RD110 - Annual Executive Summary for the Western Virginia Public Education Consortium (“WVPEC”)

Executive Summary:
WVPEC is composed of twenty school divisions in western Virginia that include Alleghany, Bath, Bland, Botetourt, Carroll, Craig, Floyd, Franklin, Giles, Henry, Montgomery, Patrick, Pulaski, Roanoke and Wythe County Public Schools; and Covington, Martinsville, Radford, Roanoke and Salem City Public Schools. WVPEC’s goal is to support educational programming and student success in each of these school divisions and throughout the region, as a whole. School divisions support WVPEC efforts through student fees and through ongoing promotion of WVPEC projects and efforts.

The twenty school superintendents and representatives from Virginia Tech and Radford University form the Governing Board of this legislatively approved organization. An Executive Committee of six elected superintendents (listed below) oversees and supports the organization through monthly meetings in Radford. Day-to-day operations of WVPEC are overseen and supported by an Executive Director and an Executive Assistant, both of whom are part-time employees. WVPEC offices are located in Radford University’s Corporate Park, 6226 University Park Drive, Suite 2200, Radford, Virginia 24141 (phone number 540-831-6414). WVPEC’s website can be accessed at http://www.wvpec.org , and WVPEC officials may be reached by email at tarbogas@swva.net and wvpec.executive.asst@gmail.com.