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Report of the 2017
Accelerated Sales Tax Workgroup

The Accelerated Sales Tax (AST) Workgroup was established by Item 274(D) of House
Bill 1500 (2017 Acts of Assembly, Chapter 836), the 2017 Appropriation Act. See Appendix A.
The workgroup was asked to consider alternatives and limitations to the current accelerated
sales tax mandate and examine other sales tax-related issues as it deemed appropriate.

The workgroup met on October 12, 2017. The Department of Taxation (“the
Department”) presented information about the current AST structure as well as past AST
programs in Virginia and the approaches that other states have taken with accelerated sales
tax schedules. See Appendix B. Following the presentation, there was a period of discussion
among the group about AST related topics. See Appendices C and D for minutes from the
workgroup meeting and the list of attendees.

Sales Tax Background

Retail sales and use tax is imposed on all sales of tangible personal property and
selected services unless an exemption applies. The tax rate is 5.3 percent statewide with the
exception of Northern Virginia and Hampton Roads localities, where the rate is 6 percent.
Sales tax returns must be filed by the 20th of the month following the month the tax was
collected. All sums collected by a dealer are held in trust for the Commonwealth. Va. Code
58.1-625(F).

Current AST Program

The AST rules mandate that sales tax collected in June of the current year be remitted
by the end of June rather than by July 20 as would be required under the usual sales tax filing
schedule. The program, therefore, deposits sales tax revenues into the current fiscal year
which would otherwise be received and recognized in the next fiscal year. This allows the
revenues to be available for appropriation in the current fiscal year.

The current AST program was implemented in 2010. Under AST, dealers with annual
sales over the statutory threshold must make a payment for June sales tax that is equal to 90
percent of their liability for the previous June. This payment must be made on or before the
30th day of June, if by electronic fund transfer; otherwise it is due on or before the 25th day of
June. Dealers are then entitled to a credit equal to the AST remittance on their June sales tax
return filed in July. The AST threshold amount is set by statute and determines the number of
dealers that are affected and the amount of revenue that is accelerated. See the chart on Page
2.


https://budget.lis.virginia.gov/item/2017/1/HB1500/Chapter/1/274/

vear Threshold Numbe_r of AST Number of Total Revenue
Bills AST Payments Accelerated
2010 $1 million 12,206 10,667 $279,340,862
2011 $5.4 million 2,935 2,837 $242,867,249
2012 $26 million 613 601 $193,885,235
2013 $26 million 672 664 $199,573,732
2014 $48.5 million 332 332 $175,287,579
2015 $2.5 million 6,474 5,992 $337,427,092
2016 $2.5 million 6,779 6,401 $361,362,398
2017 $2.5 million 7,079 6,649 $370,350,743

The Department may waive the AST requirement or allow dealers to pay a lesser
amount upon a finding that the accelerated payment requirement would cause an undue
hardship. Circumstances that might lead to such a waiver include the sale or closing of a
significant part of a business, or substantial decline in sales since the previous June.



Revenue Analysis

The chart below shows the relationship between the AST threshold values, the General
Fund revenue impact, and the number of dealers affected if the threshold were adjusted for the
2018 AST payment.

Threshold Fiscal Year 2018 Total Dealers
(Annual Sales) General Fund Revenue
$4,000,000 or More $199,700,000 3,062
$5,000,000 or More $193,100,000 2,453
$6,000,000 or More $187,800,000 2,066
$7,000,000 or More $183,400,000 1,794
$8,000,000 or More $179,300,000 1,592
$9,000,000 or More $175,700,000 1,426
$10 Million or More $172,400,000 1,281
$20 Million or More $150,200,000 650
$30 Million or More $135,000,000 416
$40 Million or More $125,200,000 298
$50 Million or More $117,500,000 227
$60 Million or More $117,400,000 226
$70 Million or More $117,300,000 225
$80 Million or More $102,400,000 133
$90 Million or More $100,500,000 123
$100 Million or More $98,000,000 112
$500 Million or More $57,500,000 19
$1 Billion or More $44,600,000 9




Accelerated Sales Tax in Other States

Several states have accelerated sales tax or prepayment schedules. The chart below is
a representative sample of different approaches taken by states that have programs similar to
Virginia’s AST.

Annual Sales

Threshold Accelerated Payments

State Due Date

Dealers must remit 80% of the tax for the current

Arkansas | Semi-Monthly $2.4 million month by the 24th of the month

In 8 different months, dealers must remit 90% of the

California | Semi-Monthly $0.2 million tax for the current month by the 24" of the month

Dealers must remit 60% of the tax for the current

Florida Semi-Monthly $3.0 million month by the 20" of the month

Dealers must remit tax for the first 15 days of the

lowa Semi-Monthly $0.9 million month by the 25th of the month

Dealers must make a prepayment equal to 75% of

Michigan Semi-Monthly $12 million the previous month’s liability by the 20" of the month

Dealers must make an accelerated payment equal to

Minnesota June 28™ $3.4 million 81.4% of May, June, or average monthly liability by
June 28
West June 20t $19 million Dealers must remit tax for the first half of June by

Virginia June 20

Input from the Business Community

Subsequent to the Department’s presentation, there was an open discussion among
business organizations, Department representatives, and legislative staff. Much of the
dialogue was focused on AST threshold limits. One particular area of concern is the ability of
dealers to comply with AST rules when the parameters of the program may change from year
to year. Business representatives also expressed a desire to understand how revenue from
AST is used and why it is needed.

