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Preface

This study was requested in a policy option included in the 2014 JCHC study, Minor Consent
Requirement for Voluntary Inpatient Psychiatric Treatment. The policy option, added at the
suggestion of Senator Barker, requested:

“astaff review of the implications of allowing a minor to consent for inpatient treatment at a
mental health facility without the consent of the minor’s parent. The review shall include
consideration of: 1) amending Code § 16.1-338 to alow aminor 14 years of age or older to
consent for voluntary inpatient mental health treatment without the consent of the minor’s parent;
2) creating a judicial review regarding release under Code § 16.1-339 when the minor desires to
continue inpatient treatment and consent for continued admission is withdrawn by the parent who
consented to the minor’ s admission, and 3) reimbursement issues for services provided when a
minor receives inpatient mental health treatment without the consent of the minor’s parent.”

Under the current Virginia statutes the parent(s) and the minor aged 14 through 17 must apply
jointly in order for aminor to be admitted voluntarily into an inpatient psychiatric treatment
center. Ininstancesin which the minor child (aged 14 through 17) consents but the parent does
not consent, arange of actions may be taken including the parent taking custody of the child and
returning home, a request for an emergency custody order or temporary detention order, and a
report to child protective services for medical neglect on the part of the parent.

A variety of perspectives were expressed regarding the need to change admission requirements.
These perspectives ranged from community services board (CSB) staff members who indicated
that they were never involved in a case or situation where the child wanted to be in an inpatient
setting and the parents objected, to the private practice clinicians who reported that parental
objection disagreements over treatment occur on aregular basis in both the admission stage as
well as the continuation of treatment stage of the treatment plan.

A review of other state statutes found that 19 states explicitly authorized voluntary admission for
inpatient psychiatric treatment of a minor without the consent of the parent. Most of the
authorizing statutes include provisions that balance the minor’ s rights to voluntary admission
with language that protects the minor, clinicians and providers from abuses of the authorization.

Finally, data provided by the Office of the Chief Clerk of the Supreme Court and the Institute of
Law, Psychiatry and Public Policy at the University of Virginia (UVA) combined with national
data suggests that parental objection of the recommendation for inpatient psychiatric treatment
may occur in Virginia 120 times ayear. Hospital financial data provided by the Virginia Health
Information organization indicates that the average annual cost to treat minors aged 14 through
17 in an inpatient psychiatric treatment setting was $6,372 per discharge between 2009 and 2011.
The estimated annual cost to treat minors that consent to inpatient psychiatric treatment without
parental consent is approximately $764,600, of which private insurance represents 43.7 percent
and Medicaid 38.7 percent.

Six policy options were offered for JCHC consideration; after considering the study findings and
public comments, Joint Commission members voted to take no action.

Joint Commission members and staff would like to thank the individuals who assisted in this
study, including representatives of American Civil Liberties Union of Virginia; Department of
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, Professor Richard Bonnie and associates from
the Institute of Law, Psychiatry and Public Policy at UVA; Department of Education and the
Secretary of Education; Department of Medical Assistance Services; disABILITY Law Center of



Virginia; Hospital Corporation of America; Just-Children Program at the Legal Aid Justice
Center; Ms. Jacquelin McKisson; National Alliance for the Mentally 1l of Virginia; Office of the
Attorney General; Office of the Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court of Virginia; Mr. John
Oliver, Deputy City Attorney at City of Chesapeake; Dr. Bela Sood, Senior Professor of
Psychiatry and Pediatrics at Virginia Commonwealth University; Virginia Association of
Community Service Boards; Virginia Health Information; Virginia Hospital and Healthcare
Association; Voicesfor Virginia s Children.
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Minor Consent for Voluntary I npatient Psychiatric Treatment

A Joint Commission on Health Care report, Minor Consent Requirement for Voluntary

Inpatient Psychiatric Treatment, RD No. 459 (2014) included the JCHC-member approved

policy option:
Include in the 2015 JCHC work plan, a staff review of the implications of allowing a
minor to consent for inpatient treatment at a mental health facility without the consent of
the minor’s parent. The review shall include consideration of 1) amending Code § 16.1-
338 to allow aminor 14 years of age or older to consent for voluntary inpatient mental
health treatment without the consent of the minor’s parent, 2) creating a judicial review
regarding release under Code § 16.1-339 when the minor desires to continue inpatient
treatment and consent for continued admission is withdrawn by the parent who
consented to the minor’s admission, and 3) reimbursement issues for services provided
when aminor receives inpatient mental health treatment without the consent of the
minor’s parent.

Background on Virginia's Current System

Under the current Virginia statutes both the parent(s) and the minor aged 14 through 17 must
apply jointly in order for aminor to be admitted voluntarily into an inpatient psychiatric
treatment center. *

Parents who do not consent to inpatient mental health treatment for their consenting minor child
often take custody of the child which means the minor will not receive inpatient treatment. If the
situation warrants, however, other more coercive actions may be taken to overrule the parent(s)
objection, such as:

* Anemergency custody order or temporary detention order (TDO) requested by the

evaluator, or
* A report may be made to child protective services (CPS) on the basis of medical neglect

on the part of the parent.

If the parent revokes consent to treatment while the minor is already in a psychiatric facility the
minor may be discharged to the parent within 48 hours or the minor may be compelled to remain
inpatient through a petition to the courts for involuntary commitment or atemporary detention
order requested by the treating clinician.?

The available options for overruling parental objectionsto consent to treatment for a minor are
coercive and can be perceived as adversarial by the parent, the minor child, and the clinicians
that are providing treatment.

Advantages, Disadvantages and Per spectives

Research and court decisions since the 1970s have discussed the benefits of voluntary admission
over involuntary admission for inpatient psychiatric care. The research also discusses the
advantages and disadvantages of a process that while beneficial also has disadvantages and can
be subject to abuse. > *

Table 1 on the next page displays some of the advantages and disadvantages of allowing a minor
to consent to inpatient psychiatric treatment without parental consent.

l|Page



Tablel

Potential Advantages and Disadvantages of Allowing Minor Consent

Advantages Disadvantages

Avoids the more coercive and adversarial actions (TDOs | Adversarial issues between the parent and the
and reports to child protective services) which tend to minor may lead to discharge problems since
undermine therapeutic relationships and long term the minor is discharged back to the family.

treatment in part because the experience can be traumatic

and humiliating for both the parent and the minor. Potential steering, directing, or coercion of

minors into inpatient mental health treatment
Potential for improved treatment outcomes for the minor. | when other alternatives may be available.
May reduce the length of inpatient hospital stay and

) : Potential reimbursement issues such as
improve the success of the discharge process.

providers may not be paid for services or
Allowing for voluntary inpatient care minimizes the there will be delaysin payments or

stigma associated with involuntary admissionsincluding | conversely provider abuse of reimbursement
the perception that the child is dangerous to himself or systems.

others regardless of the reason for the admission. Issues of confidentiality of records and who
should have access.

Community Service Boardsin Virginia— A Perspective on Parental Objection. Therearea
total of 40 community services boards/behaviora health authorities (CSB/BHAS) in Virginia.
The CSBs are on the front line of community mental health in the Commonwealth. CSB
evaluators provide emergency psychiatric services and are required by law to evaluate all minors
during an inpatient commitment to State facilities and to designate inpatient mental health
facilitiesin the community where the minor is being evaluated. °

CSB staff, participating in a conference call through the Virginia Association of Community
Services Boards (VACSB), indicated that they were never involved in a case or situation where
the child wanted to be in an inpatient setting and the parents objected. “It is usually the other
way around.” ®

According to the participants on the call, the failure of a parent to obtain mental health treatment
for achild for whom such treatment is recommended can be found to constitute child neglect,
and the judge can order a child's custodian to obtain such treatment for a child in such cases, or
as part of the disposition of a Child in Need of Service (CHINS) or delinquency case. The judge
can place the child in the custody of someone who will obtain the treatment the child needs. The
Court can affect the child’ s participation in outpatient treatment, and through the judge’s
authority under the Comprehensive Services Act the judge can affect the child’s placement in
residential (as opposed to acute care) behavioral heath facilities.

To require inpatient mental health treatment of a minor without the consent of his/her parent(s),
currently involves pre-screeners (and subsequently, magistrates and special justices) who
normally become involved with a child and family at the point where there are objective criteria
that provide the basis for moving forward (or not) with petitions, orders and hospitalizations
regardless of the desires and beliefs of the child and parents.

One program supervisor said from her experience hospitals will not accept minors without
parental consent because “they are going to be concerned about reimbursement.” During her
career she worked for the Richmond CSB and indicated that there were afew times where the
pre-screener felt a child needed to be hospitalized and the parent objected. In those cases the
CSB had to seek atemporary detention order to get the minor into the hospital —in these
situations there was also a call to child protective services.
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Provider, Clinician, and Counselors - A Perspective on Parental Objection. Hospital
administrators, during a conference call through the Virginia Hospital and Healthcare
Association (VHHA), indicated that hospitals experience parental disagreements with evaluators
and clinicians over recommendations for inpatient treatment for minors once or twice every few
months.” Clinicians indicated that parental disagreements over treatment occur on aregular basis
and occur in both the admission stage as well as the continuation of treatment stage of the
treatment plan. The disagreements may involve denial by the parents of a problem with their
child and/or the costs involved with inpatient treatment.

