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EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

Legislative Request

The State Corporation Commission’s Bureau of Insurance
was requested by the 1988 Session of the General Assembly to
study the 1issue of 1nsurance companlies’ 1ncreasing premiums
due to not-at-fault and partially-at-fault motor vehicle
accidents. The study resolution assumed (1) there had been
a dramatic 1ncrease 1n automobile insurance premiuns
resulting from the recent insurance crisis and (2) there had
been an 1ncrease 1n insurance premiums due to not-at-fault
and partially-at-fault losses.

Rate Increases

A review of the top 10 private passenger automobile
insurance companies 1n Virginia 1ndicated that the average
of the annual automobile 1insurance rate 1ncreases over the
past five years has been 3.8%.

Statutory Reguirements

Under Virginia 1nsurance law, no insurance company may
charge points (add a premium surcharge) as a result of a
motor vehicle accident unless the accident was caused either
wholly or partially by the named 1nsured, a resident of the
same household, or other customary operator, except where
the operator causing the accident 1s a principal operator
insured under a separate policy. Insurers that charge
points are required to notify the insured 1n wraiting and
advise the 1nsured that he has a right to appeal the
decision of the 1insurer to the Commissioner of Insurance
within 60 days of receiving the notice. Virginia 1insurance
law also stipulates that a surcharge may not be applied for
a period longer than 36 months and that the surcharge peraiod
may hot begin later than 12 months from the date of the
motor vehicle accident.

Company Filings

All rates and rules pertaining to point surcharges
must be filed with the State Corporation Commission before
they may be used. Many companlies use simllar rules in
determining when a surcharge will be applied although there
are varlations among companles. Some companlies base their
decision to surcharge for an accident according to the
insured’s degree of fault and will not apply a surcharge
unless the insured 1s at 1least 50% at-fault. Fault 1is
sometimes determined according to whether the insured was
convicted of a moving traffic violation in conjunction with
the accident. Even when the insured 1s determined to be at~
fault, however, most companies have rules which stipulate
that a surcharge will not be applied unless damages
resulting from a motor vehicle accident exceed a certain



dollar amount. This is usually set at $500 or less and
varies according to each company’s rate filings. When a
surcharge is applied, the premium is generally increased for
liability, medical payments, comprehensive, and collision
coverages.

Statutory Provisions of Other States

A review of the laws of the 50 states revealed several
regulatory approaches being taken including:

1. Not addressing the i1ssue of point surcharges 1in the
law;

2. Stating that a surcharge may not be applied 1i1f the
insured is not-at-fault (this 1s the approach taken 1in
Virginia);

3. Determining chargeability 1in terms of the 1insured’s

degree of fault i1n the accident (1.e., the 1insured
must be 50% at-fault before a surcharge may be
applied);

4. Specifying the conditions under which a surcharge may
not be applied (1.e., 1f the car 1s lawfully parked
when the accident occurs, a surcharge may not be
applied):; and

5. Specifying a dollar amount which damages must exceed
before a surcharge may be applied.

Consumer Complaints

Consumer complaints 1involving peoint surcharges have
escalated over the past three years. In approximately one-
third of all such complaints received by the Bureau of
Insurance since 1984, elther the Bureau required the point
surcharge to be removed or the company removed the surcharge
voluntarily. In at least half of the complaints received,
however, the Bureau determined that the surcharge was
justified and, therefore, the company was not required to
remove the point.

Underwriting Decisions Affecting Premium Increases

If a company 1is prohibited from surcharging for an
accident because the 1nsured was neither wholly nor
partially-at-fault, the company may seek other means of
increasing the insured’s premium. A company may non-renew
the 1nsured’s policy in the company’s preferred program, and
instead, offer coverage 1n 1ts standard or substandard
program with higher rates. New statutory provisions which
were enacted during the 1988 General Assembly Session limit
this practice to a certain extent; certain types of not-at-
fault losses may not be used as grounds for non-renewal.



Conclusion

The State Corporation Commission concluded that the
current regulatory scheme effectively monitors point
surcharges for motor vehicle accidents. Any person
aggrieved by the assignment of points may appeal the
insurer’s decision to the Commissioner of Insurance who is
authorized to require the removal of these points if they
have been improperly applied.




GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF VIRGINIA - 1988 SESSION
HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 72

Requesting the Bureau of Insurance to study the issue of winsurance companies' increasing
prermuums for drivers not-at-fault or partally at-fault

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, March 12, 1988
Agreed to by the Senate, March 12, 1988

WHEREAS, as a result of the recent crisis in the insurance industry, automobile
insurance premiums have dramatically increased for practically every driver; and

WHEREAS, many have experienced increases in premiums because of claims filed with
their own insurers for accideats 1n which they were not-at-fault or partially at-fault and

WHEREAS, good drivers should not be penalized with additional premiums because of
these claims filed for accidents for which they were not-at-fauit or partially at-fault; and

WHEREAS, Virginia citizens need to be protected from such unwarranted premium
increases; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring That the Bureau of
Insurance is requested to study the issue of insurance companies’ increasing premiums for
drivers not-at-fault or partially at-fault because of claims ftled with them.

Upon completion of this study the Bureau of Insurance shall report its findings to the
Governor and General Assembly as provided in the procedures of the Division of
Legislative Automated Systems for processing legisiative documeats.



INTRODUCTION

Legislative Reqgquest

The State Corporation Commission’s Bureau of Insurance
was requested by the 1988 Session of the General Assembly to
study the i1ssue of i1nsurance companies’ 1ncreasing premiums
due to not-at-fault and partially-at-fault motor vehicle
accidents. The study resolution assumed (1) there had been
a dramatic i1ncrease 1n automobile 1insurance premiums
resulting from the recent insurance crisis and (2) there had
been an 1ncrease 1n 1nsurance premiums due to not-at-fault
and partially-at-fault losses.

Methodology

In addition to reviewing the rate filings submitted by
the top 10 private passenger automobille 1i1nsurers 1in
Virginia, several other surveys were conducted for thas
study. The first survey analyzed the types of 1insurance
laws other states have enacted which 1limit an 1insurer’s
right to surcharge due to a motor vehlicle accident. The
second survey determined what types of safe driver plans
private passenger automobilile 1insurance companles have filed
with the Bureau of Insurance. Safe driver plans are rules
which specify the conditions under which points will be
assigned for motor vehicle accidents. The third survey
analyzed the Bureau’s Property and Casualty Consumer
Services Divasion’s Activity Reports. These reports were
reviewed to determine the number of consumer complaints
involving point surcharges which had been filed wath the
Bureau over the past three years. The results of these
surveys are contained i1n this report.

MAJOR FINDINGS

Rate Increases

A review was made of the rate changes filed by
Virginia’s top 10 private passenger automobile 1insurance
companles since 1983. These top 10 companlies represent
approximately 62% of the market share in Virginia. It was
noted that the average of these companies’ annual automcbile
rate 1ncreases has been 3.8% since 1983. Appendix A shows
the 1ncrease and decrease 1n the statewide average rates for
each company from 1983 to 1988.

Statutory Requirements

Every authorized insurer and rate service organization
licensed to sell private passenger automobile 1insurance 1n
Virginia 1i1s required to file all rates and supplementary
rate i1nformation with the State Corporation Commission.



These rates must be filed before they may be used.
Supplementary rate information 1includes rating rules,
manuals, and rate-related underwriting rules. These filings
are required pursuant to Section 38.2-1906 of the Code of
vVirginia.

The rating manuals filed by each company contain the
company’s safe driver plan. The safe driver plan determines
how point surcharges will be applied as a result of a motor
vehicle accident. Point surcharges increase the
policyholder’s premium. The amount of increase will depend
on the company’s rate filings. If a company fails to adhere
to the point surcharge rules contained 1n 1ts safe driver
plan, the company 1s 1in violation of Section 38.2-1906.

Every company’s safe driver plan must be filed with
the State Corporation Commission and must comply waith
Virginia’s laws pertaining to point surcharges. Under
Section 38.2-1905 of the Code of Virginia, no insurer mnmay
charge points under a safe driver plan as a result of a
motor vehicle accident unless the accident was caused either
wholly or partially by the named insured, a resident of the
same household, or other customary operator, except where
the operator causing the accident 1s a principal operator
insured under a separate policy. Section 38.2-1905 also
requires an 1nsurer that charges points under 1its safe
draver plan to notify the insured in writing and advise the
insured that he has a right to appeal the decision of the
insurer to the Commissioner of Insurance. The 1insured’s
request for an appeal must be made i1n wraiting within 60 days
of receiving the notice. \

Under Section 38.2-1904 of the Code of Virginia, an
insurer 1s prohibited from applying a surcharge as a result
of a motor vehicle accident for a period longer than 36
months. The law also stipulates that the surcharge period
may not begin later than 12 months from the date of the
motor vehicle accident.

