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Executive Summary 

The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is responsible for ensuring that all owners of 

registered motor vehicles comply with Virginia’s insurance laws, referred to in the Code of 

Virginia as financial responsibility laws. The Insurance Verification Program (IVP or the 

Program) identifies vehicle owners who are not in compliance. Pursuant to the provisions of the 

Code, vehicle owners must have liability coverage for their motor vehicle. Before July 1, 2024, 

vehicle owners had the option to voluntarily pay a $500 uninsured motorist fee upon registration. 

Payment of this fee did not provide or substitute for insurance coverage. 

Chapters 149 and 193 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly (the Legislation)1 introduced several 

improvements to the IVP and directed DMV to report to the General Assembly in December 

2024 regarding the Legislation’s effectiveness in improving the Program. The Legislation also 

directed DMV to provide recommendations to address any lack of compliance with Virginia’s 

motor vehicle liability insurance requirements.  

Most of the Legislation became effective on July 1, 2019. Portions related to insurance 

companies furnishing information to DMV did not become effective until January 1, 2020. A 

separate enactment, SB 951 from the 2023 Regular Session, became effective on July 1, 2024 

and eliminated the option for individuals to pay an uninsured motorist fee at registration in lieu 

of maintaining motor vehicle liability insurance.  

The changes made by the Legislation led to several significant improvements in the 

efficacy of the IVP, significantly reducing the time insurance companies take to report 

information to DMV and improving DMV’s ability to use that information to administer the IVP. 

The Legislation also introduced new processes and procedures that DMV and customers have 

effectively used to improve the insurance verification process. 

DMV does not recommend further legislation at this time. The Legislation has been 

successful at addressing the issues that were identified in the 2018 DMV-led stakeholder study 

report of automotive insurance, which precipitated the legislative changes. Additionally, DMV 

does not yet have sufficient data to assess the impact of eliminating the uninsured motorist fee on 

the IVP and the number of uninsured motorists because SB 951 has been effect for only a few 

months. DMV may have legislative recommendations once those impacts become clearer. 

1 The Legislation can be found in Appendix A of this report. 
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Introduction 

2018 Legislative History 

During the 2018 General Assembly session, Senators Newman and Surovell patroned 

bills to raise Virginia’s motor vehicle liability insurance minimum limits. Virginia’s minimum 

liability limits at that time were $25,000 for bodily injury or death of a person, $50,000 for 

bodily injury or death of two or more persons, and $20,000 for property damage. Senator 

Newman’s SB 364 proposed raising the property damage minimum limit from $20,000 to 

$50,000. Senator Surovell’s SB 611 proposed raising all three limits such that a minimum policy 

would have to provide coverage of at least $100,000 for bodily injury or death for one person, 

$200,000 for bodily injury or death for two or more persons, and $40,000 for property damage. 

The Senate Transportation Committee incorporated SB 611 into SB 364 and passed SB 364 with 

the property damage limit raised to $50,000. 

The House Commerce and Labor Committee considered SB 364 and voted to continue it 

to 2019 as members expressed concerns as to the impacts of raising Virginia’s minimum liability 

limits. On March 6, 2018, DMV received a study letter from Delegate Terry G. Kilgore, 

chairman of the committee. In the March 6 letter, Chairman Kilgore requested that DMV prepare 

an analysis and develop recommendations concerning potential increases to the property damage 

minimum liability. As DMV began its analysis, then-Commissioner Richard Holcomb and 

Chairman Kilgore discussed other concerns members had expressed relating to Virginia’s motor 

vehicle insurance industry. As a result of those discussions, Chairman Kilgore sent DMV a 

second study letter on March 27, expanding his request to include a DMV-led stakeholder study 

of numerous topics relating to motor vehicle insurance in Virginia.2 

In the March 27 letter, Chairman Kilgore requested that DMV convene a stakeholder 

group to discuss motor vehicle insurance in Virginia and to make recommendations that would 

increase compliance with Virginia’s insurance laws. In particular, Chairman Kilgore requested 

the DMV-led stakeholder group to study Virginia’s insurance minimum liability limits, the 

uninsured motor vehicle fee, the IVP, proof of insurance at the time of registration, proof of 

insurance when operating a motor vehicle, information reported to DMV regarding changes in 

insurance coverage, review of driving records before issuing an insurance policy, and any other 

relevant aspects of Virginia’s minimum motor vehicle financial responsibility requirements. 

Chairman Kilgore requested that DMV compile a report containing all stakeholder 

recommendations and submit it to the House Committee on Commerce and Labor in December 

2018. 

2018 Automotive Insurance Study 

DMV convened four stakeholder meetings attended by representatives of the insurance 

industry, highway safety advocates, law enforcement representatives, the State Corporation 

Commission (SCC), and many others. At the first and second meetings, stakeholders reviewed 

2 Both charge letters from Chairman Kilgore can be found in Appendix B of this report. 
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Virginia’s insurance laws and examined data concerning how successful Virginia’s insurance 

market was in providing insurance coverage to Virginians. In particular, the stakeholders 

compared Virginia’s minimum liability limits, uninsured motorist rates, and average premiums 

to those of the 50 other U.S. jurisdictions. Based on the provided data, the stakeholder group 

concluded that Virginia had a robust insurance market that was successful in providing 

Virginians access to insurance coverage. Because the insurance market was functioning well in 

Virginia, the stakeholders turned their attention to recommending enhancements to current 

processes. 

In the third and fourth meetings, stakeholders focused on technical improvements to 

DMV’s insurance verification process. Stakeholders were particularly concerned with improving 

information sharing between insurance companies and DMV to better identify violations of 

Virginia’s insurance laws. By the end of the study, stakeholders agreed to present 23 

recommendations to the General Assembly impacting all steps in the insurance verification 

process that they believed would increase compliance with Virginia’s insurance laws. 

In five of the 23 recommendations, stakeholders suggested that the General Assembly 

make no changes to current law. Six other recommendations required only changes to DMV’s 

administrative processes. Finally, stakeholders recommended the General Assembly consider 12 

legislative changes, which included improvements to insurance companies’ reporting 

requirements and DMV’s insurance verification process, plate surrender process, and non-

compliance fee installment payment plan.3  

2019 Legislative History 

The Legislation, which was based on the recommendations made in the 2018 study, 

introduced several new requirements for how insurance companies report information to DMV. 

First, the Legislation mandated that insurance companies report all information to DMV 

electronically. Second, the Legislation mandated that insurance companies report all required 

insurance information to DMV within 30 days of a policy change. Finally, the Legislation 

mandated that insurance companies respond to all DMV requests for acknowledgment by 

confirming or denying the existence of an insurance policy within 15 days of receiving the 

request. 

The Legislation additionally introduced several improvements to the IVP. First, the 

Legislation changed the types of policy updates and necessary data fields required to operate the 

Program. This change, which includes new data points that must be provided by insurance 

companies, allows DMV to better enforce the Commonwealth’s insurance requirements by 

increasing DMV’s ability to correctly identify the affected customer. Second, the Legislation 

mandated that DMV initiate the insurance verification process following receipt of a report that 

an insurance company processed an uninsured motorist claim involving an uninsured motor 

vehicle registered in Virginia. This process involves DMV sending a notice to the identified 

vehicle’s owner requesting the owner’s insurance information. If the owner fails to respond to 

3 The full text of the 2018 study can be found at 

https://rga.lis.virginia.gov/Published/2018/RD602/PDF. 
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the notice, is found not to have insurance, or admits to not having insurance, DMV will issue an 

order of suspension for driving and registration privileges. The Legislation provided that, if a 

customer opts to surrender their license plates to DMV online or by telephone, they are not 

entitled to a partial refund of the registration fee. Third, the Legislation authorized DMV to 

reverse the suspension of a customer’s driver’s license and registration for noncompliance with 

Virginia’s insurance laws if the customer provided evidence that they were in compliance at the 

time the suspension was issued. Fourth, the Legislation renamed the fee charged after a violation 

of Virginia’s insurance laws from the “uninsured motor vehicle fee” to the “noncompliance fee,” 

increased the fee from $500 to $600, and directed the additional revenue to DMV’s special fund 

to be used for enhancements to the IVP. Fifth, the Legislation also amended Virginia’s 

installment payment program to allow out-of-state individuals to apply for an installment 

payment plan and to allow customers to enter into a second installment payment plan after 

defaulting on the first plan. Finally, the Legislation authorized DMV to extend an installment 

payment due date by up to 30 days when events outside its control adversely affected its ability 

to accept payment. 

