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Preface

The 2004 General Assembly through Item 326.SS of the 2004 Appropriations Act mandated that
the Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) develop a 1915(c)
Medicaid-funded Home and Community-Based Waiver for individuals with Alzheimer’s Disease
or a related dementia.  DMAS must report to the Governor and the Chairman of the Joint
Commission on Health Care by October 1, 2004 in order that the fiscal impact of such waiver
can be considered during the development of the 2005-2006 budget.  

DMAS enlisted the assistance of stakeholders to assist in the development of this Waiver
proposal.  The following individuals were involved in this process:  

Alzheimer’s Association Mr. Carter Harrison
Caregiver of Individual with Alzheimer’s Disease Ms. Blanche Castelow
Caregiver of Individual with Alzheimer’s Disease Ms. Carol Rotelli
Department for the Aging Ms. Ellen Nau
Department of Medical Assistance Services Ms. Vivian Horn
Department of Social Services – Adult Services Ms. Terry Smith 
Department of Social Services – Licensing Ms. Deborah Lloyd
Sentara Life Care Corporation Mr. Bruce Robertson
State Long Term Care Ombudsman Ms. Joani Latimer
Sunrise Senior Living Ms. Maribeth Bersani
Virginia Association for Home Care Ms. Marcia Tetterton
Virginia Association of Area Agencies on Aging Ms. Diana Wallace
Virginia Association of Homes for Adults Mr. Grant Goldman
Virginia Association of Non-Profit Homes for the Aging Ms. Dana Steger
Virginia Association of Personal Care Providers Ms. Kathy Miller
Virginia Health Care Association Ms. Beverley Soble
Whispering Pines and Hawksbill Assisted Living Facilities Mr. Brian Phelps

We wish to extend our appreciation for the time and hard work the members of the workgroup
gave to the development and review of this report. 
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INTRODUCTION

Item 326.SS of the 2004 Appropriation Act directed the Director of the Department of Medical
Assistance Services (DMAS) to develop a Medicaid-funded Home and Community-Based
Waiver for persons diagnosed with Alzheimer’s Disease or a related dementia.  This Waiver will
be piloted in some areas of the state and will serve 200 individuals.  These individuals must
reside in an assisted living facility, meet Virginia’s criteria for nursing facility placement, and be
receiving an Auxiliary Grant.  In order to participate in this Waiver, the assisted living facility
must meet the criteria outlined in this proposal.  Per the 2004 Appropriation Act, it was
estimated that the Medicaid payment for each Waiver recipient would be approximately $50 a
day.  (See Appendix A for a copy of the legislation).  This report addresses the issues related to
implementing such a Waiver.  DMAS must report to the Governor and the Chairman of the Joint
Commission on Health Care by October 1, 2004, in order that the fiscal impact of such Waiver
can be considered during the development of the 2005-2006 budget.  

Individuals eligible to be placed on this Waiver are currently either (a) remaining at home where
an adult child is typically serving as primary care giver; (b) residing in an assisted living facility
without the benefit of specialized services, which are not provided in the base $30 per day rate;
or (c) residing in a more expensive institutionalized nursing facility setting.  Through the
proposed Alzheimer’s Disease/Related Dementia Waiver, recipients would be able to receive an
appropriate level of care within special care units of assisted living facilities.

While individuals admitted to this Waiver will receive services in assisted living facilities (ALF),
it is important to remember that they must meet nursing facility admission criteria in order to
receive Medicaid Waiver services.  In addition, the individuals in this Waiver must be diagnosed
with Alzheimer’s disease or a related dementia.  Therefore, while current ALF regulations meet
the requirements for people at the regular assisted living level of care they are not deemed to be
sufficient to meet the health and welfare requirements for a Medicaid Waiver.  DMAS must
demonstrate to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services that sufficient safeguards are in
place to serve this vulnerable population. 

Study Methods

DMAS used the following methods to conduct this study.

