RD163 - Annual Executive Summary of the Interim Activity and Work of the Virginia Coal and Energy Commission, 2018 Interim

    Executive Summary:

    Pursuant to Chapter 25 (§ 30-188 et seq.) of Title 30 of the Code of Virginia, the Virginia Coal and Energy Commission (the Commission) is charged with studying all aspects of coal as an energy resource and endeavoring to stimulate, encourage, promote, and assist in the development of renewable and alternative energy resources.

    The Commission has 20 members: five members of the Senate, eight members of the House of Delegates, and seven citizen members appointed by the Governor. Delegate Terry G. Kilgore served as the Commission's chairman. The Senate members are Senators George L. Barker, Charles W. Carrico, Sr., William M. Stanley, Jr., David R. Suetterlein, and Frank W. Wagner. The other House of Delegates members are Delegates R. Lee Ware, Jr., Timothy Hugo, Mark D. Sickles, Matthew James, James W. Morefield, and Israel D. O'Quinn, and there is currently one vacancy. The current citizen appointees are Barbara Altizer, Rick B. Hendrix, Jr., Ken Hutcheson, James K. Martin, John Matney, Donald Ratliff, and Rhonnie Smith.

    Staffing was provided by Barbara Teague from the Office of the Clerk of the House of Delegates and Scott Meacham and David Barry from the Division of Legislative Services.


    The Commission did not meet during the 2018 interim.

    Additional information regarding the Commission's activities is available through its website at http://dls.virginia.gov/commissions/cec.htm.

    The Commission submits this executive summary of its 2018 activities as its annual report.