A school official indicated that there are times when parents deny that there are problems with
their children and do not want to draw attention to their family situation or have it be known that
their child has amental or behavioral health problem.

A former school psychologist said that over the years she had a number of casesin which
children saw the benefit of, and wanted to use, medications and other treatments to address their
condition, but their parents resisted both mental health diagnoses and treatments for their
children because of their fear of stigma, not only for the children but for their families. She
indicated that some parents equate a diagnosis of mental illness with being “crazy,” rejecting any
suggestions that they or their child might benefit from mental health treatment on the grounds

that they were “not crazy” and therefore did not need any treatment.

Finally, it was reported that some parents get tired and frustrated waiting in a hospital
emergency-room and simply walk out with the minor child. The wait for an evaluation in the
emergency room can last “up to 12 hours.” 8

During conversations with clinicians different scenarios were presented that illustrate when
minor consent for inpatient psychiatric treatment without parental consent would have been
helpful. The following table summarizes three of the scenarios.

Table?2

Clinician-Reported Situationsin Which
Minor Consent Without Parental Consent Would Have Been Helpful

A girl in high school isinvolved in
multiple activities and is very
popular with her peers and teachers.
Sheisviewed asfriendly, outgoing
and very intelligent.

In her senior year at age 16 the girl
had a break down in the school
counselor’s office. The counselor
learned that the girl was raising her
younger siblings and had taken on
therole of “parent” in the household.

Both parents were working through
their own issues and resisted consent
to treatment for their daughter. They
did not want the neighbors to know
that there was something wrong in
the household.

A child was aready in an
inpatient setting. The clinical
team determined that the child

needed additional inpatient care.

The child agrees and consents.
The parents, however, do not.

The clinical team began the
TDO but was concerned about
how the court process might

interfere with the treatment plan.

The child volunteersto say
whatever is needed in order to
continue treatment.

A child was taken from school to the
emergency room. The parents were
notified and showed up in the ER.
The examination indicated that the
child needed to be in an inpatient
setting. The parents objected.

The CSB evaluator began a
discussion with the parents about
involuntary commitment through
TDO.

The parents were given a choice:
consent to treatment or face
involuntary treatment, having the
child removed from the home and
the possibility of an investigation by
Child Protective Services for
medical neglect.
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Perceived Barriers and Prevalence. A literature review, reported in BMC Psychiatry in 2010
examined 22 studies on the perceived barriers for adolescents seeking mental health treatment.
The review’ s thematic analysis found: *Y oung people perceived stigma and embarrassment,
problems recognizing symptoms, and a preference for self-reliance as the most important barriers
to help-seeking.” °

In awell-cited study from 1993, a survey of high school students found that 58 percent had
health concerns that they wished to keep private from their parents, and 69 percent from friends
and classmates; 25 percent reported that they would forgo health care in some situationsif their
parents might find out.*

According to a study that appeared in the Archives of General Psychiatry in 2005, half of all
lifetime cases of psychiatric disorders, including substance abuse disorders, begin by age 14.™

Prevalence of Psychiatric Disordersin Minors. Estimating the number of minors who may
need inpatient treatment but are not receiving it is difficult. The Congressional Research Service
(CRS) reported in 2015, that the estimated number of adolescents with mental health disorders
ranges from 8.0 percent to as high as 42.6 percent depending on the methodology used by the
study’ s authors. The studies that found the lowest prevalence rates sought to only identify the
seriously mentally ill while the studies that found the highest prevalence rates typically sought to
identify every minor who had a mental disorder regardless of severity.™

CRS aso cited a 2012 study on severity (from the Archives of General Psychiatry) to make the
point that most adolescents with mental disorders do not necessarily need treatment. **

I dentifying Minorsn Need of Inpatient Mental Health Treatment. A National Institute of
Mental Health (NIMH) study found that approximately 36.2 percent of adolescents identified
with mental health disorders received services for their illness.**

According to a2012 SAMHSA survey of youth that has been completed since 1971 and is
updated regularly: 12.7 percent of youths reported receiving “ Specialty Mental Health” services
(defined as inpatient and/or outpatient services and does not include school counselors or family
physicians); 2.5 percent of that number reported receiving their Specialty Mental Health services
in an inpatient mental health setting. *°

Table 3 includes estimates of the number of minors age 14 through 17 in Virginiawho may bein
need of inpatient psychiatric care but are not receiving it. The estimate is based on census data
and findings from the NIMH and SAMHSA studies.

Table3

Estimated Number of Minors Who Need
But May Not Be Receiving I npatient Mental Health Services

. Applying SAMHSA
Description Survey Results
Virginia Population of Minors Ages 14 through 17 (U.S. Census) 459,000

multiplied by preval ence percentage x12.7%
Resulting Estimate of Virginia Minors with a Diagnosable MH Disorder 58,293

multiplied by percentage who are not receiving services X 63.8%
Resulting Estimate of Minors Not Recelving Services 37,191

multiplied by percentage who need but not receiving inpatient MH services x 2.5%
Number of Minors Who Need but May Not Be Receiving | npatient 930

Mental Health Services
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Other State Statutes

A review of other state-statutes found that 19 states explicitly authorized voluntary admission for
inpatient psychiatric treatment of a minor without the consent of the parent. Most of the
authorizing statutes include provisions that balance the minor’ s rights to voluntary admission
with language that protects the minor, clinicians and providers from abuses of the
authorization.® The statutory references for these 19 states are shown in Table 4; asalso
indicated: 10 states set the minor’s age to consent at 16, seven states at 14, one state at 15 and
one at 13. (Additional descriptions of these 19 state-statutes are included as an attachment.)

Table4
Statutory Referencesfor 19 Statesthat Authorize
Voluntary Admission for MinorsWithout Parental Consent
State Age | Authorizing State Statutes
Alabama 14 Alabama Code § 22-8-4
Colorado 15 Colorado Rev. Stat. 8 27-65-103 [Formerly 27-10-103]
Idaho 14 Idaho Code § 66-318
Illinois 16 I1linois 405 ILCS Sec. 5/3-400, 3-405, 3-502; 3-507.
Kansas 14 Kansas Revised Statutes § 59-2949
Louisiana 16 Louisiana Children Code CH 11. Art. 1464 & 1467, 1468
Maryland 16 Maryland Code Ann., Health-Gen. §10-609 and §20-104
M assachusetts 16 Massachusetts Ann. Laws Part 1 Title XVII CH. 123; section 10
Michigan 14 Michigan Compiled Laws 330.1498d; € |.
Minnesota 16 Minnesota Stat. § 253b .03 & .04 c. Subdiv. 6(d); Minn. Stat. § 144.343-347
Montana 16 Montana Code Ann. § 53-21-112
New Jersey 14 New Jersey stat. Ann. § 4:74-7a. (c)
New Y ork 16 New York MHY. Law § 9.13
Oklahoma 16 Oklahoma Stat. Ann. Tit. 43a 8§ 5-503
Pennsylvania 14 Pennsylvania 50 P.S. § 7201-7204; Pennsylvania 35 P.S. § 10101.1-10105
Tennessee 16 Tennessee Code Ann. § 33-6-201 - 203
Texas 16 Texas Health and Safety Code. § 572.001; Tex. Fam. Code ann. § 32.004
Vermont 14 Vermont Stat. Ann. Tit. 18, § 7503
Washington 13 Washington Rev. Code ann. § 71.34.500; Wash. Rev. Code ann. § 71.34.520

While one state made minors adults for purposes of inpatient mental health treatment thereby
affording them all of the rights and authorizations that an adult has for voluntary admission, most
states explicitly addressed other issues related to inpatient treatment, such as:

e The application and admission process o Relief to the parent for financial obligations
e Confidentiality e Liability for providers
e Parenta notification e Noticeto leave or be discharged
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Table 5 provides brief examples of some of the issues addressed in state statutes and the statesin

which the examples are found:

Table5

Examples of State Statutesthat Address Other |ssues

Application and Admission
Process

Approved by facility director (1D, IL, KS, LA, MD)
Application through courts (NJ)

Evaluation Physician has to determine minor has capacity to make knowing
decision and ability to consent (LA, MD)
Clinical criteriafor evaluation consistent with the American Academy
of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (MN)

Capacity to Consent The capacity of aminor to consent to treatment does not include the

capacity to refuse treatment for which a parent has given consent (MD)

Confidentiality and Parental
Notification

Facility director isrequired to notify parents (KS)
The parent may apply for release upon notification (ID)

Parents may be notified without consent of minor at the discretion of the
treating physician (CO)
Parents notified if in the best interest of the minor (MN)

Parental Involvement

Obtain parental consent or proceed to court process (MI)
Parent informed of right to be heard - upon filing an objection (PA)

Relief to the Parent for any
Financial Obligations if
They Did Not Consent

A minor consenting shall assume financia responsibility (MN)
Parent not responsible for cost of services (MD, MA)

Liability Relief for Providers

Provider not liable for damages if the child misrepresents himself (TX)

Noticeto Leave or Be
Discharged

May give notice of intent to leave at any time (WA)

A minor who revokes consent must be discharged within 48 hours
unless the district attorney files opposition with the court (OK)

Cost and Reimbur sement | ssues

As explained in this section of the report, an attempt was made to estimate the number of minors
that may be impacted by achange in Virginialaw and what the financial implications may be.*’

How many times does a parent object under the current Virginia system? Staff of UVA’s
Institute of Law, Psychiatry and Public Policy (ILPPP) surveyed CSB evaluators during the
month of April 2013. According to the survey, 387 emergency evaluations of juveniles aged 14
through 17 were completed with 165 (42.6%) recommended for inpatient mental health

treatment during the month.