Company Filings

A review was made of the safe driver plans filed with
the Bureau of Insurance by the major private passenger
automobile writers in Virginia. This review also 1included
an examination of the safe driver plan filed by the
Insurance Services Office, Inc. (ISO). ISO is a rate
service organization that files rates and rules on behalf of
1ts member companies.

The private passenger automobile rating manual filed
by ISO states that a point surcharge will be applied for
each automobile accident 1involving the applicant, or any
operator of the automobile currently a resident i1n the same
household, while operating any private passenger-type
automobile resulting in (1) bodily injury or death, or (2)
damage to any property in excess of $500. The ISO manual
also states that a point surcharge will be applied 1f there



have been two or more accidents that have resulted in damage
to any property for which a surcharge has not already been
applied under the aforementioned circumstances.

The ISO manual further states that a surcharge will

not be applied as the result of an accident under the
following circumstances:

1.
2.

there

the auto was lawfully parked;

the insured (operator, applicant) was reimbursed by or
has a judgement against the person responsible for the
accident;

the auto was rear-ended and the insured (operator,
applicant) was not convicted of a movaing traffic
violation;

the other operator was convicted of a moving traffac
violation and the insured (operator, applicant) was
not;

the auto was damaged by a hit-and-run driver and the
insured (operator, applicant) reported 1t to the
authorities within 24 hours;

the accident involved damage by contact with animals
or fowl;

the accident involved physical damage limited to and
caused by flying gravel, missiles, or falling objects;
or

the accident occurred as a result of an emergency call
and the operator was a paid or volunteer member of a
police or fire department, first aid squad, or any law
enforcement agency.

Most companies follow these same guidelines; however,
are a few exceptions such as those shown below:

Liberty Mutual Fire Insurance Company will not
surcharge for an accident that results in payment of
claims adjustment expense only or that results in
payments under medical expense or uninsured motorist
coverage only. They have also revised ISO Rule #7 by
stating that surcharges may not be applied for
accidents 1nvolving only physical damage coverage
unless the accident 1s a consequence of collision with
a stationary object, other than a person or motor
vehicle, or 1s a consequence of upset, or 1s a
consequence of running off the road. The other
guidelines follow the ISO rules.

Erie Insurance Company gdenerally follows ISO’s rules,
but they have added a rule which prohibits surcharging
1f payment has been made only under medical payments
or comprehensive coverage, and they have also stated
that a surcharge wi1ill not be applied 1f the
responsible operator 1s now deceased, excluded from
coverage, or no longer drives the insured auto. Eraie
also stipulates 1n 1ts manual that a surcharge will
not be applied unless the insured was 50% or more at-
fault.



Virginia Mutual Insurance Company also uses several of
the ISO rules. They do not, however, make an
exception for accidents that are the result of rear-
end collisions nor do they make an exception for
accidents where the insured was not convicted of a
traffic violation and the other operator was
convicted. 1Instead they have a rule which states that
no point will be assigned 1f the 1insured has had a
Virginia Mutual policy in force continuously for three
years and has not had another at-fault or partially-
at-fault accident within three years.

Aetna Casualty and Surety Company uses the eight ISO
rules and also has a rule that a point will not be
assigned 1f the 1insured has had an Aetna policy ain
force continuously for five years and there have been
no other accidents.

Horace Mann Insurance Company also follows these IS0
rules. However, they have added an additional rule
that prohibits surcharging 1f the accident occurred in
a no-fault state and i1t can be reasonably determined
that the insured was not-at-fault. They also
stipulate under rule #2, regarding reimbursement, that
the operator must be reimbursed over 50% by the person
responsible for the accident i1n order to avoid the
surcharge.

Allstate and Allstate 1Indemnity make the same
substitution under rule #2 by stating that an accident
will not be surcharged 1f the 1nsured has been
reimbursed, or has obtained judgement against the
other operator, for 50% or more of the property damage
loss. Under their new business rating plans both
companies use the same rules that ISO has adopted with
the exception of two: they do not forgo the surcharge
1f the accident was 1in response to an emergency call
or 1f the physical damage was caused by flying gravel,
missiles, or falling objects. Under thelir renewal
rating plan an accident 1s chargeable 1f 1t was caused
in whole or in part by the insured (more than 50%) and
payments totalled at least $300 under bodily injury

liability, property damage liability, and collision
coverage.

