## COAL AND ENERGY COMMISSION EXECUTIVE SUMMARY OF 2024 INTERIM ACTIVITY AND WORK

January 2025

## I. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

Chapter 25 (§ 30-188 et seq.) of Title 30 of the Code of Virginia establishes the Coal and Energy Commission (the Commission). The Commission is charged with generally studying all aspects of coal as an energy resource and endeavoring to stimulate, encourage, promote, and assist in the development of renewable and alternative energy resources other than petroleum.

The Commission's membership is composed of Delegates Terry G. Kilgore, Israel D. O'Quinn, James W. (Will) Morefield, Alfonso H. Lopez, Richard C. (Rip) Sullivan, Michelle Lopes Maldonado, Katrina E. Callsen, and Michael J. Jones and Senators David W. Marsden, Barbara A. Favola, David R. Suetterlein, T. Travis Hackworth, and Todd E. Pillion.

The Commission did not meet during 2024 and has not met since 2021. There is no statutory requirement for the Commission to meet at least once annually, or with any other frequency.

This executive summary of the interim activity and work of the Commission is submitted pursuant to § 30-189 of the Code of Virginia and is provided in lieu of an annual report.