

### *COMMONWEALTH of VIRGINIA* **Office of the Governor** P. O. Box 1475, Richmond, VA 23218

Annual Executive Summary Virginia Indian Commemorative Commission December 1, 2011 – November 30, 2012

## **Creation and Charge of the Commission**

The Virginia Indian Commemorative Commission, established in October 2009 by Governor Tim Kaine's Executive Order #100, was continued by Governor Bob McDonnell's Executive Order 59, issued on February 5, 2013. The charge of the Commission, as stated in the Executive Order is as follows: *The Commission shall determine and recommend to the General Assembly an appropriate monument in Capitol Square to commemorate the life, achievements, and legacy of American Indians in the Commonwealth. The Commission shall seek private funding for the operation and support of the Commission and the erection of an appropriate monument. However, the costs of implementation of the Commission, its work, and the compensation and reimbursement of members shall be borne by the Commission from such private funds as it may acquire to cover the costs of its operation and work. All agencies of the Commonwealth shall provide assistance to the Commission, upon request.* 

### Members of the Commission

As designated in the Executive Order, the members of the Commission include: the Governor of Virginia, the Lieutenant Governor of Virginia, the Speaker of the House of Delegates, or their respective designees, three members of the House of Delegates appointed by the Speaker of the House of Delegates in accordance with the principles of proportional representation contained in the Rules of the House of Delegates, the Clerk of the House of Delegates, the Chairwoman of the Senate Committee on Rules, two citizen members of the Senate appointed by the Senate Committee on Rules, the Executive Director of the Capitol Square Preservation Council, three members who shall be representatives of Virginia Indians to be appointed by the Governor, and the Executive Director of the Virginia Capitol Foundation. Additional members may be appointed at the Governor's discretion. The Chairman and the Vice Chairman are appointed by the Governor. Staff support is provided by the Virginia Council on Indians.

As of November 30, 2011, the members of the Commission were: Governor Robert F. McDonnell, Lt. Gov. William T. Bolling, Speaker of the House William J Howell, Delegate Christopher K. Peace, Delegate Delores L. McQuinn, Delegate Brenda L. Pogge, Clerk of the House G. Paul Nardo, Chair of Senate Rules Ryan T. McDougle, Senator A. Don McEachin, Senator Thomas A. Garrett, Jr., Clerk of the Senate Susan Clarke Schaar, Executive Director of the Capitol Square Preservation Council Vacant, Executive Director of the Virginia Capitol Foundation Alice Lynch, and gubernatorial appointees Chief Kenneth Adams, A. Sidney Turner, and Frances Broaddus-Crutchfield.

# **Meetings and Significant Actions**

The first meeting of the calendar year was held April 12, 2012 in Senate Room 3 in the State Capitol, with Vice Chair Delegate Chris Peace presiding. The Capitol Square site dedication ceremony was held in conjunction with this public meeting. The site of the future tribute was dedicated by members of the

Commission and Mr. Benjamin Norman of the Pamunkey Tribe. The brief ceremony included an Indian blessing and opportunity for members of the Commission to receive a "spiritual cleansing." Members of the Commission were joined by members of the Virginia tribal communities, McDonnell Administration members, media and the general public. Chief of Staff Martin Kent offered remarks on behalf of the Governor. Upon conclusion of the site dedication and adjournment of the full Commission meeting, the Technique Subcommittee met to consider and recommend finalists from among the artist model submissions. The artists recommended as finalists would be invited to present to the full Commission at their next scheduled meeting.

The next meeting of the Commission was held September 17, 2012 in Senate Room A of the General Assembly Building and presided over by Vice Chair Delegate Chris Peace. The Technique Subcommittee invited four finalists to submit more detailed plans in the form of a scale model. Finalists were present to visit the site and offer a public presentation of their proposal. At this meeting each of these artists presented their models to the Commission. From these four finalists, it was narrowed to two finalists: Chief Kevin Brown of the Pamunkey Indian Tribe and Mr. Alan Michelson, who is a Mohawk Indian from New York. The public was invited to attend a future public meeting to comment on the submissions. During this period the proposals were posted online for public comment and several print media articles were written about the process in the *Richmond Times-Dispatch* and the *Tidewater Review*.

The final meeting of the year was October 24, 2012. The Commission met to view models, entertain oral presentations from the artists and ask questions of the two finalists. The public was also afforded opportunity to comment on the process and the proposals. The artist unanimously selected by the Commission was Alan Michelson with a project named Mantle. Mantle is a site-specific public monument on the grounds of Virginia's historic Capitol Square commemorating the contributions of Virginia's Indians. Oriented to the earth and incorporating existing trees, Mantle consists of four integrated spiral elements: a brick paved, five-foot wide, winding footpath; rising from and returning to the earth, a continuous smooth concrete wall that is also a bench for seating; natural, low maintenance landscaping consisting of a selection of perennial native plant species, including wildflowers, indigenous to Virginia; and at the center of the spiral, a circular reflecting pool containing references to Virginia's Indian tribes in translucent cast-resin sculptural letterforms.



### Mantle by Alan Michelson