2023 Legislation 

During the 2023 General Assembly session, Senator Ruff patroned SB 951, which 

repealed the option to register an uninsured motor vehicle upon payment of the $500 uninsured 

motorist fee effective July 1, 2024. SB 951 additionally authorized DMV to continue registering 

uninsured vehicles from July 1, 2023, to July 1, 2024, with the caveat that all such registrations 

must expire before July 1, 2024. SB 951 passed both houses of the legislature and was signed by 

Governor Youngkin on March 26, 2023. In accordance with this legislation, DMV ceased to 

offer the option to register an uninsured motor vehicle on July 1, 2024.4 In FY 2023, the last year 

that the uninsured motorist fee option was available, 6,097 individuals opted to pay the uninsured 

motorist fee. 

Virginia’s Insurance Verification Program 

Overview of the Program 

DMV is responsible for ensuring that all owners of registered motor vehicles comply 

with Virginia’s insurance laws, referred to in the Code of Virginia as financial responsibility 

laws. The IVP identifies vehicle owners who are not in compliance. Pursuant to the provisions of 

the Code, vehicle owners must have liability coverage for their motor vehicle. Before July 1, 

2024, vehicle owners had the option to voluntarily pay a $500 uninsured motorist fee upon 

registration. Payment of this fee did not provide or substitute for insurance coverage. As 

discussed above, SB 951 eliminated the uninsured motorist fee option as of July 1, 2024. 

The IVP comprises four components: (i) Electronic Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance 

Reporting; (ii) Suspected Uninsured Crash Reports; (iii) Law Enforcement Notification; and (iv) 

Citizen Information/Police Crash Reports. These components are discussed in greater detail 

below. Within each component, DMV makes every effort to obtain the correct insurance 

4 SB 951 can be found in Appendix C of this report. 
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information from owners before taking action to suspend an owner’s driving and registration 

privileges. If an owner responds with incomplete or inaccurate data, DMV sends a written notice 

to the owner requesting correct or additional information. 

Once DMV receives insurance information from the owner, the agency verifies the 

information with the insurance company named by the owner. If the specified company denies 

that a vehicle is covered, DMV requests the owner to provide correct insurance information or to 

resolve the problem with the insurance company. DMV issues an order of suspension for driving 

and registration privileges only if the owner fails to respond, is found not to have insurance, or 

admits to not having insurance. 

Customers are given the opportunity to comply with Virginia’s financial responsibility 

laws before a penalty is imposed. Customers are given additional time to either reinsure their 

vehicle or to surrender to DMV the license plates assigned to the uninsured vehicle. Customers 

who fail to respond will have their driving and registration privileges suspended. 

To reinstate driving and registration privileges, the owner must pay a $600 penalty and 

file proof of financial responsibility for a period of three years. To provide this proof, referred to 

as proof of financial responsibility in the future, the customer must submit a completed SR-22 

form from their insurance company to DMV. The insurance company will notify DMV if 

coverage is cancelled during this period. If cancelled, DMV will issue an order of suspension for 

failure to maintain the proof of financial responsibility. 

Summary of Program Activities 

The Electronic Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance Reporting process is the cornerstone of 

all verification activities. This component is essentially a three-step process activated by an 

individual registering a vehicle and certifying to DMV that the vehicle is insured, or by canceling 

liability insurance. 

The Electronic Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance Reporting process begins with DMV 

verifying the individual’s insurance coverage using the monthly updates generated from 

information provided by insurance companies. As mandated by the Legislation, the automated 

system requires insurance companies to send electronic updates of insurance information and 

vehicle descriptions to DMV when vehicle owners cancel or reinstate an insurance policy for a 

vehicle registered in Virginia, add a newly registered vehicle to an existing policy, or buy a new 

policy for vehicles registered or subject to registration in Virginia. Once DMV receives the 

electronic submission from the insurance company, the agency electronically compares these 

updates with motor vehicle registration records from its customers’ files to identify vehicles that 

may be uninsured. 

DMV sends a notice requesting a vehicle owner’s insurance information to owners who it 

identifies as having a vehicle not covered by a policy or having cancelled an existing policy 

without cancelling the associated vehicle’s registration for a period of 45 days. If the vehicle 

owner fails to respond to the notice, is found not to have insurance, or admits to not having 

insurance, DMV issues an order of suspension for driving and registration privileges. 



6 

The Law Enforcement Notification process, another verification activity, is initiated 

when police officers require an individual to provide insurance information to DMV. Usually 

this occurs when the individual is asked for proof of insurance at a roadside spot check or if there 

is probable cause to initiate a stop for a moving traffic violation and the driver is unable to 

provide proof of insurance. Should DMV find the individual to be uninsured as a result of this 

process, it issues an order of suspension for driving and registration privileges. 

The Suspected Uninsured Crash Report process is the third verification activity in the 

IVP. This process allows an individual to voluntarily file a crash report with DMV and, as a part 

of the report, to indicate that there is reason to believe the other party involved in the crash was 

uninsured. When DMV receives such a report, it sends a request for insurance information to the 

driver specified in the report. If the driver fails to respond or is found to have no insurance, DMV 

issues an order of suspension for driving and registration privileges. 

The Citizen Information/Police Crash Report process is the final verification activity in 

the IVP. The Citizen Information/Police Crash Report uses police crash reports and citizen-

initiated documentation to identify potentially uninsured vehicles. In both processes, third party 

informants are used to collect information on suspected uninsured vehicles. DMV reviews the 

crash reports and customer documentation for insurance and determines if there is a need to issue 

a request for insurance information. If DMV requests information and the driver fails to respond 

or is found to have no insurance, the agency issues an order of suspension for driving and 

registration privileges. 

Effectiveness of the Legislation in Improving the Insurance Verification 

Program 

As discussed previously, the Legislation introduced several improvements to the IVP. 

These changes served to reduce wait times on reporting from insurance companies, improve the 

effectiveness of identifying customers during the insurance verification process, and increased 

funding for IVP improvements. The specific changes mandated by the Legislation, and their 

impact on the IVP, are discussed in greater detail below.  

First, the Legislation required insurance companies to report all mandatory insurance 

information to DMV within 30 days of a policy change. The Legislation additionally required 

insurance companies to respond to all requests from DMV for acknowledgment by confirming or 

denying the existence of an insurance policy within 15 days of receiving the request. The 

Legislation also required insurance companies to report all necessary insurance information to 

the DMV electronically. DMV tracks electronic submissions for insurance policy updates, 

requests for acknowledgment confirming or denying the existence of an insurance policy, and 

reports satisfying or terminating proof of financial responsibility. The noncompliance 

percentages for insurers reporting electronically are currently 0%, 30% and 43%, respectively.5  

5 DMV is currently exploring options to address the higher percentages of noncompliance 

associated with requests for acknowledgment confirming or denying the existence of an 

insurance policy and reports satisfying or terminating proof of financial responsibility without 
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DMV found that the Legislation did not materially affect the number of records 

transmitted to DMV. In the 2018, the last full year before the Legislation became effective, 

insurance companies transmitted approximately 6.4 million updates. DMV received a 

comparable number of updates (6.3 million) per year in FYs 2021, 2022, and 2023.  

  However, the requirement that insurance companies report all required insurance 

information to DMV within 30 days of a policy change has led to a substantial reduction in 

reporting time. Currently, the average number of days to report is 7 days compared to an average 

of 28 days in 2018. The requirement that insurance companies must respond to all DMV 

acknowledgment requests by confirming or denying the existence of an insurance policy within 

15 days of receiving the request has led to a substantial decrease in reporting time as well. 

Currently, the average number of days to respond to a request is 16 days compared to an average 

of 32 days in 2018. 

The Legislation also required DMV to initiate the insurance verification process 

following receipt of a report that it processed an uninsured motorist claim involving an uninsured 

motor vehicle registered in Virginia. To implement this new requirement, DMV created a new 

form, the FR205, which insurance companies use to initiate this process when they pay claims 

involving uninsured motorists. DMV receives approximately 1,000 of these forms annually and 

begins the insurance verification process upon receipt of the form. 

The Legislation additionally changed the types of insurance policy updates and necessary 

data fields required to operate the IVP. Specifically, the Legislation added the requirement that 

every report of a policy change must include the vehicle identification number, full name of the 

first named insured individual, and the vehicle make and model year. The update must also 

include the date of birth for the first named insured individual, full names and dates of birth for 

all of the vehicle operators, and the Virginia drivers’ license numbers or social security numbers 

for the first named insured and all vehicle operators, if the information is available. Adding the 

requirement that the insurance companies provide the Virginia drivers’ license numbers or social 

security numbers for the first named insured and all vehicle operators, if they are available, has 

led to a reduction of 1% (from 4% to 3%) in the percentage of cancellation reports that are 

missing this information. Because DMV cannot initiate the IVP using records without such 

information identifying the affected customer, this change has allowed DMV to better enforce 

the Commonwealth’s insurance requirements. 

