney General
interpreted the provision to mean that opti-
cians are prohibited from dispensing contact
lenses to consumers unless they are pre-
scribed specifically and the patient is referred
back to the prescriber for a review examina-
tion. Opticians would prefer being allowed to
fit contact lenses for any consumer unless
the prescription bears an explicit statement
that the patient should not be fitted for
contact lenses.

Opticians are also concerned that they are
put at a competitive disadvantage because
they believe that some prescribers who fit
contact lenses refuse to give approval on
prescriptions so they can fit the lenses them-
selves. Addressing this concern, the Attorney
General stated in 1979 that antitrust laws
would apply in any situation where a group
of prescribers “had combined to prevent opti-
cians, in general, from competing in the
business of fitting contact lenses” by refusing
to give permission on the prescription for
contacts to be fitted.

To comply with the requirements in the
Code, the Board of Opticians recently adopted
Regulation POR 12-17 requiring opticians to
request contact lens consumers to acknow-
ledge with their signature an instruction to
return to the prescribing ophthalmologist or
optometrist for reevaluation and any needed
adjustments. To ensure the competence of
practitioners, even further Board regulations
require all opticians fitting contact lenses
after July 1, 1982 to have passed a certifica-
“tion exam.-Still, the Board of Opticians feels
that the law should be changed to allow
them more freedom in fitting contact lenses.

Representatives of ophthalmologists and
optometrists in Virginia disagree with the
opticians’ position. These groups state that
there is a higher risk of eye problems associ-
ated with contact lenses than with eyeglasses.

They feel, therefore, that it is necessary for
a qualified person to make decisions regard-
ing each patient’'s wearing of contact lenses
in order to avoid serious eye problems. In
their opinion, opticians dc not have the
necessary training to determine whether the
medical or physiological condition of the
patient’s eye should preclude the wearing of
contact lenses.

In November 1980 a proposal by the
opticians to change the law was heard by
the Commission of Health Regulatory Boards,
which represents the boards regulating the
health professions. The commission views the
issue as health-related and ruled that “pre-
sent law covers all that which is necessary
for patients’ well-being.” The commission
cited the absence of consumer complaints
regarding inability to obtain prescriptions for
their eyecare needs.

In contrast, officials of the Department of
Commerce, which houses the Board of Opti-
cians, feel that the issue involves a business
practice rather than a health concern. They
believe that the issue is not whether the
patient can obtain a prescription, but
whether opticians are permitted to do what
the law allows: to fit contact lenses under
the supervision of an ophthalmologist or
optometrist. DOC officials say that ophthal-
mologists have been writing “not for contact
lenses” on prescriptions. The opticians object
to this practice unless there is a medical
reason, but they do not object to follow-up
examinations by the prescriber.

A second area of controversy among
eyecare practitioners involves the current
statutes which permit unlicensed employees
of ophthalmologists and optometrists to
perform the optician functions of fitting and
dispensing eyeglasses. While this work is
supposed to be carried out under the “direct
supervision”’ of ophthalmologists and optome-
trists, opticians have voiced concern that
unlicensed persons are often left unsupervised
and that the public may not be receiving
adequate protection from harm. Opticians
suggest that “direct supervision” in the Code
be defined explicitly to mean ‘‘supervisor
present and available when all work requir-
ing a licensed practitioner is performed.”

Ophthalmologisis and optometrists oppose
the opticians’ suggested change. These groups
contend that the opticians’ concerns are
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unfounded and that the vast majority of
unlicensed personnel are supervised. They
believe that the current statutes are adequate
for protecting the public.

Current Inspection Activities

Until recently opticians were required to
produce a current license upon request. Board
regulations now require, however, that the
licenses be properly displayed, and in April
1981 inspections began on a random basis by
Department of Commerce inspectors who
conduct similar routine inspections for the
barber and hairdresser boards. These inspec-
tors visit opticians when they can take time
from their ongoing duties for these boards.
In a fivemonth period, 45 inspections
revealed no violations.

Inspections of opticians for the purpose of
checking for the display of licenses does not
appear to warrant the attention of enforce-
ment personnel. The Board of Opticians
should consider discontinuing this type of
inspection. Monitoring could be accomplished
more economically through the investigation
of complaints and follow-up on opticians who
have not renewed their license to determine
if they are still working as opticians.

This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.



STATE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

A

A harbor pilot boards a vessel to
direct it to and from port. All foreign
vessels and domestic vessels carrying
cargo from foreign ports must be guided
by a licensed pilot when entering Virgin-
ia’s waterways. Regulation is intended to
ensure that pilots are competent in nego-
tiating local waterways and port facili-
ties.
]

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

Some form of State harbor pilot license
has existed since as far back as 1669.
Virginia was one of the first states to regu-
late harbor pilots. A commission to examine
pilots has been in existence since about 1792.

During the Colonial period, pilots
competed with one another for the opportu-
nity to guide ships into Virginia waters.
Pilots often earned a reputation for playing
tricks on one another in order to gain a
competitive edge. After the Civil War, north-
ern seamen assembled on the Virginia capes
and began competing for the State’s piloting
business. Many of them were involved in
accidents because they lacked familiarity
with the waterways.

In 1866, several pilots formed the
Virginia Pilot Association. The association
was instrumental in having a law passed
_ requiring stricter licensure of all pilots and
“providing=—for regulation of the pilotage

profession and rates.

Forty-nine pilots are currently licensed by
the Board of Commissioners to Examine
Pilots. The number of licensed pilots in the
State is determined by the number of pilot
apprentices accepted by the Virginia Pilot

TO EXAMINE PILOTS

Association. Piloting on the James, York, and
Potomac Rivers is restricted to a quota of
pilots who have obtained a special endorse-
ment on their original license for each river
branch. This ensures that each pilot is exper-
ienced in navigating specific rivers.

State piloting regulations do not apply to
vessels which travel only to domestic ports.
These vessels may be piloted either by a
Virginia pilot who also has a federal pilot
license or by someone aboard the ship
possessing a federal license for the area.

Virginia is one of 24 states bordering on
the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans and the Gulf
of Mexico that regulate harbor pilots. Pilo-
tage on the Great Lakes is regulated by the
federal government.

Most states have independent pilot boards
composed primarily of pilots. The boards are
usually responsible for regulating pilots and
for setting the pilotage rates. Associations of
pilots operate apprenticeship programs.

Pilotage rates in Virginia are established
by the State Corporation Commission and
some regulation of pilot activities has been
assigned to the Virginia Pilot Association.

All licensed pilots are members of the
Virginia Pilot Association, and the association
selects and trains all apprentices. In addition,
it carries out the following functions:

e maintains a roster of all pilots and

informs them of their turn on duty;

e maintains a sufficient number of pilots
aboard a station boat to accommodate
incoming vessels;

e pools members’ resources to cover the
expenses of the station boats and small
launches used by the pilots;

e collects and disburses all pilotage
charges to its members; and

e reports any violations of rules to the
Board.

Circuit courts in the Tidewater region
have the statutory authority to appoint repre-
sentatives to serve on the Board of Commis-
sioners to Examine Pilots. Three Board
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members are appointed from the Newport
News/Hampton area, four from the city of
Norfolk, and two from the city of Ports-
mouth. Four of the nine members are
required to be licensed pilots, and all
members are appointed for unspecified terms.
The Board was exempted from 1981 legisla-
tion limiting professional board members to
two successive terms.

The Board’'s responsibilities include
examining candidates for licensure, issuing
pilot licenses, resolving piloting disputes
between licensees and other parties, and
taking disciplinary action. The Board meets
quarterly.

During the interim, an appointed part -
time clerk, whose position is established by
statute, handles the Board's business. The
clerk’s duties include arranging Board meet-
ings, taking minutes, and preparing licenses
for signature.

The provisions in the Code of Virginia
which govern harbor pilots are Section
54-525 et seq.

REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

To be eligible for licensure, an individual
_must

1. be of “honest demeanor”’;

2. serve a five-year apprenticeship to a

pilot;

3. pass several State exams;

4. provide character references and

5. post a surety bond of $500.

In addition, a prospective pilot must meet
the requirements of the Virginia Pilot Associ-
ation and the U. S. Coast Guard.

Five-Year Apprenticeship. Persons between
the ages of 18 and 23 wishing to obtain
licensure are required by State law to
complete a five-year apprenticeship. In order
to become eligible for the apprenticeship, the
individual must first make application to the
_Virginia Pilot Association and wait until new
embers—are needed either to fill a vacancy
or to handle an increased workload. New
members are then selected by a secret vote
of the current membership.

Top vote-getters enter the apprenticeship
program sponsored by the Association.
During the apprenticeship, new members
learn seamanship, go to an accredited school,
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and become familiar with Virginia's water-
ways.

Limited Branch Pilot License. Dunng the
first two years of apprenticeship, the candi-
date works toward completing an association
requirement of 500 transits on the harbor.
Once completed, the apprentice is given a
written examination by the association and
an oral exam by the Board. If both are
passed, the apprentice is granted a limited
branch pilot license by the Board.

This type of license requires no fee and
limits the tonnage or size of the ship the
licensee may pilot. Every six months the
license is upgraded with regard to tonnage.

Federal Endorsement. At the end of the
third year of training, the apprentice takes
the federal pilot examination. A federal pilot
license is required by U. S. law to pilot a
vessel with domestic cargo that is being
moved along the country’s coast.

To qualify to take the exam, the indivi-
dual must meet federal requirements for
specified time aboard ship, for tonnage pilot-
ed, and for licensure as a limited branch
pilot. The federal examination is given by
the U. S. Coast Guard and includes questions
about several technical aspects of seamanship
such as the use of radar equipment.

Branch Pilot License. To receive the State
“branch pilot” license the apprentice must
pass a second oral examination relating
specifically to Virginia’'s waterways. The
exam is conducted by the Board’s Examining
Committee which consists of the four pilot
members.

Upon passing the exam, completing the
five-year apprenticeship, and paying the
licensing fees, the individual receives a State
license as a branch pilot and is designated a
“State officer.” A branch pilot license permits
piloting between the James River Bridge, Old
Point, and Cape Henry.

Additional Association Requirements.
After obtaining the branch license, the pilot
must then serve an additional one-year proba-

“tionary period required by the Virginia Pilot

Association. During this year, the pilot
obtains a special river license by completing
an apprenticeship and passing both a federal
and State exam for a particular river. Upon
completion, the pilot obtains full membership
in the association.

Virginia has not established reciprocity



with any other state. Pilots wishing to work
in the State have to serve the apprenticeship
and pass the Board’s exam regardless of licen-
sure elsewhere.

FEES AND EXPENDITURES

The current licensing fee for a branch
pilot is $55 annually. Fees are collected by
the Virginia Pilot Association and paid by a
single check to the Department of
Commerce. .

Revenues and expenditures for the bien-
nium are shown below.

Fy 1979 FEY 1980  Total
Revenues $2,860 $2,805 $5,665
Expenditures 1,613 2,774 4,387

Balance $1,247 $ 31 $1,278

Source: Department of Commerce Annual

Reports, FY 1979 and FY 1980.

ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Licenses are renewed upon payment of
the fees. However, the Board informally re-
evaluates each pilot’s performance annually.
Pilots are also reexamined by the U.S. Coast
Guard every five years in order to maintain
their federal license.

Although routine inspections are not
authorized by the Board, complaints dealing
with refusal to pilot a ship, intoxication,
habitual lateness, or any other misbehavior
or neglect or duty fall under the jurisdiction
of the Board. Few complaints are received,
according to Board officials.

If a complaint involves an accident, the
case is turned over to the U.S. Coast Guard
for investigation. If the pilot is found to be
at fault, the Board may take disciplinary
action in the areas over which it has juris-

_diction.

AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST-

Entry into the Piloting Occupation
Because piloting is such a specialized
field, pilot associations have traditionally

been closely involved in the regulation of
the occupation. Usually, pilots dominate the

membership of a state regulatory board. -
Virginia, however, has established a broader
membership base than many states and only
four of the nine members on the Board are
required by statute to be pilots. Nevertheless,
pilots still control entry into the profession.

Section 54-536 of the Code of Virginia
requires an applicant for examination as a
harbor pilot to show that he has served as
apprentice to a state pilot for five years. No
criteria for apprenticeship have been establ-
ished by the Board. Instead, consistent with
traditional practice, the Virginia Pilot Associa-
tion selects and trains apprentices and deter-
mines in effect, the number of pilot positions
in the State.

Apprentices are selected by a vote of the
association’s membership. Although persons
between the ages of 18 and 23 may apply to
the association, apprentices are not selected
until need arises to fill a vacancy or to
handle an increased workload. Between 1958
and 1966 and between 1974 and 1978 no
apprentices were taken. .

According to association officials, appren-
ticeships are open to all persons. It has been
traditional among pilot associations, however,
to select friends and relatives of current
members, and unrelated persons appear to
have a better chance of acceptance when
relatives of pilots are not available. The
figures below show the familial relationship
of apprentices for each of the last four
decades.

Number of Sons_or Grandsons

Period Aporentices Number Percent
194049 18 8 44%
1950-59 23 2 9
1960-69 6 3 50
1970-79 13 7 54
1980-81 5 4 80

Additional apprentices may have been related to
pilot members in other ways.

According to tradition, the Association
permits only one son from each pilot family
to fill an apprentice slot. It is not possible to
tell how many friends or other relatives
were also selected.
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It is not inconsistent with practice in
other states or with existing case law for
selection of apprentices to be delegated by
the State to a pilots association, or for prefer-
ence to be given to relatives. In a 1947 case,
the U.S. Supreme Court ruled that control
by incumbent pilots of the selection process
did not violate the Fourteenth Amendment’s
guarantee against denial of equal protection
of the law. Kotch v. Board of River Port
Pilots Commissioners, 330 U.S. 552 (1947).
The Court acknowledged that preference was
shown to those havin g the favor of pilots,
primarily friends and relatives. However,
because of the uniqueness of the occupation
and the close association among small
numbers of pilots, this practice was seen to
be reasonable.

The U.S. Supreme Court has not heard
another case specifically related to pilots
since 1947, and it is possible that the
uniqueness of the occupation would still be
seen as sufficient justification for upholding
traditional practices. But in more recent cases
related to the equal employment opportunity
clause in the 1964 Civil Rights Act, the
Court has considered not only the form but
the results of employment and apprenticeship
practices. For example, in Griggs v. Duke
Power Co., the Court ruled that ‘‘practices,
procedures, or tests neutral on their face and
even neutral in terms of intent, cannot be
maintained if they operate to ‘freeze’ the
status quo of prior discriminatory employ-
ment practices.” The Court approvingly
noted a circuit court action to strike down a
union nepotism provision that applied
equally to black and white, because its
continued application would in effect forever
deny to Mexican-Americans any real opportu-
nity for membership. Asbestos Workers v.
Vogler, 407F.2d 1047 (1969).

Officials of the Virginia Pilot Association
indicate they do not intend to discriminate
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against any group. In fact, according to asso-
ciation officials, the secret ballot on appren-
tices and the limit on apprenticeships to one
son per family are intended to help open
membership. These officials state that two
blacks and two women have applied for
apprenticeship but that in each case the
applicant either decided against pursuing
membership, was over the age limit, or
applied at a time when no positions were
open.

Nevertheless, the Board might wish to
consider establishing State guidelines for the
selection of apprentices. The Board’s rules
and regulations were last revised in 1959.
The absence of Board criteria for the selec-
tion of apprentices might now be reconsid-
ered in terms of the State’s commitment to
equal opportunity employment.

State Officer Designation

After receiving the branch license, a pilot
is also designated a “State officer” according
to Section 54-536, Code of Virginia. There is
some uncertainty about the implications of
this designation.

According to Board officials, in the past
the designation permitted harbor pilots to
carry weapons as a means of enforcing both
their authority aboard ship and State piloting
laws. This practice, however, has been
discontinued.

The General Assembly may wish to
review this section of the Code and specify
the meaning of the ‘‘State officer” designa-
tion.
]

This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study. has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.



Al

POLYCRAPH EXAMINERS ADVISORY

COMMITTEE

A polygraph is an instrument (com-
monly known as a lie detector) used to
test persons for the purpose of determin-
ing truthfulness. Regulation is directed at
ensuring suitable training for examiners
and providing due process for examinees.

'HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

The polygraph was developed in the
1920s. Regulation was initiated in Virginia in
1968 under the Department of Professional
and Occupational Registration which later
became the Department of Commerce (DOC).
A committee of polygraphers advises the
department regarding rules and regulations.

DOC has established two categories of
licensees and three approval categories.
Licenses are granted to polygraph examiners
and to polygraph interns, who study under
the supervision of a licensed polygraph exam-
iner. Only licensed examiners and interns
may administer polygraph examinations. In
addition to practitioners, DOC approves the
physical facilities, instructors, and students of
schools that teach subjects relating to poly-
graphy. Only graduates of approved schools
may apply for licensure in Virginia.

Twenty-two states, including Virginia,
license polygraphers. Three states register and

= -13 states” license interns. No information is

available on the regulation of schools,
instructors, or students in other states.

As of May 1981, Virginia had 277
licensed polygraphers and 50 licensed interns.
Fourteen polygraph schools were approved,

one of which is located in Virginia.

Although the department has adopted
standards for polygraph schools by setting
separate requirements for curricula, instruc-
tors, and students, out-of-state students do not
come under DOC’s control until they actu-
ally apply for licensure in Virginia. The
school for polygraphers in Norfolk averages
about ten students per year.

Language in the Code establishes certain
standards for administering polygraph exami-
nations and DOC also has established specific
criteria for conducting a polygraph examina-
tion. As the following requirements indicate,
a primary concern appears to be the protec-
tion of the rights of examinees before,
during, and after the examination:

® Prc-Test Procedure. No cxaminer may
administer a polygraph examination
without first (1) obtaining the written
conscnt of the cxaminee; (2) informing
the cxamince of the issues to be deter-
mined; and (3) submitting to the exam-
incc in writing the questions to be
asked on the examination.

e Termination of Examination. Upon
request by an examinee, any examina-
tion in progress must be immediately
tcrminated.

® Report of Polygraphic Examination.
Whenever an employer requires anyone
to submit to a polygraphic examination,
the employer must furnish the person
with a written report of the questions
asked and the conclusions of the exam-
incr. All polygraphic charts, a record of
questions asked, and the conclusions of
the cxamination must be kept for one
year. .