The survey included three questions related to whether a parent was consulted and whether
he/she was willing to approve the proposed admission of the minor to inpatient psychiatric
treatment. In 10 (6.1%) cases the parent did not approve of the evaluator’ s recommendation to
admit the minor into an inpatient mental health facility; of the 10 minors, seven were eventually
admitted while two were not admitted due in part to insurance issues, and one due to other

medical conditions.®
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Assuming that April 2013 was a typical month for juvenile evaluations, the information from the
survey may be used to estimate the annual number of parental objections to recommended
inpatient treatment. Table 6 annualizes the UV A survey findings:

Table6

Estimates Based on |L PPP Survey of CSB Evaluatorsin April 2013

Estimated Number of Emergency Evaluationsin aYear (n=387 x 12) 4,644.0
multiplied by percentage recommended for inpatient admission 42.6%
Resulting Estimate of Annual Number of Inpatient Admission Recommendations 1,978.3
multiplied by percentage of parental objections 6.1%
Estimated Number of Parental Objectionsin a Year 120.7

Another way to develop an estimate of parental objectionsisto review court data displaying the
number of involuntary commitment petitions not granted for 2014 as shown in Table 7.

Table7
Final Disposition of Petitions Not Granted for Involuntary Commitment by Agein 2014
Age of Juvenile Dismissed Withdrawn Released to Parents Total Not Granted
14 52 6 11 69
15 35 6 13 54
16 41 5 18 64
17 61 5 16 82
Total 189 22 58 269

Source: Office of the Executive Secretary, Supreme Court of Virginia as reported by court clerks.

It is unknown how many of the 269 petitions were not granted because of parental objection or
because they became voluntary admissions. However, the UV A study suggests that some of the
recorded “ not-granted” petitions were the result of parental objection.

Financial Implications.* A review, of the financial datareported by hospitalsto Virginia
Health Information (VHI), indicates that from 2009 through 2011 the overall total cost-of-care
for inpatient treatment for minors aged of 14 through 17 in a private psychiatric hospital or a
mental health unit of a general hospital was $85.2 million with an average cost-per-discharge of
$6,372.

The graph in Figure 1 displays the payer-mix based for inpatient psychiatric care for minors
between the ages of 14 through 17. Private insurance and Medicaid made up 82.9 percent of the
payments for this age group (44.1% and 38.8% respectively).

A Minor adjustments were made to the financial data after theinitial presentation was made to the Commission with
the assistance of VHI, DMAS, and VHHA staff.
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Figurel

Inpatient Psychiatric Treatment Cost by Payer Type
Ages 14 through 17 (2009-2011)

Medicare

State/ Local 0.4%
Government
0.6%

Self Pay/
Unknown/
Indigent
2.0%

Self Pay/ Unknown/
Indigent
2.0%

Tricare/Champus
12.7%

Source: VHI hospital detail files.

The estimated cost to treat the 120 minors identified above was $762,630 and breaks down by

payer type as shown in Table 8.
Table8

Inpatient Psychiatric Treatment for Consenting Minors Aged 14 through 17

Estimated Annual Cost by Payer Type

Payer Type Number of Minors14-17 | Cost Per Discharge | Annual Cost
Private Insurance 65 $5,140 $334,120
Medicaid * 37 $7,994 $295,782
Tricare/ CHAMPUS 11 $8,883 $97,712
Self-Pay/Unknown/Indigent 2 $6,490 $12,980
Other Government 3 $4,118 $12,354
State/Local Government 1 $6,920 $6,920
Medicare 1 $2,763 $2,763
Total 120 $6,372 $762,630

* The Virginia Medicaid Sate match is 50 percent of the total cost or $147,891 of the estimate.
Source: Virginia Health Information.

There is no reason to believe that the children who may need inpatient mental health treatment

will have adifferent “payer-mix” than those already in the system.
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Policy Options and Public Comment

Six policy options, addressing the expansion of the authority for minors to consent to their
inpatient mental health treatment, were presented for JCHC-member consideration. Public
comments regarding the policy options were submitted by:

e Mr. Richard J. Bonnie, Ph.D., Director

Institute of Law, Psychiatry and Public Policy at the University of Virginia

e Ms. Jacquelin McKisson, Parent
e Ms. Claire Guthrie Gastanaga, Executive Director

American Civil Liberties Union of Virginia(ACLU-VA)

e Ms. Colleen Miller, Executive Director
disABILITY Law Center of Virginia (dLCV)
e Ms. Mira Signer, Executive Director

National Alliance for the Mentally 1l of Virginia(NAMI-VA)

¢ Ms. Jennifer Faison, Executive Director

Virginia Association of Community Services Boards (VACSB)

Policy Options Comments
1 | Takeno action. NAMI-VA primary option supported.
VACSB primary option supported.
2 | Introduce legidation to amend Caode of Virginia Title Ms. McKisson at age 16 with provisions similar

16.1 to provide minors with the same rights and
responsibilities as an adult in terms of consenting to
voluntary inpatient mental health treatment beginning at

age:

to Maryland’ s current law; most importantly that
the parent is not responsible for the cost of
treatment.

ACLU-VA at age 14

= l4years = J16years
= 15years = 17years dLCV at ageof 14

3 | Introduce legislation to amend Code of Virginia Title Mr. Bonnie reported that his review of civil
16.1 to establish a process by which a minor, whose commitment of juvenilesled him to the
parent(s)/guardian(s) will not consent to hig’her conclusion that self-admission requests by
voluntary inpatient mental health trestment, may request | minors “occur frequently enough (~125/year) to
and receive such treatment with the approval of a warrant statutory guidance.”
clinician and/or evaluator who has examined and found : o :
the minor to bein need of and likely to benefit from the :\rl]ﬁx ilé\égi::?tce)geanngoi ﬁgﬂﬂ‘ed?i It?]r;gp?z f ea;g,\ts
requested treatment.

VACSSB, if action isto be taken, may support
option if an “independent” clinician and/or
evaluator must examine the minor and approve
of his/her treatment.

4 | Introduce legislation to amend Code of Virginia Title NAMI-VA isopen to option “as long as parents
16.1 to alow, when consent by his/her input is solicited and included in the process.”
parent(s)/guardian(s) is not given, aminor to access the
evaluation process of the local community services board
in order to receive approval for voluntary inpatient
mental health treatment.

5 | Introduce legislation to amend Code of Virginia Title

16.1 to allow, when consent by his/her
parent(s)/guardian(s) is not given, aminor to petition the
juvenile court in order to be examined and receive
authorization for voluntary inpatient mental health
treatment.
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Policy Options

Comments

6

Include the following provisionsin introduced legidlation
to amend Code of Virginia Title 16.1 to address:

A. Parental Objection — provide opportunity to consider
objections, by the parent(s)/
guardian(s), to the minor’ s voluntary inpatient
mental health treatment.

B. Admission criteria— establish the clinical criteria, for
allowing the minor’ s admission for voluntary
inpatient mental health treatment without the consent
by higher parent(s)/
guardian(s), to be the current inpatient admission
standards such as those established by the American
Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry.

C. Other evaluation criteria— establish criteriato
determine that minor has the capacity to consent and
isclinically suitable for the voluntary mental health
treatment that will be provided.

D. Liability Relief —add language that providers are not
liable for damages if a minor misrepresents himself
except for damages resulting from negligence or
willful misconduct.

E. Limitations on inpatient stays — establish limitations
on the number of days aminor may be treated in the
inpatient facility on avoluntary basis and/or the
number of times the minor may be admitted without
the consent of the parent(s)/guardian(s).

F. Financia responsibility — as needed, add language
regarding mental health parity provisions, financial
liability of parent(s)/
guardian(s), and other payment guidelines.

G. Confidentiality — determine and denote requirements
in order to comply with Health Insurance Portability
and Accountability Act (HIPAA) privacy provisions,
such as sharing of treatment or health-insurance
payment information with parent(s)/guardian(s).

Mr. Bonnie commented:

e 6A —Thefacility should endeavor to notify
the parents within 24 hours after the minor’s
admission and provide for judicia review if
the parent objects to continued
hospitalization.

e 6C—A qualified evaluator as defined in
Code § 16.1-336 finds the minor meets
admission criteria“under some adaptation
of” Code § 16.1-338.B.

o 6F —"“Asamatter of policy, | think that
parents should remain liable for medically
necessary expenses to the same extents as
they would be responsible if they had
admitted the minor. | fear that any other
arrangement would encourage parents to
refuse to consent to medically necessary care
that they would otherwise seek in the
absence of aprovision alowing self-
admission of the minor.”

