EXECUTIVE SECRETARY KARL R, HADE

Assistant Executive Secretary & Legal Counsel Edward M. Macon

COURT IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM SANDRA L. KARISON, DIRECTOR

EDUCATIONAL SERVICES CAROLINE E. KIRKPATRICK, DIRECTOR

FISCAL SERVICES JOHN B. RICKMAN, DIRECTOR

HUMAN RESOURCES RENÉE FLEMING MILLS, DIRECTOR SUPREME COURT OF VIRGINIA



OFFICE OF THE EXECUTIVE SECRETARY 100 NORTH NINTH STREET RICHMOND, VIRGINIA 23219-2334 (804) 786-6455

December 13, 2018

JUDICIAL INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY ROBERT L. SMITH, DIRECTOR

JUDICIAL PLANNING CYRIL W. MILLER, JR., DIRECTOR

JUDICIAL SERVICES PAUL F. DELOSH, DIRECTOR

LEGAL RESEARCH STEVEN L. DALLE MURA, DIRECTOR

LEGISLATIVE & PUBLIC RELATIONS KRISTI S. WRIGHT, DIRECTOR

MAGISTRATE SERVICES MASON L. BYRD, DIRECTOR

The Honorable Ralph Northam Governor of Virginia P.O. Box 1475 Richmond, VA 23218

The Honorable Mark D. Obenshain Chair, Courts of Justice Committee Senate of Virginia P.O. Box 555 Harrisonburg, Virginia 22803

The Honorable Robert B. Bell Chair, Courts of Justice Committee Virginia House of Delegates 2309 Finch Court Charlottesville, VA 22911

Ms. Kristen J. Howard, Executive Director Virginia State Crime Commission 1111 East Broad Street Suite B036 Richmond, Virginia 23219

RE: Annual Restitution Report Pursuant to Subsection D. of § 19.2-349

Dear Governor Northam, Chairmen Obenshain and Bell, and Ms. Howard:

The requirement for this report was included in legislation enacted during the 2018 Session of the General Assembly. The information necessary to provide the required annual report is not yet available as programming changes to the accounting systems were needed. The need for such programming changes to produce the required report was explained during consideration of the legislation that contained the reporting provision, House Bill 483 (2018) and Senate Bill 562 (2018). These changes have been made and a complete fiscal year of data will be available at the end of fiscal year 2019.

With kind regards, I am

Very truly yours,

KIRIH

Karl R. Hade

cc: The Honorable Members of the General Assembly of Virginia