The functions of the Polygraph Examin-
ers Advisory Committee were recently
formalized in regulation. The Committee,
appointed by the director of DOC, provides
advice on the development of regulations and
oversight of the profession. The Committee is
currently composed of six polygraph examin-
ers, three of these in law enforcement agen-
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cies and three self-employed. Members serve
three-year terms and are limited to two
consecutive terms.

The director of DOC has authority for
overseeing the regulation of the occupation.
DOC staff is responsible for promulgating
and interpreting rules and regulations, collect-
ing license fees, reviewing and validating
applications, administering examinations, and
responding to complaints against unlicensed
practitioners or violations of the law and
regulations by licensees.

The provisions in the Code of Virginia
which govern the polygraph examiners indus-
try are Section 54-916 et seq.

REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

Specific criteria have been developed for
the licensure or approval of examiners,
interns, schools, and students.

Applicants for licensure as polygraph
examiners must meet the following require-
ments:

1. have a bachelor's degree from an
accredited college or university, or an
associate degree in a police-related field
and three years’ experience as an
investigator or detective, or a high
school diploma and five years’ experi-
ence as an investigator or detective;

2. complete an approved training course
of at least 240 hours, or have 180
hours of formal advanced training in
the profession;

3. submit to a fingerprint check;

4. present evidence of never having been
convicted of a felony or misdemeanor
involving dishonesty, fraud, or deceit;

5. complete six months as a licensed
intern examiner under the personal
supervision of an examiner licensed in
Virginia; and

6. pass an examination administered by
DOC.

_. An intern license will be issued to appli-

cants who fulfill the first four of the above
_requirements. The intern must then spend

six months supervised by a licensed poly-
graph examiner. Every 60 days the supervisor
must provide DOC with written documenta-
tion of the intern’s progress. After complet-
ing the above requirements the intern may

108

sit for the examination. An intern license is
valid for 12 months. )

Each school requesting approval from
Virginia must file an application with the
director of DOC along with a statement of
financial responsibility. The curriculum must
contain no less than 240 hours of instruction
in the following areas:

polygraph theory chart interpretation

exam techniques legal aspects
question formulation psychological aspects
physiological aspects instrumentation

polygraph interrogation
polygraph case practice

history of polygraphy
case observation

In addition to having an adequate physi-
cal facility, the school must have sufficient
texts and training aids, including at least one
polygraph instrument for every three
students. A current calibration log of poly-
graph equipment must also be maintained.
Instructors in approved polygraph schools
must meet the following minimum Qqualifica-
tions: .

Instructors Qualifications

Law Law degree

Interrogation Five years’ experience in
interrogation

Physiology B.S. degree in biological
science

Psychology B.S. degree in psychology

Other B.S. degree in related
subject areas and five
years’ experience

To meet the minimum qualifications

established by DOC, a student must

1. have a bachelor's degree from an
accredited college or university; or, an
associate degree in a police-related
discipline and three years’ experience
as an investigator or detective that is
acceptable to DOC; or, a high school
diploma and five years’ experience as
an investigator or detective;

2. have no record of conviction of a
felony or misdemeanor involving dis-
honesty, fraud, or deceit; and

3. submit to a polygraph examination or
background investigation.

Exams for polygraph examiners are given
when a sufficient number of applicants is
available. The examination is developed by
DOC in conjunction with the advisory
committee and consists of both written and



practical sections. The written portion of the
exam covers polygraph theory, exam tech-
niques, and legal, physiological,and psychologi-
cal aspects of polygraphy. The practical
section requires the applicant to develop
questions based on a hypothetical situation
and to present three charts of the examina-
tion for review by DOC.

The written part of the examination has
a passing score of 70 percent. The practical
section is graded on a pass/fail basis. Nearly
all applicants pass, as did the 13 applicants
who took the exam during 1980.

Reciprocal licensure agreements exist with
Georgia, South Carolina, and Florida.
Attempts are being made to establish reci-
procity with other states.

Persons from states that do not regulate
polygraphers may also qualify for a Virginia
license without meeting the internship
requirement. They must have had at least
one year of experience in their state, meet
other department requirements, and pass
Virginia’s examination. An applicant who
fails the examination is required to serve a
six-month internship before being re-exa-
mined.

FEES AND EXPENDITURES

The following fees were recently promul-
gated by DOC for polygraphers and interns:

Initial application $125
Intern application 35
Biennial renewal 100

(examiners only)

No application fee is required from prac-
titioners employed full-time by State or local
law enforcement agencies.

Revenues and expenditures for the
1978-80 biennium are shown below.

FY 1979 FY 1980 Total

_Revenues $8,980 $ 9,055 $18,035
Expenditures 8,094 13,092 21,186

Balance $ 886 ($ 4,037) ($ 3,151)

Source: Department of Commerce Annual
Reports, FY 1979 and FY 1980.

- —

ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Polygraph examiner licenses are issued for
two calendar years. All licenses are renewa-
ble during December of each odd-numbered
year upon payment of the renewal fee.
Intern licenses are issued for one year only.
The director of DOC has the authority,
however, to extend an intern’s license to the
next scheduled licensing examination.

The procedures for inspections and
annual approval of polygraph schools are
specified in regulation:

e Polygraph schools may be subject to an
initial on-site inspection prior to initial
approval.

e The department shall conduct such
annual inspection(s) as it deems neces-
sary of each school to insure compli-
ance with regulations. Inspections can
be conducted through written commu-
nications.

e QOut-of-state schools which are not
approved by their state of residence
may be inspected, and the school shall
pay for the actual expenses of inspec-

. tion.

e Schools having current approval by the
American Polygraph Association may
have inspection requirements waived.

DOC records indicate only one on-site
inspection of a polygraph school. However,
DOC requires each school periodically to
submit written materials on the school’s
curricula, qualifications of instructors, and
current certification by the American Poly-
graph Association. All schools currently
approved by DOC are certified by the associ-
ation.

Twelve complaints have been received by
DOC since 1968, four of these in FY 1980.
One complaint regarded a question asked by
a polygrapher that was not first presented in
writing. The other complaints concerned the
validity and reliability of the polygraph
examinations.

DOC may deny, suspend, or revoke the
license of a polygraph examiner for several
reasons including the following:

e making a misstatement in the original

application;

e committing a felony or misdemeanor
involving dishonesty, fraud, or deceit;
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e allowing one’s license to be used by an
unlicensed person; or
e violating the Code or DOC regulations.
To date, only one disciplinary action has
been taken by DOC. A consent order was
issued against an examiner who failed to
give a written pretest to an examinee.

AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Use of Polygraphic Examinations

The regulation of polygraph examiners
primarily ensures that polygraphers meet
minimum requirements to practice. However,
concern still exists about the complete relia-
bility of polygraph examinations and the
protection of the civil rights of examinees.
Therefore, some states have limited the use
of this method of truth detection in court
and employment proceedings, and others
have reassessed the appropriate level of regu-
lation.

The Virginia Supreme Court has ruled as
recently as 1971 that the results of lie detec-
tor tests are not admissible as evidence in
court proceedings. This doctrine was estab-
lished in Virginia in 1958 and reaffirmed in
1965. In the most recent decision, the court
refused to change its earlier position on the
grounds that “lie detector tests have not yet
proved scientifically reliable.” Skinner .
Commonwealth, 183 S.E. 2d 725.
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The State has not, however, prohibited
the use of polygraph examinations by bur
nesses to screen job applicants and to invesi
gate suspected wrongdoing by employees. In
1979, a proposal to eliminate the use of a
polygraph examination as a condition for
employment was considered by a legislative
committee. Such states as California, Mary-
land, New Jersey, and New York, however,
prohibit the use of polygraphs for employ-
ment purposes, and a Texas commission
recently recommended this prohibition to the
legislature.

Total deregulation of polygraphers is an
option that was recommended in 1981 by
the Illinois Select Joint Committee on Regu-
latory Reform on the grounds that regulation
could not prevent errors which arise from
the limitations of the technique.

But unless the use of polygraph examina-
tions is completely prohibited, states are
nonetheless faced with a regulatory dilemma.
While regulation cannot assure the validity
of the examination, it does represent a means
of ensuring due processes for examinees and
the highest possible competence of examin-
ers.

This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.



PRIVATE SECURITY SERVICES ADVISORY

COMMITTEE

Private security businesses protect
people and property by providing private
investigators, security guards, armored
car personnel, and other security services
under contract. Regulation is directed
primarily toward ensuring that privately
employed personnel are ethical and that
they are trained in security procedures.

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

Regulation of Virginia’s private investiga-
. tors and private security businesses began in
1964 through local governments. To achieve
statewide uniformity of standards and
enforcement, the General Assembly transfer-
red regulatory responsibility to the Depart-
ment of Commerce (DOC) in 1977. The
department is assisted in this responsibility
by an advisory committee of practitioners
from the private security business. Also, the
Criminal Justice Services Commission is
responsible for establishing compulsory mini-
mum training standards and for inspecting
facilities and training programs conducted for
private security personnel.

The DOC licenses private security busi-
nesses and qualifying agents, and registers all
other security personnel. Each private secur-
ity business must have at least one person
licensed as a qualifying agent and must have

_an agent registered in each category of
“service the firm is licensed to offer. Services
are provided by personnel in the following
occupations:

1. A private investigator is employed to
secure information on crimes, civil
wrongs, recovery of stolen property,
and accidents.

2. A guard is employed by a private
security business under contract to
protect persons and property or
prevent theft or loss of property.

3. A guard dog handler is an armed or
unarmed person employed to handle
dogs in the performance of duty.

4. A courier is an armed employee who
transports documents, papers, or negoti-
able instruments.

5. Armored car personnel transport
money or other valuables in specially
equipped vehicles.

6. An in-house armed guard is any regu-
lar employee engaged in protecting the
employer’s property who carries a
fircarm while in contact with the
general public.

As of May 1981, there were 245 licensed
private security service Dbusinesses, 322
licensed qualifying agents, and approximately
12,000 registered security personnel in Virgin-
ia.

The following groups are exempted from
regulation:

e employees of the United States, the
Commonwealth, or any political subdi-
vision, engaging in the performance of
official duty;

e individuals or agencies providing finan-
cial ratings or consumer reports;

e attorneys or employees of attorneys;

e legal owners of property acting to
repossess their property;

e law enforcement officers receiving
compensation as private guards;

e unarmed employees who investigate
accidents or adjust claims;

e "shoppers,” who purchase goods for the
purpose of testing the employees of a
business for the employer;

e police agents appointed by motor carri-
ers and railroad companies; and

e in-house armed guards who do not
come into contact with the public.
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The regulation of private security person-
nel varies among states, as indicated below.
The most highly regulated security occupa-
tion is the private investigator, which 35
states regulate.

Number Method of Regquilation

Category of States  Registration Licensure
Private

Investigator 35 7 28
Security

Guards 17 8 9
Armored Car

Personnel 1 1

Couriers 1 1

Guard Dog

Handlers 2 1 1

Virginia is the only state that registers
armored car personnel and couriers and is
one of two states that regulate dog handlers.

The Private Security Services Businesses
Advisory Committee advises DOC on issues
relating to the profession. The Committee is
composed of six members. two are private
investigators and four are in the private
security business.

The committee is appointed by the Direc-
tor of DOC and the Criminal Justice Services
Commission, each of whom appoints one
private investigator and two persons engaged
in the private security business. The term
for appointments is not established in either
the Code or the department rules and regula-
tions. During the last biennium the Commit-
tee met seven times.

Since the Committee is limited to an
advisory role, DOC is responsible for all
regulatory activities. DOC’s responsibilities
include issuing licenses, developing and inter-
preting rules, collecting license fees, respond-
ing to complaints of unlicensed practice, and
disciplining practitioners.

The provisions in the Code of Virginia

which govern the regulation of the private

security services businesses are Section

T254-729.27 et seq.

REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

Entry requirements are the most exten-
sive for businesses and their qualifying
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agents. Regulated employees must undergo a
criminal records background check and
successfully complete the training mandated
by the Criminal Justice Services Commission.

Owners of private security services busi-
nesses must meet the following criteria:

1. submit names of owners, partners, or

officers;

2. identify categories in which the busi-
ness will provide service;

3. post a surety bond of $25,000 or have
liability insurance with a minimum
coverage of $100,000 and $300,000;
and

4. have an office in Virginia.

Qualifying agents must meet the follow-
ing requirements: -

1. have three years’ private security
experience in an investigative or
supervisory capacity or employment in
a supervisory capacity with any feder-
al, state, or local law enforcement
agency (education can be substituted
for some experience);

2. complete minimum approved training;

3. be fingerprinted and submit to a crimi-
nal records check; and

4. be registered in the category(s) in
which the business is to be licensed.

The Criminal Justice Services Commission
requires 48 hours of training for private
investigators. The minimum for dog handlers
is 28 hours; 16 hours are required for guards.
Fewer hours are required for unarmed
personnel in these categories. Armored car
personnel receive 22 hours of training.

Before completing CJSC training, all
personnel must pass an examination in
subject areas relating to their area of practice.
For this reason, DOC discontinued its inde-
pendent exam for private investigators as of
March 1981.

FEES AND EXPENDITURES

The following fees for private security
businesses were recently promulgated by

Initial agency license $550
Agency fee for each additional

category of service provided 200
Agency renewal for first category 300
Additional category renewal 200
Individual registration 15



Agencies pay an additional fee for each addi-
tional category of service that they provide.
Registered personnel pay an initial registra-
tion fee each time they transfer from one
agency to another.

Current fees reflect substantial increases
over the previous year in order to bring
revenues into line with expenditures. Expen-
ditures exceeded revenues for both years of
the 1978-80 biennium as indicated below.

_ - *
FY 1979 FY 1980 Total

Revenues - $115,658 $121,603 $237,061
Expenditures 155,029 210,995 366,024

Balance ($ 39,471)($ 89,492) ($128,963)

Source: Department of Commerce Annual
Reports, FY 1979 and FY 1980.

An expenditure unique to this regulatory
activity is the reimbursement to the Crimi-
nal Justice Services Commission for regulat-
ing security personnel training programs.
‘During FY 1980, the payment was $40,690.
A recommendation by DOC that a general
fund appropriation be requested for this
activity was rejected by the Commission and
the Secretaries of Commerce and Resources
and Public Safety.

ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Agency licenses are renewed by October
31 each year upon payment of a fee for each
category of service provided.

Inspections of private security businesses

are conducted to ensure that agencies are
licensed and employees properly registered.
They generally consist of an audit of person-
nel and payroll records. Eighty-six inspections
were conducted during FY 1980.
——_. The Board received 68 complaints in each
of the last two fiscal years (FY 1980 and FY
1981). About 90 percent of the complaints
are filed by the executive director, based
upon information received from various
sources. Most frequently these involve non -
registered personnel. The disposition of comp-
laints handled during these years is shown
in the following table.

Disposition FY 1980 FY 1981
No violations found 33 15
No jurisdiction 3 4
Criminal actions 4 4
Consent orders 13 6
Background
investigations 8 4
Others 7 10
Open 2 28
Total 70 71

The Department may suspend or revoke
a license if it finds that a licensee or regis-
trant

e attained a license or registration by
fraud;

o failed to provide information requested
by the department as a result of a
complaint or during an audit by the
department;

e employed personnel who had not met
the requirements for registration;

o falsified or aided others in falsifying
credentials;

o failed to return the identification card
-or notify the department upon termina-
tion of an employee;

e employed personnel for more than 120
days when they failed to complete
required training;

e failed to maintain a current bond or
liability insurance;

o failed to maintain a qualifying agent
for each business category;

o off:red services which the security
business was not licensed to perform;

e violated provisions in the statute or
regulations; or

e failed to have employees comply with
the compulsory minimum training stan-
dards.

AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Cost of Regulation

Regulation of private security personnel is
one of the highest cost functions carried out
by the Department of Commerce. Fees,
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which were increased considerably during the
last year, are far greater than those for other
boards. Still further increases are anticipated
to cover the cost of processing nearly 1,500
new applications each month and processing
a new category of armed in-house guards.
Fees to be charged to private security
businesses in 1982 are shown below.

Fee Cateqorv FY 1981 FY 1982
Initial agency license $75 $550
Agency fee for each

additional category

of service provided 75 200
Agency renewal for first

category 75 300
Additional category renewal 75 200
Individual registration 13 15

According to department officials, the

initial and renewal fees are set high enough
to cover the cost of reimbursing the Crimi-
nal Justice Services Commission (CJSC) for
regulating private security training programs
and the cost of processing the large volume
of applications.

During a public hearing in May on the
department’s proposed fees a number of
concerns were raised about the impact of fee

“increases on small businesses, the potential

restriction of the entry of new businesses,
and the appropriate level of DOC's adminis-
trative costs. The charges to an individual
business can be quite high because in addi-
tion to initial fees, businesses pay a separate
fee for each -category of service offered.
Many firms also pay the $15 registration fee
for each of their registered personnel.

During the 1978-80 biennium expendi-
tures for regulating private security busi-
nesses exceeded revenues by $128,963.
Department officials attribute two-thirds of
the shortfall to the $79,200 which DOC paid
the Criminal Justice Services Commission.
This reimbursement accounts for about 24
percent of the total expenditures. In addition,
direct =eosts and overhead account for 47
percent and 24 percent respectively.
~ DOC is required by law to reimburse
CJSC for expenditures related to private
security personnel. However, DOC officials
believe that this is an extraordinary regula-
tory expense to come from fees and that the
level of regulation by CJSC is too costly. A
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recommendation by DOC that a general fund
appropriation be requested for this activity
was rejected by CJSC and the Secretaries of
Commerce and Resources and Public Safety.
Other options being explored include estab-
lishing a separate fee to be paid by training
schools.

According to DOC officials, most of the
direct costs for regulation of the private
security industry are related to processing
new applications, an activity which consumes
a large amount of staff time. According to a
DOC official, the large number of applica-
tions is a result of an estimated 80 percent
turnover rate among the 12,000 registered
personnel.

Reviewing new applications involves veri-
fying both employment experience and train-
ing. In addition, a request for a fingerprint
check is sent to the State Police. Any police
record sent back with the fingerprint verifi-
cation is also reviewed by staff. In a few
cases where questions arise involving an
applicant’s background, DOC enforcement
personnel conduct a field investigation.

The private security regulatory program
is also allocated a portion of DOC administra-
tive overhead, as are all boards and commit-
tees. Indirect costs are allocated based on the
number of applications processed and the
number of persons regulated. Because of the
large number of applications, the program’s
share of overhead amounted to $105,888 for
the 1978-80 biennium, ten percent of the
department’s total indirect costs.

