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EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 

The study, mandated by the General Assembly as part of its consideration 

of Item 422 in the budget bill for FY's 83 and 84, provides an overall review 

of experience in other states in application of fees to hazardous waste 

programs. Increased resource requirements are identified for the hazardous 

waste management program to undertake a full permitting program, facility 

inspect ion with a 1-4 year frequency, emergency response and program 

administration. Current staffing, responsibilities and program tasks are 

reviewed. 

Issues that have been identified with regards to fee systems are the 

impact on enforcement, equity of fee distribution, setting fees by level of 

service, full vs. partial funding, declining federal program funding, and 

inaccuracy of revenue projections because of waste projection errors. All of 

these considerations are used in the evaluation of fees and will be essential 

modifiers in the final rate setting for any fee system authorized. The fees 

proposed would be for permitting, monitoring and surveillance and hazardous 

waste response. 

The report concludes that a fee system for funding a portion of the 

hazardous waste management program is possible and can be implemented by July 

1, 1984, that legislative authority is required, and that additional general 

fund appropriations are required for FY 1983-84 with increased full time 

employee requirements of 10 positions in FY 1983-84 and 6 positions in FY 

1984-85. 

The report proposes an implementation schedule, with the initial fee 

collections scheduled for July 1984, a report to the 1985 General Assembly and 

annual review of fee schedules in April-May, 1985 and every year thereafter. 



The report recommends: 

o Amendment to Title 32.1, Section 32.1-178 authorizing the Board of

Health to assess fees o n  generators, transporters and treatm ent/

storage/disposal facility operators for the financing of the

hazardous waste management program.

o Continued general fund ap propriation.

o Authorization of 10 positions for the perm itting program with

f u nding from the general fund, the special fund based on fee

collections and EPA federal funds appropriated for future years.

o Bo ard of Health adoption of regulations and fee schedule to be

effective by July 1984.

o Increased general fund authorization of $221,700 for FY 1983-84 to

initiate and fund the permitting program to allow for implementation

of a fee system in the FY 1984-85.

o Implementation of funding for the hazardous waste management program

by the funding alternative of general fund appropriations and

special fees with EPA matching grants.



FUNDI�G REQUIREMENTS FOR HAZARDOUS WASTE MA!.�AGEMENT 

I. INTRODUCTION

The Department of Health is assigned the responsibility to supervise and

manage the hazardous waste program for the Commonwealth of Virginia as set 

forth in Title 32.1, Section 32.1-177 et al, Code of Virginia (1950) as 

amended. The program has been designed to be consistent with the federal 

Resource Conservation and Recovery Act program and has been developed with 

limited state resources supplemented by EPA grant funds earmarked for program 

development. During the 1982 session of the General Assembly, a request for 

funding of additional positions for the program was not approved but a study 

was directed to explore the feasibility of establishing a fee recovery system 

which would defray expenses for part or all of the Hazardous Waste Management 

program through fees paid by those benefitting from the service. 

II. AUTHORITY 

The General Assembly of 1982 amended Item 422 of the Appropriations Act 

for Land Management ·to require the Com�issioner of Health to conduct and 

submit a study of hazardous waste fees for part or all of the Hazardous Waste 

Management program. The amendment reads as follows: 

"The Commissioner shall develop a plan and prepare legislation to 

fund all or part of the hazardous waste management program through 

special fees and charges. The Commissioner shall submit his report 

to the 1983 General Assembly for consideration." 
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III. SCOPE OF STUDY

The Study examined hazardous waste management program requirements,

funding alternatives, fee schedules, and experience in other states. The 

study provides a means for alternate funding. The fee schedule study is not 

applied to solid waste a ct i v ities a s  these pr imar ily in vol ve local 

governmental entities. 

IV. PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS

The hazardous waste management program as established in Section 32.1-177

� seq., of the Code of Virginia, provides for the following Board of Heal th 

duties and responsibilities in hazardous waste management: 

o Provide general supervision a nd contr ol of hazardous wast e

management activities in the Commonwealth;

o Provide technical assistance and advice concerning all aspects of

hazardous waste management�

o Collect data and information on identification of and amounts of

waste generated, transported, stored, treated or disposed of or

recovered;

o Require persons who generate, collect, transport, store or provide

treatment or disposal to maintain records, manifests and report;

o Designate hazardous wastes;

o Consult and coordinate with other State/Federal agencies;

o Apply for federal funds available to support the program;

o Promulgate regulations to carry out intent of statute and the

Federal Acts;

o Permit transport, storage, treatment or disposal of tazardous

wastes;

2 



o Collect fees for perpetual custody and maintenance of hazardous

waste management facilities;

o Develop and p r omulgate hazar dous mater ial s transportation

regulations.

These duties and responsibilities require a program with the following 

functions: 

Program Administration - Supervision of program; planning; clerical 

suppor t; devel opment of reg u lati ons; pr ocessing of repo r t s, 

not if icat ions, permits, and correspondence; EPA grant administration; 

scheduling; public participation; and contract administration. 

Surveillance - Surveillance of hazardous waste generation, treatment, 

storage, disposal and transportation including inspection of facilities, 

reports, records, waste sampling and analysis, and investigation of 

complaints or program irregularities. 

Enforcement - Initiation of legal actions to insure compliance; 

litigation; site and operational investigations; coor dination with law 

enforcement agencies and prosecutors; chemical analyses; and public 

notice. 

Tech nical Assi stance - Development and maintenance of technical 

resources; assistance to regulated community in disposal requirements; 

identification of hazardous wastes; acquisition of consultant services on 

unique situations; coordination with other agencies; and guidance or 

information to local government or the public. 
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Field Investigation - Investigation of complaints; illegal disposal 

operations, dump sites, spills and other releases of hazardo�s waste. 

Hazardous Waste Response - Assistance to other agencies in response to 

hazardous materials and hazardous waste emergencies; disposal guidance 

for response actions; coordination of site cleanup actions; laboratory 

support; coordination of technical assistance or study assistance with 

other agencies; and support of enforcement actions arising from response. 

Hazardous Materials Transportation - Technical expertise to implement and 

maintain current hazardous materials transportation regulations and 

assistance in the law enforcement agency implementation of regulations 

through technical assistance, training and response. 

Hazardous Waste Permitting - Development and coordination of permits on 

all exi sting and new hazardo u s  w aste management facilities and 

transporters, including public participation on all proposed permits; 

establishment of technical and administrative conditions for each 

specific permit; preparation of final permits and reissuance of permits 

in accordance with Federal/State regulatory requirements; detailed 

technical assessment of permit application, facility operation and 

facility site; coordination with other Federal/State agencies on permit 

review and approval and coordination with other permits. 

Superfund Site Coordination - Evaluation of abandoned sites for potential 

Superfund cleanup or response; coordination of superfund activities by 

other state agencies and with the EPA Superfund program; coordination of 

public participation activities associated with site evaluation and 

remedial actions. 
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V. EXISTING HAZARDOUS WASTE PROGRAM RESOURCES

The Department of Health has implemented the hazardous waste management 

program by the establishment of the Bureau of Hazardous Waste Management in 

the Division of Solid and Hazardous Waste Management. The Bureau is staffed 

as follows: 

Bureau of Hazardous Waste 

Administration 
Bureau Director 

Secretary 
Clerk 
Clerk 

Technical Assistance 
Technical Services Chief 

Envircnmentalist 

Surveillance 
Public Health Engineer 
Public Health Engineer 
Public Health Engineer 
Solid Waste Consultant 

Enforcement 
Assistant Attorney General 1l_

Hazardous Waste Response 
Biologist 

Chemist 
Chemist 

1/ Assigned by the Attorney General for program support. 

Funding for the hazardous waste management program as part of Land 
Management in Item 422 is indicated in Table 1. 
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TABLE 1 

CURRENT HAZARDOUS WASTE FUNDING AUTHORIZATION 

FY 82/83 FY 83/84 

Total Personal Services $ 288,900 $ 296,400 
FTE 13 13 

Supplies 800 900 
Contractural Services 290,010 523,500 
Continuous Charges 1,600 1,900 
Indirect Costs 36,690 37,600 

Total 618,000 860,300 

General Fund 170,000 205,300 

Federal Contribution $ 448,000 $ 655,000}) 

Total $618,000 $ 860,300 

J:./ Based on reauthorization and funding of RCRA at original planned levels 
but 1$ expected to be �educed to $448,000 based upon a 20% reduction in the 
current year grant. 