Ms. McKisson recommends that 6F include that
the “parent is not liable for any costs of the
treatment of the minor....There needs to be some
financial provisioninthelaw....Either the local
CSB needs to step-in and make payment, the
hospital hasto voluntarily agree to waive the
payment, VA Medicaid rules for long-term care
need to be modified to accept children with a
‘higher’ income or without respect to income,
and/or some state budget line needs to be added
to provide ‘gap’ /financia coverage.”

Action by the Joint Commission on Health Care. After considering the study findings and
public comments, Joint Commission members voted to take no action.

JCHC Staff for this Report
Stephen Weiss
Senior Health Policy Analyst

Philip Z. Van Keuren
Health Policy Extern
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State Statutes that Authorize
Voluntary Admission for Minors Without Parental Consent

State

Age

Statute

Brief Description

Alabama

14

Ala. Code § 22-8-4:
Mental health
services.

¢ 14 years of age or older, consent to any legally
authorized mental health services; consent of no other
person shall be necessary.

Colorado

15

Colo. Rev. Stat. §
27-65-103
[Formerly 27-10-
103] Mental health.

e Minors 15 or older can consent to mental health
services rendered by a facility or a professional person
without consent of parents.

¢ Consent shall not be subject to disaffirmance because
of minority. The professional person may advise the
parents with or without consent from the minor.

¢ An independent professional person shall interview the
minor and conduct a careful investigation into the
minor's background so that prior to admitting a minor:
the minor has a mental illness and is in need of
hospitalization; that a less restrictive treatment
alternative is inappropriate or unavailable; and that
hospitalization is likely to be beneficial.

Idaho

14

Idaho Code § 66-
318. Mental health.

o Any individual fourteen (14) to eighteen (18) years of
age may apply to be admitted to a mental health
facility for observation, diagnosis, evaluation, care or
treatment.

o Facility director is required to notify the parent of the
admission to a mental health facility for observation,
diagnosis, evaluation, care or treatment. The parent
may apply for release.

Ilinois

16

1. 405 ILCS Sec.
5/3-502. Mental
health.

111 405 ILCS 5/3-400
Clinically suitable.
111 405 ILCS 5/3-405
review of denial by
person seeking
admission.

405 ILCS 5/3-507
Obijection to
admission.

e Any minor may be admitted to a mental health facility
voluntarily if the minor executes the application and
shall be treated as an adult.

e The minor's parent shall be immediately informed of
the admission.

e Minor must be found clinically suitable and have the
capacity to consent.

o | the facility director of a Department mental health
facility declines to admit a person seeking admission, a
review of the denial may be requested by the person
seeking admission.

¢ Objection may be made to the admission of a minor
and the minor shall be discharged at the earliest
appropriate time, not to exceed 15 days, unless the
objection is withdrawn in writing or unless, within that
time, a petition for review of the admission and
certificates of examination by both a licensed mental
health provider and a psychiatrist are filed with the
court.




State Age | Statute Brief Description
Kansas 14 KS Revised Statutes ¢ Minor may make written application without the

§59-2949 Mental consent of parent for admission to a psychiatric

health. treatment facility as a voluntary patient; the head of the
treatment facility determines need of treatment and that
the person has the capacity to consent.

¢ The head of the treatment facility shall promptly notify
the child's parent of the admittance of child.
Louisiana 16 LA Children Code e Minor may apply for voluntary admission to a mental

CH 11. Art. 1464 & health or substance abuse treatment facility.

1468. Mental e A minor so admitted shall have the same rights as an

health adult patient.

LA Children Code e The admitting physician may admit the person on

CH 11. Art. 1467. either a formal or informal basis.

Capacity to consent. | o No admission may be deemed voluntary unless the
admitting physician determines that the minor has the
capacity to make a knowing and voluntary consent to
the admission.

Maryland 16 Md. Code Ann., e Application for voluntary admission of an individual to

Health—Gen. §10- a facility may be made if the individual is 16 years old

609 Mental health. or older.

Md. Code Ann., e The individual must understand the nature of the

Health—Gen. §20- request; is able to give continuous assent to retention

104. Capacity as an by the facility; and is able to ask for release.

adult to consent. e A minor has the same capacity as an adult to consent to
consultation, diagnosis, and treatment of a mental or
emotional disorder by a physician, psychologist, or a
clinic.

¢ The capacity of a minor to consent to treatment does
not include the capacity to refuse treatment for which a
parent has given consent.

¢ The physician heading the treatment team decides
whether a parent of the minor should receive
information about treatment.

¢ The parent is not liable for any costs of the treatment of
the minor.

Massachusetts | 16 Mass. Ann. Laws ¢ The superintendent of a mental health facility may

Part 1 Title XVII accept an application for voluntary admission by any

CH. 123; section 10. person 16 years or older that is in need of care and

Mental health. treatment.

¢ The parent shall not be liable for the payment of any
care.
Michigan 14 MCL 330.1498d; e A minor of 14 years or older may request, and if found

e; J. Mental health,
parental consent.

suitable, be hospitalized. Once hospitalized, the
hospital director is required to obtain parental consent
or proceed to court process.




State Age | Statute Brief Description

Minnesota 16 Minn. Stat. § e Any person 16 years or older may request informal
253b.04 Mental admission to a treatment facility for observation or
health. treatment of mental illness, chemical dependency, or
Minn. Stat. § mental retardation and may give valid consent for
253b.03 c. Subdiv. hospitalization, routine diagnostic evaluation, and
6(d) consent emergency or short-term acute care.

Minn. Stat. § e Facility to admit must be based on clinical admission
144.343 Mental and criteria consistent with the most current inpatient
other health services admission standards established by the American

to treat alcohol and Psychiatric Association or the American Academy of
other drug abuse. Child and Adolescent Psychiatry.

Minn. Stat. § « Minor may consent for mental and other health
144.345 services services to determine the presence of or to treat alcohol
provided in good and other drug abuse; the consent of no other person is
faith. required.

Minn. Stat. 8 « Consent of a minor shall be deemed effective for the
144.346 provider purposes of providing services in good faith.

may inform parents. | o proyider may inform parents if they determine it is in
Minn. Stat. § best interest of minor.

144.347 financial « A minor consenting for health services shall assume
responsibility. financial responsibility for the cost of services.

Montana 16 | Mont. Code Ann. 8 e A minor is at least 16 years of age may, without the
53-21-112 Mental consent of a parent, receive mental health services.
health. e Voluntary admission terminates at the expiration of 1

year.

¢ Consent of the minor shall not be subject to later
disaffirmance or revocation because of minority.

¢ Minors consenting assume financial responsibility
unless proven to be unable to pay and who receive the
services in public institutions. If the minor is covered
by health insurance, payment may be applied for
services rendered.

New Jersey 14 N.J. stat. Ann. § e Any minor 14 years of age or over may request
4:74-7a. (c) Mental admission to a psychiatric facility and be admitted
health. provided that the court finds the minor’s request

informed and voluntary.

New York 16 N.Y. MHY. Law § o A person over 16 and under 18 years of age is
9.13 Mental health. authorized to apply for voluntary inpatient admission

to a hospital; application accepted at the discretion of
the hospital director.

Oklahoma 16 Okla. Stat. Ann. Tit. e A minor 16 years of age or older may consent to

43a § 5-503 Mental
health.

voluntary admission for inpatient mental health or
substance abuse treatment.

¢ A minor who revokes consent must be discharged
within 48 hours unless the district attorney files
opposition to the discharge with the court.




State Age | Statute Brief Description
Pennsylvania | 14 | Pennsylvania 50 e Any person 14 years of age or over may submit
P.S. § 7201 Mental himself to mental health examination and treatment
health. provided that the decision to do so is made
Pennsylvania 50 voluntarily.
P.S. § 7204. Parent  Upon the acceptance of an application for examination
notification, right to and treatment by a minor 14 years or over but less than
object. 18 years of age, the director of the facility shall
Pennsylvania 35 promptly notify the minor's parents and shall inform
P.S. §10101.1. them of the right to be heard upon the filing of an
mental health objection.
treatment. e Any minor who is 14 years of age or older may consent
Pennsylvania 35 to outpatient mental health examination and treatment
P.S.§10101.2 and voluntary inpatient mental health treatment.
Records controlled e The minor shall control the release of the minor's
by minor. mental health treatment records and information to the
Pennsylvania 35 extent allowed by law.
P.S. § 10105 . e Providers not liable if minor misrepresent themselves.
Providers not liable.
Tennessee 16 | Tenn. Code Ann. 8 e A person who is sixteen (16) years of age or over may
33-6-201 Mental apply for voluntary admission.
health. e Admission of an un-emancipated child limited to one
Tenn. Code Ann. 8 (1) six-month period in any twelve-month period
33-6-203 Admission unless the admission is reviewed and approved for
limit. further hospitalization.
Texas 16 | Tex. Health and e The administrator of an inpatient or outpatient mental
Safety Code. § health facility may admit a minor who is 16 years of
572.001. Mental age or older to an inpatient or outpatient mental health
health inpatient or facility as a voluntary patient without the consent of
outpatient. the parent, managing conservator, or guardian.
Tex. Fam. Code ann. | e A physician, psychologist, counselor, or social worker
§ 32.004 Provider is not liable for damages if a child misrepresents
not themselves except for damages resulting from
negligence or willful misconduct.
e Parent not consenting to counseling treatment is not
obligated to compensate providers.
Vermont 14 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. e Any person 14 years of age or over may apply for
18, § 7503 Mental voluntary admission to a designated hospital for mental
health. health examination and treatment provided that consent
is given in writing.
Washington 13 | Wash. Rev. Code e A minor 13 years of age or older may admit himself or

ann. § 71.34.500
Mental health.
Wash. Rev. Code
ann. § 71.34.520
Notice of intent to
leave.

herself to an evaluation and treatment facility for
inpatient mental treatment, without parental consent
based on professional person consent.