DOC and Advisory Committee officials
are concerned about escalating costs, and in
addition to raising fees have taken some
other steps to bring expenditures in line
with revenues. For example, DOC has stop-
ped issuing laminated cards to registrants; it
has ceased putting applicants’ pictures on
cards; it has eliminated one clerical position;
and it has begun to computerize additional
functions.

DOC might be able to find additional
ways to maximize resources, reduce unneces-
sary tasks or costs, and distribute costs equit-
ably among those regulated. Options to be
assessed by DOC should include the follow-
ing:

1. Analyzing each licensing function and

the time required to process applica-
tions and conduct background investi-



gations. Consideration could be given
to having clerical personnel rather the
executive director or enforcement
personnel perform some of these tasks.

2. Developing a graduated fee structure

that (a) recognizes size differences
among businesses, (b) equitably covers
the costs for regulating in-house secur-
ity guards, and (c) establishes fees for
private investigators and registered
security personnel that more fully
reflect actual costs involved.

At DOC's request, the State Department
of Mangement Analysis and Systems Devel-
opment (MASD) has recently conducted an
assessment of the department’s overall operat-
ing practices. Since expenditures for the regu-
lation of private security businesses are of
significant concern to licensees, the MASD
study might be expanded to include a
specific review of processes, procedures, and
cost allocation methods relative to the regula-
tory program. This review would also assist
DOC in applying at the program level the
systemic recommendations made by MASD.

Regulation of In-house Armed Security
Guards

Legislation enacted by the 1981 Session of
the General Assembly brought under regula-
tion a previously exempt category of in-house
guards. These guards are generally employed
by retail stores or commercial firms. The
total number of guards is unknown, because
they were exempt until recently. Approxi-

mately 500 in-house guards have been regis-
tered since July 1981. The department will
need to address several administrative or
regulatory problems associated with this new
responsibility:

1. The processing of applications for
in-house armed guards will increase
the overall cost of regulating private
security services. Costs are currently
allocated primarily through fees
charged to licensed security businesses.
However, the guards are actually
employed by unregulated businesses.

2. According to regulations promulgated
for private security businesses, licensed
private security businesses are held
responsible for violations committed by
employees. It is not clear who will be
held accountable for the performance
of in-house guards.

DOC needs to develop appropriate rules
and regulations regarding identification of
in-house guards employed in the Common-
wealth, a rationale for assessing and collect-

"ing charges, and procedures for enforcing

compliance with statutory requirements.

-

This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.
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A

Real estate brokers and salespersons
represent buyers or sellers in transac-
tions which typically involve a large
capital investment, such as the purchase
of a home or commercial property. Regu-
lation seeks to ensure that practitioners
adhere to fair business practices, to
provide redress from financial harm, and
to administer State laws relating to the
real estate industry.

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

The Real Estate Commission was estab-
lished by the General Assembly in 1924. It is
one of the largest regulatory boards in the
Commonwealth with revenues that exceed
one million dollars annually.

The Commission regulates real estate
brokers and salespersons, rental location
agents, real estate businesses, schools, and
instructors. Following are the three major
real estate practitioner groups:

1. A real estate broker sells, buys, or
negotiates the purchase, sale, or
exchange of real estate. Although only
one type of broker license is issued,
the Commission recognizes two classes
of brokers: principal and associate.
Pincipal brokers are responsible and
liable for the business activities of
their employees. An associate broker is
-someone who has obtained a broker
license but works as a salesperson for
a principal broker.

2. A real estate salesperson is employed
by a principal broker for the purpose
of buying, selling, or negotiating the
purchase, sale, or exchange of real

VIRGINIA REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

estate. By law, the salesperson’s license
is held by the employing broker.

3. A rental location agent furnishes rental
information to prospective tenants,
assists persons in renting property for
a fee, or solicits rental listings from
landlords. Agents are prohibited from
negotiating leases or offering to sell
property.

As of May 1981, the Real Estate
Commission had licensed 46,003 brokers,
salespersons, and rental location agents, some
of whom are currently not active in real
estate. The Commission also granted 4,224
licenses to real estate firms, branch offices,
schools, and rental location agencies.

Persons who sell or lease their own
property, rental property managers, attorneys,
trustees, receivors, and auctioneers are
exempt from licensure provisions.

In addition to licensing real estate profes-
sions, the Commission has been given the
responsibility of administering the following
acts relating to real estate sales:

e the Fair Housing Act, which attempts
to prevent discriminatory housing prac-
tices in Virginia;

e the Subdivided Land Sales Act, which
protects consumers from fraudulent
sales promotions for recreational subdi-
visions;

e the Condominium Act, which protects
condominium unit purchasers through
disclosure requirements;

o the Real Estate Transaction Recovery
Act, which establishes a recovery fund
to protect consumers from potential
loss; and

e the Real Estate Time-Share Act, which
protects time-share purchasers through
disclosure requirements.

All 50 states license real estate brokers
and salespeople. Thirty states, including
Virginia, have established a recovery fund to
protect consumers from financial loss.

117



The Real Estate Commission is composed
of five members. Each member must have
practiced as a real estate salesperson or
broker for at least five years prior to appoint-
ment. Terms are for five years and no
member may serve more than two terms.
The Commission has met once a month or
more since 1975.

The provisions in the Code of Virginia
which govern the regulation of the real
estate profession are Section 54-730 et seq.

REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

To be licensed as a real estate salesperson
in Virginia, an individual must meet the
following qualifications:

1. be at least 18 years of age;

2. complete an approved 45-classroom--
hour course (three semester hours) in
the principles of real estate;

3. have a good reputation for honesty,
truthfulness, and fair dealing and
competence;

4. must not have had a real estate license

" revoked within five vyears or
suspended within one year in Virginia
or any other state;

5. must not have been convicted of or
pled nolo contendere within five years
to forgery, embezzlement, obtaining
money under false pretenses, extortion,
conspiracy to defraud, bribery,
burglary, robbery, a felony involving
personal injury, or a violation of the
Fair Housing Law;

6. pass the examination for real estate
salespeople;

7. furnish a list of all residences and
businesses for the last five years; and

8. provide a written statement from a
licensed broker attesting to the appli-
cant’s honesty, truthfulness, and good
reputation.

Custody and control of the real estate
_salesperson’s license is given to the broker
‘employing the salesperson. This arrangement
ensures that the salesperson is not employed
by competing brokers. The license is transfer-
able to another broker upon payment of five
dollars to the Commission.

Applicants for licensure as a real estate
broker must meet the following requirements
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in addition to all of the qualifications for the
salesperson: .

e have been engaged as a real estate
salesperson for at least 36 of the previ-
ous 40 months;

e submit an affidavit from an employing
broker affirming experience -in real
estate transactions;

e complete 12 semester hours in real
estate courses (brokerage, finance,
appraisal, law, and other subjects); and

e provide a statement declaring where
and with whom business will be
conducted.

Rental location agents must meet all of
the requirements for a real estate salesperson
but they do not have to be employed by a
real estate broker. The license is placed in
the custody of a supervising rental location
agent.

A licensed broker or salesperson may
become a rental location agent by surrender-
ing the license along with a small fee to the
Commission. A licensed salesperson may not
concurrently hold a rental location agent
license except with the written permission of
the employing broker.

All applicants for licensure must pass the
appropriate written examination. Since 1970
the exams have been directly administered
by the Educational Testing Service, which
receives applications, tests applicants, and
reports results to the Commission.

Each exam consists of 80 multiple-choice
questions developed by the Educational Test-
ing Service and 20 to 30 questions developed
jointly by the testing service and the
Commission concerning Virginia's real estate
laws and regulations.

The passing score for salespersons is 75
percent on the first and 60 percent on the
State part. For brokers the corresponding pass-
ing scores are 75 and 66 percent.

More than 15,300 people took the broker
and salesperson exams during FY 1979 and
FY 1980 and 80 percent passed. This repre-
sents an increase in the pass rate which the
‘Commission attributes to adopting a real
estate course prerequisite for the examination
after July 1, 1975.

The Real Estate Commission may waive
the examination requirement for applicants
licensed in states with requirements equiva-
lent to Virginia's.



FEES AND EXPENDITURES

The following fee schedule has been
adopted by the Real Estate Commission:

Initial Biennial
License Renewal

Real estate salesperson $ 30 $30
Real estate broker 50 50
Rental location agent - 30 30
Real estate agency (partnership, )
association or corporation) 50 50
Rental location agency 50 50
Real estate schools 100 50
(annual)
Branch office 5 5
Late payment of renewal - 15
Reactivation of inactive license - 5

In addition, applicants pay an examination
fee of $14.50 directly to the Educational
Testing Service.

The Real Estate Commission generates by
far the largest amount of revenues and
expenditures of any regulatory board in the
State. The Commission accounted for 47
percent and 36 percent respectively of the
Department of Commerce’s total revenues
and expenditures for the 1978-80 biennium.

" During the same biennium, the Commis-
sion’s revenues exceeded expenditures by
$903,395 as indicated below.

FY 1979 FY 1980 Total

Revenues $1,497,144 $1,223,823 $2,720,967
Expenditures 843,622 973,950 1,817,572

Balance $ 653,522 $ 249,873 $ 903,395

Source: Department of Commerce Annual
Reports, FY 1979 and FY 1980.

_ ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Real estate licenses expire on June 30 of
each even-numbered year. Those who fail to
remit their biennial renewal fee within 60
days must re-apply as new applicants and

meet current education and examination
requirements.

Inspections of real estate offices are
conducted by Department of Commerce
investigators generally in conjunction with a
complaint investigation. Inspectors check to
be sure licenses are current and displayed
properly, they review sales and escrow
accounts, and note whether the firm's office
complies with the Commission’s regulations
concerning such things as equipment, super-
vision, accessibility to the public, and office
identification.

Inspections are also conducted as part of
the review of an application to open a
private real estate school. These inspections
focus on physical plant facilities and instruc-
tional aids.

Between 1975 and 1980, 2,205 inspections
were conducted for the Real Estate Commis-
sion. Some of the inspections were conducted
as a result of a fair housing complaint.

The Real Estate Commission considers
only notarized complaints, except for fair-
housing complaints and those initiated by
Commission members, staff, and Department
of Commerce investigators.

In FY 1980, the Real Estate Commission
received more than one-third of all com-
plaints filed with regulatory boards within the
Department of Commerce; since 1975, more
than 1,300 complaints have been investigated.

In 1980 investigations were completed for
260 complaints. Of these, 160 concerned
misrepresentation and improper dealings, 29
concerned failure to remit funds, 12 dealt
with physical office problems, ten involved
books and records, and the remainder
involved miscellaneous allegations. Several of
the cases involved more than one type of
complaint. Seventy-five percent of the com-
plaints received were filed by consumers, and
the balance was initiated by the Commission
members, staff, and DOC investigators.

Violations which constitute grounds for
disciplinary action include

e obtaining a license under false preten-
ses; :

® acting for more than one party in a
real estate transaction;

e representing two real estate brokers
without the knowledge of the employ-
ing broker;

e placing a rental or sale sign on any
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property without the owner’s consent;

e commingling funds;

® acting as a rental location agent in
referring a prospective tenant to any
property for which the agent has not
verified the availability within seven
working days;

e advertising in a false or misleading way
that the property is “for sale by
owners’’; and

e using a service or  franchise mark
which does not conspicuously disclose
that the business is independently
owned and operated.

According to its regulations, the Commis-
sion will not become involved in disputes
between licensees, in disputes concerning the
payment of an employee’s commission, or in
the internal affairs of brokerage firms. Regu-
lations also state that the Commission may
revoke the license of a real estate broker for
violations committed by an employee, sales-
person, or associate, provided that the broker
“"knew or should have known” of the viola-
tion. Revocation of a principal broker’s
license automatically results in the suspen-
sion of the license of every salesperson
employed or associated with the broker,
pending his or her affiliation with another
broker.

During the 1978-80 biennium, the Real
Estate Commission issued 25 reprimands, 19
suspensions, nine monetary penalties, seven
probations, and six revocations. In some
cases, more than one type of action was
taken.

In 1977, the General Assembly passed the
Virginia Real Estate Transaction Recovery
Act establishing a fund to protect consumers
from financial harm resulting from the “im-
proper or dishonest conduct” of real estate
professionals. Improper or dishonest conduct
is defined in Section 54-765.2 of the Code as
“the wrongful taking or conversion of
money, property or other things of value,
and fraud, willful misrepresentation, or
deceit.”
>_ - Proponents of the fund saw its creation
as both protecting the public and benefiting
the real estate profession. In the past, real
estate brokers were required to post a $1,000
performance bond each year. When problems
arose, consumers sometimes encountered diffi-
culties recovering funds from bonding compa-
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nies. With the establishment of the recovery
fund, all licensees pay a small fee into the
account and consumers’ restitution is handled
through the courts.

Each licensee is assessed a ten-dollar fee
which goes exclusively to the fund. Fees are
collected until the fund balance falls between
the minimum of $200,000 and the maximum
of $500,000. The Code specifies, however,
that no licensee shall be assessed more than
$20 during a biennial licensing period.

Thus far, only one assessment has been
conducted. Once the fund balance reached
$472,520, the assessment was terminated. Not
all licensees were assessed. Commission and
Department of Commerce officials indicate
that those licensees who have not contri-
buted to the fund can and will be identified
through the department’s computer system
when the next assessment becomes necessary.

Monies collected for the fund are to be
deposited in federally-insured financial insti-
tutions and kept separate from the licensing
fee accounts. Interest in the fund is to pay
for administrative costs and to accrue to the
fund.

To file a claim, a consumer must first
obtain a court judgment against the licensee
for improper or dishonest conduct in connec-
tion with the sale, lease, or management of
real property. After 30 days, the claimant
may apply for a court order directing
payment from the fund on any wunpaid
portion of the judgment provided that restitu-
tion could not be made by the licensee in
any other way. The plaintiff in the case
may not be a licensee.

The following limits have been placed on
the amount of money that can be recovered
from the fund for judgments against one
licensee:

e $20,000 maximum involving one credi-
tor in connection with a single transac-
tion;

e $50,000 maximum involving aggregate
claims against one licensee in connec-
tion with a single transaction; and

e $100,000 maximum involving aggregate
claims against one licensee in connec-
tion with more than a single transac-
tion.

In cases where aggregate claims exceed
the limit, the maximum permitted is to be



prorated among claimants. As a further
penalty, and to recoup funds, the Commis-
sion revokes the license of anyone for whom
damages are paid from the recovery fund.
The license may be reinstated after the indi-
vidual repays the fund outlay plus 8 1/2
percent annual interest.

AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Real Estate Transaction Recovery
Fund

Although the Real Estate Transaction
Recovery Fund was created in 1977, the first
claims against the fund were not paid out
until April 1981. During the interim, howev-
er, the fund exceeded the statutory limit of
$500,000 by approximately $41,500 because
of significant amounts of interest accrued and
the lack of payments.

Since April 1981, a total of $103,538 has
been paid out of the fund. The first
payment involved an aggregate claim by 56
claimants requesting $100,591. The claims
were filed against a Richmond real estate
brokerage firm which had been placed in
receivorship a year earlier at the request of
the Virginia Real Estate Commission after
the firm had irregularities in its financial
accounts.

The Real Estate Commission withheld
payment on the claims it received for one
year because it knew other claims against
the brokerage firm would be forthcoming.
The claims ranged from $149 for a security
deposit to $15,150 for an investment
company that had property with the firm. In
accordance with State law, the Commission
prorated the maximum allowable recoupment
of $100,000 so that the 56 claimants received
a 99.41 percent share of their individual
judgments. In addition to these payments,
$3,538 in other claims has been disbursed,
—_and six claims against the recovery fund
“have ~been made between August and
November 1981 which will amount to
payments of an additional $36,596.

Real Estate Commission officials are not
sure why the recovery fund was not used
before April 1981. It is possible, although
unlikely, that no real estate cases which

went to court between July 1977 and April
1980, when the first claims were received,
had resulted in unpaid judgments.

The public may not be sufficiently aware
of the fund’s existence or may be deterred
from pressing legal action by court costs. A
newspaper article publicizing the fund and
its first payments resulted in three phone
inquiries about potential claims against the
fund.

To address these matters, the General
Assembly may wish to allow the fund’s
interest to be used for related educational
purposes, and to allow claimants to recover
reasonable court costs and legal fees. These
provisions are currently allowable under
statutes which established a similar recovery
fund for contractors under the State Board
for Contractors.

Franchise Sign Regulation

A regulation adopted by the Virginia
Real Estate Commission controlling the use
of a “service mark” or the franchise logo of
a national real estate corporation has been
the center of controversy for several vyears.
The regulation requires that advertisements
disclose that the local firm is independently
owned and operated, and the agency’s name
must be at least as conspicuous as that of
the franchise logo.

Real estate franchises, such as Century
21, Realty World, ERA, and Better Homes,
became prominent across the country during
the early 1970s. The franchises provide
several services to members including a
national referral network of prospective
clients, training seminars, and national adver-
tising and promotional campaigns. The fran-
chises are not, however, responsible for the
performance of services by the local agency.

The Virginia Real Estate Commission
adopted the franchise regulation in 1976 to
become effective January 1, 1979. Although
no complaints about franchise operations had
been received, the Commission was
-concerned that prospective clients and other
licensees might be misled into thinking they
would be dealing with a national real estate
firm whose reputation and financial resources
might be very different from those of the
local agency. This was believed to have the
potential for giving the franchise firms an
unfair advantage over independent agencies

121



and to make consumers think that liability
extended to the national corporation.

Virginia’s action was an outgrowth of a
national concern about franchises, and similar
regulations have been considered or adopted
by real estate boards in other states. These
actions have generated considerable contro-
versy including several court challenges. In a
frequently cited case, the courts ruled that
the real estate commission in Nevada could
appropriately promulgate regulations that
limit the manner of commercial speech, such
as prescribing specifications for sale signs.
The regulations could deal with misleading
or deceptive wording but not completely
prohibit advertising.

Virginia’s regulation has been challenged
in court three times. In 1978, the Commis-
sion was sued in federal court by the Realty
World franchise firm. The firm argued that
the regulation violated the constitutional
guarantee of commercial free speech. Howev-
er, the judge ruled in favor of the Real
Estate Commission citing the same criteria
used in the Nevada case.

