RD619 - Annual Executive Summary of the Norfolk State University Board of Visitors (December 2017)

Executive Summary:

Section 23.1-1303 (B) (11) of the Code of Virginia (Eff. Oct. 1, 2016) requires that each Board of Visitors of public institutions of higher education submit to the General Assembly and the Governor an annual executive summary of its interim activity and work prior to the first day of the regular session of the General Assembly. This executive summary describes the Board’s compliance with the Code of Virginia as it relates to the following statutory requirements:

Code Section/Description

§ 23.1-1301 (B) (10): Governing Boards; Powers – Public Access to Information
§ 23.1-1303 (B) (1): Governing Boards; Duties – Bylaws
§ 23.1-1303 (B) (8): Governing Boards; Duties – Annual Evaluation Meeting with the President of the Institution
§ 23.1-1306: Governing Board Executive Committee; Duties
§ 23.1-1303 (B) (11): Governing Boards; Duties – Annual Executive Summaries
§ 23.1-1304: Governing Boards; Additional Duties; Educational Programs

The Board of Visitors for Norfolk State University is comprised of 13 members, five of whom are alumni (*). The Board members are:

Dr. Ann A. Adams
Corynne S. Arnett
Elwood B. Boone, III (Secretary)
Dr. Byron L. Cherry, Sr., COL (Ret.) (Rector)*
Kenneth W. Crowder
Bryan D. Cuffee (Vice Rector)*
Dr. Deborah M. DiCroce
B. Keith Fulton
Larry A. Griffith
Michael J. Helpinstill
Devon M. Henry*
Rodney O. Powell*

Dr. Melvin T. Stith* (resigned from the Board on November 10, 2017 after being appointed Interim President on November 10, 2017 by the Norfolk State University Board of Visitors effective January 1, 2018)