State Farm files separate plans for new and renewal
business. Under the new business rating plan any
accident 1s chargeable 1f 1t results i1n death or
bodily 1injury or 1in property damage of $400 or more.
The exceptions to this rule are similar to the ISO
rules. However, the exception regarding accidents
resulting from emergency calls 1s omitted and has been
substituted with a rule that states that an accident
1s not chargeable 1f the 1insured was "operating a
vehicle of the type not eligible for rating under thais
Rule”. Under State Farm’s renewal rating plan an
accident 1s chargeable 1f the insured was wholly or



partially-at-~-fault (at least 50%) and the company has
paid $400 or more under property damage liability or,
in the case of a single car accident, $400 or more
under collision coverage.

8. Nationwide Mutual Fire 1Insurance Company files
separate rating rules for new and renewal business.
The new business rating rules which apply to
surcharges are almost 1i1dentical to those filed by
State Farm. The renewal rating plan 1s slightly
different, however, i1n that an accident 1s chargeable
1f the company has paid over $400 under property
damage 1liabilaity and/or bodily 1injury 1liability
(excluding uninsured motorist coverage) and/or
collision coverage. An exception 1s made for payments
made under collision coverage where there are valid
grounds for subrogation.

9. Virginia Farm Bureau has a unigque rating plan that
does not surcharge policyholders for accidents.
Instead, good drivers are rewarded for not having had
accidents by receiving a careful driver discount. The
amount of premium deduction depends on the length of
time the 1nsured has been accident-free.

As noted above, some companies determine chargeability
in terms of the degree of fault. Erie Insurance Company
defines "wholly or partially-at-fault" to mean at least 50%
at-fault. Allstate and Allstate Indemnity require in theair
renewal rating plan that the 1insured be more than 50% at-
fault 1i1n order to be surcharged for an accident. If the
insured recovers 50% or more of the property damage loss or
has a judgement that demonstrates that he 1s 50% or less at~
fault, the accident 1s not chargeable. State Farm likewlse
does not surcharge for an accident unless the driver was 50%
or more at-fault. Fault 1s sometimes determined according
to whether the 1insured was convicted of a moving traffic
violation as a result of the accident.

It should be mentioned that these rules are applied in
conjunction with the company’s dollar threshold rule so that
even i1f the 1nsured 1s determined to be at-fault, a
surcharge wi1ll not be applied unless damages exceed the
specified level. This level 1s usually set at $500 or less
and varies according to each company’s rate filings. When a
surcharge is applied, the premium is generally increased for
liability, medical payments, comprehensive, and collision
coverages.

Statutory Provisions of Other States

State laws vary 1in the way they regulate point
surcharges for motor vehicle accidents. Some states such as
Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa,
Montana, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, South Dakota,
Tennessee, Utah, West Virginia, and Wyoming do not set
standards to determine chargeability nor do their statutes



define "chargeable accidents" or distinguish between at-
fault losses and partially-at~fault losses. Other states
have laws which simply state that driving record points may
not be assigned due to accidents in which the insured was
not-at-fault. These states include cCalifornia, Georgia,
Hawaii, Kentucky, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina,
Oklahoma, Virginia, and Wisconsan.

Connecticut insurance law states that a surcharge may
not be assigned due to an accident unless damage to property
exceeds $600. This figure will change to $1,000 on October
1, 1988. Alaska has a similar law, but the dollar threshold

1s set at $100 and applies to damage to property and bodily
injury.

Some states define chargeability 1in terms of the
degree to which the insured must be at-fault in order to be
surcharged for an accident. These states include Louisiana
(must be 51% at-fault), Massachusetts (must be more than 50%
at-fault), Michigan (must be more than 50% at-fault), New
Jersey (must be at least 50% at-fault), and Washington (must
be at least 50% at-fault). States such as Alaska, Floraida,
Minnesota, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania,
Rhode Island, South Carolina, and Texas provide very
detailed statutory guldelines which specify the
circumstances under which a point surcharge may not be

assigned. These laws are very similar to the safe driver
plans filed in Virginia by ISO and the other insurance
companles. In these particular states, however, insurers

may not use point surcharge rules which contradict those
provided by statute. A chart which summarizes each state’s
law 1s provided in Appendix B at the back of this report.

Consumer Complaints

Policyholders have the right, under Section 38.2-1905
of the Code of Virginia, to appeal the assignment of points
resulting from a motor vehicle accident 1f the policyholder
feels that the assignment has been made without just cause.
If a written request is made within 60 days of receiving
notification of the surcharge, the Commissioner of Insurance
1s required to review the assignment of points to determine
whether the surcharge 1s justified. These "point reviews"
as they are referred to by the Bureau of Insurance are
handled by the Property and Casualty Consumer Services
Division. Each year this division tabulates the number of
point reviews it has conducted.