Century 21 Real Estate Corporation chal-
lenged the Virginia regulation in circuit
court on the grounds that no State statutory
authority existed on which to base the regu-
lation. The judge ruled in the plaintiff's
favor and permanently enjoined the regula-
tion from being enforced.
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In 1979, the General Assembly amended
the general provisions of Title 54 in the
Code of Virginia which detail the powers
and duties of all regulatory boards under the
Department of Commerce. Section 54-1.28(5)
now gives regulatory boards the authority to
promulgate regulations necessary ‘‘to prevent
deceptive and misleading practices by practi-
tioners.” On the basis of this general statu-
tory authority, the Real Estate Commission
once again promulgated the franchise sign
regulation in 1980, despite the opposition of
the Board of Commerce. The Board of
Commerce took the position that no
demonstrable harm existed from the present
practices of real estate agencies.

Century 21 has again challenged the
regulation in circuit court on grounds that
include lack of sufficient statutory authority.
The case has been under advisement since
January 1981. The Real Estate Commission
has decided not to enforce the regulation
until the court challenge is settled.

This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.



STATE BOARD OF SANITARIAN

EXAMINERS

AS

Most sanitarians are employed by
departments of public health to meonitor
environmental health conditions. Some
activities include inspecting food service
facilities, sampling water supplies,
sampling soil, and controlling rodents and
other pests. Regulation establishes mini-
mum qualifications for using the title “re-
gistered sanitarian.”

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

The State Board of Sanitarian Examiners
was created in 1970. Virginia is one of 33
states that regulate sanitarian examiners.
While 24 states issue licenses, Virginia is
among the nine that certify qualified appli-
cants. As of May 1981 there were 365 certi-
ficate holders in Virginia entitled to use the
professional title ‘‘registered sanitarian.”
Obtaining a certificate is voluntary; it is not
required to practice the profession.

The Board consists of eight members.
Two ex-officio members, provided for by
statute, are the Commissioner of the State
Department of Health or a representative and
the department’s Director of Environmental
Health. The six remaining members
appointed by the Governor include four
registered sanitarians, the director of a county
health department, and a citizen member.
Appointees serve four-year terms, and the
Board meets at least once a year.

— The provisions in the Code of Virginia
which govern the Board of Sanitarian Exam-
iners are Section 54-859.1 et seq.

REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

To receive a certificate, an applicant must
1. be at least 18 years of age;

2. be of good moral character;

3. have earned at least a bachelor’s
degree in environmental health or the
biological or physical sciences or
completed 30 hours in the biological
or physical sciences;

4. have obtained two years of supervised
experience in the field of environmen-
tal sanitation;

5. have completed at least one year of
graduate study in sanitary science; and

6. pass a certification examination
required by the Board.

The Board is currently negotiating with
the National Environmental Health Associa-
tion for the use of the association’s certifica-
tion exam. Through April 1980 an examina-
tion prepared by the American Professional
Health Association had been administered for
the Board by ]. Sargeant Reynolds Commu-
nity College in conjunction with its Environ-
mental Technology program. The college has
recently discontinued the program.

The Board also has authority to certify
without examination any person who is certi-
fied by another state with equivalent regula-
tory standards. Reciprocity agreements have
not been established by the Board, however;
each out-of-state applicant is assessed on an
individual basis.

FEES AND EXPENDITURES

The Board charges a $25 fee for process-
ing an initial application for certification and
examination and an annual renewal fee of
$15.

v
FY 1979 FY 1980 Total
Revenues $4,178 $4,109 $ 8,287
Expenditures 7.485 7 764 15,249
Balance ($3,307) ($3.655) ($6,962)
Source: Department of Commerce Annual
Reports, FY 1979 and FY 1980.
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Renewals for FY 1980 accounted for 90
percent of all revenues because of the rela-
tively small number of new applicants.
There were 369 renewals and 13 new certifi-
cates issued.

ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Sanitarians are required to renew certifi-
cates annually by January 1. The Board does
not require routine inspections of the perfor-
mance of registered sanitarians, and no
inspections have been conducted.

The Board has not received any com-
plaints against registered sanitarians since it
was created in 1970. Board officials indicate
that the local health departments that
employ sanitarians receive and resolve com-
plaints without involving the Board.

The Board can revoke, deny, suspend, or
refuse to renew a certificate for any of the
following reasons:

e conviction of a felony;

e excessive use of alcohol or drugs;

e display of incompetence which endan-
gers the public health, safety, or
welfare; or

e violation of any provision of the Code
or the Board’s regulations.

No disciplinary action has been taken

against any certificate holder.

AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Scope of Regulation of Sanitarians

Although the establishment of the Board
of Sanitarians is authorized by statute, the
level of regulation is not specified. Determin-
ing the specific level of regulation is the
prerogative of the General Assembly, howev-
er, and such language appears to have been
inadvertently omitted from the Code during
= recodification in 1974. The Board has adopted
a system of voluntary certification: sanitarians
who meet the educational and practical
requirements of the Board and pass a stan-
dardized exam receive a certificate of registra-
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tion. They may use the title “‘registered sani-
tarian,” which is also used in other states.

The regulation of sanitarians is somewhat
unusual because most sanitarians are public
employees who are subject to State and local
personnel policies. In fact, Board officials
explain that the Board does not receive
complaints about sanitarians because the
health department deals with its own
employees. Of the approximately 518 sanitari-
ans employed by the State, 512 are employed
as environmental health inspectors for local
departments of health. An additional 70 sani-
tarians are estimated to be employed in the
private sector. But even these sanitarians do
not practice with complete independence,
because facilities for which they are responsi-
ble are also inspected by public sanitarians.

The General Assembly should establish
the specific level of regulation through
language in the Code. In that case, certifica-
tion as it is presently administered appears to
be the highest level necessary for the regula-
tion of sanitarians. Licensure, which has been
proposed by some groups, would be too
restrictive an approach since it provides that
only license holders can practice the profes-
sion. Under this form of regulation, the
Board of Sanitarian Examiners would infringe
on the hiring prerogatives of both State and
local public agencies.

Although an estimated 65 percent of the
publicly employed sanitarians hold certifi-
cates, certification is not a condition of
employment or promotion in public agencies.
Certification actually serves only to recognize
a sanitarian’s professional credentials on a
voluntary basis. The same recognition could
be accomplished if sanitarians were certified
by a professional association. The General
Assembly may wish to consider certification
by a professional association as the creden-
tialing method for sanitarians.
L]

This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 232189.



BOARD FOR THE CERTIFICATION OF
WATER AND WASTEWATER WORKS

OPERATORS

A waterworks operator is responsible
for the storage and purification of water
that is distributed to the public for drink-
ing or domestic use. A wastewater works
operator is responsible for systems of
sewage treatment that discharge indus-
trial or other wastes into State waters.
The purpose of regulation is to ensure
that persons in charge of water or waste-
water works have met a minimum stan-
dard of competence.

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

In the early 1950s a board for the volun-
tary certification of water and wastewater
works operators was created through the
combined efforts of the State Water Control
Board, the State Department of Health, and
related professional associations. This board
was not established by statute as an agency
of State government.

In 1970, the State Board for the Certifica-
tion of Water and Wastewater Works Opera-
tors was created by the General Assembly as
a mandatory licensing authority. Virginia
became one of the 41 states that currently
license waterworks operators. Virginia is also
one of 42 states that license wastewater
works operators. (Two additional states certify
operators.)

The State assumed responsibility for the
-regulation of operators to carry out federal
guidelines for wastewater treatment facilities
constructed with federal funds and the provi-
sions of Executive Order 11507. The guide-
lines required that grantees “‘provide a staff
of qualified personnel adequate to operate the
facility so as to achieve the highest level of

treatment.” The Executive Order required
that operators of federal facilities meet state
certification requirements.

The State Department of Health has
regulatory control over the operation of
waterworks to ensure that public water is
free from bacterial and chemical contamina-
tion. The State Water Control Board has
regulatory control over wastewater works
operations to ensure that treatment of waste
adheres to federal and State water pollution
laws. In accordance with provisions in the
Code of Virginia, both agencies require that
a certified operator be “in responsible
charge”” at all certified facilities.

More than 1,500 water and wastewater
treatment facilities in the Commonwealth
require licensed operators: approximately
1,030 water and 470 wastewater treatment
facilities. The Board issues unlimited licenses
to four classes of water and wastewater
works operators as well as three other types
of restricted licenses.

e Unlimited licenses are issued to all
classes of operators based on the size
and type of facility they are qualified
to operate. A holder of an unlimited
license may be employed in any facil-
ity in the specified class.

e Limited licenses are issued to individu-
als who were “in responsible charge of
facilities”” prior to the licensure require-
ment and who applied for licensure by
July 1, 1977. A limited license author-
izes the holder to operate at the facility
for which the license is issued or a
facility of the same type and classifica-
tion under the same owner. The
license is no longer valid if the facility
is enlarged to a higher class or if the
licensee moves to another facility.
About one-third of the waterworks
operators and 21 percent of the waste-
water works operators hold limited
licenses.

e Operator-in-training licenses are issued
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to persons who have not yet met the
experience requirements for licensure.
This type of license is issued only if a
facility owner cannot obtain the
services of a fully licensed operator.

e Temporary licenses are issued in emer-
gencies to allow a person who has not
qualified for a regular license to serve
as the operator in charge of a facility
for a six-month period. The facility is
considered to be operating without a
qualified operator.

At the end of 1981, there were 2425
licensed water and wastewater works opera-
tors in Virginia. Limited licenses were issued
to 803 persons. During 1981, operator-in-train-
ing licenses were issued to 18 waterworks
operators and seven wastewater works opera-
tors. Three temporary licenses were issued to
wastewater works operators.

Water and wastewater systems serving
fewer than 400 persons are not required to
have licensed operators unless required by
the State Water Control Board or the State
Department of Health.

The Board for the Certification of Water
and Wastewater Works Operators consists of
seven members. Two cx-officio members,
provided for by language in the Code, are
the Director of the Division of Water
Programs of the State Department of Health
and the Executive Secretary of the State
Water Control Board. Four members
appointed by the Governor are operators
holding a license of the highest classification
at treatment facilities. One additional
member must be a teacher of water or
wastewater management at a State university
or college. Each member of the Board is
appointed for a four-year term, and members
can serve for two terms. The Board meets
about three times a year.

The provisions in the Code of Virginia
which govern the State Board for the Certifi-
cation of Water and Wastewater Works
Operators are Section 54-573.1 et seq.

REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

Board rcgulations for opcrator licenses
include general requirements for all appli-
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cants and specific requircments for individual
classes of opcrators. All applicants are
required to give cvidence of good moral char-
acter, dependability, initiative, interest, and
judgement, and applicants must pass the
required cxaminations. The Board may also
request references from owners or operators
in charge at the facilitics where the appli-
cant is presently or was previously employed.
Applicants for licensurc as water or
wastcwater works opcrators must meet the
following requirements:

® Class I - Bachclor’'s degree in science or
cngincering and two ycars' experience
as an opcrator of a Class II plant or
higher; or
Three ycars of passing college work in
scicnce or cngincering, or an associate’s
degrce in water or wastewater plant
opcration, and threc years’ experience
as an opcrator of a Class II plant or
higher; or
A Class 1l licensc and a total of five
yecars’ cxpericnce as an operator.

e Class Il - Bachclor’'s degree in science
or cngincering and onc ycar's experi-
cnce as an opcrator of a Class III plant
or higher; or
Associate’s degree in water and waste-
water plant opcration and two years’
cxpericnce as an operator of a Class III
plant or higher; or
Two yecars of passing college work in
scicnce or cngincering and three years’
cxpericnce as an operator of a Class III
plant or higher; or
A Class III license and a total of four
ycars’ cxpcricnce as an operator.

® Class 111 - Bachclor's degree in science
or cngincering and six months’ cxperi-
cnce as an opcrator; or
Associate’s degree in water or wastewa-
ter plant opcration and six months’
experience as an opcerator; or
High school diploma or the cquivalent
and onc yecar's cxpericnce as an opera-
tor; or
Two ycars of high school and three
ycars’ experience as an opcrator; or
A Class IV license and a total of four
years’ expericnce as an operator.

e Class IV - High school diploma or the
cquivalent and six months’ experience
as an opcrator; or



Eighth grade cducation or the equiva-
lent and onc vyecar's expcricnce as an
operator.

An applicant’s cxpericnce must be
dircctly related to the operation of a water
or wastcwater works in order to merit full
credit towards licensure. Partial credit may
be given for cxpericnce in related fields, but
such credit may not exceed 50 percent of
the total required for any classification.

An applicant for a temporary license
must submit an affidavit from the owner of
a facility that (1) recounts the unsuccessful
cfforts to obtain thc services of a qualified
operator; (2) specifics the size, category and
classification of the plant; and (3) includes a
copy of notification to the appropriate State
agency which regulates the facility that it is
operating without a qualified operator.

An applicant for an operator-in-training
licensc must submit an affidavit from the
owner stating (1) the need for a licensed
operator; (2) thc cfforts made to hire an
appropriate licensee; and (3) the category and
classification of the plant.

Liccnsure examinations for wastewater
and water works operators are administered
twice each year in five locations across the
Statc. The tests arc composed of multiple -
choice questions and are taken open-book.
Applicants who fail may be retested as many
times as they request. In FY 1980, 1,046
applicants took the cxaminations, of whom
about half passed.

Questions for the exams are selected from
various sources including the Wastewater
Treatment Personnel Examination Questions
developed by the Association of Boards of
Certification for Operating Personnel in
Water and Wastewater Utilities. The training
officers of the State Department of Health
and the Statc Water Control Board select the
questions for the water and wastewater works
operators’ exams respectively—based on their
knowledge of the operators’ responsibilities in
Virginia. A committee of Class 1 operators
then reviews the selected questions and
_ deletes those that appear to be inappropriate
or- irrelevant to the actual experiences of
operators. The Board has final review of all
questions used on the examination.

The Board also has authority to grant
licensure without examination to any appli-
cant who is licensed by another state with
cquivalent regulatory standards. Each out-of -

statc applicant is assessed on an individual
basis; the Board has accepted applicants from
Maryland, Pennsylvania, North Carolina,
South Carolina, Tennessee and Wesr Virginia.

FEES AND EXPENDITURES

Opecrators  licenses are  issued after
payment of the following applicable fees:

Pre-examination $25
Initial license 50
Renewal 15

Board expenditures exceeded revenues for
the past three fiscal vyears. During the
1978-80 bicnnium, expenditures exceeded
revenues by 17 percent as shown below.

FY 1979 FY 1980 Total

Revenues $52,260
Expenditures 57,587 70,647

$57,426 $109,686
128,234

Balance ($ 5,327) ($ 18,548) ($13,221)

Source: Department of Commerce Annual
Reports, FY 1979 and FY 1980.

ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

In order to maintain licensure, operators
arc required to renew licenses annually by
January 1.

The State Department of Health and the
Statc Water Control Board inspect water and
wastewater works respectively. The two agen-
cies notify the Board in writing of any viola-
tions of Board regulations by operators
obscrved during facility inspections. By writ-
ten agreement, the Board reports to the State
agencies the findings of investigations and
any subscquent actions it takes against licen-
sces. In 1980, the Board reccived six referrals
from the two agencics. Investigations of
“complaints reccived by the Board arc carried
out by staff of the Department of Commerce.

Board records indicate that most comp-
laints arc those reported by the State agencies
on the basis of facility inspections. Comp-
laints reccived from the public usually refer
to matters which come under State agency
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control, such as water pollution and
suspected dumping of illegal waste. Such
complaints arc referred to the appropriate
agency without further action by the Board.
The Board has the authority to deny
rencwal, or to suspend or revoke a license if
after a hcaring it finds that the licensee
® is incompetent or negligent;
® has violated the Board's rules and regu-
lations;
® has been found guilty of misrepresenta-
tion in obtaining an operator’s license;
or
® has not bcen working as an operator in
a certified plant for ninc of the previ-
ous 36 months or since first licensed.
Since its crcation in 1970, the Board has
taken no disciplinary actions against a licen-
scc.

AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Failure Rate on Examinations

Well trained opcrators are nceded to run
modern water trcatment plants. The General
Asscmbly has recognized this nced by requir-
ing cvery trcatment plant to have at least
onc licensed operator in charge. The Board
for the Certification of Water and Wastewa-
ter Works Operators primarily screens appli-
cants for liccnsurc by using a standardized
test for cach class of opcrator. However, high
failurc rates on the cxams have been a
continuing sourcec of concern which the
Board has not been able to resolve. It is not
clecar whether the problem is the inadequate
training and practical cxpericnce of applicants
or the content and structurc of the exams.

The Board has cxplored the possibility of
using an cxamination developed by a
national firm, but belicves that the cost of
doing so is prohibitive. The Board has
attcmpted to deal with high failure rates by
dcleting or modifying questions that are
misscd by many applicants, by allowing an
unlimited number of attempts to pass the
=_cxam,=and by making training available at
community colleges. Howcver, some of these
"mcthods have been unsuccessful in ensuring
the validity of the test or the quality of
applicants. Repeated test-taking may result in
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familiarity with the test, and deleted ques-
tions may be important to test critical skills
and knowledge. Furthermore, according tc
Board officials, many opcrators do not attena
the training programs.

It may bc that many applicants are not
qualified to become licensed and fail the
cxam for that rcason. JLARC found in a
study of water resources management in
1976 that a largec number of wastewater
trcatment operators spent less than 20 hours
weekly in the actual performance of an oper-
ator’'s dutics. Therefore, some applicants may
not posscss sufficicnt cxperience in opera-
tions. Also, the cxam is open-book and appar-
cntly understandable. According to a 1980
assessment of the exam by the National
Association of Boards, thc reading level of
the exam is commensurate with the educa-
tional requircments for operator certification.

Necvertheless, the national association’s
assessment  did  highlight a major problem
that cxists in other states also. The Board
has not validated its cducational or experi-
cnce requircments or the cut-off score on the
cxam rclative to the job requirements of
applicants. The association suggested that a
pancl of certified operators could work with
the Board to match both specific academic
courses and specific opecrational tasks with
the cducational and expericnce criteria for
cach level of certification. The exam could
then be restructured to test critical areas.

The Board should take steps to (1) ensure
that the examinations arec measuring actual
skills and knowledge nceded by operators and
(2) asscss the characteristics of applicants who
pass and fail the cxam to detect possible
rcasons for failurc. In addition, the Board
should consider limiting the number of times
an applicant may retake the exam without
attending Board-sponsored or equivalent train-
ing and advising cxaminees who fail on
subject arcas in which they score low.

This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in

Virginia. The study has been conducted by

the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.



