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STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION REPORT

Chapter 245 of the Acts of Assembly 2024 Regular Session ("Chapter 245™) directs the
State Corporation Commission ("Commission™) to examine the issue and report its findings.
Chapter 245 specifically provides that the Commission:

[E]xamine[s] the existing regulation of fees charged for the removal of motor

vehicles, trailers, and parts thereof left on private property in violation of

8§ 46.2-1231 of the Code of Virginia ["Code"] and for the removal of trespassing

vehicles under § 46.2-1215 of the Code of Virginia and shall identify policy options

for the Commission to assume all or part of such regulation. Such policy options

shall include various levels of Commission involvement in such regulation. Each

policy option shall identify the necessary statutory and regulatory changes to enact

such policy option and shall include the resources needed by the Commission to
fulfill its duties under such policy option.

The Commission established a proceeding® for the purpose of inviting public comments to
be filed pertaining to the matters and issues described in Chapter 245 and the Commission presents
this report ("Report™) with its findings and recommendations. The Commission also retained the
Eixenberger Group, LLC ("EG") to facilitate the examination of the existing regulation of fees
charged for the removal of motor vehicles, trailers, and parts thereof left on private property in
violation of the Code sections specified above,? and to make recommendations based on such
examination. The Commission is pleased to submit this Report of the Commission's findings to
the General Assembly, as directed by Chapter 245.

In addition to the Commission proceeding, EG developed an online survey and attempted
to engage 189 towing companies to obtain towing cost information and identify key issues of
concern from the perspective and experience of the companies. The responses to the survey

questions were compared to previously developed cost estimates to verify assumptions and cost

! Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, Ex Parte: In the matter concerning the regulation
of certain towing fees, Case No. PUR-2024-00104, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 240630177, Order Establishing Proceeding
(June 21, 2024). Available through https://www.scc.virginia.gov/DocketSearch#/caseDetails/145267.

2 These types of tows are commonly referred to as non-consent Trespass Tows (" Trespass Tows").


http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/46.2-1231
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/46.2-1215
https://www.scc.virginia.gov/DocketSearch#/caseDetails/145267

values used in the study. Comments received from stakeholders during the Commission
proceeding, as well as information from EG's online survey, were useful in developing the
Eixenberger Group Report ("EG Report™) and in assisting the Commission in preparing this
Report.

After a thorough review of the EG Report and stakeholder comments received, the
Commission finds that the following recommended policy options from the EG Report are

reasonable for further consideration by the General Assembly:

1. The current maximum allowable rate® of $150 charged by the companies providing the
Trespass Tow should be reset based on current cost estimates. A new Trespass Tow
base rate between $200 and $210 appears reasonable.

2. The current additional fees for working night shifts, weekends, and holidays* remain
reasonable. A change does not appear to be justified at this time.

3. Use a percentage to automatically adjust any minimum rate® or eliminate the minimum
entirely. Should a percentage be chosen, a new minimum rate of 75% of the maximum
appears reasonable and should apply to all districts.

4. Change the drop fee® to a maximum rate between 40% and 50% of the allowable
Trespass Tow rate.

5. Develop a specific definition and formula for threshold situations where a fuel
surcharge’ would apply and the allowable rates would be updated.

% Code § 46.2-1233.1 defines and regulates maximum allowable fees that can be charged for private property
Trespass Tows.

4 Code 8 46.2-1233.1 A allows a maximum per-instance fee of $30 for no more than two instances, for a combined
maximum of $60.

® Code § 46.2-1233 allows a minimum rate of $135 in Planning Districts 8 and 16.

6 Code § 46.2-1231 D allows a $25 drop fee, which appears low compared to other states. A drop fee is applied when
a trespassing vehicle has been hooked up but released to the owner prior to towing.

" Code § 46.2-1233.1 C contains the state fuel surcharge clause.



6. The maximum allowable Trespass Tow rate® should be adjusted annually to account
for inflation, using the Transportation Consumer Price Index and/or Transportation
Producer Price Index as reported by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

7. Every 5 to 10 years, a detailed cost review, including a calculation of the current cost
to complete a Trespass Tow, should be completed by either the Commission or another
agency as designated by the General Assembly.® The fiscal impact to the Commission
to hire a consultant every 5 to 10 years to evaluate the sufficiency of the Trespass Tow
rate is estimated to cost at least $80,000 in 2024 dollars.°

8. Modify the Code to clarify language in § 46.2-1233.1 that the maximum allowable rate
applies to light duty vehicle Trespass Tows with a gross vehicle weight rating up to
10,000 pounds, instead of referencing "passenger car."

The Commission appreciates the opportunity to report on these important issues to the

General Assembly.

8 Code § 46.2-1233.1 defines and regulates maximum allowable fees that can be charged for private property
Trespass Tows. There is currently no index associated with the maximum allowable fee in the Code.

® Regular review is not currently included in the Code. The Trespass Tow rate has not been adjusted since 2018.
10 Over time this estimate may increase.
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KEY DEFINITIONS

Code: The Code of Virginia.

Consent Tow: Towing with the approval of the vehicle owner.

Consumer Price Index: The average change in prices paid by urban consumers for goods
and services as reported by the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Drop Fee: A fee applied when a trespassing vehicle has been hooked up but released to
the owner prior to towing.

Fuel Surcharge: An extra fee to account for the fluctuating cost of fuel.

Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW): The weight of a vehicle without cargo or passengers.
Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR): The weight capacity (rating) of a vehicle that
includes the weight of the vehicle, passengers, fuel, and cargo.

Heavy Duty Tow: Towing of vehicles where the GVWR is 26,001 pounds or greater.
Light Duty Tow: Towing of vehicles where the GVWR is less than 10,000 pounds.
Locality: A county, city, or town within the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Mean: A statistical term defined as the average of a set of numerical values.

Median: A statistical term defined as the midpoint of a set of numerical values.
Medium Duty Tow: Towing of vehicles where the GVWR is 10,001 to 26,000 pounds.
Non-Consent Tow: Towing without the authorization of the vehicle owner.

Police Initiated Towing: Towing initiated by police officers for situations such as
accidents, public safety, and criminal offenses.

Private Property: Legal ownership of property by non-government entities.

Pro Forma Estimate: Financial projections based on historical data, and assumptions.
Roadside Service: Assisting vehicle owners with mechanical breakdowns.

Tow Dolly: Towing equipment that lifts a single axle and set of wheels off the ground.
Towing Advisory Boards: Organizations to assist with towing regulations, codes, and
processes at the local government level.

Towing Bill of Rights: A written statement summarizing fees and regulations for non-
consent towing.

Trespass Towing: Towing of vehicles from private property without the authorization or
consent of the vehicle owner.

Wrecker: A type of tow truck configuration where the towed vehicle is pulled.
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AAA
ATRI
BLS
BTS
CPI
FHWA
GVW
GVWR
PDC
PPI
PTO
RSE
SCC
TCPI
TPPI

ACRONYMS

American Automobile Association

American Transportation Research Institute

Bureau of Labor Statistics (United States Federal Agency)
Bureau of Transportation Statistics (United States Department of Transportation)
Consumer Price Index

Federal Highway Administration (United States Federal Agency)
Gross Vehicle Weight

Gross Vehicle Weight Rating

Planning District Commission

Producers Price Index

Paid Time Off

Relative Standard Error

State Corporation Commission (Commonwealth of Virginia)
Transportation Consumer Price Index

Transportation Producer Price Index
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EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

Private property owners in Virginia are allowed to tow vehicles that are improperly
parked or abandoned from their property without the consent of the vehicle owner. These types
of tows are commonly referred to as non-consent Trespass Tows ("Trespass Tows"). This study
was conducted to evaluate the maximum allowable rate for Trespass Towing in Virginia. The
study was limited to Trespass Tows only and does not address allowable rates for other

non-consent tows such as police generated tows and tows with the consent of the vehicle owner.

Virginia Code § 46.2-1233.1 regulates the maximum rate that tow truck operators may
charge for Trespass Tows. The current maximum allowable rate is $150 for passenger vehicles,
with provisions that allow additional fees of $30 to $60 for after-hours tows (7:00 pm to
8:00 am), Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays. Local governmental agencies (localities) are
allowed to set maximum trespass rates lower than the state rate provided they have a local

towing advisory board for oversight.

The maximum rate for Trespass Tows under the Code of Virginia has been in effect
since July 2018. Members of the towing industry have voiced concerns that the current rate has
not kept up with inflation. In response, the 2024 Regular Session of the Virginia General
Assembly, under Senate Bill 450, directed the State Corporation Commission (SCC) to conduct a
study to evaluate allowable rates for Trespass Towing in Virginia. The SCC has contracted with

a private consulting firm to assist in the study.

The study approach included performing several tasks to evaluate Trespass Towing rates
and costs. A background review was performed to identify related studies and publications.
National, state, and local codes, practices, and allowable fees were also reviewed. The
background research was followed with cost and fee evaluations using several different
approaches including rate comparisons to other states, rate adjustments based on inflation

indexes, and development of a detailed pro forma cost estimate using available cost data.



The study also sought input from key stakeholders including the towing industry. The
SCC provided an online case docket allowing interested parties to submit comments. In addition,

a survey was distributed to towing businesses to seek industry input.

The study findings show that an increase in the standard light-duty Trespass Tow rate
from $150 to a new rate between $200 and $210 appears reasonable. Ongoing annual increases

using inflation indexes are recommended with detailed cost evaluations every 5 to 10 years.

The Code of Virginia allows for additional fees of $30 to be charged for night shifts,
weekends, or holidays with a maximum of $60 if more than one of these situations occurs
simultaneously. An increase in these additional fees does not appear justified at this time based

on current tow truck driver wages and labor law requirements.

The current Code allows for additional fuel surcharge fees up to $25 to be charged. If the
base towing rate is adjusted annually for inflation, the need for a fuel surcharge is reduced. If a

fuel surcharge is allowed, a definition for its use should be included in the Code of Virginia.

The Code also references other towing related fees including a minimum towing fee of
$135 and a drop fee of $25. These additional fees should be reviewed, updated, or eliminated if

not needed, along with moving all fee related references to a single code for clarity if possible.
Conclusions and Recommendations:

Rate Updates:

e The current maximum allowable rate of $150 should be reset based on current cost

estimates. A new base rate between $200 and $210 appears reasonable.

e An increase in the additional fees for working night shifts, weekends, and holidays does

not appear to be justified at this time. The current value of $30 to $60 appears reasonable.

e The Code of Virginia allows a minimum rate of $135 in Districts 8 and 16. Consider a
new minimum rate of 75% of the maximum and apply it to all districts or eliminate the
minimum entirely. Using a percentage would automatically adjust the minimum rate as

future maximum rate adjustments are made.



e Virginia Code § 46.2-123 allows a $25 drop fee, which appears low. It is recommended
for this fee to be changed to a maximum rate between 40% and 50% of the allowable

Trespass Tow rate.

e Consider updating the Code of Virginia with a specific definition and formula for
situations where the fuel surcharge would apply and the allowable rates. Annual
inflationary adjustments to the base Trespass Towing rate include adjustments for fuel
price changes. However, when there are exceptional fuel price increases (25% or more)
and durations greater than 60 days, a fuel surcharge of $6.00 for every $1.00 increase in
fuel prices should be considered. The fuel surcharge should only be applied to costs
above the most recent year’s average diesel fuel costs (U.S. Energy Information

Administration).
Timeframes:

e The maximum allowable Trespass Tow rate should be adjusted annually to account for
inflation, using the Transportation Consumer Price Index and/or the Transportation

Producer Price Index.

e To ensure that costs are properly adjusted, detailed cost reviews, including a calculation

of the current cost to complete a Trespass Tow, should be completed every 5 to 10 years.

e The baseline cost of diesel fuel should be updated annually using the previous year’s data
(U.S. Energy Information Administration — Lower Atlantic Region). This value is then

used for consideration of fuel surcharge fees.

Code Language Updates:

e Modify the Code of Virginia to clarify that the maximum allowable rate applies to light
duty vehicle Trespass Tows with a gross vehicle weight rating up to 10,000 pounds

instead of referencing “passenger cars.”

e Towing fee references are included in several Titles of the Code of Virginia. Move all fee

related language to Virginia Code § 46.2-1233.1.



Process Improvements:

e The use of statewide towing software should be considered in the future to provide

uniformity of data and data mining opportunities.

e A statewide Owner’s Towing Bill of Rights should be considered as a future

improvement opportunity.



1.0 INTRODUCTION

1.1 Problem Statement

The Commonwealth of Virginia establishes maximum allowable rates for the towing of
vehicles from private property without the consent of the owner. These types of tows are
commonly referred to as Trespass Tows and are the result of restricted parking or abandoned
vehicles on private property. The maximum allowable rate is currently limited to $150 with

additional fees of $30 to $60 allowed for after-hours, weekends, and holidays.

The current rate has been in effect since July 2018, and members of the towing industry
have expressed concern that rates have not kept up with inflation. In response, the Virginia
General Assembly has directed the SCC to conduct a study to evaluate Trespass Towing costs.
The results of the study will be used by the SCC, which will provide recommendations to the
Virginia General Assembly regarding potential changes to the allowable Trespass Towing rates

and regulations of the Code.

1.2 Objectives
The following are key objectives of the study:

e Review the Code of Virginia and local ordinances.

e Compare the Code of Virginia with national practices.

e Conduct an independent cost estimate for providing Trespass Tows.
e Recommend a methodology for future cost adjustments.

e Consider input from key stakeholders.

e Identify key issues and improvement opportunities.

e Prepare a final report with recommendations.



1.3 Scope

The primary scope of the study was to evaluate the current maximum allowable rate as
regulated by Virginia Code § 46.2-1233.1 for private property Trespass Tows and provide
recommendations on whether an increase is needed. The study was limited to private property
Trespass Towing only and is not intended to include other non-consent tows such as police
generated tows, or consent tows at the request of the vehicle owner. The scope is further limited
to the initial towing activities and does not include related services such as vehicle storage or

disposal of unclaimed vehicles.

Trespass Towing inherently creates a controversial environment between the vehicle
owners, property owners, and towing operators. Vehicle owners often claim that Trespass Tows
are opportunistic, predatory, and have excessive fees. Private property owners need Trespass
Towing to efficiently run businesses or manage properties such as condominiums and apartment
complexes. Towing operators are challenged with providing a profitable service where prices
and practices are regulated. As a result, state and local governmental agencies must provide

regulations and fee limitations that balance the needs of these stakeholders.

1.4 Methodology

The study includes several key tasks. The first task was performing background research
to better understand the current regulation of towing rates and practices. This was followed by
preparing an independent estimate of towing costs. The study approach also included gathering
input from key stakeholders to validate and refine the cost information and industry issues for
consideration. In summary, the methodology and approach to the study includes the following

key tasks:

e Background Research
e Independent Cost Estimates
e Stakeholder Input



2.0 BACKGROUND RESEARCH

2.1 Overview

The initial efforts included performing background research confirming the study scope
and summarizing current fees and practices. The Code of Virginia was then compared to national

and local practices. The background research included the following:

e Literature search for towing related studies and publications.

e Review of national Trespass Towing practices and fees.

e Review of the Code of Virginia related to Trespass Towing.

e Review of local fees and ordinances related to Trespass Towing.

2.2 Literature Search

The background research began with a literature search to identify towing related studies,
publications, and regulations. Several relevant studies by both private industry and governmental

agencies were found.

2.2.1 Industry Reports

The literature search identified several industry reports relating to towing costs. In
particular, the American Transportation Research Institute (ATRI) provides ongoing research
relating to the trucking industry. Relevant reports include a compendium of national towing fees
and regulations, operational costs for the trucking industry, and causes and countermeasures for

predatory towing.

“Compendium of Towing Regulations” ATRI (2023): This report provides a nationwide

summary of towing fees and regulations. This information, along with searches of
individual state websites, was used to compare Virginia fees and regulations to national
practices. The Compendium of Towing Regulations is found in Appendix B, or with the

following link: Compendium of State Towing Regulations (truckingresearch.org)



https://truckingresearch.org/2023/11/compendium-of-state-towing-regulations/

“An Analysis of the Operational Costs of Trucking” ATRI (2024): This report provides

general cost information for the trucking industry including labor, equipment,
maintenance, fuel, and insurance. This information was used along with other sources to
prepare an itemized estimate of towing costs. Access to this report can be requested from

ATRI with the following link: Economic Analysis (truckingresearch.org)

“Causes and Countermeasures of Predatory Towing” ATRI (2023): This report provides

a general overview of predatory towing concerns experienced by the trucking industry.
This report supports regulations for towing rates and the use of a total (flat) fee approach
in place of itemized fees that can be arbitrarily changed. In general, it supports Virginia’s
current practices towards regulation. Access to this report can be requested from ATRI

with the following link: Causes and Countermeasures of Predatory Towing

(truckingresearch.org)

2.2.2 Governmental Agency Reports

Several reports from governmental agencies were also identified. One of the most recent
is a 2023 Towing Cost Study prepared for the Vermont Legislature. The Vermont study also
references the ATRI compendium report information. A memorandum by the U.S. Department

of Transportation to the Federal Trade Commission regarding predatory towing was identified.

“Towing Practices in Vermont in Accordance with Act 41; Report to the Vermont

Legislature” (January 2024): This report was prepared for the Vermont State Legislature

in response to a review of towing fees and regulations. The report referenced national

fees and regulations as summarized by the ATRI compendium. Microsoft Word - 2024-

01-30 Towing Practices Report - FINAL (vermont.gov)

“Transportation Statistics Annual Report” U.S. Department of Transportation (2023):

This report was prepared by the U.S. Department of Transportation and provides general
statistics and costs for transportation services. This information helped to develop a

detailed cost estimate. Transportation Statistics Annual Report 2023 (bts.gov)



https://truckingresearch.org/about-atri/atri-research/economic-analysis/
https://truckingresearch.org/2023/11/causes-and-countermeasures-of-predatory-towing/
https://truckingresearch.org/2023/11/causes-and-countermeasures-of-predatory-towing/
https://ago.vermont.gov/sites/ago/files/2024-02/2024-01-30%20Towing%20Report%20-%20Final.pdf
https://ago.vermont.gov/sites/ago/files/2024-02/2024-01-30%20Towing%20Report%20-%20Final.pdf
https://rosap.ntl.bts.gov/view/dot/72943

“Memorandum: Unfair or Deceptive Fees — Predatory Towing” U.S. Federal Trade

Commission (02/07/2024): This memorandum supports the use of “total fee” regulations

for consistency and discourages the use of itemized fees that can be arbitrarily changed
by the tow operator. It also supports uniformity of codes and regulations and sharing of

information among governmental agencies. USDOT Supports Strong Protections for

Truckers Against Predatory Towing Junk Fees | US Department of Transportation

2.3 Review of National Towing Regulations and Fees

The background research efforts included a review of national towing practices, codes,
and fees. A general comparison was made between Virginia practices and other states. The
results of this national background review show that the Virginia Trespass Tow rate is within
range of other states, but at the lower end. This indicates that an increase in the Virginia rate is

reasonable.

2.3.1 Summary of National Trends

The national review of towing regulations, fees and practices identified significant and
recent towing information in the 2023 publication “Compendium of Towing Regulations” by the
ATRI. The publication provides a nationwide summary of state regulations and maximum fees

regarding towing. The data was verified using searches of individual state web pages.

National Trends — States with Towing Regulations

Most states do not regulate maximum towing rates and fees. States with regulations use a
variety of methods including total price, itemized costs, or combinations of base rates with
mileage.

e 31 States (62%) do not have rate regulations or statutes for Trespass Towing.

e 19 States (38%) have some form of regulations and rate caps for Trespass Towing.
e 8 States (16%) have a maximum total rate for towing, without itemization.

e 8 States (16%) use a combination of base rate, mileage, administrative fees, etc.

e 3 States (6%) use maximum hourly rates.


https://www.transportation.gov/briefing-room/usdot-supports-strong-protections-truckers-against-predatory-towing-junk-fees
https://www.transportation.gov/briefing-room/usdot-supports-strong-protections-truckers-against-predatory-towing-junk-fees

State Regulation and Towing Rate Type

= No Statewide Maximum = Hourly Rate = Flat Rate = Complex

Figure 2.1 State Regulation and Towing Rate Type

Nationally, 19 states have regulations that limit the rates charged by towing operators as
shown in Figure 2.1. In general, national rates range between $125 and $250. In comparison, the
current Virginia rate of $150 was last updated in 2018 and is at the lower end of the range.

Additional information is included in section 3.0.

Towing Software & Data Mining

The national background review identified several states that are using statewide software
programs to gather, store, and share towing data. Consideration should be given to introducing

statewide towing software in Virginia.

A key benefit of using statewide towing software is it allows a variety of stakeholders
(public, police, towing operators, insurance companies) to easily access information and locate a
vehicle that has been towed. It also provides uniformity and consistency in the data formats and

saves resources from responding to calls for missing vehicles that have simply been towed.
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The software is typically developed by private companies with subscriptions paid for by
governmental agencies. The software and databases are typically managed by statewide police
agencies such as the highway patrol but shared with others. Examples include Nevada and Utah,

which use a private software called AutoReturn: www.Tow.Utah.gov

In contrast, the Code of Virginia requires towing companies to report towing information
to the local police department. This creates numerous databases and formats, increasing the
difficulty for stakeholders to find a vehicle. The exception is Arlington County, which uses the

AutoReturn towing software. A link to the website, which uses the software is: Towed Vehicles

— Official Website of Arlington County Virginia Government (arlingtonva.us)

The towing data can also be used for city planning, identifying towing hotspot locations,
peak towing demand time, number of tows, time of tow, towing company complaints, and other
information. Transparency helps both governmental agencies and towing operators to respond to

complaints and improve their processes.

Towing Bill of Rights

The national background research identified several states that have introduced an
Owner’s Towing Bill of Rights that summarizes towing processes and allowable fee structure for
non-consent towing. In general, it provides a simplified way of communicating towing
regulations to the public. Many believe this information helps to address complaints and reduces
perceptions of predatory towing. A Virginia Towing Bill of Rights is a potential opportunity for
future consideration. An example is provided in Appendix D and can be accessed with the

following web link: Owner's Bill of Rights for Towed Vehicles.pdf (dc.gov)

2.4 Virginia Towing Regulations and Fees

Virginia Code § 46.2 includes several provisions relating to towing fees and regulations,
which are accessible using the following web link: Code of Virginia — Title 46.2. Motor

Vehicles
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http://www.tow.utah.gov/
https://www.arlingtonva.us/Government/Departments/Police-Department/Transportation-Safety/Towed-Vehicles
https://www.arlingtonva.us/Government/Departments/Police-Department/Transportation-Safety/Towed-Vehicles
https://dcra.dc.gov/sites/default/files/dc/sites/dcra/publication/attachments/Owner%27s%20Bill%20of%20Rights%20for%20Towed%20Vehicles.pdf
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/

Table 2.1 Summary of Virginia Towing Related Codes

Summary of Virginia Towing Related Codes
Code § 46.2-118 Prohibited Towing Activities
Code § 46.2-119 Towing Complaint Process
Code § 46.2-644.1 Lien — Vehicle Storage
Code § 46.2-1200 Definitions
Code § 46.2-1211 Removal of Obstructing Vehicles
Code § 46.2-1215 Illegal to Leave Vehicle on Private Property
Code § 46.2-1216 Police Authority to Remove — Parking Citations
Code § 46.2-1217 Local Agency — Authority to Regulate
Code § 46.2-1231 Private Authority to Remove Trespassing
Code § 46.2-1233.1 Limitation on Towing Fees
Code § 46.2-1232 Localities May Regulate Trespass Tows
Code § 46.2-1233 Localities May Regulate Towing Fees

2.4.1 Observations of the Code of Virginia

A review of § 46.2 of the Code of Virginia provides the following observations relating

to towing services:

Virginia Code § 46.2-1215 states that for vehicles left unattended on private property,

localities may implement ordinances that allow vehicles to be removed by law enforcement after
a period of 72 hours and with the complaint of the property owner. This section requires owners
of private property with public parking to place signage warning that vehicles are subject to
removal. This provision appears to be intended for “abandoned vehicles” but should be
considered for review and edited for clarity so as not to be confused with, or contradict, other

Trespass Towing codes such as Virginia Code § 46.2-1231.
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Virginia Code § 46.2-1231 authorizes non-consent towing of vehicles from private

property parking lots. This section allows a $25 drop fee. The fee rate appears low and provides
little incentive for towing operators to drop a vehicle rather than towing it. It is recommended to
consider changing the language to allow a maximum drop fee between 40-50 percent of the
Trespass Tow fee. Also, if included, the drop fee language should be moved to Virginia Code §
46.2-1233.1 so that it is placed with other fee references.