● DMAS formed an advisory group of stakeholders to collaborate on the
development of a Waiver proposal.  The advisory group consisted of representatives of the
Virginia Department of Social Services, the Virginia Department for the Aging, State Long
Term Care Ombudsman, the Alzheimer’s Association, the Virginia Association of Non-Profit
Homes for the Aging, the Virginia Health Care Association, Virginia Association of Area
Agencies on Aging, Virginia Association for Home Care, Virginia Association of Homes for
Adults, Virginia Association of Personal Care Providers, Sunrise Senior Living, Sentara Life
Care Corporation, two caregivers of individuals with Alzheimer’s disease, and DMAS.
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● DMAS researched other states with Alzheimer’s disease/dementia units provided
in assisted living facilities regarding qualifications of staff, training, and other relevant
issues.  Specifically, the state of Alabama’s approved Waiver was reviewed in detail.  

● Not all of the members of the advisory group agreed with all of the requirements
listed in this report.  All suggestions were carefully considered; however, due to the
requirements of a Medicaid Waiver, and health, safety, and quality standards that must be
met, some suggestions were not accepted. 

Summary of Findings

● Waiver services must be provided in licensed assisted living facilities that meet
the requirements of a “safe, secure environment” according to DSS licensing regulations.

● DMAS will pre-approve each assisted living facility before that facility may
provide services to individuals on the Waiver.

● Administrators of participating assisted living facilities must be licensed as
nursing facility administrators, or licensed or registered as long term care administrators.
The Department of Health Professions is developing a Long Term Care Board to license or
register assisted living facility administrators.  Once this option is available, administrators of
participating assisted living facilities must be licensed as a nursing facility administrator or
licensed or registered by the Long Term Care Board of the Department of Health
Professions.  

● There must be sufficient staff, and staff with the appropriate credentials, to care
for Waiver participants.

● Qualified staff must provide services.  Services include personal care,
homemaker, chore, attendant care, medication oversight, therapeutic and recreational
programming, intermittent skilled nursing, and medication administration.

● This Waiver must meet Medicaid requirements for a Home and Community
Based Services Waiver, which includes protections of health and welfare. 

● Room and board are to be paid by an Auxiliary Grant, which is $1,058 for
Northern Virginia and $894 for the remainder of the state, which is approximately $35 and
$30 per day, respectively.1  

● Medicaid payment for this Waiver would be approximately $50 per day.
(Medicaid payment is payment in full – the resident could not be charged extra for
Medicaid-covered services)

● No Waiver funds will be used to pay for room and board in the assisted living
facility.
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● Of the 631 licensed assisted living facilities in Virginia, 106 have special care
units with 2,931 residents.  It is possible that some of these residents would be eligible for a
Medicaid Waiver in addition to people who reside in nursing facilities or in the community.2 

BACKGROUND

Medicaid Waivers

Medicaid Waivers afford States the flexibility to develop and implement alternatives to
institutionalizing Medicaid eligible individuals.  States may request waivers of certain federal
rules which impede the development of Medicaid community-based treatment alternatives.  The
program recognizes that many individuals who would otherwise be institutionalized can be cared
for in their homes and communities at a cost no higher than that of institutional care.

To receive approval to implement a Waiver, a State Medicaid agency must assure the Centers for
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) that it will not cost more, on average, to provide home
and community based services than providing institutional care.  The average costs of
individuals on the Waiver are compared to the average costs of individuals in the institution. 

The authority to establish Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) Waivers is found in
section 1915 (c) of the Social Security Act.  Under this authority states can waive statewideness,
comparability of services, community income and resource rules, and rules that require States to
provide services, on an equal basis, to all persons in the State.  This gives states the flexibility to
design each Waiver and select the mix of services that best meets the needs of the population
they wish to serve.  HCBS Waivers are approved for an initial three-year period and renewed
every five years. 

In order to develop a Home and Community Based Waiver for individuals with Alzheimer’s
disease or a related dementia, there must be an alternative institutional placement.  According to
federal regulations, the alternative institutional placement for individuals with Alzheimer’s
disease or a related dementia is a nursing facility.  