The Legislation also authorized DMV to reverse the suspension of a customer’s driver’s 

license and registration if the customer provides evidence that they were in compliance with 

Virginia’s insurance laws at the time the suspension was issued. During the period of 2012 

through 2018, before the Legislation took effect, DMV issued a suspension notice to 

additional legislation, such as reporting noncompliant companies to the State Corporation 

Commission’s Bureau of Insurance and rejecting non-electronic submissions from insurance 

companies. Should DMV determine that additional legislation is necessary to address these 

noncompliance rates, the agency will work with the General Assembly to develop such 

legislation at that time. 
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approximately 23.2% of individuals annually that received a notice from DMV requesting 

insurance information. Since the enactment of the Legislation, DMV issued a suspension notice 

to approximately 36.1% of individuals annually that received a notice from DMV requesting 

insurance information. The 13% increase in the number of notices of suspension following a 

request for insurance information shows the increased efficacy of the IVP in identifying 

uninsured motorists resulting from the enactment of the Legislation. 

During the 2012 through 2018 period, when customers lacked an option to provide 

evidence that they were in compliance with Virginia’s insurance laws, an average of 

approximately 50.7% (34,531 individuals) paid the noncompliance fee annually. Since the 

enactment of the Legislation allowing for individuals to provide evidence that they were in 

compliance, an average of approximately 35.6% (50,366 individuals) paid the noncompliance fee 
annually. Although the percentage of customers paying the noncompliance fee has gone down, 

the average number of individuals who paid the fee annually is significantly higher than pre-

legislation numbers. The increase in the number of customers paying the fee, juxtaposed with the 

lower percentage, indicates that DMV is identifying more customers who are not complying 

with Virginia’s insurance laws now than before the General Assembly enacted the Legislation. 

The Legislation also increased the noncompliance fee charged after a violation of 

Virginia’s insurance laws from $500 to $600 and instructed DMV to direct the additional 

revenue to DMV’s special fund for enhancements to the IVP. This fee increase generated 

approximately $6,112,000 in FY 2020, $4,059,900 in FY 2021, $4,138,500 in FY 2022, 

$4,417,900 in FY 2023, and $3,612,100 in FY 2024. As of June 30, 2024 (the last full fiscal year 

for which DMV has data available), the Legislation had generated a cumulative $22,340,400 for 

enhancements to the IVP. 

Finally, the Legislation made several changes to Virginia’s installment payment program. 

First, the Legislation extended eligibility for a payment plan to non-resident drivers. Since that 

provision took effect, 2,371 non-residents have made use of that option. DMV created a web-

based option for non-resident drivers to apply for a payment plan and extended the online 

application to Virginia drivers as well. To date, 13,726 Virginia residents have entered into an 

installment payment plan online. Second, the Legislation authorized individuals to enter into a 

second installment payment plan after defaulting on the first plan. Approximately 14,000 drivers 

per year, or 1,500 drivers per month, enter into a second installment payment plan after 

defaulting on the first plan. Finally, the Legislation authorized DMV to extend the due date of an 

installment payment by up to 30 days when events outside of DMV’s control adversely affect its 

ability to accept payment. To date, DMV has invoked this option only once: during the COVID-

19 pandemic when individuals were unable to visit customer service centers to make payments. 

These changes provided additional avenues to help these vehicle owners to come into 

compliance with Virginia’s insurance requirements. 

Recommended Legislative Changes 

The Legislation directed DMV to provide recommendations in this report to address any 

lack of compliance with Virginia’s liability insurance requirements. As outlined, the Legislation 
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has led to significant improvements in many key areas of the IVP and has adequately addressed 

the issues raised in the 2018 study. Additionally, DMV is actively exploring non-legislative 

approaches to address certain noncompliance rates, as described in footnote 8.  Therefore, DMV 

does not currently recommend further legislative actions to enhance the IVP.   

Moreover, the repeal of the uninsured motorist fee, effective as of July 1 this year, is 

expected to have a notable impact on uninsured motorist rates.  However, these effects are not 

yet reflected in DMV’s data. As this data evolves, DMV will reassess whether additional 

legislative changes are necessary to further support the IVP. 

Conclusion 

The Legislation has resulted in significant improvements to the IVP by addressing the 

issues highlighted in the 2018 study. Due to the limited time since the repeal of the uninsured 

motorist fee and the current lack of mature data to evaluate its effects, DMV does not 

recommend additional legislative changes at this time. If future analysis indicates the need for 

further legislative action, the agency will work with the General Assembly to develop such 

legislation. 
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Appendix A: Enacting Legislation 

Chapters 149 and 193 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly 

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia: 

1. That §§ 46.2-688, 46.2-706 through 46.2-708, and 46.2-710 of the Code of Virginia are

amended and reenacted as follows:

§ 46.2-688. Refund of fees paid.

Any person holding a registration card and license plate or license plates with decal who 

disposes of, elects not to use the vehicle for which it was issued on the highways in the 

Commonwealth, or transfers another valid license plate to the vehicle, may surrender, prior to the 

beginning of the registration period, the license plates or license plates with decals and 

registration card or provide other evidence of registration of the vehicle to the Commissioner 

with a statement that the vehicle for which the license plate or license plate with decal was issued 

has been disposed of, election has been made not to use the vehicle on the highways in the 

Commonwealth, or another valid license plate has been transferred to the vehicle and request a 

refund of the fee paid. The Commissioner shall retain five dollars of the fee to cover the costs 

incurred in issuing the plates and processing the refund. 

The Commissioner shall refund to the applicant a proration, in six-month increments, of the total 

cost of the registration and license plates or license plates with decals if application for the 

refund is made when there are six or more months remaining in the registration period. The 

Commissioner shall not provide a refund when otherwise eligible if the applicant chooses not to 

return the license plates to the Department. No charge or deduction shall be assessed for any 

refund made under this subsection. 

§ 46.2-706. Additional fee; proof of insurance required of applicants for registration of insured

motor vehicles; verification of insurance; suspension of driver’s license, registration certificates,

and license plates for certain violations.

A. In addition to any other fees prescribed by law, every person registering an uninsured motor

vehicle, as defined in § 46.2-705, at the time of registering or reregistering the uninsured vehicle,

shall pay a fee of $500; however, if the uninsured motor vehicle is being registered or

reregistered for a period of less than a full year, the uninsured motor vehicle fee shall be prorated

for the unexpired portion of the registration period. If the vehicle is a motor vehicle being

registered or reregistered as provided in subsection B of § 46.2-697, the fee shall be one-fourth

of the annual uninsured motor vehicle fee for each quarter for which the vehicle is registered.

B. If the owner of a motor vehicle registered under this article as an uninsured motor vehicle,

during the period for which such vehicle is registered, obtains insurance coverage adequate to

permit such vehicle’s registration as an insured motor vehicle and presents evidence satisfactory

to the Commissioner of the existence of such insurance coverage, the Commissioner shall amend

the Department’s records to show such vehicle to be registered as an insured motor vehicle and

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/46.2-688
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shall refund to the owner a prorated portion of the additional fee required by this section for 

registration of an uninsured motor vehicle. Such proration shall be on a monthly basis, except 

that no such refund shall be made (i) as to any registration during the last three months of its 

validity or (ii) on any portion of any such fee required to be paid resulting from a determination 

by the Department or any court that a vehicle was uninsured and no fee had been paid. 

C. Every person applying for registration of a motor vehicle and declaring it to be an insured

motor vehicle shall, under the penalties set forth in § 46.2-707, execute and furnish to the

Commissioner his certificate that the motor vehicle is an insured motor vehicle as defined in

§ 46.2-705, or that the Commissioner has issued to its owner, in accordance with § 46.2-368, a

certificate of self-insurance applicable to the vehicle sought to be registered. The Commissioner,

or his duly authorized agent, may verify that the motor vehicle is properly insured by comparing

owner and vehicle identification information on file at the Department of Motor Vehicles with

liability information on the owner and vehicle transmitted to the Department by any insurance

company licensed to do business in the Commonwealth as provided in § 46.2-706.1. If no record

of liability insurance is found, the Department may require the motor vehicle owner to verify

insurance in a method prescribed by the Commissioner.

