

## **COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA** Department of Emergency Management

9711 Farrar Court, Suite 200, North Chesterfield, Virginia 23236 TEL 804.267.7600 TDD 804.674.2417 FAX 804.272.2046

> **CURTIS C. BROWN** State Coordinator of Emergency Management

October 30, 2020

Mr. Daniel Timberlake Director Department of Planning and Budget 1111 East Broad Street, # 5040 Richmond, VA 23219

Dear Mr. Timberlake:

SUBJECT: Update to Justification to Continue Sum Sufficient Emergencies and Disasters; Reporting Requirement – 2020 Virginia Acts of Assembly, Chapter 1289, Item 413 A (1)

The Virginia Department of Emergency Management requests the following actions for emergencies and disasters that the Governor authorized sum sufficient funding. The continuation of the following disasters will allow the Commonwealth to fulfill its obligations to its partners for their disaster response and recovery activities:

Governor's Donation Program Hurricane Irene 2011 June 2012 Thunderstorms (Derecho) Hurricane Sandy 2012 **Tazewell County Flooding 2015** January 2016 Snow Storm Hurricane Matthew October 2016 Storms/Flooding, May-June 2018 Hurricane Florence 2018 Hurricane Michael 2018 January 12, 2019 Winter Storm Hurricane Dorian September 2019 Lobby Day January 20, 2020 Flooding, February 6, 2020 COVID-19 Public Health Emergency 2020 First Amendment Event, 2020 Hurricane Isaias August 2020

Mr. Daniel Timberlake Page 2 October 30, 2020

The following disasters have been closed and all excess appropriation/authorization of \$657,591.22 can be relinquished as of September 30, 2020, in consideration with the Department of Planning and Budget, as all known obligations have been fulfilled:

August 2011 Earthquake September 2011 Rains/Tropical Storm Lee March 2018 Storm Riley Charlottesville Protests 2018 December 2018 Snow Storm Diego January 2019 Winter Storm Gia

Sincerely,

Curtis C. Brown State Coordinator

CCB/bcf

C: The Honorable Janet Howell, Chairperson, Senate Finance and Appropriations Committee

The Honorable Luke Torian, Chairperson, House Appropriations Committee The Honorable Brian Moran, Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security