¢ May give notice of intent to leave at any time.




Allowing Certain Minors to Receive
Inpatient Mental Health Treatment
Without Parental Consent

Joint Commission on Health Care
June 17, 2015

Stephen Weiss
Senior Health Policy Analyst

Genesis and Purpose of the Study

Study was requested in a policy option from 2014 JCHC study on the minor
consent requirement for voluntary inpatient psychiatric treatment.

The policy option, added at the suggestion of Senator Barker, requested “a staff
review of the implications of allowing a minor to consent for inpatient treatment
at a mental health facility without the consent of the minor’s parent. The review
shall include consideration of:

1) amending Code § 16.1-338 to allow a minor 14 years of age or older to
consent for voluntary inpatient mental health treatment without the consent of
the minor’s parent,

2) creating a judicial review regarding release under Code § 16.1-339 when the
minor desires to continue inpatient treatment and consent for continued
admission is withdrawn by the parent who consented to the minor’s
admission, and

3) reimbursement issues for services provided when a minor receives inpatient
mental health treatment without the consent of the minor’s parent.”




Issues to Consider and Review

What is the purpose of authorizing a minor to voluntarily
commitment themselves to inpatient care without parental consent:

» Overcome an objecting parent, or

* Increasing the likelihood that a child in need of inpatient mental
health treatment will seek out the treatment, or

* Both

» Do other states have statutes that allow a minor to consent to
inpatient mental health treatment without consent of their parent or a
guardian? If so, what are the statutory provisions?

* How many minors might make use of a provision of allowing them
to consent to their own inpatient treatment?

» What are the financial implications?

Virginia’s Current System

If parents do not consent to inpatient mental health treatment for their
consenting minor child, typically either the wishes of the parent(s) will be
honored and the minor will not receive inpatient treatment or another
action may be taken or threatened to overrule the parent(s) objection.

« An emergency custody order or temporary detention order (TDO) may
be requested.

« Areport may be made to child protective services (CPS) on the basis
of medical neglect on the part of the parent.

The available options for overruling parental consent are very coercive
and can be perceived as adversarial by the parent, the minor child and the
clinicians that are providing treatment.




Allowing Minors to Consent to
Inpatient Mental Health Treatment

Advantages

Disadvantages

Potential for improved treatment outcomes for
the minor. May reduce the length of inpatient
hospital stay and improve the success of the
discharge process.

Avoids the more coercive and adversarial
actions (TDOs and CPS reports) which tend to
undermine therapeutic relationships and long
term treatment in part because the experience
can be traumatic and humiliating for both the
parent and the minor.

Allowing for voluntary inpatient care
minimizes the stigma associated with
involuntary admissions including the
perception that the child is dangerous to
himself or others regardless of the reason for
the admission.

Adversarial issues between the parent and the minor may
lead to discharge problems since the minor is discharged
back to the family.

Potential steering, directing, or coercion of minors into
inpatient mental health treatment when alternatives may
be available.

Potential reimbursement issues including that providers
may not be paid in a timely manner if at all or conversely
provider abuse of reimbursement systems.

Issues of confidentiality of records and who should have
access.

Part 1
The Current Virginia System




Community Services Board Perspective

CSB staff participating in a conference call through the Virginia Association of Community Services
Boards (VACSB), indicated that they were never involved in a case or situation where the child wanted to
be in an inpatient setting and the parents objected. It is usually the other way around.

The failure of a parent to obtain mental health treatment for a child for whom such treatment is
recommended can be found to constitute child neglect, and the judge can order a child’s custodian to
obtain such treatment for a child in such cases, or as part of the disposition of a Child in Need of Service
(CHINS) or delinquency case. The judge can place the child in the custody of someone who will obtain
the treatment the child needs. The Court can effect the child’s participation in outpatient treatment, and
through the judge’s authority under the Comprehensive Services Act the judge can effect the child’s
placement in residential (as opposed to acute care) behavioral health facilities.

To require inpatient mental health treatment of a minor without the consent of his/her parent(s), currently
involves pre-screeners (and subsequently, magistrates and special justices) who normally become
involved with a child and family at the point where there are objective criteria that provide the basis for
moving forward (or not) with petitions, orders and hospitalizations regardless of the desires and beliefs of
the child and parents.

One program supervisor said from her experience hospitals will not accept minors without parental
consent because they are going to be concerned about reimbursement. During her career she worked for
the Richmond CSB and indicated that there were a few times where the pre-screener felt a child needed to
be hospitalized and the parent objected. In those cases the CSB had to seek a TDO to get the minor into
the hospital — in these situations there was also a call to child protective services.

Provider, Clinician, and Counselor Perspectives

Hospital administrators, during a conference call through the Virginia Hospital & Healthcare
Association, indicated that hospitals experience parental disagreements with evaluators and
clinicians over recommendations for inpatient treatment for minors once or twice every few
months.

Clinicians indicated that parental disagreements over treatment occur on a regular basis and
occur in both the admission stage as well as the continuation of treatment stage of the
treatment plan. The disagreements may involve denial by the parents of a problem with their
child and/or the costs involved with inpatient treatment.

A school official indicated that there are times when parents deny that there are problems
with their children and do not want to draw attention to their family situation or have it be
known that their child has a mental or behavioral health problem.

A former school psychologist said that over the years she had a number of cases in which
children saw the benefit of, and wanted to use, medications and other treatments to address
their condition, but their parents resisted both mental health diagnoses and treatments for
their children because of their fear of stigma, not only for the children but for their

families. She indicated that some parents equate a diagnosis of mental illness with being
“crazy,” rejecting any suggestions that they or their child might benefit from mental health
treatment on the grounds that they were “not crazy” and therefore did not need any treatment.




Three reported situations in which allowing minor consent
without parental consent would have been helpful

A girl in high school is involved
in multiple activities and is very
popular with her peers and
teachers. She is viewed as
friendly, outgoing and very
intelligent.

In her senior year at age 16.5 the
girl has a break down in the
school counselor’s office. The
counselor learns that the girl has
been raising her younger siblings
and has taken on the role of
“parent” in the household.

Both parents are working
through their own issues and
resist consenting to treatment for
the daughter. They do not want
the neighbors to know that there
is something wrong in the
household.

A child is already in an
inpatient setting. The clinical
team determined that the child
needed additional inpatient
care. The child agrees and
consents. The parents,
however, do not.

The clinical team begins the
process of a TDO but is
concerned about how it might
interfere with the treatment
plan.

The child volunteers to say
whatever is needed in order to
continue treatment.

A child is taken from school to the
emergency room. The parents are
notified and show up in the ER.
The examination indicates that the
child needs to be in an inpatient
setting. The parents object.

The CSB evaluator begins a
discussion with the parents about
involuntary commitment through
the Temporary Detention Order
(TDO).

The parents are given a choice:
consent to treatment or face
involuntary treatment, having the
child removed from the home and
the possibility of an investigation
by Child Protective Services for
medical neglect.

Part 2

Other State Statutes
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Other State Statutes

The statutes of 50 states and the District of Columbia were reviewed (using
internet searches through Justia Law, Socratek Law Reference and
Cornell’s Legal Information Institute).

While a number of journal articles and publications provide “inventories”
and information on minor consent for medical, mental health outpatient
and substance abuse services on a state-by-state basis, none of the
identified documents provided similar information on minor consent for
inpatient mental health treatment services.

As a guide for the search, the following publications were consulted:

—Minor Consent To Medical Treatment Laws, Updated January 2013. The
National District Attorney Association.

— State Minor Consent Laws: A Summary 3rd Edition, January 2010. Center
for Adolescent Health & the Law.

— Assisted Psychiatric Treatment: Inpatient and Outpatient Standards by
State, June 2011. Treatment Advocacy Center.

1

Minors Found to Be Authorized to Consent to
Inpatient Mental Health Care in 19 State Statutes

The 19 state statutes are listed on the next slide; as shown, 10 states set the age to
consent at 16, seven states at 14, one state each at 15 and 13.