In order to have a Waiver approved by CMS, it must be cost effective.  This Waiver will be cost
effective in the aggregate, that is, the average cost to Medicaid of individuals on the Waiver
cannot exceed the average cost to Medicaid of individuals in the alternative institutional
placement.  All Medicaid covered services are included in this calculation, not just Waiver
services.  Since the alternate institutional placement is a nursing facility, the average cost to
Medicaid of individuals residing in a nursing facility must be used for this calculation.  In fiscal
year 2003, the average cost to Medicaid of individuals residing in a nursing facility was
$24,398.3 

The Commonwealth of Virginia currently has six HCBS Waivers: HIV/AIDS; Elderly and (or)
Disabled (E&D); Consumer Directed Personal Attendant Services (CD-PAS); Individual and
Family Developmental Disabilities Support (IFDDS); Mental Retardation; and Technology
Assisted.  This Waiver would be the seventh and would serve individuals who have a diagnosis
of Alzheimer’s disease or a related dementia who live in an assisted living facility.  
6



Philosophy of Assisted Living

Although the need for assistance often increases with age, elderly individuals, like all adults, still
value their autonomy.  Most older persons want to live in their own homes and remain as
independent as possible.  Many who require assistance cannot remain at home, however, due to a
loss of social supports and their inability to qualify for independent housing, residential living, or
congregate care due to physical or cognitive impairments (that necessitate substantial service or
supervision).

The philosophy of assisted living emphasizes personal dignity, autonomy, independence, and
privacy.  The focus of assisted living is to maintain or enhance the capabilities of frail older
persons and persons with disabilities so they can remain as independent as possible in a
home-like environment.  The combination of residential housing and personal care services
tailored to meet the needs of the individual help to promote the ability of residents to “age in
place.”4

Assisted living meets the adults’ desires to:
• Remain in a home-like setting for as long as possible or until substantially

impaired;
• Enter a residential setting only when they develop substantial service needs;
• Remain in a residential environment that maximizes their autonomy, privacy, and

dignity, even if they require a high level of services; and 
• Avoid or delay placement in an institutional setting.4 

Assisted living is the fastest growing type of senior housing in the United States.  The industry
has experienced a fifteen to twenty percent annual growth rate in recent years, with an estimated
600,000 residents living in 25,000 to 30,000 facilities nationwide.  States are responsible for
oversight, but their regulations vary greatly.  There are no uniform federal assisted living
standards.5 

Residents and their families are increasingly demanding individuality and choice, and state
regulators are responding to these consumer demands.  State regulators also recognize the need
to establish and enforce minimum guidelines for the industry.  These provisions are intended to
protect the independence of individual residents, while protecting the residents’ health and
safety.5 

Assisted living facilities frequently provide special care for residents with Alzheimer’s disease
and other forms of dementia.  This care may be offered in a discrete area within a larger facility,
or in a separate facility.5  Assisted living is not designed for persons requiring 24-hour skilled
nursing care.  

Current Statistics6 
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• As of 2002, thirty-two states and the District of Columbia have licensing categories or
statutes that use the term assisted living. Thirty-six states, eight more than in 2000, now
have requirements for facilities serving people with Alzheimer's disease or dementia. 

• By October 2002, forty-one states had approval to cover services in residential settings,
either assisted living or board-and-care licensing categories, through Medicaid. 

• In Fiscal Year 2001, Medicaid programs in forty-one states reported serving about
102,000 residents in assisted living or residential care settings in Fiscal Year 2001.  
o Thirty-seven states provide services through a Medicaid Waiver.
o Ten states provide services through the Medicaid state plan (Highest number of

recipients).
o Twelve states use state funding.

In Virginia in fiscal year 2003, there were 631 licensed assisted living facilities.  Of these 631
facilities, 106 have special care units serving 2,931 residents.  Out of 626 licensed assisted living
facilities in the state, 373 accept Auxiliary Grant recipients.2 

Auxiliary Grant

The Auxiliary Grant (AG) is a supplement to the income of residents of SSI and certain other
aged, blind, or disabled individuals residing in a licensed ALF or in an adult foster care home.
This assistance is available through local departments of social services to ensure that recipients
maintain a standard of living that meets a basic level of need.  The AG program is specifically
for individuals who live in a licensed ALF or in an adult foster care home approved by the local
department of social services.7 

The AG program is a state (80%) and locally (20%) funded financial assistance program, which
is administered by DSS.  Its purpose is to provide supplemental income for a SSI recipient or an
adult who would be eligible for SSI except for excess income, who resides in an ALF or in adult
foster care.7  The maximum rate is determined by the Virginia General Assembly and is adjusted
as necessary.  Effective January 2004, the monthly minimum rate was set at $996 for northern
Virginia and $866 for the remainder rest of the state.1  Effective October 1, 2004, the Auxiliary
Grant rate will be approximately $1,058 for Northern Virginia and $928 for the remainder of the
state.1

Advantages of an Assisted Living Waiver  

In order to avoid or delay nursing facility placement for residents who meet the nursing facility
level of care, Virginia would like to take advantage of the flexibility afforded to the states for
Waiver programs.  DMAS must assure the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)
of the cost effectiveness of this Waiver and allow residents to receive services that will help
them maintain their independence while living in a more homelike environment.  Virginia
currently does not have a Waiver specifically designed for individuals with Alzheimer’s disease
or related dementia.  Since there are no federal standards, states are responsible for the oversight
of assisted living.  Virginia will be responsible for this oversight, and the health and safety of the
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recipients must be assured.    

