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INTRODUCTION

In 1898 the first automobile liability insurance policy
was issued in the United States in response to the potential
economic devastation that could result from an automobile
accident. Liability insurance which provided protection
from economic loss which might be suffered by innocent
victims of insured motorists was only a partial solution to
the problem because of the éxistence of uninsured motorists.
Realizing the seriousness of the problems arising from the
inadequacies of motor vehicle liability insurance, federal
and state governments enacted various types of legislation
to deal with the problems.

Virginia adopted the Motor Vehicle Safety
Responsibility Act, a financial responsibility law, in 1944
to keep financially irresponsible motorists who had failed
to satisfy judgments against them that resulted from
accidents which they caused off of the highways in order to
protect innocent persons from further losses. In 1958, it
added an uninsured motorist endorsement to the law to
address the uninsured motorist situation by shifting the
cost of damages caused by an uninsured motorist to himself
by requiring motorists to pay an additional $20 ($300 today)
for the registration of each uninsured motor vehicle.

Many have questioned the effectiveness of Virginia's
motor vehicle liability insurance laws in protecting the
Commonwealth's citizens from potential losses and injury

caused by uninsured motorist and feel they are in serious
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need of study and reform. Motorists may pay an uninsured
motorist fee of $300 in lieu of purchasing insurance and,
although the Department of Motor Vehicles has tried to
explain to motorists that the payment of this fee does not
provide them with any type of insurance coverage, many
believe that they are buying "state insurance".

In addition, much concern has been expressed and many
questions have been raised over the high cost of taxicab
liability insurance and the manner in which rates are
determined. Currently, no insurer in Virginia will write
taxicab insurance therefore most drivers must resort to the
assigned risk program for coverage. Taxicab rates in the
assigned risk plan have dramatically increased in the past
few years as the last two increases effective January 1,
1984, and April 1, 1985, were 33 percent and 26 percent
respectively. Also, all taxicab drivers are placed in the
same assigned risk category regardless of their driVing
records therefore those with good driving records subsidize
those with bad records.

A joint subcommittee was established pursuant to House
Joint Resolution No. 43 of the 1986 General Assembly to
study both the motor vehicle liability insurance laws and
the insurance rates for taxicabs because of the concern over

each of these issues.

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 43

Establishing a joint subcommittee to study matters related
to motor vehicle liability insurance, including the
insurance rates of taxicab drivers.
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WHEREAS, motor wvehicle liability insurance has recently
become a major concern of many people; and

WHEREAS, many people believe that Virginia's motor
vehicle liability insurance law, which allows those who
preferAnof to obtain and maintain such insurance to pay into
the uninsured motorist fund instead, is in serious need of
sfudy‘because of the number of Virginia motorists who
neither carry such insurance nor have paid into the fund;
and

| WHEREAS, also concerned are taxicabkdrivers who in

fecent years have been subject to dramatic increases in
their liability insurance rates, with the last increase,
effective January 1, 1984, being thirty-three and one-half
perceht; and

WHEREAS, under the present system all taxicab drivers,
regardless of their driving records, are placed in the same
assigned risk insurance category which many believe is not
equitable and therefore feel that a more equitable liability
insurance plan should be developed so that experienced good
drivers do not subsidize inexperienced drivers and those
wifh chargeable accidents; and

WHEREAS, the development of such a plan, apart from the
economic equity for drivers, is in the public interest in
the safe operation of taxicabs, which interest is not keing
served by the present system; and

WHEREAS, the study of the way Virginia law deals with
the question of motor vehicle liability insurance is also in

the public interest; now, therefore, be it
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RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate
concurring, that a joint subcommittee is established to
study matters related to motor vehicle liability insurance,
including the insurance rates of taxicab drivers. The joint
subcommittee shall: (i) study the way Virginia law deals
with the question of motor vehicle liability insurance,
including the desirability and feasibility of some form of
mandatory insurance; (ii) consider alternative plans where
good experienced taxicab drivers are not subsidizing
inexpefienced drivers or those with bad driving records; and
(iii) investigate the present method used to determine rates
for taxicab drivers and compare those alternative methods
offered by the industry as more equitable and in the public
iﬁterest.

The joint subcommittee shall consist of seven members
to be appointed as follows: four members from the House
Committeé on Corporations, Insurance and Banking, to be
appointed by the Speaker of the House; and three members
from the Senate Committee on Commerce and Labor, to be
appointed by the Senate Committee on Privileges and
Elections.

The joint subcommittee shall complete its work and make
its recommendations prior to November 15, 1986.

The costs of this study, including direct and indirect

costs, are estimated to be $16,100.

Delegate Gladys B. Keating of Franconia, the chief

patron of the resolution, served as Chairperson of the joint
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subcommittee. Other members of the House of Delegates
appointed to serve were: Bernard S. Cohen of Alexandria,
Harvey B. Morgan of Gloucester, and William T. Wilson of
Covington.

Senator Frank W. Nolen of New Hope served as
Vice-Chairperson of the joint subcommittee. Other members
of the Senate appointed to serve were: William E. Fears of
Accomac and Richard L. Saslaw of Annandale.

C. William Cramme', III,~ Senior Attorney, and Terry
Mapp Barrett, Research Associate, of the Division of
Legislative Services served as .legal and research staff.
Barbara Hanback with the House Clerk's Office provided
administrative and clerical duties for the joint

subcommittee.

WORK OF THE SUBCOMMITTEE

The joint subcommittee held four meetings during 1986,
on June 30, July 28, September 15 and September 24,
including two public hearings, and two meetings in 1987, on
January 13 and 15, to ascertain problems with Virginia's
motor vehicle liability insurance laws and with the
insurance coverage available for taxicabs, and to consider
solutions to those problems.

During the first meeting which was organizational in
nature, the subcommittee elected its Chairperson, Delegate
Gladys B. Keating, and its Vice Chairperson, Senator Frank

W. Nolen, discussed the issues that should be addressed and

wC
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heard from several individuals and groups. They determined

that during the course of the study théy should focus their

attention on the following issues:

laws

I. Whether Virginia's motor vehicle liability insurance

adequately protect Virginia citizens from motorists who

do not have such coverage.

laws

In making this determination it was decided that the
joint subcommittee should:

(é) Consider possible alternatives to the present law,
including the feasibility and desirability of
establishing some sort of mandatory insurance law;

(b) Examine how the Uninsured Motorist Fund is
operated; and

(c) Consider alternatives to help uninsured

pedestrians.

They also decided that if they found that the current
are adequate, they should determine methods to

(i) Encourage motorists to purchase motor vehicle
liability insurance coverage; and

(ii) Educate the public regarding uninsured and

underinsured motorists coverage.

II. Whether present methods used in determining

insurance rates for taxicabs are equitable.

In making this determination it was decided that the

joint subcommittee should:
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1 (a) Examine how the Virginia Automobile Insurance Plan
2 (Assigned Risk) operates; and

3 (b) Consider alternative methods offered by .the

4 industry whereby experienced drivers with good records
5 do not subsidize inexperienced drivers or those with

6 bad records.

7

8 Background information and testimony regarding these

9 issues were provided over the course of the study by a

10 number of individual taxicab drivers and fepresentatives of
11 the following organizations: the Automobile Insurance Plan
12 Service Office, the Bureau of Insurance, the Department of
13 Motor Vehicles, the National Association of Independent

14 Insurers, the American Insurance Association, the Virginia
15 Taxicab Association, Alexandria Diamond Cab, Yellow Cab of
16 Norfolk, Alexandria, Arlington and Prince William County,
17 White Top Cab Co., Arlington Blue Top Cab Co., Hampton Roads
18 Transportation, Inc. and Norfolk Checker Taxi. Such

19 information and testimony are included in the supporting

20 data of the subcommittee's findings.