In general, the state statutes explicitly addressed other issues, such as:

» The application and admission process

« Confidentiality

 Parental notification

« Relief to the parent for financial obligations
 Liability for providers

* Notice to leave or be discharged.

A few states simply made the minor an adult for purposes of mental health
treatment, affording the minor all of the rights and authorizations that an adult has
for voluntary admission.

A brief description of these 19 state statutes is included in Appendix I.
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State Age Authorizing State Statutes

Alabama 14 Ala. Code § 22-8-4
Colorado 15 Colo. Rev. Stat. § 27-65-103 [Formerly 27-10-103]
Idaho 14 Idaho Code § 66-318
Hlinois 16 11. 405 ILCS Sec. 5/3-400, 3-405, 3-502; 3-507.
Kansas 14 KS Revised Statutes § 59-2949
Louisiana 16 LA Children Code CH 11. Art. 1464 & 1467, 1468
Maryland 16 Md. Code Ann., Health-Gen. §10-609 and §20-104
Massachusetts 16 Mass. Ann. Laws Part 1 Title XVII CH. 123; section 10
Michigan 14 MCL 330.1498d; €; j.
Minnesota 16 Minn. Stat. § 253b..03 & .04 c. Subdiv. 6(d); Minn. Stat. § 144.343-347.
Montana 16 Mont. Code Ann. § 53-21-112
New Jersey 14 N.J. stat. Ann. § 4:74-7a. (c)
New York 16 N.Y. MHY. Law § 9.13
Oklahoma 16 Okla. Stat. Ann. Tit. 43a § 5-503
Pennsylvania 14 Pennsylvania 50 P.S. § 7201-7204; Pennsylvania 35 P.S. § 10101.1-10105
Tennessee 16 Tenn. Code Ann. § 33-6-201 - 203
Texas 16 Tex. Health and Safety Code. § 572.001; Tex. Fam. Code ann. § 32.004
Vermont 14 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 18, § 7503
I~ Wiashington 13 Wash. Rev. Code ann. § 71.34.500; Wash. Rev. Code ann. § 71.34.520
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Examples of Various State Statutes that Address Other Issues

Application And Admission Process Approved by facility director (ID, IL, KS, LA, MD)
Application through courts (NJ)

Evaluation Physician has to determine minor has capacity to make knowing decision
and ability to consent (LA, MD)
Clinical criteria for evaluation consistent with the American Academy of
Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (MN)

Capacity to Consent The capacity of a minor to consent to treatment does not include the
capacity to refuse treatment for which a parent has given consent (MD)

Confidentiality And Parental Notification  Facility director is required to notify parents (KS)
The parent may apply for release upon notification (1D)
Parents may be notified without consent of minor at the discretion of the

treating physician (CO)

Parents notified if in the best interest of the minor (MN)
Parental Involvement Obtain parental consent or proceed to court process (MI)

Parent informed of right to be heard upon the filing of an objection (PA)
Relief To The Parent For Any Financial A minor consenting shall assume financial responsibility (MN)
Obligations If They Did Not Consent Parent not responsible for cost of services (MD, MA)
Liability Relief For Providers Provider not liable for damages if the child misrepresents himself (TX)
Notice To Leave Or Be Discharged May give notice of intent to leave at any time (WA)

A minor who revokes consent must be discharged within 48 hours unless the
district attorney files opposition with the court (OK)

\




Part 3
Estimating the Number of
Impacted Minors

15

Survey of CSB Evaluators - UVA Institute of Law, Psychiatry and Public Policy

UVA'’s Institute of Law, Psychiatry and Public Policy surveyed CSB evaluators as
part of a study for the Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental
Services (A Study Of Face-to-face Emergency Evaluations Conducted By
Community Services Boards In April 2013).

The survey results, which can be used to estimate the number of cases in which
a parent objected to the recommendation for inpatient treatment, found:
387 emergency evaluations of juveniles aged 14 through 17 were
completed in April 2013
e 165 (42.6%) were recommended for inpatient mental health treatment.

The survey included three questions related to whether a parent was consulted and
whether he/she were willing to approve the proposed admission of the minor to
inpatient psychiatric treatment. In 10 (6.1%) cases the parent did not approve the
minor’s admission.

e 7 minors (3.9%) for voluntary admission

e 3 minors (8.0% ) for involuntary admissions.

Seven minors were admitted, 2 were not admitted due in part to insurance issues
and 1 due to other medical conditions.
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Estimating the Annual Number of Parental
Objections to Recommended Inpatient Treatment
Using the 2013 UVA Study Results

Description Number of
- Evaluation

Reported Number of Emergency Evaluations of Minors Age 14 through 17 387.0
Estimated Full Year Number of Emergency Evaluations (n=387 x 12) 4,644.0
Percent of Evaluations Recommended for Inpatient Admission 42.6%
Estimated Annual Number of Inpatient Admission

Recommendations (n=4,644 x 42.6%) 1,978.3
Percent of Parental Objections 6.1%
Estimated Number of Parental Objections in a Year 120.7

\ .

Court Data Displaying the Number of
Involuntary Commitment Petitions Not Granted for 2014 *

Final Disposition of Petitions Not Granted for Involuntary Commitment by Age, 2014

Juvenile’s Age  Dismissed  Withdrawn RelEEEet e Total
Parents
14 52 6 11 69
15 35 6 13 54
16 41 5 18 64
17 61 5 16 82
ToTAL 189 22 58 269

Grand total of 269 - It is unknown how many of the petitions were not granted due to parental
objection. The UVA study suggests that some of the recorded “not-granted” petitions were the
result of parental objection.

Note that some of the petitions not granted became voluntary commitments. The number, however, is
unknown.

Source: Office of the Executive Secretary, Supreme Court of Virginia. As reported by the Court Clerks.

S~
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Perceived Barriers to Adolescent Mental Health Treatment

Authors of a literature review report of 22 different studies concerning the perceived
barrier for adolescents seeking mental health treatment created themes based on the
various findings to determine what barrier adolescents cited most frequently. The top
two perceived barriers were stigma and confidentiality.

Societal stigma and confidentiality may be combined into one concern when parental
consent is an issue. In a well cited study from 1993, a survey of high school students
found that 58% had health concerns that they wished to keep private from their parents,
and 69% from friends and classmates; 25% reported that they would forgo health care in
some situations if their parents might find out. 2

According to a study that appeared in the Archives of General Psychiatry in 2005, half of
all lifetime cases of psychiatric disorders, including substance abuse disorders, begin by
age 14.3

1. Gulliver, Amelia. Et al. “Perceived barriers and facilitators to mental health help-seeking in young people: a systematic review.”
BMC Psychiatry 2010, Gulliver et al. 10:113.

2. Cheng, Tina L. MD, MPH,, et al. “Confidentiality in Health Care A Survey of Knowledge, Perceptions, and Attitudes Among High
School Students.” JAMA. 1993;269(11):1404-1407. March 17, 1993.

3. Kessler, RC., et al. “Lifetime Prevalence and age-of-onset distributions of DSM-IV disorders in National Comorbidity Survey
Replication.” Archive of General Psychiatry. June 6, 2005; pages 593-602.
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Prevalence of Psychiatric Disorders in Minors

Estimating the number of minors who may need inpatient treatment but are not
receiving it is difficult.

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) reported on such difficulties last month.

CRS found that the estimated number of adolescents with mental health disorders
ranges from 8.0% to as high as 42.6% depending on the methodology used by the
study’s authors. 1

« The studies that found the lowest prevalence rates sought to only identify the
seriously mentally ill.

 Studies that found the highest prevalence rates typically sought to identify
every minor who had a mental disorder regardless of severity.

CRS also cited a 2012 study on severity (from the Archives of General Psychiatry) to
make the pzomt that most adolescents with mental disorders do not necessarily need
treatment.

1. Bagalman, Erin et al. “Prevalence of Mental Illness in the United States: Data Sources and Estimates.” Congressional Research
Service; 7-5700, R43047. March 9, 2015. Page 6.
2. CRS study cited: Ronald C. Kessler et al., ““Severity of 12-Month DSM-1V Disorders in the National Comorbidity Survey
gepligati?goqgglescem Supplement,” Archives of General Psychiatry, vol. 69, no. 4 (April 2012). Hereinafter, Kessler et al., NCSA
everity, .

20

10



Identifying Minors Qutside of the Current System

In Need of Inpatient Mental Health Treatment

A National Institute of Mental Health study
found that apﬂroximately 36.2% of adolescents
Ii

identified with mental health disorders received !
services for their illness. * Applying
According to a 2012 SAMHSA survey of youth S’;‘x\:SA
that has been completed since 1971 and is o Y
updated regularly: Description Results
« 12.7% of youths reported receiving Virginia Population of Minors Ages 14
“Specialty Mental Health” services through 17 (U.S. Census) 459,000

(defined as inpatient and/or outpatient

" H Prevalence Percen
services and does not include school evalence Percentage 12.70%
counselors or family physicians); Estimated Number of Virginia Minors with a
Diagnosable MH Disorder 58.293

* 2.5% of that number reported receiving . o )
their Specialty Mental Health services in an Estimated Number Not Receiving Services

inpatient mental health setting. 2 (63.8%) 37,191
The estimates in the table are based on census Inpatient MH Utilization for Minors Not
data and findings from the previously discussed  Receiving Inpatient MH Services 2.50%

1. Merikangas, Kathleen, et al. “Service Utilization for Lifetime Mental Disorders in U.S. Adolescents: Results of the National Comorbidity Survey
Adolescents Supplement (NCS-A).” Journal American Academic Child Adolescent Psychiatry. January 2011; 50(1): 32-45.

