RD364 - 2018 Report on the Status of Virginia Indian Tribes

Executive Summary:

The last year has been a landmark year for Virginia Indian recognition. The United States government extended recognition to six Virginia Indian tribes: the Chickahominy Indians Eastern Division, Chickahominy Indian Tribe, Monacan Indian Nation, Nansemond Indian Nation, Rappahannock Tribe, and Upper Mattaponi Indian Tribe. These tribes’ recognition bring the federally recognized Virginia Indian tribes to seven.

The Commonwealth did not recognize any group as an Indian tribe between September 30, 2017 and October 1, 2018. Therefore, the Commonwealth continues to recognize 11 Virginia Indian tribes: the Cheroenhaka (Nottoway) Indian Tribe, Chickahominy Indian Tribe, Chickahominy Indians Eastern Division, Mattaponi Indian Tribe, Monacan Indian Nation, Nansemond Indian Tribe, Nottoway Indian Tribe of Virginia, Pamunkey Indian Tribe, Patawomeck Indian Tribe of Virginia, Rappahannock Tribe, and the Upper Mattaponi Indian Tribe.