RD30 - James Madison University Annual Executive Summary – January, 2017

    Executive Summary:
    James Madison University was established in 1908 as the State Normal and Industrial School for Women at Harrisonburg and became James Madison University in 1977. The Board of Visitors was established in 1964 and currently has fifteen members who serve on the board. Mr. Jonathan R. Alger serves as the sixth president of the university. During 2016, the Board of Visitors held four meetings: January 15, April 8, June 3, and September 30.

    An orientation for the three new board members appointed in 2016 was held in the fall. The orientation included the role of board members, legislative requirements, strategic plans of the university, organizational structure and responsibilities, current and future trends, and questions and answers. The Senior Leadership Team, comprised of the five vice presidents, also participate in the orientation. All new board members also attended the orientation conducted by SCHEV.

    The Board has six committees that address key functions within the university: Advancement Committee, Athletic Committee, Audit Committee, Education and Student Life Committee, Executive Committee and Finance and Physical Development Committee. All of these committees, with the exception of the Executive Committee, meet during the regular scheduled board meeting day. The committees hear reports from various staff regarding current issues, new initiatives, and compliance with requirements and/or regulations.

    The Board approved the Honors College (transition from the Honors Program) and the revisions to the Faculty Handbook. The board heard reports regarding the progress on the university’s Strategic Plan. The Executive Committee met with President Alger for the annual evaluation and then shared the evaluation with the full board.