During fiscal year 1984-1985, a total of 962 point
reviews were handled. In 205 cases (21%) the point
surcharges were removed voluntarily by the company once the
complaint had been filed with the Bureau of Insurance. In
78 cases (8%) the Bureau required the company to remove the
poant surcharge, and in 589 cases (61%) the Bureau ruled
that the assignment of the surcharge was in compliance with
the law and had been applied 1n accordance with the
company’s rate filings. The remaining 90 complaints that
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had been filed with the Bureau were dropped by the
consumers.

During fiscal year 1985-86, a total of 1106 poant
reviews were handled. This represented a 15% 1increase over

the previous fiscal year. In 292 cases (26%) the point
surcharges were removed voluntarily by the company once the
complaint had been filed. In 61 cases (6%) the Bureau

requlired the company to remove the point surcharge, and in
648 cases (59%) the Bureau ruled that the assignment of
points was 1n compliance with the law and had been made 1in
accordance with the company’s filings. The remaining 105
complaints were dropped by the consumers.

During fiscal year 1986-87, a total of 1182 point
reviews were handled. This represented a 7% 1ncrease over
the previous fiscal year. In 356 cases (30%) the point
surcharges were removed voluntarily by the company. In 73
cases (6%) the Bureau required the company to remove the
point surcharge, and 1n 656 cases (55%) the Bureau ruled
that the assignment of points was 1in compliance with the law
and had been made 1n accordance with the company’s filings.
The remaining 97 complaints were dropped by the consumers.,

During fiscal year 1987-88, a total of 1281 point
reviews were handled. This represented an 8% increase over
the previous fiscal year. 1In 387 of these cases (30%), the

surcharges were removed voluntarily by the company. In 108
cases (8%) the Bureau required the point surcharge to be
removed. In 658 cases (51%) the Bureau ruled that the

assignment of points was 1n compliance with the law and had
been made 1n accordance with the company’s filings. The
remaining 128 complaints were dropped by the consumers.

These figures show an 1increase 1n the number of point
reviews conducted over the past three years. In
approximately one-third of all cases reviewed by the Bureau
of Insurance since 1984 the surcharge was either required to
be removed or was removed voluntarily by the company. In at
least half of the cases, however, the Bureau determined that
the surcharge was justified and, therefore, the company was
not required to remove the point.

Underwriting Decisions Affecting Premium Increases

If a company 1s prohibited from surcharging for an
accident because the 1nsured was neither wholly nor
partially-at-fault, the company may seek other means of
increasing the insured’s premium. A company may choose to
non-renew an 1insured’s policy 1n 1ts preferred program, and
instead, offer coverage 1n 1ts standard or substandard
program with higher rates. In this way, the insurance
company 1s able to retain an otherwise unacceptable rask.
Many companies conslder risks unacceptable and no 1longer
eligible for the preferred program if the insured has had
too many not-at-fault losses.

- 11 -



Several new laws were enacted during the 1988 General
Assembly Session which prohibit a company from non-renewing
a motor vehicle policy due to certain types of not-at-fault
losses. These new laws are found in Section 38.2-2212 and
prohibit insurers from non-renewing a policy solely on the
basis of (i) one or more claims submitted under the
uninsured motorist coverage of the policy where the
uninsured motorist 1s known or there is physical evidence of
contact; (1i) a single claim by a single insured submitted
under the medical payments or medical expense coverage of
the policy due to an accident for which the insured was
neilther wholly nor partially-at-fault; or (ii1) one or more
claims submitted under the comprehensive or towing coverages
of the policy (these are usually considered to be not-at-
fault losses). Other types of not-at-fault or partially-at-
fault losses may become the basls for an underwriting
decision to non-renew a motor vehicle 1insurance policy as
they would not be prohibited by law.

CONCLUSION

The State Corporation Commission concluded that the
current regulatory scheme effectively monitors point
surcharges for motor vehicle accidents. Every 1insurance
company and rate service organization licensed to sell
private passenger automobile insurance coverage 1in Virginia
1s required to file 1ts rates and rules with the State
Corporation Commission. These rates and rules must conmply
with the sections of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia
which pertain to poaint surcharges. These provisions
restrict the time period a company may surcharge for an
accident and prohibit the assignment of points unless the
insured 1s wholly or partially-at-fault. Any person
aggrieved by the assignment of points as a result of a motor
vehicle accident has the right to appeal the 1nsurer’s
decision to the Commissioner of Insurance within 60 days of
receiving notification. The 1insured’s request for an appeal
must be made 1n writing. The Commissioner then has the
right to require the surcharge to be removed 1f 1t has been
improperly applied.