An individual who currently resides in a safe, secure unit of a DMAS-approved assisted living
facility may be eligible for the Waiver provided that they first apply for, and receive an
Auxiliary Grant.  If an individual does not reside in a safe, secure unit of a DMAS-approved
assisted living facility, the individual may choose to move to a DMAS-approved facility in order
to receive services provided through this Waiver.     

THE ASSISTED LIVING ALZHEIMER’S AND RELATED DEMENTIA WAIVER

Determination of Eligibility

In order to be eligible for this Waiver, an individual must meet the following criteria:

(1) The individual must meet the criteria for admission to a nursing facility as determined by
a preadmission screening team using the full Uniform Assessment Instrument;

(2) The individual must have a diagnosis of Alzheimer’s disease or a related dementia as
diagnosed by a licensed clinical psychologist or a licensed physician.  The individual
must not have a diagnosis of mental illness or mental retardation in addition to a
diagnosis of Alzheimer’s disease or a related dementia;

(3) The individual must currently be receiving an Auxiliary Grant; and    

(4) The individual must be at least 55 years of age at admission to the Waiver.  

Eligibility for admission to this Waiver will be determined through Virginia’s preadmission
screening process as outlined in the Code of Virginia 32.1-330 (Appendix B).  Individuals will
be placed on the Waiver on a first-come, first served basis.  The preadmission screening team
will give the recipient a list of DMAS-approved assisted living facilities and will in no way
determine the facility for the recipient.  This list will be separated into those facilities offering
private rooms and those offering semi-private rooms. The individual or his authorized
representative will have the option of selecting the provider of his choice from among those
providers that can appropriately meet his needs.  DMAS or its agent will perform
preauthorization of services for this Waiver.   

If 50% or more of an assisted living facility’s rooms are private rooms, the facility must offer a
private room to the Waiver recipient unless the recipient or his authorized representative,
through informed choice, chooses a semi-private room.  A semi-private room is defined as two
individuals residing in one bedroom.  This choice must be thoroughly documented in the
resident’s file.  The assisted living facility cannot interfere in any way with this decision.
Recipients who are private pay and then become Waiver recipients must not be moved from their
private room on the basis of being admitted to the Waiver.  

Individuals who are not eligible for this Waiver include individuals who have one of the
prohibited conditions as outlined in the DSS regulations, such as G-tubes, nasogastric tubes,
9



ventilator dependency, or dermal ulcers III and IV except those stage III ulcers which are
determined by an independent physician to be healing.  (Appendix C)  

Provider Requirements

1. Medicaid will only pay for services that are provided in a “safe, secure
environment” as defined by DSS licensing regulations.  (22VAC40-71-10).  

2. If 50% or more of an assisted living facility’s rooms are private rooms, the facility must offer
a private room to the Waiver recipient unless the recipient or his authorized representative,
through informed choice, chooses a semi-private room.  This choice must be thoroughly
documented in the resident’s file.  The assisted living facility cannot interfere in any way
with this decision.  Recipients who are private pay then become Waiver recipients must not
be moved from their private room on the basis of being admitted to the Waiver.  This Waiver
is intended to pay for assisted living that is offered to the general public.  It is not intended to
be a second (lower) level of care.

3. Payment to the assisted living facility from Waiver funds will be made for a total
of 14 days a year for hospital admissions, visits home, therapeutic leave, etc.)  If the resident
does not receive services in the assisted living facility for 15 or more days, the assisted living
facility may choose to hold the bed for the resident, but the Waiver will not continue to pay
for the service.  The Waiver slot will be held for a total of 30 days.  After that time the
Waiver slot will not be held and the next person on the waiting list will be notified of the
availability of the slot.  The resident’s authorized representative may choose to pay for
holding the bed using other funds and must pay the assisted living facility directly for days
15-30.  The rate shall be negotiated between the resident’s authorized representative and the
assisted living facility.