Businesses expressed a desire for more advanced notice of upcoming AST payments
and rules so they can adjust the timing of their filings. It should also be noted, however, that
the process of finalizing the state budget puts constraints on the amount of time that the
Department has to give notice to affected dealers.




The waiver process was also discussed. Representatives from business organizations
requested that dealers be given more information about the waiver process and that there be a
more liberal granting of waivers.

Issues regarding penalties for late payment were raised. Dealers would like to see the
penalty reduced or eliminated. It was noted that penalties can be a particular burden on small
businesses.

Finally, the working group discussed possible alternatives to the current AST structure.
One such alternative is changing the current monthly sales tax filing to a semi-monthly filing.
Semi-monthly filing would require dealers whose annual sales are over the threshold to file
sales tax twice a month. Although sales taxes collected are held in trust for the
Commonwealth, there was concern that such a dramatic change in filing procedures would be
a burden on dealers.

Following the meeting, formal public comments were submitted to the Department by
interested parties. See Appendices E-G.



Appendix A

VIRGINIA STATE BUDGET

2017 Session

Budget Bill - HB1500 (Chapter 836)

Bill Order » Office of Finance » ltem 274

Department of Taxation

Iltem 274

D. The Department of Taxation shall convene a workgroup to examine the provisions related to the timing
of payments and return filings required of registered dealers pursuant to §8 58.1-615 and 58.1-616, Code
of Virginia, and 8§ 3-5.06 of this act. The workgroup shall include the staffs of the House Appropriations
and Senate Finance Committees, the Secretary of Finance or his designee, and representatives from
affected businesses and industries. Additional staff support shall be provided by the Department of
Taxation and the Division of Legislative Services upon request. The workgroup shall consider alternatives
and limitations to the current accelerated sales tax requirement and may examine other sales tax-related
issues as it deems appropriate. The workgroup shall complete its meetings by November 30, 2017, and
shall submit to the Governor and the Chairmen of the House Appropriations and Senate Finance
Committees a report of its findings and recommendations no later than the first day of the 2018 Regular
Session of the General Assembly.



Appendix B:
Presentation by the Department of Taxation to the AST Workgroup

AST Workgroup

October 12, 2017

o virgin
© 2017 Virginia Department of Taxation AVII‘gInla Tax

Meeting Agenda 2

* Introductions

*  Workgroup Mandate

*  Retail Sales and Use Tax Background
*  Accelerated Sales Tax Requirement
*  History of AST

*  Revenue Impact

*  Current AST Process

»  AST Requirements in Other States

»  Discussion and Public Comment

o ) A
M7 Wirginia Department of Taat fﬁ\flrgmlaTa:




Department of Taxation Contacts

L

| 3

L

i
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Cralg Burns, Tax Commissioner

Bill White, Assistant Commissionar

Kristin Collins, Policy Development Director
loe Mayer, Lead Tax Palicy Analyst

Stephen Klos, Tax Policy Analyst

Stuart Carter, Chief Economist

Aisha Yeded|i, Lead Economist

Barbara Toellner, Collections Manager

¢ Wrginia Deposrtrresent o Tacembiom -{;.\l'il"gll'lia TE!

Workgroup Mandate

"

Mandate:

L

L

Iterm 2740 of House Bill 1500 (2017 Acts of Assembly, Chapter 838).

Department of Taxation to convene a workgroup to examine the provislons
related to the timing of payments and return filings required of dealers under
the sales tax code and the accelerated sales tax schedule.

Warkgroup will conslder alternatives and limitations to the current accelerated
sales tax requirement and may examine other sales tax-related issues as it
deems appropriate.

Waorkgroup will complete its meetings by November 30, 2017.

Workgroup will zubmit a report of its findings and recommendations no later
than the first day of the 2018 Regular Sezsion of the General Assembly.

") rEinia demrtrreerd of Taxation vﬁvil‘ghiﬂ Tﬂ!




Retail Sales and Use Tax Background 5

*  Background:

*  Retail Sales and Use Tax iz imposed on:
*  All zales of tangible personal property unless an exemption applies.
*  Selected services.

*  Tax rate:
*  5.3% statewide.
*  B.0% In Northern Virginla and Hampton Roads localities,

»  Totalstate and local tax collections in FY 2016 were 56.1 billion.

*  Tax s generally collected by registered dealers.