D. The refusal or neglect of any owner within 30 days to submit the liability insurance

information when required by the Commissioner or his duly authorized agent, or the electronic

notification by the insurance company or surety company that the policy or bond named in the

certificate of insurance is not in effect, shall require the Commissioner to suspend any driver’s

license and all registration certificates and license plates issued to the owner of the motor vehicle

until the person (i) has paid to the Commissioner a noncompliance fee of $500 $600 to be

disposed of as provided for in § 46.2-710 with respect to the motor vehicle determined to be

uninsured and (ii) furnishes proof of financial responsibility for the future in the manner

prescribed in Article 15 (§ 46.2-435 et seq.) of Chapter 3. No order of suspension required by

this section shall become effective until the Commissioner has offered the person an opportunity

for an administrative hearing to show cause why the order should not be enforced. Notice of the

opportunity for an administrative hearing may be included in the order of suspension. Any

request for an administrative hearing made by such person must be received by the Department

within 180 days of the issuance date of the order of suspension unless the person presents to the

Department evidence of military service as defined by the federal Servicemembers Civil Relief

Act (50 U.S.C. § 3901 et seq.), incarceration, commitment, hospitalization, or physical presence

outside the United States at the time the order of suspension was issued. When three years have

elapsed from the effective date of the suspension required in this section, the Commissioner may

relieve the person of the requirement of furnishing proof of future financial responsibility.

E. The Commissioner shall suspend the driver’s license and all registration certificates and

license plates of any person on receiving a record of his conviction of a violation of any

provisions of § 46.2-707, but the Commissioner shall dispense with the suspension when the

person is convicted for a violation of § 46.2-707 and the Department’s records show

conclusively that the motor vehicle was insured or that the fee applicable to the registration of an

uninsured motor vehicle has been paid by the owner prior to the date and time of the alleged

offense.
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F. The Commissioner may dispense with a suspension for a violation of this section or § 46.2-

708 if the person determined to have committed the violation provides to the Commissioner proof

that conclusively shows that the motor vehicle in question was insured at the time the

Department initiated insurance monitoring under § 46.2-706 or at the time of a violation of

§ 46.2-708.

§ 46.2-706.1. Insurance and surety companies to furnish certain insurance information.

A. Any liability insurance information relating to individually identified vehicles or persons,

received from such companies under this section, shall be considered privileged information and

not subject to the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq.).

B. Such information shall be used in conjunction with information supplied under § 46.2-706 to

verify insurance for motor vehicles certified by their owners to be insured.

C. Insurance companies licensed to do business in Virginia shall provide to the

Department monthly electronic, electronically in a manner prescribed by the

Commissioner, updates of insured information and vehicle descriptions required by the

Commissioner when they (i) cancel within 30 days of a policy change to liability insurance

for vehicles a vehicle registered in Virginia, (ii) add including liability insurance for vehicles

registered in Virginia, or (iii) provide liability insurance for vehicles registered in Virginia newly

satisfying that satisfies financial responsibility requirements. A policy change occurs when an

insurance company (i) issues liability insurance, (ii) cancels liability insurance, (iii) becomes

aware of a lapse in liability insurance, (iv) reissues or reinstates liability insurance, or (v) adds

a vehicle to an existing liability insurance policy.

D. Insurance companies licensed to do business in Virginia shall respond electronically in a

manner prescribed by the Commissioner to a Department request for acknowledgment of

liability insurance within 15 days of receiving the request. Insurance companies shall respond to

the request by confirming or denying the existence of a policy with the company.

E. Every update of a policy change concerning a liability insurance policy shall include the

following information: vehicle identification number, full name of first named insured, vehicle

make, and vehicle model year. If available, the following information shall also be included:

date of birth for first named insured, full names and dates of birth for all vehicle operators, and

Virginia drivers’ license numbers or social security numbers for the first named insured and all

vehicle operators.

§ 46.2-707. Operating uninsured motor vehicle without payment of fee; verification of

insurance; false evidence of insurance.

Any person who owns an uninsured motor vehicle (i) licensed in the Commonwealth, (ii) subject 

to registration in the Commonwealth, or (iii) displaying temporary license plates provided for in 

§ 46.2-1558 who operates or permits the operation of that motor vehicle without first having paid
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to the Commissioner the uninsured motor vehicle fee required by § 46.2-706, to be disposed of as 

provided by § 46.2-710, shall be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. 

Any person who is the operator of such an uninsured motor vehicle and not the titled owner, who 

knows that the required fee has not been paid to the Commissioner, shall be guilty of a Class 3 

misdemeanor. 

The Commissioner or his duly authorized agent, having reason to believe that a motor vehicle is 

being operated or has been operated on any specified date, may require the owner of such motor 

vehicle to verify insurance in a method prescribed by the Commissioner as provided for by 

§ 46.2-706. The refusal or neglect of the owner who has not, prior to the date of operation, paid

the uninsured motor vehicle fee required by § 46.2-706 as to such motor vehicle, to provide such

verification shall be prima facie evidence that the motor vehicle was an uninsured motor vehicle

at the time of such operation.

Any person who falsely verifies insurance to the Commissioner or gives false evidence that a 

motor vehicle sought to be registered is an insured motor vehicle, shall be guilty of a Class 3 

misdemeanor. 

However, the foregoing portions of this section shall not be applicable if it is established that the 

owner had good cause to believe and did believe that such motor vehicle was an insured motor 

vehicle, in which event the provisions of § 46.2-609 shall be applicable. 

Any person who owns an uninsured motor vehicle (i) licensed in the Commonwealth, (ii) subject 

to registration in the Commonwealth, or (iii) displaying temporary license plates provided for in 

§ 46.2-1558, and who has not paid the uninsured motor vehicle fee required by § 46.2-706, shall

immediately surrender the vehicle’s license plates to the Department, unless the vehicle’s

registration has been deactivated as provided by § 46.2-646.1. Any person who fails to

immediately surrender his vehicle’s license plates as required by this section is guilty of a Class

3 misdemeanor.

Abstracts of records of conviction, as defined in this title, of any violation of any of the 

provisions of this section shall be forwarded to the Commissioner as prescribed by § 46.2-383. 

The Commissioner shall suspend the driver’s license and all registration certificates and license 

plates of any titled owner of an uninsured motor vehicle upon receiving a record of his 

conviction of a violation of any provisions of this section, and he shall not thereafter reissue the 

driver’s license and the registration certificates and license plates issued in the name of such 

person until such person pays the a noncompliance fee applicable to the registration of an 

uninsured motor vehicle as prescribed in § 46.2-706 of $600 to be disposed of as provided for in 

§ 46.2-710 and furnishes proof of future financial responsibility as prescribed by Article 15

(§ 46.2-435 et seq.) of Chapter 3 of this title. However, when three years have elapsed from the

date of the suspension herein required, the Commissioner may relieve such person of the

requirement of furnishing proof of future financial responsibility. When such suspension results

from a conviction for presenting or causing to be presented to the Commissioner false
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verification as to whether a motor vehicle is an insured motor vehicle or false evidence that any 

motor vehicle sought to be registered is insured, then the Commissioner shall not thereafter 

reissue the driver’s license and the registration certificates and license plates issued in the name 

of such person so convicted for a period of 180 days from the date of such order of suspension, 

and only then when all other provisions of law have been complied with by such person. 

The Commissioner shall suspend the driver’s license of any person who is the operator but not 

the titled owner of a motor vehicle upon receiving a record of his conviction of a violation of any 

provisions of this section and he shall not thereafter reissue the driver’s license until 30 days 

from the date of such order of suspension. 

§ 46.2-707.1. Noncompliance fee payment plan.

A. The Department may establish an uninsured motor vehicle a noncompliance fee payment plan

to allow individuals to pay the fees for a motor vehicle determined to be uninsured as prescribed

in § 46.2-706, 46.2-707, or 46.2-708. Notwithstanding §§ 46.2-706, 46.2-707, and 46.2-708, a

Virginia resident an individual 18 years of age or older whose driver’s license and vehicle

registration have been suspended pursuant to § 46.2-706, 46.2-707, or 46.2-708 may apply to the

Department to enter into a payment plan agreement with a duration of no more than three years

from the agreement date, referred to in this section as the "payment plan period."

B. To be eligible to enter into the payment plan, the individual must (i) have one or more

outstanding suspensions of driving privileges pursuant to the provisions of § 46.2-706, 46.2-707,

or 46.2-708 and have no other outstanding suspensions or revocations; (ii) meet all other

conditions for reinstatement of driving privileges; and (iii) have never not defaulted twice on a

prior the same uninsured motor vehicle payment plan agreement.

C. An eligible individual who enters pays a $25 administrative fee when entering into a payment

plan agreement or when reentering into a payment plan agreement with the Department, pays a

$25 administrative fee, and pays the reinstatement fee pursuant to §§ 46.2-333.1 and 46.2-411, if

required, shall be eligible to have his driving privileges reinstated by the Department.

D. The amount and frequency of each payment and the duration of the payment plan shall be

described in the payment plan agreement signed by the Department and the individual. Payments

may be made in person, online, by telephone, or by mail. The full fee must be paid in no more

than three years from the agreement date; however, an individual may repay the balance of the

fee at any time during the payment plan period with no penalty.