VIRGINIA BOARD OF DENTISTRY

A

Dentists and dental hygienists provide
clients with preventive care and treat-
ment of the teeth, gums, and oral cavity.
Regulation is intended to define the
scope of practice and the qualifications
for practitioners.

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

The Board of Dentistry licenses both
dentists and dental hygienists. All states
require licensure of dentists and dental
hygienists except Alabama which does not
license hygienists. Virginia’s dentists became
regulated in 1886, dental hygienists in 1951.
As of December 1980, 3,746 dentists and
1,603 dental hygienists were licensed.

The practice of dentistry includes diag-
nosing or treating diseases of the oral cavity,
extracting teeth, preparing artificial teeth,
prescribing medicinal remedies for treatment
of dental or oral diseases, and using x-rays
and anesthetic agents for diagnosis and treat-
ment. Dental hygienists clean and polish
teeth and assist dentists in providing care
and oral health education to the public.
Hygienists are permitted to practice only
under the ‘““direct on-premises supervision” of
a dentist.

Temporary permits may be granted to
post-graduate students who render dental care
"~ in _an_educational setting, to instructors of
dentistry and hygiene, and to clinicians for
the State Department of Health and the
Department of Mental Health and Mental
Retardation. The Board may also grant ‘“re-
stricted” licenses to foreign practitioners who
are teaching dentistry or dental hygiene.

Exempt from licensure are employees of
the federal government and the military,
students enrolled in dental degree programs,
physicians, and certified nurse practitioners.
Also exempt are persons engaged, by a writ-
ten work authorization from a dentist, in the
construction or repair of dentures, bridges, or
other dental appliances.

A number of the Board’s regulations
address the business and professional practices
of dentists. For example, dentists may employ
only two hygienists at one time. They are
also prohibited from practicing in a commer-
cial setting, or practicing under a trade name
or firm name. Advertisements by dentists
may not contain a testimonial about or an
endorsement of a dentist or contain language
that is intended to attract patients by “’show-
manship, puffery, self laudation or huckster-
ism, including the use of slogans, jingles, or
garish or sensational language or format.”

The Board is composed of seven members
appointed by the Governor; six are dentists
and one is a dental hygienist. The hygienist
may vote only on matters related to dental
hygiene. Members must have practiced for at
least three years and are limited to two
successive five-year terms. The Board meets
in formal session at least three times a year.

The provisions in the Code of Virginia
which govern the regulation of the dental
profession are Section 54-146 et seq.

REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

Applicants for licensure as a dentist or
dental hygienist must be at least 18 years of
age and must present a certificate of good
moral character signed by two dentists, in
addition to meeting the following specific
criteria:

e Dentists must graduate from an

approved dental school; pass the
National Board and regional dentistry
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examinations; and pass the Board’s
exam on Virginia dental laws and regu-
lations.

e Dental Hygienists must graduate from
an approved dental hygiene program;
pass the National Board and regional
hygienist examinations; and pass the
Board’s exam on Virginia dental
hygiene laws and regulations.

In addition to the regional and State
licensure exams, students in both professions
take national exams developed by a consor-
tium of the American Association of Dental
Examiners, the American Association of
Dental Schools, and the American Dental
Association as a prerequisite to completing
their coursework and State licensure.

Since December 1975, the regional exami-
nations have been designed, administered,
and scored by the Southern Regional Testing
Agency, a consortium of the dental boards of
Tennessee, Arkansas, Kentucky, and Virginia.
Prior to this arrangement each state board
was responsible for its own exam.

The regional examinations for dentists
have four parts. The first two portions
consist of a series of slides which the exami-
nee must correctly identify for pathology,
diagnosis, and treatment. The second two
parts test the applicant’s clinical ability to
perform such professional tasks as restora-
tions, cleaning, and impressions.

The regional exams for dental hygienists
have three parts. The first two portions
‘consist of a series of slides which the exami-
nee must correctly identify for pathology and
diagnostic radiological interpretations. The
next portion is a clinical exam that tests the
applicant’s ability to perform such profes-
sional tasks as dental charting, oral prophy-
laxis, and the exposure of dental x-rays.

Statistical information on the number of
persons taking and passing the exam is main-
tained by the agency and is not readily
available by state. The State exam was devel-
oped by the Board and tests the applicant’s
*knowledge of Virginia's dentistry laws and
regulations. It is usually taken at the same
time as the clinical exam.

No reciprocity agreements exist with
other states. However, the regional exam
requirement is waived by the Board for
applicants that have passed that exam within
the last five years.
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FEES AND EXPENDITURES

The Board of Dentistry assesses the
following licensure fees for dentists and
dental hygienists:

Dentists
Application $80
Biennial renewal 40
Duplicate 10
Temporary 50
Teachers 50
Dental Hygienists
Application $60
Biennial renewal 20
Duplicate 10
Temporary 50
Teachers 50

During the 1978-80 biennium, the Board’s
appropriations exceeded revenues by $18,679

and expenditures by $96,587 as indicated
below.

FY 1979 FY 1980 Total

q —

Revenues $198,661 $30,995 $229,656
Appropriations 122,665 125,670 248,335
Expenditures 82,599 69,149 161,748
Balance $ 40,066 $56,5621 $ 96,587

Source: Department of Health Regulatory
Boards Annual Reports, FY 1979 and

FYy 1980.

ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Renewal of biennial licenses is due by
March 1 of odd-numbered years, and dental
offices are inspected on a time-available basis
by inspectors of the Department of Health
Regulatory Boards. Between 1978 and 1980,
178 of the estimated 1,500 dental offices in
the State were inspected.

DHRB investigators (1) review dental
work authorization records; (2) check to see
that current licenses are properly displayed;
(3) observe the activities of unlicensed auxili-
ary personnel such as dental assistants to
ensure they are not engaging in licensed



activities and to determine that dental
hygienists are providing services within their
scope of licensure; (4) ensure that only
persons having satisfactorily completed a
course or exam in radiation safety are admin-
istering x-rays; and (5) review drug records
and storage.

Between 1978 and 1980, 191 complaints
were filed with the Board. Of these, 58 were
found to be invalid and 33 either required
no action for disposition or were beyond the
Board’s jurisdiction. The most common com-
plaints concern the fit of dentures and exces-
sive fees. The Board has no authority to
regulate practitioner fees, however.

The Board may take disciplinary actions
in cases which involve

e fraud or misrepresentation in obtaining

a license or in the practice of dentistry;

e conviction of a felony or crime involv-
ing moral turpitude;
alcohol or drug addiction;
unprofessional conduct;
negligent practice;
employment of unlicensed persons;
willfully permitting a dental hygienist
to violate the law or regulation; or

o false, deceptive, or misleading advertis-

ing.

The Board has a number of sanctions at
its disposal, including consent orders, repri-
mands, fines up to $1,000, temporary suspen-
sions, probations, and permanent revocations.
Often these sanctions are used together, for
example, to suspend the dental practitioner’s
license for six months and then to place him
or her on a two-year probation.

Twenty-five disciplinary actions were
taken in FY 1980. the Board revoked one
license, placed eight practitioners on proba-
tion or suspended their licenses, and issued
ten cease and desist orders and six repri-
mands.

AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Role of Dental Hygienists

Dental hygienists are auxiliary personnel
who assist dentists. They may perform
services which are educational, diagnostic,
therapeutic or preventive in nature, but
direct supervision of a dentist is required at

all times. The Virginia Dental Hygienist
Association is proposing statutory changes (1)
to redefine supervision in a way that would
expand their scope of practice and (2) to
permit the full representation of hygienists
on the Board of Dentistry. The Virginia
Dental Association opposes these proposed
changes.

The Board of Dentistry regulates the
practice of dentists and all auxiliary person-
nel including hygienists and dental assistants.
Dentists and hygienists receive formal train-
ing and are licensed by the Board, while
assistants receive their training on the job or
at community colleges and are not licensed.
The dentist may delegate tasks to assistants
that are specified in regulation. Hygienists
may perform all of those tasks plus addi-
tional services specified in regulation, such as
performing preliminary examinations of the
oral cavity, scaling, root planing, and polish-
ing natural or restored teeth. No distinction
is made between the level of supervision
necessary for assistants and hygienists. The
regulation specifies that “the dentist must in
all cases be present and observe the patient
and evaluate the services performed by the
assistant or dental hygienist before allowing
the patient to leave the office.”

Dental hygienists argue that direct super-
vision is too restrictive because they are
licensed professionals who have received
extensive training and who have demon-
strated their competence by passing a national
examination. They believe that the scope of
practice detailed in regulation restricts their
ability to perform additional tasks such as
completing the restoration of teeth. More-
over, the requirements for on-site supervision
also preclude their extending the availability
of dental care by providing basic preventive
service in settings such as nursing homes
and underserved rural areas. They believe
that such services could be provided under
the general supervision of a dentist.

The Virginia Dental Hygienists Associa-
tion supports a statutory change to require
general supervision instead of direct supervi-
sion by a dentist. General supervision as
defined by the American Dental Association
provides that dental procedures will be
carried out in accordance with the dentist’s
diagnosis and treatment plan. However, the
physical presence of and observation by a
dentist would not be required. According to
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the hygienist association, respondents to a
survey of all licensed hygienists in Virginia
indicated support for a revised definition and
for practice in settings other than the tradi-
tional private office of a dentist.

An American Dental Hygienist Associa-
tion document indicates that 26 states
currently permit hygienists to perform at
least some functions under general supervi-
sion. Recent studies by the U.S. General
Accounting Office and the Council of State
Governments have favored greater flexibility
for dentists to delegate tasks, such as comple-
tion of tooth restoration, to auxiliary person-
nel. The Federal Trade Commission has also
questioned the necessity for such extensive
regulatory requirements concerning the prac-
tice of both auxiliary personnel and dentists
and has further questioned the prohibition of
dentists’ practicing in commercial settings or
employing more than a specified number of
auxiliary personnel.

The Virginia Dental Association believes
that direct supervision of dental hygienists is
necessary to ensure that patients receive
adequate care and that medical emergencies
are dealt with immediately. They feel that
geriatric patients in nursing homes should
not be provided with oral hygiene treatment
without prior examination and evaluation by
a dentist. They also state that the current
level of training for hygienists would have to
be expanded to encompass more skills. More-
over, the dental association does not believe
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that additional training for hygienists and
outreach activities by this profession are
necessary, because there is a more than
adequate supply of dentists in the Common-
wealth. Although a State Department of
Health study in 1978 showed that many
Virginians had not received recent dental
care, the association feels that people are
simply not taking advantage of available
services.

Although the Virginia Dental Association
supported the addition of a dental hygienist
to the Board of Dentistry in 1977, it does
not support a change in the statute to permit
full voting privileges for the dental hygienist
member of the Board or for the addition of
other hygienists. The Virginia Dental
Hygiene Association has noted, however, that
20 states give full voting rights to hygienists
on dental boards. And the hygienist associa-
tion states that since the primary role of the
Board of Dentistry is the oversight of the
practice of dentistry and dental hygiene,
“there is no rationale to deny one of the
regulated licensed professions full participa-
tion in the regulatory process.”

This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.



VIRGINIA BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS

AND EMBALMERS

Funeral directors and embalmers are
engaged in businesses that prepare the
dead for burial or cremation and provide
facilities for viewing the body and for
funeral services. Regulation is intended
to ensure that practitioners are qualified
to handle dead bodies properly and that
business practices are fair to bereaved
families.

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

Virginia was the first state to regulate
the funeral industry. The State Board of
Embalming was created in 1894 because of
concern that improper handling of dead
bodies could spread infection. The Board's
name was changed in 1956 to the Virginia
Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers.
In recent years business practices have
become a focus of the Board because of
national concerns that bereaved families are
su_jected to undue pressure and as a conse-
quence incur exorbitant expenses. All states
except Colorado currently regulate funeral
directors and embalmers.

Prior to 1972, the Board licensed funeral
directors and embalmers under separate
licenses. An amendment to the Code of
Virginia created the category of ‘‘funeral
service practitioner” to include both directors

- -and embalmers. Previously licensed directors

or embalmers could retain categorical licen-
sure or be considered by the Board for licen-
sure as funeral service practitioners. As of
March 1981, the Board had licensed 36
embalmers, 450 funeral directors, and 973
funeral service practitioners. An additional
200 persons were registered as resident train-

ees under the supervision of a licensed
practitioner.

The Board also approves schools of
embalming and maintains a list of approved
schools for training applicants for licensure
in Virgiia. As of March 1981, the Board had
approved one school in Virginia and 36
schools in other states. All of the schools are
certified by the American Board of Funeral
Services.

While the State Department of Health
monitors the compliance of funeral establish-
ments with local ordinances concerning
health and safety, these establishments may
not operate without a permit from the Board.
As of March 1981, 476 separate permits were
issued for main offices, branch offices, or
chapels at other locations. The Board’s focus
on sound business practice has resulted in
the following regulations:

e Persons contracting for funeral services
must be provided a written itemized
list of charges and services and a state-
ment of all anticipated cash advances
and expenditures.

e Funeral directors or their employees
may not interfere with the freedom of
choice of the next of kin.

® False and misleading advertising is
prohibited. :

Employees of local or State institutions
and State medical examiners are exempted
from licensure, as are persons who manufac-
ture or sell caskets. Code provisions also do
not apply to the burial of dead bodies of
paupers or inmates of State institutions when
buried at the expense of the State or of a
political subdivision of the State.

The Board is composed of five licensed
funeral service practitioners and two citizen
members. Members are appointed for seven -
year terms and cannot succeed themselves.
The Board meets about 11 times a year.

The provisions in the Code of Virginia
which govern the Board of Funeral Directors
and Embalmers are Section 54-260.64 et seq.
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REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

Licenses for funeral service practitioners
may be granted to any applicant who
. is a resident of Virginia;

. is at least 18 years old;

is of good moral character;

has graduated from high school or the
equivalent;

has completed two years of resident
traineeship;

6. has graduated from an approved school

of mortuary science; and

7. has passed the Board examination.

Applicants applying for registration as a
resident trainee are required to be of good
moral character and to have graduated from
high school or the equivalent. Board
members review all applications, transcripts,
and supporting affidavits. The requirements
for a resident traineeship may be waived on
an individual basis at the Board’'s discretion,
based on the applicant’s previous work exper-
ience and educational background.

The training program consists of a two-
year apprenticeship in all aspects of funeral
services. The trainee is required to spend 40
hours a week at an approved funeral estab-
lishment and to participate under licensed
supervision in all areas of funeral service
including funeral directing and embalming.
A report must be made to the Board every
six months on the progress of the trainee
and the amount of time spent in training.
The final report must include a listing of all
cases served during the traineeship.

Permits for funeral establishments them-
selves are issued upon verification by the

;o=
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Board that the following conditions have -

been met:

1. that the licensee has a full-time
licensed person in charge at each facil-
ity for which a permit is to be issued;
and

2. that each establishment contains a

~—-_ -preparation room equipped with a tile,
cement, or composition floor, and that
there are proper drainage, ventilation,
and necessary instruments and supplies
for the preparation and embalming of
dead human bodies.

Applicants for licensure must pass a two -

part written examination. The first part,
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which tests knowledge of mortuary science,
is developed by the National Conference of
Funeral Examining Boards. The second part
is developed by the Board and consists of
questions on rules and regulations applicable
in Virginia.

An applicant must score at least 75
percent on both parts of the test in order to
be licensed. Each applicant has three chances
to pass. A different exam is given whenever
an applicant fails the examination and needs
to be retested. Alternate versions of the
national exam are used for subsequent tests.
In some instances, the first part of the exam
may be waived if the applicant has success-
fully passed the National Board of Embalm-
ers’ exam given at mortuary colleges.

Although practical and oral portions of
the exam are specified as required in the
Board’s regulations, neither is currently
administered. The practical exam was discon-
tinued in 1970, because it was difficult to
hold a regularly scheduled exam for which
embalming techniques had to be performed
on a newly dead body and because such
instruction and evaluation are included in
the program of mortuary science colleges.
The oral exam was discontinued in May
1980 by the Department of Health Regula-
tory Boards because of alleged lack of objec-
tivity by the Board. The Board currently
interviews each applicant for informational
purposes.

Virginia has established reciprocal licen-
sure agreements with Ohio, Missouri, and
Florida by which the Board may give full or
partial exemption from the Board’s in-service
training requirements. According to Board
officials, licensure by endorsement legislation
in these States has weakened such reciprocal
agreements with Virginia. “Courtesy Card”
agreements have also been established with
Maryland, the District of Columbia, and
West Virginia. This arrangement permits a
licensee from those jurisdictions to remove
bodies from this State or to arrange funerals
in this State, but not to establish a place of
business or engage in the practice of
embalming.

FEES AND EXPENDITURES

The Board has established the following
fees:



Funeral Service Practitioner

Examination
In-state applicant $ 50
Out-of-state applicant 150
Initial license 70
Renewal 70
Resident Trainee registration 20
Establishment certificate 50
Courtesy card 50
Funeral Director license renewal 40
Embalmer license renewal 40

During the 1978-80 biennium, revenues
from fees totalled $154,575 and the Board
received an appropriation of $144,875. For
the first time in the Board’s history, expendi-
tures exceeded appropriations for the bien-
nium as indicated below:

FY 1979 FY_ 1980 Total

Revenues $119,235 $35,340 $154,575

-4 Appropritions 72,610 72,265 144,875
Expenditures 71,621 76,163 147,784

Balance $ 989 ($3.898) ($ 2,909)

Source:  Department of Health Regulatory
Boards Annual Reports, FY 1979

and FY 1980.
_

ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Biennial renewals are due by March 1 of
each odd-numbered year. Courtesy Cards are
granted for one year and expire on December
31 of the year issued. Permits of resident
trainees are renewed each year.

The Board employs an inspector to moni-
tor compliance with its rules and regulations.
Facilities are inspected to ensure that there
are

e hot and cold running water;

e sinks connected with public water;

e metal or porcelain morgue tables;

e means for sterilization of instruments;
"- eclan gowns or aprons and rubber

gloves for each person in the embalm-
ing room;

® a clean and sanitary embalming room;

e 2 hydro-aspirator equipped with a

vacuum breaker; and

e a full-time licensed employee on duty
at each establishment.

Contracts are also checked to determine that
itemized statements are given to each
consumer and that statements are properly
signed by a licensed employee of the funeral
establishment.

During FY 1980, 103 inspections were
conducted. The major types of violations
found included the signing of consumer
contracts by unlicensed employees, the
absence of a full-time manager at branch
offices, and unsanitary conditions in embalm-
ing rooms.