* Al sums collected by a dealer are held intrust for the Commonwealth.

2017 rginia et of Taeabion ?ﬂ-'”il'ﬂhiﬂ THI

Retail Sales and Use Tax Background 6

»  Dealer Filing Requirements:

»  Generally, by the 201 day of the month, dealers are required to:
*  File return reporting previous month's sales,
*  Remit tax on previous month's sales.
*  Returns and payments must be made using an electronic medium.

*  Tax Commissioner authorized to walve the requirement to file by electronic
means in situations where it would cause an undue hardship.

0207 'I:I'II.I emmrtrren® of Taeabion vﬁvilﬂhiﬂ Tﬂ:‘:




Accelerated Sales Tax Background

*  What is Accelerated Sales Tax?

#  Affected dealers are required to make an AST payment aqual to 90 percent of
the dealer’s llability for the previous June on or before June 30, if by alectronic
fund transfer, otherwise an or before the 25th day of June,

*  AST pulls sales tax revenues into the current fiscal vear which would otherwize
be received and recognized in the next fiscal vear. This allows the revenues to
be available for appropriation in the current fiscal year.

» Appropriations Act sets forth the minimum sales level, or threzhold, for dealers
to be required to make the AST payment, 5o that the neceszary revenues are
accelerated.

.;.L AL N rginia e rusrrrened ol T by ?ﬁvil‘ghiﬂ TH!

Accelerated Sales Tax Background

*  Mechanics of AST:
*  Affected dealers are notified by the Department of Taxation in advance,

*  If a dealer does not receive a mailing and belleves that ha is llable to make the
AST payment, he should contact the Department for aszistance.

*  Department sends each dealer a blll equal to 90 percent of the dealer’s [lability
for the previous June,

*  Dealer must remit payment on or before the 30th day of June, if by electronic
fund transfer, otherwise on or before the 25th day of June.

*  Dealers were entitled to a credit for the payment on their next month’s return.

.;l\' M '"I'II.I et o mce b vﬁvirﬂhiﬂ Tﬂ’:
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Revenue Impact of AST

Number of AST Number of AST Total Amount
Year Threshaold _ .
Bills Payments Received

2010 41 million 12,206 10,667 5279,340,862
2011 %5.4 million 2,035 2,837 5242,867,249
3012 4§26 million 613 501 5193,885,235
013 526 million 672 564 $199,573,732
2014 5485 million 332 EEY) 5175,287,579
2015 $2.5 million 6,474 5,047 5337,427,002
2016 $2.5 million 6,779 6,401 5361,362,308
2017 52.5 million 7,079 6,640 5370,350,743
1 2017 Virginia Desartment of Taxation '&"i‘irghiaTa:

Accelerated Sales Tax History 10

= Timeline:
* 1977: Monthly Estimated Payments:
> Legislation required monthly estimated sales and use tax payments,

> Attorney General Opinlon 01121978 advised that the accelerated payment
schedule was constitutionally valid.

> Repealed in 1978 (before it went into effect).
* 2002 — 2007 First Accelerated Sales Tax Program (eliminated in 2007 ).
* 2009 semi-Monthly Sales Tax Filing (repealed before it went into effect).
¥ 2010 — 2017 Second Accelerated Sales Tax Program

&1 2 W rgRinia S arbrren o 13 b ?ﬁvir‘ghiﬂ Tﬂ!
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Accelerated Sales Tax History 11

*  First AST Program (2002-2008):

Paymaent in Threshold Payment Amount
June of

2002 51.3 million Q0% of previows lune
2003 51.3 million a0% of previcus lune
2004 51.3 million 90% of previous June
2005 51.3 million 90% of previous June
2006 S50 millicn 20% of previous June
2007 AST Eliminated Mo
L1 2017 Virginia Depoartrent of Tauabion %\l‘irghia Tax

Accelerated Sales Tax History

*  Semi-Monthly Filing Requirement:

*  In 2009, the General Assembly enacted a budget for the 2008-2010 Biennium
that required dealers with annual sales of 512 million or greater in the preceding
calendar year to file and remit sales tax twice a month (semi-monthly)

»  Effective beginningin June 2010

*  The first return was due by the 20th day of the month for sales made in the
first fifteen days of the same month

*  The second return was due on or before the 20th day of the following
month for the remaining days in the prior month

*  Semi-monthly requirement repealed before [t took effect

.:.\l AL W '“I'II.I o e iod | 3 mhaom -'Jf-'virghiﬂ Tﬂ!
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Accelerated Sales Tax History E!

*  Current AST Program (2010-Present):
*  |n 2010, the General Assembly reinstated an AST payment requirement.
*  AST paymentis equal to 90% of the dealer’s liability for the previous June

*  Must be made on or before the 30th day of June, If by electronic fund transfer,
otherwise due on or before the 25th day of June.