E. If an individual defaults on the payment plan agreement, the Commissioner shall suspend the

driver’s license and all registration certificates and license plates issued to the owner of the

motor vehicle determined to be uninsured. Such driver’s license, registration certificates, and

license plates shall remain suspended until the individual pays the balance of the fee applicable

to the registration of an uninsured motor vehicle as prescribed in § 46.2-706, 46.2-707, or 46.2-

708 and furnishes proof of future financial responsibility as prescribed by Article 15 (§ 46.2-

435 et seq.) of Chapter 3. An individual is in default if he (i) pays an installment payment late as



15 

defined in the payment plan agreement or (ii) fails to make an installment payment as agreed to 

in the payment plan agreement. If an individual is in default and is ineligible to reenter the 

payment plan, full payment of the balance of the fee shall be due as agreed to in the payment 

plan agreement. The Commissioner may extend the due date of any installment payment for not 

more than 30 days if the Department is unable to process an installment payment due to 

circumstances beyond its control. 

F. When all fees are paid, the individual shall continue to furnish proof of financial responsibility

pursuant to Article 15 (§ 46.2-435 et seq.) of Chapter 3 and § 46.2-709.

G. Installment payments of the fee with respect to the motor vehicle determined to be uninsured

shall be disposed of pursuant to § 46.2-710. The administrative fee shall be paid to the

Commissioner and deposited into the state treasury account set aside in a special fund to be used

to meet the necessary expenses incurred by the Department.

§ 46.2-708. Suspension of driver’s license and registration when uninsured motor vehicle is

involved in reportable accident; hearing prior to suspension.

When it appears to the Commissioner from the records of his office or from a report submitted 

by an insurance company licensed to do business in the Commonwealth that an uninsured motor 

vehicle as defined in § 46.2-705, subject to registration in the Commonwealth, is involved in a 

reportable accident in the Commonwealth resulting in death, injury or property damage with 

respect to which motor vehicle the owner thereof has not paid the uninsured motor vehicle fee as 

prescribed in § 46.2-706, the Commissioner shall, in addition to enforcing the applicable 

provisions of Article 13 (§ 46.2-417 et seq.) of Chapter 3, suspend such owner’s driver’s license 

and all of his license plates and registration certificates until such person has complied with 

Article 13 of Chapter 3 and has paid to the Commissioner a noncompliance fee of $500 $600, to 

be disposed of as provided by § 46.2-710, with respect to the motor vehicle involved in the 

accident and furnishes proof of future financial responsibility in the manner prescribed in Article 

15 (§ 46.2-435 et seq.) of Chapter 3. However, no order of suspension required by this section 

shall become effective until the Commissioner has offered the person an opportunity for an 

administrative hearing to show cause why the order should not be enforced. Notice of the 

opportunity for an administrative hearing may be included in the order of suspension. Any 

request for an administrative hearing made by such person must be received by the Department 

within 180 days of the issuance date of the order of suspension unless the person presents to the 

Department evidence of military service as defined by the federal Servicemembers Civil Relief 

Act (50 U.S.C. § 3901 et seq.), incarceration, commitment, hospitalization, or physical presence 

outside the United States at the time the order of suspension was issued. 

However, when three years have elapsed from the effective date of the suspension herein 

required, the Commissioner may relieve such person of the requirement of furnishing proof of 

future financial responsibility. The presentation by a person subject to the provisions of this 

section of a certificate of insurance, executed by an agent or representative of an insurance 

company qualified to do business in this Commonwealth, showing that on the date and at the 

time of the accident the vehicle was an insured motor vehicle as herein defined, or, presentation 
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by such person of evidence that the additional fee applicable to the registration of an uninsured 

motor vehicle had been paid to the Department prior to the date and time of the accident, shall be 

sufficient bar to the suspension provided for in this section. 

§ 46.2-710. Disposition of funds collected.

From every noncompliance fee collected by the Commissioner under the provisions of this 

article, the Commissioner shall retain $100 to be placed in a special fund in the state treasury to 

be used to meet the expenses of the Department. All other funds collected by the Commissioner 

under the provisions of this article shall be paid into the state treasury and held in a special fund 

to be known as the Uninsured Motorists Fund to be disbursed as provided by law. The 

Commissioner may expend monies moneys from such funds, for the administration of this 

article, in accordance with the General Appropriations Act general appropriation act. 

2. That the provisions of this act amending and reenacting § 46.2-706.1 of the Code of Virginia

shall become effective on January 1, 2020.

3. That in December 2024 the Department of Motor Vehicles shall report to the General

Assembly regarding the effectiveness of the provisions of this act in improving the Department

of Motor Vehicles’ Insurance Verification Program. The report shall provide recommendations

to address any lack of compliance with the Commonwealth’s motor vehicle liability insurance

requirements.
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Appendix C: 2023 Legislation 

Chapter 538 of the 2023 Acts of Assembly 

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of Virginia: 

1. That §§ 8.01-66.1, 46.2-214.3, 46.2-646, 46.2-646.1, 46.2-706, 46.2-707, 46.2-707.1, 46.2-

708, 46.2-902.1, and 46.2-1530 of the Code of Virginia are amended and reenacted as follows:

§ 8.01-66.1. Remedy for arbitrary refusal of motor vehicle insurance claim.

A. Whenever any insurance company licensed in this Commonwealth to write insurance as

defined in § 38.2-124 denies, refuses or fails to pay to its insured a claim of $3,500 or less in

excess of the deductible, if any, under the provisions of a policy of motor vehicle insurance

issued by such company to the insured and it is subsequently found by the judge of a court of

proper jurisdiction that such denial, refusal or failure to pay was not made in good faith, the

company shall be liable to the insured in an amount double the amount otherwise due and

payable under the provisions of the insured’s policy of motor vehicle insurance, together with

reasonable attorney’s fees and expenses.

The provisions of this subsection shall be construed to include an insurance company’s refusal or 

failure to pay medical expenses to persons covered under the terms of any medical payments 

coverage extended under a policy of motor vehicle insurance, when the amount of the claim 

therefor is $3,500 or less and the refusal was not made in good faith. 

B. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection A, whenever any insurance company licensed in

this Commonwealth to write insurance as defined in § 38.2-124 denies, refuses or fails to pay to

a third party claimant, on behalf of an insured to whom such company has issued a policy of

motor vehicle liability insurance, a claim of $3,500 or less made by such third party claimant and

if the judge of a court of proper jurisdiction finds that the insured is liable for the claim, the third

party claimant shall have a cause of action against the insurance company. If the judge finds that

such denial, refusal or failure to pay was not made in good faith, the company, in addition to the

liability assumed by the company under the provisions of the insured’s policy of motor vehicle

liability insurance, shall be liable to the third party claimant in an amount double the amount of

the judgment awarded the third party claimant, together with reasonable attorney’s fees and

expenses.

C. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsections A and B, whenever any person who has paid a

fee to the Department of Motor Vehicles to register an uninsured motor vehicle pursuant to

§ 46.2-706 or any person who has furnished proof of financial responsibility in lieu of obtaining

a policy or policies of motor vehicle liability insurance pursuant to the provisions of Title 46.2 or

any person who is required and has failed either to pay such fee or to furnish such proof pursuant

to the provisions of Title 46.2 denies, refuses, or fails to pay to a claimant a claim of $3,500 or

less made by such claimant as a result of a motor vehicle accident;, and if the trial judge of a

court of proper jurisdiction finds that such denial, refusal, or failure to pay was not made in good
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faith, such person shall be liable to the claimant in an amount double the amount otherwise due 

and payable together with reasonable attorney’s attorney fees and expenses. 

For the purposes of this subsection C, "person" shall mean means and include includes any 

natural person, firm, partnership, association, or corporation. 

D. 1. Whenever a court of proper jurisdiction finds that an insurance company licensed in this

Commonwealth to write insurance as defined in § 38.2-124 denies, refuses or fails to pay to its

insured a claim of more than $3,500 in excess of the deductible, if any, under the provisions of a

policy of motor vehicle insurance issued by such company to the insured and it is subsequently

found by the judge of a court of proper jurisdiction that such denial, refusal or failure to pay was

not made in good faith, the company shall be liable to the insured in the amount otherwise due

and payable under the provisions of the insured’s policy of motor vehicle insurance, plus interest

on the amount due at double the rate provided in § 6.2-301 from the date that the claim was

submitted to the insurer or its authorized agent, together with reasonable attorney’s fees and

expenses.

2. The provisions of this subsection shall be construed to include an insurance company’s refusal

or failure to pay medical expenses to persons covered under the terms of any medical payments

coverage extended under a policy of motor vehicle insurance when the refusal was not made in

good faith.

§ 46.2-214.3. Discount for multiyear registration.

