Executive Summary Virginia Coal and Energy Commission March 2024

Pursuant to Chapter 25 (§ 30-188 et seq.) of Title 30 of the Virginia Code, the Virginia Coal and Energy Commission is charged with studying all aspects of coal as an energy resource and endeavoring to stimulate, encourage, promote, and assist in the development of renewable and alternative energy resources other than petroleum.

The Commission is comprised of 20 members: five members of the Senate, eight members of the House of Delegates, and seven citizen members appointed by the Governor. Membership includes the Honorable Terry G. Kilgore, the Honorable Israel D. O'Quinn, the Honorable James W. Morefield, the Honorable David W. Marsden, the Honorable Barbara A. Favola, The Honorable David R. Seutterlein, and the Honorable T. Travis Hackworth.

There are currently five vacancies from the House of Delegates and one vacancy from the Senate.

The terms of citizen members of the Commission expired on June 30, 2023.

Staffing from the Senate Clerk's Office is provided by Hobie Lehman, and from the Division of Legislative Services by Marvi Ali and Nathan Smith.

Commission Activities

The full Commission did not meet this year. The Commission has not held a meeting since 2021.

The Commission does not intend to submit a further report for publication.