The Board also receives complaints of
which 22 were received during FY 1980.
Upon investigation, only one of these was
found to require Board action. Since 1980,
the Board had two cases pending formal
hearings and another case on appeal in the
circuit courts. The majority of the com-
plaints received by the Board came from
consumers. Typical complaints involved the
failure of licensees to provide clients with
itemized bills and the failure to submit
monthly statistical reports to the State
Department of Health’s Bureau of Vital
Statistics.

Grounds for disciplinary action include

e conviction of a felony or crime involv-
ing moral turpitude;

e misrepresentation or fraud in conduct-
ing business;

e false or misleading advertising;

e solicitation of dead human bodies;

e employing persons on a commission
basis for the purpose of influencing
funeral services;

e aiding unlicensed persons to practice;

e overuse of alcohol or drugs;

e violating State law or municipal or
county ordinances affecting the
handling, custody, care or transportation
of dead human bodies;

e refusing to promptly surrender a body
upon request by the person lawfully
entitled to custody;

e knowingly making false statements on
a certificate of death;

e knowingly removing or embalming a
body when a crime or violence is
connected with the cause of death, or
cremating a body without the permis-
sion of the State medical examiner; and
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e interfering with the freedom of choice
of the general public to obtain the
funeral services of their choice.

Since FY 1977, the Board has taken 33
disciplinary actions. Formal hearings were
held in seven cases. Cease and desist orders
were issued in 21 cases and penalties were
imposed in five cases.

AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Required Staffing of Funeral
Establishments

The Virginia Board of Funeral Directors
and Embalmers does not consistently enforce
the statutory provision that a full-time
license holder be present at each funeral
establishment. A funeral establishment is
defined in Section 54-260 of the Code as any
place, including a main office, branch, or
chapel, where any part of the profession is
performed.

According to a Board official, the require-
ment causes excessive hardship in some
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instances. Therefore, the Board has allowed
extended periods of time for compliance by
the licensee. This waiver has occurred when
a chapel is at a different location from the
main office and the chapel is used only for
the viewing of a body or a wake service.
The waiver allows licensees at other funeral
establishments to be designated managers at
these chapels or branch offices.

It does not appear, however, that the
Board has the authority to grant waivers of
staffing requirements. If the requirement is
believed to be excessive, then repeal or modi-
fication of the requirement should be recom-
mended to the General Assembly. The
statute could be amended to require staffing
of chapels only when in use.

This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.



VIRGINIA BOARD OF MEDICINE

A

Physicians and other medical profes-
sionals deal with the maintenance of
health and the prevention, alleviation,
and cure of disease. Regulation |is
intended to ensure that practitioners
meet educational standards and are
mentally and physically able to practice.

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

In the late nineteenth century, medical
societies throughout the country supported
State regulation to restrict the practice of
medicine to physicians trained in medical
schools.

Virginia began regulating the practice of
medicine and surgery in 1884. Originally the
Board licensed only medical doctors, but
through the years nine categories of profes-
sionals in the field of human health have
come under the Board’s jurisdiction.

As of 1980, Board licenses for 16,305
practitioners and certificates for 122 physi-
cian’s assistants were in force.

Practitioners Number
Medical Doctors 14,241
Osteopaths 119
Podiatrists 252
Chiropractors 174
Clinical Psychologists 343
Physical Therapists 1,065
“Physical Therapy Assistants 11
Physician’s Assistant | 38
Physician’s Assistant || 84

Exempt from regulation by the Board of
Medicine are visiting practitioners, such as
members of the armed forces, foreign practi-

tioners serving their country’s diplomatic
personnel, and consultants invited to speak,
teach, or render a professional opinion.

The Board of Medicine interacts with
several other boards. For example, the Board
of Pharmacy provides the Board of Medicine
with the results of drug-related complaint
investigations of medical professionals.
Responsibility for the regulation of clinical
psychologists is divided between the Board of
Psychology and the Board of Medicine, and
regulations for certified nurse practitioners
are jointly promulgated by the Board of
Nursing and the Board of Medicine.

Licensure of physicians is required by all
50 states and the District of Columbia. All
50 states and the District of Columbia regu-
late physical therapists, and all states except
New Jersey regulate physician’s assistants.
Three states do not regulate clinical psychol-
ogists: Missouri, South Dakota, and Vermont.

The State Board of Medicine has 14
members appointed by the Governor.
Language in the Code specifies that member-
ship must include one physician from each
of the ten congressional districts, an osteo-
path, a podiatrist, a chiropractor, and a clini-
cal psychologist. Terms of office are five
years with a limit of two successive terms
for all members except the member who
serves as secretary of the Board.

Committees have been established by the
Board to carry out certain functions. In
accordance with a provision of the Code of
Virginia, the Board may appoint a medical
complaint investigation committee composed
of three licensed physicians who are not
Board members. The committee has the
power to subpoena, take evidence and recom-
mend to the Board whether sufficient
grounds exist for further action against a
licensee.

A standing advisory committee also
advises the Board on regulation of physical
therapists. In addition, a central psychiatric
advisory committee and three regional
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committees have been established by the
Board. Each regional committee is composed
of a chairman who is a member of the
central committee, and two psychiatrists, and
is served by a psychologist who tests practi-
tioners subject to disciplinary action. The
central committee provides advice to the
Board on the fitness of practitioners who are
subject to disciplinary action because of
mental, emotional, or substance abuse prob-
lems.

In accordance with the Code, the Board
must meet at least once each year, with nine
members constituting a quorum. During
1980, 44 meetings were held by the Board or
its committees.

The provisions in the Code of Virginia
which govern the Board of Medicine are
Section 54-273 et seq.

REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

To become licensed or certified in a
hcalth profession, an applicant must be at
lcast 18 ycars of age and of good moral char-
acter. Education and cxamination require-
ments differ among professional categories.

® Mcdical Doctors and Ostcopaths are

rcquired to have four ycars of profes-
sional cducation. Most graduates of
accredited medical schools in  the
United States take the first two parts of
a National Board cxamination prior to
graduation. After complction of a one--
ycar internship, they take the third
part of the cxam. Parts onc and two of
the ¢xam cover basic scicnce and the
practicc of medicinc respectively. Part
three is clinically based.

Physicians trained in other countries,
graduates of non-accredited schools, and
students clecting not to take the

_National Board exam must take a

“=_three-part National Federal  Licensing
Exam (FLEX). Additionally, in Virginia
forcign-trained physicians must serve a
onc-year internship prior to licensure.

® Podiatrists and Chiropractors arc

required to have graduated from accre-
dited professional cducational programs.
Podiatrists must pass the first two parts
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of thc cxam given by the National
Board of Podiatry Examiners. Chiroprac-
tors take the first part of the National
Board of Chiropractors Examiners exam.

® Clinical Psychologists are required to
have a Ph.D. and two years of experi-
cnce, and to have completed a one-year
internship prior to licensure. They are
cxaminecd by the State Board of
Psychology.

e Physical Therapists and Assistants are
rcquired to have four years and two
ycars of college, respectively. They
must pass an cxam developed by the
Profcssional Examination Service.

® Physician’s Assistants I are required to
have complected high school and an
approved program for physician’s assis-
tants, and show proof of having passed
an cxamination given by the National
Commission for Certification of Physi-
cian’s Assistants or the Examining
Board of the Amecrican Society of Podia-
tric Assistants.

® Physician’s Assistants II are employed
by the Decpartment of Corrections and
arc ccrtificd on the basis of experience
and complction of an approved training
program in licu of an examination.
They may function in this capacity
only while cmployed by the Depart-
ment of Corrections.

Applicants for licensurc by endorsement
must have passed an examination equal to
the cxamination in Virginia or all three parts
of the FLEX cxamination. Applicants may
also be accepted for endorsement who have
been in practice in the United States or its
armed scrvices or have been licensed by
another statc for at least ten years. Diplo-
mates of national specialty boards, of the
Licensing Medical Council of Canada, of the
National Board of Medical Examiners, or of
the National Board of Ostcopathic Examiners
arc exempt from cxamination.

FEES AND EXPENDITURES

During the 1978-80 biennium the Board
collected revenues of $854,228, had expendi-

tures of $681,025 and received appropriations
of $723,805 as shown below.



against licensed professionals as shown below.
A total of 161 complaints are -currently
under investigation including carry-over
complaints from previous fiscal years.

FY 1979 FY 1980  Total
Revenues  $432,533 $421,679 $854,228

Appropriations 351,580 372,225 723,805
Expenditures 340,182 340.843 681.025

Balance $ 11,398 $ 31,382 $ 42,780

Complaint _Categorv FY 1979 FY 1980
Source: Departmen; of Health Regulatory Indiscriminate prescribing
Boards Annual Reports, FY 1979 of drugs 7 65
and FY 1980. Standards of practice 67 74
Controlled substance abuse 13 5
) . Miscellaneous ‘21 17
The following fees apply to professions Total 172 161

regulated by the Board:
Disciplinary action can be taken by the

Initial examination $175 Board if a practitioner
Re-examination - Part | 80 e engages in the practice under a false
Part |l 80 name, or impersonates another practi-
Part Il ‘85 tioner;
Endorsement ‘ 175 e prescribes or dispenses controlled
Endorsement to another state 25 substances with intent or knowledge
Limited license to professors 50 that the drugs will be used for other
Duplicate license 2 than medicinal purposes;
Penalty for non-payment 25 e makes statements a'bou't a secret cure or
Annual drug permit 20 treatment for certain allmenFs;
Renewal (except Clinical e undertakes to practice physical therapy
. independent of a referral and direction
Psychologist) 16 of a licensed doctor;
Renewal for Clinical e commits a felony under State or federal
Psychologist 20 law, or any act involving moral turpi-
tude;
e conducts a practice in a manner
ENSURING CONTINUED contrary to the standards of ethics of
COMPETENCY the profession or in a manner as to
Annual renewal of licenses and certifi- endanger the health and welfare of
cates are due prior to June 30. Renewal fees patients; .
from clinical psychologists are divided ® uses drugs, alcohol, or other chemicals
equally between the Board of Medicine and o excess; . )
the Board of Behavioral Science. ° dlspf.n.ses, administers, _or pres:»cnbes
Routine inspections are not conducted by ?edtll‘l:mle}f)ao; dl;u%il and is Itmt dregxstered
the Board of Medicine. Pharmacy inspectors y the board of Fharmacy to do so; or
may check medical facility drug )r,ecordie as a e engages in selling drugs or other narcot-
result of a complaint investigation and report ics for personal gain. :
violations to the Board of Medicine for bet 2‘;“:‘9{:‘;13?'97‘;‘:“0“; It=aYkerll9 81'3' tl:e sﬁgard
further action. ween an ar wn
Complaints involving standards of practice below:
and/or medical, mental, or physical incompe- Disciplinary Action FY 1978 EY1 FY 1
tence are referred to the medical complaint Reinstatement 6 13 4
_ investigation committee. The committee eval- Probation 5 14 20
“uates the. -evidence and submits its recom- “Suspension/Revocation 11
mendations to the Board. The Board takes Surrender of license 1 1 7
appropriate disciplinary actions through Reprimand 3
formal proceedings. Cease and desist orders 1
In the six-month period ending December Other _ _ 1
31, 1980, there were 66 complaints filed 12 28 47
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AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Examination for Chiropractors

The Board of Medicine currently does
not use Parts II and III of the FLEX exami-
nation for chiropractors because these exams
do not, in the opinion of the Board,
adequately measure the clinical competency
of applicants. Instead, the exam given in
Virginia is designed, administered, and graded
by the one member of the Board who is a
practicing chiropractor.

Such a testing process is generally
avoided in professional testing because it is
difficult to establish test validity and guard
against undue subjective bias in testing proce-
dures. Most occupational or professional
boards that administer a state exam use inde-
pendent examiners, or use a panel of exam-
iners.

The Board of Medicine recently discon-
tinued its own practice of having one
podiatrist design, administer, and grade an
exam of podiatric applicants. The validity of
procedures for that exam and other proce-
dures used by the Board were challenged in
federal court in 1976. The suit was dismissed
because of lack of federal jurisdiction.
However, an official of the Board indicated
. that the podiatric exam was discontinued
because the court commented unfavorably on
the procedure of allowing a single examiner
to have so much discretion over the exami-
nation process.

The Board of Medicine has contracted

with a national testing service to develop a
new exam for podiatrists. In the interim the
Board is accepting for licensure a Doctor of
Podiatry who is a diplomate of the National
Board of Podiatry Examiners in lieu of test-
ing.
Since the chiropractor examination process
has flaws similar to those identified in the
exam for podiatrists, the Board of Medicine
should also revise the examination process
for chiropractors. Using more than one exam-
- iner would be a step towards establishing
" better teést procedures and would eliminate
possible bias. Board officials indicate that the
National Board of Chiropractic Examiners has
been contacted and they are in the process
of developing the third section for national
use.
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Regulation of Clinical Psychologists

The Board of Medicine has recently
proposed statutory revisions that will affect
the regulation of clinical psychologists.
Currently the regulatory responsibilities and
fees for the profession are divided between
the Board of Medicine and the Board of
Psychology. This involves not only two
boards, but two departments, because the
Board of Medicine is within the Department
of Health Regulatory Boards and the Board
of Psychology is within the Department of
Commerce. Although, seen by the Board of
Medicine as housekeeping measures, the revi-
sions are opposed by the Department of
Commerce and the Board of Psychology.

The dual regulatory arrangement has
existed since 1966 and was apparently estab-
lished because clinical psychologists generally
function in a medical setting and obtain
status from a medical license. The Board of
Psychology screens, examines, and recom-
mends applicants for licensure. Recommended
individuals are licensed by the Board of
Medicine and subject to its discipline.
However, responsibility for the investigation
of complaints has never been clearly estab-
lished in practice. Officials of the Board of
Medicine indicate that the Board has taken
disciplinary action in 1975 against one clini-
cal psychologists. The Board of Psychology
has investigated three cases of alleged unli-
censed practice of clinical psychology since
1977. A

Because of the dual responsibility, fees
are split between the two boards. The Board
of Medicine collects renewal fees, and, by
law, must reimburse half of the amount
collected to the Board of Psychology. Howev-
er, the Board of Medicine has recently
proposed repeal of the reimbursement
requirement. In FY 1980, reimbursement to
the Board of Psychology amounted to $3,430.

The Board of Medicine has also consid-
ered proposing an amendment to the Code
which would permit the Board to prescribe
rules and regulations governing the content,
administration and grading of licensure
examinations for clinical psychologists or to
accept the examination given by the Board
of Psychology. According to the Board’s
executive director, this amendment would
serve to make requirements for clinical
psychologists consistent with requirements for



other professions regulated by the Board. The
executive director has stated that the intent
is not for the Board to ever reject an appli-
cant referred by the Board of Psychology.

These issues highlight duplication of

responsibility for the regulation of clinical
psychologists. Other areas of overlap include
® dual licensure of 83 clinical psycholo-
gists who are also licensed by the
Board of Psychology;

e licensure by the Board of Psychology in
the category of ““Psychologist (Clinical).”
Practitioners apparently have the same
scope of practice as clinical psycholo-
gists; and

e required representation of clinical
psychologists on both boards. One

member of the Board of Medicine is a
clinical psychologists and three
members of the Board of Psychology
are clinical psychologists by training.
The responsibilities of the two boards
should be clearly defined. Moreover, the
General Assembly may wish to assign full
responsibility to regulate clinical psychologists
to one board.
.~ ]

This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 232189.
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VIRGINIA STATE BOARD OF NURSING

A nurse engages in the care of
persons who are ill, injured or experienc-
ing changes in normal life processes
Regulation is intended to ensure that
nurses and certified nurse practitioners,
who assist physicians, are qualified to
practice and that educational programs
adhere to accepted standards.

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

Virginia was one of the first states to
begin regulating nursing in 1903. The State
Board of Nursing licenses registered and prac-
tical nurses, certifies nurse practitioners, and
accredits nursing education programs. While
all the states license registered and practical
nurses, six states and the District of Colum-
bia do so through separate regulatory boards.
A “professional” or ‘registered”’ nurse
provides patient care, including administering
medications under the direction of a physi-
cian, and may supervise or teach other nurs-
es. A “licensed practical nurse” works under
the direction of either a physician or a regis-
tered nurse.

A certified nurse practitioner is a licensed
registered nurse who has completed a
program designed to prepare nurses for
advanced clinical practice. They may assume
additional responsibility for medical activities
under the direction of a physician. Such
activities include recording a patient’s medi-
cal history; performing physical examinations;
initiating and conducting selected diagnostic
procedures; recommending a diagnosis and/or
treatment plan to the physician; implement-
ing a prescribed treatment plan; and initiat-
ing emergency treatment in the absence of a

physician. Nurse practitioners function in
hospitals, physicians’ offices, and clinics, and
they have helped to fill the gap created by
the shortage of physicians in rural areas. The
Board of Nursing is jointly responsible with
the Board of Medicine for promulgating regu-
lations for nurse practitioners.

The Board accredits four types of nursing
programs: baccalaureate degree programs
offered by colleges or universities; associate
degree programs typically offered by commu-
nity colleges; hospital diploma programs; and
practical nursing programs offered by public
schools, hospitals, community colleges, and
federally funded agencies. New nursing
programs must be approved by the State
Council of Higher Education for public
colleges and universities, and by the State
Department of Education for secondary
schools, before they can be accredited by the
Board of Nursing. Board of Nursing accredita-
tion is required for the legal operation of
schools of nursing and practical nursing.

In 1980, Board licenses for more than
31,000 registered nurses and 12,000 practical
nurses were in effect as well as certificates
for 612 nurse practitioners. Because of
changes in the Board’s renewal cycle, howev-
er, these figures do not accurately represent
the total number of licenses in force.

Exemptions to licensure include nursing
students, new graduates from Board-approved
schools pending the results of the first licens-
ing exam after graduation, aides, assistants,
employees of the federal government, and
persons furnishing nursing assistance in an
emergency.

The State Board of Nursing consists of
five registered and two practical nurses.
Board members are appointed for five-year
terms and may be appointed for a second
term. The Board is required to meet once
annually. Generally the full Board meets five
times a year while committees meet as often
as necessary.
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The Board's staff includes three full-time
nurse consultants who are registered nurses.
One of the major duties of these consultants
is to survey the nursing education programs
and provide consultation services for faculty.
They review new programs and re-evaluate
existing programs in accordance with Board
standards on a five-year cycle.

