REPORT OF THE

STATE WATER COMMISSION

TO THE GOVERNOR AND THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF VIRGINIA



COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA
RICHMOND
2023

MEMBERS

Delegate David L. Bulova, Chairman Senator Frank M. Ruff, Jr., Vice-Chairman

Senator Lynwood W. Lewis, Jr.
Senator T. Montgomery "Monty" Mason
Senator J. Chapman Petersen
Senator Scott A. Surovell

Delegate Paul E. Krizek
Delegate Alfonso H. Lopez
Delegate Daniel W. Marshall III
Delegate Margaret B. Ransone
Delegate Kathy K.L. Tran
Delegate R. Lee Ware
Delegate Thomas C. Wright, Jr.

STAFF

Division of Legislative Services
Anissa Cottrell, Staff Attorney
Scott Meacham, Senior Attorney
Nathan Smith, Legal Analyst

Office of the Clerk of the House of Delegates
Cathy Hooe, Committee Operations Director

STATE WATER COMMISSION EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

The following executive summary serves as the 2023 Report of the State Water Commission.

The State Water Commission (the Commission) is a 15-member legislative body established by statute that is charged with (i) studying all aspects of water supply and allocation problems in the Commonwealth, (ii) coordinating the legislative recommendations of all state entities that have responsibilities with respect to water supply and allocation issues, and (iii) annually reporting its findings and recommendations to the General Assembly and the Governor. The Commission did not meet in 2022.

Additional information about the State Water Commission's activities is available through its website at http://dls.virginia.gov/commissions/swc.htm.

Respectfully submitted,

Delegate David L. Bulova, Chairman

Senator Frank M. Ruff, Jr., Vice-Chairman

Senator Lynwood W. Lewis, Jr.

Senator T. Montgomery "Monty" Mason

Senator J. Chapman Petersen

Senator Scott A. Surovell

Delegate Paul E. Krizek

Delegate Alfonso H. Lopez

Delegate Daniel W. Marshall III

Delegate Margaret B. Ransone

Delegate Kathy K.L. Tran

Delegate R. Lee Ware

Delegate Thomas C. Wright, Jr.