SD14 - Northern Virginia 2020 Transportation Plan

Executive Summary:
Northern Virginia is a vibrant, diverse and growing part of the Commonwealth. Past decisions made in developing our transportation system helped shape this area and the system is currently struggling to serve the traveling needs of residents and countless others traveling in Northern Virginia for commerce or pleasure. Decisions made today will lead to continued expansion, enhancement and repair of the transportation system that will undoubtedly continue to shape the growth and economic vitality of this area. The Northern Virginia area forms the northern corner of the Commonwealth, and consists of the counties of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun and Prince William; the independent cities of Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, and Manassas Park; and the towns of Dumfries, Herndon, Leesburg and Vienna.

Northern Virginia’s transportation network is truly multimodal, consisting of roads, transit service, bicycle/pedestrian facilities, two major airports and many other facets related to moving people and goods. To serve this mobility both now and in the future, Northern Virginia needs a safe and efficient transportation system, and one that better connects the places people want to go with a broader range of choices. The Northern Virginia 2020 Transportation Plan, developed by the Transportation Coordinating Council (TCC) of Northern Virginia, is the first step to realizing such a transportation system.