

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

Department of Emergency Management

9711 Farrar Court, Suite 200, North Chesterfield, Virginia 23236 TEL 804.267.7600 TDD 804.674.2417 FAX 804.272.2046

SHAWN G. TALMADGE

State Coordinator Deputy Homeland Security Advisor

September 13, 2023

Mr. Michael Maul Director Department of Planning and Budget 1111 East Broad Street, # 5040 Richmond, VA 23219

Dear Mr. Maul:

SUBJECT: Revised update to Justification to Continue Sum Sufficient Emergencies and Disasters;

Reporting Requirement – Special Session I, 2022 Virginia Acts of Assembly,

Chapter 2, Item 415 A.1.

The Virginia Department of Emergency Management requests the following actions for emergencies and disasters that the Governor authorized sum sufficient funding. The continuation of the following disasters will allow the Commonwealth to fulfill its obligations to its partners for their disaster response and recovery activities:

Governor's Donation Program
January 2016 Snow Storm
Hurricane Matthew October 2016
Hurricane Florence 2018
Hurricane Michael 2018
Flooding, February 6, 2020
Winter Storm December 2020
Civil Unrest January 2021
Winter Storm February 2021
Buchanan County Flood, August 2021

Winter Storm January 3 -9, 2022 Winter Storm January 16, 2022 Winter Storm January 20, 2022 Winter Storm January 28, 2022 Buchanan County Flood, July 2022 Southwest VA Flood, July 2022 Hurricane Ian 2022 US Border Crisis – EMAC 2023

COVID-19 Mitigation Grant Match

Mr. Michael Maul Page 2 September 13, 2023

The following disasters have been closed and all excess appropriation/authorization of \$812,368.43 can be relinquished as of September 30, 2023, in consideration with the Department of Planning and Budget, as all known obligations have been fulfilled:

Hurricane Irene 2011 Lobby Day January 20, 2020 Hurricane Isaias August 2020

Ge Talen

Sincerely,

Shawn Talmadge State Coordinator

C: The Honorable Roxann L. Robinson, Chairwoman of the Senate Finance Committee The Honorable Barry D. Knight, Chairman of the House Appropriations Committee The Honorable Terrance C Cole, Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security Banci Tewolde, Department of Planning and Budget Sean Polster, Chief Deputy State Coordinator, VDEM