4. Administrators of participating assisted living facilities must be licensed as
nursing facility administrators, or licensed or registered long-term care facility
administrators.  The Department of Health Professions is developing a Long Term Care
Board to license/register assisted living facility administrators.  Once this option is available,
administrators of participating assisted living facilities must be licensed as a nursing facility
administrator or licensed/registered by the Long Term Care Board of the Department of
Health Professions.  

5. The medical care of residents shall be under the direction and supervision of a physician.
This can be the individual’s private physician.  The assisted living facility must ensure that
residents have appointments with their physicians at least annually and as needed as
determined by the physician.  DMAS will perform yearly level of care assessments.  The 
level of care assessments are performed to ensure that individuals receiving services in the 
Waiver continue to meet the criteria for the Waiver.      

6. Each facility shall have at least one registered professional nurse (RN) to assess the medical
and therapeutic needs of residents in the special care unit.  The RN must complete a
comprehensive assessment of each resident upon admission, when a significant change in
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health status or behavior occurs, and when a monthly assessment identifies a problem in any
of the following areas: weight loss, falls, elopements (leaving the facility without notice),
behavioral symptoms, adverse reactions to prescribed medications, dehydration, pressure
ulcers, fecal impaction.  A RN shall identify resident care problem areas and formulate
interventions to address those problems and to evaluate if the planned interventions were
successful.  The RN is responsible for staff training, resident assessment, plans of care, and
medication oversight.  

7. There must be an RN awake, on duty, and on-site in the facility for at least eight hours a day
for five days each week and on call 24 hours day.  The person on-call must be able to arrive
at the facility within one hour.  A licensed practical nurse (LPN) may provide services in
facility the rest of the time, but there must be a nurse awake and on-site 24 hours a day since
the recipients in this Waiver will meet nursing facility criteria.    

8. Based on the individual resident assessment, the RN, in coordination with other caregivers
including the resident’s authorized representative, shall develop the resident’s plan of care to
address the specific problems identified.  The RN shall evaluate both the facility’s
implementation and the resident’s response to the plan of care.  The plan of care shall be
reviewed and updated at least monthly and more often when necessary to meet the needs of
the resident.  

9. There shall be a unit coordinator, on-site in the unit, who will manage the daily routine
operation of the specialty unit.  This person shall have completed dementia-specific training
prior to providing services to Waiver recipients.  In a facility with more than 16 beds, the
facility’s RN may also serve as the administrator or the unit coordinator, but not as both.  The
unit coordinator must be available to the facility 24 hours a day.  The unit coordinator may
be an RN or an LPN, who is serving as the assisted living facility’s daily nurse.  In the event
the unit coordinator is not available, an alternate qualified (RN or LPN) staff member may
serve in this capacity as long as they are in the special care unit for the period of time that the
unit coordinator is not available.  Each assisted living facility must establish its own written
protocol and assure that only qualified staff fulfill this requirement.  In all instances where
the facility’s RN is assigned other duties as an administrator, unit coordinator, or both, the
facility must assure that the RN devotes sufficient time and effort to all clinical duties.  

10. In order to provide services in this Waiver, the assisted living facility must use certified
nursing aides (CNA) in the specialty unit at all times.  The assisted living facility must have
sufficient qualified and trained staff to meet the needs of the residents at all times.  

11. There must be at least two awake direct care staff in the special care unit at all times and
more if dictated by the needs of the residents. 

12. All staff who have contact with residents, including the administrator, shall have completed
12 hours of dementia-specific training prior to resident contact.  A licensed professional with
expertise in dementia must conduct this training.  The licensed professional must be acting
within the scope of the requirements of his profession and have had at least 12 hours of
training in the care of individuals with cognitive impairments due to dementia prior to
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performing the training.   

13. All direct care staff must receive at least eight hours of training annually in the care of
residents with dementia and medical nursing needs.  This training may be incorporated into
the existing training program and must address the medical nursing needs specific to the each
resident in the special care unit.  This training must also incorporate problem areas which
may include weight loss, falls, elopements, behavioral symptoms, and adverse reactions to
prescribed medications.  A licensed professional with expertise in dementia must conduct
this training.  The licensed professional must be acting within the scope of his profession and
have had at least 12 hours of training in the care of individuals with cognitive impairments
due to dementia prior to performing the training.