A. Pursuant to subsection C of § 46.2-646, for each motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer

registered, the Commissioner may offer, at his discretion, a discount for multiyear registrations

of such vehicles. The discount shall be equal to $1 for each year of the multiyear registration or

fraction thereof. The discount shall not be applicable to any motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer

registered (i) under the International Registration Plan or (ii) as an uninsured motor vehicle.

When this option is offered and chosen by the registrant, all annual and 12-month fees due at the

time of registration shall be multiplied by the number of years or fraction thereof that the vehicle

will be registered.

B. In addition to the discount authorized in subsection A, for the renewal of registration of each

motor vehicle, trailer, or semitrailer pursuant to § 46.2-646, the Commissioner shall offer a

discount for renewal when such registration renewal is conducted using the Internet. The

discount shall be equal to $1. The discount shall not apply to any motor vehicle, trailer, or

semitrailer registered (i) under the International Registration Plan or (ii) as an uninsured motor

vehicle.

§ 46.2-646. Expiration and renewal of registration.

A. Every registration under this title, unless otherwise provided, shall expire on the last day of

the twelfth month next succeeding the date of registration. Every registration, unless otherwise

provided, shall be renewed annually on application by the owner and by payment of the fees

required by law, the renewal to take effect on the first day of the month succeeding the date of
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expiration. Notwithstanding these limitations, the Commissioner may extend the validity period 

of an expiring registration if (i) the Department is unable to process an application for renewal 

due to circumstances beyond its control, and (ii) the extension has been authorized under a 

directive from the Governor. However, in no event shall the validity period be extended more 

than 90 days per occurrence of such conditions. 

B. All motor vehicles, trailers, and semitrailers registered in the Commonwealth shall, at the

discretion of the Commissioner, be placed in a system of registration on a monthly basis to

distribute the work of registering motor vehicles as uniformly as practicable throughout the 12

months of the year. All such motor vehicles, trailers, and semitrailers, unless otherwise provided,

shall be registered for a period of 12 months. The registration shall be extended, at the discretion

of the Commissioner, on receipt of appropriate prorated fees, as required by law, for a period of

not less than one month nor more than 11 months as is necessary to distribute the registrations as

equally as practicable on a monthly basis. The Commissioner shall, on request, assign to any

owner or owners of two or more motor vehicles, trailers, or semitrailers the same registration

period. The expiration date shall be the last day of the twelfth month or the last day of the

designated month. Except for motor vehicles, trailers, and semitrailers registered for more than

one year under subsection C of this section, every registration shall be renewed annually on

application by the owner and by payment of fees required by law, the renewal to take effect on

the first day of the succeeding month.

C. The Commissioner may offer, at his discretion, an optional multi-year registration for all

motor vehicles, trailers, and semitrailers except for (i) those registered under the International

Registration Plan and (ii) those registered as uninsured motor vehicles. When this option is

offered and chosen by the registrant, all annual and 12-month fees due at the time of registration

shall be multiplied by the number of years or fraction thereof that the vehicle will be registered.

D. For any summons issued for a violation of this section, the court may, in its discretion,

dismiss the summons where proof of compliance with this section is provided to the court on or

before the court date.

E. No law-enforcement officer shall stop a motor vehicle due to an expired registration sticker

prior to the first day of the fourth month after the original expiration date. No evidence

discovered or obtained as the result of a stop in violation of this subsection, including evidence

discovered or obtained with the operator’s consent, shall be admissible in any trial, hearing, or

other proceeding.

§ 46.2-646.1. Deactivation and reactivation of registration; fees.

A. The owner of a motor vehicle that has been registered in the Commonwealth may apply to the

Commissioner to deactivate the registration of such vehicle. The owner of a motor vehicle who

has voluntarily deactivated the vehicle’s registration pursuant to this section shall not be

required, with respect to such vehicle, to carry bodily injury liability insurance or property

damage insurance, or to pay the uninsured motor vehicle fee as provided under § 46.2-706.
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It shall be unlawful to operate any motor vehicle whose registration has been deactivated on any 

highway in the Commonwealth. 

B. Any person having a motor vehicle for which registration has been deactivated under

subsection A may apply to the Commissioner to reactivate the registration of such vehicle. Every

applicant for reactivation of registration shall furnish the Commissioner with such evidence as is

required under § 46.2-649 and shall either (i) execute and furnish to the Commissioner his

certificate that the motor vehicle for which registration is to be reactivated is an insured motor

vehicle as defined in § 46.2-705, or that the Commissioner has issued to its owner, in accordance

with § 46.2-368, a certificate of self-insurance applicable to the vehicle or (ii) pay the uninsured

motor vehicle fee required by § 46.2-706, which shall be disposed of as provided by § 46.2-710.

The fee to be paid to the Department for the reactivation of a motor vehicle’s registration shall be 

$10 unless the vehicle’s registration has expired or the vehicle is registered under the 

International Registration Plan. 

§ 46.2-706. Proof of insurance required of applicants for registration of motor vehicles;

verification of insurance; suspension of driver’s license, registration certificates, and license

plates for certain violations.

A. In addition to any other fees prescribed by law, every person registering an uninsured motor

vehicle, as defined in § 46.2-705, at the time of registering or reregistering the uninsured vehicle,

shall pay a fee of $500; however, if the uninsured motor vehicle is being registered for a period

of less than a full year, the uninsured motor vehicle fee shall be prorated for the unexpired

portion of the registration period. If the vehicle is a motor vehicle being registered as provided in

subsection B of § 46.2-697, the fee shall be one-fourth of the annual uninsured motor vehicle fee

for each quarter for which the vehicle is registered.

B. If the owner of a motor vehicle registered under this article as an uninsured motor vehicle,

during the period for which such vehicle is registered, obtains insurance coverage adequate to

permit such vehicle’s registration as an insured motor vehicle and presents evidence satisfactory

to the Commissioner of the existence of such insurance coverage, the Commissioner shall amend

the Department’s records to show such vehicle to be registered as an insured motor vehicle and

shall refund to the owner a prorated portion of the additional fee required by this section for

registration of an uninsured motor vehicle. Such proration shall be on a monthly basis, except

that no such refund shall be made (i) as to any registration during the last three months of its

validity or (ii) on any portion of any such fee required to be paid resulting from a determination

by the Department or any court that a vehicle was uninsured and no fee had been paid.

C. Every person applying for registration of a motor vehicle and declaring it to be an insured

motor vehicle shall, under the penalties set forth in § 46.2-707, execute and furnish to the

Commissioner his certificate that the motor vehicle is an insured motor vehicle as defined in

§ 46.2-705, or that the Commissioner has issued to its owner, in accordance with § 46.2-368, a

certificate of self-insurance applicable to the vehicle sought to be registered. The Commissioner,

or his duly authorized agent, may verify that the motor vehicle is properly insured by comparing

owner and vehicle identification information on file at the Department of Motor Vehicles with
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liability information on the owner and vehicle transmitted to the Department by any insurance 

company licensed to do business in the Commonwealth as provided in § 46.2-706.1. If no record 

of liability insurance is found, the Department may require the motor vehicle owner to verify 

insurance in a method prescribed by the Commissioner. 

D. B. The refusal or neglect of any owner within 30 days to submit the liability insurance

information when required by the Commissioner or his duly authorized agent, or the electronic

notification by the insurance company or surety company that the policy or bond named in the

certificate of insurance is not in effect, shall require the Commissioner to suspend any driver’s

license and all registration certificates and license plates issued to the owner of the motor vehicle

until the person (i) has paid to the Commissioner a noncompliance fee of $600 to be disposed of

as provided for in § 46.2-710 and (ii) furnishes proof of financial responsibility for the future in

the manner prescribed in Article 15 (§ 46.2-435 et seq.) of Chapter 3. No order of suspension

required by this section shall become effective until the Commissioner has offered the person an

opportunity for an administrative hearing to show cause why the order should not be enforced.

Notice of the opportunity for an administrative hearing may be included in the order of

suspension. Any request for an administrative hearing made by such person must be received by

the Department within 180 days of the issuance date of the order of suspension unless the person

presents to the Department evidence of military service as defined by the federal

Servicemembers Civil Relief Act (50 U.S.C. § 3901 et seq.), incarceration, commitment,

hospitalization, or physical presence outside the United States at the time the order of suspension

was issued. When three years have elapsed from the effective date of the suspension required in

this section, the Commissioner may relieve the person of the requirement of furnishing proof of

future financial responsibility.

E. C. The Commissioner shall suspend the driver’s license and all registration certificates and

license plates of any person on receiving a record of his conviction of a violation of any

provisions of § 46.2-707, but the Commissioner shall dispense with the suspension when the

person is convicted for a violation of § 46.2-707 and the Department’s records show

conclusively that the motor vehicle was insured or that the fee applicable to the registration of an

uninsured motor vehicle has been paid by the owner prior to the date and time of the alleged

offense.