- 12 -



APPENDIX A

Statewide Average Rate Level Changes Since 1983 for Virginia’s
Top Ten Private Passenger Automobile Companies

Average
Annual
1983 1984 1985 1986 1987 1988 Rate Increase
State Farm Mutual -0.5% ~-5.0% 11.7% 10.1% -2.0% 0% 2.4%
Allstate Ins. -3.1% 5.6% 9.0% 7.9% -0.8% 0% 3.1%
Nationwide 9.0% -10.3% 0% 14.0% 3.3% 0% 2.7%
USAA 0% -7.7% 7.1% 13.9% 7.1% 0% 3.4%
Aetna 2.2% 1.4% 11.9% 13.0% 7.1% 0% 5.9%
Progressive 9.6% 1.2% 12.5% 8.5% 5.4% ~-3.2% 5.7%
Allstate Indemnity -3.3% 16.3% 0% 9.4% 0% 0% 3.7%
Colonial 5.3% 8.3% 5.2% 9.2% 0% 4.7% 5.4%
State Farm Fire -1.4% -6.3% 13.2% 12.7% -8.3% 0% 1.6%
Average
of All
Rate

Increases = 3.8%



APPENDIX B

STATE LAWS REGULATING ACCIDENT SURCHARGES

Alabama

Alaska

Arizona

Arkansas

California

Colorado

Connecticut

Delaware

D.C.

Laws do not regulate surcharges.

Insurers may surcharge for at-fault
accidents involving bodily injury or damage
to property 1in excess of $100 except for
accidents where (1) the auto was lawfully
parked, (2) the 1insured was reimbursed or
received a 3judgement against the other
driver, (3) the car was rear-ended and the
insured was not convicted of a moving
violation, (4) the other party was
convicted of a moving violation and the
insured was not, (5) the car was hit by a
hit-and-run vehicle and 1t was reported to
the authoraities within 24 hours, (6) the
damage was the result of contact with
animals or fowl, or (7) the damage was
caused by flying gravel, misslles, or
falling objects.

Insurers may not surcharge as the result of
an accident not caused or significantly
contributed by the actions of the 1insured.

Laws do not address chargeability for motor
vehicle accidents.

Insurers may not surcharge 1f the insured
was not-at-fault in any manner as
determined by the accident report or the
insurer; also may not surcharge a
firefighter, member of highway patrol, or
peace officer 1in performance of theair
duties.

Insurers may surcharge for accidents which
occurred during the 3 year period preceding
the date of the proposed action; does not
have to be based upon fault.

Insurers may not surcharge unless damage to
property exceeds $600. W1ll change to
$1,000 on October 1, 1988.

Laws do not set standards to determine
chargeability.

Insurers may not surcharge unless the
insured caused the accident.



Florida

Georglia

Hawalili

Idaho

Illinois

Indiana

Iowa

Kansas

Kentucky

Louisiana

Maine

Maryland

Insurers may not surcharge for
conprehensive or uninsured motorist claims;
insurers must notify the insured in the
premium notice that the insured may request
reimbursement for surcharges imposed in the
following situations: (1) the car was
legally parked, (2) the insured was
reimbursed by the other driver, (3) the
insured was struck in the rear and was not
convicted of a violation, (4) the insured
was struck by a hit and run draiver and it
was reported to the police, (5) the 1insured
was not convicted of a traffic violation
but the other driver was convicted, (6) the
insured was found not to be liable by a
court of competent jurisdiction.

Insurers may not surcharge for a multi-car
accident 1in which the 1insured was not-at-
fault.

Insurers may not surcharge for an accident
1f the insured was not-at-fault.

Laws do not regulate surcharges.

No authoraity to regulate surcharges for
motor vehicle accidents.

Statutes do not regulate surcharges.

Statutes do not address the 1ssue of
chargeabilaity.

Statutes do not define chargeable
accidents. Bulletin states that 1f the
insured 1s reimbursed any amount no
surcharge may be applied.

Insurers may not surcharge for an accaident
1f the 1nsured was not-at-fault or
contributorily negligent.

The i1insured can only be surcharged for an
accident in which he was found to be 51% or
more to blame.

Chargeabilaity 1s not addressed 1n the law
but the Bureau’s position 1s not to allow
surcharges unless there have been 2 or more
at-fault losses over $500.

May not surcharge for claims made under
personal injury protection (no-fault
coverage) - may not surcharge longer than 3
years.