*  Dealers are entitled to a credit for the payment on their next month’s return

& 201 'I;I'II.I o e ol |ESE ey ?ﬁvilﬂhiﬂ TH’:

Revenue Impact

Number of AST MNumber of AST Total Amount
Year Threzhald . _
Bills Payments Received

2010 51 million 12,206 10,667 5279,340,862
2011 55.4 million 2,935 2,837 5242,867,249
2012 526 million 613 601 $193,885,235
2013 526 million 677 664 $199,573,732
2014 5485 million 332 332 $175,287,579
2015 52.5 million 6,474 5,002 5337,427,002
2016 52.5 million 6,770 6,401 5361,362,308
2017 52.5 million 7,079 6,640 5370,350,743
O 2017 Virginia Departret of Tasation ?ﬂ'ﬂ'il‘ghiaﬁ:
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Current Accelerated Sales Tax Process

*  Timing of 2017 AST:

Ld

Ld

May 1 - 1% Notification mailers sent.

May 3 - Guidelines issued.

May 26 - 2 Naotification mailers sent.

June 20 - May returns due,

June 26 - AST Mailed payments due.,

June 30 - AST EFT payments due.

July 20 - June return due with balance of tax payment if underpaid.

2 rounds of courtesy reminder calls are made to the tap 200 dealers.

L

L

One round in the beginning of June- asking if they recelved the letter.
Znd round of calls made the last week of June,

0 207 rginia Depuortrrent iof Tamabion ?ﬁvil\ghiﬂ THH:
Current Accelerated Sales Tax Process 16
»  Waivers:

-

J 2T

Department may waive AST requirement or allow dealers to pay a lesser
amount upon a finding that the accelerated payment requirement would
cause an undue hardship:

-

®

-

Sale or closing of a significant part of business,
Substantial decline in sales since the previous June.

Extenuating circumstances, such as @ major change in the dealer’s
business model,

Qut-of-state dealer who no longer makes sales in Virginia,

Dealer is primarily liable for AST because of 8 one-time extraordinary
event in the previous fiscal year,

'&\'irghia Tax

14



Current Accelerated Sales Tax Process 17

= Waivers:
*  Process to obtain:
*  Requestin writing a waiver from the Tax Commissioner.

*  Demonstrate the nature of the hardship with documentation and
financial records.

*  Submit application for waivers no later than June 8.

L] v w
0 2017 Verginia i"l"lrgmm Tax

AST Waivers
Year | Threshold NHIL':::;,: Granted Denied ,:::;;::Ir Ta::a;:n?:;nt
2010 S1million 108 4z 17 49 $3,480,170
2011 55.4 million 15 8 1 3 $2,525,676
2012 526 millicn 4 2 0 2 51,301,989
2013 526 million 3 2 0 1 1,227,859
2014 5485 million 0 0 0 0 50
2015 $2.5 million £} | 17 1 12 56,000,426
2016 52.5 million 14 12 0 2 5422,891
2017 %2.5 million 29 23 1 5 $1,905,320

£ 2017 Wirginia Departrert of Taxation %'ﬂ'irghiah:
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Accelerated Sales Tax Payments in Other States

Due Date Annual Sales Threshold Accelerated Paymants

Deallers must resmit B0% af the taw for the curment manth

D T #édmillien by the 24% o the month

R s e oo
Florida Semi-Monthky 53,0 millicn Deabers thTmﬁ;'i:;E t{!ﬁﬂ:ﬂﬂ ttl;.-a cisrrent manth

o Semi-Monthky 50,2 millicn Lo 0 ’*::’:I::“;;t’:::::t;j :t:'-'mf the menth

o | $12 millon e priones et iy by e 200 et ot

] e g
U'Ii:':r:a June 207 1% millicn Deabers must nemit tax far the first half of fune by June 20
£ 2017 Virginla Department of Tazation E"l"il‘ghii Tax

Discussion and Public Comment

- Camments
= Questions
= Mext steps

B 2017 4 FEINIA LA srbrreerd of Taceabicn ?ﬁvil‘ghiﬂ Tﬂ!
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Appendix C:
Summary of AST Workgroup Meeting

A. Presentation on the history and administration of AST in Virginia and other states (Joe Mayer
and Steve Klos from the Department of Taxation).

B. Public Comment — Summary of Issues Raised by Workgroup:

a.
b.

c
d.

> @ =~

AST Threshold Limits.
Timing of AST.
Additional notice of any upcoming AST requirements.
Issues with fraud production features when applying AST credit card payments.
Communication about the waiver process.
Penalties for late payment.
How revenue from AST is used or why it is needed.
Waiver requirements
Possible Alternatives:

i. Do nothing.

ii. Semi-monthly filing.

iii. Higher threshold.

iv. Eliminate AST.

C. Next Steps:

a.
b.

C.

Please provide written public comments by Friday, October 27.
The Department will draft a report, which will be circulated to working group participants.

