EXECUTIVE SECRETARY
KARL R HADE

ASSISTANT EXECUTIVE SECRETARY & LEGAL COUNSEL EDWARD M. MACON

COURT IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM
LELIA BAUM HOPPER, DIRECTOR

EDUCATIONAL SERVICES
CAROLINE E. KIRKPATRICK, DIRECTOR

FISCAL SERVICES
JOHN B. RICKMAN, DIRECTOR

SUPREME COURT OF VIRGINIA



OFFICE OF THE EXECUTIVE SECRETARY 100 NORTH NINTH STREET RICHMOND, VIRGINIA 23219-2334 {804} 786-6455

December 14, 2010

HUMAN RESOURCES
RENÉE FLEMING MILLS, DIRECTOR

JUDICIAL INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY ROBERT L. SMITH, DIRECTOR

JUDICIAL PLANNING CYRIL W. MILLER, JR., DIRECTOR

JUDICIAL SERVICES
PAUL F. DELOSH, DIRECTOR

LEGAL RESEARCH STEVEN L. DALLE MURA, DIRECTOR

LEGISLATIVE & PUBLIC RELATIONS KATYA N. HERNDON, DIRECTOR

The Honorable David B. Albo Chairman, House Courts of Justice Committee 6367 Rolling Mill Place, Suite 102 Springfield, VA 22152

The Honorable Henry L. Marsh III Chairman, Senate Courts of Justice Committee 422 East Franklin Street, Suite 301 Richmond, VA 23219

Dear Chairmen:

Virginia Code § 17.1-507 provides that the Judicial Council shall make a study and report to the Courts of Justice Committees of the House of Delegates and Senate on the number of new circuit court judgeships needed and the circuits for which they should be authorized. The Judicial Council last studied the need for new circuit court judgeships in 2008. At that time, the Council found the need for six new circuit court judgeships. However, due to the economic difficulties faced by the Commonwealth, the Chief Justice did not seek authorization for these new judgeships during the 2009 Session of the General Assembly.

Since that time, in light of the continuing tenuous economic situation, the Supreme Court has not intended to seek authorization for any new judgeships, and no new study has been conducted regarding the need for new circuit court judgeships.

If you have any questions, please do not he sitate to contact me. With best wishes, I am

Very truly yours,

KIZH

Karl R. Hade

KRH:jrp

cc:

The Honorable Susan C. Schaar, Clerk

The Honorable Bruce F. Jamerson, Clerk

Mr. Richard E. Hickman, Jr., Senate Finance

Mr. Michael Jay, House Appropriations

Ms. Mary Kate Felch, Legislative Services