RD70 - James Madison University Annual Executive Summary – January, 2018

    Executive Summary:

    James Madison University was established in 1908 as the State Normal and Industrial School for Women at Harrisonburg and became James Madison University in 1977. The Board of Visitors was established in 1964 and currently has fifteen members who serve on the board. Mr. Jonathan R. Alger serves as the sixth president of the university. During 2013, the Board of Visitors held five meetings: January 15, April 7, June 1-2, and September 29, and November 10. The Board recently made a change in their meeting schedule so going forward there will be two meetings during the fall semester and two meetings in the spring semester.

    The Board has six committees that address key functions within the university: Advancement Committee, Athletic Committee, Audit Committee, Education and Student Life Committee, Executive Committee and Finance and Physical Development Committee. All of these committees, with the exception of the Executive Committee, meet during the regular scheduled board meeting day. The committees hear reports from various staff regarding current issues, new initiatives, and compliance with requirements and/or regulations.

    The Board participated in a retreat in June, 2017 reviewing and discussing key topics related to the governance of the institution.

    At their regular board meetings the board heard reports regarding the progress on the university’s Strategic Plan, approved three honorary degrees, approved the Master’s Degree in Athletic Training, the Construction Procurement Approval Process, the Six Year Plan and the revisions to the Faculty Handbook. The board also toured the University Recreation facility. The Executive Committee met with President Alger for the annual evaluation and then shared the evaluation with the full board.