SERVICES

The services that are provided as a part of the Auxiliary Grant rate will not be included for
payment from the Waiver.  Payment for services in this Waiver will be above and beyond the
current requirements provided by the Auxiliary Grant rate.  See Appendix B for a listing of the
services provided as part of the Auxiliary Grant.  

The following are covered services in this Waiver:  

1.  Assisted Living

Personal care and services, homemaker, chore, attendant care, companion services, medication
oversight (to the extent permitted under State law), therapeutic social and recreational
programming, provided in a home-like environment in a licensed community care facility, in
conjunction with residing in the facility.  This service includes 24-hour on-site response staff to
meet scheduled or unpredictable needs in a way that promotes maximum dignity and
independence, and to provide supervision, safety, and security.  Other individuals or agencies
may also furnish care directly, or under arrangement with the community care facility, but the
care provided by these other entities supplements that provided by the community care facility
and does not supplant it.

Personalized care is furnished to individuals who reside in their own living units which may or
may not include kitchenette and/or living rooms and which contain bedrooms and toilet facilities.
The facility must have a central dining room, living room or parlor or common activity centers
(which may also serve as living rooms or dining rooms).  

Care must be furnished in a way which fosters the independence of each resident to facilitate
aging in place.  Routines of care provision and service delivery must be consumer-driven to the
maximum extent possible, and treat each person with dignity and respect.  

Assisted living services also include:
● Medication administration, as defined below;
● Intermittent skilled nursing services, as defined below;
● Periodic nursing evaluations, as defined below; and
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● Therapeutic activities, as defined below

Payment for adult residential care services are not made for room and board, items of comfort or
convenience, or the costs of facility maintenance, upkeep, and improvement.  Payment for adult
residential care services does not include payments made, directly or indirectly, to members of
the resident’s immediate family.

2.  Personal Assistance Services

Personal assistance services means providing assistance with activities of daily living, which
include: eating/feeding; dressing; transferring; ambulation; toileting; bathing (shall be provided
in accordance with the individual’s service plan and as often as necessary, but no fewer than
three baths per week); oral hygiene (assisted with oral hygiene to keep mouth, teeth, or dentures
clean, and measures shall be used to prevent dry, cracked lips); care of the hair (shampooing,
combing, and brushing of the individual’s hair); nail care as allowed by law; and shaving (men
shall be assisted with shaving or to be shaved as necessary to keep them cleaned and
well-groomed).  Personal assistance also includes food service (food service may be provided in
a resident’s room during temporary illness if necessary); personal safety (residents shall be
provided assistance with personal safety); medication monitoring; and monitoring of health
status and physical condition.    

3.  Medication Administration

Medications may be administered only by an individual who is currently licensed to administer
medications (physician, physician assistant, pharmacist, nurse practitioner, RN, or LPN).  While
this might seem to be a high standard to some, the individuals in this Waiver will meet nursing
facility criteria, and have a diagnosis of Alzheimer’s disease or a related dementia.  Generally
they will not have the ability to direct their medication administration in any way, nor are they
likely to be able to articulate side effects of medications.  For this reason, licensed professionals
must administer medications.  Those same licensed professionals are trained to detect the side
effects of those medications.  

4.  Intermittent skilled nursing services

“Skilled nursing services” means nursing services that are used to complete resident assessments
and administer medications, and provide training, consultation, and oversight of direct care staff.
Skilled nursing services must be provided by a RN or by a LPN under the supervision of a RN
who is licensed to practice in the state and provided in accordance and within the scope of
practice specified by state law.  An RN must complete resident assessments.  Administration of
medications, training, consultation and the oversight of direct care staff may be completed by an
RN or a LPN.  

5.  Periodic nursing evaluations

The RN must complete a comprehensive assessment of each resident upon admission, when a
significant change in health status or behavior occurs, and when a monthly assessment identifies
13



a problem in any of the following areas: weight loss, falls, elopements, behavioral symptoms,
adverse reactions to prescribed medication.  A RN shall identify resident care problem areas and
formulate interventions to address those problems and to evaluate if the planned interventions
were successful.  