VI. FULL HAZARDOUS WASTE PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS

If the Department of Health is to achieve full program approval by EPA,

it must implement a hazardous waste management program consistent with 

requirements of the Federal Act and provide the necessary level of support to 

perform the duties and functions ·assigned the Board of Health. Therefore, an 

increase of 16 full-time employees in the Division of Solid and Hazardous 

Waste Management will be required. Of the 16 positions, 10 will be required 

for the permitting of hazardous waste treatment, storage, disposal and 

transportation as illustrated in Table 2. The assumption is that permitting 

will be achieved for all existing and new facilities in a period of 7 to 10 

years. Since permits will be issued on a 10-year basis, the cycle wou ld be 

repeated. An additional three inspectors are required based upon the 

inspection of generators every four years, the inspection of transporters 

6 



TABLE 2 

HAZARDOUS WASTE PERMITTING 
MANYEAR REQUIREMENTS 

EPA MANPOWER ESTIMATES VIRGINIA MANPOWER ESTIMATES 
II IN VA. NUMBER UNIT MAN-DAYS UNIT NUMBER MAN-DAYS 

FY 82 FY84 FY85 FY86 PRICE FY84 FY85 FY86 PRICE FY84 FY85 FY86 FY84 FY85 FY86 

Process Part A Applications 237 5 5 5 0.1 0.1 5 5 5 

Process Part B Permit Applications 237 24 34 35 20 480 680 700 20 27 32 33 540 640 660 

Tech Evaluation: 

Land Disposal 4 2 2 152 304 304 152 2 1 1 304 304 304 
Off-Site Treatment/Disposal 4 1 l l 138 138 138 138 138 l l l 138 138 138 
On-Site Treatment/Disposal 20 1 3 5 73 73 219 365 73 l 2 3 73 146 219 
Off-Site Storage 10 4 3 2 29 ll6 87 58 29 3 3 3 87 87 87 
On-Site Storage 199 16 20 22 29 464 580 638 29 20 20 20 588 588 588 
New Facility 5 5 61 305 305 61 5 5 305 305 

Issuance: 

Land Disposal 4 2 2 44 88 88 44 I 1 2 44 44 88 

Off-Site Treatment/Disposal 4 l l 40 40 40 40 l 1 40 40 
On-Site Treatment/Disposal 20 l 3 20 20 60 20 1 2 20 40 
Off-Site Storage 10 4 3 2 5 20 15 10 5 3 3 3 15 15 15 
On-Site Storage 199 16 20 22 5 80 100 IIO 5 20 20 20 100 100 100 
New Facility 5 5 15 75 75 15 5 5 75 75 

Appeals: 10 15 17 20 200 300 340 20 10 15 200 200 300 

Total Man-Days 1963 2871 2799 2089 2702 2959 

Total Man-Years (needed) 7.6 ll.O 10.8 8.1 10.4 ll .4 
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TABLE 3 

HAZARDOUS WASTE MANAGEMENT 
ANNUAL INSPECTION SCHEDULE 

T ANNUAL NOTICE OF COMPLIANCE SAMPLING REPORTS T 
0 INSPECT VIOLATION LETTERS INSPECTIONS PROCESSING 0 

T T 
A II PRICE W-D II PRICE W-D II PRICE W-D II PRICE W-D D PRICE W-D A 
L L 

GENERATORS 893 223 2 446 45 0.5 22 9 2.5 22 4 9 36 893 0.25 223 749 49.5 
TRANSPORTERS 175 35 l 35 7 0.5 3 l 2.5 2 - 175 0.25 44 84 5.6 
MAJOR TSD 28 28 4 112 6 0.5 3 1 2.5 3 1 20 20 28 0.25 7 145 9.6 
MINOR TSD 209 105 4 420 21 0.5 11 4 2.5 10 2 20 40 209 0.25 52 533 35.3 
COURTS (0.7 M-Y (1 CIVIL CASE AT 0.5)

(1 CRIMINAL CASE AT 0.2)] 
1,305 

TOTAL MAN-DAYS 1013 39 37 96 326 1511 

TOTAL MAN-YEARS 3.9 0.15 0.14 0.37 1.25 5.8 + 0.7 



every five years, the inspection of major treatment, storage, and disposal 

facilities annually, and the inspection of minor treatment, storage and 

disposal facilities biennially. The requirements for inspection of existing 

facilities are shown in Table 3. One position each would be assi gned to 

superfund coordination, dump site investigations and hazardous waste response. 

VII. PROGRAM FUNDING ALTERNATIVES

The funding alternatives available for the full program are: 

a. General Fund appropriation with EPA matching grants;

b. General Fund appropriation and a special fund fee system with EPA

matching grants;

c .  Partial General Fund with balance by special fund fee system;

d. Full appropriation from the General Fund;

e. Special Fund Fee System.

Alternative "a" is the present funding arrangement with E•A providing 

matching funds up to .7 5% of program total. For the FY 1983 period, EPA has 

reduced its funding by 20% with the EPA policy stated as supporting continued 

reduction of grant funds. EPA funds, therefore, cannot be relied upon to 

support State Funds for full program implementation as described in Section 

VI. 

Alternative "b" is the funding method now employed to varying degrees in 

twenty states with user fees generating revenues from two percent of a state's 

matching share up to 100 percent of a state's matching share. Partial funding 

through user fees for those actual costs associated with a specific user 

service appears to offer an equitable fee distribution. Only three states now 

have user fees funding 100 percent of the state's matching funds. Even there, 
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the fees collected are insufficient, so that these states are still dependent 

upon substantial RCRA federal funding for the total program. Alternative "b" 

represents the most frequent and effective funding mechanism. 

Alternative "c" is an available alternative best considered when federal 

grant funds for program development are no longer available. At that time, 

any established user fee system would provide the means for implementing such 

an alternative, but established fees would have to be increased substantially. 

Alternative "d" represents the greatest expense to the general fund. It 

places the least burden on generators of hazardous waste and on those who 

transport, treat, store or dispose. The fear expressed in many states was 

that fees can undermine enforcement by encouraging midnight dumping through 

added operational costs, particularly with the less capitalized facilities. 

Alternative "�"- places the full burden for funding the program on 

hazardous waste generators, treaters, starers, disposers and transporters. 

Adoption of Alternative "e" should be taken only with the recognition of the 

fact that a full fee system will cause many facili�ies to find means of 

exemption from application of hazardous waste regulations, thus avoiding 

payment of fees. Since surveillance and enforcement activities would continue 

at the same level, the full program burden would be borne by a limited group 

of users. Under such a system, user fees for full program funding could 

become an impediment to industrial growth or new development where hazardous 

wastes might become involved. Overhead costs for fee collection and fund 

management would represent a higher percentage of total program costs. 
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VIII. SURVEY OF STATE FEE SYSTEMS

Attached as Appendix B are tables taken from EPA contractor surveys 

summarizing the status of fee initiatives in the various states, the reported 

revenues generated through state fees, the types of hazardous waste management 

program fees currently implemented, the facility fee criteria, the transporter 

fee criteria, and the generator fee criteria. 

Twenty states have established some form of fee system with only three 

recovering 100 percent of the state's matching funds. No state provides for 

full funding by fees but continues to rely in part upon EPA RCRA grant funds. 

An additional six states a-re establishing, or have under development, a fee 

system. Only seventeen states do not have a fee system or are not evaluating 

the possibility of establishing some form of fees for service. 

Of the twenty states with fee systems, eighteen apply them to permitting, 

twelve apply them to permit renewal or annual fees on permitted facilities, 

four have surveillance fees, and fourteen apply fees to transporters of 

hazardous waste. Of the eighteen states with permit fees, twelve implement 

them as base fees with various combinations of size, management type, 

technology, volume or commercial status considered in the overall permit fee. 

Fourteen states have a fee on transporters. This includes five states 

with per vehicle charges only, four with base fee charges, four with both per 

vehicle and base fees combined. Tennessee charges according to the quantity 

transported. 
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Of only four states making charges on generators, three charge generators 

tipping fees or fees for off-site disposal. Only one state, Kentucky, charges 

all generators a fee based on the quantity generated, rather t han quantity 

disposed. 

Most fees in other states are directly related to specific services, such 

as permit application. 

To better illustrate the variations in fees, summary sheets for fee 

systems in West Virginia, Tennessee and Maryland are included in Appendix C. 

The Tennessee system establishes permit fees and annual maintenance fees. 

West Virginia uses lesser levels of fees for permits, permit renewals and 

annual maintenance fees. The Maryland fees are for permit application and 

annual operation. With the Maryland summary is a Facility Permit Fee 

Assessment work sheet. from which annual fees are developed. Not only does the 

permit fee include a service fee but adds an environmental fee, a contingency 

fee and a program development fee. 

Appendix D, also taken from the EPA survey report, provides several case 

studies of states undertaking fee recovery and provides more detailed program 

highlights. 

IX. EVALUATION OF FEES

The assessment of fees for the support of hazardous waste management

programs is becoming an increasingly popular mechanism for the equitable 

distribution of the costs of state services. Those persons deriving the 

greatest benefit from the service pay the highest proportion of t�e costs. 

The most common fees considered are: 

o Facility Fees (Permits)
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o Generator Fees

o Transporter Fees

o Annual Operating Fees

As previously discussed, combinations of fee types are the most common 

fee systems in place . For an equitable distribution of fees according to 

services rendered, fees for permits, which require the more extensive and 

technical services, would be the highest. Total fees charged would range 

from $6,000 for storage permits to $26,000 for land disposal permits to 

provide the state match for federal RCRA grants, assuming a 50/50 match ratio 

in FY 1984. Table 4 illustrates the current numbers of units for which permit 

fees in Virginia would be forecasted. 

TABLE 4 

HAZARDOUS WA STE FEE UNITS 

Type 

Generators 

Transporters 

Major Treatment/Storage/Disposal 

Other Treatment/Storage/Disposal 

Number 

893 

175 

28 

209 

The facilities indicated in Tabl e 4 would be permitted at the rate 

indicated in Table 2. Based on the manpower costs associated with the 

permitting program full recovery of total state expenditures would require 

fees with unit costs as follows: 
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Type Permit 

Land Disposal Permit 

Off-Site Treatment/Disposal Permit 

On-Site Treatment/Disposal Permit 

Off-Site Storage Permit 

On-Site Storage Permit 

New Facility Permit 

Transporter Permit 

Unit Cost 

$ 26,000 

$ 22,000 

$ 18,000 

$ 6,000 

$ 6,000 

$ 10,000 

$ 100 

For monitoring and surveillance fees to be equitable, consideration must 

be given to the complexity of inspections, the size of the facility or 

operation inspected, and the support costs of inspections such as laboratory 

analysis, program development, administration, and indirect costs. Total 

annual fees would:be at the following levels: 

Unit of Monitoring 

Generators 

Transporters 

Major Treatment/Storage/Disposal 

Other Treatment/Storage/Disposal 

Total Unit Cost 

$ 

$ 

300 

250 

$ 1,100 

$ 600 

This system would not provide funding for response to hazardous waste 

emergencies or for response to illegal dumps. The only fee system logically 

available for this type of response requirement would be an added annual fee 

for transporters apportioned by volume of material transported and for 

generators apportioned by hazardous waste volumes generated. For an estimated 

initial requirement of $100,000 per year for these activities, the average 

annual fee would be $150 for transporters and $90 per generator. Since at 
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least one previous illegal dump in the state resulted from an out-of-state 

source, the true burden is not necessarily borne equitably. Transporters 

moving through the state would not pay, yet might contribute to a release. 