Virginia Code § 46.2-1233: defines and regulates the ability for localities to set Trespass

Towing rates that are lower than the state maximum rate. This code also has language that
defines a minimum fee of $135 for towing specifically in planning District 8 (Loudoun, Prince
William, Fairfax, Arlington, Alexandria, Manassas, Manassas Park) and District 16

(Spotsylvania, Caroline, King George, Stafford, Fredericksburg).

This minimum fee in Districts 8 and 16 appears to be arbitrary. If a minimum fee is used,
consideration should be given to statewide use, and values based on regional differences or
studies. In addition, consideration should be given to moving all fee related language to a single
section in the Code (§ 46.2-1233.1). If a minimum fee is used, consideration should be given to
representing it as a percentage of the maximum allowable rate. For example, “the minimum

allowable fee set by localities should be 75% of the maximum Trespass Towing fee.”

Virginia Code § 46.2-1233.1 defines and regulates maximum allowable fees that can be

charged for private property Trespass Tows, which is currently at $150 for “passenger cars,” and
has not been adjusted since 2018. The Code should be changed to reflect a new maximum
allowable Trespass Tow fee based on the findings of this study. This section should also be
changed to refer to Trespass Tows of light duty vehicles (up to 10,000 pounds) rather than

“passenger cars.”

Revisions to this section should allow for annual inflationary increases to the maximum
rate and fuel surcharge rates based on consumer price indexes along with a detailed towing cost

study every 5-10 years.
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Virginia Code § 46.2-1233.1 allows additional fees for night shifts, weekends, and
holidays up to $30 and a combination no greater than double ($60). Based on current wage rates
and labor laws, an increase in the additional shift fees does not appear to be justified at this time.

This code also allows for an additional fuel surcharge, which expired in July 2024.

Finally, consideration should also be given to moving fee language from other sections of
the Code of Virginia into § 46.2-1233.1 to provide clarity. Virginia Code § 46.2-1233.1 is
included in Appendix A.

2.5 Local Towing Regulations and Rates

A review of towing ordinances for cities and counties in Virginia was performed. The
local ordinances can be found using individual locality websites or web search engines such as:

Library | Municode Library.

In general, it was found that most counties (96%) and cities (57%) either don’t have
specific towing ordinances or reference the Code of Virginia. However, several cities and
counties within planning Districts 8 and 16 were found to have introduced ordinances with
variations of the towing weight definitions, thereby exceeding the state rate of $150 for towing
with GVWR between 7,000 and 10,000 pounds. In contrast, there are several localities in more

rural areas that have set maximum towing rates less than that allowed by the Code of Virginia.
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Towing Rates for Counties in Virginia
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Figure 2.2 Towing Rates for Counties in Virginia

Towing Rates for Cities in Virginia
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Figure 2.3 Towing Rates for Cities in Virginia
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2.5.1 Observations of Local Ordinances

A review of county and city ordinances in Virginia identified several local ordinances
that either were lower than or exceeded the state maximum allowable Trespass Tow rate of $150,

including the following:

Planning Districts 8 & 16: Virginia has 21 established planning district commissions

(PDC). The PDCs are voluntary associations of local governments established to foster
intergovernmental cooperation. Virginia Code §46.2-1233 has specific language that allows a
minimum towing rate of $135 in Districts 8 and 16. Consideration should be given to either

eliminating the minimum Trespass Tow rate or expanding it statewide.

Arlington County: The ordinances of Arlington County define a maximum Trespass

Towing rate of $135 for tows with a GVWR up to 7,000 pounds. This base rate appears to be
lower than the state rate of $150. However, the county historically has allowed a $25 fuel
surcharge in addition to the $135 baseline rate. In addition, the county ordinances allow for
towing rates up to $250 for vehicles with GVWR between 7,000 and 10,000 pounds. Essentially,
the county ordinances exceed the state maximum rate for vehicles above 7,000 pounds GVWR.
There are other counties in planning Districts 8 and 16 that have adopted similar approaches.

Towed Vehicles — Official Website of Arlington County Virginia Government (arlingtonva.us)

In response to potential ambiguity with the local ordinances, consideration should be
given to changing the language in Virginia Code § 46.2-1233.1 to specify the maximum
allowable tow rates, using language that defines light duty vehicles as those with a GVWR up to
10,000 pounds. Nationally, most agencies, vehicle manufacturers, and the trucking industry, use

this definition for a light duty vehicle or tow.

City of Alexandria: The City of Alexandria has a maximum Trespass Towing rate of

$135 with a $25 fuel surcharge for tows with a GVWR up to 7,000 pounds. The local ordinance
allows for a higher rate of $250 for GVWR of 7,001 to 10,000 pounds and $500 for GVWR
10,001 pounds or more. These rates are based on the language using GVWR weight

classifications rather than the Code of Virginia using “passenger vehicles.” Consideration should

16


https://www.arlingtonva.us/Government/Departments/Police-Department/Transportation-Safety/Towed-Vehicles

be given to changing the language in Virginia Code § 46.2-1233.1 from “passenger cars” to

“light duty, having a GVWR up to 10,000 pounds.”

City of Virginia Beach: Virginia Beach ordinances allow for a maximum Trespass
Towing rate of $200 for GVWR up to 10,000 pounds, $350 for GVWR 10,001 to 17,999 pounds,
and $575 for GVWR 18,000 pounds or more. The rates exceed the Code of Virginia but do so by

defining tow rates based on GVWR language, whereas the Virginia Code language is for

“passenger cars.”

City of Richmond: The ordinances for Richmond regulate a maximum Trespass Towing

rate of $135 for GVWR up to 10,000 pounds, which is less than the maximum in the Virginia
Code. There are several other localities with rates lower than the state rate. Most are no lower
than $135. Consideration should be given to setting a minimum value in the Virginia Code

represented as a percentage, such as 75% of the maximum Trespass Tow rate.

2.6 Summary of Background Research

1. The national search shows a majority (62%) of states do not have towing rate
regulations.

2. A new maximum Trespass Tow rate between $200 and $210 appears reasonable, in
comparison to national trends. Background research shows maximum rates range
from $150 to $250.

3. The national search identified several states using statewide towing software managed
by State Highway Patrols or State Departments of Transportation with access given to
other stakeholders. Use of statewide software could provide uniformity of data and
data mining opportunities.

4. Several states have introduced a Towing Bill of Rights that summarizes towing
regulations and fees. States using a Towing Bill of Rights feel it helps both
governmental agencies and towing operators to more effectively communicate,
reducing perceptions of predatory towing.

5. Most localities in Virginia reference or use the Code of Virginia maximum allowable

Trespass Tow rate of $150.
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10.

Several counties and cities have adopted lower rates, typically $135, that are lower
than the Virginia allowable rate. In general, these localities tend to be in rural areas.
Some counties and cities have adopted local ordinances that exceed the Virginia rate
by allowing for higher rates using tow weight definitions (GVWR) in place of the
Virginia Code that references “passenger cars.” These localities tend to be within
Virginia Planning Districts 8 and 16.

Virginia Code § 46.2-1233.1 has language that references “passenger cars” instead of
using standard industry definitions of a light duty vehicle (GVWR up to 10,000
pounds).

Several sections of the Code of Virginia have references to ancillary towing fees such
as drop fees and fuel surcharges, which should be considered for updates and placed
with other towing fees under a single code if possible.

Virginia Code § 46.2-1233 allows for a minimum rate of $135 for planning Districts

8 & 16. This does not apply to other locations, creating potential uniformity issues.
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3.0 COMPARATIVE COST ESTIMATES

3.1 Overview

The core purpose and scope of the study is to assist the SCC in evaluating the current

maximum allowable rate charged by towing operators for private property Trespass Towing.

Simplified cost estimates using comparisons to inflation indexes or practices by other
agencies are reasonable for estimating short term or annual inflation adjustments to an
established baseline cost rate. Once a new baseline rate is established, the simplified methods can

be used for several years. These methods include:

e Comparison to other state rates (reasonable range)
e Comparison to inflation (Consumer Price Index)

Over longer periods of time more detailed cost estimates should be performed. The
detailed cost estimates are used to confirm or reset the baseline rate. Detailed estimates should be
performed every 5 to 10 years depending on volatility in economic conditions. A detailed cost

estimate is presented in section 4.0 of this report.

3.2 Cost Estimate Based on Comparison to Other States

As part of the study, background research was performed that included a review of
national towing regulations and rates (see section 2.0). Of the states that do have regulations, the
allowable towing rates generally range between $150 and $250. Several states have rates above
$200. Based on a comparison to national rates, an increase in the current Virginia rate of $150 to
a new rate between $200 and $210 appears reasonable. However, this is a general comparison,

and other cost-estimating methods should also be considered.
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Figure 3.1 National Trespass Towing Rates

Several states have rates above $200 including Utah ($201), Colorado ($228), and Texas
($276). At the high end, Hawaii allows a base rate of $75 with an additional $7/mile. Hawaii’s
higher rates are likely due to higher fuel and equipment costs. Surrounding states to Virginia

have a variety of allowable maximum towing rates including West Virginia ($138), Maryland

($250), Delaware (No Cap), District of Columbia ($100), and North Carolina ($150).

3.3 Cost Estimate Based on Transportation Inflation Indexes

The current Virginia maximum allowable rate for Trespass Towing is $150. This baseline
rate went into effect in 2018 and has not been adjusted over time to account for inflation and
changes in economic conditions. As a simplified method, the current baseline rate can be
adjusted using inflation indexes over short periods of time, typically up to 5 years. These
inflation indexes are available from governmental sources including the U.S. Bureau of Labor
Statistics (BLS), U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS), and standard financial rates of

return (typically 4%). Several members of Virginia towing associations have proposed that rates
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could be adjusted annually with simplified adjustments based on available inflation data.

Inflation can be tracked from two perspectives, the consumer, and the producer.

3.3.1 Transportation Consumer Price Index (TCPI)

The BLS tracks inflation of consumer goods and services using the Consumer Price
Index (CPI). The CPI is a measure of the average change over time in the prices paid by urban
consumers for predefined goods and services. Consumer price indexes are also tracked for
subcategories of goods and services. One of these is the Transportation Consumer Price Index
(TCPI) which is provided by the BTS. The TCPI considers several cost factors such as the

vehicle, fuel, maintenance, and insurance.

Transportation Consumer Price Index
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Figure 3.2 Transportation Consumer Price Index

The TCPI can be used as a general inflation indicator of towing costs over time. In 2017
the overall TCPI was 201.6, and in 2023 it was 267.0. This corresponds to an increase of 32.44%
over this period, and the current maximum rate of $150 would be $198.66 if adjusted for

inflation using the TCPI.
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3.3.2 Transportation Producer Price Index (TPPI)

The BTS also tracks changes in transportation costs from the perspective of the producer

rather than the consumer. This inflation is referred to as the Producer Price Index (PPI).

Within the transportation category are subcategories for the trucking industry. The
Transportation Producer Price Index (TPPI) for trucking can be used as a general indicator to

measure inflation of towing service costs over time.

In 2017 the overall TPPI for trucking was 130.3, and in 2023 it was 181.7. This
corresponds to an increase of 39.45% over this period, and the current Virginia maximum rate of

$150 would be $209.17 if adjusted for inflation.

Producer Price Index for Select Transportation Services
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Figure 3.3 Producer Price Index for Select Transportation Services
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3.3.3 Economic Inflation Modeling Rate

Finally, it is common for economic models and forecasts to use a default inflation rate of
4.0% when more detailed inflation information is not available. Starting with a base rate of $150

in 2018, the current rate for towing costs would be $189.80 if adjusted for inflation.

3.3.4 Economic Trends During COVID Pandemic

During normal economic conditions, annual adjustments for inflation can typically be
made to the baseline towing rate using inflation indexes. However, economic conditions and
inflation varied dramatically due to the COVID pandemic (2020 to 2022). In general, the COVID
years show a sharp decline in the economy and inflation, followed by abnormally high inflation
as businesses were filling backlogs of materials, goods, and services. These fluctuations in
economic conditions support performing a more detailed cost estimate at this time in addition to

the short-term simplified methods using consumer price indexes.
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Figure 3.4 CPI for Transportation During COVID Years (2019-2022)
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3.4 Summary of Comparative Cost Adjustments

There are a variety of simplified approaches that can be used to adjust baseline maximum
allowable Trespass Towing rates for inflation changes. These methods work best for short term
or annual adjustments up to 5 years. Specifically, inflation indexes (TCPI and TPPI) for the
transportation industry are readily available from the BTS and offer a simplified method of

adjusting allowable Trespass Tow rates for inflation for shorter periods of time.

Using the TCPI, the current $150 maximum allowable Trespass Towing rate adjusted for
inflation is approximately $200. Using the Transportation Producer Price Index (TPPI), the
current $150 maximum allowable Trespass Towing rate adjusted for inflation is approximately
$210. Using these price indexes, an increase in the current rate of $150 to a new baseline rate of

$200 to $210 appears reasonable.

Due to the length of time since the allowable Trespass Towing rate was last updated and
economic fluctuations during the pandemic, a detailed cost estimate is also justified. Once a new
baseline rate is established, annual adjustments to towing rates can be estimated using readily
available inflation indexes. However, a detailed cost estimate should be prepared every 5 to 10

years.
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4.0 DETAILED TOWING COST ESTIMATE (PRO FORMA)

4.1 Overview

Forecasting and estimating of costs, revenues, and other financial information are often
referred to as “pro forma” statements. This section provides a pro forma detailed cost estimate
for Trespass Towing costs.

4.2 Cost Variations

Estimating costs for towing services is complex. There are numerous towing services,

business scenarios, and assumptions that can influence the estimate.

4.2.1 Cost Variations by Towing Types

The two primary categories of towing are consent towing and non-consent towing.

Consent Towing refers to tows initiated and authorized by the vehicle owner who
negotiates a price and selects the towing company. Because the vehicle owner negotiates the
service and price, governmental agencies typically do not regulate allowable rates for consent
towing. These types of tows are typically for mechanical breakdowns or weather-related reasons.
Consent tows typically have the lowest prices due to the ability to negotiate, longer response

times, and group rates from auto-clubs and insurance companies.

Non-Consent Towing refers to tows that are initiated without the consent or authorization

of the vehicle owner. Because the vehicle owners do not select the towing company or negotiate
a price, governmental agencies often set maximum allowable rates and regulations for non-
consent towing. Non-consent tows are typically for private property parking enforcement

(Trespass Tows) and police generated tows (accidents, criminal activity, public safety).

Non-consent towing rates are typically higher than consent towing. Of these, police
generated tows typically have the highest rates due to factors such as response times, debris

cleanup, traffic hazards, and the need to restore traffic operations quickly. As a general
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benchmark, the rates for private property (trespass) tows are typically higher than consent

towing, and lower than police initiated (non-consent) towing.

4.2.2 Cost Variations by Business Scenarios

There are endless variations of business scenarios for towing companies. The costs vary
for each of these scenarios. Some businesses only provide towing services. However, the
majority also provide other services such as vehicle storage and auto repairs. Most towing
businesses have less than 20 employees and a few trucks. Others are larger (over 50 employees)
and have numerous trucks. The costs for each of these scenarios are different, and it is not
feasible to provide a separate cost estimate for each business scenario. However, for cost
estimating purposes, a smaller company scenario was used with the assumption that a larger

company is simply a multiplier of scale.

4.2.3 Pro Forma Estimate and Cost Categories

An independent pro forma cost estimate, shown in Figure 4.1, was prepared to summarize
individual costs that a towing business would experience. The cost estimate can be used along
with other cost estimating methods to provide a reasonable range of towing costs that can be
used by decision makers to set new allowable towing rates that balance the interests of the
public, towing businesses, private property owners, and governmental agencies. The cost

estimate includes several key cost categories:

e Labor Costs (wages and fringe benefits)

e Equipment Costs (trucks, insurances, maintenance)
e Fuel

e General Overhead
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Table 4.1 Itemized Cost Schedule for Non-Consent Light Duty Trespass Tows

ITEMIZED SCHEDULE 2024
NON-CONSENT LIGHT DUTY TRESPASS TOWS
ACCOUNT DESCRIPTION Costs Cost Category Percentage of Cost Per Tow
Percentages Total Costs
LABOR EXPENSES
TOTAL WAGES - LABOR EXPENSES
Hourly Wage - Tow Driver $26.92
Hourly Wage - Office Admin $23.05
Total Annual Labor (Tow Driver) 2080 Hours/Year $55,994 100.00%
Less - Indirect Labor (OH) 20% - 416 Hours -$8,399 -15.00%
U2 |Less - Fringe Labor (Holiday/PTO) 160 Hours -4,307 -7.69%
= Net Direct Labor (Towing) $43,287 77.31% 1553% $27.75
% FUEL EXPENSES
A |Average Fuel Cost of Diesel per Gallon $4.00
> Number of Miles Driven per Year 60,000
= Mileage Efficiency (MPG) 6.5
5 Fuel Costs $36,923 1324% $23.67
E EQUIPMENT EXPENSES
E Purchase Cost - New Class 5 Tow Truck $140,000
Tow Truck Depreciation (5 Year Term) $28,000 45.70% 10.04%
Tow Truck Financing (Calculated 5 Years @ 9%) $6,874 11.22% 2.47%
Licensing, Truck Property Taxes, Etc. $2,000 3.26% 0.72%
Truck Insurances (Vehicle, Cargo) $12,000 19.58% 4.30%
Towing Supplies (Cables, Straps, Chains, Etc.) $4,000 6.53% 1.43%
Routine Maintenance & Repairs ($700/mo.) $8,400 13.71% 3.01%
Total Equipment Costs $61,274 100.00% 21.98% $39.28
FRINGE BENEFIT EXPENSES
g Social Security Match (6.20%) $3,472 6.20% 1.25%
= |Medicare Match (1.45%) $812 1.45% 0.29%
E Workers Comp Insurance (5.66%) 3,169 5.66% 1.14%
Z. Federal (FUI) and State (SUI) Unemployment 1.85% 1,036 1.85% 0.37%
[ |Fringe Labor: PTO (80 Hours/Year) 2,154 3.85% 0.77%
m Fringe Labor: Holiday Pay (80 Hours/Year) 2,154 3.85% 0.77%
1 |Health, Dental, Vision Ins. (28% of Total Wages) $16,000 28.57% 5.74%
Q©  [Life Insurance $520 0.93% 0.19%
Z Retirement - 401K (5.00% of Total Wages) $2,800 5.00% 1.00%
E Shift Differentials $0 0.00% 0.00%
Total Fringe Benefits $32,116 57.36% 11.52% $20.59
GENERAL OVERHEAD (INDIRECT EXPENSES)
Indirect Labor - Tow Driver - 20% - Idle, Training, Etc. 11,199 10.64% 4.02%
Office Admin - Dispatch Support - Shared Cost 23,972 22.78% 8.60%
Fringe Benefits - Office Admin Support 13,749 4.93% 4.93%
Towing Software (Dispatch, Records, Etc.) $3,600 3.42% 1.29%
Accountant, Software, Payroll $4,800 4.56% 1.72%
Office Space & Truck Garage - Shared Cost $12,000 11.40% 4.30%
Office Equipment (Computer, Tablets, Copiers, Etc.) 2,400 2.28% 0.86%
Software Subscriptions (Microsoft, Adobe, Etc.) 1,800 1.71% 0.65%
=) Communications - Office (Internet, Phone, Fax) 2,400 2.28% 0.86%
< |[Communications - Field (Cell Phone & Tablets) 1,200 1.14% 0.43%
] |Office Supplies ($200/Month) 2,400 2.28% 0.86%
E Office Cleaning and Maintenance 1,800 1.71% 0.65%
=) Utilities ($500 per Month) 6,000 5.70% 2.15%
> Postage 1,500 1.43% 0.54%
@) Outside Printing and Copy $1,500 1.43% 0.54%
Insurance - General Liability $600 0.57% 0.22%
Insurance - Office Rental 1,200 1.14% 0.43%
Office Furniture 1,200 1.14% 0.43%
Financial - Credit Card Transaction Fee (2%) 6,000 5.70% 2.15%
Training - Professional & Safety $1,200 1.14% 0.43%
Business Licenses, Registrations, Etc. $500 0.48% 0.18%
Signing, Trespass Properties $2,400 2.28% 0.86%
Marketing - Websites, Business Cards, Flyers $1,200 1.14% 0.43%
Medical, Drug Testing, Background Checks $600 0.57% 0.22%
Total General Overhead (Indirect Expenses) $105,220 91.86% 37.74% $67.45
TOTAL Costs Before Profit $278,820 100.00% $178.73
Profit 15% $41,823 $26.81
Total (Expenses + Profit) $320,643
Number of Tows per Truck per Year (130 per month) 1560
Average Cost - Light Duty Tow $205.54
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4.3 Labor Costs

Labor costs are a sizable portion of the costs for providing towing services. At a
minimum, for a small towing company, this would include costs for the tow truck driver and an
administrative person who assists with dispatch, invoices, and communication with others. Labor

costs include the direct wages, and the cost of benefits paid by the employer (fringe benefits).

4.3.1 Tow Driver Direct Labor Rates

Tow truck drivers are compensated in a variety of ways including an annual salary, an
hourly wage, and by a commission for each tow. To estimate tow truck direct labor costs, we
used 2023 data from the BLS, category 53-5032 (Heavy and Trailer Truck Driver), and an
estimated labor rate of $26.92 per hour.

Assumptions: In estimating towing costs, we assume that on average the typical time to
provide a Trespass Tow is no more than an hour, and the direct labor cost of the tow truck driver

is $26.92 per tow.

Table 4.2 Employment Estimates for Heavy and Tractor-Trailer Truck Drivers

Employment Employment Mean Hourly Mean Annual Wage RSE
RSE Wage Wage

2,044,400 0.7% $26.92 $55,990 0.3%

Table 4.3 Percentile Wage Estimates for Heavy and Tractor-Trailer Truck Drivers

Percentile 10% 25% 50% 75% 90%
(Median)
Hourly Wage $18.00 $22.08 $26.12 $30.29 $36.91
Annual Wage $37,440 $45,920 $54,320 $63,010 $76,780

28




4.3.2 Office Administrative Direct Labor Rates

Towing services require the support of office administrative positions who assist with
answering calls, dispatching tows, maintaining tow records, and invoicing. Office administrative
costs are included as part of general overhead because they are not directly related to generating
revenue. To estimate office administrative direct labor costs, 2023 data from the BLS, category
43-000 (Office and Administrative Support Occupations) was used, with a mean labor rate of
$23.05 per hour. Similar labor cost rates were observed in survey responses from the towing

industry (section 5.0).

Assumptions: In estimating towing costs, we assume that on average the typical time an
office administrative person spends for a Trespass Tow is no more than half an hour and the
direct labor cost of the office administrative person is $11.52 per tow. It is assumed that the
remainder of time for an office administrative person is spent on other services such as storage

lots.

Table 4.4 Employment Estimates for Administrative and Office Support

Employment Employment Mean Hourly Mean Annual Wage RSE
RSE Wage Wage

18,533,450 0.1% $23.05 $47,940 0.1%

Table 4.5 Percentile Wage Estimates for Heavy and Tractor-Trailer Truck Drivers

Percentile 10% 25% 50% 75% 90%
(Median)
Hourly Wage $14.54 $17.39 $21.39 $26.97 $34.35
Annual Wage $30,240 $36,170 $44,480 $56,100 $71,440

4.3.3 Labor Fringe Benefit Costs

In addition to direct wages or salaries, employees receive other benefits as part of their

compensation that are often referred to as fringe benefits. These fringe benefits typically include
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employer paid items such as social security match, federal unemployment insurance, workers
compensation insurance, health care, retirement, holidays, and paid time off (PTO). BLS and
other sources show these benefits commonly range from 45% to 60% of direct labor costs, or

wages. We estimate fringe benefits at approximately 57% of direct labor costs.

Table 4.6 Fringe Benefits Cost Summary

Cost Item Percentage of Information Source
Direct Wages
Social Security 6.20% IRS and Social Security Administration
Unempfc};fin%nfllillsurance 1.85% IRS and Social Security Administration
Medicare 1.45% IRS and Social Security Administration
Workers Compensation 5.66% Virginia State Corp. Commission
Retirement (401K) Match 5.00% BLS, Fidelity, T. Rowe Price, etc.
Health Insurance 28.57% BLS, Healthcare Marketplace
Life Insurance 0.93% Various Provider Interviews
Holiday Pay 3.85% BLS
Paid Time Off (PTO) 3.85% BLS
Total Fringe Benefits 57.36%

4.4 Fuel Costs

Fuel costs are a significant portion of costs for Trespass Towing. Fuel for tow trucks can
be either gasoline or diesel. For estimating purposes, we estimated using diesel fuel rates as
trucks using diesel fuel tend to have longer engine life, better performance, and are preferred by

tow companies.
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4.4.1 Current Costs and Historical Trends

Historical prices and trends for diesel fuel are available from several sources including
the U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA) and auto club websites such as AAA. Our
research indicates that diesel fuel prices in Virginia over the past 12 to 18 months have been
steady, ranging between $3.70 and $3.90 per gallon. For estimating purposes, we use a rate of
$4.00 per gallon, a fuel efficiency of 6.5 miles per gallon, and a tow distance not to exceed 50

miles on average. This calculates out to a current cost of $30.77 per tow.