F. D. The Commissioner may dispense with a suspension for a violation of this section or § 46.2-

708 if the person determined to have committed the violation provides to the Commissioner

proof that conclusively shows that the motor vehicle in question was insured at the time the

Department initiated insurance monitoring under § 46.2-706 this section or § 46.2-706.1 or at the

time of a violation of § 46.2-708.

§ 46.2-707. Operation of uninsured vehicle; false evidence of insurance; penalty.

Any person who owns an uninsured motor vehicle (i) licensed in the Commonwealth, (ii) subject 

to registration in the Commonwealth, or (iii) displaying temporary license plates provided for in 

§ 46.2-1558 who operates or permits the operation of that motor vehicle without first having paid

to the Commissioner the uninsured motor vehicle fee required by § 46.2-706, to be disposed of

as provided by § 46.2-710, shall be is guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor.
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Any person who is the operator of such an uninsured motor vehicle and not the titled 

owner, and who knows that the required fee has not been paid to the Commissioner, shall 

be such motor vehicle is uninsured is guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor. 

The Commissioner or his duly authorized agent, having reason to believe that a motor vehicle is 

being operated or has been operated on any specified date, may require the owner of such motor 

vehicle to verify insurance in a method prescribed by the Commissioner as provided for by 

§ 46.2-706. The refusal or neglect of the owner who has not, prior to the date of operation, paid

the uninsured motor vehicle fee required by § 46.2-706 as to such motor vehicle, to provide such

verification shall be prima facie evidence that the motor vehicle was an uninsured motor vehicle

at the time of such operation.

Any person who falsely verifies insurance to the Commissioner or gives false evidence that a 

motor vehicle sought to be registered is an insured motor vehicle, shall be guilty of a Class 3 

misdemeanor. 

However, the foregoing portions of this section shall not be applicable if it is established that the 

owner had good cause to believe and did believe that such motor vehicle was an insured motor 

vehicle, in which event the provisions of § 46.2-609 shall be applicable. 

Any person who owns an uninsured motor vehicle (i) licensed in the Commonwealth, (ii) subject 

to registration in the Commonwealth, or (iii) displaying temporary license plates provided for in 

§ 46.2-1558, and who has not paid the uninsured motor vehicle fee required by § 46.2-706, shall

immediately surrender the vehicle’s license plates to the Department, unless the vehicle’s

registration has been deactivated as provided by § 46.2-646.1. Any person who fails to

immediately surrender his vehicle’s license plates as required by this section is guilty of a Class

3 misdemeanor.

Abstracts of records of conviction, as defined in this title, of any violation of any of the 

provisions of this section shall be forwarded to the Commissioner as prescribed by § 46.2-383. 

The Commissioner shall suspend the driver’s license and all registration certificates and license 

plates of any titled owner of an uninsured motor vehicle upon receiving a record of his 

conviction of a violation of any provisions of this section, and he shall not thereafter reissue the 

driver’s license and the registration certificates and license plates issued in the name of such 

person until such person pays a noncompliance fee of $600 to be disposed of as provided for in 

§ 46.2-710 and furnishes proof of future financial responsibility as prescribed by Article 15

(§ 46.2-435 et seq.) of Chapter 3. However, when three years have elapsed from the date of the

suspension herein required, the Commissioner may relieve such person of the requirement of

furnishing proof of future financial responsibility. When such suspension results from a

conviction for presenting or causing to be presented to the Commissioner false verification as to

whether a motor vehicle is an insured motor vehicle or false evidence that any motor vehicle

sought to be registered is insured, then the Commissioner shall not thereafter reissue the driver’s

license and the registration certificates and license plates issued in the name of such person so
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convicted for a period of 180 days from the date of such order of suspension, and only then when 

all other provisions of law have been complied with by such person. 

The Commissioner shall suspend the driver’s license of any person who is the operator but not 

the titled owner of a motor vehicle upon receiving a record of his conviction of a violation of any 

provisions of this section and he shall not thereafter reissue the driver’s license until 30 days 

from the date of such order of suspension. 

§ 46.2-707.1. Noncompliance fee payment plan.

A. The Department may establish a noncompliance fee payment plan to allow individuals to pay

the fees for a motor vehicle determined to be uninsured as prescribed in § 46.2-706, 46.2-707,

or 46.2-708. Notwithstanding §§ 46.2-706, 46.2-707, and 46.2-708, an individual 18 years of age

or older whose driver’s license and vehicle registration have been suspended pursuant to § 46.2-

706, 46.2-707, or 46.2-708 may apply to the Department to enter into a payment plan agreement

with a duration of no more than three years from the agreement date, referred to in this section as

the "payment plan period."

B. To be eligible to enter into the payment plan, the individual must (i) have one or more

outstanding suspensions of driving privileges pursuant to the provisions of § 46.2-706, 46.2-707,

or 46.2-708 and have no other outstanding suspensions or revocations; (ii) meet all other

conditions for reinstatement of driving privileges; and (iii) have not defaulted twice on the same

uninsured motor vehicle payment plan agreement.

C. An eligible individual who pays a $25 administrative fee when entering into a payment plan

agreement or when reentering into a payment plan agreement with the Department, and pays the

reinstatement fee pursuant to §§ 46.2-333.1 and 46.2-411, if required, shall be eligible to have

his driving privileges reinstated by the Department.

D. The amount and frequency of each payment and the duration of the payment plan shall be

described in the payment plan agreement signed by the Department and the individual. Payments

may be made in person, online, by telephone, or by mail. The full fee must be paid in no more

than three years from the agreement date; however, an individual may repay the balance of the

fee at any time during the payment plan period with no penalty.

E. If an individual defaults on the payment plan agreement, the Commissioner shall suspend the

driver’s license and all registration certificates and license plates issued to the owner of the

motor vehicle determined to be uninsured. Such driver’s license, registration certificates, and

license plates shall remain suspended until the individual pays the balance of the fee applicable

to the registration of an uninsured motor vehicle his offense as prescribed in § 46.2-706, 46.2-

707, or 46.2-708 and furnishes proof of future financial responsibility as prescribed by Article 15

(§ 46.2-435 et seq.) of Chapter 3. An individual is in default if he (i) pays an installment payment

late as defined in the payment plan agreement or (ii) fails to make an installment payment as

agreed to in the payment plan agreement. If an individual is in default and is ineligible to reenter

the payment plan, full payment of the balance of the fee shall be due as agreed to in the payment

plan agreement. The Commissioner may extend the due date of any installment payment for not
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more than 30 days if the Department is unable to process an installment payment due to 

circumstances beyond its control. 

F. When all fees are paid, the individual shall continue to furnish proof of financial responsibility

pursuant to Article 15 (§ 46.2-435 et seq.) of Chapter 3 and § 46.2-709.

G. Installment payments of the fee with respect to the motor vehicle determined to be uninsured

shall be disposed of pursuant to § 46.2-710. The administrative fee shall be paid to the

Commissioner and deposited into the state treasury account set aside in a special fund to be used

to meet the necessary expenses incurred by the Department.

§ 46.2-708. Suspension of driver’s license and registration when uninsured motor vehicle is

involved in reportable accident; hearing prior to suspension.

When it appears to the Commissioner from the records of his office or from a report submitted 

by an insurance company licensed to do business in the Commonwealth that an uninsured motor 

vehicle as defined in § 46.2-705, subject to registration in the Commonwealth, is involved in a 

reportable accident in the Commonwealth resulting in death, injury, or property damage with 

respect to which motor vehicle the owner thereof has not paid the uninsured motor vehicle fee as 

prescribed in § 46.2-706, the Commissioner shall, in addition to enforcing the applicable 

provisions of Article 13 (§ 46.2-417 et seq.) of Chapter 3, suspend such owner’s driver’s license 

and all of his license plates and registration certificates until such person has complied with 

Article 13 of Chapter 3 and has paid to the Commissioner a noncompliance fee of $600, to be 

disposed of as provided by § 46.2-710, with respect to the motor vehicle involved in the accident 

and furnishes proof of future financial responsibility in the manner prescribed in Article 15 

(§ 46.2-435 et seq.) of Chapter 3. However, no order of suspension required by this section shall

become effective until the Commissioner has offered the person an opportunity for an

administrative hearing to show cause why the order should not be enforced. Notice of the

opportunity for an administrative hearing may be included in the order of suspension. Any

request for an administrative hearing made by such person must be received by the Department

within 180 days of the issuance date of the order of suspension unless the person presents to the

Department evidence of military service as defined by the federal Servicemembers Civil Relief

Act (50 U.S.C. § 3901 et seq.), incarceration, commitment, hospitalization, or physical presence

outside the United States at the time the order of suspension was issued.

