EXECUTIVE SECRETARY KARL R. HADE

ASSISTANT EXECUTIVE SECRETARY & LEGAL COUNSEL

EDWARD M. MACON

COURT IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM LEUA BAUM HOPPER, DIRECTOR

EDUCATIONAL SERVICES
CAROLINE E. KIRKPATRICK, DIRECTOR

FISCAL SERVICES
JOHN B. RICKMAN, DIRECTOR

HISTORICAL COMMISSION
MELINDA LEWIS, DIRECTOR

SUPREME COURT OF VIRGINIA



OFFICE OF THE EXECUTIVE SECRETARY
100 NORTH NINTH STREET
RICHMOND, VIRGINIA 23219-2334
(804) 786-6455

HUMAN RESOURCES

JUDICIAL INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY

JUDICIAL PLANNING CYRIL W. MILLER, JR., DIRECTOR

JUDICIAL SERVICES
PAUL F. DELOSH, DIRECTOR

LEGAL RESEARCH STEVEN L. DALLE MURA, DIRECTOR

LEGISLATIVE & PUBLIC RELATIONS KATYA N. HERNDON, DIRECTOR

October 10, 2008

The Honorable Timothy M. Kaine Governor of Virginia Patrick Henry Building, 3rd Floor 1111 East Broad Street Richmond, Virginia 23219

The Honorable Charles J. Colgan, Chairman Senate Finance Committee Senate of Virginia Room 626 P.O. Box 396 Richmond, Virginia 23218

The Honorable Lacey E. Putney, Chairman House Appropriations Committee General Assembly Building Room 947 P.O. Box 406 Richmond, Virginia 23218

RE: Quarterly Report pursuant to Va. Code § 19.2-163

Dear Governor Kaine and Chairmen Colgan and Putney:

Virginia Code § 19.2-163, as amended, requires the Executive Secretary to report to the Governor, members of the House Appropriations Committee and members of the Senate Finance Committee on a quarterly basis "the number and category of offenses charged involving adult and juvenile offenders in cases in which court-appointed counsel is assigned" and "the amounts paid by waiver above the initial cap to court-appointed counsel."

The vouchers submitted by court-appointed counsel for the first quarter of FY2009 reflect the number and category of offenses charged involving adult and juvenile offenders as follows:

Category of Offense	Number of Charges	Amount Paid				
Adult Offenders:						
Misdemeanors	27,615	\$3,599,759				
Felony ≤ 20 years	21,322	\$6,911,905				
Felony > 20 years	2,231	\$1,837,387				
Felony Unclassified	-	-				
Capital Murder	19	\$269,531				
Total:	51,187	\$12,618,582				
Juvenile Offenders:						
Misdemeanors	4,485	\$590,956				
Felony ≤ 20 years	1,604	\$248,287				
Felony > 20 years	209	\$45,363				
Felony Unclassified	-	-				
Total:	6,298	\$884,606				
Adult + Juvenile Offenders:						
Grand Total:	57,485	\$13,503,188				

Since July 1, 2008, 3088 waiver requests have been submitted seeking a total of \$1,005,328, and 3,039 have been approved for a total of \$938,018 paid to court-appointed attorneys by waiver above the initial cap. A breakdown of the waivers requested by category of offense charged and type of offender is provided below.

Waivers Approved

W	aiv	ers	D	enied	l
* *	64.4	CIS	v	CILICU	

Category of Offense	Number of Waivers	Amount Requested	Amount Approved
Adult Offenders:			
Misdemeanors	1,556	\$290,175	\$280,795
Felony ≤ 20 years	788	\$396,196	\$375,639
Felony > 20 years	137	\$187,964	\$175,361
Total:	2,481	\$874,335	\$831,795
Juvenile Offenders:			
Misdemeanors	309	\$48,725	\$46,535
Felony ≤ 20 years	203	\$49,279	\$45,472
Felony > 20 years	46	\$15,237	\$14,216
Total:	558	\$113,241	\$106,223
Adult + Juvenile Offend	ers:	,	
Grand Total:	3,039	\$987,576	\$938,018

THE TOTAL POLITICAL		
Number of Waivers	Amount Requested	
18	\$3,724	
23	\$11,595	
-	-	
41	\$15,319	
5	\$975	
3	\$1,458	
-	-	
8	\$2,433	
49	\$17,752	

If you have any questions regarding this report, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards, I am

Very truly yours,

Karl R. Hade

KRH:bsw

cc: The Honorable William C. Wampler, Jr.

The Honorable Walter A. Stosch

The Honorable R. Edward Houck

The Honorable Janet D. Howell

The Honorable Richard L. Saslaw

The Honorable Kenneth W. Stolle

The Honorable Frederick M. Quayle

The Honorable Thomas K. Norment, Jr.

The Honorable Emmett W. Hanger, Jr.

The Honorable John C. Watkins

The Honorable Yvonne B. Miller

The Honorable Henry L. Marsh, III

The Honorable L. Louise Lucas

The Honorable Mary Margaret Whipple

The Honorable W. Roscoe Reynolds

The Honorable Harvey B. Morgan

The Honorable Robert Tata

The Honorable Riley E. Ingram

The Honorable Joe T. May

The Honorable Beverly J. Sherwood

The Honorable M. Kirkland Cox

The Honorable R. Steven Landes

The Honorable S. Chris Jones

The Honorable Clarke N. Hogan

The Honorable John M. O'Bannon, III

The Honorable L. Scott Lingamfelter

The Honorable Watkins M. Abbitt, Jr.

The Honorable Clarence E. Phillips

The Honorable James M. Scott

The Honorable Johnny S. Joannou

The Honorable Robert H. Brink

The Honorable Onzlee Ware

The Honorable Algie T. Howell, Jr.

The Honorable Mamye E. BaCote

The Honorable Rosalyn R. Dance

The Honorable Stephen C. Shannon

The Honorable Dan C. Bowling

Richard E. Hickman, Jr., Senate Finance Committee

Paul Van Lenten, House Appropriations Committee

Division of Legislative Automated Systems