2. Source:: Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), Results from the 2012 National Survey on Drug Use and Health:
Mental Health Findings, NSDUH Series H-47, HHS Publication No. (SMA) 13-4805. Rockville, MD: Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services

Administration, 2013.

What are the financial implications of allowing minors aged 14 through
17 to consent to inpatient treatment without parental consent?

Hospital financial data reported to Virginia Health Information (VHI) indicate that from 2009 through 2011
the overall total cost-of-care * for inpatient treatment for minors aged of 14 through 17 in a private
psychiatric hospital or on a mental health unit of a general hospital was $86.9 million. The average cost-

per-discharge was $6,500 to $6,700.

Inpatient Psychiatric Treatment Cost by Payer Type
The chart to the right displays the Ages 14 through 17 (2009-2011)
payer-mix based on the VHI data and
indicates that Private Insurance and
Medicaid made up 82.4% of the
payments for this age group (43.7%

and 38.7% respectfully). Medicare
State/ Local ~ 0.4%

There is no reason to believe that the Government
children that may need inpatient mental :
health treatment will have a different
“ P : Self Pay/

payer-mix” than those already in the Unknown/.
system. Indigent

2.0%
(Appendix II_disgIays the details by year Self Pay/
associated with the chart.) Unknown/
Indigent

* Cost-of-care was calculated based on total charges per 2.0%
discharge times each hospitals overall cost-to-charge Tricare/Champ
ratio. us
Data does not include the Commonwealth Center for 12.7%
Children and Adolescents. The CCCA is considered the
hospital of last resort. Source: VHI hospital detail files.

\ 2
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Policy Options

Option 1: Take no action.

Option 2: Introduce legislation to amend Code of Virginia Title
16.1 to provide minors with the same rights and responsibilities
as an adult in terms of consenting to voluntary inpatient mental
health treatment beginning at age:

a. 14 years
b. 15 years
c. 16 years
d. 17 years

23

Policy Options

For Options 3 through 5, additional statutory provisions are
described in Option 6 for your consideration.

Option 3: Introduce legislation to amend Code of Virginia Title 16.1
to establish a process by which a minor, whose parent(s)/guardian(s)
will not consent to his/her voluntary inpatient mental health
treatment, may request and receive such treatment with the approval
of a clinician and/or evaluator who has examined and found the
minor to be in need of and likely to benefit from the requested
treatment.

Option 4: Introduce legislation to amend Code of Virginia Title 16.1
to allow, when consent by his/her parent(s)/guardian(s) is not given,
a minor to access the evaluation process of the local community
services board in order to receive approval for voluntary inpatient
mental health treatment.

24
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Policy Options

Option 5: Introduce legislation to amend Code of Virginia Title 16.1
to allow, when consent by his/her parent(s)/guardian(s) is not given,
a minor to petition the juvenile court in order to be examined and

receive authorization for voluntary inpatient mental health treatment.

Option 6: Include the following provisions in introduced legislation
to amend Code of Virginia Title 16.1 to address:

A

Parental Objection — provide opportunity to consider objections, by
the parent(s)/guardian(s), to the minor’s voluntary inpatient mental
health treatment.

Admission criteria — establish the clinical criteria, for allowing the
minor’s admission for voluntary inpatient mental health treatment
without the consent by his/her parent(s)/guardian(s), to be the
current inpatient admission standards such as those established by
the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

25

Policy Options

Option 6 continued:

C.

Other evaluation criteria — establish criteria to determine that minor
has the capacity to consent and is clinically suitable for the
voluntary mental health treatment that will be provided.

Liability Relief — add language that providers are not liable for
damages if a minor misrepresents himself except for damages
resulting from negligence or willful misconduct.

Limitations on inpatient stays — establish limitations on the number
of days a minor may be treated in the inpatient facility on a
voluntary basis and/or the number of times the minor may be
admitted without the consent of the parent(s)/guardian(s).

26
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Policy Options

Option 6 continued:

F. Financial responsibility — as needed, add language regarding mental
health parity provisions, financial liability of parent(s)/guardian(s),
and other payment guidelines.

G. Confidentiality — determine and denote requirements in order to
comply with Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act
(HIPAA) privacy provisions, such as sharing of treatment or health-
insurance payment information with parent(s)/guardian(s).

27

Public Comments

Written public comments on the proposed options may be submitted to JCHC
by close of business on July 24, 2015.

Comments may be submitted via:

 E-mail: sweiss@jchc.virginia.gov

% Fax: 804-786-5538

% Mail: Joint Commission on Health Care
P.O. Box 1322

Richmond, Virginia 23218

Comments will be summarized and presented during JCHC’s October 7t
meeting.

28
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APPENDIX |

State Age  Statute Brief Description

Alabama 14 Ala. Code § 22-8- |» 14 years of age or older, consent to any legally authorized mental
4: Mental health health services; consent of no other person shall be necessary.
services.

Colorado 15 Colo. Rev. Stat. § [» Minors 15 or older can consent to mental health services
27-65-103 rendered by a facility or a professional person without consent of

103] Mental
health.

[Formerly 27-10-

parents.

« Consent shall not be subject to disaffirmance because of
minority. The professional person may advise the parents with or
without consent from the minor.

* Anindependent professional person shall interview the minor
and conduct a careful investigation into the minor's background
so that prior to admitting a minor: the minor has a mental illness
and is in need of hospitalization; that a less restrictive treatment
alternative is inappropriate or unavailable; and that
hospitalization is likely to be beneficial.

318. Mental
health.

ldaho 14 Idaho Code § 66-

« Any individual fourteen (14) to eighteen (18) years of age may
apply to be admitted to a mental health facility for observation,
diagnosis, evaluation, care or treatment.

»  Facility director is required to notify the parent of the admission
to a mental health facility for observation, diagnosis, evaluation,
care or treatment. The parent may apply for release.

29

APPENDIX |

State Age Statute

1linois 16 | I1l. 405 ILCS Sec. 5/3-
502. Mental health.

111 405 ILCS 5/3-400
Clinically suitable.

111 405 ILCS 5/3-405
review of denial by
person seeking
admission.

405 ILCS 5/3-507
Objection to admission.

Brief Description

Any minor may be admitted to a mental health facility voluntarily if the
minor executes the application and shall be treated as an adult.

The minor's parent shall be immediately informed of the admission.
Minor must be found clinically suitable and have the capacity to
consent.

If the facility director of a Department mental health facility declines to
admit a person seeking admission, a review of the denial may be
requested by the person seeking admission.

Objection may be made to the admission of a minor and the minor shall
be discharged at the earliest appropriate time, not to exceed 15 days,
unless the objection is withdrawn in writing or unless, within that time,
a petition for review of the admission and certificates of examination by
both a licensed mental health provider and a psychiatrist are filed with
the court.

Kansas 14 | KS Revised Statutes §
59-2949 Mental health.

Minor may make written application without the consent of parent for
admission to a psychiatric treatment facility as a voluntary patient; the
head of the treatment facility determines need of treatment and that the
person has the capacity to consent.

The head of the treatment facility shall promptly notify the child's
parent of the admittance of child.

30
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APPENDIX |

State Age Statute

Louisiana 16

LA Children Code
CH 11. Art. 1464
& 1468. Mental
health

LA Children Code
CH 11. Art. 1467.

Brief Description

Minor may apply for voluntary admission to a mental health or substance
abuse treatment facility.

A minor so admitted shall have the same rights as an adult patient.

The admitting physician may admit the person on either a formal or
informal basis.

No admission may be deemed voluntary unless the admitting physician

§10-609 Mental
health.

Md. Code Ann.,
Health—Gen.
§20-104.
Capacity as an
adult to consent.

Capacity to determines that the minor has the capacity to make a knowing and
consent. voluntary consent to the admission.

Maryland 16 | Md. Code Ann., * Application for voluntary admission of an individual to a facility may be
Health—Gen. made if the individual is 16 years old or older.

The individual must understand the nature of the request; is able to give

continuous assent to retention by the facility; and is able to ask for release.

A minor has the same capacity as an adult to consent to consultation,
diagnosis, and treatment of a mental or emotional disorder by a physician,
psychologist, or a clinic.

The capacity of a minor to consent to treatment does not include the
capacity to refuse treatment for which a parent has given consent.

The physician heading the treatment team decides whether a parent of the
minor should receive information about treatment.

The parent is not liable for any costs of the treatment of the minor.

\
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APPENDIX I

State Age  Statute Brief Description

Massachusetts 16 Mass. Ann. Laws Part 1 »  The superintendent of a mental health facility may accept
Title XVII CH. 123; section an application for voluntary admission by any person 16
10. Mental health. years or older that is in need of care and treatment.