Massachusetts

Michigan

Minnesota

Missi1ssippl

Missoura

Montana

Insurers must surcharge if the insured was
more than 50% at-fault and the company paid
more than $200 in property damage liability
or collision coverage; two points are
assigned for a minor at-fault accident in
which the insurer paid between $200 and
$1500; three points are assigned for a
major at-fault accident where the insurer
paid more than $1500 in damages. Insurers
must also surcharge 1f the insured has
filed 4 or more comprehensive claims
totaling $2000 or more. Premiums are
increased by $100 for a 2-point surcharge
and $200 for a 3-point surcharge.

Insurers mnay only surcharge for
"substantially-at-fault" accidents which is
defined as being more than 50% at-fault.

Law defines "surcharge" and "chargeable
accident" - Law also requires an 1nsurer to
disclose to the applicant 1ts "surcharge
plan" which term 1s also defined 1in the
law. Although not stated in the law, the
insurance department will not approve a
surcharge plan 1in 1ts rate filing 1i1f the
surcharge 1s applied to anyone who (1) 1s
rear-ended at a traffic control device, (2)
has a judgement against the other motorast,
(3) has been reimbursed by the other
motorist, or (4)' files a no-fault claim
unless the accident was a single-car loss.

Laws do not determine chargeability.

Insurers may not surcharge for an accident
1f the 1insured was not-at-fault. Insurers
may not surcharge 1f (1) the auto was
lawfully parked, (2) the insured has been
reimbursed by the other operator, (3) the
insured was rear-ended and was not
convicted of a wviolation, (4) the other
operator was convicted of a violation and
the 1nsured was not convicted, (5) the
insured auto was damaged by a hit-and-run
auto, (6) the accident involved damage by
contact with animals or fowl, (7) the
accident involved damage by flying gravel,
missiles, or falling objects, (8) the
accident was the result of an emergency
call by a paid or volunteer member of the
police or fire department or rescue sqguad.

Statutes do not regulate surcharges.



Nebraska

Nevada

New Hampshire

New Jersey

New Mexico

New York

Insurers may not surcharge for an accident
involving an uninsured motorist.

Insurers may not surcharge as a result of
claims made 1in which the insured was not-
at-fault.

Defines '"accident" as an occurrence
resulting in death, over $250 1n personal
1njury, or over $50C 1n property damage; or
personal injury or property damage to the
insured 1f the insured is also convicted of
a moving traffic violation 1in connection
with the accident.

Insurers may only surcharge for at-fault
accidents over $300. The 1insured must be
at least 50% at-fault 1in order to be
surcharged. Premiums w1lll be 1increased by
$300 per year for 3 years. The followling
accidents are not considered "at-fault"V:
the i1nsured obtained a judgement against or
settlement from the other driver; the auto
was rear-ended; the other driver was
convicted and the i1nsured was not; the auto
was struck by a hit-and-run draver; the
accident was 1n response to an emergency by
a paid or volunteer member of the fire or
police department or rescue squad; the
accident 1nvolved physical damage loss
other than collision.

Insurers may hot surcharge for a not-at-
fault loss.

Regulations prohibit surcharging for
accidents 1n which the 1insured was
responding to an emergency on behalf of a
fire department or rescue squad; also
cannot surcharge for property damage under
$600 unless there has been more than one
accident; cannot surcharge 1f (1) the auto
was lawfully parked, (2) the auto was
struck in the rear and the insured was not
convicted of a violation, (3) the auto was
struck by a hit and run draiver, (4) the
accident occurred during the course of
employment 1n a vehicle used for hire and
no conviction resulted, (5) the accadent
occurred during the course of employment in
an auto furnished by the employer, (6) the
insured has received reimbursement or a
judgement equal to one-third or more of the
value of the property damage claim.



North Carolina

North Dakota

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oregon

Pennsylvania

Rhode Island

Insurers may only charge for at-fault
accidents; safe driver plans may provide
for separate surcharges for major
accidents, minor accidents, and
intermediate accidents.

Statutes are silent 1in the matter of
accident surcharges - there are no
administrative rulings on this subject.

Statutes do not address the 1i1ssue of
chargeabilaity.

Insurers may not assign draiving record
points due to an accident in which the
1nsured was not at fault.

Laws do not set standards to determine
chargeabilaity.

