2013 Annual Review of Statutory Childhood Immunization Requirements

Section 32.1-46 F of the Code of Virginia requires the State Board of Health to perform an
annual review of the childhood immunization requirements specified in § 32.1-46, and to make
recommendations for revision. This statute requires that parents, guardians and persons standing
in loco parentis shall cause their children to be immunized in accordance with the immunization
schedule developed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Advisory Committee on
Immunization Practices (ACIP), the American Academy of Pediatrics and the American
Academy of Family Physicians (Recommended Childhood and Adolescent Immunization
Schedule). This section also states that vaccines required for school and day care attendance are
those contained in the State Board of Health's Regulations for the Immunization of School
Children (Regulations) and specifies those vaccines, at a minimum, that must be required by the
Regulations.

Since 2012, there have been several changes in the ACIP recommended immunization schedule;
however none affect the vaccines currently required for school attendance. In order to maintain
consistency with the ACIP immunization schedule, the Virginia Department of Health (VDH)
continues to recommend as it did in 2011 certain revisions to the vaccines required for school
and day care attendance. Should the General Assembly amend § 32.1-46 of the Code of
Virginia, the State Board of Health would need to make corresponding amendments to the
Regulations.

§ 32.1-46 A 4. Tetanus, Diphtheria, acellular Pertussis (Tdap)

The ACIP has recommended that Tdap vaccine should be administered when indicated
regardless of the interval since the last tetanus or diphtheria toxoid-containing vaccine. This
recommendation was incorporated into the ACIP 2012 immunization schedule. The Code and
the Regulations currently require a booster dose of Tdap vaccine for all children entering the 6™
grade only if at least five years have passed since the last dose of tetanus-containing vaccine.

Pertussis disease is increasing both nationally and in Virginia. Eliminating the 5 year minimum
interval language as it relates to Tdap vaccine administration will help ensure adolescents are
optimally protected from pertussis. A consideration of this change has also been recommended
by the Health Commissioner’s Pertussis Prevention Task Force.

§ 32.1-46 A 11. Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine (PCV) 13

Another inconsistency in the Code when compared to ACIP recommendations is for
pneumococcal conjugate vaccine (PCV). In 2000, ACIP recommended routine use of PCV7 for
all children aged 2-23 months and for children aged 24-59 months who are at increased risk for
pneumococcal disease. In 2007, ACIP revised this recommendation for routine use to include all
children aged 2-59 months. While ACIP recommends this vaccine for children up to 59 months
of age, the Code requires it only for children under the age of two. Per policy, many local health
departments have historically provided this vaccine at no cost for all children up to 59 months of



age. VDH recommends revisions in the Code to require this vaccine for children up to 59 months
of age, to be consistent with the more recent ACIP recommendation.

Finally, two subsections of the Code should also be considered for technical amendments.

§ 32.1-46 A 11. Reference to 7-valent pneumococcal conjugate (PCV) vaccine should
be removed in this subsection. The 7-valent formulation is no longer available
(replaced by a 13-valent vaccine) making this reference obsolete. It is recommended
that this subsection be amended to state "properly spaced pneumococcal conjugate
(PCV) vaccine for children less than two (or five if that change is made) years of age".
Regardless of action taken on the suggested expansion of the requirement for PCV
vaccine to all children up to 59 months of age, VDH recommends that the consideration
of the technical language change still occur.

8 32.1-46 A 9. A second recommendation is to remove the word "susceptible” from the
varicella vaccine requirement. No other required vaccine includes this word as a
condition of vaccination. The Regulations have been amended to include varicella
among the diseases for which demonstration of existing immunity exempts the child
from the immunization requirement.



