RD186 - Virginia Tourism Authority d/b/a Virginia Tourism Corporation Operating Plan for the Fiscal Year Ending June 30, 2017

Executive Summary:
The Virginia Tourism Authority d/b/a the Virginia Tourism Corporation (VTC) was established by the General Assembly in 1999 (§ 2.2-2315 et seq., Code of Virginia) as “…a public body corporate and as a political subdivision of the Commonwealth.” The Authority was given broad powers to “…stimulate the tourism segment of the economy by promoting, advertising, and marketing the Commonwealth's many tourist attractions and by coordinating other private and public efforts to do the same…” The General Assembly also recognized that the “…film industry is a legitimate and important part of economic development in the Commonwealth.”

The VTC has a Board of Directors composed of 17 members, including the Lieutenant Governor, the Secretary of Commerce and Trade, the Secretary of Finance, the Secretary of Natural Resources, the Secretary of Agriculture and Forestry, and 12 members appointed by the Governor, subject to confirmation by the General Assembly. The Governor designates the Chairman of the Board and the Board may elect one member as the Vice-Chairman. The President/CEO of the VTC is appointed by the Governor and also serves as the Board’s ex-officio secretary.

The VTC is headquartered in Richmond. In addition, the VTC operates 11 state welcome centers (two additional state welcome centers will begin operations in late FY 2017 or early FY 2018) located strategically around the state and the Bell Tower Visitor Center in Richmond to provide information to persons traveling in Virginia.