However, there are no other means available for providing funds for this type 

of response, which is an essential service to protect the health and welfare 

of the people of the Commonwealth. 

The size  of all the fees collected to cover State expenses depends 

greatly on the level of the federal support for the program. Based on the 

recent trends, the level of the federal grants is expected to decrease 

gradually and eventually will be discontinued. The uncertainties associated 

with the federal funding require that the fees be reevaluated annually to 

assume the shortfall created by the reductions. Eventually, the fee system 

will have to assume a greater share full program costs based on discontinuance 

of Federal funding. 

Some states have indicated that imposition of fees has the potential for 

encourag ing migration of wastes to a neighboring nonfee state causing an 

increased funding burden for remaining facilities. There is  the fear also 

that fees on smaller generators and less capitalized facilities may cause some 

closures or increased midnight dumping. This has not been documented in 

states with some fee structures. The neighboring states of Maryland, West 

Virginia, Kentucky and Tennessee have some form of fee structure as shown in 

Appendix C. 

One area of concern exists in imposition of the type fees outlined. To 

be effective, accurate revenue projections are essential where full program 

funding is expected. With partial funding from the general fund, over­

estimation of revenues based upon inaccurate waste generation estimates would 
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have a less severe impact. Possible errors in projecting revenue can result 

if: 

o Wastes are disposed at out-of-state facilities

o Permit applications are withdrawn by applying resource recovery

exemptions

o Storage is discontinued because of a change in shipping policies

o Hazardous waste are delisted

o Fees are not paid

o Annual report data is inaccurate.

It will take one to three years of experience on a new fee recovery 

system to develop an accurate data base. Using the projected unit costs for 

each fee system element described, the total revenues achievable are estimated 

in Table 5 for FY 83/84 using the projected work units of Table 2. This does 

not envision full coverage of program support by fees alone. 

X. PLAN FOR IMPLEMENTATION

Implementation of a fee recovery system for hazardous waste management

could be initiated in FY 84/85; it would require legislative authorization 

through an amendment to Section 32.1-178, Code of Virginia. The Board of 

Health would develop a detailed fee schedule and adopt it as a regulation. An 

annual review of the fee structure, a determination of its appropriateness and 

an evaluation of the whether the of financial burdens are distributed 

equitably would be the basis for future adjustments of the fee system. The 

proposed schedule for implementation is as follows: 

a. Amendment of Section 32.1-178 by General Assembly during the 1983

session.
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On-Site Treatment/Disposal 
Off-Site Treatment/Disposal 
On-Site Storage 
Pff-Site Storage 
Generator 
Transporter 

Total 

TABLE 5 
TOTAL FEE REVENUES 

HAZARDOUS WASTE MANAGEMENT 
FY 83/84 

Permit Monitoring 
Number Fees Number 

1 $ 18,000 28 .!L $ 
3 66,000 

110 y_4 24,000 
16 96,000 

893 224 
175 17,500 50 

$221,500 

Fees 
Fees 

30,800 

66,000 

67,200 
12,500 

176,500 

1/ Major treatment, storage, disposal facilities inspected per year 
2/ All other treatment, storage, disposal facilities inspected per year 

17 

Response 
Fees 

$ 

80,370 
26,250 

$106,620 

$ 

$ 

Total 

48,800 
66,000 
90,000 
96,000 

147,570 
56,250 

504,620 



b. Draft regulations and fee schedule presented to Board of Health, June

1983.

c. Public Hearing on proposed regulation and fee schedule, Septem ber

1983.

d. Promulgation of regulation and of fee schedule, November 1983.

e. Legislative review of regulation and fee schedule for 90 day period,

December 1983-March 1, 1984.

f. Notification of hazardous waste generators, transporters, treaters,

storers, and disposers of assessed fees, May 1984.

g. Effective date of regulations and collection of initial fees, July 1,

1984.

h. Report on ini tial fee collections to 1985 session of the General

Assembly with annual reports thereafter.

i. Public hearings -by Board of Health on proposed new fee schedules in

April 1985 and every year thereafter.

j. Notification of revised assessed fees in May 1985 and every year

thereafter.

XI. CONCLUSIONS

Implementation of a fee system for funding a portion of the hazardous

waste management program is a feasible alternative that can be implemented by 

July 1, 1984. Legislative authority for collection of hazardous waste 

management fees will be required before the system can be implemented. 

The program requires the addition of 10 positions in FY 1983-84 and 6 

positions in FY 1984-85 for a total program level of 29 positions in hazardous 

waste management. 
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The experience in other states supports the use of fees for partial 

funding of program requirements. The funding alternatives of general fund 

appropriation and a special fund fee system with EP A matching grnts was found 

�o be the most effective funding mechanism and the means most frequently used 

in all other states. 

The following  Table 6 indicates the  general fund appropriation 

requirements for initiating a permitting program in FY 83-84 as compared with 

current authorization since implementation of a fee system will not be 

possible before the FY 1984-85. 

TABLE 6 

LAND MANAGEMENT PROGRAM (503) 
Solid Waste Disposal Regulation (5030800) 

Cost Code: Current 
Hazardous Waste Management Authorized Requested 
(503 0800 655) 1983-84 1983-84 

1100 Personal Services $ 296,400 $ 511,200 
Authorized Empl.oyment-FTE 13 23 

1200 Contractual Services 316,500 316,500 
1300 Supplies and Materials 900 900 
1400 Transfer Payments 
1500 Continuous Charges 1,900 1,900 
2200 Equipment 
8700 Indirect Costs 32,668 64,900 

Total Operating Expense $ 653,300 $ 875,000 
General Fund 205,300 427,000 
Non-General Fund 448,000 448,000 

Special 
Federal Trust 448,000 448,000 
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Increase 
1983-84 

$ 214,800 
10 

81,800 

$ 221,700 
221,700 



XII. RECOMMENDATIONS

The following actions are recommended to initiate the implementation plan 

for hazardous waste fees: 

a. Provide legislative authorization of the Board of Health to assess 

fees on generators, transporters and treatment/storage/disposal 

facility operators for financing of the hazardous waste management by 

amendment of Section 32.1-178, Code of Virginia (1950), as amended, 

as proposed in Appendix A to this report. 

b. Continue general fund appropriations for hazardous waste management

for the Fiscal Year 1983-1984, authorize an additional 10 positions

for initiation of a full permit program, increase general fund

appropriation by $221,700for 1983-1984 only, creat a special fund to 

be replenis.hed in later fiscal years by fee collections and continue

supplementation with EPA.federal trust grants appropriated in future

years. The detailed budget is shown in Table 7.
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TABLE 7 

LAND MANAGEMENT PROGRAM (503) 
Solid Waste Disposal Regulation (5030800) 

APPROPRIATIONS 

Cost Code: CURRENT REQUESTED 
Hazardous Waste Management 
(503 0800 655) 1982-83 1983-84 1984-85 

llOO Personal Services $ 288,900 $ 5ll ,200 $ 644,500 
Authorized Employment-FTE 13 23 29 

1200 Contractual Services 284,032 316,500 223,000 
1300 Supplies and Materials 800 900 1,200 
1400 Transfer Payments 
1500 Continuous Charges 1,600 1,900 2,100 
2200 Equipment 
8700 Indirect Costs 32,668 44,500 81,800 

Total Operating Expense $ 618,000 $ 875,000 $ 952,600 
General Fund 170,000 427,000 205,300 
Non-General Fund 448,000 448,000 952,600 

Special 299,300 
Federal Trust 448,000 448,000 448,000 

REMARKS: Federal trust funding is assumed to remain level. 
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APPENDIX A 



PROPOSED LEGISLATION 

§32.1-178. Power and duties of Board.-A

15. CoZZect, from any person operati ng or proposing to operate a hazardous
waste treatment storage, or dispcsaZ faciZity or any person transporting
haza:t>dous waste, fees sufficient to finance the issue of permits as
required in §32.1-180.

16. CoZZect, from any person generating hazardous waste not exempted by
§32.1-180 or any person operating hazardous waste treatment, storage or
disposaZ facilities or any person trcrnsporti ng hazardous wastes, fees
sufficient to finance the responsibilities of the Board for surJeiZZance,
monitoring and general supervision and control of hazardous waste management
activities and laboratory support. Such fees shalZ be adjusted by the Boa::rd
annuaZZy to reflect the most current cost basis for the hazardous waste
management program.

B. All fees received by the Board pursuant to paragraph A 14 of this
Section shall be used exclusively to satisfy the responsibilities assumed
by the Board for the perpetual custody and maintenance of hazardous waste
management facilities. All fees received by the Board pursuant to paragraphs
A 15 and 16 are hereby appropriated for the hazardous waste management­
program as set forth herein.
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RELATIVE STATE PROGRAM SIZE 

Size* 
State Catesor:t: 

Alabama D 
Alaska C 
America Somoa A 
Arizona C 
Arkansas B 

California E 
Colorado C 
Connecticut C 
Delaware A 
District of Columbia A 
Florida D 
Georgia D 
Guam A 

Hawaii A 
Idaho B 

Illinois E 
Indiana D 
Iowa C 
Kansas C 
Kentucky D 
Louisiana D 
Maine A 

Maryland C 
Massachusetts D 
Michigan E 

Minnesota C 
Mississippi B 

Missouri C 

*Based on grant formula 40 CFR 35.706(a)

40% - relative population 

State 

Montana 
Nebraska 
Nevada 
New Hampshire 
New Jers·ey 
New Mexico 
New York 
Northern Marianas 
North Carolina 
North Dakota 
Ohio 
Oklahoma 
Oregon 
Pennsylvania 
Puerto Rico 
Rhode Island 
South Carolina 
South Dakota 
Tennessee 
Texas 
Utah 
Vermont 
Virginia 
Virgin Islands 
Washington 
West Virginia 
Wisconsin 
Wyoming 

40% - relative amounts of hazardous waste generated 
15% - relative number of generators 
5% - relative land area 

Programs range from A (the smallest) to E (the largest) 

Source: ORIA, EPA - April 1980 
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Size* 
Categor:t: 

B 

A 

A 
A 
D 
A 

E 
A 

D 
A 
E 
C 
C 
E 
B 

B 

C 
A 

D 
E 

B 

A 

C 
A 
C 
D 
D 
A 



State 

Alabama 
Alaska 
Am. Samoa 
Arizona 
Arkansas 
CA. 
Colorado 
Conn. 
Delaware 
D.C.
Florida
Georgia
Guam
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
LA.