21 RECOMMENDATIONS
22 (with major supporting findings)

23

24 1. COMPULSORY MOTOR VEHICLE LIABILITY INSURANCE LAWS

25 ARE NOT IN THE BEST INTEREST OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

26 Major Findings:

27 a. Virginia's financial responsibility and

28 uninsured motorist laws have been more successful

WwC
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than the compulsory laws of other states in
protecting citizens from harm caused by uninsured
motorists.

b. The Department of Motor Vehicles has several
insurance monitoring programs which have been

successful in locating uninsured motorists.

2. THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY SHOULD PASS THE BILL
RECOMMENDED BY THE JOINT SUBCOMMITTEE THAT INCREASES
THE PENALTIES FOR DRIVING AN UNINSURED MOTOR VEHICLE
WITHOUT HAVING PAID THE UNINSURED MOTORIST FEE. THE
BILL PROVIDES THAT WHEN CAUGHT AN UNINSURED MOTORIST
WHO HAS FAILED TO PAY THE FEE FOR THE CURRENT YEAR
SHALL BE REQUIRED TO PAY ANY FEES IN ARREARS FOR THE
THREE PRECEDING CALENDAR YEARS PLUS PENALTIES AND
INTEREST THEREON BEEORE HAVING HIS LICENSE REISSUED.
Major Finding:
a. The currenﬁ penalties in the Code for driving
an uninsured motor vehicle without having paid the
uninsured motorist fee are not sufficient to

discourage motorists from violating the law.

3. THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY SHOULD PASS THE BILL
RECOMMENDED BY THE JOINT SUBCOMMITTEE THAT GIVES PEOPLE
WHO DO NOT OWN MOTOR VEHICLES AND THUS DO NOT HAVE
MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE THE RIGHT, WHEN INJURED BY AN
UNINSURED DRIVER, TO FILE A CLAIM AND BRING SUIT TO

RECOVER DAMAGES AND MEDICAL EXPENSES AGAINST THE

10
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DRIVER. THE BILL PROVIDES THAT/ MOTOR VEHICLE LIABILITY
INSURANCE CARRIERS, ON A ROTATIONAL BASIS, SHALL BE
ASSIGNED TO DEFEND THE DRIVER AND PAY ANY JUDGMENTS UP
TO $25,000 AND SHALL BE REIMBURSED FROM THE UNINéURED
MOTORIST FUND IF THE INJURED PARTY PREVAILS IN THE
SUIT.
Major Findings:
a. People who do not own motor vehicles and thus
do not have motor vehicle insurance are afforded
no protections under the uninsured mbtorist laws.
If injured by an uninsured motorist they have no
means of recovering the damages and medical
expenses incurred as the result of the accident.
5. Although insurance coverage is available for

these people most are not aware of it.

4. THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY SHOULD PASS THE RESOLUTION
RECOMMENDED BY THE JOINT SUBCOMMITTEE THAT REQUESTS THE
DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES TO REPORT ANNUALLY TO THEM
REGARDING THE UNINSURED MOTORIST SITUATION IN VIRGINIA,
THEIR ATTEMPTS TO IMPROVE IT, AND THEIR EFFORTS TO
INFORM THE PUBLIC REGARDING THE UNINSURED MOTORIST
PROVISIONS.

Major Findings:

a. It is in the public interest that the General

Assembly is informed as to DMV's attempts to

reduce the number of uninsured motorists who have

not paid the uninsured motorist fee on the road

11
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and to educate the public regarding the uninsured
motorist provisions.

b. Many people, including some. of the employees at
DMV, believe that by paying the $300 uninsured
motorist fee uninsured motorists are purchasing
"state insurance" when, in reality, the payment of
the fee simply allows them to register and operate
the vehicle at their own risk but does not provide
any insurance coverage. DMV should seek ways, in
a&dition to their new brochure on the uninsured
motorist provisions, to ensure that the citizens

of this Commonwealth are aware of this.

5. THE TAXICAB INDUSTRY CURRENTLY HAS AVAILABLE TO IT MEANS
OF EFFECTIVELY DEALING WITH ITS OWN PROBLEMS, THEREFORE NO
LEGISLATIVE CHANGES ARE NECESSARY.
Major Findings:
a. Although insurance coverage for taxicabs is,
for the most part, unavailable in the wvoluntary
market, the Virginia Automobile Insurance Plan
(assigned risk) provides such coverage for 65.2
percent of the rate that would be charged in the
voluntary market if such coverage was available,
b. Taxicab drivers currently may form
self-insurance pools and establish their own risk
management programs such as defensive driver

training in attempts to reduce their insurance

costs.

12
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1 c. The recommendations of the joint subcommittee
2 established pursuant to SJR 22 to study tort and
3 insurance reforms should have a favorable impact
4 on taxicabs.

5 d. Since local ordinances determine taxicab

6 licensure, the authority to establish such

7 requirements should be left to the localities.

8

9 " REASONS FOR THE RECOMMENDATIONS

10

11 1. COMPULSORY MOTOR VEHICLE LIABILITY INSURANCE LAWS ARE NOT
12 1IN THE BEST INTEREST OF THE COMMONWEALTH.

13

14 In making this determination the joint subcommittee

15 examined: (a) Virginia's experience with uninsured

16 motorists including the administration of the Uninsured

17 Motorist Fund and the Department of Motor Vehicle's attempts
18 to track down uninsured motorists, and (b) the experience of
19 other states that have compulsory laws. Their findings,

20 including supporting data, follow.

21

22 A. Virginia's experience

23 1. Uninsured Motorist Fund

24 The joint subcommittee found that Virginia, with its

25 financial *‘responsibility and uninsured motorist provisions,
26 has been more successful than most states with compulsory

27 insurance laws in protecting its citizens from problems

28 caused by uninsured motorists. They learned that

13
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approximately 6.5 percent of the total number of motor
vehicles registered in the state are uninsured (DMV
estimate) and, unofficially, Virginia ranks in the top four
of all the states in the nation in terms of the number of
insured motor vehicles on the road. _

DMV testified before the subcommittee that when
Virginia residents register their motor vehicles with DMV
they must indicate on the application forms whether the
vehicle is insured or uninsured. If the vehicle is
uninsured the motorist must pay a $300 uninsured motorist
fee yet the payment of the fee provides no protection for
the motorist. The uninsured motorist fees collected by the
Department are placed in a special fund, part of which is
used by DMV for the administration of the fund and the
remainder of which is sent to the State Corporation
Commission for distribution to insurance companies

registered in the Commonwealth and writing bodily injury and

‘property damage liability insurance to reduce the costs of

uninsured motorist coverage. The Bureau of Insurance
indicated that the fees collected reduce uninsured motorist
premiums by $1 and that uninsured motorist coverage is
available at the very low cost of $16.00 for the first
vehicle on the policy and $14.00 for each additional
vehicle.