After the review and comment period, a final report of findings and recommendations will
be submitted no later than the first day of the 2018 Regular Session of the General
Assembly.

17



Appendix D

Workgroup Meeting Participants

Last Name First Name Organization
Baker Kate Virginia Retail Federation/ Retail Alliance
Burns Craig Department of Taxation
Byrne Rick Department of Taxation
Carter Stuart Department of Taxation
Collins Kristin Department of Taxation
Jones Petrina Virginia Retail Merchants Association
Kennington Charles Senate Finance Committee Staff
Klos Stephen Department of Taxation
Machlan David Virginia Society of CPAs
Martin Keith Virginia Chamber of Commerce
Mayer Joseph Department of Taxation
Oman Anne House Appropriations Committee Staff
Roth Jodi Virginia Retail Federation
Toellner Barbara Department of Taxation
Vinoles Vanessa Department of Taxation
West Brittany Hunton & Williams
White William Department of Taxation

18




Appendix E

The Voice of Small Business.

VIRGINIA

October 27, 2017

Mr. Craig Burns, Commissioner
Virginia Department of Taxation
Post Office Box 27185

Richmond, Virginia 23261-7185

Dear Mr. Burns:

On behalf of the 6,700 members of the National Federation of Independent Businesses, we appreciate
the opportunity to provide written comments related to the Commonwealth’s tax policy known as the
“accelerated sales tax”. Approximately, one quarter of NFIB/Virginia’s membership is in the retail
industry and our average member employs 10 or less employees.

With the current threshold of $2.5 million in sales, a significant amount of our retail members are
subject to making the accelerated payment in June. This creates a financial burden on many small
retailers. As you know, the past recession was one of the deepest and longest recessions in recent
memory. Even more significant has been the slow, drawn out recovery from the recession. No one
has felt that painful experience more than the small retailer. Profit margins are already slim in the retail
business and when faced with small to little gains in sales, policies such as the accelerated sales tax
place a terrible financial burden on small businesses.

Since the re-institution of the accelerated sales tax payment, we've heard from many of our members
on the difficulty it is to pre-pay their June payment a month ahead of schedule. For small retailers
preparing and setting aside revenue to make the accelerated payment is very difficult. I've had
members reveal they’ve been forced to taking out a loan or a line of credit to the pay the accelerated
payment.

While we would like to see the entire accelerated sales tax policy eliminated on all retailers, we hope
the Commonwealth of Virginia will take a serious step forward in phasing out the accelerated sales tax
by raising the threshold to a number where the vast majority of Virginia’s small and independent
retailers are not required to make the payment.

Sincerely,

Nicole Riley

Virginia State Director

19



Appendix F
October 26, 2017

TO: Mr. Steve Klos
Policy Analyst
Office of Tax Policy, Policy Development Division
Virginia Department of Taxation

FROM: David Machlan
Tax Advisory Committee (“TAC”) member
Virginia Society of Certified Public Accountants

RE: TAC Member Comments about the AST process

In the regular monthly meeting of the Tax Advisory Committee of the VSCPA held on October
18, 2017, there was a report provided by David Machlan who was the TAC representative that
attended the AST workgroup on October 12", The AST was discussed by those TAC
members attending the call and comments were noted. Subsequent to the call, the TAC
members were contacted by email for any additional comments.

The following are comments for which most of the TAC members that participated on the
monthly call agreed.

Semi-monthly (S-M) filing —

1. Moving to a S-M filing requirement would not seem to accomplish the revenue
requirement currently expected of the AST.

2. If S-M filing was enacted as part of any change to the AST process, this would be a
burden on all taxpayers but in particular, small sales and use tax filers. Their filings and
tax remittances would increase from 12 to 24 annually if they file semi-monthly.

3. Businesses must file bi-weekly for payroll purposes. S-M filing for sales tax would create
additional complexity for small business as the due dates for the two filings do not
correlate.

4. Any requirement for semi-monthly filing should include a taxable sales threshold amount
sufficiently high to prevent most small business filers from being affected.

Threshold amounts —

1. Generally, the threshold amounts are too low (in 2017, the threshold amount was $2.5
million). A greater amount of the AST should be shouldered by larger taxpayers.

20



The following comments were provided as a follow up to the call by an individual TAC member.
As these comments were received after the TAC meeting call, they were not discussed among
members of the TAC.

It is apparent, given the budget dependence on the AST, that this cannot be modified greatly.
However, | think there is confusion among taxpayers, as well as oversight and administration
issues at the department that could be alleviated.

To simplify matters, one might consider making AST payments a requirement of all taxpayers
so there isn't confusion as to whether you are or are not liable, and the department would not
feel compelled to send out multiple reminders or determine filling requirement thresholds. An
AST payment in June of possibly 90% of the previous June's liability or maybe a choice of
paying the lowest liability of the last 12 months should be doable. Revising the format of the
June sales tax form that would reconcile the June sales tax liability and the AST payment
would make the process clearer, making this the standard form filed by all taxpayers.