4.4.2 Fuel Surcharge and Annual Rate Adjustments

Fuel surcharges are allowed for many industries to account for exceptional increases
(25% or more) in fuel prices that are sustained for an extended period (typically 60 days or
more). The Code of Virginia previously allowed for fuel surcharges. However, the language in
the Code does not appear to define parameters or limits on when fuel surcharges should be
allowed. Changes should be considered to the Code of Virginia specifying sources of fuel price

information, price thresholds when surcharges are allowed, and formulas for the additional costs.

Annual inflationary adjustments to the base Trespass Towing rate also include
adjustments for fuel price changes. However, when there are exceptional short-term increases in
fuel prices between annual adjustments, a fuel surcharge of $6.00 for every $1.00 increase in fuel
prices is reasonable based on towing distance and fuel economy. The fuel surcharge should only
be considered for the portion of fuel costs above the previous year’s average diesel fuel price.
Fuel cost data is available from the U.S. Energy Information Administration for the Lower
Atlantic Region. As the overall Trespass Towing rate is adjusted annually for inflation, a new

baseline fuel cost rate and need for fuel surcharges should also reset.
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Lower Atlantic (PADD 1C) No 2 Diesel Retail Prices
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é-; Data source: U.S. Energy Information Administration
Figure 4.1 Average Diesel Prices in the Lower Atlantic Region
Table 4.7 Virginia Average Gas Prices from AAA on June 25, 2024
Regular Mid-Grade Premium Diesel
Current Avg. $3.012 $3.495 $3.869 $3.548
Yesterday Avg. $3.025 $3.502 $3.878 $3.558
Week Ago Avg. $3.089 $3.566 $3.938 $3.596
Month Ago Avg. $3.287 $3.740 $4.117 $3.704
Year Ago Avg. $3.594 $4.001 $4.351 $4.339

4.5 Equipment Costs

The costs of tow truck equipment are one of the highest costs in providing towing

services. The equipment cost category includes depreciation of the purchase price of the tow

truck, financing costs, vehicle insurance, cargo insurance, repairs, general maintenance, and

ancillary equipment such as tow straps and dollies.
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Assumptions: Several assumptions were made in estimating equipment costs. Direct data
was used where possible. The results from an online survey distributed to the towing industry

provided similar values to these assumptions, which include:

e Truck Type: Class 4 with wrecker configuration (10,000 pounds GVWR capacity).
e Condition: Most purchase new equipment.

e The average cost of a new truck is $140,000.

e Depreciation: 5-year straight line.

e Average miles driven: 60,000 miles per year.

e Financing: 5 years at 9.0%.

4.5.1 Purchase Prices & Amortization Life (Class 4)

Based on manufacturers' publications, we believe that a Class 4 tow truck with a wrecker
configuration has the capacity to provide light duty tows at least up to 10,000 pounds GVWR.
Our review of tow truck dealerships, trucking industry data, and survey results show that the
typical price of a new Class 4 tow truck with a wrecker configuration ranges from $130,000 to
$140,000 depending on its specific features. Our estimate uses a purchase price of $140,000,
with a straight-line depreciation term of $28,000 per year. This information is supported by the

results of the survey and feedback from the towing industry.

4.5.2 Maintenance & Repair Costs

Routine preventive maintenance and minor repairs are necessary to keep a tow truck in
good working condition. Routine costs include those for items such as oil changes, tires, filters,
brakes, belts, and cleaning. Estimates for routine maintenance were made using trucking industry
and supplier information. Costs were also compared to survey results from the trucking industry.
According to rough estimates, tires typically cost up to $300 each and last 30,000 miles. Oil
changes can cost $200 and last 5,000 miles. Brakes can cost up to $1,000 every 40,000 miles. A
general cost allowance of $200 per month ($2,400 per year) was included in the cost estimate for

routine maintenance.

As a tow truck ages, components wear out and the need for moderate to major repairs

becomes necessary. Examples include broken water pumps, cooling systems, electrical systems,
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and major engine or transmission work to bring the vehicle back into working condition. Cost
estimates were made using industry data and survey input. Mechanical repairs can easily cost
several thousand dollars. A general cost allowance of $500 per month ($6,000 per year) is

included in the cost estimate for mechanical repairs.

4.5.3 Vehicle Insurance Costs

Towing companies experience significant insurance costs to cover damage to their tow
truck, property damage, bodily injury to other drivers, and the cargo they carry. Costs can vary
dramatically depending on variables such as accident and driving history, value of equipment,
and mileage driven. Our estimates used a variety of sources including trucking industry reports
(ATRI — Operational Costs of Trucking), BLS data, insurance company websites, and survey
results. A general cost allowance of $1,000 per month ($12,000 per year) per truck is included in

the cost estimate for vehicle insurance.

4.6 Overhead Costs

In addition to direct costs of labor, fuel and equipment, towing companies experience
significant general overhead costs to run their business. General expenses include those for items
such as administrative office support, office rent, office supplies, utilities, communications,

general liability insurance, and training.

4.6.1 Indirect Labor for Tow Truck Drivers

Tow truck drivers do not spend all their available hours providing towing services. Time
must be allotted for non-towing activities such as attending training, meetings, drug testing, and
idle time. This indirect labor is considered a general overhead cost. Time off for holidays and
PTO is included with fringe benefit costs. Labor cost values are also included in section 4.3. As
part of the general overhead costs, an allowance of 20% of available hours is included for

indirect labor for tow truck drivers.
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4.6.2 Indirect Labor for Administrative and Office Support

Most towing companies have an administrative office support person to assist with
running the business. Their time is typically split between activities related to towing services
and other services such as vehicle storage or auto repair. Tasks related to towing services include
answering calls, dispatch coordination, maintaining towing records, invoicing, and general office
administration. A general allowance of 30 minutes per tow (50% of available time) is included in
general overhead costs for office administrative support. The remaining time is assumed to be

prorated and covered by other business services and revenues.

4.6.3 Office Rent

Office rent is included as part of general overhead expenses. A review of real estate rental
web sites in Virginia was used to estimate office rental rates. In general, office property rates are
$2.00 per square foot per month. An office size of 1,000 square feet was assumed. The towing
survey supports the general assumption that most towing companies share office space that also
provides vehicle storage or other services. As a result, 50% of office rental expenses are prorated

for towing services and the remainder for other services.

4.6.4 Credit Card Fees

Most vehicle owners pay with credit cards, with banks and credit card companies
charging retail companies a transaction fee. A search of multiple major credit card companies
showed that merchant processing fees range from 1.5% to 3.5%. A 2% cost for credit card fees is

included in the cost estimate.

4.6.5 Private Property Signage

An estimated cost of $200 per month ($2,400 per year) is included in the cost estimate to
allow for the maintenance of towing signage on private property. These signs are required by the
Code of Virginia and require periodic maintenance or replacement due to theft, vandalism and

wear.
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4.6.6 Towing Software

Most if not all towing companies use towing software to assist with dispatch, directions,

and towing records. Software products such as TowBook and AutoReturn are commonly used by

towing operators. A background review of software providers show that these costs are

approximately $300 per month.

4.6.7 Miscellaneous Overhead Costs

The following miscellaneous general overhead costs were estimated using a variety of

sources including consumer price indexes, service websites, and survey responses:

Table 4.8 Summary of Miscellaneous Overhead Costs

Overhead Item Monthly Yearly

Towing Software Subscriptions $300/month $3,600/year
Accounting $400/month $4,800/year
Computer Software Subscriptions $150/month $1,800/year
Utilities $500/month $6,000/year
Office Equipment $100/month $1,200/year
Office Supplies $200/month $2,400/year
Office Cleaning & Maintenance $150/month $1,800/year
Postage $125/month $1,500/year
Printing and Copy $125/month $1,500/year
Insurance: General Liability $50/month $600/year

Insurance: Office Rental $100/month $1,200/year
Professional & Safety Training $100/month $1,200/year
Medical, Background, Drug Testing $50/month $600/year

4.7 Profit Margin

Profit margins are incentives to compensate businesses for investing “at risk” working
capital to start, manage, and operate a business. Without reasonable profit margins, businesses

would simply invest available capital in other opportunities.
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In a simple way, profit margins can be thought of as a return on investment, or how much
is made from investing money. Profit margins are typically based on factors such as risk and
complexity of services that the investments provide. For example, money invested in a lower risk
bank savings account typically gives lower rates of return than money invested in the stock

market.

Profit margins for businesses generally range from 10-20 percent. Lower risk
professional services such as accounting typically have lower rates, and higher risk businesses
such as construction have higher rates. A profit margin of 15% is used for the cost estimate,

based on a moderate risk and uncertainty of towing services.

4.8 Summary of the Detailed Cost Estimate

A detailed pro forma cost estimate was performed. Based on the data gathered and
assumptions made, a towing cost of approximately $205 was determined. The cost estimate
presents a fair representation for a variety of towing businesses, small and large. Balanced
assumptions and average costs were used. Some costs are more precise while others are more
open to interpretation. Using slightly different values for some individual costs would present
slightly different totals. The result of the detailed cost estimate reasonably supports an increase
in the current maximum allowable Trespass Towing rate of $150 to a new rate of between $200

and $210.

The cost estimate includes fuel costs based on current conditions. Annual increases using
a TCPI or TPPI should be used. Under most situations the price indexes include inflation of fuel
prices. However, in exceptional economic conditions a fuel surcharge may be needed. Updates to
the Code of Virginia should be considered to refine fuel surcharge definitions, regulations, and

formulas.

Several localities in Virginia exceed the state maximum allowed rate for Trespass
Towing by using different towing weight classifications. The itemized cost estimate takes into
consideration the costs of providing light duty Trespass Tows up to at least 10,000 pounds
GVWR. State and local codes should be considered for updates to provide similar weight

classification language.
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Additional fees of $30 to $60 are allowed for night shifts, weekends, and holidays. These
additional fees are typically provided to help businesses comply with labor law requirements.
With a mean wage of under $30/hour for a tow truck operator, an increase does not appear to be

justified at this time.
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5.0 STAKEHOLDER INPUT

5.1 Overview

The study methodology included seeking input from key stakeholders which was sought

in several ways.

e At the beginning of the study, the SCC established a proceeding allowing stakeholders to
submit comments in the SCC's online docket system.

e An online survey was distributed to approximately 180 towing companies in Virginia.
The survey was used to gain input from the towing industry for costs, practices, and
concerns related to Trespass Towing.

5.2 Stakeholder Input from SCC Docket

On June 21, 2024, the SCC entered an Order Establishing Proceeding (Order) and
opening a docket (Case No. PUR-2024-00104) concerning Chapter 245 (Senate Bill 450) of the
2024 Virginia Acts of Assembly (Act). In summary, the Act directs the Commission to examine
the regulation of certain towing fees for the removal of vehicles from private property. The
docket allowed stakeholder comments from June 21, 2024, through August 15, 2024. The

following is a general summary of the comments received.

Comments were submitted by a towing industry representative, who in general

recommended the following:

e Increase the current allowable towing rate to adjust for inflation.

e Increase the current allowable ancillary fees to adjust for inflation.

e Provide future annual inflation increases using the Transportation CPI.
e Focus study evaluation on light duty Trespass Towing.

e Rates should be set by state agencies only.

e Conduct a detailed cost study every 5 years.

Several individual towing companies submitted comments, and in general recommended
the following:

e An increase in the current maximum allowable towing rate due to inflation.
e An increase in the current allowable shift fees due to inflation.
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e Provide a new fuel surcharge rate.
e Provide a clear definition for public safety towing and Trespass Towing.

Comments were submitted by insurance company organizations, and in general
recommended the following:

e Insurance companies support a cost evaluation study.

e Provide regulations to protect against predatory towing practices.

e Establish reasonable maximum fees for trespass and public safety towing.
e Provide regulations and fee structures that are simple and transparent.

5.3 Stakeholder Input from Online Survey

An online survey was distributed to approximately 180 towing companies in Virginia.
The survey was used to gain input from the towing industry for costs, practices, and concerns
related to Trespass Towing. The results of the survey were compared to cost estimates to provide

general validation of key business assumptions and costs.

5.3.1 Distribution List

The survey was distributed to individual towing companies. An initial list of towing
companies was created using online records of businesses registered in Virginia as towing
companies. Businesses that were listed as inactive were filtered out from the list. Efforts were
then made to obtain company emails using available business websites. This was followed by
phone calls to obtain or verify email addresses and interest in taking the survey. The result was a

list of 189 towing companies that received emails to participate in the online survey.

5.3.2 Response Rate

The online survey was sent to 189 towing companies. Of these, 25 were blocked as spam,
resulting in 164 surveys being successfully sent. Of the 164 successfully sent, 141 were opened,

19 unopened, and a total of 27 were completed with at least partial responses provided.
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5.4 Survey Questions and Results

Most of the survey questions were focused on obtaining towing cost information from the
perspective and experience of the towing companies. The results of the survey questions were
compared to previously developed cost estimates to verify assumptions and cost values. In
general, the results of the survey were similar to the previously developed cost estimates and
assumptions. In addition, the survey provided questions aimed at seeking input from towing
companies on the need for cost evaluations and key issues of concern. A copy of the survey

questions is included in Appendix C.

5.4.1 Business Demographics Questions

The survey asked several questions focused on gathering information about towing
business demographics. The results show 95% of towing businesses have 50 or fewer employees,
and approximately 58% have 10 or fewer employees. Businesses with more than 50 employees
tend to have more requirements to provide fringe benefits such as health care and retirement

plans. The survey results support general assumptions made in the cost estimate.

Q20 What are the total number of direct employees for your business (include all position
types):

L= 7 I O L= R = - R}

2

SKIP - Don't 1-5 Direct 6-10 Direct 11-50 Direct 51 or More
Know or Employees Employees Employees Direct
Prefer Mot to Employees
Answer

Figure 5.1 Survey Results: Number of Direct Employees
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The survey results show that 75% of businesses providing towing services also provide
vehicle storage lots and/or auto repair services. This supports a key assumption in the cost

estimate that several of the general overhead costs are shared with other services.

Q1 What services does your business provide (check all that apply):

50

40

a0 25
17 18

20

10 5 5

. .
SKIP - Towing Roadside Vehicle Auto Other
Mone of Assistance Storage Repair or Business
Above or (Tow Lots) Body Shop Services:
Prefer n... (please...

Figure 5.2 Survey Results: Types of Services Provided by Towing Companies

5.4.2 Towing Operations Questions

Several questions were asked to gain information on towing operations such as time to
complete a tow, distances traveled, dispatching, and record keeping. The results of these
questions support cost estimate assumptions that an average Trespass Tow can be completed in

less than an hour, and less than 50 miles in total distance.
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Q9 On average, what is the total time to complete a private property trespass tow? For this
guestion, total time includes dispatch time, loading vehicle, delivery/unloading vehicle, and
completing paperwork.

[ A= TR B- B - J=1
-~

SKIP - 0-15 16-30 31-45 45-60 > 60
Don't Know Minutes Minutes Minutes Minutes Minutes
or Prefer

Mot to..

Figure 5.3 Survey Results: Towing Times

5.4.3 Labor Questions

Several labor related questions were asked including base wage rates and benefits. The
survey responses support values and assumptions used in the cost estimate for direct wages and
fringe benefits. In particular, the survey responses support the use of BLS data in the cost
estimate with a typical tow operator earning approximately $27/hour before benefits, and an

office administrative person earning approximately $23/hour before benefits.
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Q25 For direct employees, what are the typical hourly wage ranges for the following job

classifications?

Starting Hourly Wage ($/hour)
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Figure 5.4 Survey Results: Hourly Wage Ranges for Employees

The survey responses support the cost estimate values and assumptions for additional

shift work compensation that tow operators receive for working weekends, nights, and holidays.

In general, it supports an assumption that tow operators earn no more than 2 times their base

wage rate for shift work. With an average wage rate less than $30, it supports the finding that an

increase in the shift work rates does not appear justified at this time.
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Q29 How much do you pay in additional wages for a direct employee working a paid

holiday?
10
a
]
7
B 5
5
4
3 2 2
z
N 8
]
SKIP: Straight Time and Flat Rate
Don't Know  Time (1.0 x Half (1.5 x per hour
or Prefer regular regular worked
MOt to.. wage) wage)

7
Flat Rate Other
per tow (please
completed specify)

Figure 5.5 Survey Results: Additional Wages for Employees Working a Paid Holiday

Q30 How much do you pay in additional wages for a direct employee working night or
weekend shifts?
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Figure 5.6 Survey Results: Additional Wages for Employees Working Nights or Weekends
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Businesses with less than 50 employees have fewer requirements to provide fringe
benefits. The survey results show that most towing companies provide at least some fringe
benefits. The assumptions and values used in the cost estimate include individual fringe benefit
costs for PTO, health insurance, retirement, and life insurance. The survey results support this

approach to the cost estimate.

Q32 Which of the following optional fringe benefits do you provide to your direct employees?
(check all that apply)

20
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10

n

o
(=2
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2
. [

SKIP - PTO- Health Life Retiremen  Mone of Other

oo

(=]

Don't Paid Time  Insurance Insurance t Planor the Above  (please
Know or off , Dental, 401K specify)
Prefer... (Holid... and... contri.

Figure 5.7 Survey Results: Fringe Benefits Provided to Direct Employees

Q33 Which of the following health care benefits do you provide for your direct employees?
(check all that apply)
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Figure 5.8 Survey Results: Health Care Benefits Provided to Direct Employees
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5.4.4 Equipment Questions

Several questions were asked to gain information about tow truck and equipment costs
such as vehicle classifications, configurations, prices, purchase condition, maintenance,
insurance, and distances driven. The results of these questions were compared to support key

assumptions in the cost estimate.

The survey results verify cost estimate assumptions that most towing companies purchase
new tow trucks that are typically a class 4, with a wrecker configuration that can provide light
duty tows up to 10,000 pounds GVWR. The results also support the use of an estimated purchase
price of $140,000 and that a vehicle is driven 60,000 miles per year on average.

Q42 What weight class (GVWR) of truck do you most frequently purchase and use for
trespass tows:

10

9

8 7T

7

6

5

4 3 3 3

3

2 1 1

1

! -
SKIP - Class 3: Class 4 Class 5: Class 6: Other
Don't Know  Example Example Example Example (please

or Prefer Ford F-350  Ford F-450, Ford F-550  Ford F-650 specify)
Not to.. with... with... with... with...

Figure 5.9 Survey Results: Tow Truck Weight Classes Frequently Purchased
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Q43 Which of the following best describes how you typically acquire a tow truck used for
trespass towing:

20
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. I
SKIP: Don't
Know or
Prefer Mot to
Answer

13

Purchase to
Cwn
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Figure 5.10 Survey Results: Tow Truck Acquisition

Q45 What is the estimated purchase cost of a new wrecker tow truck for the following
weight classifications:

New Cost
10
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8
7
6
5
4
3 2 2
2 111, 11
1
! dm
Class 3 Wrecker
(GVWR 10,001 -
14,000 Lbs)
B s70,000- .
$110,000 - ..
B $50,000- ..

4

2
111

‘ 11
Class 4 Wrecker
(GVWR 14,001 -

1
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(GVWR: 16,001 -

i

1

Class 6 Wrecker
(GVWR: 19,501 -

16,000 lbs) 19,500 lbs) 26,000 lbs)
B s20,000- .. $90,000 - .. $100,000 - ...
@ s120000-.. [ $130,000- .. $140,000 - ..
B s150,000- .. [ $170,000-.. [ $180,0000..

Figure 5.11 Survey Results: Purchase Cost of a New Tow Truck
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Q15 What is the average number of miles driven per year on a Tow Truck?

Miles/Year
10
k]
8
7 6
6
5 4
4
3 2 2 2
2 1 1 111 1 1,1 1 1111 1
1
, M || II Il || [ | LW |
Light Duty (GVWR Medium Duty (GVWR Heavy Duty (GVWR=>
<10,000 Lbs) 10,000 -26,000 Lbs) 26,000 lbs)
. 10,000 miles . 20,000 miles 30,000 miles 40,000 miles
50,000 miles . 60,000 miles . 70,000 miles 80,000 miles

B co.000miles [ 100,000 0r ..

Figure 5.12 Survey Results: Average Number of Miles Driven per Year

5.4.5 Overhead Questions

The survey included several questions related to general overhead costs such as office
space, towing software, and office administrative support. The responses support a key
assumption that office space and office administrative support costs are typically shared between

towing and other services such as vehicle storage and auto repair.

Q62 How do you provide business office space?

10
g
g
7 6
6 5
5
4
3 2
2 1
1
D —
SKIP - Rent Purchased Office Office Home Other
Don't Office Office Space Space Office (please
Know or Space for  Space for Part of Part of Space specify)
Prefer... Towing... Towing... Tow.. Other...

Figure 5.13 Survey Results: Business Office Space
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Q63 Does your business own a vehicle storage lot?

n
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Figure 5.14 Survey Results: Towing Companies with Vehicle Storage Lots
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5.5 Summary of Stakeholder Input

The study included seeking input from key stakeholders. Input was sought in several
ways including through an online docket where stakeholders could add comments, and an online
survey sent to towing companies which was used to validate and support the cost estimate

assumptions and values.

Documents filed in the SCC case docket included an SCC Order establishing the
proceeding for the purpose of inviting public comments, as well as comments received from a
towing industry representative, individual towing companies, and an insurance company
association. All comments support the need for a cost evaluation. In general, towing industry
comments support inflation adjustments to current rates, simplicity, and the need for ongoing
annual adjustments. Comments by the insurance association focused on the need to set fair rates,
transparency and simplicity in towing fees, and protecting the public and insurance companies

from predatory towing conditions.

An online survey was distributed to individual towing companies throughout Virginia.
The primary focus of the survey was to obtain cost information and regulation concerns from the
perspective of the towing industry. Overall, the results of the survey support the assumptions and
cost values used in developing an independent detailed cost estimate. The survey also gathered
comments that support concerns about the need for regular inflation cost adjustments and

statewide regulations.
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6.0 CONCLUSIONS

6.1 Summary

Virginia Code § 46.2-1233.1 establishes the maximum rate that tow truck operators may
charge for Trespass Tows. The current maximum allowable rate is $150 for passenger vehicles,
with provisions that allow additional fees of $30 to $60 for after-hours tows (7:00 pm to
8:00 am), Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays. Localities are allowed to set maximum trespass

rates lower than the state rate, provided they have a local towing advisory board for oversight.

The maximum rate under the Code of Virginia has been in effect since July 2018.
Members of the towing industry have voiced concerns that the current rate has not kept up with
inflation. In response, the Virginia General Assembly, under Senate Bill 450 directed the SCC to
conduct a study to evaluate allowable rates for Trespass Towing in Virginia. The SCC has

contracted with a private consulting firm to assist in the study.

The study approach included performing several tasks to evaluate Trespass Towing rates
and costs. A background review was performed to identify related studies and publications.
National, state, and local codes, practices, and allowable rates were also reviewed. The
background research was followed with cost and fee evaluations using several different
approaches including rate comparisons to other states, rate adjustments based on inflation

indexes, and development of a detailed pro forma cost estimate using available cost data.

The study also sought input from key stakeholders including the towing industry. The
SCC provided an online case docket allowing interested parties to submit comments. In addition,

a survey was distributed to towing businesses to seek industry input.
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6.2 Findings

The study findings show that an increase in the standard light-duty Trespass Tow rate
from $150 to a new rate between $200 and $210 appears reasonable. Ongoing annual increases

using inflation indexes are recommended with detailed cost evaluations every 5 to 10 years.

The Code of Virginia allows for additional fees of $30 to be charged for night shifts,
weekends, or holidays with a maximum of $60 if more than one of these situations occurs
simultaneously. An increase in these additional fees does not appear justified at this time based

on current tow truck driver wages and labor law requirements.

The current Code allows for additional fuel surcharge fees up to $25 to be charged. If the
base towing rate is adjusted annually for inflation, the need for a fuel surcharge is reduced. If a

fuel surcharge is allowed, a definition for its use should be included in the Code of Virginia.

The Code also references other towing related fees including a minimum towing rate of
$135 and a drop fee of $25. These additional fees should be reviewed, updated, or eliminated if

not needed, along with moving all fee related references to a single code for clarity if possible.
Conclusions and Recommendations:

Rate Updates:

e The current maximum allowable rate of $150 should be reset based on current cost

estimates. A new base rate between $200 and $210 appears reasonable.

e An increase in the additional fees for working night shifts, weekends, and holidays does

not appear to be justified at this time. The current value of $30 to $60 appears reasonable.

e The Code of Virginia allows a minimum rate of $135 in Districts 8 and 16. Consider a
new minimum rate of 75% of the maximum and apply it to all districts or eliminate the
minimum entirely. Using a percentage would automatically adjust the minimum rate as

future maximum rate adjustments are made.
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Virginia Code § 46.2-123 allows a $25 drop fee, which appears low. It is recommended
for this fee to be changed to a maximum rate between 40% and 50% of the allowable

Trespass Tow rate.