Insurers may not surcharge for an accident
unless the i1nsured was at fault; fault ais
not defined; also may not surcharge 1f (1)
the auto was lawfully parked, (2) the
insured was reimbursed by or has a
judgement against the other draver, (3) the
auto was struck i1n the rear and the 1i1nsured
has not been convicted of a violation, (4)
the other driver was convicted of a
violation and the insured was not
convicted, (5) the auto was struck by a
hit-and-run driver and 1t was reported to
the police, (6) the accident 1involved
damage by contact with animals or fowl, (7)
the damage was caused by flying gravel,
missiles, or falling objects, (8) the
accident was 1n response to an emergency
and the operator was a paid or volunteer
member of a police or fire department,
first aid squad, or any law enforcement
agency, (9) the accident occurred more than
36 months prior to the 1inception or
anniversary date.

Regulation establishes guidelines for
determining what 1s not a chargeable
accident - 1nsurers cannot surcharge i1f (1)
the car was legally parked and unattended,
(2) the owner or operator has received at
least 51% reimbursement from the other
driver, (3) the individual has received a
Jjudgement against the other owner or
operator for at least 51% of the physical
damages, (4) the damage 1nflicted was done
by an individual operating a stolen car, or
(5) the other owner or operator’s license



Rhode Island
(cont’d.)

South Carolina

South Dakota
Tennessee

Texas

was suspended for failing to satisfy the
financiral responsibility requirements -
insurers must surcharge for chargeable
accidents for at least 3 years.

All 1insurers must use the uniform merit
rating plan which gives a 15% discount for
drivers with no accidents and provides for
a $20 annual surcharge for each point
assigned 1in excess of one point. The
number of points assigned varies according
to the frequency and severity of the
accident 1involvement. An accident 1s not
chargeable 1f (1) 1t 1s the first accident
resulting i1n damage to property less than
$400 and there are no 1injuries, (2) the
other driver pays for the damages, (3) the
car was hit while legally parked, (4) the
insured was rear-ended and did not get a
ticket, (5) the other driver received a
ticket but the 1insured did not, (6) the
insured was struck by a hit and run driver
and reported 1t to the police, (7) the car
was damaged by flying objects, animals, or
birds. In addition to the uniform rating
plan, drivers will be subject to an
additional 25% surcharge 1f they have had 2
or more chargeable accidents or one
chargeable accident and 2 convictions
within the past 36 months. A chargeable
accident 1s one resulting i1n bodily injury
in excess of $300 per person, death, or
property damage 1n excess of $750. An
exception 1s made for the circumstances
previocusly enumerated plus accidents
resulting from an emergency call by a paid
or volunteer member of the police or fire
department, rescue squad, or law
enforcement agency.

Laws do not regulate surcharges.
Laws do not regulate surcharges.

All 1insurers must use the Texas Driving
Insurance Plan which allows insurers to
assess one point for each chargeable
accident that results in bodily injury,
death, or property damage over $500. One
point 1s surcharged 15%, 2 points are
surcharged 35%, 3 points are surcharged
60%, 4 points are surcharged 90%. An
accident 1is not chargeable 1f (1) the claim
1s made under medical payments coverage,
(2) the car 1i1s legally parked, (3) the car



Texas
(cont’d.)

Utah

Vermont

vVirginia

Washington

West Virginlia

Wisconsin

Wyoming

is unattended, (4) the insured has been
reimbursed by the other driver, (5) the
accident involved government-owned
property, (6) the car was rear-ended, (7)
the other party was charged, (8) the car
was hat by a hit and run driver, (9) the
car was damaged by falling objects, (10)
the car involved damage with an animal or a
bird, (11) the accident occurred on the
insured’s premise, (12) the 1i1nsured was
not-at-fault (1f the accident was
investigated by the police and the insured
was not charged, 1t 1s presumed that the
insured was not-at-fault).

Laws do not regulate surcharging.

Statute allows for surcharge only when
insurer makes payment for death, personal
injury of more than $300, or property
damage over $500. Accident 1s defined as
physical contact between owner or operator
and a person or another object. Statute
also allows the Commissioner to establish
rules to designate mitigating circumstances
to serve as the basis for the removal of a
surcharge.

Statute prohibits insurers from charging
points unless the accident was caused
elther wholly or partially by the insured.

Statutes do not set standards for
determining chargeabilaity, but the
department has set guidelines which require
an 1individual to be at least 50% at fault
in order to be surcharged for an accident.

Neither statutes nor regqgulations address
the 1ssue of surcharges.

Laws do not regulate surcharging but the
department takes the position that a
surcharge may not be 1imposed for an
accident i1n which the 1insured was not-at-
fault.

Laws do not regulate surcharges.