There would be no burden of closing the books early in June to figure the AST payment.
However, some taxpayers might feel a financial crunch of having two payments in June, but
might like the financial windfall in July of having only the smaller reconciling payment. But
having an AST requirement across the board for all taxpayers would alleviate confusion and
potentially financial hardship for those taxpayers who are borderline on the current filing
threshold, resulting in 13 payments some years and 11 payments others, playing havoc with
their annual cash requirements budget.

A requirement for filing waivers a little earlier might alleviate some of the administrative burden
on the department, as a larger number of waivers would be expected to be filed.

The transition year for such a change would be the hardest, but in years following, | believe

taxpayers would come to expect to have to budget in a way that provides the funds needed for
the AST payment.

21



Appendix G

VIRGINIA RETAIL MERCHANTS ASSOCIATION
THE VOICE OF FREE ENTERPRISE SINCE 1905

Friday, October 27, 2017

Mr. Steve Klos

Policy Analyst

Office of Tax Policy, Policy Development Division
Virginia Department of Taxation

Post Office Box 27185

Richmond, Virginia 23261-7185

Dear Mr. Klos,

Please accept the following remarks as Virginia Retail Merchants Association’s entry to
the work group’s public comment process. We appreciate your service to the
Commonwealth and the opportunity to participate in the Accelerated Sales Tax Work
Group. We respectfully submit the following remarks.

Accelerated Sales Tax Limits

OPENING

Senator Glen Sturtevant (R-Powhatan) and the Virginia Retail Merchants Association (VRMA) proactively
advocated for accelerated sales tax limits during the 2017 General Assembly Session. Additionally, we
respectfully objected to any further accelerated sales tax practices by Governor Terry McAuliffe (D), the House
Appropriations Committee and the Senate Finance Committee. We encourage Virginia’s decision makers to fight
the urge to fix shortfalls or balance the state budget to the detriment of the retailers. The current threshold and the
unpredictability of new thresholds has caused cash flow problems for small and mid-size retailers in the
Commonwealth. Many of these businesses are already operating on small margins. Many did not budget to pay
early sales taxes in the month of June. We urge your tax professionals to meet with private sector business
owners and their accountants to hear the realities of separating funds at the point of sale, accessibility to cashier
technology that automatically separates monies at point of sale, the after-effects of being charged a 6% late
penalty fee, effects of unpredictability on business planning and more.

Senator Sturtevant and the VRMA call for responsible measures to be approved that set limits on accelerated
sales tax practices and a plan for total elimination of accelerated sales tax collections. The VRMA, as an
organization, has lobbied Virginia’s legislature since 1905 and still consistently aims to improve the business
climate for all of Virginia’s retailers.

We propose to the General Assembly:

22



e Limit the ability of the General Assembly to lower the accelerated sales tax threshold by more than
10% in one year when threshold is at $15M or less.

¢ Mandate the Department of Taxation to provide earlier notice, 9 months, to prepare for an
accelerated sales tax payment. Currently the notices are delivered in the month of May for an
accelerated sales tax payment in June.

e Waive the 6% penalties on late payments if less than 9 months notice is given by the Department of
Taxation.

o Waive the 6% penalty for late payment for new retailers captured when lowering the threshold.
¢ Expand the “hardship” definition to include more retailers and/or lower the 6% penalty fee.

¢ Adopt language that includes an elimination provision by the year 2020.

PROBLEM STATEMENT

For far too long, Virginia retailers have been promised a total phase-out of the Virginia General Assembly’s
Accelerated Sales Tax. They have been subjected to both positive and negative but wholly unpredictable
changes in the threshold since Governor Jim Gilmore’s administration in 2001. In addition, the vendor allowance
or dealer discount provided for offsetting the retailer’s time remitting the tax was eliminated. Retailers count on
certainty and responsible practices by their state legislatures, however, in Virginia, future accelerated sales tax
mandates are an unknown factor. Virginia’s retailers are unable to apply with confidence an educated expectation
of financial obligations for the completion of 5-year financial planning. As any business owner will tell you,
unpredictability of any kind threatens the viability and survivability of a merchant.

HISTORY

Over a decade ago the Accelerated Sales Tax concept was born in Virginia, the threshold amount of sales
obligating retail merchants changed drastically during many budget cycles. The Virginia General Assembly and
their financial advisors used these practices as a way to create the appearance of balancing the budget. In reality,
the practice requires retailers and other businesses to submit 13 payments in a fiscal year creating a hole in the
next year’s budget and creating a cyclical threshold problem. Accelerated Sales Tax payments language inserted
into Governor Gilmore’s 2001 outgoing budget additionally appeared in the 2002-2004 biennium budget. Dealers
who generated taxable sales of $1.3 million dollars or more for the 12-month period ending June 2001 were
required to make the accelerated payments. The payment amount equals 90% of the previous years June liability.
Under the new requirement, dealers were obligated to remit sales taxes collected in June on June 25 as opposed
to July and sales tax collected in May on June 30. In 2004, the Virginia Retail Merchants Association led a
coalition with other members of the business community to address this issue with the administration. In doing so
successfully, the General Assembly reduced the number of impacted vendors from 145,000 to approximately
6800. This one time fix amounted to $118 Million. Unfortunately, there was no formal phase-out language of
legislative intent included to begin phasing out in FY2006 and completed by FY2012.