Consider updating the Code of Virginia with a specific definition and formula for
situations where the fuel surcharge would apply and the allowable rates. Annual
inflationary adjustments to the base Trespass Towing rate also include adjustments for
fuel price changes. However, when there are exceptional fuel price increases (25% or
more) and durations greater than 60 days, a fuel surcharge of $6.00 for every $1.00
increase in fuel prices should be considered. The fuel surcharge should only be applied to
costs above the most recent year’s average diesel fuel costs (U.S. Energy Information

Administration Data).

Timeframes:

The maximum allowable Trespass Tow rate should be adjusted annually to account for
inflation, using the Transportation Consumer Price Index and/or the Transportation

Producer Price Index.

To ensure that costs are properly adjusted, detailed cost reviews, including a calculation

of the current cost to complete a Trespass Tow, should be completed every 5 to 10 years.

The baseline cost of diesel fuel should be updated annually using the previous year’s data
(U.S. Energy Information Administration — Lower Atlantic Region). This value is then

used for consideration of fuel surcharge fees.

Code Language Updates:

Modify the Code of Virginia to clarify that the maximum allowable rate applies to light
duty vehicle Trespass Tows with a gross vehicle weight rating up to 10,000 pounds

instead of referencing “passenger cars.”

Towing fee references are included in several Titles of the Code of Virginia. Move all fee

related language to Virginia Code § 46.2-1233.1.

54



Process Improvements:

e The use of statewide towing software should be considered in the future to provide

uniformity of data and data mining opportunities.

e A statewide Owner’s Towing Bill of Rights should be considered as a future

improvement opportunity.

55



REFERENCES

Leslie, A. and Murray, D. (2024) “An Analysis of the Operational Costs of Trucking: 2024

Update.” American Transportation Research Institute.

Leslie, A. and Pupillo, A. (2023) “Causes and Countermeasures of Predatory Towing.”

American Transportation Research Institute.
“Compendium of Towing Regulations.” (2023) American Transportation Research Institute.

Lawless, S. (2024) “Memorandum RE: Unfair or Deceptive Fees NPRM, R207011.” U.S.

Department of Transportation Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.

Curtis, C. (2024) “Report to the Vermont Legislature on Towing Practices in Vermont in

Accordance with Act 41.” State of Vermont Attorney General’s Office.
“Transportation Statistics Annual Report.” (2023) U.S. Department of Transportation.

Gierzynski, A. (2023) “Vehicle Towing.” Vermont Legislative Research Service; University of

Vermont.

56



APPENDIX A: VIRGINIA CODE § 46.2-1233.1
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6/13/2024

Code of Virginia
Title 46.2. Motor Vehicles
Chapter 12. Abandoned, Immobilized, Unattended and Trespassing Vehicles; Parking

§ 46.2-1233.1. Limitation on charges for towing and storage of certain vehicles.

A. Unless different limits are established by ordinance of the local governing body pursuant to § 46.2-1233, as to
vehicles towed or removed from private property, no charges imposed for the towing, storage, and safekeeping of
any passenger car removed, towed, or stored without the consent of its owner shall be in excess of the maximum
charges provided for in this section. No hookup and initial towing fee of any passenger car shall exceed $150. For
towing a vehicle between 7:00 p.m. and 8:00 a.m. or on any Saturday, Sunday, or holiday, an additional fee of no
more than $30 per instance may be charged; however, in no event shall more than two such fees be charged for
towing any such vehicle. No charge shall be made for storage and safekeeping for a period of 24 hours or less.
Except for fees or charges imposed by this section or a local ordinance adopted pursuant to § 46.2-1233, no other
fees or charges shall be imposed during the first 24-hour period.

B. The governing body of any county, city, or town may by ordinance, with the advice of an advisory board
established pursuant to § 46.2-1233.2, (i) provide that no towing and recovery business having custody of a vehicle
towed without the consent of its owner impose storage charges for that vehicle for any period during which the
owner of the vehicle was prevented from recovering the vehicle because the towing and recovery business was
closed and (ii) place limits on the amount of fees charged by towing and recovery operators. Any such ordinance
limiting fees shall also provide for periodic review of and timely adjustment of such limitations.

C. (Expires July 1, 2024) In addition to the fees authorized pursuant to this section, towing and recovery operators
are authorized to charge a fuel surcharge fee of no more than $20 for each vehicle towed or removed from private
property without the consent of its owner. Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, no local governing
body shall limit or prohibit the fee authorized pursuant to this subsection.

1990, c. 266; 1993, c. 598; 2006, cc. 874, 891; 2013, c. 592; 2018, cc. 324, 363; 2020, c. 31; 2023, c. 323.
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COMPENDIUM OF TOWING REGULATIONS

The information in this table is for reference purposes only and should not be relied upon for regulatory compliance. This information may contain omissions and is
subject to change. Any variations in the language used in this compendium (for example, “involuntary” versus “nonconsensual” towing) reflect the diversity of

language used by different states when regulating the towing and recovery industry. Online users may access these codes by clicking on the individual regulations.
For more research on predatory towing in the trucking industry, please consult ATRI’s website here.

Other Regulations to Protect Against Predatory

State Maximum Towing and Storage Rates Towi Complaint Processes
owing
Alabama Rates for all nonconsensual towing are approved by Towing companies must provide access in a To dispute towing and recovery fees the motor carrier
the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency based on "reasonable manner" to retrieve the commercial must file a written complaint with the towing company
customary industry practice." vehicle's freight/contents and any items necessary to | and the trooper commander within three business
carry out the interrupted job. The freight/contents days of receiving an invoice for the services provided.
may not be held to secure towing and recovery
charges. If a tractor/trailer is retrieved from storage During the complaint review process all storage
the commercial vehicle owner shall pay up to a $2000 | charges shall cease.
security deposit until the bill is paid.
If the motor carrier and towing company cannot come
to an agreement over cost within seven days from the
complaint submission, then the trooper commander
shall review the case.
1Alabama Administrative Code R 760-X-1-.25 1Alabama Code Title 41-27-61 Alabama Code Title 41-27-61
Alaska There are no statewide maximum rates for towing or
storage in Alaska.
Arizona The Department of Public Safety sets maximum rates | After the motor carrier has made a request for release

for towing firms who provide towing and storage
services to the department. These agreements are
separate from private property tows, whose rates are
set by city and town governments.’

Tow truck classifications are described in the Arizona
Administrative Code Section R13-3-1001 through
R13-2-1012. Further details regarding what is
included under service calls, stand-by-rates and extra
laborers are in Exhibit A of the Tow Service
Agreement.?

*Includes 20 miles at no additional cost after which
loaded milage rate applies.

**Unless stored as per ARS §28-3512, storage
charges shall not exceed $25.00 per day and or

and before payment for the release is made, the
towing company shall provide an itemized bill of all
charges for towing, storage, and related fees at no
cost."

When towing from private property, the property
owner or an agent of the owner shall sign either a
towing order or authorize the tow by a written contract
valid for a specific length of time.2

After an accident, unless there is insufficient capacity,
towing companies shall take vehicles to the closest
storage lot in the applicable contract.

Towing companies must accept payment in the form
of cash, credit card, debit card, insurance-company
issued check, and money-order.'



https://truckingresearch.org/?p=17198
https://admincode.legislature.state.al.us/api/chapter/760-X-1.pdf
http://alisondb.legislature.state.al.us/alison/CodeOfAlabama/1975/Coatoc.htm
http://alisondb.legislature.state.al.us/alison/CodeOfAlabama/1975/Coatoc.htm

revised per day charge when towed pursuant to ARS

§28-3511. The towing company shall not require payment for the
removal of personal property that is inside the vehicle
if the removal is during business hours. For the
purposes of this regulation, personal property does
not include any vehicle parts, vehicle equipment or
vehicle accessories."

Tow_ 'I_'ruc_k Service Call Rates
Classification

. Metro: $184.80 Flat Rate*

Light-Duty Rural: $155.25 Flat Rate*

. Metro: $448.00 Flat Rate*

el Rural: $316.25 Flat Rate*

Heavy-Duty Metro: $353.92/hr

Rural: $316.25/hr

Heavy-Duty Rotator

Metro: $616.00/hr
Rural: $690.00/hr

Loaded Milage Rates

Metro: $4.76/mile

Light-Duty Rural: $4.60/mile

] Metro: $6.44/mile
Medium-Duty Rural: $5.75/mile

Stand-by-Rates

_ Metro: $35.84/hr
Light-Duty Rural: $36.80/hr
] Metro: $58.24/hr
Medium-Duty Rural: $59.80/hr
Heavy-Duty Metro: $85.12/hr

Rural: $87.40/hr

Heavy-Duty Rotator

Metro: $112.00/hr
Rural: $115.00/hr

Off-Road Recovery Rate

Metro: $125.00/hr

Light Duty Rural: $100.00/hr

. Metro: $170.00/hr
Medium-Duty Rural: $150.00/hr
Heavy-Duty Use hourly service call rate

Heavy-Duty Rotator

Use hourly service call rate

Roadside Assistance

Light-Duty $82.00 Flat Rate
Medium-Duty $115.00 Flat Rate
Heavy-Duty $225.00 Flat Rate

Heavy-Duty Rotator

$500.00 Flat Rate

Storage Rates**

Light-Duty

$32.50/day




Medium-Duty $39.50/day
Heavy-Duty $57.00/day
Heavy-Duty Rotator | $57.00/day
Extra Labor Rate
All Classifications $32/hr

Arizona Tow Service Program Exhibit A
2Arizona Administrative Code Title 13 3-1001-1012

Arizona Revised Statutes Title 28-4847
2Arizona Revised Statutes Title 9-499.05

Arizona Revised Statutes Title 28-872

Arkansas There are no statewide maximum towing or storage All towing and storage businesses shall use an If a motor carrier has a complaint against the towing
rates in Arkansas. invoice for each vehicle towed and each invoice shall company that performed a law-enforcement initiated
explain how all charges were calculated, separately nonconsensual tow, then the law enforcement agency
For police-initiated tows, fees must be "reasonable" itemizing all fees and charges." that ordered the tow shall submit the consumer
as determined by the state's Towing and Recovery complaint to the Arkansas Towing and Recovery
Board.! For police-initiated towing in response to a crash or Board. The complaint must be submitted within 5 days
disabled vehicle, the motor carrier’s choice of a of being received by the agency.
For private property tows, fees are regulated by local preferred towing company shall be honored if the
governments.? towing company is located in the towing zone where The board will resolve the complaint within 45 days.’
services are to be rendered and ready to promptly
respond. If a law enforcement officer fails to provide The motor carrier can also file a complaint directly at
the motor carrier with the option to state a preference | the following link.
as required under this section, then the owner may
file a complaint to the officer’s employer or the Arkansas Towing Board Complaint Link:
Arkansas Towing and Recovery Board, or both.? https://www.artowing.arkansas.gov/filing-a-complaint/
Prior to the removal of a vehicle abandoned on
private property, the towing and storage firm shall
obtain a written statement from the property owner or
agent including at least the signature of the property
owner or agent requesting removal of the vehicle.?
'Administrative Rules of the Arkansas Towing and 'Administrative Rules of The Arkansas Towing and 1Arkansas Code Title 27-50-1218
Recovery Board Recovery Board
2Arkansas Code Title 27-50-1101 2Arkansas Code Title 27-50-1207
3Arkansas Code Title 27-50-1101
California There are no statewide maximum rates for towing or Towing and storage companies must provide an Complaints against a towing company in a CHP

storage in California.

Towing companies who wish to be placed on the
California Highway Patrol's (CHP) rotation list must
sign a Tow Service Agreement. The CHP area
commander establishes reasonable rates for each
tow district. Rates can be confirmed by contacting the
law enforcement agency that initiated the tow.’

Rates for private property tows are set by local law
enforcement, but if the towing company has a CHP
approved rate that rate cap applies to private property
tows as well.2

itemized invoice for all services rendered.’

A towing company shall not remove or commence the
removal of a vehicle from private property without first
obtaining the written authorization from the property
owner or lessee. General authorization to tow
vehicles is only allowed when the vehicle is blocking
entrance/exit from the property, is in a fire lane, or is
within 15 feet of a fire hydrant.?

Towing and storage firms must accept payment by
cash, insurer's check, or a valid bank credit card.!

There shall be no additional charge for any personnel
or equipment which is not necessary to perform the

initiated tow are to be investigated by the CHP Area
where the incident occured."



https://www.azdps.gov/sites/default/files/media/Agreement_Rate_Sheet_Metro_and_Rural_06-30-2022_Final.pdf
https://apps.azsos.gov/public_services/Title_13/13-03.pdf
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/28/04847.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/9/00499-05.htm
https://www.azleg.gov/viewdocument/?docName=https://www.azleg.gov/ars/28/00872.htm
https://www.artowing.arkansas.gov/filing-a-complaint/
https://www.artowing.arkansas.gov/wp-content/uploads/2022/11/ATRB-Rules-Clean-FINAL-092022.pdf
https://www.artowing.arkansas.gov/wp-content/uploads/2022/11/ATRB-Rules-Clean-FINAL-092022.pdf
https://www.artowing.arkansas.gov/wp-content/uploads/2018/03/ARTitle27TowVehicleLaw.pdf
https://www.artowing.arkansas.gov/wp-content/uploads/2022/11/ATRB-Rules-Clean-FINAL-092022.pdf
https://www.artowing.arkansas.gov/wp-content/uploads/2022/11/ATRB-Rules-Clean-FINAL-092022.pdf
https://www.artowing.arkansas.gov/wp-content/uploads/2018/03/ARTitle27TowVehicleLaw.pdf
https://www.artowing.arkansas.gov/wp-content/uploads/2018/03/ARTitle27TowVehicleLaw.pdf
https://www.artowing.arkansas.gov/wp-content/uploads/2018/03/ARTitle27TowVehicleLaw.pdf

required service. Any additional personnel or
equipment shall be approved by CHP on scene.'

1CHP 2022-2023 Tow Service Agreement
2California Vehicle Code Division 11-22658

1CHP 2022-2023 Tow Service Agreement
2California Vehicle Code Division 11-22658

1CHP 2022-2023 Tow Service Agreement

Colorado

Maximum law enforcement or nonconsensual private
property towing, recovery, and storage rates are set
by the Public Utilities Commission (PUC) and are
annually readjusted for inflation. The below base
rates are effective as of March 15, 2023. Additional
rates for drop charges, after-hours releases, and
milage/fuel surcharges are linked in the sources
below.’

Importantly, a tow is not considered a law-
enforcement tow if the motor carrier has the ability or
opportunity to terminate the tow and contact a towing
company of their choosing. Maximum rates for tows
from an accident or a disabled vehicle only apply to
those towing companies who have entered an

agreement for with the State Patrol for nonconsensual

tows. If the motor carrier chooses their own towing
service, the protections under nonconsensual towing
no longer apply. 2

*Milage charges and fuel surcharges applicable on
top of base rate for private property impound tows
depending on miles traveled and relative location to I-
25.

GVWR Law Enforcement-Ordered
(Towed Vehicle) Tow & Recovery
<10,000 Ibs. $260.03/hr
10,000 — 19,000 Ibs. | $310.76/hr
19,001 — 33,000 Ibs. | $405.90/hr
>33,000 Ibs. $469.32/hr
Use of Heavy $742.03/hr
Rotator (60+ Tons)
Private Property Impound*

<10,000 Ibs. $228.01 Base Rate

10,000 — 19,000 Ibs. | $262.22 Base Rate

19,001 — 33,000 Ibs. | $353.44 Base rate

>33,000 Ibs. $399.05 Base Rate
Storage

<10,000 Ibs. $43.80/24 hrs

210,000 Ibs. $54.03/24 hrs

Towing companies upon request must provide an
itemized invoice showing each charge and rate fee for
the tow.’

For a towing company to perform a nonconsensual
tow on private property they must obtain written
authorization from the property owner to remove the
vehicle. Towing carriers shall not have in their
possession, accept, or use blank authorizations pre-
signed by the property owner."

Towing companies must accept cash, major credit
cards, and any other payment methods approved by
the PUC."

For nonconsensual private property tows, towing
companies cannot charge or retain any fees not
identified in the rules of the PUC."

Towing companies do not retain a mechanic’s lien on
the contents of the vehicle and the vehicle owner is
allowed to retrieve the contents without paying the
charges for the tow.?

Upon filling out the appropriate form stating that they
owe the towing company the fees for the tow, the
vehicle owner may retrieve the vehicle after paying a
reduced fee of 15% of the total, exceeding no more
than $60. Signing this form does not prohibit the
owner from filing a complaint with the PUC or
pursuing other remedies.?

Towing companies must take pictures to document
vehicle condition and reason for the tow. If the
vehicle is damaged and the towing company fails to
produce pictures of the damages prior to the tow, the
rebuttal presumption will be that the towing company
is responsible for the damage. If the towing company
cannot produce photographs to prove the reason for
the tow, the rebuttal presumption will be that the
towing company did not have the authority to tow the
vehicle.?

Complaints regarding nonconsensual tows can be
filed directly with the PUC."

PUC Complaints Form:
https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLScIWDeN
S2FChONdEIijNU4igpUKqRZVTIYWZ8XSA2YYx3LF6q
Alviewform



https://www.chp.ca.gov/ResearchAndPlanningSectionSite/Documents/2022-2023%20TSA.pdf
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=VEH&division=11.&title=&part=&chapter=10.&article=1.
https://www.chp.ca.gov/ResearchAndPlanningSectionSite/Documents/2022-2023%20TSA.pdf
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=VEH&division=11.&title=&part=&chapter=10.&article=1.
https://www.chp.ca.gov/ResearchAndPlanningSectionSite/Documents/2022-2023%20TSA.pdf
https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/pi6ICXDV3XF4A7WJS6APNm?domain=docs.google.com
https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/pi6ICXDV3XF4A7WJS6APNm?domain=docs.google.com
https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/pi6ICXDV3XF4A7WJS6APNm?domain=docs.google.com

By Length
(towing company’s
discretion)

$1.67/ft

"Colorado PUC Tow Rates Sheet
2Colorado Administrative Code Department 700 726-

1Colorado Administrative Code Department 723-6
2Colorado Revised Statutes Title 40-10.1-405

6-6501

1Colorado Revised Statutes Title 40-10.1-405

Connecticut

The maximum rate for non-consensual towing is set
by the Connecticut Department of Transportation
(DOT) Commissioner.

For vehicles with a GVWR of less than 10,000 Ibs.,
the base charge includes milage to the scene and two
loaded miles. For vehicles of GVWR 10,000 Ibs. or
more, minimum charges will be set for one hour with
additional time billed in increments of 15 minutes.’

Storage rates for different lengths of vehicles depend
on storage location; inside, outside, and outside with
lighting and fencing.? Below are the rates for outside
storage with lighting and fencing. The rates for other
storage location types are linked in the sources.

On private property, the fee for removing a wheel-
locking device may not exceed $50, which may be
paid via cash, check, or credit/debit card.?

GVWR Base Charge

<10,000 Ibs. $105.00
$4.75/per mile in excess of
two loaded miles

10,000 - 26,000 Ibs. | $240.00/hr
>26,000 Ibs. $390.00/hr
Outside Storage
Length (With Lighting and Fencing) |
<20 ft. $26.00/day 5 days or less
$31.00/day more than 5 days
20-32 ft. $30.00/day 5 days or less
$37.00/day more than 5 days
>32 ft.

$35.00/day 5 days or less
$46.00/day more than 5 days

Towing companies must provide itemized receipts for
all towing and storage charges."

Towing companies may charge for services outside of
the tow charge or hourly rates set by the Connecticut
DOT Commissioner provided such services are
necessary for the towing/transportation of the vehicle
and the fees are reasonable. Additional fees are to
be itemized separately and the towing operator must
keep records to explain the reasoning for such
services, which the Connecticut DOT Commissioner
may require them to justify.

Vehicle owners have the right to inspect the vehicle
before accepting its return and will not be required to
sign a general release of the towing or storage
company from liability for any damages or that the
vehicle was towed or rendered immovable without
justification as a condition for the release of the
vehicle.

Nonconsensual towing complaints can be filed directly
with the Connecticut DOT using form K-35.
Complaints must be submitted via mail.

Connecticut DOT consumer Complaint Form K-35:
https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/DMV/20/29/k35pdf.pdf

1Connecticut DOT Maximum Towing Rates Form K-11

1Conn. Agencies Regs. § 14-63-36¢

2Connecticut DOT Maximum Storage Rates Form K-

2Conn. Gen. Stat. § 14-145b

88
3Connecticut General Statutes Title 14-145

1Connecticut DOT File a Complaint

Delaware

There are no statewide maximum rates for towing or
storage in Delaware.

Nonconsensual tows initiated by the Division of State

Police (DSP) are done by approved towers. These

Provided there is no public safety concern, owners or
drivers may use any towing company of their choice
for a disabled vehicle.’

Nonconsensual police towing complaints should be
filed with the Troop that initiated the tow. Below is the
contact information for each DSP Troop.'



https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/L3nmCYEX4YUDYow8UGLVCg?domain=drive.google.com
https://americantrucking-my.sharepoint.com/personal/apupillo_trucking_org/Documents/Documents/Predatory%20Towing/****:/C:/Users/apupillo/Downloads/723-6%20%20Transportation%20Rules.pdf
https://americantrucking-my.sharepoint.com/personal/apupillo_trucking_org/Documents/Documents/Predatory%20Towing/****:/C:/Users/apupillo/Downloads/723-6%20%20Transportation%20Rules.pdf
https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/dsQDCZ6X5GI7vn0GfKOjg4?domain=sos.state.co.us
https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/CqPGC1w75pt6gwlRIXqwue?domain=advance.lexis.com
https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/CqPGC1w75pt6gwlRIXqwue?domain=advance.lexis.com
https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/DMV/20/29/k35pdf.pdf
https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/DMV/20/29/k11pdf.pdf
https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/DMV/20/29/K-88.pdf
https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/DMV/20/29/K-88.pdf
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_246.htm
https://eregulations.ct.gov/eRegsPortal/Browse/RCSA/Title_14Subtitle_14-63Section_14-63-36c/
https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_246.htm
https://portal.ct.gov/dmv/commercial-and-industry-services/dmv-file-complaint?language=en_US

are towers that have gone through the approval
process set by Division of State Police, which
includes submitting “reasonable fees for towing and
storage comparable to other towers providing similar
services in the Troop Area.”

Towing companies on the Division's approved list may
not stop and solicit at the scene of an accident or
disabled vehicle unless directed to by a state trooper."

The State Police may revoke the approved status of
any towing company if it has been subject to two or
more substantiated complaints from citizens regarding
nonconsensual towing services.'

DSP Troop Locations and Contact Information:
https://dsp.delaware.gov/locations/

'Delaware Administrative Code Title 2 1301-9.0

'Delaware Administrative Code Title 2 1301

'Delaware Administrative Code Title 2 1301

Florida There are no statewide maximum rates for towing or The towing company must provide by mail notification | When a person improperly causes a vehicle to be
storage in Florida. Maximum rates are set by of any lien for the towing, recovery, or storage of a towed, they will be liable for the cost of removal,
individual counties and municipalities (municipal rates | vehicle including an itemized statement of charges.’ transportation, storage, any associated damages,
overrule county rates)." attorney's fees, and court costs.’

For wrecked or disabled vehicles owner's requests for
Wrecker operators that are included in the Division of | specific wrecker operators will be honored unless
Florida Highway Patrol's (FHP) Call Allocation System | there would be unreasonable delay or traffic problems
agree to maximum towing and storage rates set by exist.?
either the county/municipality of their assigned zone,
or if they do not have a set maximum, the Troop Towing companies will only respond to accidents or
Commander of the zone.? handle disabled vehicles pursuant to a call from the
appropriate law enforcement agency. Chasing or
running wrecks is a violation that if repeated can
result in suspension or removal from the rotation
towing list.?
Florida Administrative Code Chapter 15B-9 'Florida Statutes Chapter 713.785 'Florida Statutes Chapter 715.07
2Florida Statutes Chapter 125.0103 °Florida Administrative Code Chapter 15B-9
Georgia Nonconsensual towing and storage rates and charges | For DPS rotation list towing, if the motor carrier Complaints for private-property nonconsensual towing

are not to exceed those set by the Georgia
Department of Public Safety (DPS)."

The state also regulates other rates and charges
including operator, notification, and after-hours fees,
which can be found linked in the sources. Below are
the rates set after November 10th, 2017.!