Maine 
MD. 
Mass. 
Mich. 

Minn. 
Miss. 
MO. 

TABLE l 
STATUS OF FEE INITIATIVES 

Fee 
Systems? 

No 
No 

No data 
No 
Yes 

Comments 

Yes Revisions proposed 
No Reg. being·drafted 
No Under Consideration 
No System under dev. 

State 
Fee 

Systems? 

Montana No 
Nebraska No 
Nevada No 
N. Hampshire Yes
New Jersey Yes 
New Mexico No 
New York No 
N. Marianas No 
N.C. No 
N. Dakota No No 

No 
·No
No
Yes
No
No
Yes
No
Yes
Yes
Yes

System under dev. Ohio Yes 
No 
Yes 
No 
Yes 
Yes 
No 
No 
Yes 
No 
No 

Under investigation 
Under consideration 

Ok.
Oregon
PA.
P.R. 
Rhode Is. 

Expansion under consid. S.C. 
S. Dakota
Tenn.
Texas
Utah

No 

Comments 

Expect to· 
Under investigation 
System under dev. 

System under dev. 

System under dev. 

Agency trying to get 
authorization 

No
Yes
Yes.
Yes

Vermont 
Va. 
Virgin Is. 
Wash. 

No Under investigation 

No 
No 
Yes 

Revisions underway 
Some fees to, be 
phased out 
Under consideration W. Va.

Wisc.
Wyo.

No data 
No May consider next yr. 

Yes 
Yes 
No 

Source: NGA/ASTSWMO Survey (March 1982) 

Appendix B - 2 



Arkansas $ 
California 
Hawaii 

Indiana 

Kansas 

Kentucky 
Louisiana 
Maryland 
Massachusetts 
Michigan 
Missouri 
New Hampshire 
New Jersey 
Ohio 
Oregon 
Puerto Rico 
Rhode Island 

Tennessee 
West Virginia 
Wisconsin 

*Data not available

Notes: 

TABLE 2 

STATE FEE REVENUES 
(AS OF APRIL 1,1982 ) 

FY 82 Hazardous Waste FY 82 RCRA Hazardous Waste 
Program Budget As a %  of 

Revenue Total 
Total State Share Collected Program Budget 

347,669 $ 65,777 $ 20,000 6% 
7,686,012 4,384,628 4,384,628 1 57 

97,500 15,000 Very Minor Very Minor 
1,172,587 293,147 Not Collected 0 

Yet 
504,100 135,000 80,000 16 
872,883 149,805 87,0002 10 

2,000,000 960,000 900,000 45 
564,000 300,000 300,000 53 

1,547,000 803,000 18,000 1 
2,277,664 569,632 * * 

797,082 147,082 208,100 26 
531,000 325,000 * * 

1,981,929 740,520 200,0003 * 
3,123,540 953,592 558,0002 18 

599,285 127,211 76,128 13 
720,302 233,827 Insign. Insign. 
271,884 235,000 Not Collected 0 

Yet 
1,839,000 768,000 495,0004 27 

792,000 198,000 * * 

1,055,300 263,843 70,0005 7 

Program Fees 
As a% of 

State 
Matching Share 

30% 
100 

Very Minor 
0 

59 
58 
94 

100 
2 

* 

100 
* 

* 

59 
60 

Insign . 
0 

64 

* 

27 

1 Agency budget proposed for next fiscal year includes expected fee revenue of $7.8 million. 
See Case Study. 

2 Annualized estimate based on Case Study analysis. 

3 Includes solid waste fee revenue 

4 No fees collected yet. This is the expected revenue for the fiscal year withcollections 
starting in April 1982 . In FY 83 the portion funded by fees is expected to increase to 
40% of total program funding. 

5 No fees collected yet. Expected yearly hazardous waste revenues. 

Sources: NGA/ASTSWMO Survey, March 1982 
US Environmental Protection Agency 
rndividual States 
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TABLE 3 
TYPES OF HAZARDOUS WASTE MANAGEMNT PROGRAM FEES 

CURRENTLY BEING IMPLEMENTED BY THE STATES 

FACILITY FEES TRANSPORTER GENERATOR FEES OTHER 
FEES FEES 

Permit 
Permit Renewal 

Application or Annu11l Permit Monitoring Waste 

Facility Operating Modification Surveillance Tipping Generation 

St;tte Construction Fees Fee Fee Fee Registration Fee 

l. Massachusetts X X X X X X 

2, Cdifornla X X 

J, Hawaii X 

4. Indiana X X 

s. Kansas X X 

6. Kentucky X X X 

7. Louisiana X X 

8. Maryland X X 

9. Massachusetts X X 

10. Michigan X X X 

11. Missouri X X X X X 

12. New Hampshire X X X 

13. New Jersey X X X 

14. Ohio X X X X 

15. Oregon X X 

16. Puerto Rico X X X X X 

17. Rhode Island X X X 

18. Tennessee X X X 

19. West Virginia X l{ 

20. Wisconsin X X X 

Number Implementing 18 12 3 4 14 3 3 

Sou re-;: Fred C. Hart Associates, June 1982 
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TABLE 4 
FACILITY FEE CRITERIA 

Commercial 

Base or On/Off- Management Technology Volume or 

State Fee Site Status Size Type Type Quantity 

1. Arkansas X X X X 

2. Hawaii X 

3. Kansas X 

4. Kentucky X 

5. Louisiana X X X 

6. Maryland X 

7. Massachusetts X 

8. Michigan X X X 

9. Missouri X X 

10. New Hampshire X 

11. New Jersey X X 

12. Ohio X X X X X 

13. Oregon X 

14. Puerto Rico X X X X X 

15. Rhode Island X 

16. Tennessee X X X X 

17. West Virginia X X 

18. Wisconsin X 

Number Implementing 12 6 7 5 6 3 

Source: Fred C. Hart Associates, June 1982 
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1. 

2. 

3. 

4. 

5. 

6. 

7. 

8. 

9. 

Arkansas 

California 

Indiana 

Kansas 

Massachusetts 

Michigan 

Missouri 

New Hampshire 

New Jersey 

10. Ohio

11. Puerto Ricq

12. Rhode Island

13. Tennessee

14. Wisconsin

Number Implementing 

TABLE 5 

TRANSPORTER FEE CRITERIA 

Per Vehicle 

Charge 

X 

X 

X 

X 

X 

X 

X 

X 

X 

9 

Base 

Fee 

X 

X 

X 

X 

X 

X 

X 

X 

8 

Source: Fred C. Hart Associates, June 1982 
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Other 

Basis 

Inspection 

Quantity of Waste 

Transported 

2 



TABLE 6

GENERATOR FEE CRITERIA 

Waste 
Tipping Generation 

State Fee Registration Fee 

1. California X 

2. Kentucky X 

3. Missouri X X 

4. Ohio X 

Number Implementing 3 l 1 

Source: Fred C. Hart Associates, June 1982 
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MARYLAi.'m 

Authority 

Statute: Maryland Natural Resources Code, Title 3, Environ:n'ental 
Programs, Subtitle 7 - Hazardous Waste Facility Siting Program. 

Regulation: 

o Code of Maryland Regulations, Title 10, Department of Health and
Mental Hygiene, Subtitle 51 - Disposal of Designated Hazardous
Substances (DHS).

o Code of Maryland Regulations, Tit le 14, Independent Agencies,
Subtitle 14 - Hazardous Waste Facilities Siting Board.

Government Entity Implementing the Program 

Statute: 
Regulations: 

Department of Natural Resources 
Department of Health and Mental Hygiene 

Description £!._ User � 

The regulation Title 10 establishes a perm it fee applicable to the 
operation or maintenance of a TSD facility. Fees are based on acreage, nature 
and quantity of wastes, potential threat, anticipated costs of monitoring and 
regulating, etc. 

Title 14 of the Regulations sets an application fee for a TSDF. 

Fee Schedule 

The annual operation permit fee is $50 as a minimum. The application fee 
is set at $10,000. 

Impact/Intent for State Financing 

The law says that the fees are to be used " ••• to recover the costs of 
processing applications ad issuing certificates ." 
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OHS Facility Permit Fee Assessment 

The OHS Facility Permit Fee shall be computed in the manner outli ned 
below: 

Permit Fee = Service Fee + Environmental Fees + Contingency Fee + Program 
Development Fee + Cost of Publication 

Each portion of the fee shall be calculated using the attached form s  and 
values specified in the attached tables. 

Service Fee 

1. Monitoring

Analyses to be performed by Regulatory Agency:

Parameter Cost/Analysis II I Analyses Total 

2. Regulating

3. 

