2014 Annual Review of Statutory Childhood Immunization Requirements

Section 32.1-46 F of the Code of Virginia requires the State Board of Health to perform an
annual review of the childhood immunization requirements specified in § 32.1-46, and to make
recommendations for revision. This statute requires that parents, guardians and persons standing
in loco parentis shall cause their children to be immunized in accordance with the immunization
schedule developed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's Advisory Committee on
Immunization Practices (ACIP), the American Academy of Pediatrics and the American
Academy of Family Physicians (Recommended Childhood and Adolescent Immunization
Schedule). This section also states that vaccines required for school and day care attendance are
those contained in the State Board of Health's Regulations for the Immunization of School
Children (Regulations) and specifies those vaccines, at a minimum, that must be required by the
Regulations.

Meningococcal Vaccine

Meningococcal conjugate vaccine (MCV) was added to the ACIP Recommended Childhood and
Adolescent Immunization Schedule in 2006. Meningococcal disease is an acute, potentially
severe illness and is a leading cause of bacterial meningitis and sepsis in the United States.

Seven cases of meningococcal disease were reported in Virginia in 2013. Two cases were in the
30-39 age group. There was one case reported in each of the following age groups: <1 year, 1-9,
10-19, 40-49, and 50-59 years. Of the six cases for which a serogroup was identified, two (33%)
were caused by serogroups contained in meningococcal vaccines. No deaths were reported.

Per the ACIP recommendation, the optimal age to administer meningococcal vaccine to children
is at 11-12 years of age. VDH recommends revisions in the Code to require this vaccine for
children at 6" grade entry. Adding meningococcal vaccine as a school requirement would be
good public health practice. Currently, 25 states have some form of a mandate for
meningococcal vaccine: of these, six are mandates for the provision of education about the
vaccine, not a requirement for the vaccine itself. If vaccine is purchased from federal
procurement contracts, implementing this requirement in Virginia would require approximately
$555,000 in additional state general funds annually in order to cover the increased costs
estimated to be incurred by the local health departments. The vaccine cost may be lower with
alternative procurement strategies. It is unclear at this time whether or not this would require a
budget amendment to supplement current immunization funding.

Human Papilloma Virus Vaccine (HPV)

In December, 2011, the ACIP recommended the routine use of the HPV vaccine in males aged
11 or 12 years and the 2012 ACIP schedule now recommends HPV vaccine for boys as well as
girls. The Code and the Regulations currently require HPV vaccine only for girls, so to be
consistent with the ACIP schedule, revisions to the required immunizations for school and
daycare attendance in the Code and Regulations would be necessary. VDH recommends
revisions in the Code that would require HPV vaccine and related review of educational
materials for boys, to mirror the current language relevant to the requirements for girls. Based
on historical “doses administered” data for HPV vaccine over the last two years, implementing



this requirement would require approximately $94,000 in additional state general funds annually
in order to cover the increased costs estimated to be incurred by the local health departments. It
is likely that no budget amendment would be required to support this effort.

Influenza

In 2010, ACIP expanded the influenza vaccine recommendation to include that all children older
than 6 months of age should receive seasonal influenza vaccine annually. Annual influenza
vaccine for children is certainly good public health practice. Due to complexity of
implementation and cost of supporting an annual vaccine for all school children, however, an
influenza requirement is not recommended for enactment in the coming year. Local health
departments will continue to respond to the need for seasonal influenza vaccine by offering
expanded clinic hours and supporting school-based influenza clinics around the state.

Hepatitis A Vaccine

In 2006, ACIP recommended hepatitis A vaccine for all children, to be given beginning at 1 year
of age. National Immunization Survey (2012) data show that Virginia’s coverage rate for this
vaccine is near the national average for children 19-35 months of age (53% US; 50% VA). The
2013 Virginia Immunization Survey reported that 66.8% of children in daycare had
documentation of two doses of hepatitis A vaccine at the time of the assessment. It is likely that
even more children have received this vaccine but it is not documented in the facility’s record
because there is no requirement to do so. In 2013, there were 36 cases of acute Hepatitis A
reported in Virginia; of those, one case was in a preschool-aged child less than 4 years old.
Because of the high vaccine coverage rate, particularly in the pre-school population at highest
risk for acquiring hepatitis A infection in the school setting, a revision to the requirement for
school and day care attendance is not recommended.

In 2014, legislation was enacted to amend § 32.1-46 as recommended in the 2013 Annual
Review. Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (2010) and 8§88 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of
Virginia, a periodic review of the Regulations (12VAC5-110) was also conducted in April, 2014.
Regulatory actions will be submitted in 2014 to amend the Regulations as a result of these
activities.