Georgia DPS policy states that towing companies that
charge excessive or unreasonable rates can be
suspended from the wrecker rotation list. Reasonable
is defined as “any rates established or required by the
Georgia [DPS} or by a county or city for similar
services...for that same area.”

GVWR Towing Rates and
Charges

<10,000 Ibs. $175
10,001 -20,000 Ibs. $300
>20,001 Ibs. —

per unit charge $450
>20,001 Ibs. —

combination unit $850

makes a reasonable request for a specific wrecker
service that service shall be used. If the requested
service would result in excessive delay, then the
officer may use the rotation list. In an emergency
situation involving a significant threat to life or
property they may use the closest service necessary
to stabilize the situation."

Any towing company entering into an agreement with
a private property owner to provide automatic or
systematic surveillance for the right to remove
trespassing vehicles shall be punished by a fine of
$1,000.2

can be submitted to Georgia DPS.! Complaints for
tows ordered by law-enforcement will have to be
taken up with the department that ordered the tow.?

Georgia DPS Non-consensual Towing Complaint form
(Private Property Tows):
https://gamccd.net/Documents/TR0O031.pdf



https://dsp.delaware.gov/locations/
https://regulations.delaware.gov/AdminCode/title2/1000/1300/1301.pdf
https://regulations.delaware.gov/AdminCode/title2/1000/1300/1301.pdf
https://regulations.delaware.gov/AdminCode/title2/1000/1300/1301.pdf
https://www.flrules.org/gateway/ChapterHome.asp?Chapter=15B-9
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0100-0199/0125/Sections/0125.0103.html
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0700-0799/0713/Sections/0713.78.html
https://www.flrules.org/gateway/ChapterHome.asp?Chapter=15B-9
http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0700-0799/0715/Sections/0715.07.html
https://gamccd.net/Documents/TR0031.pdf

Storage
<10,000 Ibs. $25.00/day
10,001 -20,000 Ibs. $30.00/day
220,001 Ibs. — $40.00/day
per unit charge
220,001 Ibs. — $75.00/day
combination unit

1Georgia DPS Statewide Maximum Rate Tariff
2Georgia DPS Policy Manual Chapter 7.05

1Georgia DPS Policy Manual Chapter 7.05
2Georgia Code Title 44-1-13

1Georgia DPS Non-Consensual Towing
2Georgia Attorney General’'s Consumer Protection
Division: Towing

Hawaii The maximum rates for nonconsensual towing and Towing companies must allow payment by cash, Complaints regarding nonconsensual tows can be
storage are posted on the state’s Department of credit, or debit card." filed with the Hawaii Office of Consumer Protection."
Commerce and Consumer Affairs (DCCA). The
charges listed under Hawaii’'s Revised Statutes Office of Consumer Complaints:
Section 290-11(b) are the only charges towing https://cca.hawaii.gov/blog/category/consumerdialinfo
companies are authorized to charge vehicle owners." rmation/consumer-complaints/
It is unclear if these rates apply to medium- and
heavy-duty vehicles.
Service Rates?
Tow $65.00
Tow Using Dolly | $75.00 plus Milage Charge
Milage Charge $7.50/mi
Storage $25.00/day for first 7 days
$20.00/day after 7 days
"Hawaii Revised Statutes Title 17 291C-165.5 "Hawaii Revised Statutes Title 17 290-11 'DCCA Towing Abandoned Vehicles
2Hawaii Revised Statutes Title 17 290-11
Idaho There are no statewide maximum rates for towing or Upon release of the vehicle the towing company shall
storage in Idaho. provide a statement including itemized costs of
towing, recovery, and daily storage."
Any towing firm called to the scene of a
crashed/disabled vehicle by an authorized officer shall
take the vehicle to a place the owner or agent of the
vehicle reasonably requests. If the firm fails to fulfill
this reasonable request, they shall not be entitled to
recover any storage, impoundment, or other fees
aside from the scheduled tow fee.’
"Idaho Code Title 49-1807A
lllinois The lllinois Commerce Commission (ICC) regulates Towing companies must upon request provide a final For private-property towing, towing companies are

relocation tows from private property for some
counties (it does not regulate police ordered tows or
accident tows). The maximum rates for relocation are
not to exceed the mean average of the five highest
rates for police tows within the tower’s territory.’

invoice itemizing all charges, as well as any damage
to the vehicle.’

If the operator of a disabled vehicle is present at the
scene and the vehicle is not obstructing traffic,
illegally parked, or posing any other security or safety

required to provide customers with a complaint form
upon request. The ICC Relocator Complaint form can
also be found at the link below, but they are still to be
mailed to the ICC. The ICC does not respond to
complaints regarding police-initiated towing.’



https://www.gamccd.net/Documents/NCTTariff.11.10.17.pdf
https://dps.georgia.gov/chapter-7-administrative-matters
https://dps.georgia.gov/chapter-7-administrative-matters
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=3a9d5ce0-6b7a-4db8-b34e-9deb82914a2c&nodeid=ABSAACAAO&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FABS%2FABSAAC%2FABSAACAAO&level=3&haschildren=&populated=false&title=44-1-13.+Removal+of+improperly+parked+cars+or+trespassing+personal+property%3B+concurrent+jurisdiction%3B+procedure%3B+automatic+surveillance+prohibited%3B+penalty.&config=00JAA1MDBlYzczZi1lYjFlLTQxMTgtYWE3OS02YTgyOGM2NWJlMDYKAFBvZENhdGFsb2feed0oM9qoQOMCSJFX5qkd&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A6348-FYW1-DYB7-W04T-00008-00&ecomp=7gf5kkk&prid=d1ef0e4a-f560-4a3f-bca1-09d66269998b
https://gamccd.net/NonConsensualTowing.aspx
https://consumer.georgia.gov/consumer-topics/towing
https://consumer.georgia.gov/consumer-topics/towing
https://cca.hawaii.gov/blog/category/consumerdialinformation/consumer-complaints/
https://cca.hawaii.gov/blog/category/consumerdialinformation/consumer-complaints/
https://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/hrscurrent/Vol05_Ch0261-0319/HRS0291C/HRS_0291C-0165_0005.htm
https://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/hrscurrent/Vol05_Ch0261-0319/HRS0290/HRS_0290-.htm
https://www.capitol.hawaii.gov/hrscurrent/Vol05_Ch0261-0319/HRS0290/HRS_0290-.htm
https://cca.hawaii.gov/blog/towing-abandoned-vehicles/#:%7E:text=If%20your%20car%20was%20towed,process%2C%20call%20587%2D4272.
https://legislature.idaho.gov/statutesrules/idstat/Title49/T49CH18/SECT49-1807A/

For relocation services, multi-unit vehicles that are
relocated in combination by one piece of tow
equipment or by being driven away constitute one tow
and relocators shall charge only one tow fee based
upon gross combined weight. When the multi-unit
vehicle is separated for relocation, relocators shall
charge separate towing fees.?

Towing companies on the state’s Tollway Vehicle
Recovery rotation list must comply with the Tollway’s
rate schedule. All rate calculations are done portal to
portal and all hourly rates include the driver/operator.?

*Recovery rates apply to equipment only when used
in recovery service

Tollway Authority Rate Schedule

Service Rates
Tractor Trailer Low Boy/Dump | $175.00/hr
Crane or Recovery Rotator $450.00/hr
Medium Duty Rotator $250.00/hr
End Loader and Skid Steer
(includes transportation to $150.00/hr
scene)
Air Bag Unit $2,000 flat rate
Heavy Duty Recovery Wrecker
— over 50 tons* $350.00/hr
Heavy Dury Tow Service $150.00/hr
Heavy Duty Dollys Tandem $450.00/hr
Tanker Trailer w/Tractor $175.00/hr
Box Refrigerator Trailer
T $175.00/hr
Service Truck $150.00/hr
Labor Charge for Ground Men
c Permanent Full-Time $60.00/hr
mployees
Part-Time Employees $50.00/hr
Light Duty Wrecker or Flatbed $100.00/hr

(includes material transport)

Standby Time % listed hourly rate

risk then they may specify a towing company to
relocate the disabled vehicle.?

No trespassing vehicle shall be removed from private
property except with expressed written instructions
from the private property owners or their agent(s).?

If a towing company arrives where a tow is needed
but has not been requested by law enforcement or the
motor carrier, then the law enforcement officer shall
advise the towing company to leave the scene (this
does not apply if the owner/operator of the vehicle
signals the tower for assistance at the site of the
disabled vehicle).?

ICC Relocator Complaint Form:

https://www.icc.illinois.gov/complaints/

"lllinois Administrative Code Title 92 — 1710.191
2||linois Commerce Commission Relocation Towing

"lllinois Compiled Statutes Chapter 625 5-4-18d-120

1llinois Commerce Commission Relocation Towing

2||linois Compiled Statutes Chapter 625 5-4-203.5

3|llinois Tollway Authority Vehicle Recovery Program

3|llinois Administrative Code Title 92 — 1710.41



https://www.icc.illinois.gov/complaints/
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/codification_indexes/title92.pdf
https://www.icc.illinois.gov/authority/relocation-towing
https://www.illinoistollway.com/documents/20184/92612/VEHICLE+RECOVERY+PROGRAM.pdf/7a590e06-962d-4e83-836e-31d4c899b69a?version=1.0
https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/documents/062500050K18d-120.htm
https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs4.asp?DocName=062500050HCh%2E+4&ActID=1815&ChapterID=49&SeqStart=71300000&SeqEnd=76400000
https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/codification_indexes/title92.pdf
https://www.icc.illinois.gov/authority/relocation-towing

Indiana

There are no statewide maximum rates for towing in
Indiana.

There is a statewide cap on storage fees for
abandoned vehicles (left on private or public property
for over 24 hours), which may total no more than
$2,000 for vehicles less than 30 feet in length and
$2,500 for vehicles 30 feet or longer.'

An itemized invoice of actual towing charges
assessed by a towing company shall be made
available to the owner of the motor vehicle or the
owner’s agent not later than one (1) business day
after: (1) the tow is completed; or (2) the towing
company has obtained all necessary information to be
included on the invoice'

Motor carriers have authority to summon a towing
company of their choice to the scene of a disabled
vehicle, yet this authority is superseded by a law
enforcement officer if the towing company of choice is
unable to respond to the location of the disabled
vehicle a timely fashion or if the disabled vehicle is a
hazard, impedes traffic flow, or may not legally remain
in its current location.?

If the motor carrier of a disabled vehicle chooses to
have their vehicle towed to a storage yard not owned
by the towing company, the towing company may not
charge more than they usually would to bring the
vehicle to their own storage yard.3

Towing companies may not stop at the scene of a
crash or disabled vehicle to solicit business.*

Indiana Code Title 9-22-1-4

'Ind. Code § 24-14-5-1
2Ind. Code § 24-14-3-3
4-9-1
4-3-2

3Ind. Code § 24-1
4Ind. Code § 24-1

lowa There are no statewide maximum rates for towing or Complaints regarding the legality of an abandoned
storage in lowa. vehicle tow (those parked on public or private
property for at least 24 hours) can be made to the
local district office. If found to have been improperly
towed, then any towing or storage fees shall not be
assessed.’
"lowa Administrative Code Agency 661-6.5
Kansas There are no statewide maximum rates for towing or Towing companies must provide the operator of the
storage in Kansas. vehicle, if available, with written notice including any
fee that will be charged for storage. Failure to give
this notice invalidates any lien established for the
storage fee.’
'Kansas Statutes Chapter 8-1103
Kentucky There are no statewide maximum rates for towing or Towing companies must provide an itemized invoice

storage in Kentucky.

of towing charges and storage charges expressed as
a daily rate.’

The motor carrier may summon a towing company of
their choice and designate the location the vehicle is
to be towed unless there is a declared emergency, the



https://iga.in.gov/laws/2022/ic/titles/9#9-22-1
https://iga.in.gov/laws/2022/ic/titles/24#24-14
https://iga.in.gov/laws/2022/ic/titles/24#24-14
https://iga.in.gov/laws/2022/ic/titles/24#24-14
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/12-04-2019.661.6.5.pdf
http://www.kslegislature.org/li_2022/b2021_22/statute/008_000_0000_chapter/008_011_0000_article/008_011_0003_section/008_011_0003_k/

towing company requested is unable to respond in a
timely fashion, or the disabled vehicle is a
hazard/impedes traffic flow or may not legally remain
in its location according to the law enforcement officer
or other authorized official .2

Prior to removal of the motor vehicle, the towing
company shall take photographs, video, or other
visual documentation as evidence of vehicle damage,
debris, damaged property/cargo, and/or complications
in the recovery process.?

Towing companies shall not require preauthorization
of more than 24-hours of storage or repair work as a
condition of towing service.?

Towing companies are prohibited from stopping at the
scene of a crash or disabled vehicle for the purpose
of soliciting emergency towing services without being
summoned by law enforcement of the motor carrier.?

A towing or storage company shall accept payment
made by cash, check from insurer, credit card, debit
card, money order, or check.*

TKentucky Revised Statutes Title 24-281.926
2Kentucky Revised Statutes Title 24-281.922
3Kentucky Revised Statutes Title 24-281.934
4Kentucky Revised Statutes Title 24-281.930

Louisiana

The maximum rates for non-consensual towing are
set by the Louisiana Public Service Commission
(LPSC). All towing rates are charged from time of
dispatch and shall include the truck and the driver.
Maximum rates are also set for additional charges,
which are only allowed if the case meets the criteria of
a “Complicated Recovery,” details of which are in the
Schedule of Prescribed Rates linked below. Rates for
simple services are included here.’

Maximum storages rates are calculated per calendar
day, and the power unit and trailer are considered two
separate vehicles.?

GVWR Towing Rate
<10,000 Ibs. $123.50/hr
10,000 — 26,000 Ibs. $271.50/hr
> 26,001 Ibs. $349.00/hr
Standard Recovery
<10,000 Ibs. $169.00/hr
10,000 - 26,000 Ibs. $349.00/hr

Towing invoices shall be itemized on a line-item basis
for all recovery, standby, towing, storage, fuel, and
additional charges."

Towing companies are prohibited from stopping at
scenes of crashed or disabled vehicles to solicit
business unless specifically summoned by the motor
carrier, a law enforcement officer, or other official
authority.?

If a law enforcement officer determines a motor
vehicle must be towed, they shall give the vehicle
operator the option to select a properly licensed
towing company, provided they can arrive within 45
minutes.?

No towing company shall charge for services which
are not itemized and documented on the invoice.3

Complaints regarding nonconsensual towing may be
addressed to the LPSC — Attention Transportation
Division, or by contacting the district's Commissioner.
Payment of the towing invoice is not necessary for the
complaint to be heard. If the towing company is found
guilty of overcharging, on top of any fines the
Commission may order a refund of up to 200% of
overcharges."

LPSC Non-Consensual Towing Complaint Form:
https://www.lpsc.louisiana.gov/docs/trans/ TOWING%2
O0COMPLAINT%20FORM%20for%20Web%20n0%20
signature.pdf



https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=51077
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=51075
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=51081
https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=51079
https://www.lpsc.louisiana.gov/docs/trans/TOWING%20COMPLAINT%20FORM%20for%20Web%20no%20signature.pdf
https://www.lpsc.louisiana.gov/docs/trans/TOWING%20COMPLAINT%20FORM%20for%20Web%20no%20signature.pdf
https://www.lpsc.louisiana.gov/docs/trans/TOWING%20COMPLAINT%20FORM%20for%20Web%20no%20signature.pdf

> 26,001 Ibs. $426.00/hr
Stand-By Rates

<10,000 Ibs. $62.00/hr

10,000 — 26,000 Ibs. $135.00/hr
> 26,001 Ibs. $174.00/hr

Storage Rate

Outside $27.50/day
Covered $33.00/day
Oversized $49.50/day

Louisiana Revised Statutes Title 32-1714
2| PSC Schedule of Prescribed Rates

'LPSC Schedule of Prescribed Rates
2| ouisiana Administrative Code Title 55-19011
3Louisiana Administrative Code Title 55-19057

Louisiana Revised Statutes Title 32-1714

Maine

There are no statewide maximum rates for towing or
storage in Maine.

The nonconsensual towing of any commercial motor
vehicle requires an itemized invoice including details
of all costs incurred with recovery towing, cleanup, or
storage of the vehicle and its contents before demand
of payment. The motor carrier is not liable for any
charge not itemized on the invoice.'

Towing companies are not permitted to hold any
perishable cargo of a commercial motor vehicle that is
not owned by the motor carrier.

"Maine Statutes Title 29A-1863
2Maine Statutes Title 29A-1861

Maryland

Currently there are no state-wide maximum rates for
police-initiated towing of medium- and heavy-duty
vehicles in Maryland. However, with the passing of
House Bill 487, The Department of State Police are to
create a Committee on Rate Setting and Complaint
Resolution”) that must recommend approved rates for
medium- and heavy-duty police-initiated tows and
recovery by December 1, 2023. The MD State Police
may choose to honor the committee’s
recommendations, or publish its own rate schedule by
January 1, 2024."

The department of state Police as of October 1, 2023,
will require that a towing company on the tow list ban
the use of per-pound billing."

For tows from private parking lots, unless otherwise
set by local law, the towing company may not charge
the vehicle owner or insurer more than twice the
amount of total fees normally charged by the political
subdivision for public safety impound towing of

A motor carrier’s request for a specific towing
company shall be honored unless the requested
company cannot arrive at the location within a
reasonable time period, a traffic safety problem exists,
the vehicle is disabled in the roadway, or the vehicle
is on fire and the requested towing company cannot
arrive within 30 minutes of police arrival. However, if
the use of a requested towing company, then it is no
longer a police-initiated tow and has none of the
accompanying protections.’

Police-initiated towing does not create a lien or
security interest for the authorized towing company in
any equipment, vehicle, or cargo.?

The towing company shall provide the vehicle
owner/operator or their agent with reasonable access
to the vehicle to collect cargo contained regardless of
payment for the towing company’s services."

The Committee will also be in charge of investigating
complaints regarding police-initiated tows and will
create a process to remove predatory towing
companies from the police-rotation list.”



https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/Law.aspx?d=88131
https://lpsc.louisiana.gov/docs/trans/Non-Consensual%20Rates%20effective%2002-17-2022.pdf
https://lpsc.louisiana.gov/docs/trans/Non-Consensual%20Rates%20effective%2002-17-2022.pdf
https://www.doa.la.gov/media/r4ah3xaz/55v1-17.pdf
https://www.doa.la.gov/media/r4ah3xaz/55v1-17.pdf
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/Law.aspx?d=88131
https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/29-A/title29-Asec1863.html
https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/29-A/title29-Asec1861.html

vehicles nor the fee normally charged by the division
for daily storage of impounded vehicles.?

If the political subdivision does not establish a fee limit
for public safety towing, recovery, or storage, $250 for
towing/recovery and $30 per day for vehicle storage
may be charged.?

If there is dispute over the towing or storage fees,
then the towing company shall release the cargo
immediately upon submission of:

1. Proof that the cargo does not belong to the motor
carrier or;

2. If the cargo does belong to the carrier, a letter from
the insurance company stating there is coverage for
the relevant claim of accident and, if that coverage is
not high enough, a signed letter of guarantee from the
transportation company.’

If the Maryland State Police has not published the
maximum rates by January 1, 2024, then beginning
March 1, 2024, towing companies shall release the
vehicle upon payment of 20% of the invoice. This
payment does not eliminate the remainder of the
financial obligation to the towing companies.’

Before towing or removing the vehicle, the towing
company shall have authorization from the parking lot
owner or their agent and photographic evidence of the
violation or the event that precipitated the towing of
the vehicle.?

Towing companies may not employ or otherwise
compensate unauthorized vehicle “spotters,” people
who are employed to report the presence of
unauthorized vehicles for the purposes of towing.”

"Maryland House Bill 487
2Maryland Code Public Safety Title 2-314
3Maryland Code Transportation Title 21-10A-04

'Maryland Code Article of Public Safety Title 2-314
'Maryland Code Commercial Law Title 16A-101
2Maryland Code Transportation Title 21-10A-04

'Maryland Code Public Safety Title 2-314

Massachusetts

The Department of Public Utilities and State Police
set maximum rates for involuntary (“nonconsensual”)
towing and storage."

Any charges not listed below are required to be
written in detail by the towing company.

*Includes 5 miles travel and 1 hour service/waiting
time, after which milage charges apply.

GVWR Tow Rate*
All Vehicles $108.00
Mileage Charge
<10,000 Ibs. $3.60/mile
>10,000 or HAZMAT $5.40/mile
Incident
One-Time Use
Supplies
<10,000 Ibs. Actual Cost + 15%

As long as the vehicle is not deemed a hazard by the
state police trooper, the vehicle owner/operator shall
be allowed to request and wait for their own towing
company.’

Charges beyond the types listed on the State Police
Towing website must be detailed, in writing, by the
towing company.'

Towing companies called by the State Police must
tow the vehicle to their own storage location. The
motor carrier can request the vehicle be towed to
another location but by doing so the service becomes
a private agreement and is therefore not protected by
the maximum rates set by the State Police.’

No vehicle shall be removed from private property
without the consent of the vehicle owner unless the
private property owner has notified the appropriate
police authority that the vehicle is to be removed.?

Complaints regarding police-initiated tows can be filed
with the State Police.

Complaints regarding other involuntary tows can be
filed with the Transportation Oversight.?

1) State Police-Initiated Involuntary Towing Complaint
Form: https://www.mass.gov/forms/towing-response-

report-form

2) Transportation Oversight Division Involuntary
Complaint Form: https://www.mass.gov/forms/file-a-
complaint-against-a-bus-moving-or-towing-company



https://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2023rs/Chapters_noln/CH_669_hb1002t.pdf
https://mgaleg.maryland.gov/mgawebsite/laws/StatuteText?article=gps&section=2-314&enactments=False&archived=False
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=5edcf8c5-9485-45df-bada-7d12449977ba&nodeid=ABKAAXAALAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FABK%2FABKAAX%2FABKAAXAAL%2FABKAAXAALAAE&level=4&haschildren=&populated=false&title=%C2%A7+21-10A-04.+Rights%2C+duties+and+obligations+of+persons+undertaking+towing+or+removing+vehicles%3B+database.&indicator=true&config=014EJAA2ZmE1OTU3OC0xMGRjLTRlNTctOTQ3Zi0wMDE2MWFhYzAwN2MKAFBvZENhdGFsb2e9wg3LFiffInanDd3V39aA&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A661B-TXB3-GXF6-83P1-00008-00&ecomp=7gf5kkk&prid=822e6843-aea0-420c-8468-821e6b8f135e
https://mgaleg.maryland.gov/mgawebsite/laws/StatuteText?article=gps&section=2-314&enactments=False&archived=False
https://govt.westlaw.com/mdc/Document/NE30B7FB2152C11EEAD36C49BD924A771?viewType=FullText&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=CategoryPageItem&contextData=(sc.Default)#co_anchor_I785E8310202611EEA08EDA5D24CE6C6B
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=5edcf8c5-9485-45df-bada-7d12449977ba&nodeid=ABKAAXAALAAE&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FABK%2FABKAAX%2FABKAAXAAL%2FABKAAXAALAAE&level=4&haschildren=&populated=false&title=%C2%A7+21-10A-04.+Rights%2C+duties+and+obligations+of+persons+undertaking+towing+or+removing+vehicles%3B+database.&indicator=true&config=014EJAA2ZmE1OTU3OC0xMGRjLTRlNTctOTQ3Zi0wMDE2MWFhYzAwN2MKAFBvZENhdGFsb2e9wg3LFiffInanDd3V39aA&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A661B-TXB3-GXF6-83P1-00008-00&ecomp=7gf5kkk&prid=822e6843-aea0-420c-8468-821e6b8f135e
https://mgaleg.maryland.gov/mgawebsite/laws/StatuteText?article=gps&section=2-314&enactments=False&archived=False
https://www.mass.gov/forms/towing-response-report-form
https://www.mass.gov/forms/towing-response-report-form
https://www.mass.gov/forms/file-a-complaint-against-a-bus-moving-or-towing-company
https://www.mass.gov/forms/file-a-complaint-against-a-bus-moving-or-towing-company

>10,000 or HAZMAT Actual Cost + 15%

Incident
Additional service
vehicles
<10,000 Ibs. $108.00/vehicle
Service time in
excess of hour
<10,000 Ibs. $42.00/hr
Additional labor
<10,000 Ibs. $38.00/hr

Storage Fees

Lighted outdoor storage

enclosed by a secure fence $36/day
Other outdoor storage $18/day
<10,000 Ibs. Not Regulated

"Massachusetts Requlations Title 220 - 272
Massachusetts Consumer Guide to State Police

Towing
Massachusetts Involuntary Trespass Towing Rates

"Massachusetts State Police FAQs
2Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 266-120D

"Massachusetts Consumer Guide to State Police

Towing
2Massachusetts Involuntary Trespass Towing Rates

Michigan There are no state-wide maximum rates for towing in Towing companies shall not travel to the crashed of Both private-property and police-initiated
Michigan. disabled vehicle sites on public property to solicit nonconsensual towing complaints can be filed with
business unless a law enforcement agent in charge of | the Attorney General’s Office. Police-directed towing
The state's limit on storage fees ($1,000) does not the scene requests for them to come to the scene.’ complaints can also be filed with the police
apply to commercial vehicles or to any vehicle that is department that initiated the tow."
owned or leased by an entity other than an Motor carriers shall have their choice of a specific
individual. towing company as long as the vehicle is not suspect
in a fatality, law enforcement investigation, or criminal
activity and the preferred service operator can
respond to the scene in a timely manner and the
vehicle is not creating road or safety hazard as
determined by the law enforcement officer."
"Michigan Compiled Laws Chapter 257.252i "Michigan Compiled Laws Chapter 257.676¢ "Michigan Towing Laws — What You Need to Know
Minnesota There are no statewide maximum rates for towing or Starting August 2023, for police-initiated tows, the

storage in Minnesota.

towing company has the right to retain possession of
the vehicle and cargo until the lien is lawfully
discharged.’

