**REPORT OF THE** 

## COMMISSION ON UPDATING VIRGINIA Law to Reflect Federal Recognition of Virginia Tribes

TO THE GOVERNOR AND THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF VIRGINIA



Commonwealth of Virginia Richmond

## **MEMBERS**

Senator David W. Marsden Senator Ryan T. McDougle Senator Mark J. Peake

Delegate Ellen H. Campbell Delegate Paul E. Krizek Delegate Delores L. McQuinn Delegate Marcus B. Simon Delegate Shelly A. Simonds Delegate Scott A. Wyatt

Morgan Faulkner Dr. Catherine Lee Porter Chief Anne Richardson

The Honorable Kay Coles James (ex officio)

## STAFF

Division of Legislative Services Ashley Binns, Senior Attorney Nathan Smith, Legal Analyst

Office of the Clerk of the House of Delegates Cathy Hooe, Committee Operations Director

## COMMISSION ON UPDATING VIRGINIA LAW TO REFLECT FEDERAL RECOGNITION OF VIRGINIA TRIBES EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

The following executive summary serves as the 2023 Annual Report of the Commission on Updating Virginia Law to Reflect Federal Recognition of Virginia Tribes.

The Commission on Updating Virginia Law to Reflect Federal Recognition of Virginia Tribes (the Commission) was established in the legislative branch of state government for the purpose of performing a comprehensive review of Virginia law to assess ways in which it must be revised to reflect the government-to-government relationship the Commonwealth should maintain, by treaty and applicable federal law, with the sovereign, self-governing, federally recognized Tribal Nations located within the present-day external boundaries of the Commonwealth. The Commission did not meet in 2023.

Additional information about the Commission's activities is available through its website at <u>https://studies.virginiageneralassembly.gov/studies/628</u>.

Respectfully submitted,

Senator David W. Marsden Senator Ryan T. McDougle Senator Mark J. Peake Delegate Ellen H. Campbell Delegate Paul E. Krizek Delegate Delores L. McQuinn Delegate Marcus B. Simon Delegate Shelly A. Simonds Delegate Scott A. Wyatt Morgan Faulkner Dr. Catherine Lee Porter Chief Anne Richardson The Honorable Kay Coles James