The provisions in the Code of Virginia
which govern the regulation of nurses are
Section 54-367.1 et seq. The provision which
governs the regulation of certified nurse prac-
titioners is Section 54-274.

REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

Applicants in each nursing category must
be of good moral character and must meet
the specific criteria for their respective areas:

e Registered Nurses must complete four

years of high school or the equivalent,
obtain a degree or diploma from an
accredited professional nursing program,
and pass a written examination as
required by the Board.

® Practical Nurses must complete two

years of high school, obtain a diploma
from an accredited practical nursing
program, and pass a written examina-
tion as required by the Board.

® Nurse Practitioners must be licensed in

Virginia as registered nurses and
complete an approved nurse. practitioner
program. Practitioners who specialize as
nurse anesthetists or midwives must
obtain certificates from a national board
certifying agency.

Nursing programs in public or private
schools must meet the Board’s accreditation
standards for facilities, administration,
students, faculty, curricula, and resources.

Examinations developed by the National
Council of State Boards of Nursing are
administered for registered nurse applicants
in February and July and for practical nurse
applicants in April and October. Since April
1981, the exams have been offered in Tide-
water, Richmond, and Roanoke.

The examination for registered nurses is
taken on two consecutive days. It involves
five multiple-choice tests dealing with the
theory and practice of medical, surgical,
pediatric, psychiatric, and obstetrical nursing.
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The practical nursing exam requires only one
day to complete. It is a multiple-choice exam
in two sections. In FY 1980, 2,284 persons
took the exam for registered nurses and
1,119 took the exam for practical nurses;
approximately 80 percent passed each of
these tests.

The Board has adopted a new examina-
tion which will be used for the first time in
July 1982. The four-part exam developed by
the National Council of State Boards of
Nursing will place more emphasis on actual
nursing practice. Applicants will be required
to make direct application to the National
Council to take the exam. The examination
will be administered by the Board and the
National Council will report the scores to
the Board.

The Board of Nursing issues a license by
endorsement to an applicant who is currently
licensed in a state with requirements similar
to its own. A licensed out-of-state applicant
may practice nursing for 30 days while
applying for a Virginia license. During FY
1979 and FY 1980, the Board issued 4,533
licenses to registered nurses and 928 licenses
to practical nurses by endorsement.

FEES AND EXPENDITURES

The Board has adopted the following fee
structure for nurses in Virginia:

Registered Nurse

Examination $50

Renewal 5

Endorsement 30
Licensed Practical Nurse

Examination 35

Renewal 5

Endorsement 30
Certified Nurse Practitioner

Renewal 10

The Board's revenues have far exceeded
expenditures and appropriations for several
years. During the 1978-80 biennium, reve-
nues exceeded appropriations by $181,202 and
expenditures by $164,126. The fee structure
is currently under review.

In 1980 the Board requested a supplemen-
tal appropriation of approximately $17,000 to
cover additional expenditures relating to such
items as decentralization of the exam admin-



istration and a larger than anticipated share
of the Department of Health Regulatory
Board's centralized computer costs.

P ———————————————
FY1979 FY 1980 Total
$390,005 $439,032 $829,037

Appropriations 315,990 331,845 647,835
Expenditures 308,127 356,784 664,911

Balance $ 7,863 ($24,939)($17,076)

Source: Department of Health Regulatory
Boards Annual Reports, FY 1979

Revenues

i ' and FY 1980.

ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Licensees must pay the annual renewal
fee by the end of their month of birth.
Anyone practicing with a lapsed license is
considered to be practicing illegally and is
subject to penalties. The Board is considering
biennial licensing of nurses. Licensees born
in odd-numbered years would renew every
odd-numbered year, while those born in
even-numbered years would renew in even
years. This change would reduce the admin-
istrative workload and still provide a steady
flow of revenues.

No routine inspections are conducted for
the Board of Nursing. However, accreditation
surveys of nursing programs are conducted
on a five-year cycle unless the Board is given
reason to conduct a special review.

The Board of Nursing received 125 com-
plaints during 1980 and 1981. The two major
categories of complaints filed against nurses
involved the diverting of drugs for personal
or unauthorized use and alcoholism. Accord-
ing to Board officials, very few complaints
are filed with the Board relating to a nurse’s
actual job performance. Most complaints of
this type would be filed with the hospital
-- employing the nurse or with the immediate
~ supervisor.

Once a complaint is substantiated, howev-
er, the Board has the power to revoke or
suspend a license or to discipline the indivi-
dual by censure or probation for any of the
following reasons:

e fraud or deceit in procuring a license;

e unprofessional conduct;

e willful violation of the Nurse Practices
ACt;

e commission of a felony or a misdemea-
nor involving moral turpitude;

e practicing nursing in an unethical
manner or in such a way as to endan-
ger the health and welfare of patients
or the public; or

e inability to practice nursing due to
illness or substance abuse.

Anyone whose license is suspended or
revoked because of mental or physical illness
or substance abuse is periodically afforded
the opportunity to demonstrate that he or
she can resume the competent practice of
nursing. Between 1976 and 1980, the Board
of Nursing revoked 19 licenses, placed ten
licensees on probation, and suspended five
licenses.

AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Regulatory Concerns

The Board of Nursing is faced with
proposals to increase initial educational
requirements and mandatory continuing
education for registered nurses. Although the
Board has not gone on record in favor of
either proposal, continuing pressure for statu-
tory revision is anticipated.

The American Nurses’ Association has
endorsed raising the minimum educational
requirement for licensure as a registered
nurse to the baccalaureate degree only. Asso-
ciate degrees and diploma programs leading
to licensure as registered nurses would no
longer be possible under this proposal.

Proponents of the proposal feel that addi-
tional educational requirements would better
prepare nurses to function in today’s rapidly
changing health field. The State Board of
Nursing has not addressed this proposal
because of its responsibility to administer the
nursing practice act as it is written. The
Board is continuing to monitor developments
in other states in relation to this issue.

Twelve states currently require from five
to fifteen hours of continuing education
annually for professional nurses as a condi-
tion of licensure renewal. The Board is
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concerned that there is a national trend in
this direction, although the relationship
between continuing education and compe-
tence has never been clearly established.
Moreover, such requirements are believed to
be difficult to administer and enforce because
coursework would have to be approved for
thousands of nurses and an otherwise compe-
tent nurse would have to be denied a license
for failing to take required course work.

In 1973, the Board of Nursing issued a
position statement on continuing education
for nurses which states in part that the
Board ‘““firmly supports a voluntary system of
recognition for continuing education for regis-
tered nurses and licensed practical nurses.”
In 1977 the National Council of State Boards
of Nursing also passed a resolution against
mandatory continuing education until further
study can determine whether the education
is directly related to competence.

Approval of Nursing Programs

The Board is also concerned that the
perceived shortage of nurses will result in an
unnecessary proliferation of nursing programs.
The Board believes that it must accredit any
new program that meets standards, regardless
of the need for nursing professionals or the
appropriate mix of baccalaureate, associate,
diploma, or practical nursing programs. The
Board believes that there is a need for a
statewide study to determine future demand
for professional nurses and practical nurses
that could serve as a basis for decisions to
establish new programs.

Since most nursing programs are estab-
lished in State institutions of higher education
or public schools, it appears that there is a
shared responsibility for the control of the
development of new programs. Of the 91
nursing programs, only 14 are hospital
diploma programs. The others are under the
jurisdiction of the State Council of Higher
Education or the Department of Education.
Forty-four practical nursing programs are in
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public schools and two are in State commu-
nity colleges. Thirteen associate degree
programs are offered by community colleges
or universities. Six baccalaureate programs are
in State universities or colleges.

.In 1977, the State Council of Higher
Education issued a report conducted by its
nurse manpower study committee on the
future supply of and demand for registered
nurses. The study concluded that if the staff-
ing patterns and rates of utilization assumed
in the report remained stable, the future
supply of registered nurses would exceed
demand in Virginia. The Committee recom-
mended ‘‘that the total number of generic
nursing graduates from basic education
programs under the Council’s jurisdiction not
be increased until such increases are justified
on the basis of (a) a re-evaluation of the
overall supply of and demand for registered
nurses; or (b) a regional analysis of the regis-
tered nurse supply and demand; or (c) an
evaluation of the supply and demand of
registered nurses by types of educational
preparation.” Although these follow-up
studies were recommended, they have not
been conducted.

It appears that new programs will not
proliferate in public institutions of higher
education until such studies are conducted.
The State Board of Nursing should determine
its policy with regard to hospital or private
programs and confer with the Department of
Education regarding programs in secondary
schools. The feasibility and statewide
follow-up studies should be determined by
the parties involved.

This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.
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Optometrists provide eyecare to the
public by examining eyes to determine
the presence of vision problems, eye
diseases, and other abnormalities. Opto-
metrists may treat vision problems by
prescribing corrective lenses, vision
training, or developmental techniques, or
they may refer the patient to specialized
medical practitioners. Regulation estab-
lishes qualifications for optometrists and
standards of practice.

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

Optometrists are one of three groups of
practitioners that provide eyecare to the pub-
lic. Other providers include ophthalmologists
who are physicians specializing in the medi-
cal or surgical treatment of eye problems,
and opticians, who prepare and dispense
eyeglasses or contact lenses.

All 50 states plus the District of Colum-
bia regulate optometrists through licensure.
Optometrists have been licensed in Virginia
since 1916, with the Board of Optometry
currently licensing 780 practitioners. As prac-
titioners who fall under the regulation of
their respective regulatory boards, physicians
and opticians are exempted from the optome-
try laws. Language in the Code also specifies
that eyeglasses may be sold in any regularly
located place of business, although optome-
trists are prohibited from practicing in a

" “commercial establishment.

The Board of Optometry is composed of
five licensed optometrists who have practiced
for at least five years. A member serves for
a five-year term and is limited to two terms.
The Board meets an average of five to seven
times annually.

VIRGINIA BOARD OF OPTOMETRY

The provisions in the Code of Virginia
which govern the Board of Optometry are
Section 54-368 et seq.

REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

In order to be licensed as an optometrist
in Virginia, a person must

1. be at least 18 years old;

2. be of good moral character;

3. have at least two years’ undergraduate
work and a degree from a four-year
approved school of optometry;

4. pass a national optometric exam; and

5. pass a practical exam administered by
the State Board.

Before applying for licensure in Virginia,

a candidate must pass the written examina-
tion given by the National Board of Optome-
try. The exam is developed, administered,
and graded at the national level.

The State gives a practical examination
twice a year which consists of patient cases,
visual slides on pathological diseases of the
eye, ophthalmic optics, and a clinical exami-
nation of an actual patient. This examination
was developed by the Board, and it is admin-
istered by Board members, staff, and testing
associates who are practicing optometrists.

The passing score on the State exam
varies from year to year. The passing score
on each section of the examination is based
on an adjusted score of those candidates
taking the exam. The candidate must pass
each section of the exam and may retake
specific sections if needed. During the past
three years, 74 percent of the 220 examinees
have passed the exam.

The Board of Optometry may waive the
requirement for the written examination for
optometrists currently licensed in another
state. All applicants to date, however, have
been required to take the practical examina-
tion. The Board also conducts an oral review
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of both in-state and out-of-state applicants’
credentials. This review is not a factor in
the determination of a candidate’s eligibility
for licensure.

FEES AND EXPENDITURES

The fee for an initial optometrist license
is $125 including the cost of examination.
The biennial renewal fee is $100.

During the 1978-80 biennium, the Board
collected revenues of $79,993 and was appro-
priated $71,195 as shown below.

[ _
FY 1979 FY 1980 Total
Revenues $39,155 $40,838 $79,993 A

Appropriations 37,760 33,435 71,195
Expenditures 36,899 34,016 70,915

Balance $ 861 ($ 581) $ 280

Source: Department of Health Regulatory
Boards Annual Reports, FY 1979
and FY 1980.

ENSURING CONTINUED

COMPETENCY

Biennial fees are due by October 31 of
odd-numbered years. In addition, all licensees
are required by law to complete continuing
education courses as a prerequisite to license
renewal. Board regulations specify that each
licensee must complete 24 actual hours of
Board-approved continuing education during
each biennial renewal period.

The Board of Optometry does not author-
ize routine inspections. During FY 1979 and
FY 1980, a total of 59 complaints were inves-
tigated for the Board of Optometry. Of the
ten complaints received by the Board
between July and December of 1980, six
involved standards of practice and the others
involved fees, use of diagnostic drugs, and
advertising violations. Most of these com -
plaints were filed by consumers.

-Optometrists are subject to disciplinary
action™ for _violations of business and profes-
sional standards specified in both statute and
regulation. Violations include

e fraud or deceit in practice;

e conviction of a felony or misdemeanor

involving moral character;
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e substance abuse or practice in such a
manner as to endanger patients’ health
and welfare;

e engaging in or employing someone to
conduct house-to-house soliciting to fit
or sell glasses;

e deceptive or misleading advertising or
the offering of free optometrical
services Oor examinations;

e use of trade names;

e practicing in a commercial establish-
ment; or

e failure to provide direct supervision to
unlicensed employees engaged in opto-
metric activities.

Of the ten complaints received by the
Board between July and September of 1981,
no disciplinary action was taken in six cases:
four cases were determined to be unfounded;
one investigation revealed that no further
action was necessary; and, the Board had no
jursidiction in one case. In two instances, an
agreement was reached between the
complainant and the practitioner: in one case
the optometrist’s license was suspended, and
in one case the practitioner was put on
probation.

AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Scope of Practice Controversy

Optometrists examine eyes, detect visual
problems and disease abnormalities, and in
some cases dispense eyeglasses and lenses.
Differences of opinion have arisen between
optometrists, opticians, who are dispensers of
ophthalmic goods, and ophthalmologists, who
are medical doctors that specialize in eyecare,
about appropriate limits of the scope of each
practice. Controversial areas among eyecare
providers include the use of diagnostic drugs,
mandatory referral of patients with major eye
problems to ophthalmologists, and fitting of
contact lenses by opticians.

Optometrists may use over-the-counter
drugs - but are not authorized by law in
Virginia to use controlled diagnostic or thera-
peutic drugs in their practices. Optometrists
believe, however, that they are trained suffi-
ciently in school to use diagnostic drugs
including those which dilate the pupil,
anesthetize the eye, or hold the eye muscle



in place during a visual examination. To this
end they have attempted to have permissive
legislation adopted in Virginia, and bills were
passed by both houses of the General Assem-
bly in 1978 and 1979 but were vetoed by
the Governor. These bills were vigorously
opposed by ophthalmologists. Twenty-nine
states have enacted laws permitting optome-
trists to use drugs for diagnostic purposes.
Optometrists in five additional states are
permitted to use diagnostic drugs by Board
regulation and/or attorney general opinion.

Ophthalmologists contend that optome-
trists do not have adequate training in phar-
macology to use the drugs without endanger-
ing the patient. They also assert that dilation
of the pupil would help optometrists to
perceive only an additional ten percent of
eye problems during the visual exam. Final-
ly, ophthalmologists are concerned that the
use of drugs during the eye examination
would lead patients to believe that they had
received medical examinations.

The ophthalmologists’ association supports
the introduction of a bill that would require
optometrists to refer patients with certain eye
symptoms to a medical doctor. Optometrists
are under a professional obligation to refer
patients suspected of having any medical eye
problems to the appropriate medical practi-
tioner. Board of Optometry officials indicate
that the Board has taken administrative
action in at least two cases where proper
referrals were not made by an optometrist.
Ophthalmologists, however, feel that referral
should be made mandatory in law because
the alleged failure by optometrists to refer
patients with certain symptoms can result in
permanent or serious visicn impairment.

To gather evidence on the extent of the
referral problem and to support their posi-
tion, the Virginia Society of Ophthalmology
and Otolaryngology surveyed its 170 ophthal-
mology members. The 172 cases generated by
respondents were subsequently published in a
1981 society document entitled, Eye Doctors.
There is a Difference. Evidence of Harm.
Cited in the publication are unreferred cases
that are alleged to have resulted in blindness
or to have involved abnormalities of the eye
or treatment of non-existent eye problems.

Although a real problem may or may not
exist, the results of the survey are open to
question because of methodological flaws. All

respondents cited problems, but only 33 of
the 170 ophthalmologists polled responded to
the survey. Moreover, cases submitted by
four ophthalmologists accounted for more
than half of the total cases included in the
society’s document. On the basis of these
responses, the pervasiveness of problems
caused by lack of referral cannot adequately
be determined.

In addition to these flaws in the survey,
since no time limits on problem cases were
established, some cases dated back to the
1960s. Data, therefore, do not indicate
whether eye problems resulting from the
lack of optometric referrals have become
more or less of a problem over the years or
whether just a few problem cases occur each
year. The Society of Ophthalmology and
Otolaryngology may wish to generate addi-
tional information by developing a study
methodology that is consistent with generally
accepted research principles.

Although some type of general referral
language is included in the optometry
statutes of about one-third of the states, refer-
ral laws such as that supported by ophthal-
mologists in Virginia are not in effect in any
other state. These statutory proposals would
require optometrists to refer patients with
specified abnormalities or conditions to a
physician. Fourteen of the 34 states which
permit optometrists to use diagnostic drugs in
their practice make a general reference to
referral. Virginia's ophthalmologists feel that
a specific referral requirement might serve as
a safeguard for the public should the practice
of optometrists be extended above their oppo-
sition.

In November 1981, the State Board of
Medicine declined to take a position on the
mandatory referral proposal. Instead, the
Board -suggested that the opposing parties
meet to resolve their differences.

A discussion of the controversy surround-
ing the fitting of contact lenses by opticians
is included in the chapter of this report
devoted to the Board of Opticians.

L ____________________________ ]

This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.
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STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY

AS

Pharmacists store, compound,
dispense, and sell to the public a broad
range of pharmaceuticals. Regulation is
intended to ensure that pharmacists are
knowledgeable about drugs, that drugs
are properly dispensed, that proper
inventory records of certain drugs are
maintained, and that drugs are properly
and safely stored.

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

Pharmacists are licensed in all states and
the District of Columbia. The regulation of
pharmacists in Virginia began in 1886 when
registration of pharmacists was more or less
voluntary and was an attempt to bring about
some standardization in the profession. In its
responsibility for administering the Drug
Control Act, the Board of Pharmacy regulates
the legal manufacturing, distribution, and
dispensing of drugs in various types of facili-
ties and regulates the manufacturing of
cosmetics and manufacturing and distribution
of medical devices.