Site review and evaluation:

Project Manager: Section Head: 

man years@ / man year = x 1.25 = 
---- -----

1 man-day = .004 man years 

----

site inspections by staff personnel for sample collection and 
facility compliance check 

----

man years@ / man year = 

Overhead 50% of 1 & 2 =
------
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Environmental Fee Collection 

I. Size Factor

II. Location Factor

III. 

land use
air quality
unconfined aquifer
surface water

Design factor 

storage 
treatment 
disposal 

X 

X 

X 

Product 

Hazard factor 
x quantity 
x quantity 
X quantity 

Sum 

Environmental fee = design factor x location factor x 

size factor 

A. Environmental fee

B. Service fee

C. Program Development & Contingency Fees (10% of A & B)

D. Cost of Publication (Billed Separately)

Permit Fee = A+ B + C + D

Environmental Fee 

The Environmental Fee shall be computed as follows: 

Environmental Fee = (size factor) (location factor) (design factor) 

Each factor shall be selected from the following tables. If a particular 
factor is not applicable, a value of 1.0 shall be used in calculations. 
For facilities with multiple portions, the environmental fee shall be the 
sum of the fees calculated for the individual com ponents of the 
operation. 

Table I - Size Factors: 

The size factor shall be equal to 1.0 plus 0.1 times the number of acres 
used for DHS disposal, storage or treatment. 
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Table II - Location Factor 

1. Adjacent land� (as shown on zoning maps)

Residential/Institutional • •  
Industrial • • • • • • • • •  

. . . . . . . . . . 

. . . . . . . 

Agricultural 
Recreational 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

Factor 

L2 
0.6 
1.0 
0.8 

2. Air Quality Considerations: Only for those operations that produce air 
contaminants.

For particulate: a. Primary non-attainment area
b. Secondary non-attainment area
c. Attainment area

.6 

.8 
1.0 

For hydrocarbons (ozone): Non attainment area .7 
Includes Prince Georges, Montgomery, Washington, Baltimore, Harford, 
Carroll, Anne Arundel, Howard Counties and Baltimore City. 

Attainment area 
(remainder of State) 

For operations that produce both hydrocarbons and particulates: 

Primary non-attainment area 
Secondary non-attainment area 
Attainment ·�rea 

3. Water factors

Unconfined (water table) aquifer

Type I • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • 
Type I I • • • • • • • • • . • • . • • . •
Type III • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •

. . . . . . . . . .

. . . . . . . . . .

Surface Water, (within 500 feet of site in same drainage basin)

Class I .  
Class II. 
Class III • • • 
Class IV • • • 

. . . . . . . . . . . 

. . . . . . . . . . . . 

. . . . . . . . . . . . 

1.0 

.6 
1.0 
1.2 

Factor 

1.2 
.8 
.6 

.6 

.8 
1.2 
1. 0

Aquifer types are defined and surface water classification are specified 
in WRA Regulations .08.05.04.04 and .08.05.04.09. 
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Table III .:. Design Factor 

1. Storage Facilties

Containment provided for stored hazardous waste:

10% containment
10 - 24% containment
25 - 50% containment

1. 5
1.0 
.5 

2. Treatment facilities

3. 

(Based on degree of inactivation or volume reduction) 

waste composting • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • 5-1.0
chem precipitation of waste, no sludge condition • • • • 1.5 
chem precipitation with sludge conditioning such as dewatering .7 

complete inactivation by process such as thermal destruction, 
chem. fixation etc.,. • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • .1

Disposal facilities 

confinement with leachate collection 
confinement without leachate collection 
no confinement . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 

. . . . . 

. . . . . . . . 

. . . . . . . . 

.6 

1.7 

2.5 

4. Hazard factor

5. 

Waste class treated, stored and/or disposed:
Acute hazardous • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • . . . 

Hazardous � . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Quantity 

Storage Facility 

50 
1 

Factor shall be equal to the capacity of the storage facility (tons) 

Treatment Facility 

Factor shall be equal to the maximum quantity of OHS treated on any given 
day (tons) 

Disposal Facility 

A factor equal to the tons (actual or estimated) of OHS received during a 
one year period. For inactive sites, this quantity shall be .001 times 
the total quantity of OHS disposed of. After 10 years, from closure of 
the facility, this quantity shall be zero. 

*** Note: Environmental Fee may not exceed $1/ton of Hazardous Waste 
nor $50/ton of Acute Hazardous Waste. 
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TENNESSEE 

Authority 

Statute: "Tennessee Hazardous Waste Management Act," Tennessee Code, 
Title 53, Health and Safety, Chapter 63 - Hazardous Waste Management (TCA) 53-
6301 et seq .) 

Regulation: Regulations do not. mention user fees. (Tennessee Department 
of Public Health, Division of Solid Waste Management Rules, Chapter 1200 -
Hazardous Waste Management.) 

Government Entity Implementing the Program 

Division of Solid Waste Management 
Bureau of Environmental Health Science 
Tennessee Department of Public Health 

Description of User Fee 

There are three (3) kinds of fees: 

1. Application fees for permits to transport, store, treat or dispose
of hazardous waste;

2. Annual maintenance fees from permitted transporters, storers,
treate·rs, and disposers; and

.

3. Annual maintenance fees from generators who ship hazardous waste
off-site for storage, treatment or disposal.

Fee Schedule 

The Act establishes maximum and mini mum amounts and tasks a board to 
establish a fee schedule. The State is in the process of developing a fee 
system similar to the Arkansas system. An earlier tonnage fee that assessed 
only commercial sites has been dropped. 

The maximum amount of the permit application fee for starers, treaters, 
or disposers shall not exceed $5,000.00 and for transporters shall not exceed 
$100 .00 .  

The maximum amount of the maintenance fees collected annually from any 
permitted hazardous waste storage, treatment:---or disposal facility shall not 
exceed $10,000.00 and from any permitted transporters shall not exceed 
$1,000.00. The minimum amount of the maintenance fee collected annually from 
any permitted facility shall not be less than $100.00. The annual maintenance 
fee collected from any permitted transporter shall not be less than $25.00 and 
the amount shall be based on the quantity of hazardous waste transported. 
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The maintenance fee collected annually from generators who ship hazardous 
waste off-site for storage, treat men t, or disposal shall not exceed $100.00 
per generator. 

Impact/Intent for State Financing 

Expenditure of fees collect ed shall be restricted to operation of t he 
hazardous waste management program established pursuant to this Chapter 63. 
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WEST VIRGINIA 

Authority 

Statute: West Virginia Code, Chapter 20, Natural Resources, Article SE -
Hazardous Waste Management Act. 

Regulation: West Virginia Regulations Chapter 20 - SE 

Government Entity Implementing the Program 

Department of Natural Resources 

Description of User!!!. 

See Fee Schedule 

Fee Schedule 

For hazardous waste management facilities the schedule is: 

(1) Commercial Facility Initial Permit $10,000 Ten (10) year renewal $5,000
Annual evaluation 1,000 

(2) Major Facility Initial Permit $5,000 Ten (10) year renewal $1,000 

(3) Minor Facility Initial Permit $1,000

Impact/Intent for State Financing 

Annual evaluation 500 

Ten (10) year renewal$ 500 
Annual evaluation 100 

All permit application fees will be paid into the state treasury into 
"The Hazardous Waste Management Fund" which is used to help defray the cost of 
administering the Act. 
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CASE STUDY - MISSOURI 

Enabling Authority 

Statute: Missouri Hazardous Waste Manage ment Law (MRS. Chap; 260, 
Environmental Control, Section 350 et. seq . - Hazardous Waste Management). 

Regulation: Title 10 - Department of Natural Resources, Division 25 -
Hazardous Waste Management Commission. 

Program Description 

The Water Management Program within the Department of Natural Resources 
Division of Environmental Quality Administers the hazardous waste fees. 

Generators of hazardous waste pay a fee based on the quantity of waste 
generated. Generators are sent a billing annually. Transporters pay an 
annual fee based on the number of vehicles. Facility owners pay permit. 
application and renewal fees. Permits are issued for up to five years but the 
application fee is paid for every year of the life of the permit . 

In addition, the statute requires that hazardous waste landfill operators 
collect on behalf of the state from each generator or transporter a tax equal 
to 2% of the gross charges or fees charged for disposal of hazardous waste at 
the landfill site . 

Missouri's hazardous waste community is made up of: 

Generators 

Generators Paying Fee 
Generators Exempt from Fees 

(small quantity exemption) 
Waste Oil Generators 
Resource Recovery Exemptions 

Total 

Transporters 

Facilities 

143 

714 
1184 

97 

ma 

275 

On-Site 121 
Off-Site (including resource 

recovery) 10 
Total 131 

Description .2!_ the Fee Mechanism 

A Waste Generation Fee paid by generators of $1 per metric ton of 
hazardous waste generated.�e statute puts a cap of $10,000 on the fee that 
any one generator must pay. It is important to note that "generator" is a 
corporate distinction. That is, a firm with eight plants generating waste all 
over the state faces a maxi mum $10,000 fee and not $80,000. Generators of 
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less than 10 tons of waste per year and waste sent to certified resource 
recovery facilities are exempt. Fees are calculated based on the expected 
volume of waste to be generated in the coming year and are due on each January 
1st. This year's collections total about $112,000 from the generator fee as 
of March, 1982. 

A Landfill Tax is assessed on generators that send their wastes to 
landfills. Landfill operators collect a 2% tax based on the disposal charges 
and forward the receipts to the Hazardous Waste Program. Fees based on 
charges over each previous calendar year must be submitted by January 1st. 
About $22,000 has been collected from the landfill tax as of March, 1982. 

The Transporter Fee is a per vehicle charge. The statute sets a maximum 
of $100 per vehicle per year. Current regulations are based on gross vehicle 
weights and vehicle equivalents for firms not exclusively in the hazardous 
waste transportation business. A vehicle equivalent is the portion of 
vehicles annual load devoted to hazardous waste. For example, two vehicles 
which carry hazardous wastes 50% of the time equal one vehicle equivalent. 
The fee schedule is: 

For motor vehicles: 
For railroads: 
For other haulers: 

$5-20/vehicle/year 
$25/vehicle equivalent/year 
$25/vehicle equivalent/year 

Two hundred seventy-five transporters have paid fees for hazardous waste 
transportation. Approximately $12,600 has been collected in this fiscal year 
so far. 