There shall be a reasonable effort to allow the motor
carrier to arrange for the obstructing vehicle, while
considering time delays and safety issues. If there is
not an accident or traffic hazard and the towing
company requested by the vehicle motor carrier
arrives before the towing company requested by law
enforcement, then the towing company requested by
the motor carrier shall be given the opportunity to
conduct and complete all requested towing
operations.?



https://www.mass.gov/files/220_cmr_272.00_final_6_30_17.pdf
https://www.mass.gov/guides/consumer-guide-to-state-police-towing
https://www.mass.gov/guides/consumer-guide-to-state-police-towing
https://www.mass.gov/involuntary-trespass-towing-rates-and-regulations
https://www.mass.gov/info-details/frequently-asked-questions-for-state-police-towing-consumers
https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartIV/TitleI/Chapter266/Section120
https://www.mass.gov/guides/consumer-guide-to-state-police-towing
https://www.mass.gov/guides/consumer-guide-to-state-police-towing
https://www.mass.gov/involuntary-trespass-towing-rates-and-regulations
http://legislature.mi.gov/(S(bpwrazna53lsi4hopgsbwjn2))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-257-252i&highlight=SPECIAL%20AND%20ANTI-THEFT%20AND%20LAWS
http://legislature.mi.gov/(S(npxchpmzlwi1o3w3wdpbmod2))/mileg.aspx?page=getObject&objectName=mcl-257-676c
https://www.michigan.gov/ag/consumer-protection/consumer-alerts/consumer-alerts/auto/towing

Tows of unattended vehicles from private,
nonresidential property with properly posted notices of
unauthorized vehicle towing can be towed
immediately, whereas those without have to wait 24
hours before towing the vehicle.?

No vehicle can be towed from private property without
the request of the property owner or their agent.*

'Minnessota Statutes Chapter 168B.045
2Minnessota Statutes Chapter 168B.035
3Minnessota Statutes Chapter 168B.04
4Minnessota Statutes Chapter 168B.14

Mississippi

There are no state-wide maximum rates for towing or
storage in Mississippi.

Missouri

There are no state-wide maximum rates for towing or
storage in Missouri.

A motor carrier’s request for a specific towing
company shall be honored as long as the requested
company can respond in a reasonable time and that
the vehicle possess no immediate traffic hazard.’

Any towing company arriving at the scene of an
accident or disabled vehicle that has not been called
by a law enforcement officer or the motor carrier shall
be prohibited from towing the vehicle from the scene."

Written consent by the property owner is required
before removing vehicles from private property.
General authorization to remove vehicles at the
towing company's discretion is only allowed in the
cases of vehicles parked within 15 feet of a fire
hydrant or fire lane.?

"Missouri Revised Statutes Chapter 304.153
2Missouri Revised Statutes Chapter 304.158

Montana

There are no statewide maximum rates for towing or
storage in Montana.

Motor carriers of wrecked or disabled vehicles shall
be able to request a towing company of their choice
rather than use the rotation list provided the
requested towing company meets safety and
insurance standards, can handle the wreck or
disabled vehicle, and can respond in a timely
manner."

Complaints regarding nonconsensual towing can be
filed with the Montana Department of Justice’s (DOJ)
Tow Truck Complaints and Resolution. Complaints
can be filed online using the Office of Consumer
Protection complaint form.’

Office of Consumer Protection Complaint Form:
https://app.doj.mt.gov/OCPPortal/?q=node/395

"Montana Code Title 61-8-908

Montana DOJ Tow Truck Complaints and Resolution
Committee

Nebraska

There are no statewide maximum rates for towing or
storage in Nebraska.

Liens on towing and storage do not apply to the
contents of the vehicle.'

Nebraska Revised Statutes Chapter 60-2410

Nevada

There are no statewide maximum rates for towing or
storage in Nevada. The Nevada Transportation

Towing companies shall itemize on the bill for a
nonconsensual tow each rate used, or fee charged to
compute the total bill. All charges must be

The towing company shall give the motor carrier
information on procedures for filing a complaint



https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/168B.045
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/168B.035
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/168B.04
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/168B.14
https://revisor.mo.gov/main/OneSection.aspx?section=304.153&bid=49878&hl=
https://revisor.mo.gov/main/OneSection.aspx?section=304.158&bid=16234&hl=
https://app.doj.mt.gov/OCPPortal/?q=node/395
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0610/chapter_0080/part_0090/section_0080/0610-0080-0090-0080.html
https://dojmt.gov/consumer/tow-truck-complaints-resolution-committee/
https://dojmt.gov/consumer/tow-truck-complaints-resolution-committee/
https://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=60-2410

Authority (NTA) is not allowed to regulate rates for
consensual towing services.'

However, towing companies that perform
nonconsensual tows must have their rates approved
by the NTA and may not charge more than those
approved rates. Tarriff sheets and nonconsensual
towing permits are available for all Nevada companies
online.?

substantiated in writing and attached to the bill. There
must also be a detailed listing of all charges and, if
charges are based on time, the starting and ending
times.'

Towing companies shall not use or hold any cargo or
personal property as a bailment for the rates and
charges incurred in towing a vehicle, except that
cargo may be held as security for payment of charges
associated with cleaning the area where the cargo
has spilled or for loading, transporting, securing, or
storing the cargo.?

Towing companies shall not tow a vehicle from private
property without the consent of the vehicle owner,
without either:
A) a written request to remove the specific vehicle
from the private property owner;3
B) a written agreement from the private property
owner granting them to tow vehicles from their
property at the discretion of the tow car operator; or*
C) a written agreement granting them to remove
vehicles on the private property that are parked:

1) within 15 feet of a fire hydrant;

2)in afire lane;

3) In a manner that interferes with an entrance to
or exit from the real property; or

4) In any parking space designated for persons
who are handicapped in violation of NRS 484B.467.

For vehicles removed from private property under B
above, the towing company shall:®

A) Before commencing the tow of the vehicle, take a
photograph of the vehicle that clearly indicates the
parking violation;

B) At the time the vehicle is claimed, allow the owner
or an authorized agent of the owner to view the
photograph; and

C) Upon request of the owner of the vehicle or an
authorized agent of the owner, provide a copy of the
photograph to the owner or authorized agent.

including the name and address of the NTA on either
the bill or an informational card.’

Complaints regarding towing can be made to the NTA
using the link below.

NTA Towing Complaint Online Form:
https://hal.nv.gov/form/NTA/Tow_Complaint

'"Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter 706.445
2NTA Towing Companies Tariffs and Certificates List

"Nevada Administrative Code 706.420
2Nevada Administrative Code 706.440

3Nevada Administrative Code 706.4273
“Nevada Administrative Code 706.4275
5Nevada Administrative Code 706.4277

'Nevada Administrative Code 706.426

New
Hampshire

There are no statewide maximum towing or storage
fees in New Hampshire.

Towing companies shall provide detailed receipts for
services rendered.’

For State Police-initiated towing, the trooper in charge
of the scene shall make the best attempt to allow the

Motor carriers who wish to challenge towing fees
related to disabled vehicles they believe to be
unreasonable may file a written complaint requesting
a review with the state’s Commissioner of Safety.
This must be done within 15 days of release of the



https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/xjwUCo2JEnhD9AOXcVBXqN?domain=urldefense.proofpoint.com
https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/fd8DCpYVGoC9kgYzTGwQYK?domain=urldefense.proofpoint.com
https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/_TyRCqx8Jps1BgqOINp-l0?domain=urldefense.proofpoint.com
https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/-_A0Crk7KqcrMygAHNA8MX?domain=urldefense.proofpoint.com
https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/k3o2Cv2JOxhE1JQWsykMGM?domain=urldefense.proofpoint.com
https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/qRvYCwpgPyTv65BLsQTkz5?domain=urldefense.proofpoint.com
https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/TEgsCxkjQzcL8pYJsAWdCF?domain=urldefense.proofpoint.com
https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/TEgsCxkjQzcL8pYJsAWdCF?domain=urldefense.proofpoint.com
https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/yXPaCyPkRAh7DGxNskzLBw?domain=urldefense.proofpoint.com
https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/HSNMCzpl04TGDX5RuJ51pv?domain=urldefense.proofpoint.com

motor carrier to contact a preferred towing company,
unless doing so will delay timely restoration of safe
traffic movement or prolong serious hazard.?

If a rotation-list towing company responds to a scene
with a larger, heavier, or more sophistically equipped
vehicle where a lighter wrecker is required then the
charge may not exceed the normal charge for a
lighter duty wrecker.?

vehicle or any rights to review will be waived.
Complaints regarding fees from any other tows would
have to be filed with the Consumer Protection Division
of the state Department of Justice.’

"New Hampshire Revised Statutes Chapter 106-B:30

'New Hampshire Revised Statutes Chapter 106-B:30

2New Hampshire Revised Statutes Chapter 106-B:29
SNew Hampshire Revised Statutes Chapter 106-B:27

New Jersey

Maximum towing rates are set for any tows done on
the behalf of the New Jersey State Police (NJSP).
Additional regulated rates for specialized recovery
equipment and services are posted on the Garden
State Towing Association’s website."

For non-police nonconsensual tows, the Division of
Consumer Affairs mandates that fees must be
reasonable and defines reasonable fees as those that
are “no more than 25% greater than the company’s
fee for the same vehicle-owner-approved towing
services, or no more than 50% above the fees
charged by other towing companies in the community
for the same towing services without the vehicle
owner’s permission.” Any charges must be included
in the Division of Consumer Affairs Schedule of
Services.2

*In addition to towing — per truck including driver
**Minimum of 1 hour

GVWR Road Service Rates
<10,000 Ibs. $150.00/hr + parts
>10,000 Ibs. $200.00/hr +parts

Basic Towing Rates
<10,000 Ibs. mézgo + On-Hook
10,001-16,000 Ibs. $300.00/hr
>16,001 Ibs. $500.00/hr

On-Hook Milage rates
<10,000 Ibs. $7.00/loaded mile

Recovery/Winching

Rates*
<10,000 Ibs. $350/hr
10,001-16,000 Ibs. $350/hr

Personal property is considered to be any item that is
not directly affixed to the vehicle. Such items shall be
released to the vehicle operator upon request during
normal business hours at no charge."

The private property owner must have a contract for

private property towing with the towing company and
authorize the operator to remove the particular motor
vehicle.?

Towing companies must accept credit and debit cards
for nonconsensual tows if they do so for regular tows.?

Towing companies shall not monitor, patrol, or
otherwise surveil private property for the purposes of
towing unauthorized vehicles.3

The Director of the Division of Consumer Affairs may
order a towing company that has billed unreasonably
for a nonconsensual tow to reimburse the vehicle
owner for any excess cost with interest.’

New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs Complaint
Link:
https://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/Pages/Consumer-
Complaints.aspx



https://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/VII/106-B/106-B-30.htm
https://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/VII/106-B/106-B-29.htm
https://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/VII/106-B/106-B-27.htm
https://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/VII/106-B/106-B-30.htm
https://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/Pages/Consumer-Complaints.aspx
https://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/Pages/Consumer-Complaints.aspx

>16,001 Ibs.

$650/hr

Labor Rates**

Accident Minor Clean-
Up/Disposal Of Debris

$75.00/hr + Materials

Recovery Supervisor/Level
11l Recovery Specialist

$250.00/hr (limited to
one per instance)

Certified Towing Operator $150.00/hr

Manual Laborers $125.00/hr
Storage Rates

10 x 20 ft. Space $50.00/day

Trucks (Dual Wheel/Single $125.00/day

Axel)

Tractor/ Dump Truck/
Tractor-Trailer Combo/
Trailers

$125.00 per unit/day

Cargo/Accident Debris/
Load Storage/ Vehicle
Components

10 X 20 ft. Space

$50 per space/day

Division of Consumer Affairs Schedule of Towing

Services

2Garden State Towing Association Maximum Rates

NJSP Application and Minimal Requirements for
Vehicular Towing

2NJ Consumer Affairs Brief

SNew Jersey Statutes Title 56-13-16

New Jersey Statutes Title 56-13-21

New Mexico

Maximum rates for nonconsensual towing are set by
the New Mexico Public Regulation Commission
(PRC). Below are current effective rates for towing,
recovery, and storage. More services are regulated,
and their rates are available in the PRC Wrecker Tariff

linked in sources.!

Storage rates depend on the class of the towing

facility:2

(1) Type 1 — a fenced and locked area;
(2) Type 2 — a fenced, lighted, and locked area; or
(3) Type 3 — an enclosed, roofed and locked structure.

*GVWR refers to the weight of the tow vehicle not the

vehicle being towed.

First Mile/Hook-Up

GVWR* F
ees
<12,000 Ibs. $100.00
12,001-25,000 Ibs. $175.00
225,001 Ibs. $225.00
Loaded Milage Rates
5-25 Miles
<12,000 Ibs. $5.00/mi

The motor carrier may request a towing company of
their choice provided that the service can respond
promptly. The officer requesting the towing company
shall honor such a request provided it does not hinder
investigation or flow of traffic.’

Towing companies removing unauthorized vehicles
from private property must first obtain written
authorization from the property owner.2

Before towing a motor vehicle from private property,
the towing company must take photographs of the
vehicle showing its position on the private property.?

Unless held for investigation by law enforcement, no
towing company shall deny or charge for the
inspection or removal of private property of a motor
vehicle during normal business hours.?

Any disputes over legality of towing or charges for
services may be sent to the New Mexico PRC.
Towing companies, upon being told that a motor
carrier is disputing charges, must provide the
complainant with the PRC’s contact information."
Complaints can also be filed using the link below.

PRC Consumer Complaints: https://www.nm-
prc.org/consumer-relations/file-a-complaint/



https://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/regulations/Chapter-45A-Subchapter-31-Private-Property-and-Nonconsensual-Towing.pdf
https://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/regulations/Chapter-45A-Subchapter-31-Private-Property-and-Nonconsensual-Towing.pdf
https://gsta.org/state-police-rates/
https://nj.gov/njsp/information/pdf/towing_minimum_requirements.pdf
https://nj.gov/njsp/information/pdf/towing_minimum_requirements.pdf
https://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/News/Consumer%20Briefs/what-you-should-know-about-getting-towed.pdf#search=towing
https://lis.njleg.state.nj.us/nxt/gateway.dll?f=templates&fn=default.htm&vid=Publish:10.1048/Enu
https://lis.njleg.state.nj.us/nxt/gateway.dll?f=templates&fn=default.htm&vid=Publish:10.1048/Enu
https://www.nm-prc.org/consumer-relations/file-a-complaint/
https://www.nm-prc.org/consumer-relations/file-a-complaint/

12,001-25,000 Ibs. $8.00/mi
>25,001 Ibs. $15.00/mi
Loaded Milage Rates
26+ Miles
<12,000 Ibs. $3.50/mi
12,001-25,000 Ibs. $5.00/mi
>25,001 Ibs. $10.00/mi
Standby/Waiting Time
Rates
<12,000 Ibs. $30.00/hr
12,001-25,000 Ibs. $50.00/hr
225,001 Ibs. $75.00/hr
Recovery Rates
(per towing service)
<12,000 Ibs. $100.00/hr
12,001-25,000 Ibs. $200.00/hr
225,001 Ibs. $300.00/hr
Extra Labor Rates
(1 hour minimum)
<25,000 Ibs. $30.00/hr
>25,000 Ibs. $35.00/hr
Storage Rates

<12,000 Ibs.

Type 1 $10.00/day

Type 2 $15.00/day

Type 3 $20.00/day
12,001-25,000 Ibs.

Type 1 $15.00/day

Type 2 $20.00/day

Type 3 $25.00/day
225,001 Ibs.

Type 1 $20.00/day

Type 2 $25.00/day

Type 3 $30.00/day

PRC Statewide Wrecker Tariff
New Mexico Administrative Code Title 18 3.12

'NM Department of Public Safety Policy Number
OPR:36
2New Mexico Administrative Code Title 18.3.12.14

SNew Mexico Administrative Code Title 18.3.12.24

"New Mexico Administrative Code Title 18.3.12.24

New York

There are no statewide maximum towing or storage
rates in New York.

The State Thruway Authority does regulate rates for
tows that take place under their jurisdiction. These



https://www.nm-prc.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Final-Statewide-Wrecker-Tariff-Effective-February-1-2017.pdf
https://www.srca.nm.gov/wp-content/uploads/attachments/18.003.0012.pdf
https://www.dps.nm.gov/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/ABMOPR.36_Vehicle_Towing_Inventory.pdf
https://www.dps.nm.gov/wp-content/uploads/2022/07/ABMOPR.36_Vehicle_Towing_Inventory.pdf
https://www.srca.nm.gov/wp-content/uploads/attachments/18.003.0012.pdf
https://www.srca.nm.gov/wp-content/uploads/attachments/18.003.0012.pdf
https://www.srca.nm.gov/wp-content/uploads/attachments/18.003.0012.pdf

rates are shown below but can also be found on the

Thruway Authority’s website."

*This category is for towing a vehicle with a GVWR
over 10,000 Ibs.; however, the weights connected to
the rates refer to the weight of the towing truck itself.’!

Vehicles £10,000 Ibs.

Division Hook-Up Fee
New York
Daytime $120.00
Nighttime/Weekend/Holiday | $150.00
Albany, Syracuse, Buffalo
Daytime $110.00
Nighttime/Weekend/Holiday | $130.00
Milage Rate
All Divisions $7.00/mi
Winching Rate
All Divisions
1-30 Minutes $60.00
Each Additional 15 Minutes | $30.00

Vehicles >10,000 Ibs.*

Division Service Rate

New York

10,000-17,999 Ibs. $240.00/hr

>18,000 Ibs. and Couch $410.00/hr

Buses

50+ Ton Hydraulic Wrecker | $500.00/hr

40+ Ton Rotator $880.00/hr
Albany, Syracuse, Buffalo

10,000-17,999 Ibs. $210.00/hr

218,000 Ibs. and Couch $360.00/hr

Buses

50+ Ton Hydraulic Wrecker | $470.00/hr

40+ Ton Rotator $880.00/hr

NY Thruway Towing Rates Under 10,000 Ibs.

NY Thruway Authority Rates Over 10,000 Ibs.

North Carolina

There are no statewide maximum towing or storage

rates in North Carolina.

State Patrol officers shall use the wrecker service
requested by the motor carrier.’



https://www.thruway.ny.gov/travelers/safety/new-towing-rates-10k-under.pdf
https://www.thruway.ny.gov/travelers/safety/new-towing-rates-10k-over.pdf

Towing companies on North Carolina’s Highway
Patrol rotation list must charge reasonable rates for
services rendered, with these rates approved by the
District First Sergeant."

Vehicles to be removed from private property require
a written request from the private property owner.?

"North Carolina Administrative Code Title 14B-
7A.0116

"North Carolina Administrative Code Title 14B-
7A.0115
2North Carolina General Statutes Chapter 20-219.2

North Dakota

There are no statewide maximum towing rates in
North Dakota.

For vehicles under 20,000 Ibs. GVWR, storage may
not exceed $50 a day for either abandoned vehicles
or those involved in emergency towing."

"North Dakota Century Code Title 23.1-15-06

Ohio Maximum nonconsensual towing rates are regulated No towing company shall remove a vehicle from a Complaints regarding nonconsensual towing can be
by the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio (PUCO)." private tow-away zone without a written contract for made with the PUCO using the link below."
GVWR Tow Rates the removal of vehicles entered into with the owner of
the private property." PUCO File a Complaint: https://puco.ohio.gov/help-
=10,0001bs. $129.00 center/file-a-complaint
>10,000 Ibs. $216.00 Prior to removing the vehicle, the towing company
shall take as many photographs as necessary to
Storage Rates show that the vehicle was clearly parked on private
<10,000 Ibs. $17.00/day property in violation of the private tow-away zone.'
>10,000 Ibs. $29.00/day
PUCO Towing Fee Limits Ohio Revised Code Title 4513.601 "PUCO Towing Fee Limits
Ohio Administrative Code Chapter 4901:2-24
Oklahoma The Oklahoma Corporation Commission (OCC) sets Towing invoices shall include itemization of all Complaints regarding nonconsensual towing and

the maximum rates for towing and recovery services.'
For the relocation of the vehicle, the towing company
can charge by either distance or time. If billed by
distance, the time and justification of recovery
services must be documented on the invoice.
Recovery services and other miscellaneous rate
maximums are also available on the OCC schedule.

If billing by time, the towing company may bill a
minimum fee equaling 1.5 hours of work. Recovery
services may be billed in addition to the towing
services but must be billed at no more than the hourly
rate, and their justification for use must be
documented on the invoice.?

Distance, hourly, and hook-up rates may be adjusted
weekly by adding a fuel surcharge. The fuel
surcharge rates are updated on the OCC website,
linked below.®

GVWR Distance Rates

Single vehicle < 8,000 Ibs. $3.75/mi < 25 miles

charges assessed and clear identification of the
services provided.'

To remove an unauthorized vehicle the private
property owner must sign a Tow Request and
Authorization form provided by the state’s Department
of Public Safety which must include identification of a
specific vehicle.?

storage rate disputes can be filed directly with the
OCC.

Nonconsensual Tow Rate Complaints and Questions:
https://oklahoma.gov/occ/complaints/nonconsensual-
tow-rate-complaint-form.htmi



http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2014b%20-%20public%20safety/chapter%2007%20-%20state%20highway%20patrol/subchapter%20a/14b%20ncac%2007a%20.0116.pdf
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2014b%20-%20public%20safety/chapter%2007%20-%20state%20highway%20patrol/subchapter%20a/14b%20ncac%2007a%20.0116.pdf
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2014b%20-%20public%20safety/chapter%2007%20-%20state%20highway%20patrol/subchapter%20a/14b%20ncac%2007a%20.0115.pdf
http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac/title%2014b%20-%20public%20safety/chapter%2007%20-%20state%20highway%20patrol/subchapter%20a/14b%20ncac%2007a%20.0115.pdf
https://www.ncleg.gov/enactedlegislation/statutes/pdf/bysection/chapter_20/gs_20-219.2.pdf
https://ndlegis.gov/cencode/t23-1c15.pdf#nameddest=23p1-15-06
https://puco.ohio.gov/help-center/file-a-complaint
https://puco.ohio.gov/help-center/file-a-complaint
https://puco.ohio.gov/transportation/towing/resources/towing-fee-limits
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-administrative-code/chapter-4901:2-24
https://codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-4513.601
https://puco.ohio.gov/transportation/towing/resources/towing-fee-limits
https://oklahoma.gov/occ/complaints/nonconsensual-tow-rate-complaint-form.html
https://oklahoma.gov/occ/complaints/nonconsensual-tow-rate-complaint-form.html

$3.13/mi >25 miles

Single vehicle 8,001 -
12,000 lbs.

$4.25/mi < 25 miles

$3.75/mi >25 miles

Single vehicle 12,001 -
40,000 Ibs.

$7.19/mi

Single vehicle = 40,001 Ibs. | $8.44/mi

More than one vehicle $8.44/mi
Hourly Rates

Single vehicle < 8,000 Ibs. $75.00/hr

Single vehicle 8,001 - $100.00/hr

12,000 lbs.

Single vehicle 12,001 - $150.00/hr

40,000 lbs.

Single vehicle =2 40,001 Ibs. | $225.00/hr

More than one vehicle $225.00/hr
Hook-Up Fee

Single vehicle < 8,000 Ibs. $81.25

Single vehicle 8,001 - $93.75

12,000 lbs.

Single vehicle 12,001 - $106.25

40,000 Ibs.

Single vehicle = 40,001 Ibs. | $118.75

More than one vehicle $118.75

Extra Labor Rates

All Vehicles $36.00 per person/hr.
Specialized
Labor or Equipment
All Vehicles Actual Costs + 25%

Length of Vehicle

Outdoor Storage
Rates

Single vehicle < 20 ft.

