RD309 - Trauma Fund Report: Use of Funds in Improving Virginia’s Trauma System, and Review of Feasible Long Term Financing Mechanisms and Potential Funding Sources for Virginia’s Trauma Centers
In the 2004 General Assembly Session House Bill (HB) 1143 amended the Code of Virginia by adding section 18.2-270.01 which established the Trauma Center Fund for the Commonwealth of Virginia. This was the first step in addressing the challenges faced by Virginia’s Trauma Centers.
The legislation required that persons convicted of criminal violations for driving under the influence pursuant to §§ 18.2-36.1, 18.2-51.4, 18.2-266 or 46.2-341.24 (DUI), and who had also been previously convicted of one or more of these violations, pay a fine of $50 into the Trauma Center Fund.
HB 2664, enacted during the 2005 Legislative Session, required that before granting or restoring a license or registration to any person whose driver's license or other privilege to drive motor vehicles or privilege to register a motor vehicle has been revoked or suspended, the Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles must collect from that person a fee of $40 in addition to all other fees provided for in this section. The additional $40 fee must be paid into the Trauma Center Fund.
Item 290D of the 2012 Appropriation Act states that “The State Health Commissioner shall review current funding provided to trauma centers to offset uncompensated care losses, report on feasible long-term financing mechanisms, and examine and identify potential funding sources on the federal, state and local level that may be available to Virginia's trauma centers to support the system's capacity to provide quality trauma services to Virginia citizens. As sources are identified, the commissioner shall work with any federal and state agencies and the Trauma System Oversight and Management Committee to assist in securing additional funding for the trauma system.”