The joint subcommittee learned that, according to the
Office of the Fiscal Director, DMV collected $3,823,790.31
in uninsured motorist fees in fiscal year 1984-85 and that,

during that year 17,335 motorists paid the uninsured

14
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motorist fee. The subcommittee also learned that for any
given year there is no direct correlation between the number
of individuals who paid the fee and the revenues collected
for the following reasons: 1 - not all of those who are
found by DMV through its insurance monitoring programs
comply with the suspension orders - some ignore them and
continue to drive while others choose not to drive; 2 -
there is some time lag in complying with the suspehsion
orders; and 3 ~ 1in fiscal year 1984-85, the uninsured
motorist fee increased from $200 to $300 therefore those who
complied early in the year paid $2%+0 whereas those who
complied at a later date paid $300.

Of the $3.8 million collected by DMV in fiscal year
1984—85, $77,908.33 was refunded because, after hearings, it
was determined that some motorists did not owe the fees, and
$1,791,000 was appropriated to DMV for the administration of
the Fund. The remaining $1,954,881.98 was available for
distribution to insurance companies during fiscal year
1985~1986. DMV indicated that it has 121 persons working in
its Financial Responsibility Division which is re§ponsible

for the administration of the Uninsured Motorist Fund.

2. Insurance Monitoring Programs

The joint subcommittee found that the Department of
Motcr Vehicles has several insurance monitoring programs
which have been successful in locating uninsured motorists.
As mentioned earlier, they learned that during fiscal year

1984-85, 17,335 motorists paid the uninsured motorist fee,

15
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yet only 3,715 paid at the time of registration. The
remainder paid at a later date after being found by DMV
through its insurance monitoring programs.

DMV informed the subcommittee that it has recently
begqun a new insurance verification program which involves
the mailing of notices at the time of registration renewal
to motorists randomly selected by a computer to be filled
out with insurance information. It was explained that when
motorists do not respond to the first notice, a second
notice is sent to them and that, after an adequate amount of
time and notice, if the motorist fails to respond, his
registration will be suspended. Information supplied by the
motorists will then be verified with the insurance
cémpanies. DMV testified that as of the middle of
September, 40,000 notices had been sent out (averaging
1,100/day) and of those 40,000, 360 respondents admitted
that they did not have insurance. They, thus far, have only
had to send out 3,000 second notices, indicating a response
rate of over 90 percent. DMV indicated that the program has
not been in effect long enough to determine how many
individuals who indicated that they had insurance actually
did not. They indicated that, overall, they have had good
experience with this new program and have received a number
of positive comments from citizens regarding it. Although
they have had to work out a few minor problems with the
program, because of the good response regarding it, they are
considering expanding it to times other than registration.

The implementation of this new program has resulted in an

16
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increase in the number of suspensions and revenues resulting
therefrom.

Other igsurance verification programs used by DMV
including the following were explained to the joint
subcommittee:

(1) - The issuance of notices by police after they
have stopped motorists for traffic violations
or road checks.

DMV testified that this has been highly successful
in the number of suspension orders issued this year as
6,500 first notices resulted in 1,300 suspension
orders. They pointed out that the police do not issue
notices to e&eryone they stop, only to those who they
éuspect do not have insurance.

(2) - Police accident reports, which are forwarded to
DMV where action is taken to verify the insurance
information.

DMV indicated that this year 1,000 notices have
been sent out which have resulted in 366 suspension
orders. Once again they pointed out that the police do
not issue notices to everyone involved in an accident,

only those they suspect do not have insurance.
(3) - Conviction program.

DMV testified that they look at the pattern of
driver“offenses and when the offenses reach a certain
level, they send out a notice for verification of
insurance. So far this year, approximately 300 notices

have been sent out which have resulted in twenty

17
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suspensions.

DMV explained that the law used to provide that motor
vehicle registrants had to indicate on the registration
forms their insurance companies and policy numbers yet the
additional information requirement was not very successful
in discouraging those who would normally lie about having
insurance from lying about their insurance company and
policy number. Since most motorists did not know this
informétion off hand and since the information was never
verified by DMV, the law was repealed.

The joint subcommittee learned that for fifteen years
insurance companies were required by law to notify DMV of
thé cancellation of insurance within six months of such
cancellation yet this law was repealed July 1, 1986. DMV
testified that they found that much of this activity was
fruitless as most people secure insurance from another
insurance company after cancelling it and that they were
overwhelmed with the paperwork. They found that, in
general, uninsured motorists are not those who have

cancelled their insurance coverage but those who never had

it in the first place. Since all of DMV's efforts resulted

in the finding of only two percent of the uninsured they
replaced this with the new computer insurance verification
program.

The joint subcommittee discussed the feasibility of

having DMV's computer tied into the computers of insurance

companies so as to have immediate notification of insurance

18
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cancellations. It was explained that most insurers'
computers are not as sophisticated as DMV's and that many do
not have them. Currently sixteen insurers have on-line
access to DMV's files and are charged $2.00 for each inquiry
and those who do not have on-line access pay $3.00 for each
inquiry. One of the subcommittee members questioned the
appropriateness of a state agency having access to a private
company's files. It was determined that this type of

link-up might be feasible some time in the future.

B. Experience in other states:

As mentioned earlier, Virgiﬁia has been more successful
in protecting its citizens from the problems caused by
uninsﬁred motorists than most states with compulsory laws.

In studying compulsory laws the joint subcommittee
learned that:

1 - Thirty-four states and the District of Columbia

have compulsory motor vehicle liability insurance laws

which provide for penalties against those who fail to
maintain the required coverage, yet most have
difficulty enforcing the laws especially when drivers

(i) have not registered the vehicle or have not

obtained drivers' licenses, (ii) have allowed their

insurance to lapse, (iii) are new residents of the
staté who are still registered in another state, or

(iv) are not residents of the state, or (v) have stolen

the vehicles.

19
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1 2 - Compulsory insurance laws rarely reduce the level
2 of uninsured motorists beyond a few percentage points
3 thus leaving innocent drivers unprotected from
4 uninsured motorists whb avoid the system. Those who
5 wish to avoid the system still may by purchasing
6 insurance prior to registration so as to have "proof"
7 and cancelling it immediately thereafter. This is
8 evidenced by (i) Florida's estimation that one-third of
S its drivers do not have the coverage required by law,
10 and (ii) an estimated fifteen to twenty percent of the
11 drivers in New York and Pennsylvania remaining
12 uninsured. West Virginia recently enacted a compulsory
13 law which has resulted in considerably fewer of their
14 | drivers being insured because no one will enforce the
15 law.
16
17 3 -The insurance industry's position on such laws is
18 that they have not achieved their intended purpose and
19 often have worked against the interests of motor
20 vehicle owners, taxpayers, insurance policyholders and
21 the general public.
22
23 4 - Compulsory insurance laws do not take into
24 consideration an individual's ability to pay as a
25 person may have to chose between purchasing insurance
26 (or paying the uninsured motorist fee) or feeding his
27 family.
28

20
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5 - Such plans are expensive to operate. This is
illustrated by New York's spending $4 million, North
Carolina's spending $3.4 million, and Maryland's
spending $1.5 million to administer and enforce such
plans. The costs are ultimately passed on to the

consumers.

2. THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY SHOULD PASS THE BILL RECOMMENDED BY
THE JOINT SUBCOMMITTEE THAT INCREASES THE PENALTIES FOR
DRIVING AN UNINSURED MOTOR VEHICLE WITHOUT HAVING PAID THE
UNINSURED MOTORIST FEE. THE BILL PROVIDES THAT WHEN CAUGHT
AN UNINSURED MOTORIST WHO HAS FAILED TO PAY THE FEE FOR THE
CURRENT YEAR SHALL BE REQUIRED TO PAY ANY FEES IN ARREARS
FOR TﬁE THREE PRECEDING CALENDAR YEARS PLUS PENALTIES AND

INTEREST THEREON BEFORE HAVING HIS LICENSE REISSUED.