Facility Fees are charged for applications and renewals. A technology 
type criterion is used to set the fee levels with landfills singled out for 
higher fees . All other types of facilities pay a smaller amount: 

Application fee: Landfills 
All other facilities 

Renewal fee: Landfills 
All other facilities 

The fee levels are set in the statute. 

$1000 
500 

$1000 
500 

In addition facilities are directly billed for engineering and geological 
analysis associated with the staff time assigned to the application reviews. 
This assessment enables the Program to recoup what are often major costs of 
permit issuance. 

The State processed three landfill applications in the previous fiscal 
year for $3000 revenue. No application fees have been collected this fiscal 
year. Approximately $500 has been collected from applicants for geological 
and technical review. 
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Background in Development .2f. the Fee Mechanism 

Missouri's hazardous waste law was initially .. enacted in 1977 and rules 
and regulations implementing this law became effective in January of· 1980. 
The regulations set a July, 1980 compliance date. Generator fees were a 
choice of the legislature for the major fee mechanism to meet the hazardous 
waste program funding needs. Generators must register with the department 
under Missouri regulations. Thus identified, sending invoices was perceived 
to be a relatively simple matter. 

The fees serve two purposes. The generator fee rule; as adopted by the 
Hazardous Waste Management Commissioner is aimed at promoting resource 
recovery and discouraging hazardous waste disposal. Permit fees are set up to 
potentially recover permit processing and review costs. Here too, though, the 
differential rates for disposal and other facilities points up the policy of 
the Commission of discouraging disposal. The transporter fee is set up to 
recoup the costs of yearly registrations. 

In the summer of 1980 the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) received 
two applications for hazardous waste landfills. Public pressure against these 
facilities become so intense that the Governor called a special session of the 
legislature to deal with the issue. The 2% landfill tax and the previously 
discussed generator fee were two results of this session. 

Administrative Experience 

The Hazardbu� Waste Program within DNR's Division of Environmental 
Quality administers the fees. With the exception of the direct billing for 
technical review services, fee levels are set or capped by statute. The 
program sends out invoices and processes the receipts. The revenues are then 
deposited into an earmarked fund. 

The initial notice for the generator fee went out to 330 generators. 
Roughly 140 actually paid. A few paid the $10,000 maximum. Roughly $200,000 
was originally expected from the generator fee. This estimate has been 
revised downward to $160 - $180,000 based on the 7/80 - 6/81 rate. 

A number of reasons were presented to explain this revenue shortfall. 
First, successful "delisting petitions (exclusion of certain wastes at 
specific sites from regulation as hazardous waste) to the USEPA and have had 
an effect. Second, more firms have chosen resource recovery than had been 
expected. Third, some generators have since gone out of business. Fourth, 
the initial registration data may have overstated the actual amount of waste 
generated because accurate records werent' required previously of the 
generators. 

The fees collected are placed in the Hazardous Waste Fund. They are used 
for the administrative costs of the program. The Program does not segregate 
the individual fee incomes and apply them to specific Program activities. 
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Summary .2..t Program Highlights 

o One fee mechanism was set up to create disincentives fof land
disposal and incentives for resource recovery as well as to provide
additional revenue to regulate such facilities under the program.

o Projecting generator fee revenues has been difficult due to the
impact of the incentives and disincentives in the fee structure and
other influences .

o The statute puts caps· on fees with the exception of direct billing
for technical and geological reviews.

o The act (and, therefore, the fee system) is scheduled for review in
1984 by the legislature. No revisions are expected before then.
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CASE STUDY - KENTUCKY 

Enabling Authority 

Statute: Kentucky Revised Statutes, Chapter 224 - Environmental 
Protection 

Regulation: Kentucky Administrative Rules 401, KAR2:080 Fees 

Program Description 

The Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Protection 
administers Kentucky's hazardous waste program and its associated fees. 

The state charges two fees: a generator registration fee and a facility 
permit application fee. Generators notify the State of their hazardous waste 
management activity annually. The state considers each hazardous waste 
management activity at a site to be a facility and a separate application is 
required for each. For example, one site has eight facilities. Permits are 
issued for one year. 

The regulated hazardous waste community consists of approximately: 

214 generators, and 
100 facilities, 

5 landfills 
95 treatment, stor�ge and incineration facilities 

Description of the Fee Mechanisms 

The Generator Fee is an annual registration fee based on the quantity of 
waste generated: 

Quantity in tons 
13.3-100 
101-300
301- 500
501 or more

Annual Fee 
$200 
$300 
$400 
$500 

The Perm it Application Fee is charged to hazardous waste management 
facilities. They receive a one-year permit. The fee is based on a management 
type criterion and a size criterion which captures the amount of activity by 
assessing the number of facilities per site. The fee schedule is: 

Disposal facility - $5000 
Treatment, .incineration, storage facility - $1000 

Each facility on the site requires a separate permit. 

Permit modifications cost $100 for major modifications and $50 for minor 
modifications . 

Appendix D - 5 



In the first year (7 /79-6/80) $11,850 was collected. In the second year 
collections were up to $177,900. In this third year, through March, $64,250 
had been collected. This works out to a yearly rate of $87,000. The reasons 
for the fluctuations could not be determined. 

Background in Development£!._ the Fee Mechanisms 

The Kentucky program's original emphasis was in solid waste. The State 
charges permit review/processing fees for five categories of landfills: 

Contained landfills: $800 
Residual Landfills 500 
(case-by-case design) 
Residential Landfills 500 
Inert Waste Landfill 200 
Landfarms 500 

Permit renewals and modifications are levied a $250 charge. These fees are 
based on actual program records of past permit reviews. The fees accurately_ 
reflect the costs of permit review and processing. This close tying of the 
fee level to specific services was important in gaining industry acceptance of 
the fees. 

The State developed hazardous generator fees for the purpose of remedial 
action cleanups following the revelation of the "Valley of the Drums" in the 
na�ional media. It became clear that the State had to explore funding 
alternatives for remedial action and hazardous waste management in general. 
The general assessment, a per volume charge, for remedial response has the 
explicit purpose of discouraging disposal and encouraging reuse. In the push 
to develop the Superfund charge, it was decided to charge fees for hazardous 
waste program. The State was already charging fees for its solid waste 
program. The statutory authority for the hazardous waste management program 
includes the assessme_nt of application and registration fees. 

Fees collected from generator registration and facility permits are to 
cover the costs of review and verifying data. Site inspection in support of 
permit review can be covered. Compliance monitoring and enforcement 
activities are not recoverable from fees . 

The State expects to change its regulations to a one time generator 
notification with a notification fee and an annual report processing fee . 

The State also expects to go to a 10-year permit and a per-site permit 
and fee (note this would not preclude a sliding fee schedule based on the 
number of facilities as in Louisiana's program). 

Administrative Experience 

The fee system is administered by the Department of Natural Resources and 
Environmental Protection. The agency collects and processes the fee revenues 
as they are received with applications and notifications. The money is 
deposited into the general fund and credited to DNREP in the agency's budget 
process. Hazardous waste registration and permit application fees have been 
collected for three years . 
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The fees are set by regulation. The agency had significant input from 
industry in setting the fees. The agency can meet with an Advisory Group, 
made up of manufacturers and the disposal com munity. This is done before 
official filing of the proposed regulations. In addition, the Environ•ental 
Quality Commission has oversight responsibility. It meets every 1-2 months. 

Fees were collected for the permits-by-rule issued by the State after 
receiving a facility's initial, nontechnical application (analogous to interim 
status conferred under the Federal RCRA program). This will be credited 
toward the later in-depth, technical review. 

The biggest problem with the fee system has become the setting of the 
levels. The agency does not expect that the fee as established will meet the 
costs of permit review, yet industry will only "accept" fees based on actual 
costs. To address this, the agency is carefully monitoring the level of 
effort currently being required to complete the in-depth revie w of the 
technical portions of two applications. Both are for new facilities, an 
incinerator and a storage facility. While the State can't legally charge. 
directly by the hour as Missouri can, (see the Missouri case study) it will 
use this tracking mechanism to determine actual costs. 

Summary of Program Highlights 

o Fees cover notification processing and permit review.

o The agency is tracking review activities in effort to accurately set
a fee ievei that captures all relevant costs. This approach to
setting the fee levels was used to implement the solid waste program
fee mechanisms.

o Fees must be closely tied to the services rendered and accurately
reflect the costs of those services to gain industry acceptance.

o Fee revenues are deposited into the General Revenue Fund and
"credited" to the agency during the budget appropriation process.

Appendix D - 7 



CASE STUDY - CALIFORNIA 

Enabling Authority 

Statute: California Health and Safety Code, Division 20, Chapter 6.5 
Hazardous Waste Control. Assembly Bill No. 1012, an act to amend the Vehicle 
Code relating to hazardous material. 

Regulation: California Administrative Code, Title 22, Social Security, 
Division 4, Environmental Health, Chapter 30 - M inimum Standards for 
Management of Hazardous and Extremely Hazardous Wastes. 

Program Description 

The hazardous waste fees are administered by the Depart ment of Health 
Services (disposal fees) and by the Highway Patrol (transporter fees). 

The disposal site fee is a monthly generator tipping fee. It is charged 
to the facility owner and passed back to the generator. 

Transporters are assessed an annual registration fee and an annual 
inspection fee. 

California's regulated community includes: 

Facilities 895 

Off-Site Storage 60 
Off-Site Treatment 30 
Off-Site Disposal 35 
On-Site All Types 770 

Transporters 2760 

Generators 6366 

Description of the Fee Mechanisms 

The California program has established three type s of hazardous waste 
fees. A facility fee, a transporter registration fee and a transporter 
inspection/certification fee. 

The Disposal Fee is segmented by an on/off-site criterion. The off-site 
fee is essentially a generator tipping fee for land disposal. The State 
explicitly expects the fee to be passed back to the generator. The on-site 
disposal fee is a volume charge as well. 