$18.00/ 24-hrs

Single or combination of
vehicles 20 — 30 ft.

$24.00/ 24-hrs

Single or combination of
vehicles > 30 ft. in length
and < 8 ft. in width

$30.00/ 24-hrs

Single or combination of
vehicles > 30 ft. in length
and > 8 ft. in width

$42.00/ 24-hrs

10Oklahoma Statutes Title 47 — 953.1

20CC Maximum Wrecker Rates

30CC Nonconsensual Towing Fuel Surcharge

'0CC Order Number #605104

2Oklahoma Statutes Title 47 - 954A; The previous
version the compendium did not include this law,
since amended in this version.



http://www.oklegislature.gov/osstatuestitle.aspx
https://oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/occ/documents/tr/nonconsensualtowing/nonconsensual-towing-rate-chart.pdf
https://oklahoma.gov/occ/divisions/transportation/nonconsensual-towing/nonconsensual-towing-fuel-surcharge.html
https://oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/occ/documents/tr/nonconsensualtowing/nonconsensual-towing-occ-order-605104.pdf
https://www.oscn.net/applications/oscn/DeliverDocument.asp?CiteID=83012

Oregon

There are no state-wide maximum towing or storage
rates in Oregon.

State Police officers shall use the non-preference
towing rotational list when no choice or preference of
towing company is stated by the motor carrier.’

Towing companies must have signed authorization
from the private property owner to tow an
unauthorized vehicle.?

No towing company shall solicit business at or within
1,000 feet of a crashed or disabled vehicle unless
they have a pre-negotiated payment agreement
between with a motor vehicle road service company.?

No towing company shall park their tow vehicles
within 1,000 feet of a parking facility for the purpose of
monitoring for towing business.2

No towing company shall require, as a condition of
releasing a vehicle or personal property within, that
the motor carrier agree not to dispute the reason for
the tow, the validity or amount of charges, or the
responsibility of the towing company for the condition
of the motor vehicle or personal property in the motor
vehicle.?

Prior to removing an improperly parked vehicle the
towing company must take at least one photograph
showing how the vehicle was parked at the time the
company arrived at the scene. The photograph shall
be provided to the motor vehicle owner upon request
at no additional charge.?

'Oregon Administrative Code Chapter 257-050
20regon Revised Statutes Chapter 98.854
30regon Revised Statutes Chapter 98.853

Pennsylvania

There are no statewide maximum towing rates in
Pennsylvania.

Storage charges for the nonconsensual removal of
vehicles from private property, if not set by local
municipalities, are set at a maximum charge of $25
per day."

All charges shall be itemized, and payment can be
made with cash, credit card, or insurance check.’

The motor carrier shall have their choice of towing
company unless their choice cannot respond to the
scene in a timely fashion and the vehicle is a hazard,
impedes the flow of traffic, or cannot legally remain at
its location.

Towing companies shall only perform services from
the scene of an accident if summoned there by the
motor carrier or law enforcement.’

As a condition of towing from an accident, no towing
company can secure the signature of the vehicle



https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=810
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors098.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors098.html

operator to authorize repair or storage for more than
24 hours."

"Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes Title 75-3353

"Pennsylvania Towing and Towing Facility Standards

Act

Rhode Island

Maximum rates for nonconsensual tows are set by the

Rhode Island Division of Public Utilities and Carriers

(RIPUC).!

RIDPUC only regulates light- and medium-duty towing
(vehicles under 15,000 Ibs.); heavy-duty towing is not

regulated.

*Police-ordered tows are inclusive of all incidental

charges, the first five miles of on-hook milage, the first

hour of site work, and the first 24 hours of storage.
Private property trespass tows are inclusive of all

incidental charges, all on-hook milage, the first hour of

site work, and the first 24 hours of storage.
**Inclusive of all incidental charges and the first hour

of site work.
GVWR Towing to Company’s Lot*
<8,000 Ibs. $125.00 Flat Fee

8,001 — 15,000 Ibs.

$145.00 Flat Fee

Milage Rate to Company’s
Lot

<8,000 Ibs.

$3.50/mi

8,001 — 15,000 Ibs.

$3.50/mi

Towing to Other Site**

<8,000 Ibs.

$100.00 Flat Fee

8,001 — 15,000 Ibs.

$120.00 Flat Fee

Milage Rate to Other Site

<8,000 Ibs.

$7.00/mi

8,001 — 15,000 Ibs.

$8.00/mi

Extra Laborer

<8,000 Ibs.

$65.00/hr

8,001 — 15,000 Ibs.

$65.00/hr

Additional Time on Scene

<8,000 Ibs.

$100/hr

8,001 — 15,000 Ibs.

$100/hr

Motor Carriers shall have their choice of towing
company as long as their choice does not cause a
continuation of traffic congestion or hazardous
conditions that the police officer is able to eliminate by
other means.'

To remove trespassing vehicles from private property
the towing company must have written directions from
the property owner to remove the vehicle to a private
impoundment lot within 10 miles of the point of
removal.?

Complaints regarding nonconsensual towing can be
filed directly with the RIPUC.

RIPUC How to File a Complaint:
https://ripuc.ri.gov/consumer-information/how-file-

complaint



https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/WUdOC2kJ6qcVrnG0tntKCB?domain=legis.state.pa.us
https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/N1K8C31J7rTX3LMWsqkq8f?domain=legis.state.pa.us
https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/N1K8C31J7rTX3LMWsqkq8f?domain=legis.state.pa.us
https://ripuc.ri.gov/consumer-information/how-file-complaint
https://ripuc.ri.gov/consumer-information/how-file-complaint

Length Storage Charges

<20 ft. $35.00/24 hrs.

>20 ft. $45.00/24 hrs.

'RIPUC Tow Tariff Rates

'Rhode Island General Laws Title 39-12.1-3
2Rhode Island General Laws Title 39-12.1-12

South Carolina

There are no statewide maximum towing or storage
rates in South Carolina.

Fees charged for Highway Patrol rotation list services
must be "reasonable" for both towing (including
heavy-duty and special operations) and storage.
Standards for judging reasonableness are available
on the state's Department of Public Safety's website
under Wrecker Regulations FAQ. Only wrecker
services on the rotation list are subject to regulations
governing fees."

Towing companies shall provide an itemized
statement of charges upon release of the vehicle.’

The motor carrier of a wrecked or disabled vehicle
may request a towing company of their choice, but the
investigating officer can use their best judgement to
deny the request if it will impair timely restoration of
safe traffic movement.’

If a towing company responds with a heavier wrecker
class than requested, they can still complete the
service but may only charge rates for the requested
classification.’

Towing companies shall comply with laws barring the
solicitation of business from the occupant of a vehicle
while standing on the highway."

If a motor carrier requests payment using a major
credit card, only towing companies called from the
rotation list that accept payment by major credit card
will be utilized."

When there is a dispute between the motor carrier
and the rotation list wrecker regarding storage fees or
charges, the motor carrier must provide the wrecker
with a written notification of dispute. The wrecker
service must cease storage charges until the dispute
is settled.’

Complaints are to be received within 30 days of the
incident and directed to the Captain of the Highway
Patrol Troop where the incident occurred. Below is a
link to the contact information for each Troop."

Troop Contact Information:
https://scdps.sc.gov/schp/contact/troops

'SCDPS Wrecker Regulations Frequently Asked
Questions

'South Carolina Code of Regulations Chapter 38-600

1South Carolina Code of Regulations Chapter 38-600

South Dakota

There are no statewide maximum towing or storage
rates in South Dakota.

No lien on contents of a vehicle taken into custody
shall exceed $500.

1South Dakota Codified Laws Title 32-30-18

Tennessee

Rates for towing companies on the Tennessee
Highway Patrol (THP) rotation list are not to exceed
the maximum rate approved by THP on their
Tow/Storage Rates Disclosure Form (SF-1118)."

Tows not from the rotation list are not to exceed the
maximum fee approved by the THP for the same
services.?

There shall be no hook-up fees, charges for normal
highway clean-up, or charges for administrative work
in rotation list towing. Charging for storage rates
begins 24 hours after the vehicle has been towed.?

An itemized invoice shall be prepared for all charges.'

Cargo contained in towed vehicles shall be released
to the motor carrier upon request unless a member of
Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland
Security (DOSHS) orders otherwise. Towing
companies shall not charge for the release of cargo
during normal business hours.’

Motor carrier requests for a specific towing company
shall be honored unless the requested company
cannot respond in a reasonable time or the vehicle
poses and immediate traffic hazard, as determined by
the THP member.!

Motor carriers can file a written complaint with the
Highway Patrol District where the towing incident took
place.’

Each THP District has a District Wrecker Lieutenant
who is responsible for investigating complaints and is
to make recommendations to the DOSHS
Commissioner concerning complaint resolution.

Contact Information for THP Districts:
https://www.tn.gov/safety/tnhp/thpcontacts.html



https://ripuc.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur841/files/utilityinfo/motorcarriers/18-MC-94---2021-Tow-Tariff---Attachment-A.pdf
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE39/39-12.1/39-12.1-3.htm
http://webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE39/39-12.1/39-12.1-12.htm
https://scdps.sc.gov/schp/contact/troops
https://scdps.sc.gov/schp/wrecker-regs/faq
https://scdps.sc.gov/schp/wrecker-regs/faq
https://www.scstatehouse.gov/coderegs/Chapter%2038.pdf
https://www.scstatehouse.gov/coderegs/Chapter%2038.pdf
https://sdlegislature.gov/Statutes/32-30-18
https://www.tn.gov/safety/tnhp/thpcontacts.html

Towing companies are prohibited from arriving at the
scene of an accident without a call from the Highway
Patrol or the owner/operator of the vehicle."

For private property tows, the towing company must
have expressed written authorization from the
property owner before the vehicle is towed.?

"THP Towing Service Standards Manual
2Tennessee Code Title 55-23-103

"THP Towing Service Standards Manual
2Tennessee Code Title 55-16-112

1THP Towing Service Standards Manual

Texas The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation All nonconsensual towing fees must be directly Complaints regarding private-property nonconsensual
(TDLR) regulates towing and storage.’ related to towing and itemized on the invoice as towing can be filed with the TDLR.
labeled on the non-consent towing fee schedule.’
Only nonconsensual private property tows have rate TDLR Complaint Form:
caps in Texas. All other types of nonconsensual tows, | Drivers are allowed to remove any personal https://www.tdIr.texas.gov/complaints/ComplaintForm.
however — including incident management tows — are | belongings in the vehicle, unless otherwise indicated aspx?strRadiobutton=Vehicle%20Towing
only allowed to charge for services listed on the non- by a law enforcement officer.?
consent towing fee schedule.?
GVWR Towing Rate Towing companies must have written authorization
from the parking facility owner or operator confirming
=10,000 Ibs. $272.00 that the vehicle is unlawfully parked prior to removing
10.001 - 24,999 $380.00 the vehicle.®
Ibs.
225,000 Ibs. $489/unit or
$978.00 maximum fee
Length Storage Rate
<25 ft. $21.03/day
>25 ft. $36.80/day
'Texas Code Chapter 2308 '"TDLR Towing at a Glance TDLR Consumer Information about Towing
2TDLR Towing Fees and Other Charges 2Texas Administrative Code Title 16-85.708
TDLR Towing at a Glance 3Texas Occupations Code 2308.255
Utah Maximum rates for nonconsensual towing are set by All nonconsensual tows must be reported to the Utah Complaints regarding nonconsensual tows can be

the Utah Department of Transportation (DOT)."

A towing company may charge a Fuel Surcharge fee
when the daily Rocky Mountain Average for price of
fuel reaches $3.25/gallon. This surcharge can equal
3% of base tow rate and an additional 3% increase
will be allowed for every $0.25/gallon increase.?

GVWR Tow Truck Service

<10,000 Ibs.

Police-Generated $194.00/hr

Private-Property Impound | $194.00 maximum

10,001 — 26,000 Ibs.

Police-Generated $323.00/hr

Private-Property Impound | $323.00 maximum

>26,000 Ibs.

Police-Generated $401.00/hr

Motor Vehicle Division via the Impound Vehicle
System before payment can be collected and before
storage fees are charged.’

Towing companies must accept credit and/or debit
cards as forms of payment.’

filed with the Utah DOT.

Utah DOT Complaint Form:
https://app.udot.utah.gov/public/mcs/f?p=345:3::::3



https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/safety/documents/Towing_Service_Standards_Manual.pdf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=2b1856ae-9b81-458e-9260-346ee25ebf13&nodeid=ACCAAXAAD&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FACC%2FACCAAX%2FACCAAXAAD&level=3&haschildren=&populated=false&title=55-23-103.+Fee+for+storage+beyond+21+days+%E2%80%94+Consent+or+notice+required+%E2%80%94+Release+of+vehicle+%E2%80%94+%E2%80%9CReasonable+charges%E2%80%9D+defined.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TSY0-R03M-80H1-00008-00&ecomp=7gf5kkk&prid=8c044832-b0a3-4d5b-8919-0142a5e1bcc6
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/safety/documents/Towing_Service_Standards_Manual.pdf
https://advance.lexis.com/documentpage/?pdmfid=1000516&crid=6e1b4288-3154-47c4-9886-fc2165d6d3cd&nodeid=ACCAAQAAM&nodepath=%2FROOT%2FACC%2FACCAAQ%2FACCAAQAAM&level=3&haschildren=&populated=false&title=55-16-112.+Written+authorization+required+for+towing+or+storage+of+motor+vehicle.&config=025054JABlOTJjNmIyNi0wYjI0LTRjZGEtYWE5ZC0zNGFhOWNhMjFlNDgKAFBvZENhdGFsb2cDFQ14bX2GfyBTaI9WcPX5&pddocfullpath=%2Fshared%2Fdocument%2Fstatutes-legislation%2Furn%3AcontentItem%3A4X8K-TSY0-R03M-80CX-00008-00&ecomp=7gf5kkk&prid=b5f787a9-0157-4837-ae6e-210638497480
https://www.tn.gov/content/dam/tn/safety/documents/Towing_Service_Standards_Manual.pdf
https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/complaints/ComplaintForm.aspx?strRadiobutton=Vehicle%20Towing
https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/complaints/ComplaintForm.aspx?strRadiobutton=Vehicle%20Towing
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/OC/htm/OC.2308.htm
https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/towing/compliance/vsf/fees.htm#towing-fees
https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/media/pdf/TOW%20at%20a%20Glance.pdf
https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/media/pdf/TOW%20at%20a%20Glance.pdf
https://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.TacPage?sl=R&app=9&p_dir=&p_rloc=&p_tloc=&p_ploc=&pg=1&p_tac=&ti=16&pt=4&ch=85&rl=708
https://statutes.capitol.texas.gov/Docs/OC/htm/OC.2308.htm#2308.255
https://www.tdlr.texas.gov/towing/consumerinfo.htm
https://app.udot.utah.gov/public/mcs/f?p=345:3::::3

Private-Property Impound | $401.00 maximum
Storage
(Outside)
<10,000 Ibs. $40.00/hr
10,001 — 26,000 Ibs. $60.00/hr
>26,000 $60.00/hr

1Utah Consumer Bill of Rights Regarding Towing
2Utah Administrative Code Title 909-19-11

1Utah Consumer Bill of Rights Regarding Towing

1Utah Consumer Bill of Rights Regarding Towing

Vermont There are no state-wide maximum towing or storage The motor carrier shall have their choice of towing
rates in Vermont. company unless, in the opinion of the law
enforcement officer, their choice cannot respond to
the scene in a timely fashion and the vehicle or cargo
is a hazard, impedes the flow of traffic, or may not
remain in its location legally.
Towing companies shall not perform services at the
scene of a crash or disabled vehicle unless
summoned to the scene by the motor carrier, or a law
enforcement officer."
'Vermont Statutes Title 23-1102
Virginia There are no state-wide maximum towing or storage Towing companies shall keep records of itemized For police towing of a vehicle of 26,000 Ibs. GVWR or
fees in Virginia, with the following exception.’ fees.! greater, if the total of the invoice exceeds $10,000,
the towing company shall include the phone number
There are statewide limitations on hook-up and initial Law-enforcement officers are to make a “police towing | and website address for the Division of Consumer
towing fees (no greater than $150), but these request” when the motor carrier has made no specific | Counsel. Towing companies that fail to include this
limitations only apply to: towing company request.? contact information will be fined a penalty of $1,000."
a) passenger vehicles and
b) in absence of any other local ordinances. Any lien created by performing towing services does Complaints regarding nonconsensual towing can be
not extend to any personal property or cargo not filed with the Division of Consumer Counsel of the
attached to or considered necessary for the operation | Office of the Attorney General 2
of the vehicle, which the motor carrier shall be
permitted to access.? Division of Consumer Council Consumer Protection
Towing Complaint Form:
No vehicle shall be removed from or rendered http://www.oag.state.va.us/files/ConsumerProtection/
immobile on private property without written Towing_Complaint_Form.pdf
authorization by the property owner.*
Towing companies shall accept cash, insurance
check, certified check, money order, and at least two
commonly used nationally recognized credit cards for
payment and release of vehicles.?
Virginia Code Title 46.2-1233.1 Virginia Code Title 46.2-118 Virginia Code Title 46.2-1217.1
2\/irginia Code Title 46.2-1217 2\/irginia Code Title 46.2-118
3Virginia Code Title 46.2-644.01
4Virginia Code Title 46.2-1216
Washington The Washington State Patrol sets rates for tows done | ltemized receipts of all charges for services are to be | Complaints for vehicles towed by the WSP can be

under their jurisdiction. Washington has
classifications for tow trucks depending on the

provided.'

sent to the following email address:
TowWreckingComplaint@wsp.wa.gov



https://site.utah.gov/connect/wp-content/uploads/sites/50/2022/12/Tow-Truck-Bill-of-Rights-Combined-2023.pdf
https://adminrules.utah.gov/public/rule/R909-19/Current%20Rules?searchText=Non-Consent%20Towing%20Fee
https://site.utah.gov/connect/wp-content/uploads/sites/50/2022/12/Tow-Truck-Bill-of-Rights-Combined-2023.pdf
https://site.utah.gov/connect/wp-content/uploads/sites/50/2022/12/Tow-Truck-Bill-of-Rights-Combined-2023.pdf
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/23/013/01102
http://www.oag.state.va.us/files/ConsumerProtection/Towing_Complaint_Form.pdf
http://www.oag.state.va.us/files/ConsumerProtection/Towing_Complaint_Form.pdf
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter12/section46.2-1233.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter1/section46.2-118/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter12/section46.2-1217/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter6/section46.2-644.01/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter12/section46.2-1216/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter12/section46.2-1217.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter1/section46.2-119/
mailto:TowWreckingComplaint@wsp.wa.gov

features and equipment of the vehicle, details of
which can be found under Washington Administrative
Code Title 204-91A-170."

The basic storage rate must be the same for all
vehicles under 20 feet in length. For vehicles over 20
feet, the rate must be calculated by multiplying each
20 feet or portion thereof by the basic storage fee for
vehicles under 20 feet.

Private impounds for class A, E, or D tows are not to
exceed 135% of the maximum towing hourly rates
and storage rates negotiated with the WSP. These
limits only apply to vehicles that are upright with all
tires attached.?

*For class B-2 trucks, the 30,000 Ibs. Gross Vehicle
Weight Rating (GVWR) or more with air brakes rates
applies only if the vehicle being towed has a GVWR
between 26,000 Ibs. and 33,000 Ibs.3

**Only for those tows part of the Washington
Department of Transportation’s (DOT) Major Incident
Tow Incentive program (MIT).

Class Tow Rates
ClassA & E $250.00/hr
Class A & E Rotator | $355.00/hr
Class B $307.00/hr
Class B Rotator $428.00/hr
Class B-2* $412.00/hr
Class B-2 Rotator $575.00/hr
Class C $532.00/hr
Class C Rotator $746.00/hr
Class S1
(40+ Ton Rotator) $890.00/hr
Class S** $534.00/hr
Length Basic Storage Rate
<20 ft. $66.00/day
$66.00 x (vehicle
U length/20)/day
Additional Labor
$127.00/hr per Registered Tow
Al ClEsess Truck Operator (RTTO)

If a damaged or disabled vehicle is to be removed, a
motor carrier may make a specific request for a
particular towing company that the patrol officer will
honor if the requested company is reasonably
available and the request is reasonable for the
circumstances of the incident scene.?

The towing company must have written authorization
from the private property owner at the time and place
of impound before removing an unauthorized vehicle.®

Vehicles shall be released upon payment of towing,
storage, and related costs, which can be made using
any major bank credit cards.*

Personal belongings, including both personal property
and contents of the vehicle, shall be returned to the
motor carrier and vehicle driver.3

Washington Administrative Code Title 204-91A-170

Washington Administrative Code Title 204-91A-180

Revised Code of Washington Title 46.55.118
2\Washington Administrative Code Title 204-91A-140

2\Washington Administrative Code Title 204-91A-150
3Washington Revised Code Title 46.55.090

3Washington DOT MIT Program Handbook
Washington State Police Tow Rates

4Washington Revised Code Title 46.55.120



https://app.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=204-91A-170#:%7E:text=Classes%20%22A%2C%22%20%22B,these%20requests%20unless%20the%20operator
https://app.leg.wa.gov/rcw/default.aspx?cite=46.55.118
https://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=204-91A-140
https://wsdot.wa.gov/sites/default/files/2021-10/Majorincidenttowhandbook.pdf
https://www.wsp.wa.gov/driver/commercial-vehicle-driver/tow-wrecking/
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=204-91A-180&pdf=true
https://app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=204-91A-150&pdf=true
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.55.090&pdf=true
https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.55.120&pdf=true

West Virginia

Maximum rates for nonconsensual (“third-party")
tows, both non-accident and accident/recovery, are
set by the West Virginia Public Service Commission
(PSC)."

For accident/recovery tows, rates are to include the
wrecker, driver, and any specialized equipment with a
purchase cost of $500 or less.

If multiple wrecker vehicles are called to assist at the
scene of an accident but those wreckers are not used
for work that requires multiple wreckers, then they
shall be charged at the non-accident rates.

More regulated services and rates can be seen on the
Maximum Statewide Wrecker Rate sheet.

*If stored outside of original transport container unit.

GVWR Accident/Recovery Tow
(Towed Vehicle) Service Rates

<7,000 lbs. $160.00/hr
7,001 — 10,000 Ibs. $267.00/hr
10,001 — 26,000 Ibs. | $374.00/hr
226,001 Ibs.

Tractor $134.00/hr

20-39 Ton $620.00/hr

Wrecker

40-60 Ton $858.00/hr

Wrecker

30-85 Ton $1,069.00/hr

Rotator Wrecker

Non-Accident Tow Service

Rates
<7,000 Ibs. $102.00/hr
7,001 — 10,000 Ibs. $138.00/hr
10,001 — 26,000 Ibs. | $211.00/hr
226,001 Ibs. $332.00/hr
Outside Storage

<7,000 Ibs. $27.00/day
7,001 — 10,000 Ibs. $32.00/day
>10,000 Ibs. $37.00/day
Semi-trailers and $50.00/day
buses

Cargo* $50.00/day

Refrigerated cargo

$50.00/day

Invoicing for towing and storage shall have itemized
charges.!

In no case shall the charge for a wrecker used in a
third-party tow be greater than the charge for a
wrecker of the capacity needed to perform the
service.'

Complaints regarding nonconsensual towing can be
made to the PSC. If the complaint is supported, the
towing company can be required to refund part or all
of the charges for the service.'

PSC Complaints procedure:
http://www.psc.state.wv.us/complaints/ConsumerCom
plaintProcedures.htm



http://www.psc.state.wv.us/complaints/ConsumerComplaintProcedures.htm
http://www.psc.state.wv.us/complaints/ConsumerComplaintProcedures.htm

Additional Labor

All Vehicles $53.00 per person/hr

1PSC Maximum Wrecker Rate Sheet

TWest Virginia Administrative Code Agency 150-9-6

West Virginia Administrative Code Agency 150-9-6

Wisconsin

Wisconsin has statewide maximum rates for
nonconsensual towing and storage but only for
vehicles under 10,000 Ibs. GVWR towed from private
property.’

*Any removal using a flatbed, hook and chain, wheel-
lift, boom, or any other method.

GVWR Vehicle Removal*

<10,000 Ibs. $150.00 total

Outdoor Storage

<10,000 Ibs. $25/24 hrs

"Wisconsin Administrative Code Chapter 319.03

Wyoming

There are no statewide maximum towing or storage
rates in Wyoming except for those that apply to
vehicles abandoned on public property."

Towing companies performing services based on calls
from the Wyoming Highway Patrol’'s (WHP) rotation
list must include an itemization of all towing, recovery,
storage, and other service charges on the invoice."