6.  Therapeutic social and recreational programming

An activity program shall be designed to meet the individual needs of each resident and shall
provide activities appropriate to residents with dementia daily.  This program shall be
individualized and properly implemented, followed, and reviewed as changes are needed.
Residents who have wandering behaviors shall have an activity program to address these
behaviors.  There shall be a minimum of 20 hours of planned programming each week, not to
include activities of daily living; at least one hour must be one-on-one.

There shall be a designated employee responsible for managing or coordinating the structured
activities program.  This employee shall be on-site in the special care unit at least 20 hours a
week, shall maintain personal interaction with the residents and familiarity with their needs and
interests, and shall meet at least one of the following qualifications:

(a) Be a qualified therapeutic recreation specialist;
(b) Be eligible for certification as a therapeutic recreation specialist or an activities

professional by a recognized accrediting body;
(c) Be a qualified occupational therapist or an occupational therapy assistant; or
(d) Prior to or within six months of employment, have successfully completed 40 hours of

DSS training in adult group activities and in recognizing and assessing the activity needs
of residents.

DMAS Administrative Costs

Because of the need to monitor this Waiver and the increased quality oversight required by CMS
if this Waiver is implemented, DMAS is requesting funding for one full-time staff position
(Medicaid Facilities Inspector) to perform utilization reviews provided through this Waiver.
DMAS will review all facilities providing services in this Waiver.  All utilization reviews will be
performed at least annually and will be performed on-site.  These utilization reviews will be
coordinated with DSS to avoid overlapping reviews.

Timeframe for Implementation

In order for this Waiver to become a reality, DMAS must complete several tasks.  They are :

• DMAS must first complete a Home and Community-Based Care Waiver application and
submit it to CMS.  This is in process.

• While waiting for approval from CMS, DMAS must develop emergency regulations;
which are to become effective in the spring of 2005.

• Computer programming must be completed in order to enroll participants in the Waiver.
• A provider manual must be written and providers must be enrolled and trained.
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• Preadmission screening teams must be trained and 
• An effective date of enrollment in the Waiver is expected to be spring, 2005.
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Appendix A

2004 Appropriation Act, Item 326.SS

1. The Department of Medical Assistance Services shall develop, in conjunction with affected
constituents, a Waiver pursuant to §1915(c) of the Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. 1396n) from
the Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services to establish a Home and Community-Based
Care Waiver for persons with Alzheimer's disease and related dementias ("Alzheimer's/Dementia
Assisted Living Waiver"). The Alzheimer's/Dementia Assisted Living Waiver shall be for those
individuals who meet the functional criteria for admission to a nursing facility, who have a
diagnosis of Alzheimer's disease or a related dementia, and who are eligible to receive an
Auxiliary Grant. The Waiver enrollment for the first year of such program shall be limited to an
enrollment of 200 individuals who choose to move to an assisted living facility. 

2. Out of this appropriation, $1,327,550 from the general fund and $1,327,550 from nongeneral
funds in the first year and $1,855,050 from the general fund and $1,855,050 from nongeneral
funds in the second year shall be shall be provided for the implementation of the
Alzheimer's/Dementia Assisted Living Waiver. The Department of Medical Assistance Services
must also receive a Waiver pursuant to §1915(c) of the Social Security Act from the Centers for
Medicare and Medicaid Services to establish such program. The Waiver proposal described
herein shall be developed and presented to the Governor and the Chairman of the Joint
Commission on Health Care by October 1, 2004, in order that the fiscal impact of such Waiver
can be considered during the development of the 2005-2006 budget. The agency shall
promulgate emergency regulations to become effective within 280 days or less from the
enactment of this act. 
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APPENDIX B

Additional information on the AG Program 

The local department of social services in the locality where the individual resides determines
eligibility for the AG program.  The city or county within the state where the person last lived
outside of an institution or adult family care home determines residence for AG eligibility.  If
residency cannot be determined, residency is where the individual is living at the time of the
application.  To be eligible for the AG program, an individual must meet all of the following:

• Be 65 years of age or older or be 18 years of age and blind or disabled;

• Reside in a licensed ALF or approved AFC home;

• Be a citizen of the United States or an alien who meets specified criteria;

• Non-exempted income less than the sum of the AG rate plus the personal needs
allowance;

• Have non-exempted resources less than $2,000 for one person or $3,000 for a
couple; and

• Have been assessed and determined to need residential care or assisted living
care.7