Off-site disposal facilities must pay: 

1. One dollar fQr each load of hazardous waste, delivered to him other
than by pipeline, which weighs one ton or less and which he disposes of
on land or applies to land.
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2. One dollar for each load or one dollar per ton, whichever is
greater, for each load of hazardous waste, delivered other than by
pipeline, which weighs more than one ton and which is disposed of on land
or is applied to land.

3. One dollar per ton for all hazardous waste delivered to him by
pipeline, based on the weight disposed of on land or applied to land.

No more than $2,500 need be paid the Department for any amount of 
hazardous waste received from one specific site owned by a specific producer 
of hazardous waste during one month. 

For on-site disposal the facilities must pay a fee of one dollar per ton 
to the Department for the first $2,500 tons of hazardous waste which he 
disposes of, on, or onto land, or applies to land in any one month. No more 
than $2,500 need be paid the Department for any amount of hazardous waste 
disposed of at one specific on-site hazardous waste facility in one month. 
Roughly 80% of the generators are paying less than the maximum $2,500 fee each. 
month. Disposal fee revenues for 1981 -82 are estimated to be $2,258,000. 

The Transporter Registration Fee is a base fee plus a per vehicle charge 
for firms over a certain size: 

$50.00 to register the firm, 
$15.00/vehicle if the company's gross annual revenues exceed $35,000 

The Transportet .Inspection Fee is a base fee of $50 .00/company. 

Background in Development of the Fee Mechanism 

The State's position is that user fees on the regulated community are the 
only equitable way to fund the hazardous waste program. California has a 
statutory mandate that all hazardous waste management costs be covered by fees 
paid by hazardous waste disposal facilities. The fees are deposited into the 
Hazardus Waste Control Account in the State's General fund and continuously 
appropriated to the Department of Health. The present fee level has been 
constant for four years. Program growth has been funded by increasing Federal 
program grants and increases in the tonnage of hazardous wastes assessed the 
fees. Presently, with Federal grants an� waste tonnage decreasing, a need to 
significantly increase the fee revenues is recognized. 

The facility fee, set up as a tax on the volume of waste, met the 
statutory mandate that generators fund the system. Thus, even though the off­
site facility pays the fee, it can easily be added to the generator's bill as 
a surcharge. The original facility fee level was determined by the Hazardus 
Waste Management Branch of the Department of Health Services. Changes in the 
fee levels are made by rulemaking which is ordinarily a nine-month process. 

The State is currently in the process of revising the fee sy$tem. The 
initial proposal is calling for a four-fold increase in the tonnage fee to 
cover the costs of a greatly expanded program. The new proposal is for a 
$4.00 per ton fee with a 2500 ton cap. That is, only the first 2500 tons 
would be subject to assessment. This would bring the maximum annual 
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assessment up to $120,000 from $30,000. The proposal for on-site disposers 
inadvertently left intact the $ 2500 monetary cap. The Department estimates 
this will result in $130,000 less annual revenues. Instead of reporposing 
changes to the State's regulations they are dealing with this problem in the 
development of the fee system described in the next paragraph. 

The Department has estimated that FY 1982-83 expenditures will be $8.074 
million. In testimony on the proposed $4 per ton charge revenues were 
estimated as follows: 

Tonnage Base.:. Seasonal Averages 

Low Average = 178,000 tons/mo. 
High Average - 203,000 tons/mo. 

7/1/82 .:. 8/ 15/82 l/

(Fall/Winter) 
(Spring/Summer) 

1.5 mo. x 203,000 tons x $1.00 = $300,000 

8/15/82 .:. 6/30/83 

10.5 mo. X 180,000 l:__/ X $4.00 - $7,560,000 

Total Fee Revenue $7,860,000 

l/ There is a six week lag time in collection of fees 

'l:./ Weighted average reduced by 6% to account for reduced cap 

The proposed is meeting opposition from industry which fees that a fixed 
tonnage fee is inequitable. The argument is that a fixed tonnage fee 
penalizes low toxicity/high volume waste generators and subsidizes high 
toxicity/low volume. waste generators. Industry wants a degree of hazard 
approach similar to that used in California's Superfund structure. This four­
category structure was originally developed by the industry. 

In early March, AB 1543 was signed into law requiring the Department to 
adopt a fee system based on degree of hazard by January 1, 1983. Work on this 
new system was to begin in May. 

Administrative Experience 

Fees are being collected from 160 off-site and 69 3 on- site facilities. 
Approximately 800 transporters paid fees  las t  year. The num ber of 
transporters fluctuates greatly around 800 from year to year. 

At first, the Health and Safety Code required operators to send disposal 
fees to the Department. Industry complained that enforcement of fee 
collections has been minimal with the result being that compliers were paying 
for the entire program. This poor collection experience led to a statutory 
change in 1981 which empowered the Board of Equalization (the State's "IRS") 
to collect the fees. Collections have since increased 60-90%. 
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The facility fees are deposited in the Hazardous Waste Control Account in 
the General Fund and are continuously appropriated f o r  expenditu re to the 
Depart ment under mandate of law. Transporter  fees are collected by the 
Highway Cont rol certification. They are assessed "for  the privile·ge of 
engaging in the business" (Section 25166 of the Act) and are charged f o r  
administering that part of the program (Section 25167). 

There have also been some problems with Califo rnia's "Proposition 13". 
It is being argued that the fees constitute a tax and therefore must be 
legislatively approved by a 2/3 majority. It is not clear where this dispute 
will end up as the hazardous waste statute is explicit about setting fees to 
fully fund the program. 

There is a loophole in the fee mechanism that some firms are using to 
lower their assessments. Because the fee is a monthly charge on disposal, a 
firm may store wastes on-site for several months and eventually dispose of the 
accumulated waste in one month. In this way there is no charge for several 
months and then a maximum charge of only $2500 in the disposal month. 

Summary of Program Highlights 

o A major objective of the State's facility fee is to discourage land
disposal of hazardous waste.

o Revenue needs, based on the aproved budget, are approtioned among
sites to determine fee level (the "macro" approach towards setting
fee levels).

o Fee system is to be based on degree of hazard by January 1983.

o Fees are now collected by the State's tax collection agency and not
the hazardous waste agency. Collection efficiency increased 60-90%
with this change.

o A monthly assessment, in conjunction with a cap, may enable
avoidance of some fees.
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CASE STUDY - NEW JERSEY 

Enabling Authority 

New Jersey has four law s which require the collection of hazardous or 
solid waste fees: 

Statute: 

1. New Jersey Statutes Annotated, Title 13, Conservation and Development -
Parks and Reservations, Chapter IE - Solid Waste Management (Section 18
establishes the collection of fees).

2. The New Jersey Recycling Act (PL 1981) Solid Waste Recycling Tax
(establishes the collection of a solid waste tipping fee that is under
litigation).

3. The Sanitary Land fill Facility Closure and Contingency Fund Act
(establishes two solid waste disposal tipping fees, and both are under.
litigation), one for closure and one for "contingencies".

4. The Major Hazardous Waste Facility Siting Act (establishes the collection
of three fees on "major hazardous waste facilities).

Regulation: The New Jersey Administrative Code, Title 7, Chapter 26, The 
Solid Waste Management Rules, (Section 4.3 - 4.7 establishes the fee schedules 
adopted under the Solid Waste Management Act). 

Program Description 

The Department of Environmental Protection administers the hazardous and 
solid waste fees in New Jersey. The hazardous waste program is a subset of 
the solid waste prog.ram. Specific hazardous waste program fees, therefore, 
are additional assessments under the State's solid waste fee schedule. 

The State has 580 hazardous waste facilities as follows: 

On-Site 

Treatment 31 

Off-Site 

Storage 318 5 
Disposal 6 
Treatment/Storage 193 7 
Treatment/Disposal 2 
Storage/Disposal 5 
Treatment/Storage/Disposal 11 2 

Total 566 14 

There are approximately 590 transporters and 2865 generators. Generators 
must generate more than 100 kilograms per month to be included in the system. 
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Description of the Fee Mechanisms 

Facility Fees are charges under the Solid Waste Management Act. The 
State has three types of fees: 

$50 annual registration fee (a base fee). It costs an additional 
$50 to transfer it. 

Up to $500/quarter inspection and regulation fee (a monitoring/ 
surveillance fee with a legislative cap). 

$500 engineering design review fee (an application fee). 

The above fees are not charges to on-site hazardous waste facilities but 
are charged to off-site hazardous waste facilities and all solid waste 
facilities. 

are: 
Transporter Fees are assessed annually. Transporter registration fees 

$20.00 per vehicle (solid waste) 
$50.00 per vehicle (hazardous waste). 

Other Fees. The recently-passed solid waste tipping fees are under 
litigation. State fees under the Major Hazardous Waste Facility Siting Act 
are not yet being implemented. 

Total revenues collected from facility registration, inspection and 
engineering design fees under the solid waste management act: 

FY 80 
FY 81 

$248,593 
$211,285 

Background in the Development of the Fee Mechanism 

New Jersey began collection solid waste fees under the Solid Waste 
Management Act in 1974. The registration, inspection and engineering design 
review fees are defined in that law with a cap on the last two. These are the 
only fees being collected by the State hazardous waste program. The State is 
not attempting to fully fund its hazardous waste program with these fees. 

The Solid Waste Management Act enables fees for any service the 
Department of Environmental Protection performs in connection with the Act. 
Fees therefore can be tied to specific program activities such as permit 
application review, inspections, etc. In 1974 the Department audited the 
types of services it provided to the solid waste industry. The fee types 
chosen reflected some of the major services provided by the State (design 
review, inspection/regulation, and registration). The variable quarterly 
inspection fee was developed as a way to more realistically recoup the costs 
of State services, especially in the case of larger facilities. 

