EXECUTIVE SECRETARY KARL R. HADE

Assistant Executive Secretary & Legal Counsel Edward M. Macon

COURT IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM LELIA BAUM HOPPER, DIRECTOR

EDUCATIONAL SERVICES CAROLINE E. KIRKPATRICK, DIRECTOR

FISCAL SERVICES JOHN B. RICKMAN, DIRECTOR

HISTORICAL COMMISSION MELINDA LEWIS, DIRECTOR

SUPREME COURT OF VIRGINIA



Office of the Executive Secretary 100 North Ninth Street Richmond, Virginia 23219-2334 (804) 786-6455

January 9, 2009

HUMAN RESOURCES

JUDICIAL INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY ROBERT L. SMITH, DIRECTOR

JUDICIAL PLANNING CYRIL W. MILLER, JR., DIRECTOR

JUDICIAL SERVICES PAUL F. DELOSH, DIRECTOR

LEGAL RESEARCH STEVEN L. DALLE MURA, DIRECTOR

LEGISLATIVE & PUBLIC RELATIONS KATYA N. HERNDON, DIRECTOR

The Honorable Timothy M. Kaine Governor of Virginia Patrick Henry Building, 3rd Floor 1111 East Broad Street Richmond, Virginia 23219

The Honorable Charles J. Colgan, Chairman Senate Finance Committee Senate of Virginia Room 626 P.O. Box 396 Richmond, Virginia 23218

The Honorable Lacey E. Putney, Chairman House Appropriations Committee General Assembly Building Room 947 P.O. Box 406 Richmond, Virginia 23218

RE: Quarterly Report pursuant to Va. Code § 19.2-163

Dear Governor Kaine and Chairmen Colgan and Putney:

Virginia Code § 19.2-163, as amended, requires the Executive Secretary to report to the Governor, members of the House Appropriations Committee and members of the Senate Finance Committee on a quarterly basis "the number and category of offenses charged involving adult and juvenile offenders in cases in which court-appointed counsel is assigned" and "the amounts paid by waiver above the initial cap to court-appointed counsel."

The vouchers submitted by court-appointed counsel during the first two quarters of FY2009 reflect the number and category of offenses charged involving adult and juvenile offenders as follows:

Category of Offense	Number of Charges	Amount Paid					
Adult Offenders:							
Misdemeanors	53,653	\$6,990,388					
Felony ≤ 20 years	40,936	\$13,257,087					
Felony > 20 years	4,144	\$3,537,048					
Felony Unclassified	-	-					
Capital Murder	26	\$674,064					
Total:	98,759	\$24,458,587					
Juvenile Offenders:							
Misdemeanors	8,662	\$1,141,495					
Felony ≤ 20 years	3,074	\$469,859					
Felony > 20 years	423	\$87,544					
Felony Unclassified	-	_					
Total:	12,159	\$1,698,899					
Adult + Juvenile Offenders:							
Grand Total:	110,918	\$26,157,485					

Since July 1, 2008, 5,935 waiver requests have been submitted seeking a total of \$1,987,499, and 5,846 have been approved for a total of \$1,819,304 paid to court-appointed attorneys by waiver above the initial cap. A breakdown of the waivers requested by category of offense charged and type of offender is provided below.

Waivers Approved				Waivers Denied	
Category of Offense	Number of Waivers	Amount Requested	Amount Approved	Number of Waivers	Amount Requested
Adult Offenders:					
Misdemeanors	3,078	\$562,895	\$539,337	40	\$7,546
Felony ≤ 20 years	1,477	\$765,877	\$699,466	35	\$15,508
Felony > 20 years	225	\$413,009	\$379,283	2	\$744
Total:	4,780	\$1,741,781	\$1,618,086	77	\$23,798
Juvenile Offenders:					
Misdemeanors	599	\$97,875	\$90,715	8	\$2,003
Felony ≤ 20 years	386	\$91,428	\$83,693	3	\$1,458
Felony > 20 years	81	\$28,831	\$26,810	1	\$325
Total:	1,066	\$218,134	\$201,218	12	\$3,786
Adult + Juvenile Offend	ers:				
Grand Total:	5,846	\$1,959,915	\$1,819,304	89	\$27,584

If you have any questions regarding this report, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With kind regards, I am

Very truly yours,

KIRIH

Karl R. Hade

KRH:bsw

cc: The Honorable William C. Wampler, Jr. The Honorable Walter A. Stosch The Honorable R. Edward Houck The Honorable Janet D. Howell The Honorable Richard L. Saslaw The Honorable Kenneth W. Stolle The Honorable Frederick M. Quayle The Honorable Thomas K. Norment, Jr. The Honorable Emmett W. Hanger, Jr. The Honorable John C. Watkins The Honorable Yvonne B. Miller The Honorable Henry L. Marsh, III The Honorable L. Louise Lucas The Honorable Mary Margaret Whipple The Honorable W. Roscoe Reynolds The Honorable Harvey B. Morgan The Honorable Robert Tata The Honorable Philip A. Hamilton The Honorable Riley E. Ingram The Honorable Joe T. May The Honorable Beverly J. Sherwood The Honorable M. Kirkland Cox The Honorable R. Steven Landes The Honorable S. Chris Jones The Honorable Clarke N. Hogan The Honorable John M. O'Bannon, III The Honorable L. Scott Lingamfelter The Honorable Watkins M. Abbitt, Jr. The Honorable Clarence E. Phillips The Honorable James M. Scott The Honorable Johnny S. Joannou The Honorable Robert H. Brink The Honorable Onzlee Ware The Honorable Algie T. Howell, Jr. The Honorable Mamye E. BaCote The Honorable Rosalyn R. Dance The Honorable Dan C. Bowling The Honorable Stephen C. Shannon Richard E. Hickman, Jr., Senate Finance Committee Paul Van Lenten, House Appropriations Committee Division of Legislative Automated Systems