Meanwhile, in June 2001 a Joint Subcommittee to Study and Revise Virginia’s State Tax Code convened a first
organizational meeting. Accelerated Sales Tax was not originally in the Joint Subcommittee’s mandate to discuss.
However, during the next fifteen meetings the retail industry presented the concern before them at one meeting of
Task Force #2 led by then Delegate Bob McDonnell. By September of 2002, the joint subcommittee had officially
inserted on their the restructuring list of recommendations to eliminate June accelerated sales tax collections in
2002-2004 budget, pushing $118 million back to FY 03. (Task Force 2 -- Item 8) It is important to note, at the
meeting in September 2002, the committee agreed that the elimination of the accelerated sales tax collections is
an equity tax principle as referenced in the chart on 9/12/2002 on the Task Force #2 Issue Form.
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Dr. John H. Bowman, Professor of Economics, Virginia Commonwealth University, gave a presentation on
principles underlying tax systems and identified various tax principles generally present in good tax systems. Dr.
Bowman’s recommended four main principles or criteria to evaluate tax systems are equity, efficiency, adequacy,
and predictability.

Dr. Bowman defined equity:

The equity of a tax system means the fairness of the tax burden upon the taxpayers impacted. One
approach in analyzing equity is to determine to what extent the costs of providing government services
are paid for by taxes or other charges upon the users of such services. This approach considers the
degree to which a tax system is functioning as an economic market, i.e., is it the user who is demanding
the service the person who is paying the tax or other charge imposed to fund the cost of providing the
service? As with any approach in analyzing the equity of a tax system, there are limitations with this
market approach. For instance, it is sometimes difficult to quantify or measure the tax. This is called
horizontal equity. In addition, this approach favors benefits of particular government services.

A second approach in analyzing the equity of a tax system, the ability-to-pay approach, examines how
taxes impact taxpayers with a greater ability to pay. This approach requires an agreement on the
standard for measuring one's ability to pay taxes, whether that standard be income, wealth, family size, or
other factors. Under this approach, taxpayers in similar circumstances should essentially be paying the
same amount of differing tax burdens for those with different abilities to pay. This is called vertical equity.

Dr. Bowman defined efficiency:

Efficiency as it relates to tax systems means the avoidance of waste or getting as much as possible from
available resources. There are two major considerations in evaluating the efficiency of a tax system. First,
consumer and business decisions for purchasing or investing should not be directly affected by taxes.
Second, a tax system should be simple to comply with and simple to administer. The level of resources
required to administer and to comply with a tax system is key for purposes of evaluating simplicity.

Dr. Bowman defined adequacy:

Adequacy relates to the revenue-producing capacity of the tax base and the level of government services
to be funded. The more inadequate a tax base (i.e., the ability to generate revenues is limited in
relationship to the agreed upon level of government services), the more likely there will be a high effective
tax burden imposed on those left to pay.

Dr. Bowman defined predictability:

As the Virginia constitution requires a balanced budget, predictable revenues are extremely important in
appropriating state funds. Volatile tax bases are less desirable as they introduce more uncertainty in
making appropriations.

By May 2002, Dr. Bowman had made his case and the joint subcommittee agreed to adopt Dr. Bowman’s set of
tax principles to include in the study as guidance for the 2003 General Assembly and to guide their work in
revising the tax code.

As a result of the recommendations of the joint subcommittee, the 2003 General Assembly passed the following
language to be applied in FY2005 for the FY2006 accelerated sales tax payments:

In addition to the amounts required under the provisions of this section and § 58.1-616, any dealer as
defined by § 58.1-612 or direct payment permit holder pursuant to 8 58.1-624, with taxable sales and
purchases of $1,300,000 or greater for the 12-month period beginning July 1, and ending June 30 of the
immediately preceding calendar year, shall be required to make a payment equal to 90 percent of the
sales and use tax liability for the previous June. Beginning July 1, 2005, for the payment required in
2006, the payment required under this subdivision shall only apply to such dealers or direct
payment permit holders with taxable sales and purchases of $50,000,000 or greater for such
period of time and the payment required shall equal 20 percent of the sales and use tax liability for
the previous June.

In addition, in 2003 the House voted 94-0 on a Constitutional amendment (HJ656 to prohibit the Commonwealth
from ever allowing such a practice again). By 2005, the VRMA was able to convince the legislature to reduce the
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number of retailers impacted from nearly 10,000 down to under 400. An amendment was adopted in the budget to
raise the threshold on taxable sales from $1.3 million to $30 million.