The New Jersey fee approach gradually evolved to its present form. Fees 
for solid waste facilities were initially established in 1974. A few 
interested members of the legislature were involved in drafting the original 
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fee levels. Because solid waste management had a low profile in the State, 
the establishment of the ori ginal fee approach was not considered 
controversial. These fees are now assessed against solid and hazardous waste 
facilities except on-site hazardous waste facilities which do not pay the fee. 

State officials visited expressed an interest in charging fees to waste 
generators to get them to help pay for the program. The U.S. Supreme Court 
ruled against New Jersey regarding their ban of shipments of waste into the 
State, y et DEP estimates that 40% of the wastes disposed in New Jersey come 
from out of state. These out-of-state generators do not contribute to the 
general fund in New Jersey through regular channels of taxation. User fees 
are being argued as a mechanism which could_protect general revenues from 
problems caused by out-of-state entities. 

The State has two other broad initiatives in the area of fees that are 
worthy of note: those enabled under the Major Hazardous Waste Facility Siting 
Act and "tipping fees." The following discussion of these fee approaches 
provides an important background to the development of hazardous waste fees in 
New Jersey in the future. 

The Major Hazardous Waste Facility Si ting Act. This law was passed on 
January 1, 1982. The State fees enabled under the Act will be tied to State 
services provided to "major" hazardous waste facilities. A major facility is 
defined as having a 250,000 gallon capacity .  There c u rrently are 
approximately 11 of them in New Jersey. These facilities are required to pay 
5% of their gross receipts from their y ear's sales to reimburse local 
municipalities for the costs added to local services, including: 

1. extra police and fire costs made necessary by the major hazardous
waste facility;

2. local inspection program costs incurred by local board of health or 
county health department;

3. road construction or repair costs; and

4. other expenses directly related to the impact of the facility on the
municipality.

This 5% fee/tax is apparently being paid. 

The Siting Act also provides authority to collect fees from major 
facilities to recover the costs of weekly State inspections and the 
"reasonable" costs in the review of applications. Also allowed is the 
reimbursement of local government for the cost of their review of major 
facility applications (up to $15,000). All these fees are not yet being 
collected. The State has appropriated $500,000 for the preparation and 
adoption of a fee schedule which was proposed in State regulations but is not 
yet adopted. 
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State Tipping Fees. The first State tipping fee for municipal wastes was 
instituted in 1976. The fee's major purpose was to have the facility operator 
pass aback the fee through the waste hauler to the generator. A State court 
ruled that such automatic pass-through of fees was uncon stitutional ·under 
State law. The fee was terminated and the revenues collected were returned. 

The State legislature passed two laws containing three more tipping fees 
effective January 1, 1982: 

1. The Sanitary Landfill Facility Closure and Contingency Fund Act
established a $.45 per cubic yard fee for solid waste disposed i n
landfills. Two thirds of the fee i s  t o  g o  to an escrow fund to pay
for the closure of the facility. One third goes to the State
Treasury into a contingency fund to pay for "damages for property"
caused by sanitary landfills in general. The State �reasury
Department collects this fee which, in some ways, replaces the solid 
waste tipping fee that was overruled by the courts in 1977.

2. The New Jersey Recycling Act (PL 1981) Solid Waste Recycling Tax
requires a fee of $0.12 per cubic yard tipping fee ($.06 in 1986) be
assessed at the landfill. The fees are placed in a nonlapsing,
revolving fund to be jointly administered for the promotion of
recycling by the Department and· the State Energy Agency. The fund
will be used as follows:

o 45% for recycling grants to municipalities,

o at least 20% for loan guarantee and low interest loans for
recycling businesses· and industries,

o not more than 10% for program funding and administration,

o not more than 10% for county and municipal administration
expenses, and

o at least 15% for public information.

Litigation challenging these tipping fees is pending. The main question 
at issue is whether out-of-state industries should pay fees for which they 
claim they would not receive a benefit . 

The State recen tly considered a $.15 per cubic yard fee which would be 
charged for all solid (including hazardous) waste disposed in New Jersey 
landfills. Revenues would go to counties for planning (about 37%,) and the 
remainder would go to DEP. The proposed legislation (A 2282) provided that 
the fee revenues would be made available for monitoring, regulating and 
enforcing both solid and hazardous waste activities. Opposition to using the 
revenues for funding hazardous waste management controls prevented passage. 
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Administrative Experience 

When the State's Tipping fee was in operation in 1976, daily record books 
were kept at landfills. Each truck, its cubic yard capacity and its license 
number was entered into the log. These records were subject to inspections 
and the operators provided monthly totals and payments to the Department. 

In general, the DEP collects the facility-related fees. They are 
recorded and then sent to the Treasury. The Agency cannot draw on these funds 
directly because dedicated funds are not usually established as part of the 
normal State budgetary process. DEP keeps an accounting of revenues collected 
and uses these figures to support the program's budget requests. 

Fee payments for operation and collection/hauler registration are due on 
July 1 of each year. Using the previous year's fee statements, notices are 
sent to all operators and haulers announcing the amount of fee payment due in 
the next year. Following quarterly billing notices, landfills and special 
waste facilities pay inspection and regulation fees before July 1, October 1, 
January 1, and April 1 of each year. Landfills and special waste facilities 
pay one-time engineering design review fees at the time they sub mit their 
application. 

Presently, fees are only payable by check to the Department. Check 
amounts are logged-in, then the checks are transferred to the Treasurer to be 
de�osited in the general treasury. Information system. The fee billing 
system will be fully computerized in July, 1982. 

Facilities which are late or refuse to pay the fees are subject to late 
fees and penalties, respectively. Cases of nonpayment of fees are submitted 
to the State Attorney General's Office for action if fees remain umpaid. It 
is highly unlikely that a facility would be closed because of nonpayment of 
fees because facilities are public utilities and are perceived as fulfilling a 
public need by stayirig open. 

Summary£!_ Program Highlights 

o The State's fee system is to be fully computerized in July, 1982.

o The State's current purpose is to partially fund its hazardous waste
program with fees.

o The State currently charges quarterly inspection/regulation fees.

o The S tate does not asses s f ees on on-site hazar dous waste
facilities.
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ATTACHMENT 4 

Generic Job Function Descriptions 

The fol lowing new positions have been added since the Phas e  I 
Authorization Application has been submitted: 

a .  Special Studies Coordinator for Hazardous Waste Management 

Functions: 

1. Performs studies of solid and hazardous waste facilities or sites and
reports on the environmental impact and outlines alternative solutions.

2. Inspects hazardous waste management facilities (emphasizing recordkeeping
and contingency planning)· and initiates actions to bring these facilities
into compliance.

3. Develops hazardous or unknown hazardous site investigation plans.

4. Develops contracts, or parts of contracts, not of a technical nature and
manages their impljmentation including coordinating of multicontract
efforts.

5. Acts as liaison to Virginia and other waste exchange programs.

6. Develops statf.stical summaries and lists related to solid and hazardous
waste activitie·s and facilities.

7. Coordinates the Di vision public information and participation program
including development of advertisements and arranges for public hearings.

b.  Toxic Substances Biologist for Hazardous Waste Management 

Functions: 

1. Responds to hazardous waste emergencies providing biological response to
toxic materials expertise and supervises biological sampling.

2. Inspects hazardous waste management facilities (particularly transporters
of wastes) and initiates action to bring these facilities into
compliance.

3. Supervises the Bureau's regulatory effort regarding transportation of
hazardous materials including issuance of hazardous waste transporter
permits.

4, Coordinates transportation hazards technical assistance to the State
Police, including developing seminars and materials.

5, Acts as liaison to schools, the Department of Education and other small
quantity generators who have hazardous waste problems.



6. Performs literature reviews and other passive research to determine the
environmental effect of hazardous waste.

c. Assistant Attorney General

Functions: 

An Attorney admitted to practice before the Supreme Court of Virginia who 

is on the staff of the Attorney General. An assistant is assigned to one or 

more state agencies to which he provides a broad range of legal services. He 

serves as counsel to the agency in any action brought on behalf of or against 

the agency in both judicial and legal forums. Additionally, he represents the 

agency in any appeal from a judicial or administrative decision. He advises 

the agency with respect to the legal requirements and implications within the 

agency's area of responsibility. Moreover, he provides general legal advice, 

much as a corporate counsel, in areas such as contracts, personnel, freedom of 

information and privacy protection, conflicts of interest, and other similar 

functions. 

d. Legal Intern.

Functions: 

A second or third year law student who works directly for and under the 

supervision of the assistant attorney general. He does general legal research 

and assists in the preparation of legal memoranda and briefs. Additionally, 

he may interview witnesses and do factual research in preparation for 

hearings. 



RELATIVE STATE PROGRA.� SIZE 

Size* 
State Category State 

Alabama D Montana 
Alaska C Nebraska 
America Somoa A Nevada 
Arizona C New Hampshire 
Arkansas B New Jersey 
California E New Mexico 
Colorado C New York 
Connecticut C Northern Marianas 
Delaware A North Carolina 
District of Columbia A North Dakota 
Florida D Ohio 
Georgia D Oklahoma 
Guam A Oregon. 
Hawaii A Pennsylvania 
Idaho B Puerto Rico 
Illinois E Rhode Island 
Indiana D South Carolina 
Iowa C South Dakota 
Kansas C Tennessee 
Kentucky D Texas 
Louisiana D Utah 
Maine A Vermont 
Maryland C Virginia 
Massachusetts D Virgin Islands 
Michigan E Washington 
Minnesota C West Virginia 
Mississippi B Wisconsin 
Missouri C Wyoming 

*Based on grant formula 40 CFR 35.706(a)

40% - relative population 
40% - relative amounts of hazardous waste generated 
15% - relative number of generators 
5% - relative land area 

Programs range from A (the smallest) to E (the largest) 

Source: ORIA, EPA - April 1980 
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Size* 
Category 

B 

A 
A 
A 

D 
A 

E 
A 

D 
A 

E 
C 
C 
E 
B 

B 

C 

A 

D 
E 
B 

A 

C 

A 

C 
D 
D 
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