However, when three years have elapsed from the effective date of the suspension herein 

required, the Commissioner may relieve such person of the requirement of furnishing proof of 

future financial responsibility. The presentation by a person subject to the provisions of this 

section of a certificate of insurance, executed by an agent or representative of an insurance 

company qualified to do business in this Commonwealth, showing that on the date and at the 

time of the accident the vehicle was an insured motor vehicle as herein defined, or, presentation 

by such person of evidence that the additional fee applicable to the registration of an uninsured 

motor vehicle had been paid to the Department prior to the date and time of the accident, shall be 

sufficient bar to the suspension provided for in this section. 

§ 46.2-902.1. Officer may require certain motorists to furnish proof of insurance; penalty.
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Any law-enforcement officer present at the scene of a motor vehicle accident as to which a law-

enforcement officer is required by § 46.2-373 to file an accident report with the Department may 

require the operator of any motor vehicle involved in such accident to furnish proof that the 

vehicle he was operating at the time of such accident was either (i) an insured motor vehicle as 

defined in § 46.2-705 or (ii) a vehicle for which the fee required by § 46.2-706 for registration of 

an uninsured vehicle had been paid as to that vehicle. Failure to furnish proof of insurance or 

payment of the uninsured vehicle registration fee when required by a law-enforcement officer as 

provided in this section within thirty days shall constitute a Class 2 misdemeanor. 

§ 46.2-1530. Buyer’s order.

A. Every motor vehicle dealer shall complete, in duplicate, a buyer’s order for each sale or

exchange of a motor vehicle. A copy of the buyer’s order form shall be made available to a

prospective buyer during the negotiating phase of a sale and prior to any sales agreement. The

completed original shall be retained for a period of five years in accordance with § 46.2-1529,

and a duplicate copy shall be delivered to the purchaser at the time of sale or exchange. A

buyer’s order shall include:

1. The name and address of the person to whom the vehicle was sold or traded.

2. The date of the sale or trade.

3. The name and address of the motor vehicle dealer selling or trading the vehicle.

4. The make, model year, vehicle identification number and body style of the vehicle.

5. The sale price of the vehicle.

6. The amount of any cash deposit made by the buyer.

7. A description of any vehicle used as a trade-in and the amount credited the buyer for the trade-

in. The description of the trade-in shall be the same as outlined in subdivision 4.

8. The amount of any sales and use tax, title fee, uninsured motor vehicle fee, registration fee,

purchaser’s online systems filing fee, or other fee required by law for which the buyer is

responsible and the dealer has collected. Each tax and fee shall be individually listed and

identified.

9. The net balance due at settlement.

10. Any item designated as "processing fee," and the amount charged by the dealer, if any, for

processing the transaction. As used in this section, processing includes obtaining title and license

plates for the purchaser, but does not include any "purchaser’s online systems filing fee," as

defined in § 46.2-1530.1, or any "dealer’s manual transaction fee," as defined in § 46.2-1530.2.
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11. Any item designated as "dealer’s business license tax," and the amount charged by the dealer,

if any.

12. If the dealer delivers to the customer a vehicle purchased by the customer on or after July 1,

2010, that is conditional on dealer-arranged financing, the following notice, printed in bold type

no less than 10 point: "IF YOU ARE FINANCING THIS VEHICLE, PLEASE READ THIS

NOTICE: YOU ARE PROPOSING TO ENTER INTO A RETAIL INSTALLMENT SALES

CONTRACT WITH THE DEALER. PART OF YOUR CONTRACT INVOLVES FINANCING

THE PURCHASE OF YOUR VEHICLE. IF YOU ARE FINANCING THIS VEHICLE AND

THE DEALER INTENDS TO TRANSFER YOUR FINANCING TO A FINANCE PROVIDER

SUCH AS A BANK, CREDIT UNION OR OTHER LENDER, YOUR VEHICLE PURCHASE

DEPENDS ON THE FINANCE PROVIDER’S APPROVAL OF YOUR PROPOSED RETAIL

INSTALLMENT SALES CONTRACT. IF YOUR RETAIL INSTALLMENT SALES

CONTRACT IS APPROVED WITHOUT A CHANGE THAT INCREASES THE COST OR

RISK TO YOU OR THE DEALER, YOUR PURCHASE CANNOT BE CANCELLED. IF

YOUR RETAIL INSTALLMENT SALES CONTRACT IS NOT APPROVED, THE DEALER

WILL NOTIFY YOU VERBALLY OR IN WRITING. YOU CAN THEN DECIDE TO PAY

FOR THE VEHICLE IN SOME OTHER WAY OR YOU OR THE DEALER CAN CANCEL

YOUR PURCHASE. IF THE SALE IS CANCELLED, YOU NEED TO RETURN THE

VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WITHIN 24 HOURS OF VERBAL OR WRITTEN NOTICE IN

THE SAME CONDITION IT WAS GIVEN TO YOU, EXCEPT FOR NORMAL WEAR AND

TEAR. ANY DOWN PAYMENT OR TRADE-IN YOU GAVE THE DEALER WILL BE

RETURNED TO YOU. IF YOU DO NOT RETURN THE VEHICLE WITHIN 24 HOURS OF

VERBAL OR WRITTEN NOTICE OF CANCELLATION, THE DEALER MAY LOCATE

THE VEHICLE AND TAKE IT BACK WITHOUT FURTHER NOTICE TO YOU AS LONG

AS THE DEALER FOLLOWS THE LAW AND DOES NOT CAUSE A BREACH OF THE

PEACE WHEN TAKING THE VEHICLE BACK. IF THE DEALER DOES NOT RETURN

YOUR DOWN PAYMENT AND ANY TRADE-IN WHEN THE DEALER GETS THE

VEHICLE BACK IN THE SAME CONDITION IT WAS GIVEN TO YOU, EXCEPT FOR

NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR, THE DEALER MAY BE LIABLE TO YOU UNDER THE

VIRGINIA CONSUMER PROTECTION ACT."

13. For sales of used motor vehicles, the disclosure required by § 46.2-1529.1.

Except for trailers and travel trailers, if the transaction does not include a policy of motor vehicle 

liability insurance, the seller shall stamp or mark on the face of the bill of sale in boldface letters 

no smaller than 18-point type the following words: "No Liability Insurance Included." 

A completed buyer’s order when signed by both buyer and seller may constitute a bill of sale. 

B. The Board shall approve a buyer’s order form and each dealer shall file with each original

license application its buyer’s order form, on which the processing fee amount is stated.

C. If a processing fee is charged, that fact and the amount of the processing fee shall be disclosed

by the dealer. Disclosure shall be by placing a clear and conspicuous sign in the public sales area

of the dealership. The sign shall be no smaller than eight and one-half inches by 11 inches and

the print shall be no smaller than one-half inch, and in a form as approved by the Board.
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D. Except for trailers, if the buyer’s order is for a new motor vehicle that had accumulated, at the

time of the sale, mileage in excess of 750 miles as a demonstrator or as a result of delivery to a

prospective purchaser who never took title to the new motor vehicle and returned it, the vehicle

may be sold as new, provided the dealer delivers this disclosure in writing on the buyer’s order

containing type of no smaller than 10 point or in a separate document containing only the

disclosure in type of no smaller than 14 point: "Notice: This new motor vehicle has accumulated

mileage in excess of 750 miles as the result of use as a demonstrator and/or as the result of

delivery to a prior prospective purchaser who never took title to it and who returned it." When

delivered as a separate document, this disclosure shall also contain the actual odometer reading

for the vehicle and shall be signed by the purchaser.

E. The provisions of this section shall not apply to the sale or exchange of (i) a tractor truck, (ii)

a truck having a gross vehicle weight rating of 16,000 pounds or more, or (iii) a semitrailer.

2. That the Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles shall begin verifying the

insurance coverage of any vehicle owner who has previously paid the uninsured motorist fee and

has not verified insurance pursuant to § 46.2-706 of the Code of Virginia, as amended in this act,

or been issued a certificate of self-insurance pursuant to § 46.2-368 of the Code of Virginia.

3. That the provisions of the first and second enactments of this act shall become effective July 1,

2024.

4. That the Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles may continue to register

uninsured vehicles as provided in § 46.2-706 of the Code of Virginia prior to the effective date of

this act, but any such registration shall expire prior to July 1, 2024. Such registration may be

renewed prior to July 1, 2024, if the vehicle owner provides proof of insurance pursuant to

§ 46.2-706 of the Code of Virginia or has been issued a certificate of self-insurance pursuant to

§ 46.2-368 of the Code of Virginia.
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