The Auxiliary Grant covers room and board and maintenance and care.  The AG rate includes:

• Provision of a furnished room in a facility that meets applicable building and fire
safety codes;

• Housekeeping services based on the needs of the resident;

• Meals and snacks, including extra portions and special diets;

• Clean bed linens and towels as needed by the residents and at least once a week;

• Minimal assistance with personal hygiene including bathing, dressing, oral
hygiene, hair grooming and shampooing, care of clothing, shaving, care of toenails and
fingernails, arranging for haircuts as needed, care of needs associated with menstruation or
occasional bladder or bowel incontinence;

• Medication administration as required by licensing regulations including insulin
injections;
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• Provision of generic personal toiletries including soap and toilet paper;

• Minimal assistance with the following: care of personal possessions, care of
personal funds if requested by the recipient and residence policy allows it; use of telephone,
arranging transportation, obtaining necessary personal items and clothing, making and
keeping appointments, and correspondence;

• Securing health care and transportation when needed for medical treatment;

• Providing social and recreational activities as required by licensing regulations;
and

• General supervision for safety.7
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APPENDIX C

§ 32.1-330. Preadmission screening required. 

All individuals who will be eligible for community or institutional long-term care services as
defined in the state plan for medical assistance shall be evaluated to determine their need for
nursing facility services as defined in that plan. The Department shall require a preadmission
screening of all individuals who, at the time of application for admission to a certified nursing
facility as defined in § 32.1-123, are eligible for medical assistance or will become eligible
within six months following admission. For community-based screening, the screening team
shall consist of a nurse, social worker and physician who are employees of the Department of
Health or the local department of social services or a team of licensed physicians, nurses, and
social workers at the Woodrow Wilson Rehabilitation Center (WWRC) for WWRC clients only.
For institutional screening, the Department shall contract with acute care hospitals. 
(1984, c. 781; 1990, c. 716; 2003, c. 480.) 
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APPENDIX D
22VAC40-71-150, F

Assisted living facilities shall not admit or retain individuals with any of the following
conditions or care needs: 

1. Ventilator dependency; 

2. Dermal ulcers III and IV except those stage III ulcers which are determined by an independent
physician to be healing, as permitted in subsection G of this section; 

3. Intravenous therapy or injections directly into the vein, except for intermittent intravenous
therapy managed by a health care professional licensed in Virginia as permitted in subsection H
or subsection I of this section; 

4. Airborne infectious disease in a communicable state that requires isolation of the individual or
requires special precautions by the caretaker to prevent transmission of the disease, including
diseases such as tuberculosis and excluding infections such as the common cold; 

5. Psychotropic medications without appropriate diagnosis and treatment plans; 

6. Nasogastric tubes; 

7. Gastric tubes except when the individual is capable of independently feeding himself and
caring for the tube or as permitted in subsection I of this section; 

8. Individuals presenting an imminent physical threat or danger to self or others; 

9. Individuals requiring continuous licensed nursing care; 

10. Individuals whose physician certifies that placement are no longer appropriate; 

11. Unless the individual's independent physician determines otherwise, individuals who require
maximum physical assistance as documented by the UAI and meet Medicaid nursing facility
level of care criteria as defined in the State Plan for Medical Assistance; 

12. Individuals whose health care needs cannot be met in the specific assisted living facility as
determined by the facility. 

20



References

1.  Lloyd, Deborah.  E-mail to the author. 2 September 2004.

2.  Lloyd, Deborah.  E-mail to the author.  30 July 2004.

3.  Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services.  Annual Report on Home and

Community-Based Service Waivers.  February 2004.

4.  The National Center for Assisted Living.  “Assisted Living.”  http://www.ncal.org.  (Date of Access:

August 6, 2004).

5.  AARP Public Policy Institute.  Assisted Living: Summary of State Statutes.  March 2000.  

6.  Mollica, Robert L.  (2002).  State Assisted Living Policy: 2002”  National Academy for State Health

Policy.

7.  Virginia.  Department of Social Services.  Long-Term Care and Prevention Services, 2003 Program

Report.  Richmond: State of Virginia, 2003.  

Additional Resources

Alabama.  Department of Public Health.  Specialty Care Assisted Living Facilities Rules. July 2004

Harris, Patricia.  Telephone Interview.  10 August 2004 – 13 August 2004.