« The parent shall not be liable for the payment of any care.

Michigan 14 MCL 330.1498d; e; j. *  Aminor of 14 years or older may request, and if found
Mental health, parental suitable, be hospitalized. Once hospitalized, the hospital
consent. director is required to obtain parental consent or proceed to

court process.

32
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APPENDIX |
State Age

Minnesota 16

Statute

Minn. Stat. § 253b.04
Mental health.

Minn. Stat. § 253b.03 c.
Subdiv. 6(d) consent
Minn. Stat. § 144.343
Mental and other health
services to treat alcohol and
other drug abuse.

Minn. Stat. § 144.345
services provided in good
faith.

Minn. Stat. § 144.346
provider may inform
parents.

Minn. Stat. § 144.347
financial responsibility.

Brief Description

Any person 16 years or older may request informal admission to
a treatment facility for observation or treatment of mental illness,
chemical dependency, or mental retardation and may give valid
consent for hospitalization, routine diagnostic evaluation, and
emergency or short-term acute care.

Facility to admit must be based on clinical admission criteria
consistent with the most current inpatient admission standards
established by the American Psychiatric Association or the
American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry.

Minor may consent for mental and other health services to
determine the presence of or to treat alcohol and other drug
abuse; the consent of no other person is required.

Consent of a minor shall be deemed effective for the purposes of
providing services in good faith.

Provider may inform parents if they determine it is in best interest
of minor.

« A minor consenting for health services shall assume financial
responsibility for the cost of services.

\
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APPENDIX |
State Age
Montana 16

Statute

Mont. Code Ann. §
53-21-112 Mental
health.

Brief Description

A minor is at least 16 years of age may, without the consent of a parent,
receive mental health services.

Voluntary admission terminates at the expiration of 1 year.

Consent of the minor shall not be subject to later disaffirmance or
revocation because of minority.

Minors consenting assume financial responsibility unless proven to be
unable to pay and who receive the services in public institutions. If the
minor is covered by health insurance, payment may be applied for
services rendered.

New Jersey | 14

N.J. stat. Ann. §
4:74-7a. (c) Mental
health.

Any minor 14 years of age or over may request admission to a
psychiatric facility and be admitted provided that the court finds the
minor’s request informed and voluntary.

New York 16

N.Y. MHY. Law §
9.13 Mental health.

A person over 16 and under 18 years of age is authorized to apply for
voluntary inpatient admission to a hospital; application accepted at the
discretion of the hospital director.

Oklahoma 16

Okla. Stat. Ann. Tit.
43a § 5-503 Mental
health.

A minor 16 years of age or older may consent to voluntary admission
for inpatient mental health or substance abuse treatment.

A minor who revokes consent must be discharged within 48 hours
unless the district attorney files opposition to the discharge with the
court.

\
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APPENDIX |
State Age St

Pennsylvania | 14 |Pennsylvania50 P.S. § 7201
Mental health.
Pennsylvania 50 P.S. § 7204.
Parent notification, right to object.
Pennsylvania 35 P.S. § 10101.1.
mental health treatment.
Pennsylvania 35 P.S. § 10101.2
Records controlled by minor.
Pennsylvania 35 P.S. § 10105
Providers not liable.

Brief Descrip!

Any person 14 years of age or over may submit himself to

mental health examination and treatment provided that the

decision to do so is made voluntarily.

Upon the acceptance of an application for examination and

treatment by a minor 14 years or over but less than 18

years of age, the director of the facility shall promptly

notify the minor's parents and shall inform them of the

right to be heard upon the filing of an objection.

Any minor who is 14 years of age or older may consent to

outpatient mental health examination and treatment and

voluntary inpatient mental health treatment.

< The minor shall control the release of the minor's mental
health treatment records and information to the extent
allowed by law.

« Providers not liable if minor misrepresent themselves.

.

Tennessee 16 | Tenn. Code Ann. § 33-6-201
Mental health.

Tenn. Code Ann. § 33-6-203
Admission limit.

.

A person who is sixteen (16) years of age or over may
apply for voluntary admission.

Admission of an un-emancipated child limited to one (1)
six-month period in any twelve-month period unless the
admission is reviewed and approved for further
hospitalization.
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APPENDIX I
State Age Statute Brief Description
Texas 16 Tex. Health and «  The administrator of an inpatient or outpatient mental health
Safety Code. § facility may admit a minor who is 16 years of age or older to an
572.001. Mental inpatient or outpatient mental health facility as a voluntary patient
health inpatient or without the consent of the parent, managing conservator, or
outpatient. guardian.
Tex. Fam. Code ann. § |« A physician, psychologist, counselor, or social worker is not
32.004 Provider not liable for damages if a child misrepresents themselves except for
damages resulting from negligence or willful misconduct.
« Parent not consenting to counseling treatment is not obligated to
compensate providers.
Vermont 14 Vt. Stat. Ann. Tit. 18, [«  Any person 14 years of age or over may apply for voluntary
§ 7503 Mental health. admission to a designated hospital for mental health examination
and treatment provided that consent is given in writing.
Washington 13 Wash. Rev. Code ann. ¢ A minor 13 years of age or older may admit himself or herself to
§71.34.500 Mental an evaluation and treatment facility for inpatient mental treatment,
health. without parental consent based on professional person consent.
Wash. Rev. Code ann. [«  May give notice of intent to leave at any time.
§ 71.34.520 Notice of
intent to leave.

\
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APPENDIX 1I

Overall Total of Cost per Discharge 2009 through 2011
With Average Length of Stay and Number of Discharges

Pe b of D g

Paye A age g 0 des ad 0 and
Paye pe pe Per D arge ead 0
Medicaid $33,773,463 18.0 4,132,
Medicare $394,082 4.8 132.0
Other Government $1,296,467 6.5 303.
Private Insurance $38,222,495 8.5 7,312.0
Self Pay $969,230 8.4 186.
Tricare/Champus $10,967,348 18.3 1,219.0
Unknown $690,355 28.2 58.
Indigent $57,007 4.5 15.0
State/Local Government $501,478 12.5 69.
Grand Total $86,871,927 12.3 13,426.0

Source: Virginia Health Information (VHI)
Total cost per discharge was calculated using the total charges for each hospital by payer type and multiplying them by the hospital cost-to-

charge ratio.

\
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APPENDIX Il ]
Overall Total of Cost per Discharge by Year
a o) ost Per D argeb Average Le 0 D de
009 Payer Type Payer Type Per Discharge d read 0
Medicaid $11,792,121 213 1,367.
Medicare $143,649 5.0 45.0
Other Government $500,468 10.6 89.
Private Insurance $12,353,571 8.7 2,415.0
Self Pay $425,658 8.9 il
Tricare/Champus $3,184,206 19.7 364.0
Unknown $353,132 21.2 41.
Indigent $7,550 3.0 2.0
| State/Local Government $350,195 26.1 25.
Subtotal for 2009 $29,110,549 13.7 4,419.0
a o) ost P D) geb A g 0 D g de:
010 Paye Pa p Per D g d read 0

Medicaid $10,452,962 16.7 1,390
Medicare $139,103 4.4 45.0

Other Government $460,103 5.0 112,
Private Insurance $12,770,016 8.6 2,486.0

Self Pay $211,428 4.9 60.!
Tricare/Champus $3,534,589 16.9 428.0

Unknown $180,414 50.9 9.l

Indigent $19,116 6.3 4.0

| State/L ocal Government $79,947 3.7 30.
§Subtotal for 2010 $27,847,678 117 4,564.0
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APPENDIX 1I

Overall Total of Cost per Discharge by Year

Total Cost Per Discharge Average Length of Stay Per

Number of Discharges (includes

Payer Type by Payer Type Discharge admissions and readmissions)
Medicaid $11,528,381 16.0 1,375.0
Medicare $111,330 4.9 42.0
Other Government $335,897 4.5 102.0
Private Insurance $13,098,908 8.2 2,411.0
Self Pay $332,144 11.6 55.0
Tricare/Champus $4,248,554 18.6 427.0
Unknown $156,809 38.4 8.0
Indigent $30,341 4.0 9.0
State/Local Government $71,336 7.1 14.0
Subtotal for 2011 $29,913,700 11.6 4,443.0

Source: Virginia Health Information (VHI)

cost-to-charge ratio.

\

Total cost per discharge was calculated using the total charges for each hospital by payer type and multiplying them by the hospital
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Public Comments

by close of business on July 24, 2015.

Comments may be submitted via:

+ E-mail: sweiss@jchc.virginia.gov

% Fax: 804-786-5538

« Mail: Joint Commission on Health Care
P.O. Box 1322

Richmond, Virginia 23218

meeting.

\

Written public comments on the proposed options may be submitted to JCHC

Comments will be summarized and presented during JCHC’s October 7t
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Joint Commission on Health Care
900 East Main Street, 1st Floor West
P. O. Box 1322
Richmond, VA 23218
804.786.5445

804.786.5538 (fax)

Website: http://jchc.virginia.gov
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