The joint subcommittee found that the current penalties
for operating an uninsured motor vehicle without having paid
the $300 uninsured motorist fee are not sufficient to
discourage motorists from violating the law. DMV, however,
indicated that the current penalties are severe enough and
serve as good deterrents to driving uninsured and without
having paid the uninsured motorist fee.

DMV informed the subcommittee that any person who
operates an uninsured motor vehicle without first having
paid the uninsured motorist fee or who presents a false
certificate of insurance to DMV is guilty of a traffic

infraction which is punishable by a fine of up to $500. The

21
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drivers' license, registration certificate and license
plates of such person are suspended until the person pays
the uninsured motorist fee and files proof of financial
responsibility for the next three years. If the uninsured
motorist fee is not paid within fifteen days of notice, the
motorist is also charged a $30 reinstatement fee.

DMV further testified that an uninsured motor vehicle
owner who has not paid the uninsured motorist fee and who is
involved in an accident, will have his drivers' license,
registfation and license plates suspended until he has paid
the uninsured motorist fee, provided proof of financial
responsibility for the next three years, and satisfied any
judgments against him resulting from the accident. In
addition, any motorist who has had his license, etc.
suspended may not have another car registered under his name
until his drivers' license has been reinstated.

The joint subcommittee decided that the penalties
should be increased so as to discourage motorists from
driving uninsured and without having paid the uninsured
motorist fee. They recommended that, when caught, an
uninsured motorist who has failed to pay the uninsured
motorist fee for the current year should be required to pay
(i) any fees in arrears for the three preceding calendar
years; (ii) a penalty of five percent of the fees unpaid for

that three-year period; and (iii) interest on the fees

‘unpaid for that three-year period.

A copy of this legislation which was to be introduced

by Delegate Morgan appears as Appendix 1 to this report.

22
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3. THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY SHOULD PASS THE BILL
RECOMMENDED BY THE JOINT SUBCOMMITTEE THAT GIVES PEOPLE
WHO DO NOT OWN MOTOR VEHICLES AND THUS DO NOT HAVE
MOTOR VEHICLE INSURANCE THE RIGHT, WHEN INJURED BY AN
ﬁNINSURED DRIVER, TO FILE A CLAIM AND BRING SUIT TO
RECOVER DAMAGES AND MEDICAL EXPENSES AGAINST THE
DRIVER. THE BILL PROVIDES THAT MOTOR VEHICLE LIABILITY
INSURANCE CARRIERS, ON A ROTATIONAL BASIS, SHALL BE
ASSIGNED TO DEFEND THE DRIVER AND PAY ANf JUDGMENTS UP
TO $25,000 AND SHALL BE REIMBURSED FROM THE UNINSURED
MOTORIST FUND IF THE INJURED PARTY PREVAILS IN THE

SUIT.

The joint subcommittee found that there are pedestrians
in this Commonwealth who do not own motor vehicles and thus
do not have no automobile insurance who are afforded no
protections under the uninsured motorist laws. They were
concerned about those who are hit by uninsured motorists not
having any means of recovering the damages and medical
expenses resulting from the injury. The Bureau of Insurance
indicated that although uninsured motorist coverage may be
purchased by persons who wish to be protected against bodily
injury and property damage caused by uninsured motorists for
$18/year for~25/50/10 limits, most pegple are not aware of
this and that some insurance companies do not provide it
since it is not mandated by law. Companies which are

members of the Insurance Services Office, however, do make
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such coverage available. The Bureau indicated, however,
that information regarding this type of insurance is not
included in a general insurance information booklet
published by them.

The joint subcommittee discussed possible solutions to
the problem and determined that legislation recommended by
Delegate Cohen should be passed to give those pedestrians
who do not own a car and thus do not have automobile
insurance, who are injured or killed by an uninsured dfiver
the riéht to file a claim and bring suit to recover damages,
medical and hospital expenses, and costs incidental to the
accident up to $25,QOO against the uninsured driver. The
legislation provides that insurance carriers writing motor
vehicle liability insurance in the Commonwealth should be
assigned, on a rotational basis, to defend the uninsured
driver and pay any judgments rendered up to $25,000 and that
the insurance carriers would then be reimbursed, if the
injured person prevails, from the uninsured motorist fund
for the loss plus any expenses incurred in the suits and
which were not recovered from the uninsured driver. A copy
of this bill which was to be introduced by Delegate Cohen

appears as Appendix 2 to this report.

4. THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY SHOULD PASS THE RESOLUTION

RECOMMENDED BY THE JOINT SUBCOMMITTEE THAT REQUESTS THE
DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES TO REPORT ANNUALLY TO THEM
REGARDING THE UNINSURED MOTORIST SITUATION IN VIRGINIA,

THEIR ATTEMPTS TO IMPROVE IT, AND THEIR EFFORTS TO
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INFORM THE PUBLIC REGARDING THE UNINSURED MOTORIST

PROVISIONS.

The joint subcommittee felt that it is in the public
interest that the General Assembly should be informed as to
the Department of Motor Vehicles' efforts to reduce, through
their insurance monitoring programs, the number of uninsured
motorists who have not paid the uninsured motorist fees. As
explained earlier, their progféms have been successful in
locating uninsured motorists. ~

The joint subcommittee was concerned that many people
who are paying the $300 uninsured motorist fee believe that
they are covered by some type of "state insurance" and thus
are nét aware that their personal assets could be taken to
satisfy judgments resulting from accidents they cause.
Testimony revealed that an employee of DMV, when asked about
the $300 fee, said that it was for "state insurance". The
Department of Motor Vehicles indicated that motor wvehicle
registration application forms clearly indicate that the
payment of the fee does not provide insurance coverage and
that they are in the process of preparing a brochure
regarding the uninsured motorist provisions that may be
distributed with registration application, through insurance
companies or at branch offices.

The subcommittee, however, felt thaﬁ DMV should
continue to seék ways of educating the public, through
public service announcements, etc., about the uninsured

motorist provisions and that the General Assembly should be
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informed as to the educational methods used. A copy of the
resolution requesting DMV to report annually to the General

Assembly appears as Appendix 3 to this report.

5. THE TAXICAB INDUSTRY CURRENTLY HAS AVAILABLE TO IT MEANS

OF EFFECTIVELY DEALING WITH ITS OWN PROBLEMS THEREFORE NO

LEGISLATIVE CHANGES ARE NEEDED.

In making this determination the joint subcommittee
examined the current taxicab situation in Virginia and how
the Virginia Automobile Insurance Plan (assigned risk)
operates, and considered the concerns and recommendations
presented to them by taxicab drivers. Their findings

supporting their recommendations, follow.

A. Current Taxicab Situation

After examininé the current taxicab situation and the
assigﬁed risk plan, the joint subcommittee found that
although insurance coverage for taxicabs is for the most
part unavailable in the voluntary market, the Virginia
Automobile Insurance Plan (assigned risk) provides such
coverage for 65.2 percent of the rate that would be charged
in the voluntary market if such coverage was available.

