RD170 - Virginia Tourism Authority d/b/a Virginia Tourism Corporation Operating Plan for the Fiscal Year Ending June 30, 2009

Executive Summary:
The Virginia Tourism Authority is a political subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia, authorized to do business as the "Virginia Tourism Corporation” (VTC) and was created on July 1, 1999. The VTC has a Board of Directors comprised of 15 members, including the Secretary of Commerce and Trade, the Secretary of Finance, the Secretary of Natural Resources and twelve members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the General Assembly. The Governor designates the Chairman of the Board and the Board elects one member as the Vice-Chairman. The Executive Director of the VTC is appointed by the Governor, and reports to the Board of Directors and serves as the Board’s ex-officio secretary-treasurer.

The VTC is headquartered in Richmond. In addition, the VTC operates ten state welcome centers located strategically around the state and the Capitol Bell Tower in Richmond to provide information to persons traveling in Virginia.

This operating plan provides basic information for understanding the priorities the VTC plans to accomplish, how it will achieve its objectives and the resources committed to those efforts.