Towing companies called to respond to a WHP-
initiated nonconsensual tow shall release all personal
belongings in the vehicle at no additional charge prior
to the payment of any accrued charges. This does
not apply to contracted loads.?

WHP officers, if reasonable, shall grant motor carriers
use of a preferred towing company for a
nonconsensual tow. However, tows performed by the
preferred towing company are not considered
nonconsensual and are no longer protected under
nonconsensual towing regulations.’

Towing companies called by the WHP shall have the
ability to accept multiple payment options either by
credit card, debit card, COMcheck, or cash at the
business facility.’

All towing companies on the WHP rotation list are
strictly prohibited from “chasing” or “running” of any
crashes or breakdowns as well as from soliciting
business at the scene of a crash or disabled vehicle
when not specifically summoned.’

Complaints regarding WHP initiated tows can be filed
with the Tow & Recovery Program Coordinator.

WHP Towing Complaint Form:
https://www.whp.dot.state.wy.us/files/live/sites/whp/file
s/shared/Trucking/(TR-8)%20Complaint%20Form.pdf

"Wyoming Statutes Title 31-13-111

"WHP Operations and Administrative Procedures for
Tow and Recovery Carrier

2Wyoming Admin. Code Dept. of Transportation
Motor Carrier Chapter 1.2



http://www.psc.state.wv.us/Information/MaximumStatewideWreckerRates.pdf
https://apps.sos.wv.gov/adlaw/csr/readfile.aspx?DocId=54992&Format=PDF
https://apps.sos.wv.gov/adlaw/csr/readfile.aspx?DocId=54992&Format=PDF
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/319/03#:%7E:text=%2D1%2D16.-,Trans%20319.03%20Charges%20for%20towing%20and%20storage.,from%20private%20property%20under%20s.
https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/W_zzC1w75pt6g3D2cLlVKD?domain=whp.dot.state.wy.us
https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/W_zzC1w75pt6g3D2cLlVKD?domain=whp.dot.state.wy.us
https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/JMEMC2kJ6qcVr1JPh1kSKB?domain=wyoleg.gov
https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/k8rfC31J7rTX3qJ6i2_P9a?domain=whp.dot.state.wy.us
https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/k8rfC31J7rTX3qJ6i2_P9a?domain=whp.dot.state.wy.us
https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/NDzIC4xKgvszPgQMcW1u3e?domain=rules.wyo.gov
https://protect-us.mimecast.com/s/NDzIC4xKgvszPgQMcW1u3e?domain=rules.wyo.gov

APPENDIX C: TOWING SURVEY QUESTIONS
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Virginia Towing Cost Survey

INTRODUCTION

As directed by the 2024 Regular Session Acts of Assembly Chapter 245 (Senate Bill
450), the Virginia State Corporation Commission (SCC) is conducting a study to
evaluate the maximum allowable rates for private property trespass towing. Private
consulting firms have been selected to assist the SCC with the study including the
development and distribution of this survey.

This survey is being distributed to the towing industry and is an opportunity to
provide input from towing companies throughout Virginia. Your responses are an
important part of the study and will be used for general cost evaluations.

For questions or comments regarding the survey, please contact:

VirginiaTowingStudy@gmail.com

Virginia Towing Cost Survey

SURVEY INSTRUCTIONS

o Compete the survey no later than September 6th, 2024.

o The survey will take approximately 30-45 minutes to complete.

¢ Questions are presented using a variety of formats (multiple choice, drop-down,
and fill in the blank).

¢ Use your best judgement and estimate for each question. However, if readily
available, use historical costs.

¢ You will have the option to skip individual questions.

¢ You will be able to go back and change answers prior to submitting the survey.

¢ You will have an opportunity (optional) to provide your contact information at
the end of the survey.

¢ Your responses will remain confidential and will only be used for general cost
trends and evaluations.

¢ When completed, submit your responses using the Done Tab at the end of the
survey. Once submitted, further edits will no longer be possible.

¢ Only submit one survey response per company.

Virginia Towing Cost Survey

TOWING COMPANY CHARACTERISTICS



1. What services does your business provide (check all that apply):
Towing
Roadside Assistance
Vehicle Storage (Tow Lots)
Auto Repair or Body Shop

Other Business Services: (please specify)

SKIP - None of Above or Prefer not to Answer

2. What percentage of total revenues are from towing services (all types of towing):

0% 50 % 100 %

3. What types of towing services does your company provide (check all that apply):

Vehicle Owner Requested (mechanical breakdowns, weather, etc.)
Auto Club (AAA) - Towing and Roadside Assistance

Trespass - Private Property Towing

Repossession Towing

Police Requested (accidents, impound, parking, etc.)

Other (please specify)

SKIP - Don't Know or Prefer Not to Answer

4. Estimate the total number of tows (all types) that your business provides in a year:

0-1,499 15,000 - 19,999
1,500 - 4,999 20,000 or More
5,000 - 9,999

10,000 - 14,999

Other (please specify)

SKIP - Do Not Know or Prefer Not to Answer

5. On average, how many tows (all types) does an individual tow truck provide in a year:


https://createweb-export.authoring.shipyard.prod.us-west-2.momentive.internal/create/survey/view?sm=8TLfmdxh9uLdGnCe10rICUp6I0t3_2Biy1PQc361l_2FPiKJVrS6qvkNQhUIlCknbIvh&include_border=False&include_images=True&include_survey_title=True&exclude_page_breaks=True&no_theme=True&print_orientation=Portrait&page_size=Letter#

6. Of the total number of tows per year, what percentage are private property trespass tows:

0% 50% 100%

{

(J

7. For private property trespass tows, what percentage are light duty (GVWR < 10,000 lbs):

0% 50 % 100 %

Virginia Towing Cost Survey

TOWING TIMES
The following questions are for private property trespass tows only.

8. What percentage of private property trespass tows are initiated by: (answers must add up
to 100):

% Property Monitoring
(Roaming)

% Dispatch (owner
requested)

9. On average, what is the total time to complete a private property trespass tow? For this
question, total time includes dispatch time, loading vehicle, delivery/unloading vehicle, and
completing paperwork.

(") 0-15 Minutes
() 16-30 Minutes
O 31-45 Minutes
O 45-60 Minutes
O > 60 Minutes

O SKIP - Don't Know or Prefer Not to Answer

10. Do you maintain towing records that show arrival and drop-off times, locations, and other
towing information?

O Yes
O No

O SKIP - Prefer Not to Answer

Virginia Towing Cost Survey



https://createweb-export.authoring.shipyard.prod.us-west-2.momentive.internal/create/survey/view?sm=8TLfmdxh9uLdGnCe10rICUp6I0t3_2Biy1PQc361l_2FPiKJVrS6qvkNQhUIlCknbIvh&include_border=False&include_images=True&include_survey_title=True&exclude_page_breaks=True&no_theme=True&print_orientation=Portrait&page_size=Letter#
https://createweb-export.authoring.shipyard.prod.us-west-2.momentive.internal/create/survey/view?sm=8TLfmdxh9uLdGnCe10rICUp6I0t3_2Biy1PQc361l_2FPiKJVrS6qvkNQhUIlCknbIvh&include_border=False&include_images=True&include_survey_title=True&exclude_page_breaks=True&no_theme=True&print_orientation=Portrait&page_size=Letter#

TOWING DISTANCES
The following questions are for private property trespass towing only:

11. What is the average distance driven to arrive on site for a private property trespass tow
after receiving a call from dispatch?

0 Miles 25 Miles 50 Miles or More

oy
L

12. What is the average distance driven to deliver a loaded vehicle to a storage yard?

0 Miles 25 Miles 50 Miles or More

7
/ |
LY

13. Where are tow trucks typically dispatched from for private property trespass tows?
O Tow Office or Storage Lot
O Tow Driver's Home
O Roaming Location

O Other (please specify)

O SKIP - Don't know or Prefer Not to Answer

14. Where do you store tow trucks when not in use?
O Driver's Home
O Towing Business Office
O Storage Yard

O Other (please specify)

O SKIP - Don't know or prefer not to answer

15. What is the average number of miles driven per year on a Tow Truck?

Miles/Year
Light Duty (GVWR ( ]
<10,000 lbs) L J

Medium Duty (GVWR -
10,000 -26,000 1bs) | v

Heavy Duty (GVWR> ( ]
26,000 1bs)

Virginia Towing Cost Survey
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TOWING INDUSTRY PERSPECTIVES

16. How strongly do you believe an increase is needed for the statutory maximum allowable

rate for private property trespass tows (currently at $150)?

O Strongly Disagree - A rate increase is NOT needed
O Disagree - A rate increase is NOT needed

O Neutral - No opinion

O Agree - A rate increase is needed

O Strongly Agree - A rate increase is needed

O SKIP - Prefer not to answer

17. Why do you believe a rate increase is or isn't needed?

18. Do you believe local municipalities (cities and counties) should be allowed to set trespass
tow rates that are lower than the statutory maximum allowable rate:

O Yes
O No

O Other (please specify)

O SKIP - Don't know or prefer not to answer

19. Why do you believe local municipalities should or shouldn't set allowable rates lower than
the statutory maximum allowable rate:

Virginia Towing Cost Survey




LABOR COSTS
Use the following definitions for the next set of questions:

Direct Employees are defined as individuals employed by the company, paid an
hourly wage and receive a W-2 statement.

Contract Employees are defined as individuals who work independently for the
company at an established fee or rate. They are typically responsible for their own
taxes and benefits and receive a 1099 statement.

20. What are the total number of direct employees for your business (include all position
types):

1-5 Direct Employees 51 or More Direct Employees
6-10 Direct Employees SKIP - Don't Know or Prefer Not to Answer

11-50 Direct Employees

21. Which of the following job position types are filled as direct employees? (check all that
apply)

Tow Drivers

Office Administrative & Dispatch

Mechanic

Accountant

Other (please specify)

SKIP - Don't Know or Prefer Not to Answer

22. What percentage of your direct employees work full time (32 or more hours per week)?

0 50% 100%

23. What percentage of your tow truck drivers are direct employees?

0% 50% 100%
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24. For the following job positions, how are they most frequently employed and compensated
(paid)?

How Compensated (Hourly, Flat Fee,

How Employed (Direct or Contract) Percentage of Tow Fee)

Tow Truck Drivers =

i

Office/Administrative

Ak

rs
L

Additional Comments (please specify)

25. For direct employees, what are the typical hourly wage ranges for the following job
classifications?

Starting Hourly Wage ($/hour) Maximum Hourly Wage ($/hour)

Tow Truck Driver ¥ ¥
Office Administrative " A
and Dispatch ¥ ¥

" "

Other: - -

Additional Comments (please specify)

26. How much do you pay contract employees for the following positions using either a flat
fee or percentage of towing fee?

Flat Fee ($/tow) Percentage (% of tow fee)
Tow Truck Driver = =
Office Administrative " "
and Dispatch v bl
Other: = =

Additional Comments (please specify)

27. How do you dispatch towing requests (calls)? (check all that apply)

Direct Employee - Office Administration
Private Dispatch Service

Other (please specify)

SKIP - Don't Know or Prefer Not to Answer



28. When used, how do you typically pay for private dispatch services?
Subscription Fee
Flat Fee - Cost per Tow
Percentage of Tow Fee
Do NOT use private dispatch services

Other (please specify)

SKIP - Don't Know or Prefer Not to Answer

29. How much do you pay in additional wages for a direct employee working a paid holiday?
Straight Time (1.0 x regular wage)
Time and Half (1.5 x regular wage)
Flat Rate per hour worked
Flat Rate per tow completed

Other (please specify)

SKIP: Don't Know or Prefer Not to Answer

30. How much do you pay in additional wages for a direct employee working night or
weekend shifts?

No Additional Compensation

Additional 10% of Base Wage Rate
Additional 20% of Base Wage Rate
Additional 30% of Base Wage Rate
Additional 40% of Base Wage Rate
Additional 50% of Base Wage Rate

Other (please specify)

SKIP: Don't Know or Prefer Not to Answer



31. For a typical tow truck driver, what percentage of their working hours are spent as direct
labor (revenue generating)?

For this question, direct labor includes working hours that directly generate revenue (towing
or other services). Deduct other working hours allocated to labor overhead (non-revenue)
such as training, meetings, idle time, and administrative work.

O 65% of Working Hours
O 70% of Working Hours
O 75% of Working Hours
O 80% of Working Hours
O 85% of Working Hours
() 90% of Working Hours
(") 95% of Working Hours
O 100% of Working Hours

O Other (please specify)

O SKIP - Don't know or Prefer Not to Answer

Virginia Towing Cost Survey

FRINGE BENEFIT COSTS
Use the following definitions for the next set of questions:

Fringe Benefits are defined as additional compensation (benefits) paid by the
employer to direct employees. Common fringe benefits include required benefits
such as social security and workers compensation insurance. Other optional fringe
benefits include health/dental care, retirement, PTO, and life insurance.

32. Which of the following optional fringe benefits do you provide to your direct employees?
(check all that apply)

D PTO - Paid Time Off (Holidays, Vacation, Sick, etc)
| | Health Insurance, Dental, and Vision

l:l Life Insurance

D Retirement Plan or 401K contribution

|| None of the Above

D Other (please specify)

D SKIP - Don't Know or Prefer Not to Answer



33. Which of the following health care benefits do you provide for your direct employees?
(check all that apply)

Medical Care Insurance
Dental Insurance
Vision Care

Other (please specify)

SKIP - Don't Know or Prefer Not to Answer

34. On average, how much do you pay monthly as the employer portion for health insurances
(health, dental, vision) per employee?

35. On average, how much do you pay per year as the employer portion for life insurance for
an individual employee?

36. What type of retirement benefits do you pay as an employer?
No Retirement Benefits
401K Match
Defined Pension

Other (please specify)

SKIP - Don't Know or Prefer Not to Answer

37. As a percentage of wages, how much do you contribute as the employer portion for an
employee's retirement (401K) benefits?

0% 10% 20% or More
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38. On average, how many hours of paid time off (PTO) do you provide your direct
employees? In your answer, include the total of vacation and sick leave. Do not include
holiday pay.

O 0 - No Leave Provided

O 1 Week per year

O 2 Weeks per year

O 3 Weeks per year

O 4 Weeks per year

O 5 Weeks per year

O Don't Know or Prefer Not to Answer

O Other (please specify)

Virginia Towing Cost Survey

TOW TRUCK EQUIPMENT COSTS

39. Please provide the total number of tow trucks (all types) your company owns:

0 50 100 or More

N
i i
L

40. If available, please list your three (3) most recent tow truck purchases:

Year Make Model - GVWR Class

Truck 1
(Year,
Make, 1 [ 1 ( ]
Model,
GVWR
Class):

Truck 2
(Year,
Make, [
Model, 1
GVWR
Class):

Truck 3
(Year,
Make, ‘
Model,
GVWR
Class:

i
L
1

L
\.‘.
L1

T
ap
“
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41. Which of the following tow truck configurations do you typically purchase for trespass
towin

Wrecker Configuration
Flatbed or Rollback

Other (please specify)

SKIP - Don't Know or Prefer Not to Answer

42. What weight class (GVWR) of truck do you most frequently purchase and use for trespass
tows:

Class 3: Example Ford F-350 with Wrecker Accessories
Class 4: Example Ford F-450, with Wrecker Accessories
Class 5: Example Ford F-550 with Wrecker Accessories
Class 6: Example Ford F-650 with Wrecker Accessories

Other (please specify)

SKIP - Don't Know or Prefer Not to Answer

43. Which of the following best describes how you typically acquire a tow truck used for
trespass towing:

Purchase to Own
Lease
Combinations or Purchase and Lease

Other (please specify)

SKIP: Don't Know or Prefer Not to Answer

44. Which best describes the "condition" of your tow truck purchases?

New - With Warranty
Used - With Warranty
Used - Without Warranty

SKIP - Don't Know or Prefer Not to Answer



45. What is the estimated purchase cost of a new wrecker tow truck for the following weight
classifications:

New Cost

Class 3 Wrecker
(GVWR 10,001 -
14,000 lbs)

Class 4 Wrecker
(GVWR 14,001 -
16,000 lbs)

Class 5 Wrecker
(GVWR: 16,001 -
19,500 lbs)

Class 6 Wrecker
(GVWR: 19,501 -
26,000 1bs)

ik

1k

L L

Other (please specify)

46. What is the typical powertrain warranty (miles) for a new class 4-5 tow truck in miles?
36,000 miles or 3 Years (gas or diesel)
60,000 miles or 5 years (gas or diesel)
100,000 miles (gas or diesel)
200,000 miles (diesel only)
350,000 miles (diesel only)

Other (please specify)

SKIP - Don't Know or Prefer Not to Answer

47. What are the average annual costs per truck for licensing, registration, and property
taxes?

$500 per year

$750 per year

$1,000 per year

$1,250 per year

$1,500 per year or more

Other (please specify)

SKIP - Don't Know or Prefer Not to Answer



48. What is the typical duration of a tow truck loan (in months):
O 12 months
O 24 months
() 36 months
O 48 months
O 60 months

O 72 months

O Other (please specify)

O SKIP - Don't Know or Prefer Not to Answer

49. What is a typical loan payment per month for a tow truck used for trespass towing?

$0/month $1,500/month $3,000/month

Y
()
—_
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TOW TRUCK MAINTENANCE COSTS

50. What are the estimated oil change costs (dollars) and frequencies (miles) for the following
truck types?

Oil Change Cost ($/change) Oil Change Frequency (miles)
Light Duty Truck: - ] -
Medium Duty Truck: b ] -
Heavy Duty Truck: b= ] -

J

Other (please specify)

51. What are the estimated tire costs (dollars) and life (miles) per tire for the following truck
types?

Tire Cost ($ per tire) Tire Life (miles)
Light Duty Truck: -l &
(per tire) L hdl \ il
Medium Duty Truck: ( 2l ( )
(per tire) \ ll bl
Heavy Duty Truck: i al al
(per tire): l v
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52. What are the estimated brake service costs (dollars) and frequencies (miles) for the
following truck types?

Brake Service Cost Brake Life Frequency (miles)

Light Duty Truck: s =
Medium Duty Truck: v -
Heavy Duty Truck: . -

Other (please specify)

53. As a total, how much do you typically spend per year on preventive maintenance for a
single tow truck?

Preventive maintenance is defined as "planned maintenance to extend the life of a truck" and
includes oil changes, brakes, timing belts, lights, wipers, etc.

Estimated Annual
Preventive
Maintenance Cost (Per
Truck):

54. How much do you typically spend per year on mechanical repairs for a single tow truck?

Mechanical repairs are defined as unplanned repairs or replacement of mechanical
components such as air conditioning, radiators, electrical, alternators, water pumps, engine
and transmission work.

Annual Repair Costs
($):

55. How much do you typically spend per year on miscellaneous towing equipment for a
single tow truck?

Miscellaneous equipment includes items such as cable, chains, tow straps, hand tools,
coveralls, gloves, and safety wear.

Annual Equip. Costs
($):

Virginia Towing Cost Survey

GENERAL OVERHEAD COSTS

56. What is an average annual cost for commercial automotive insurance per tow truck?

Commercial auto insurance applies to the coverage of the towing vehicle and equipment.

Commercial Truck
Insurance ($/yr):




57. What is the average annual cost for operator's liability insurance per tow truck?

Operator's liability insurance applies to coverages for tow cargo and other professional
liabilities related to providing towing services.

Tow Operators
Insurance ($/yr)

58. How much do you typically spend on general liability insurance per year?

General liability insurance applies to coverage for general risks in the operation and
management of a business such as general property damage and bodily injury.

General Liability Ins.
($/yr)

59. Please provide the estimated annual costs for a tow truck driver to maintain background
checks, medical exams, and CDL licensing?
0-$250 per year

$251 - $500 per year
$501 - $750 per year
$751 $1,000 per year
> $1,000 per year

Other (please specify)

SKIP - Don't Know or Prefer Not to Answer

60. How much do you spend annually on training costs for each tow truck driver?

Training Costs ($/yr)

61. How much do you spend annually for towing related software subscriptions such as
dispatch software, towing records, notification software, etc.?

Software Costs ($/yr)

62. How do you provide business office space?
Rent Office Space for Towing Only
Purchased Office Space for Towing Only
Office Space Part of Tow Storage Lot
Office Space Part of Other Business (such as Auto Repair)
Home Office Space

Other (please specify)

SKIP - Don't Know or Prefer Not to Answer



63. Does your business own a vehicle storage lot?

O Yes
O No

(") Other (please specify)

O SKIP - Don't Know or Prefer Not to Answer

64. If you rent office space, what is an average cost per square foot per year? Do not include
utilities.

Office Rent ($/SF/yr)

65. How do you provide related administrative support services such as answering phone
calls, tow record submittals, billings, and notification letters?

O Tow Driver provides

O Administrative Staff

(") Other (please specify)

66. Explain any unusual costs or trends that have affected your overhead costs in the last few
years.

67. What do you believe is a reasonable profit margin for a towing company?
0% 10% 20%

I ‘ ’
\_A
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CONTACT INFORMATION (Optional)
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68. What is the name and address of your business?

Business Name:
Address:

City:

State:

Zip Code:

Phone Number:

69. List any other business names used (DBA - Doing Business As).

DBA 1 - Company
Name:

DBA 2 - Company
Name:

70. Provide the contact information for the person completing and submitting survey
questionnaire.

Name:
Title/Position:
Phone Number:

Email:
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DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER & REGULATORY AFFAIRS

Who can tow your car or truck?

DC government officials can order public tows in
emergencies -- and when vehicles:

e are involved in accidents.

o don’t show licenses, registrations, or inspection stickers.
o are disabled (broken down).

e are parked in tow-away or other no-parking zones.

e block private driveways.

e are abandoned or threaten public health or safety.

A private property owner can order a public tow if a vehicle
is illegally parked on private property and has been ticketed.

Private tows can be requested by:

e you or someone you authorize by written agreement
with the tow company

e your lender (the company that financed your car)
o the vehicle’s driver

What can you expect from the towing company?
The towing business must:

e be licensed by the Department of Consumer and
Regulatory Affairs (DCRA) -- after DCRA investigates it,
its driving and criminal records, insurance, and surety
bond.

« follow all towing service license regulations.
¢ have a separate license to operate a towing storage lot.

e give courteous and respectful service no matter what
your car’s condition; or your race, color, religion, sex,
national origin, marital status, personal appearance,
familial status, matriculation, sexual orientation,
disability, source of income, family responsibilities,
political affiliation, age, or place of residence or
business.

e post its rate list at its storage facility.

Your Rights If Your Vehicle Is Towed

Before the tow, the company must give you or the driver:

o the Owner’s Bill of Rights for Towed Vehicles.

e a signed, itemized estimate of services the company
will provide; their costs; the location from which the car
will be towed; and operator's name, address, and
vehicle owner.

If you see your vehicle being towed, you can:

e ask to stop the tow. (If the official who ordered the tow
agrees, you must pay the operator a $50 drop fee.)

Owner’s Bill of Rights

for Towed Vehicles

After the tow, you have the right to:
e get an itemized statement of actual charges.

e get the name and account number of the towing company’s
insurance carrier. (The towing company is responsible for any
damage from a public tow.)

e get a receipt, copy of the ticket or legal authority to tow the
car, DPW towing control number, and the Owner’s Bill of
Rights.

e pay by cash; insurance draft; money order; bank or certified
check; or credit card (at least 2 nationally-known).

e inspect your vehicle at the storage facility; however, you
cannot remove any personal property from the vehicle without
authorization of the tow company.

¢ have no repairs made to your vehicle unless you authorize
them in writing.

¢ have the vehicle released to you when you prove your
identity and ownership and pay all charges.

How much can a towing company charge for a public tow?

Standard: vehicles under 8,000 lbs  No more than..
Preparation, hoist, tow to a place in DC $100 per tow

-duty: vehicles over 8,000 lbs No more than..
Preparation, hoist, tow to a place in DC $275 per tow

Services No more than..
Road service $50 per visit
Disconnect (drop) fee $50
Storage fee* $20 per day
Extra Charges (for accident sites or Operator may collect - but
other special situations) get DCRA approval within
72 hours
* Daily storage fees start when the vehicle gets to the storage lot.

What if you’re towed for not paying tickets?

Pay online at dmv.dc.gov; by mail to the address on the ticket;
or at DMV Adjudication Services, 95 M Street, SW,
Washington, DC 20024. Take proof of payment to the towing
storage lot to claim your car. You may also have to pay towing
and storage fees.

If an agency ordered a public tow of your car, how
can you find it?

Call DC’s Towing Control Dispatcher: (202) 541-6083.

Where can you complain about a towing company?

* * K Muriel Bowser

WE ARE Mayor, Government of the District of Columbia
ASHICTON Melinda Bolling

Director, Department of Consumer and
Regulatory Affairs

dcra.dc.gov

A



http://www.dmv.dc.gov/
http://dcra.dc.gov/
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