The joint subcommittee learned that taxicabs, trucks
and busses are required by law to have insurance and that
the majority of taxicab owners in Virginia are unable to
obtain insurance coverage in the voluntary market and thus

must resort to the assigned risk plan for coverage.
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Testimony revealed that one hundred percent of the drivers
in Alexandria and fifty percent of those in Arlington are in
the assigned risk plan (the geographic areas differ so
because of the makeup of the industry). Insurance companies
in the voluntary market avoid this type of coverage because
of the extremely high risk of exposure that taxicabs
present.

It was pointed out to the subcommittee that since
Virginia is under a competifive rating system, insurance
companies may file and use whatever rules and rates they
desire. They, therefore, do not have to offer taxicab
insurance. Those insurers that, on occasion, write taxicab
liability insurance, generally charge rates in excess of
those charged by the VAIP since many do not have data upon
which to accurately predict future rates and therefore must
include in their rates factors for uncertainty. Some
companies belong to ISO (Insurance Services Office), a
rating organization that files rates on their behalf because

it has the statistical data to accurately determine rates.

B. Virginia Automobile Insurance Plan

The Bureau of Insurance provided the following
information regarding the VAIP tohthe joint subcommittee.
The assignéd risk plan was established to provide a market
for those 'risks which most insurance companies will not
assume for any price. Virginia law requires prior approval
of the rates and rules used in the VAIP by the State

Corporation Commission to ensure that rates are not
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excessive, inadequate or unfairly discriminatory. Since the
majority of all taxicabs are written under the VAIP plan, it
has the statistical data available so that an uncertainty
factor is not used in determining their rates like it is for
insurers in the voluntary market . Insurance for commercial
vehicles, including taxicabs, is based on the use of the
vehicle and not the individual driving records of the
operators as it is in the case of private passenger
vehicles, since most commercial vehicles are driven by a
number of operators. As mentioned earlier, the VAIP
currently charges 65.2 percent of what the voluntary market
would charge for taxicab insurance if such insurance was
offered.

| The VAIP provides for the sharing among subscribers of
losses, expenses and premiums associated with the risks.
Currently there are three designated Commercial and
Automobile‘lnsurance Procedure servicing carriers which are
the only insurers writing taxicab insurance coverage under
the plan. These include: American Casualty Company of
Reading, Pennsylvania (CNA), Liberty Mutual Insurance
Company, and the Travelers Indemnity Company. Applications
for coverage are assigned to these so that each receives
"equal portion" of the total premium for "all other" risks
assigned. All other commercial automobile insurance
companies pay into theé plan a prescribed fee based on the
volume of business written and losses are shared by all on a
proportionate basis at the end of the year.

The Plan uses several rating factors in determining

28
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rates for taxicabs including:

1. territory;

2. fleet or non-fleet (there is no difference in these
rates for taxis);

3. radius class (local-up to 50 miles, intermediate
- 51-200, long disﬁance - over 200);

4. base rate; and

5. increased limits (over $60,000).

Taxicab owners are required by the Commission to carry’
single limits of $60,000 unless higher liﬁits are required
by local ordinances such as Alexandria's which requires that
they carry 100/300 limits.

Owner-operated taxis (those where there is only one
taxi>ﬁhich is operated by the named insured) receive a
twenty-five percent discount on their insurance written
under the Plan. This discount was suggested several years
ago by the Bureau of Insurance to give relief to those who
own and operate their own taxis. Although they had no
statistical data to support this discount, they felt that
the logic of it - that the taxi will be operated fewer hours
and the owner will be more protective of it and operate it
more carefully - appears reasonable. Virginia is the only
state in the nation that provides this discount.

The Plan also contains an Experience Rating Plan which
is mandatory for owners of five or more taxicabs. Under

this, the loss of experience of risk is utilized in

calculating an "Experience Modification" which is applied to

the premium for the risk which will either increase or
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decrease such premium based upon the loss experience.

A representative of the Automobile Insurance Plan
Service Office (AIPSO) which is responsible for the
administration of the assigned risk plén testified that the
rates under the assigned risk plan have increased fifty to
sixty percent in the last two years but still are 65.2
percent of what they would be in the wvoluntary market. The
last increase, effective April 1, 1985, was twenty-six
percent and the one prior to that, effective January 1,
1984, was thirty-three percent. Attached as Appendix 4 is a
chart illustrating the increases for the different
territories from November, 1981, to the present. The Bureau
of Insurance indicated during one of the meetings that the
réte increase have been justified and that it is not
uncommon for rates to go up as practically everyone's has

recently.

C. Concerns and Recommendations of the Taxicab Industry

The substantial increase in taxicab rates was one of
the primary concerns of taxicab drivers testifying before
the joint subcommittee. They were also concerned about the
methods used to determine their rates, how they can control
their rates, and the lack of communication between them and
insurers.

The taxicab drivers testified that they are slowly
being pushed out of the business because of the high
operating and insurance costs. All indicated that their

insurance premiums have increased exorbitantly despite their
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good records. The testimony revealed that the gross income
of the average taxicab driver averaged $20,000/yr. yet it
was pointed out that this did not include tips which could
be substantial and that, unlike most businesses, taxicab
drivers are unable to rai;e their fares to cover increased
operating and insurance costs because such fares are
regulated by the ordinance of the county or city within
which they operate. Fifty percent of the taxicabs in the
nation have gone out of busiﬁess in the last five yeérs
because of high operating costs. The following are examples
of the rates and rate changes of some of the drivers:

1. A northern Virginia owner/driver experiencéd a

premium increase of 124 percent between 1981 and 1985

despite his 25 percent discount. |

2. An Arlington driver paid $1300/cab in 1984 and

$2344,/cab in 1985.

3. A Northern Virginia driver, in 1984, paid $1200/cab

(including collision covefage) and, in 1985, paid

$2300/cab (excluding collision coverage).

4. A Northern Virginia driver's rates have gone up in

the same propcrtion as other Northern Virginia drivers

yet his insurance company has had to pay out only

$176.00 in 15 years.

5. A Northern Virginia driver who used to pay $250/year

for ziability insurance and now pays $3,400 for full

coverage under the VAIP despite the fact that he has

had no accidents.

The representative from the AIPSO explained that for
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the $60,000 single limits insurance coverage required by the
state, a driver in Alexandria would have to pay $1,889
($1,417 if an owner/driver) under the assigned risk program.
He provided the following comparison of rates in other

states with Virginia's to the jéint subcommittee.

City Annual Premium (per cab)
Philadelphia $10, 300
Pittsburgh 3,931
Cincinnati 3,251
Cleveland ‘ 4,252
Charleston, W.Va. 2,542
Atlanta 4,078
Alexandria 1,889

It was explained further that in all other
jurisdictions if a driver is at fault in an accident or has
a moving traffic violation, he will pay twenty-five to fifty
percent more and that although Yellow Cab of Philadelphia,
the largest cab company in the country, is experience-rated,
it pays over $10,000/cab/year in insurance premiums.
Regardless of their driving records or experience, all
Virginia taxicab drivers in the same territory_pay the same
and are treated the same because their rating classification
is based on risk exposure. Many drivers testified that the
placement of all drivers in the same category regardless of
their driving records is unfair as those with good records
must pay the same‘rate as those who do not.

