

COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA

Office of the Governor

June 1, 2011

Janet Vestal Polarek Secretary of the Commonwealth

TO THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF VIRGINIA:

Pursuant to Sections 2.2-107 and 2.2-406 of the *Code of Virginia*, I am reporting the list of gubernatorial appointments to agencies, boards, commissions, and councils made between the end of the General Assembly Session and June 1, 2011. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance as you review these appointments.

Sincerely,

Janet Vestal Polarek

Janet V. Polarek

Secretary of the Commonwealth

cc: Office of the Clerk of the House of Delegates
The Honorable Susan Clarke Schaar
The Honorable Mark Cole
The Honorable Janet Howell
Mary Spain

AUTHORITIES

Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel Commission

Aubrey L. Layne, Jr., 1464 Five Hill Trail, **Virginia Beach,** Virginia 23452, Member, appointed March 9, 2011, for a term of four years beginning July 1, 2010, and ending June 30, 2014, to succeed himself.

J. W. Salm, Post Office Box 311, **Cape Charles,** Virginia 23310, Member, appointed March 9, 2011, for a term of four years beginning July 1, 2010, and ending June 30, 2014, to succeed Odelle Johnson Collins.

COMMERCE AND TRADE

Board for Contractors

James Oliver, Post Office Box 2927, Radford, Virginia 24143, Member, appointed April 12, 2011, for a term of four years beginning July 1, 2011, and ending June 30, 2015, to succeed Dorothy Wood.

Commission on Local Government

John G. Kines, Jr., 12350 Pole Run Road, Disputanta, Virginia 23842, Member, appointed April 15, 2011, for a term of five years beginning January 1, 2011, and ending December 31, 2015, to succeed Vola Lawson.

Real Estate Board

Anh Tu Do, 7702 Newcastle Drive, **Annandale,** Virginia 22003, Member, appointed May 11, 2011, for a term of four years beginning July 1, 2011, and ending June 30, 2015, to succeed Byrl Phillips-Taylor.

EDUCATION

Board of Visitors of the Virginia School for the Deaf and Blind

Virgil A. Cook, 200 Slate Creek Drive, **Christiansburg**, Virginia 24073, Member, appointed May 9, 2011, for a term of four years beginning July 1, 2011, and ending June 30, 2015, to succeed himself.

Institute for Advanced Learning and Research

Betty Jo Foster, 1388 Rocksprings Road, Ringgold, Virginia 24586, Member, appointed April 19, 2011, for a term of four years beginning July 1, 2011, and ending June 30, 2015, to succeed herself.

Library Board

Pat Evans, 5340 Cristfield Court, **Fairfax**, Virginia 22032, Member, appointed May 10, 2011, for a term of five years, beginning July 1, 2011, and ending June 30, 2016, to succeed Ronald Kozlowski.

Ernestine K. Middleton, 1093 Grand Oak Lane, Virginia Beach, Virginia 23455, Member, appointed May 9, 2011, for a term of five years, beginning July 1, 2011, and ending June 30, 2016, to succeed Marc Leepson.

Carole Weinstein, 2 John Christopher Court, Richmond, Virginia 23226, Member, appointed April 26, 2011, for a term of five years, beginning July 1, 2011, and ending June 30, 2016, to succeed herself.

New College Institute Board of Directors

Edward P. Snyder, 960 Deep Run Road, Martinsville, Virginia 22112, Member, appointed April 26, 2011, for a term of four years beginning July 1, 2011, and ending June 30, 2015, to succeed Eugene Trani.

Open Education Curriculum Board

Joanie Pond, 10067 East Patrick Henry Road, **Ashland**, Virginia 23005, Member, appointed April 21, 2011, for a term of two years beginning July 1, 2011, and ending June 30, 2013, to succeed herself.

Virginia Council on the Interstate Compact on Educational Opportunities for Military Children

Susan McIntosh, 3088 Roan Road, Quantico, Virginia 22134, Member, appointed April 19, 2011, to serve at the pleasure of the Governor, beginning July 1, 2011, to fill a new seat.

HEALTH AND HUMAN RESOURCES

Board of Dentistry

Surya P. Dhakar, 11616 Olde Covington Way, Glen Allen, Virginia 23059, Member, appointed May 11, 2011, for a term of four years, beginning July 1, 2011, and ending June 30, 2015, to succeed Paul Zummet.

INDEPENDENT

Board for Protection and Advocacy

Martha Pillow, 4163 Bendemeer Road, Salem, Virginia 24153, Member, appointed April 7, 2011, to fill an unexpired term beginning November 09, 2010, and ending June 30, 2014, to succeed Chris Harrison.

Virginia Retirement System Board of Trustees

A. Marshall Acuff, Jr., 50 Bellona Arsenal Road, **Midlothian,** Virginia 23113, Member, appointed April 27, 2011, for a term of five years beginning March 1, 2011, and ending February 28, 2016, to succeed himself.

JUDICIAL

Escheators

Thomas G. Nolan, 215 Wayles Lane, Suite 125, **Charlottesville**, Virginia 22911, Member, appointed April 19, 2011 to serve at the pleasure of the Governor beginning April 19, 2011, to succeed Tracy Hopper.

LEGISLATIVE

Freedom of Information Advisory Council

Stephanie L. Hamlett, 1111 East Main Street Suite 1920, Richmond, Virginia 23219, Member, appointed May 9, 2011, for a term of four years, beginning July 1, 2011, and ending June 30, 2015, to succeed Mary Spencer.

NATURAL RESOURCES

Virginia Marine Resources Commission

Joseph C. Palmer, Jr., 2232 Starfish Road, Virginia Beach, Virginia 23451, Member appointed May18, 2011, for a term of four years beginning July 1, 2011, and ending June 30, 2015, to succeed Ernest Bowden.

Whitt G. Sessoms, III, 109 43rd Street, Virginia Beach, Virginia 23451, Member appointed May17, 2011, for a term of four years beginning July 1, 2011, and ending June 30, 2015, to succeed J.T. Holland.

PUBLIC SAFETY

Criminal Justice Services Board

Charles Ciccotti, 475 Water Street, Unit 401, Portsmouth, Virginia 23704, Member, appointed April 20, 2011, for a term of four years beginning July 1, 2011, and ending June 30, 2015, to succeed himself.

Charles E. Jett, 1225 Courthouse Road, Stafford, Virginia 22555, Chair, appointed May 25, 2011, for a term of two years, beginning July 1, 2011, and ending June 30, 2013, to fill a new seat.