The Board of Pharmacy registers everyone
in the Commonwealth who prescribes con-
trolled substances, including physicians, veteri-
narians, and dentists. In addition, licenses are
issued to pharmacists and permits to pharma-
cies. The four pharmacies in the Common-
wealth that handle nuclear substances must
also adhere to specific requirements for stor-
ing and dispensing radioactive drugs and
meet the standards of the Federal Nuclear
Regulatory Commission. The Board also
issues permits to manufacturers and whole-
sale distributors of drugs, devices, and
cosmetics, and licenses to physicians (permit-

ted physicians), primarily in rural areas, who
may dispense and sell, as well as prescribe,
drugs. Special permits for the use of pento-
barbital sodium may be issued to humane
societies for euthanasia.

The number of regulated facilities or
individuals in FY 1980 is shown below:

Type of :
Category Regulation =~ Number
Pharmacists License 4,065
Pharmacies Permit 1,199
Permitted Physicians License 26
Manufacturers Permit 37
Wholesale Distributors Permit 74
Humane Societies Permit 42

Prescribers of
controlled substances

Registration 12,521

The Board also cooperates in drug law
enforcement with federal, State, and local
officials. In addition, the Board carries out
drug-related inspections for the Boards of
Veterinary Medicine and Dentistry when
requested to do so. Violations are reported by
pharmacy investigators to the appropriate
board for disciplinary action.

The Board consists of five licensed phar-
macists. Members serve  for five-year terms,
and they may serve two successive terms.
The Board must meet at least once each
year, but generally it averages about ten
meetings.

The provisions in the Code of Virginia
which govern the Board of Pharmacy are
Section 54-524.1 et seq.

REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

Licensure as a pharmacist in Virginia
may be granted to any applicant who
1. is at least 18 years of age;
2. is of good moral character;
3. is a graduate of a school of pharmacy
approved by the Board;



4. has passed the National Association of
Boards of Pharmacy Licensing Exami-
nation (NABPLEX); and

5. has completed a 1,000 hour, six-month
internship.

Applicants for permits and registrations
must show proof of licensure by appropriate
State regulatory boards.

Pharmacists and pharmacies which desire
to handle nuclear pharmaceuticals must meet
special requirements specified in Board regu-
lations. These include additional training,
recordkeeping, and facility requirements.

The Board-administered exam tests appli-
cants on pharmaceutical theory, practical
application, and pharmacy law. Applicants
must score at least 60 percent on the theory
section, 75 percent on the practical section,
and achieve an average of not less than 75
percent. The minimum score required on the
portion dealing with pharmacy law is 75
percent. No applicant may sit for the exami-
nation until the practical experience require-
ment has been met.

During the 1978-80 biennium, examina-
tions were administered by the Board to 339
people. Approximately 85 percent passed.

The Board has established reciprocal
agreements with all states represented in the
National Association of Boards of Pharmacy
except California, Florida, and Hawaii. To
qualify for reciprocity, applicants must be
licensed in the state where they were origi-
nally licensed by examination, have passed
the national examination with scores equiva-
lent to Virginia’s requirements, and have the
required practical experience. Qualified appli-
cants must pass the portion of the Board's
examination on pharmacy law and be inter-
viewed by the Board.

FEES AND EXPENDITURES

Licenses and permits are issued after
payment of the following applicable fees:

Initial Renewal
Gategory Fee Fee
Pharmacist ~ $200 $ 20
Pharmacy 75 75 .
Permitted Physician 75 75
Manufacturer 200 200
Wholesale Distributor 200 200
Humane Societies 15 15
Controlled Substances 20 20
Reciprocal Pharmacist 300 20

During FY 1980, the Board collected
revenues of $247,578 and was appropriated
$408,980. Expenses exceeded appropriations
by $9,187 as shown below.

FY 1979 FY 1980 Total
$227,975$247,578 $475,553

Appropriations 401,450 408,980 810,430

Revenues

Expenditures 374,609 418,167 792,776
Balance $ 26,841($ 9,187)$ 17,654

Source: Department of Health Regulatory
Boards Annual Reports,
FY 1979 and 1980.

ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Licenses and permits are renewed annu-
ally by December 31, and the Board of Phar-
macy has statutory authority to inspect facili-
ties that store, dispense, administer, or
manufacture drugs, cosmetics, and devices.
Eight pharmacy inspectors and three drug
auditors are employed to carry out this
responsibility. Inspectors are responsible for
inspecting all aspects of a facility including
drug records. When inaccurate records are
found, the auditors are required to make
detailed analyses of drug transactions. During
1981, the Board conducted 732 inspections
and 196 drug audits, exclusive of inspections

‘conducted for other boards.

During FY 1981, the Board received 103
complaints. Typically, complaints received by
the Board were for unauthorized dispensing
of drugs and misuse of drugs by licensees.
Of the 103 complaints received, 24 were
from citizens and 79 were initiated by the
Board or its staff.

Language in the Code and Board regula-
tions specify violations that are subject to
disciplinary action. Criminal violations are
subject to State and federal laws, ranging
from a misdemeanor to a felony.

The Board has the authority to repri-
mand, revoke, or suspend a license if the
licensee

e has been found to be negligent in the

practice of pharmacy, manufacturing, or
distributing;



e has been found incompetent to practice
because of physical or mental condi-
tions;

e is a habitual user of drugs or alcohol;

e has engaged in or attempted to defraud
or deceive the public or the Board in
his or her practice;

e has assisted or allowed unlicensed
persons to engage in dispensing pharma-
cy, manufacturing, or wholesaling; or

e has had federal registration to manufac-
ture, distribute, or dispense drugs
revoked or suspended.

Of the complaints investigated during FY
1981 against licensees, one resulted in a
suspension or revocation, eight license hold-
ers received monetary penalties, and 19 were
issued cease and desist orders.

AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Inspection of Drug Inventories and
Records

The Virginia Drug Control Act and
federal statutes require medical practitioners
with access to controlled substances to main-
tain accurate inventory and transaction
records. Regulations concerning the recording
of drug inventories and prescriptions by prac-
titioners have been promulgated by the
Boards of Dentistry and Veterinary Medicine,
and inspectors of the Department of Health
Regulatory Boards are required to review
these records during the regular inspection of
facilities. When drug-related violations are

found, they are reported to the Board of
Pharmacy.

The Board of Medicine, however, has not
promulgated such requirements for physicians
and no regular inspections of physicians’
offices are conducted. According to officials
of the Department of Health Regulatory
Boards, drug records of medical practitioners
are inspected only when complaints are
received or unusual patterns of prescribing
are detected during regular reviews of phar-
macy records. However, physicians have
access to the most dangerous of controlled
substances and often store samples of thera-
peutic dosages in their offices. , Such
substances should be properly labeled, inven-
toried, and dispensed.

In practice, routine drug-related inspec-
tions of facilities other than pharmacies
appear to be dependent upon the regulations
of the individual practitioner boards. The
Board of Medicine should promulgate regula-
tions regarding the inspection of drug
records, and inventories and inspections
should be conducted periodically by inspec-
tors of the Department of Health Regulatory
Boards. Any apparent violations noted should
be referred to the Board of Pharmacy so that
a more detailed audit can be conducted.
L]

This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.
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VIRGINIA BOARD OF VETERINARY

MEDICINE

A

Veterinarians diagnose diseases and
abnormalities and medically or surgically
treat all types of animals. Regulation is
intended to ensure that practitioners are
qualified and that facilities and drug use
are in accord with prescribed standards.

HISTORY AND SCOPE OF
REGULATION

The practice of veterinary medicine,
which is regulated in all 50 states and the
District of Columbia, was first regulated by
the State of Virginia in 1896. Veterinary
medicine was initially limited to the treat-
ment of livestock, but it now includes
domestic and wild animals as well. In 1977,
the State Board of Veterinary Examiners was
renamed the Board of Veterinary Medicine
and transferred from the Department of
Professional and Occupational Registration to
the Department of Health Regulatory Boards.
The purpose of the change was to bring all
health-related professions under one adminis-
trative agency.

The Board of Veterinary Medicine regu-
lates several groups of practitioners as well as
veterinary facilities.

Veterinarians are licensed by the Board
although practitioners themselves may
specialize in large or small animals or may
have a mixed practice. Large-animal practi-
tioners deal primarily with cattle, horses, and
othér livestock, while small-animal practition-
ers treat mostly domestic animals such as
dogs, cats, and birds.

In addition to licensing veterinarians, the
Board certifies animal technicians who work
under the direct supervision of a licensed
veterinarian but cannot perform surgery,

diagnose, or prescribe medication. Veterinary
or animal hospitals are registered, and the
Board issues a faculty recognition certificate
to a veternarian licensed in another state
who is employed by an institution of higher
learning and is involved in the instructional
program of veterinary medical students. This
certificate does not permit the holder to prac-
tice outside the institution of higher learn-
ing.
During 1981, there were 1,312 licensed
veterinarians, 293 certified animal techni-
cians, and 326 registered animal facilities.

Veterinarians must register with the
Virginia Board of Pharmacy and the Federal
Drug Enforcement Administration in order to
prescribe or stock certain controlled substan-
ces, and they must maintain adequate records
of drug transactions for audit purposes. Veter-
inarians using radiographic equipment must
also register this equipment with the State
Department of Health.

The Board consists of five licensed veteri-
narians appointed by the Governor for five -
year terms. No member can serve for more
than two successive terms. The Board
normally meets about six times each year.

The provisions in the Code of Virginia
which govern the Board of Veterinary Medi-
cine are Section 54-776 et seq.

REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPLICANTS

An applicant for licensure as a veterina-

rian must

1. be at least 18 years of age and of good
moral character;

2. have received a degree in veterinary
medicine from a college or university
approved by the Board,;

3. submit a national board score accepta-
ble to the Board; and

4. pass the State Board’s written examina-
tion.



Foreign students or graduates of non-ac-
credited schools must complete an American
Veterinary Medical Association internship
program.

To be certified as an animal technician,
an applicant must be at least 18 years of age
and of good moral character, and must have
completed high school or the equivalent and
have received a diploma in animal technol-
ogy from a school accredited by the national
association or another Board-approved school.
Applicants must also pass examinations by
both a national board and the State Board.

The State Board’s examination for veteri-
narians consists of two parts. The first part is
the national exam administered by the Board.
The second part is designed by the Board
and consists of practical, clinical, and phar-
maceutical sections, and also covers State
laws and regulations. The Board exam for
animal technicians requires them to view
slides to determine whether the care or treat-
ment shown is correct and to indicate the
correct treatment. It also includes a section
on State laws and regulations.

These exams are developed by the entire
Board and administered by Board members
according to established procedures. No two
examinations have identical questions.

The Board is presently entering into a
reciprocal agreement for veterinarians with
the State of Florida. An applicant who is
licensed and in good standing in another
state and has passed the National Board
examination must pass the Virginia Board’s
examination. Animal technicians licensed in
another state may have the national examina-
tion waived by the Board.

FEES AND EXPENDITURES

The Board of Veterinary Medicine
recently established the following fees:

Veterinarians
License $125
Biennial renewal 70
Animal Technicians
" Certification 50
Biennial renewal 30
Animal Facility
Registration 25
Annual renewal 25
Veterinary Faculty*
Recognition certificate 20

*One-time-only fee
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During the 1978-80 biennium, the Board
had revenues of $93,595. Expenditures
exceeded appropriations by $2,674. During
most biennia the Board has shown slight
overexpenditures.

FY 1979 FY 1980 Total

Revenues $69,607 $23,988 $93,595

Appropriations 30,800 33,605 64,405
Expenditures 30,566 36,513 67,079

Balance $ 234 ($ 2,908)($ 2,674)

Source: Department of Health Regulatory
Boards Annual Reports, FY 1979
and FY 1980.

m

ENSURING CONTINUED
COMPETENCY

Veterinarians and animal technicians
renew licenses and certificates on March 1 of
odd-numbered years. Animal facility registra-
tions are renewed each year by March 1.

Each new animal facility must be
inspected before being registered. Periodic
inspections are conducted by the Department
of Health Regulatory Boards to ensure that
licensees are in compliance with the follow-
ing standards:

1. Buildings and grounds are constructed

to provide adequate sanitary facilities.

2. The facility has adequate heating,
lighting, and ventilation.

3. The facility has provisions for hot and
cold running water from an approved
water source and for sanitary storage
and disposal of waste.

4. Examination rooms are clean, orderly,
and well lighted, and all instruments
are sanitized after each use.

5. All surgery is performed in a room
reserved for that purpose and in a
manner compatible with current veter-
inary medical practice with regard to
anesthesia, asepsis, life support, and
recovery care.

6. Sterilization equipment includes a
steam pressure sterilizer.

7. All controlled substances are main-
tained, administered, dispensed and



prescribed in compliance with Board
of Pharmacy regulations (Drug Control
Act) and regulations of the Board of
Veterinary Medicine.

8. Radiographs are generated in a manner
to prevent over-exposure and mishan-
dling.

In 1981, 125 inspections were conducted.
Although records are not kept on the types
of violations found, the Board administrator
has stated that the major one was improper
recordkeeping for controlled substances.
Department of Health Regulatory Boards
investigators follow up on reported errors in
records or suspected abuse of controlled
substances.

Since 1977, there have been 148 com-
plaints against veterinarians. Most complaints
are made by consumers and involve unpro-
fessional conduct. Investigations of complaints
against licensees are carried out by the
department’s compliance section.

The Board has the authority to suspend,
revoke, or refuse to approve or renew
licenses if the licensee

e has given false or fraudulent informa-
tion;

e has been convicted of a felony relating
to controlled substances;

e is a habitual user of drugs or intoxi-
cants;

e allows unlicensed persons to practice
veterinary medicine or to administer
controlled substances;

e practices in such a manner as to endan-
ger the health and welfare of patients
or the public;

e has had a license to practice in another
state revoked or suspended.

Since 1979, the Board has taken 29 disci-
plinary actions. During FY 1981, seven mone-
tary penalties were levied, six cease and
desist orders were issued, and three licenses
were revoked, suspended, or put on proba-
tion.

AREAS OF SPECIAL
LEGISLATIVE INTEREST

Inspection of Animal Facilities

Inspections of animal facilities were initi-
ated by the Board in FY 1979 and are
carried out by the enforcement staff of the
Department of Health Regulatory Boards. In
1981, the Board adopted new procedures for
inspections which require three days' advance
notice when possible to the owner or opera-
tor. Department inspectors raised concerns
about the requirements because they felt that
prior notice makes inspection meaningless by
allowing the licensee to correct deficiencies.
Other boards do not require prior notice to
the practitioners.

Board members appear to support the
advance notice primarily to ensure that the
licensee will be present during the inspec-
tion, that mobile units will be available for
inspection, and that the surgery suite will
not be in use. They feel that if the licensee
is not present, inspectors will have to make
a time-consuming and costly revisit and will
not be able to do a complete facility inspec-
tion. Inspectors, however, are trained to
conduct independent assessments, and their
normal procedure is to notify the licensee of
violations and to follow up to ensure that
corrections have been made.

Since many of the facility standards
relate to health and safety provisions, unan-
nounced visits would appear to present a
more reliable indication of a facility’s condi-
tions. The Board should reassess the purpose
of the inspections and the need for a licen-
see’s presence. Unannounced visits could be
conducted with adequate provision for a
follow-up consultation with the licensee.
L]
This report is one in a series which reviews
the occupational and regulatory boards in
Virginia. The study has been conducted by
the Joint Legislative Audit and Review
Commission, 910 Capitol Street, Suite 1100,
Richmond, Virginia 23219.
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Appendix

Agency Responses

As part of an extensive data validation process, each
State agency involved in JLARC's review and evaluation
efforts is given the opportunity to comment on an
exposure draft of the report.

Appropriate corrections resulting from the written
comments received from the administrative agencies and
the chairpersons of each board have been made in the
final report.

State Department of Commerce. . . . . ... ... ... ... .. .... 161
State Department of Health Regulatory Boards . . . . . . . .. 163
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COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA

RUTH J. HERRINK
Director

Mr. Ray D. Pethtel

Department of Commerce
2 SOUTH NINTH STREET, RICHMOND, VIRGINIA 23219

January 5, 1982

Joint Legislative Audit and

Review Commission

Commonwealth of Virginia
1100 General Assembly Building

910 Capitol Street
Richmond, Virginia

Dear Ray:

This office has
fessional Regulation

23219

reviewed the exposure draft entitled Occupational and Pro-
in Virginia submitted by your staff.

As you know, we
inaccuracies. Given
you have made a fair
ment of Commerce.

suggested changes to the first draft to correct certain
the scope and complexity of the material covered, I feel
representation of the facts as they pertain to the Depart-

Careful consideration will be given by this Department to recommendations of

the Commission.

Sincerely,

o

/&ab. el —
Ruth? J. Herrink
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J.B. CARSON

- DIRECTOR

COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA

Department of Health Regulatory Boards
Virginia Commission of Health Regulatory Boards &uriss crews.oos

R.W. MINNICH , ; y OPTOMETRY

ASSISTANT DIRECTOR Seaboard Building, Suite 453 JAMES % PRINCE. O D

COMMISSION MEMBERS 3600 West Broad Street FUNERAL DIRETTORS & EMBALMERS
,  FROM THE BOARDS BEN f CAVIDSON

PHARMACY

WALLACE S. KLEIN, JR.

CHAIRMAN
NURSING

ROSE MARIE CHIONI, R.N., Ph.D.
VICE CHAIRMAN

MEDICINE

Richmond, Virginia 23230 VETERINARY MEDICINE
(804) 257—0345 HERBERT W KELLY. DV.M

PUBLIC MEMBERS
AT LARGE

January 6, 1982 RUTH E SUSE. Ph D

ANN G GERHARDY

GEORGE J. CARROLL. M.D.

CAROLYN L MOSBY
LOUISE O'C LUCAS
Mr. Ray D. Pethtel
Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission
Suite 1100, 910 Capitol Street
Richmond, VA 23219

Dear Ray:

I am writing to advise that this department has received, and has
responded to, the Joint Legislative Audit and Review Commission's report
on Occupational and Professional Regulation by Boards in Virginia. I
wish you to know that I felt that the document appeared to be well
prepared and presented an objective review and analysis of the boards
within this department.

I feel it is also important for you to know that the JLARC staff
members, who consulted and interviewed with my staff members, presented
themselves well, were courteous and understanding, and made a very
conscientious effort not to cause an imposition to my staff members.

I shall look forward to seeing you at the JLARC meeting on Monday,
January 11.

Best wishes.

Sincerely,

JaCK B. Carson
Director-

JBC:RWM/dp
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