The AIPSO representative addressed the taxicab drivers

concerns that rates are not being based on éctual claims

32



T1TAXICAB

1

O 0 N o0 U d W DN

I R R T e o S o T o N N
O VW 00 N OO0 o b WD = O

V]
=

22
23
24
25
26
27
28

basis but on an arbitrary basis by explaining that insurers
use sixty-three months of loss experience/development
history and, when they make liability insurance filings with
the Bureau they supply them with ten years loss experience
with the last five years being used in the filings. For
property damage they use thirty-nine months of loss
experience as a twenty year study showed that 99.4 percent
of property damage claims are settled within this time
period. \As mentioned earli;r, the Bureau of Insurance
indicated that all rate increases in the VAIP have been
justified.

Owners of taxicab fleets also presented their problems
to the joint subcommittee. A representative of Yellow Cab
of Noffolk testified that between 1981 and 1985 they
experienced a 500 percent increase in rates yet the
insurance company had to pay out nowhere near that. He
indicated that they paid Allied Fidelity $1,200/cab/year yet
they had a $25,000 deductible and now pay $3,800/cab/year
under the assigned risk plan for first dollar coverage.

Most of their losses have been under $1,000. Their insurer
has not had to pay out more than $30,000 this year and, in
the last twenty years their worst claim was only $140,000.

A fleet-owner from Northern Virginia with 450-500 cabs
who self-insures for the first $50,000 testified that he
currently has excess insurance with Allied Fidelity and pays
$2,500/cab/year; In the last five years their insurer has .
paid out $250,000 in claims which, fof 500 cabs is very

little and the highest claim ever paid was for $75,000. A
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fleet-owner from Prince William County who, under the
assigned risk plan pays $7,100/year for five cabs, testified
that he was informed by his insurance agent that it was not
feasible for him to self-insure unless his premiums exceeded
$50,000. He indicated that his largest claim was $3,378 and
that his loss experience is thirty-five percent meaning that
his insurer paid out only 35¢ per $1.QO of premiums
collected.

The AIPSO representative testified that under the
assignéd risk plan, those with five or more cabs are
experience-rated. It, therefore, is to fleet-owners'
advantage for their drivers to have clear driving records.
It is also to the advantage of those who self-insure for the
first $25,000 or $50,000 of a claim and who obtain excess
insurance in the voluntary market to have good experience.
Several fleet owners indicated that they screen their
drivers, require DMV records for the last three years and
require that they attend and pass a defensive driving
school, when it is economically advantageous in terms of
lower premiums for them to require such training. It was
pointed out that large fleets that self-insure have more
incentives to do so yet small companies have no economic
incentive to require'any training because they are going to
pay the same rate regardless of their drivers' records and
have no way to recoup the training costs. To qualify as a
self-insurer taxicab drivers must file a letter of credit
for $125,0001with the State Corporation Commission.

Several taxicab drivers presented their solutions to
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the industry's problem, most of which the joint subcommittee
determined could already be done by the industry. For
example, requests were made for having legislation drafted
to establish certain residential and driver training
requirements and to enable taxicab drivers to form
self-insurance pools. The joint subcommittee determined
that these are areas that can be addressed by the industry
on ité own without the need of specific legislation. They
felt that taxicabs can establish pools or risk management
programs such as defensive driver traininé programs now if
they want to.

The taxicab drivers also requested that something be.
done to open communications between taxicab drivers, the
assigﬁed risk plan and insurers as they sometimes are not
aware that their drivers have been in accidents until a
bill, requesting additional premiums, arrives. The joint
subcommittee once again determined that a working
relationship between all parties involved could be
accomplished without legislation.

One of the taxicab drivers testifying before the joint
subcommittee indicated that when he was able to obtain
insurance in the voluntary market he had had an agreement
with his drivers and his insurance company that the drivers
would pay the first $500 of a claim. Because of this
deductible, his drivers were much more careful and thus he
had in fewer claims. He suggested that taxicab drivers
should be given the option of having a deductible as it

would reduce their premiums. At first it was believed that
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a deductible on liability insurance was not permitted by
Virginia law yet the Bureau of Insurance found that there is
a form which provides for a deductible on liability
insurance where the insurer is required to pay all of the
deductible amount to effect settlement of a claim, but the
named insured is required to reimburse the insurer for the
deductible amount. This does not conflict with the law
since the insurer is still ultimately responsible for the
full aﬁount to effect the settlement of a claim. It puts
the insurer in a position to collect the deductible from the
insured and to underwrite not only the loss expérience of
the taxicab drivers but their credit history as well.
Attached to this report as Appendix 5 are two pages from the
Insurance Service Office rules and rates manual which
governs the operation of the assigned risk plan that have to
do with deductibles for liabiiity insurance.

Several taxicab drivers also recommended that tort
reforms such as caps on pain and suffering awards, the
abolishment of punitive damages in civil litigation, etc.
and insurance reforms such as rate roll-backs be considered
as they felt such reforms would help reduce their rates.

The joint subcommittee determined ﬁhat, after reviewing the
major tort and insurance revisions made by Florida and
taking into consideration that tort and insurance reforms
are currently being contemplated by a joint subcommittee
established pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution No. 22, the
recommendation of the SJR 22 subcommittee should have a

favorable impact on insurance premiums.
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The joint subcommittee heard a number of complaints
regarding the requirements of local ordinances for taxicabs
but felt that since taxicab licensure is the responsibility
of localities, the authority to set such requirements should
be left with the localities. It was pointed out that
Arlington requires taxicab drivers to purchase a new cab
every six years which creates additional financial burdens
on the drivers. It was also pointed out that Yellow Cab of
Richmond used to have ZéO cabs yet now has twelve because of
an antiquated ordinance. The Virginia Téxicab Association
noted, however, that they are trying to help the City of

Richmond in updating its ordinance.
CONCLUSION

The joint subcommittee expresses its appreciation to
all parties who participated in this study. The group's -
recommendations have been made and offered only after
careful and thorough study Bf the issues. The subcommittee
believes that its recommendations are in the best interest

of the Commonwealth, and it encourages the General Assembly
to adopt its recommendations.

Respectfully submitted,

Gladys B. Keating

Frank W. Nolen

Bernard S. Cohen
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William E. Fears
Harvey B. Morgan
Richard L. Saslaw

William T. Wilson
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SENATE BILL NO. ......... ... HOUSE BILL NO.
A BILL to amend and reenact § 46.1-167.3 of the Code of

Virginia, relating to operating an uninsured motor
‘vehicle without paying the fee; penalties.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:

l. That § 46.1-167.3 of the Code of Virginia is amended and
reenacted as follows:

§ 46.1-167.3. Operating uninsured motor vehicle without
payment of fee; furnishing certificéte of insurance; false
evidence of insurance.--Any person owning an uninsured motor
vehicle (1) licensed in this Commonwealth, or (2) subject to
fegistration and license in this Commonwealth, or (3)
displaying temporary license plates provided for in §
46.1-121 who operates or permits the operation of such motor
Vehicle without first haviﬁg paid to the Commissioner the
required motor vehicle fee, to be disposed of as provided by
§ 46.1-167.6, shall be guilty of a traffic infraction
punishable by a fine not to exceed $500.

Any person who is the operator of such an uninsured
motor vehicle and not the titled owner, who knows that the
requirgd fee has not been paid to the Commissioner, shall be
gquilty of'a traffic infraction punishable by'a fine not to

exceed $500.

The Commissioner, or his duly authorized agent, having
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good reason to believe that a motdr vehicle is operated or
has been operated on any specified date, may require the
owner of such motor vehicle to submit the certificate of
insurance provided for by § 46.1-167.1. The refusal or
neglect of the owner, who has not prior to the date of
operation paid the fee required by § 46.1-167.1 as to such
motor vehicle to furnish such certificate shall be prima
facie evidence that the motor vehicle was an uninsured motor
vehicle at the time of such operation.