In 2006, the accelerated sales tax language was repealed. While this language gave Virginia retailers relief, it was
short lived. The first budget enacted under the McDonnell administration reinstated accelerated sales tax and took
effect on July 1, 2010. One of McDonnell's legislative initiatives assisted in increasing the surplus for the 2009—
2010 fiscal year. The budget bill accelerated the payment of state sales taxes resulting in a one-time shift of
revenues to be collected in July 2010 into the previous fiscal year.

The below chart illustrates the continued accelerated sales tax activity up to the current year.

Enacting Legislation Payment in June of Applied to Dealers with
taxable sales and purchases
of

HB29 (Acts of Assembly 2010, | 2010 $1 million or more

Chapter 872)

HB30 (Acts of Assembly 2010,

Chapter 874)

HB1500 (Acts of Assembly 2011 $5.4 million or more

2011, Chapter 890)

HB1300 (Acts of Assembly 2012 $26 million or more

2012 Special Session 1,

Chapter 2)

No Change 2013 $26 million or more

HB1500 (Acts of Assembly 2014 $48.5 million or more

2013, Chapter 806)
HB5001 (Acts of Assembly
2014 Special Session,

Chapter 1)

HB1400 (Acts of Assembly 2015 $2.5 million or more
2015, Chapter 665)

HB1400 (Acts of Assembly 2016 $2.5 million or more
2015, Chapter 665)

HB30 (Acts of Assembly 2016, | 2017 $10 million or more*
Chapter 780)

HB30 (Acts of Assembly 2016, | 2018 $25 million or more*
Chapter 780)

HB1500 (Acts of Assembly 2017 $2.5 million or more

2017, Chapter 836)

HB1500 (Acts of Assembly 2018 $4 million or more
2017, Chapter 836)

* Governor McAuliffe announced in December 2016 he will suspend Accelerated Sales Tax Relief in the 2017
Budget. Previously, during the 2016 General Assembly Session, Accelerated Sales Tax Relief passed in the form
of raising the current $2.5M threshold to $10M in 2017 and $25M in 2018. The Governor’s announcement meant
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that the $2.5M threshold will stay in place during 2017. Therefore, retailers experienced more unpredictability from
the state government having the threshold change again in a“yo-yo” like manner.

SOLUTION

The Virginia Retail Merchants Association proposes to recommend legislation to the 2018 General Assembly
Session. Senator Glen Sturtevant (R-Powhatan) has agreed to sponsor this legislation on our behalf. This
proposed legislation will recommend the following actions to provide certainty to our retailers:

e Limit the ability of the General Assembly to lower the accelerated sales tax threshold by more than
10% in one year when threshold is at $15M or less.

¢ Mandate the Department of Taxation to provide earlier notice, 9 months, to prepare for an
accelerated sales tax payment. Currently the notices are delivered in the month of May for an
accelerated sales tax payment in June.

¢ Waive the 6% penalties on late payments if less than 9 months notice is given by the Department of
Taxation.

o Waive the 6% penalty for late payment for new retailers captured when lowering the threshold.
¢ Expand the definition of “hardship” and/or lower the 6% late penalty fee.

e Adopt language that includes an elimination provision by the year 2020.

CONCLUSION

The Virginia Retail Merchants Association will continue to pursue parameters around Virginia’s accelerated sales
tax practices. Protecting our members is our first priority, therefore we call on the members of the 2018 Virginia
legislature to draft tax policy that assists rather than hinder the remitters of Virginia’s sales tax collections. It is our
mission to remind decision makers that accelerated sales tax policy is in fact an erroneous and misleading
method in balancing the budget. Many highly regarded and currently serving legislators, Governors, and tax policy
experts have called the practice a gimmick, plain and simple. Virginia retailers will advocate for incorporating
limits on the accelerated sales tax threshold levels. Virginia’s retailers request more notice from their state
government. They need a reasonable amount of time to prepare for an accelerated sales tax payment. We will
push for language adoption providing a total elimination of the accelerated sales tax program. The retailers of
Virginia have operated in good faith by remitting sales tax collections for their Commonwealth even though the
vendor allowance or dealer discount was eliminated. Rather than abandoning the approved tax principles
provided by the Joint Subcommittee to Study the Tax Code in 2003, we encourage the Commonwealth to
reconsider those core principles and additionally seek out advice and feedback from skilled tax policy
professionals from the private sector. We believe the time has come to craft new innovative tax policy. It is time to
set things right. Stop the practice of misleading reports of Virginia’s finances. It is with urgency we ask for equity,
efficiency, adequacy and predictability when it comes to balancing the 2018 budget by our next General
Assembly.

For more information, please contact Petrina Jones at 804.643.0605 or pjones@virginiaretail.org.

Many regards,
Petrina Jones
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