January 31, 2008

TO THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF VIRGINIA:

The attached list represents appointments to agencies, boards, commissions, and councils made between January 8, 2008 and January 31, 2008. I respectfully transmit these names to you for confirmation.

Sincerely,

Γ

Timothy M. Kaine Governor of Virginia

MEMORANDUM

To: The Honorable Janet D. Howell

Chairman

Senate Committee on Privileges and Elections

And The Honorable Mark L. Cole

Chairman

House Committee on Privileges and Elections

From: Katherine K. Hanley

Secretary of the Commonwealth

Date: January 31, 2008

Pursuant to Sections 2.2-106 and 2.2-107 of the *Code of Virginia*, I transmit herewith a listing of gubernatorial appointees requiring confirmation by the General Assembly.

AGENCY HEADS

Dr. Karen Remley, 109 Governor Street, **Richmond**, Virginia 23219, Commissioner, Virginia Department of Health, appointed on January 15, 2008, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, beginning January 22, 2008 to succeed Interim Commissioner Dr. James E. Burns.

Paula I. Otto, 900 East Main Street, **Richmond**, Virginia 23219, Director, Department of the Virginia Lottery, appointed on January 25, 2008, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, beginning February 1, 2008, to succeed Interim Director Frank Snead Ferguson.

COMMERCE AND TRADE

Board of Directors, Virginia Economic Development Partnership

Jake Gosa, 325 Windsor Lane, **Winchester,** Virginia, 22602, Member, appointed January 9, 2008, for a term of six years beginning January 1, 2008, and ending December 31, 2013, to succeed himself.

Hugh D. Keogh, 3402 Sarsen Court, **Midlothian,** Virginia, 23113, Member, appointed January 9, 2008, for a term of six years beginning January 1, 2008, and ending December 31, 2013, to succeed John Mahone.

John Malbon, 1402 Carolyn Drive, **Virginia Beach**, Virginia, 23451, Member, appointed January 9, 2008, for a term of six years beginning January 1, 2008, and ending December 31, 2013, to succeed himself.

Julien G. Patterson, 2802 Pine Hollow Road, **Oakton**, Virginia, 22124, Member, appointed January 9, 2008, for a term of six years beginning January 1, 2008, and ending December 31, 2013, to succeed Mary Carter.

EDUCATION

Board of Education

Isis M. Castro, 2404 Culpepper Road, **Alexandria,** Virginia 22308, Member, appointed January 15, 2008, for a term of four years beginning January 30, 2008, and ending January 29, 2012, to succeed herself.

Eleanor B. Saslaw, 4418 Random Court, **Annandale**, Virginia 22003, Member, appointed January 15, 2008, for a term of four years beginning January 30, 2008, and ending January 29, 2012, to succeed herself.

Virginia Commission for the Arts

Ann Edwards Rust, 1020 Monroe Street, **Herndon,** Virginia 20170, Member, appointed January 21, 2008, to serve an unexpired term beginning July 1, 2004, and ending June 30, 2009, to succeed Eve Wilson.

Board of Visitors of Virginia State University

Felix Davis, Jr., 15513 Chesdin Landing Place, **Chesterfield,** Virginia 23838, Member, appointed January 23, 2008, to serve an unexpired term beginning July 1, 2007, and ending June 30, 2011, to succeed William E. Ward, Ph.D.

HEALTH AND HUMAN RESOURCES

Interagency Civil Admissions Advisory Council

Susan G. Austin, P.O. Box 1071, **Marion,** Virginia, 24354, Member, appointed July 17, 2007, for a term of three years beginning July 1, 2007 and ending June 30, 2010, to succeed herself.

Nan Marguerite Joseph-Forbes, 341 W. Main Street, Purceville, Virginia, 22132, Member, appointed July 17, 2007, for a term of three years beginning July 1, 2007 and ending June 30, 2010, to succeed herself.

Gary S. Kavit, 139 Beechwood Hills, **Newport News,** Virginia, 23608, Member, appointed July 17, 2007, for a term of three years beginning July 1, 2007 and ending June 30, 2010, to succeed himself.

Eileen Kulp, 26 Sarfan Drive, **Hampton,** Virginia, 23664, Member, appointed July 17, 2007, for a term of three years beginning July 1, 2007 and ending June 30, 2010, to succeed herself.

Philip Pate, 453 North Braddock Street, **Winchester,** Virginia, 22601, Member, appointed July 17, 2007, for a term of three years beginning July 1, 2007 and ending June 30, 2010, to succeed himself.

LEGISLATIVE

Virginia Code Commission

The Honorable Cleo Elaine Powell, 11710 Braystone Lane, **Chesterfield,** Virginia, 23838, Member, appointed January 23, 2008, to serve an unexpired term beginning February 1, 2007, and ending January 31, 2011, to succeed The Honorable Samuel Bernard Goodwyn.

INDEPENDENT

State Lottery Board

David H. Hallock, Jr., 8911 Brieryle Road, **Richmond,** Virginia 23229, Member, appointed January 9, 2008, for a term of five years beginning January 15, 2008, and ending January 14, 2013, to succeed himself.

COMPACTS

Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission

The Honorable Lynwood W. Lewis, Jr., 23239 Front Street, **Accomac**, VA 23301, Member, appointed January 16, 2008, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor beginning January 1, 2008, to succeed The Honorable John Chichester.