Any person who presents or causes to be presented to
the Commissioner a false certificate that a motor vehicle is
an insured motor vehicle or false evidence that a motor
vehicle sought to be registered is an insured motor vehicle,

shall be guilty of a traffic infraction punishable by a fine

not to exceed $500.

However, the foregoing portions of this section shall
not be applicable if it is established that such owner had
good cause to believe and did believe that such motor
vehicle was an insured motor vehicle, in which event the
provisions of § 46.1-59 shall be applicable.

Abstracts of records of conviction, as defired in this
title, of any violation of any of the provisions of this
section shall be forwarded to the Commissioner as prescribed
by § 46.1-413.

The Commissioner shall suspend the driver's license and
all registration certificates and license plates of any
titled owner of an uninsured motor vehicle upon receiving -

record of his conviction of a violation of any provisions of
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this section, and he shall Qot_thereafter reissue the
d:iver's license and the registration certificates and
license plates issued in the name of such person until such
person shat: pay has gaid the fee applicable to the
registration of an uninsured motor vehicle as prescribed in
§ 46.1-167.1 and shaii have ggg;furnished proof of future
financial responsibility as prescribed by Article 6 (§

46.1-467 et seqg.) of Chapter & of this title. 1In addition,

the Commissioner shall require such person to pay: (i) any

fees applicable to the registration of an uninsured motor

vehicle as prescribed in § 46.1-167.1 which are in arrears

for the three calendar vears preceding the year in which

such suspension occurred:; (ii) a penalty of five percent of

the fees unpaid for that three-year period: and (iii)

interest on the fees unpaid for that three-year period at a

rate as vrescribed in § 58.1-15, from one month after such

fees were originally due until paid. However, when three

years have elapsed from the date of the suspension herein
required, the Commissioner may relieve such person of the
reguirement of furnishing proof of future financial
responsibility. When such suspension results from a
conviction for presenting or causing to be presented to the
Commissioner a false certificate as to whether a motor
vehicle is an insured motor vehicle or false evidence that
any motor vehicle sought to be registered is insured, then
the Commissioner shall not thereafter reissﬁe the driver's
license and the registration certificates and license plates

issued in the name of such person so convicted for a period
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of 180 days from the date of such order of suspension, and
only then when all other provisions of law have been
complied with by such person.

The Commissioner shall suspend the driver's license of
any person who is the operator but not the titled owner of a
motor vehicle upon receiving a record of his conviction of a
violation of any provisions of this section and he shall not
thereafter reissue the driver's license until thirty days

from the date of such order of suspension.
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be assigned on a rotational basis to defend such suits. The

State Corporation Commission shall have the power to

promulgate rules and regulations to assure that the

assignment of such carriers is done in an orderlv manner and

is fair and reasonable.

C. The provisions of § 38.2-2206, to the extent they

are not inconsistent with this secticn, shall apply to

claims brought hereunder.

D. If such injured person or the estate of such

deceased prevails in its suit, the carrier shall be

reimbursed annually from the fund for the loss plus expenses

incurred by virtue of these suits énd which are not

recovered from the uninsured motorist.
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APPENDIX 2

SENATE BILL NO. ............ HOUSE BILL NO. ............

A BILL to amend the Code of Virginia by adding in Chapter 30
of Title 38.2 a section numbered 38.2-3002, relating to

the uninsured motorist fund.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia:
1. That the Code of Virginia is amended by adding in
Chapter 30 of Title 38.2 a section numbered 38.2-3002 as

follows:

§ 38.2-3002. Suits by uninsured pérsons.--A. Whenever

a person who does not own a motor vehicle and who is not

insured within the meaning of § 38.2-2206 is injured or

kKilled by the driver of an uninsured motor wvehicle, that

person or his estate, as the case may be, shall have the

right to file a claim and bring suit to recover damages,

medical and hospital expenses, and costs incident to the

accident up to $25,C00 against the uninsured driver. A copy

of the suit papers shall be delivered to the State

Corporation Commission. An insurance carrier licensed to

write and writing motor vehicle liability insurance in this

Commonwealth shall be assigned to defend the uninsured

driver and pay any judgment rendered up to $25,000, or %o

compromise or settle anv claim.

B. Insurance carriers licensed to write and writing

motor vehicle liability insurance in this Commonwealth shall
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APPENDIX 3

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO
Requesting the Department of Motor Vehicles to report

annually to the General Assembly on the uninsured

motorist situation in Virginia and the Department's
efforts to improve it.

WHEREAS, in recent years concern has increased over the
effectiveness of Virginia's motor vehicle liability
insurance laws in protecting its citizens from potential
losses ;nd injury caused by uninsured motorists; and

WHEREAS, a joint subcommittee established pursuant to
House Joint Resolution No. 43 of the 1986 Session to study
this matter and the insurance rates for taxicabs was
concerned over the number of uninsured motorists on the road
who had not paid the $300 uninsuréd motorist fee and the
fact that many people do not understand that the payment of
the fee does not provide them with any insurance coverage;
aéd

WHEREAS, the joint subcommittee found thaﬁ the
Department of Motor Vehicles has several insurance

monitoring programs which have been successful in locating

uninsured motorists, the newest of which entails the mailing

of letters requesting insurance information to motorists
randomly selected by a computer; and
WHEREAS, this program has increased the number of

suspension orders and the revenues resulting therefrom; and
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WHEREAS, although DMV indicated that it has prepared a
brochurg explaining the uninsured motorist provisions and
the insurance monitoring.programs, the.joint subcommitteei
feels that DMV should seek other means, such as public
service announcements, of informing the public that the
payment of the uninsured motorist fee does not provide
insurance coverage; and

WHEREAS, the joint subcommittee ﬁeels that it is in the

best interest of the citizens of this Commonwealth that the

'General Assembly is informed about the Department of Motor

Vehicle's efforts to reduce the number of uninsured
motorists on the road and to educate the public regarding
the uninsured motorist provisions; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate
concerning, That the Department of Motor Vehicles is hereby
requested to report annually to the General Assembly certéin
information regarding the uninsured motorist gituation in
Virginia, the Department's efforts to improve the situation, .
and its methods of educating the public regarding the
uninsured motorist provisions. The report shall include
information on the following and any other information the
Department deems appropriate:

1. The number of uninsured motorisgé who have
voluntarily paid the $300 fee and who paid the fee only
after being found by DMV;

2. The total amount of uninsured motorist fees
collected, the amount appropriate to DMV for its

administrative expenses, and the net amount available for
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distribution to insurance companies;
3. Its insurance monitoring programs, including the
results, costs, and any changes made iﬁ the programs; and
4. Its efforts to educate the public regarding the

uninsured motorist provisions.
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VIRGINIA AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE PLA?D

TAXICAB PREMIUMS FOR MINIMUM LIMITS OF LIABILITY

Effective Territory
Dates 25
April 1, 1985
to (" $1,889
Present
January 1, 1984
to 1009 ﬁ $1,454

March 31, 1985

November 1, 1981 )
to _$ 945
December 31, 1983

Explanatory Notes:

.

U'l.b?.?(\')r—-
. .

30%

Territory
2
(™ $3,086
309
$2,376

20%

_ $1,985

Territory 25 includes Tairfax County and the City of Alexandria.
Territory 2 includes Norfolk and Virginia Beach.

