

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY - STATE BOARD FOR COMMUNITY COLLEGES

January 2015

The State Board for Community Colleges had five new Board members appointed in 2014. The names and appointment dates of these new members are as follows:

Mr. William C. Hall, Jr. – appointed for a one-year term to fill an unexpired term. Appointment is for July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2015.

Ms. Carolyn S. Berkowitz – appointed for a one-year term to fill anunexpired term. Appointment is for July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2015.

Mr. Michael J. Schewel – appointed for a four-year term. Appointment is effective July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2018.

Dr. Thomas M. Brewster – appointed for a four-year term. Appointment is effective July 1, 2014 through June 30, 2018.

Ms. Eleanor B. Saslaw – appointed for a four-year term. Appointment is effective July 1,2014 through June 30, 2018.

Four out of five of the new State Board members attended the SCHEV New Board Member orientation in October 2014. Mr. William C. Hall, Jr. was unable to attend the orientation but plans to attend in October 2015. We anticipate a total of 5 appointments/reappointments effective July 1, 2015.

The VCCS does schedule an orientation each year for new State Board members. At the **September 18, 2014** meeting of the State Board, the following sessions were held for new State Board members:

8:00 – 8:45 a.m. – Orientation Session - VCCS Workforce Development Services

12:30 – 1:15 p.m. – Orientation Session – Administrative Services (Budget and Finance, Facilities, Governmental Relations and Personnel)

1:15 – 2:00 p.m. – Orientation Session – Academic and Student Services

2:00 – 2:45 p.m. – Orientation Session – Legal Services

Due to time constraints and the fact that only three out of the five new Board members could attend, these orientation sessions are being scheduled again on January 28-29 for those new Board members who could not attend the first session and for any other Board members who are interested. The schedule is as follows:

January 28, 2015

<u>Orientation for New State Board Members:</u> (any interested Board members are also welcome to attend). All sessions below will be held in the Godwin-Hamel Board Room on the 15th Floor of the James Monroe Building.

10:00 – 10:45 a.m. – Academic and Student Services Orientation Session – Sharon Morrissey

10:45 - 11:30 a.m. - Budget and Finance, Personnel, Facilities Session - Donna VanCleave

11:30 – 12:00 noon – Institutional Advancement, VFCCE – Jennifer Gentry, Mitzi Reynolds, and Jeff Kraus

12:00 - 12:45 p.m. - Lunch

12:45 – 1:25 p.m. – Legal Services and Internal Audit Session – Greer Saunders and Whit Madere

January 29, 2015

<u>Orientation for New State Board Members – 8:00 – 8:45 a.m. – Workforce Development Services</u> - Dr. Craig Herndon - Conference Room #1, 15th Floor (any interested Board members are welcome to attend)

In addition to the regularly scheduled State Board meetings (6 times per year), State Board members also attended a State Board Annual Meeting in November 2014 and the Chancellor's Annual Planning Retreat in August 2014.