Territory 3 includes Richinond and portions of Henrico County and Chesterfield County.
Territory 11 includes the City and County of Roanoke.

. The minimum limits policy during the pcriod 11/1/81 to 12/31/83 is a $25,000/$50,000/$10,000 split limit policy.

12/31/83 the minimum limits policy is a $60,000 single limit policy.
6. The values shown outside of the brackets are percentage increases in premiums.

55% <

Tefritory
3
™ $2,999
30%
$2,309
20%
L $1,929

125% <

Territory
11

[ $1,481

\After



o APPENDIX 5 CP 03 55
'-{“; : (€d. 1.74)
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This endorsement modifies such insurance as 1s afforded by the provisions of the policy relating to the followsng: T
COMPREHENSIVE AUTOMOBILE LIABILITY INSURANCE
BASIC AUTOMOBILE LIABILITY INSURANCE
GARAGE INSURANCE
DEDUCTIBLE LIABILITY INSURANCE
SCHEDULE
Coverage Deductible Amount Basis
Bodily lnjury Liabiitys . $ each claim
b ' each occurrence
Property Damage Liability s each occurrence
1t is agreed that:

1. Under any coveragefor which a deductible amount 15 designated 1n the schedule of this endorsement. the company shail be liable, _up_to _the himit of
- liability stated in_the policy. only for the amount of damages otherwisé payable thereunder in excess, of such deductible amount.

2. Al the other terms of the policy shall apply as if the company were liable for Such deductible amount.
3. The deductible amounts stated in the schedule apply as follows: ’

(3) PER CLAIM BASIS—If the deduchble is on a “per claim™ basis. the deductible amount applies under the Badily Injury Liability Coverage to all
damages because of bodily injury sustained by one person, as the result of any one occurrence.

(b) PER OCCURRENCE BASIS—If the deductible is on a “per occurrence” tasis the deductible applies
(i) under the Bodily Injury Liability Coverage to all damages because of ali bodily injury or
(i) under the Property Damage Liability Coverage to alt damages because of all property damage as a result of any one occurrence.

4. The company sha!l pay all of the deductible amount to effect settlement of any claim or swt. and upon notification of the action taken, the named
insured shall promptly reimburse the company for the deductible amount which has been paid by the company.

This endorsement must be attached to the Change Endorsement when issued after the pohicy is wiillen.

CP 03 55 (Ed.1-74)

83 CP 03 56
M (Ed. 1-78)
This endorsement modilies such isurance as is attorded by the provistons of the pohicy relating to the following:

COMPREHENSIVE AUTOMOBILE LIABILITY INSURANCE
BASIC AUTOMOBILE LIABILITY INSURANCE

Y
RN
oy o®

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA EMPLOYEES
USING AUTOMOBILES IN GOVERNMENT BUSINESS
1 15 agreed that the insurance does not apply to the following as insureds:
1. The District of Columbia or any of its Agencres. !

2. Any person, including the named insured. with respect to bodily injury or property damage resulting from the operation of an automabile by such per-
son as an employee of the District of Columbia while acting within the scope of his office or employment, if such person is relieved from habiiity
because of the provisions of Public Law 86-654 (District of Columbia Employee Non-Liabihity Act), as amended.

This endorsement myst be attached to the Change Endorsement when issued after the policy is weitten.
CP 03 56 (ed.1-79)



COMMERCIAL LINES MANUAL
DIVISION ONE—AUTOMOBILE

l 26. DEDUCTIBLE INSURANCE ]

®© A. Liability Coverages(Class Code 9771). i iability is written
on a deductible basis, the deductible applies to owned and
non-owned coverage. The deductible amount applies to the
loss portion of the claim and not the expenses mcurred by
the company.

1. Compute the premium by muitiplying the full cover-
age $25,000 bedily injury and property damage iiability
premium by the factor selected below:

Deductible
amount Factor
$ 250 .92
500 .88
- 1,000 .83
2.500 .75
5,000 .69
15,000 .58
20,00C .47
25,000 .42.
2. Example:
$50.000 bodily injury and property damage liability
limit with a2 $250 deductible

a. Premium for $25.C00 full coverage—$80
5. $250 deductible factor—.92

c. 25,000 limit with a $22G deductible premium—
($80 X .92) = $73.6C

d. increased limit factor for $50,000 limit — 1.24
6. Increment factor over $25,000 limit — .24
f. Doilar increment amount — ($80 X .24) = $19.20

g. Premium for $50.000 bodily injury and property
damage liability with a2 $250 deductible — ($73.60
plus $19.20) = £52.8C

h. For deductibies not shown, 1 erer to company.

B. Physical damage coverages. For deductibles not shown
on the state rate pages compute the premiums as follows:

1. Comprehensive deductibles
a. Private passenger types.

{1) $2590 cdeductible (Coverage Code 055) —
multiply the' $5C deductible comprehensive pre-
mium by .65.

(2) $500 deductible (Coverage Code 726) —

multiply the $50 deductible comprehensive pre-
mium by .55.

{3) $1,000 deductible (Coverage Code 727) —
multiply the $50 ceductible comprehensive pre-
mium by .50. -

b. All automobiles except private passenger types
and zone rated risks.

(1) $50 deductibie {Coverage Code 003) —
multiply the fulf comprehensive rate by .70.

{2) 3100 deductiie (Coverage Code 010) —
multiply the full comprehensive rate by .65.

CA-11

SECTION I}
COMMON RATING

(3) $250 deductible (Coverage Code 055) — |
multiply the full comprehensive rate by .60. )

(4) $500 deductibie (Coverage Code 726) -
muiltiply the full comprehensnve rate by .50.

(5) $1000 deductible (Coverage Code 727) _
multiply the full comprehensive rate by .45.

c. Heavy and extra-heavy trucks and truck-tractors,. ;
trailer types and public automobiles oniy. d

$2.,000 deductible (Coverage Code 069) — multiply
the full comprehensive rate by .40.

d. Extra-heavy trucks and truck-tractors only.

$3.000 deductible (Coverage Code 069) — multiply

the full comprehensive rate by .36.

e. Zone rated risks. s
(1) Determine the $4501-6000 full comprehensive

rate for the same age group as the automobile being
rated.

(2) Multiply that rate by the applicable factor for the
deductible desired. '

(3) Subtract the result from the full comprehensive
rate for the original cost new and age group that
applies to the automobile being rated.

(4) $2,000 and $3,000 deductibles do not apply to
automobiles with an original cost new less than
$8.000.

Deductible Coverage

Amount Code Factor
$ 50 003 125
100 010 .229

250 055 .353

500 726 415
1,060 727 .481
2,000 069 .640
3,000 069 .748

2. Collision deductibles .

a. Private passenger types.

(1) $250 deductible (Coverage Code 076) —
multiply the $200 deductible collision premium by
.90. '

(2) $500 deductible (Coverage Code 077) —
multipiy the $200 deductible collision premium by
.65.

(3) $1.000 deductible (Coverage Code 078) — .
multiply the $200 deductible collision premium by
.50.

b. Heévy and extra-heavy trucks and truck-tractors,
trailer types and public automonbiles.

$2.000 deductible (Coverage Code 099) — multiply
the $250 collision premium by .52.

c. Extra-heavy truck and truck-tractors.

$3.000 deductible (Coverage Code 099) — multiply
the $250 deductibie collision premium by .48.

d. All other types except zone rated risks.

4th Edition 10-82
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